728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Fireplace Mantels or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Richmond 5 ft. Unfinished Paint Grade Fireplace Cap-Shelf Mantel

Richmond 5 ft. Unfinished Paint Grade Fireplace Cap-Shelf Mantel

Add a sense of timeless beauty to your fireplace and home decor with the Foster Mantels Richmond Fireplace Mantel Shelf. The Richmond Fireplace Mantel Shelf is our basic design, which is simple yet adds a classic finishing touch. The unfinished wood shelf is made of 100% poplar and is ideal for painting in a color that suits your home interior. The Fireplace Mantel Shelf is designed for easy installation, using the supplied mounting board.
Overall rating:
4.474 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(57 reviews) 57
Open Ratings Snapshot
89%of customersrecommend this product50 of 56reviews
Rating Breakdown 57 reviews
4.5 out of 5
5
(33)
4
(19)
3
(4)
2
(1)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
89%of customersrecommend this product50 of 56reviews
Customer questions and answers:
9 Questions | 20 Answers
Customer reviews for Richmond 5 ft. Unfinished Paint Grade Fireplace Cap-Shelf Mantel
Review 1 for Richmond 5 ft. Unfinished Paint Grade Fireplace Cap-Shelf Mantel
from Georgia, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Mantle

PostedJuly 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Exactly what I was looking for. As long as you have some experience mounting things to the wall this is pretty easy to install. It comes with a mounting board that you first mount to the wall. Then you nail the mantel to the mounting board with finishing nails. Caulk the area where the mantel meets the wall and put a finishing coat on. *Note: I actualy put a couple coats of paint on before installing the mantel to the mounting board, then put on a final coat after it was mounted. Looks great and professional! Much easier than trying to build a mantel yourself.
Pros: Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Great Value, High Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Richmond 5 ft. Unfinished Paint Grade Fireplace Cap-Shelf Mantel
from north carolina
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great mantel!

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The mantel looks great on our brick walled fireplace we painted white. We also painted the mantel white and it has a nice clean look to it. Only downside is the support beam that you install first is a bit narrow in my opinion and not the best quality wood, so be careful when screwing to wall. Make sure you use proper screws for wall surface and also lots of liquid nails when attaching then mantel helps really hold it in place in conjunction with nails to secure. All in all, good purchase.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Richmond 5 ft. Unfinished Paint Grade Fireplace Cap-Shelf Mantel
from North Carolina, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice Mantel

PostedDecember 27, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The final look of this mantel is very nice. It's pretty, solid, and has a high-end look, especially considering the price.
Installation instructions were not the best. We ended up having to reinforce it much more than recommended in order to stop it from tilting or falling off of the mounting plate. Now that it's done, it's great.
Also, this took almost two months to receive, with no info from Home Depot as to what was going on.
Pros: Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight
Cons: Difficult to Install, had to add my own additional supports
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Richmond 5 ft. Unfinished Paint Grade Fireplace Cap-Shelf Mantel

it's a Winner!

PostedMarch 4, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
So pleased with everything about this order: Reasonable price, prompt delivery to store, securely packaged/protected, exactly what was needed to accent my living room fireplace; and it painted up beautifully. Handyman installed it readily, with no complaints. It seems to be of satisfactory quality and construction.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Richmond 5 ft. Unfinished Paint Grade Fireplace Cap-Shelf Mantel

Fine Product

PostedFebruary 26, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Just have to apply paint. Handyman promptly applied. Yes, it is easy to install. And it is sturdy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Richmond 5 ft. Unfinished Paint Grade Fireplace Cap-Shelf Mantel
from Virginia, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This was exactly what I wanted.

PostedDecember 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My fireplace looks "finished" now. My brother, who was hanging it for me, didn't read the instructions, so he did it wrong the first time. (True story.) But once he realized, it was fixed and now it looks great! I painted it white and we added a little bit of molding to the sides. It looks amazing.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Work With, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Straight, Good Shape, Great Value, Easy to Clean
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Richmond 5 ft. Unfinished Paint Grade Fireplace Cap-Shelf Mantel
from South St Paul
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fireplace Mantel

PostedFebruary 17, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Overall, I am very happy with the mantel. I was disappointed on the expansion of the wood, but it was to be painted, so I guess that really doesn't matter much. Fairly easy to install. Love how it looks on my wall!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: expansion of wood looks odd.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Richmond 5 ft. Unfinished Paint Grade Fireplace Cap-Shelf Mantel

60" primed mantel

PostedJune 18, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The mantel was shipped in perfect condition. it looks good and easy setup. It comes with no hardware, but it does come with the backer board for the wall. It is hollow made well, very smooth. AND the top of the shelf is 60", so the bottom (base or part connected to the fireplace) is 3-6" less. The description does have the dimension, but if your on the fence about which part is actually 60 inchs then it's the top.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Richmond 5 ft. Unfinished Paint Grade Fireplace Cap-Shelf Mantel
from Jacksonville Florida
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Very nice

PostedNovember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
After reviewing some of the comments I was a little Leary about ordering . I was very pleased with the mantel. We had no problem installing and it looks great.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Richmond 5 ft. Unfinished Paint Grade Fireplace Cap-Shelf Mantel
from Atlanta GA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent purchase to spruce up an otherwise boring fireplace

PostedSeptember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
On delivery, the mounting 2x2 was warped. Hence, only a 4-star overall and 3-bar quality rating. Otherwise, it was excellent.
The warped 2x2 was quickly remedied at Home Depot. After explaining my situation, the helpful Home Dept personnel gave me a new straight 2x2 at no cost, even cut it to the right length for me. Installation was easy, and the mantel finish was very good. After installation, a couple coats of paint is all it needed. The only power tool I used was an electric screwdriver, to mount the mounting 2x2 on the wall, using plastic anchors and long screws. Liquid Nail (as recommended by the instructions) and finishing nails securely hold the mantel in place.
This is good value. I could have spent a lot more, but it's not necessary.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: warped mounting board
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Richmond 5 ft. Unfinished Paint Grade Fireplace Cap-Shelf Mantel
from Anchorage AK
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very pleased.

PostedJanuary 6, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Mantel is well made. Good quality materials and accurate craftsmanship.
Finished and painted very well.
Hanging system is simple and easy to do.
My wife was very pleased with the final product.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Richmond 5 ft. Unfinished Paint Grade Fireplace Cap-Shelf Mantel
from CT

MDF and seams visible on mantle top

PostedJanuary 18, 2007
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This mantle appeared like a good bargain but upon receiving it the MDF part is visible on the mantle top.....that may have been all right with painting BUT there are seams where the MDF and wood meet on the top of the mantle....the MDF does not go all the way to the edges of the top mantle and starts about an inch or so in all the way around on the top....anyway, we thought it would not have a uniform finish up on top no matter how we finished it. Home Depot was good and we returned it on their dime but still....I think they should clearly show the top of the mantle so they can see how it looks in detail....
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Richmond 5 ft. Unfinished Paint Grade Fireplace Cap-Shelf Mantel
from California
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

fire place mantel

PostedDecember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Would be nice if you could order it to size. I had to cut it down to fit.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Richmond 5 ft. Unfinished Paint Grade Fireplace Cap-Shelf Mantel
from fairfax, va

mantel

PostedOctober 2, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
we just installed our new mantel and it looks great. especially for the price. we just printed and painted it. it was fairly easy to install. Only thing is it didnt come with anything needed to install it so we had to purchase screws, anchors, nail glue etc. Overall, we are really happy with the mantel. it looks great, cant wait to hang some stockings!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Richmond 5 ft. Unfinished Paint Grade Fireplace Cap-Shelf Mantel
from Lake Forest, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Great price

PostedOctober 16, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Very good quality product. Arrived before scheduled time.
Pros: Easy to Install, Stylish, Great Value, High Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Richmond 5 ft. Unfinished Paint Grade Fireplace Cap-Shelf Mantel
from Goleta, CA

Great product.

PostedOctober 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
It looks like it is painted white on the website, but was actually unpainted when I received it. It definitely needs to be painted (as opposed to stained) as it has some ugly looking joints.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Richmond 5 ft. Unfinished Paint Grade Fireplace Cap-Shelf Mantel
from Sandown, NH

Foster Mantel

PostedOctober 20, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I ordered the paint grade with all intentions of painting it, but once I received it, I decided to try to stain it instead. It came out beautiful! The top and bottom are made from MDF, but the facing is wood! It is light weight and easy to install. The mounting block is provided. I highly recommend this product for anyone looking to add just a mantel to their fireplace.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Richmond 5 ft. Unfinished Paint Grade Fireplace Cap-Shelf Mantel
from NJ

Great price, looks good, easy to hang

PostedOctober 9, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The mantel looks great, mounting could be a little sturdier, as I had to find a way to shim it to level, but once painted and hung, it really changed the look of my living room.
Much cheaper than any other mantel I could find.
Pros: Easy to Install, Great Value
Cons: mounting could be sturdier
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Richmond 5 ft. Unfinished Paint Grade Fireplace Cap-Shelf Mantel
from FL
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great but needs better instructions

PostedDecember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Great product but instructions could be clearer for hanging
Pros: Good Size & Weight, Seals Well, Good Shape, Great Value, Easy to Clean, Economical
Cons: Difficult to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Richmond 5 ft. Unfinished Paint Grade Fireplace Cap-Shelf Mantel

Good quality for the money

PostedOctober 16, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality was good for the price. It was easy to stain and install. I put this mantel above our 50" screen to sort of offset the space on the wall. Looks great!
Pros: Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Stylish, Great Value, Economical, Light Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>