728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Fireplace Mantels or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Richmond 5 ft. Unfinished Paint Grade Fireplace Cap-Shelf Mantel

Richmond 5 ft. Unfinished Paint Grade Fireplace Cap-Shelf Mantel

Add a sense of timeless beauty to your fireplace and home decor with the Foster Mantels Richmond Fireplace Mantel Shelf. The Richmond Fireplace Mantel Shelf is our basic design, which is simple yet adds a classic finishing touch. The unfinished wood shelf is made of 100% poplar and is ideal for painting in a color that suits your home interior. The Fireplace Mantel Shelf is designed for easy installation, using the supplied mounting board.
Overall rating:
4.48 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(50 reviews) 50
Open Ratings Snapshot
92%of customersrecommend this product45 of 49reviews
Rating Breakdown 50 reviews
4.5 out of 5.0
5
(30)
4
(15)
3
(4)
2
(1)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
92%of customersrecommend this product45 of 49reviews
Customer questions and answers:
7 Questions | 16 Answers
Customer reviews for Richmond 5 ft. Unfinished Paint Grade Fireplace Cap-Shelf Mantel
Review 1 for Richmond 5 ft. Unfinished Paint Grade Fireplace Cap-Shelf Mantel
from Georgia, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Mantle

PostedJuly 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Exactly what I was looking for. As long as you have some experience mounting things to the wall this is pretty easy to install. It comes with a mounting board that you first mount to the wall. Then you nail the mantel to the mounting board with finishing nails. Caulk the area where the mantel meets the wall and put a finishing coat on. *Note: I actualy put a couple coats of paint on before installing the mantel to the mounting board, then put on a final coat after it was mounted. Looks great and professional! Much easier than trying to build a mantel yourself.
Pros: Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Great Value, High Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Richmond 5 ft. Unfinished Paint Grade Fireplace Cap-Shelf Mantel

60" primed mantel

PostedJune 18, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The mantel was shipped in perfect condition. it looks good and easy setup. It comes with no hardware, but it does come with the backer board for the wall. It is hollow made well, very smooth. AND the top of the shelf is 60", so the bottom (base or part connected to the fireplace) is 3-6" less. The description does have the dimension, but if your on the fence about which part is actually 60 inchs then it's the top.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Richmond 5 ft. Unfinished Paint Grade Fireplace Cap-Shelf Mantel
from Jacksonville Florida
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Very nice

PostedNovember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After reviewing some of the comments I was a little Leary about ordering . I was very pleased with the mantel. We had no problem installing and it looks great.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Richmond 5 ft. Unfinished Paint Grade Fireplace Cap-Shelf Mantel
from Virginia, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This was exactly what I wanted.

PostedDecember 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My fireplace looks "finished" now. My brother, who was hanging it for me, didn't read the instructions, so he did it wrong the first time. (True story.) But once he realized, it was fixed and now it looks great! I painted it white and we added a little bit of molding to the sides. It looks amazing.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Work With, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Straight, Good Shape, Great Value, Easy to Clean
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Richmond 5 ft. Unfinished Paint Grade Fireplace Cap-Shelf Mantel
from Atlanta GA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent purchase to spruce up an otherwise boring fireplace

PostedSeptember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
On delivery, the mounting 2x2 was warped. Hence, only a 4-star overall and 3-bar quality rating. Otherwise, it was excellent.
The warped 2x2 was quickly remedied at Home Depot. After explaining my situation, the helpful Home Dept personnel gave me a new straight 2x2 at no cost, even cut it to the right length for me. Installation was easy, and the mantel finish was very good. After installation, a couple coats of paint is all it needed. The only power tool I used was an electric screwdriver, to mount the mounting 2x2 on the wall, using plastic anchors and long screws. Liquid Nail (as recommended by the instructions) and finishing nails securely hold the mantel in place.
This is good value. I could have spent a lot more, but it's not necessary.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: warped mounting board
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Richmond 5 ft. Unfinished Paint Grade Fireplace Cap-Shelf Mantel
from CT

MDF and seams visible on mantle top

PostedJanuary 18, 2007
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This mantle appeared like a good bargain but upon receiving it the MDF part is visible on the mantle top.....that may have been all right with painting BUT there are seams where the MDF and wood meet on the top of the mantle....the MDF does not go all the way to the edges of the top mantle and starts about an inch or so in all the way around on the top....anyway, we thought it would not have a uniform finish up on top no matter how we finished it. Home Depot was good and we returned it on their dime but still....I think they should clearly show the top of the mantle so they can see how it looks in detail....
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Richmond 5 ft. Unfinished Paint Grade Fireplace Cap-Shelf Mantel
from Goleta, CA

Great product.

PostedOctober 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It looks like it is painted white on the website, but was actually unpainted when I received it. It definitely needs to be painted (as opposed to stained) as it has some ugly looking joints.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Richmond 5 ft. Unfinished Paint Grade Fireplace Cap-Shelf Mantel
from Lake Forest, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Great price

PostedOctober 16, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very good quality product. Arrived before scheduled time.
Pros: Easy to Install, Stylish, Great Value, High Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Richmond 5 ft. Unfinished Paint Grade Fireplace Cap-Shelf Mantel
from fairfax, va

mantel

PostedOctober 2, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
we just installed our new mantel and it looks great. especially for the price. we just printed and painted it. it was fairly easy to install. Only thing is it didnt come with anything needed to install it so we had to purchase screws, anchors, nail glue etc. Overall, we are really happy with the mantel. it looks great, cant wait to hang some stockings!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Richmond 5 ft. Unfinished Paint Grade Fireplace Cap-Shelf Mantel
from Sandown, NH

Foster Mantel

PostedOctober 20, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I ordered the paint grade with all intentions of painting it, but once I received it, I decided to try to stain it instead. It came out beautiful! The top and bottom are made from MDF, but the facing is wood! It is light weight and easy to install. The mounting block is provided. I highly recommend this product for anyone looking to add just a mantel to their fireplace.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Richmond 5 ft. Unfinished Paint Grade Fireplace Cap-Shelf Mantel

Just the shelf we wanted

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Beautiful coat of warm white paint (after priming) and a glazing effect and this shelf came out beautiful for a great price. My husband had no issue putting it up, and now my mother wants one.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Richmond 5 ft. Unfinished Paint Grade Fireplace Cap-Shelf Mantel
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Very well made mantle.

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The mantle was very well made . Description was exactly as advertised and the dimensions were accurate.. It required only light sanding prior to priming and painting. It looks great!
Pros: Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Straight, Great Value, Economical
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Richmond 5 ft. Unfinished Paint Grade Fireplace Cap-Shelf Mantel

Great product

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Awesome product. I don't know why it can in such a large shipping box but once opened it was great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Richmond 5 ft. Unfinished Paint Grade Fireplace Cap-Shelf Mantel
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Love it

PostedDecember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great above our tv, as we don't have a fireplace. I can now decorate for Christmas and have a place to hang our stockings!
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Richmond 5 ft. Unfinished Paint Grade Fireplace Cap-Shelf Mantel

Mantle

PostedDecember 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Wonderful and affordable. Easy to install...just make sure you print instructions. Everything you need is noted in the instructions. I couldn't be happier.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Richmond 5 ft. Unfinished Paint Grade Fireplace Cap-Shelf Mantel
from FL
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great but needs better instructions

PostedDecember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Great product but instructions could be clearer for hanging
Pros: Good Size & Weight, Seals Well, Good Shape, Great Value, Easy to Clean, Economical
Cons: Difficult to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Richmond 5 ft. Unfinished Paint Grade Fireplace Cap-Shelf Mantel
from NJ

Great price, looks good, easy to hang

PostedOctober 9, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The mantel looks great, mounting could be a little sturdier, as I had to find a way to shim it to level, but once painted and hung, it really changed the look of my living room.
Much cheaper than any other mantel I could find.
Pros: Easy to Install, Great Value
Cons: mounting could be sturdier
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Richmond 5 ft. Unfinished Paint Grade Fireplace Cap-Shelf Mantel

Great product, just wish it came with all tools needed (except power tool)

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
No mounting tools! Wish I knew it didn't come with at least the tools to put it up. I had to go to the store, which the reason I bought it online was not to go to the store, to get the tools.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Good Shape, Light Weight
Cons: no tools added, wants you to go to store to get everything
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Richmond 5 ft. Unfinished Paint Grade Fireplace Cap-Shelf Mantel

Good quality for the money

PostedOctober 16, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality was good for the price. It was easy to stain and install. I put this mantel above our 50" screen to sort of offset the space on the wall. Looks great!
Pros: Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Stylish, Great Value, Economical, Light Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Richmond 5 ft. Unfinished Paint Grade Fireplace Cap-Shelf Mantel
from New Jersey, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Good quality but a little pricey

PostedDecember 20, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
My local Home Depot had 3 in stock and they were all damaged. The shelf arrived quickly and in pristine condition. Same price as in store with free shipping. The shelf is made out of several pieces of crown molding with some internal supports. $75.00 seems a little expensive but Home Depot's price was better than Lowe's.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>