728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Fireplace Mantels or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Richmond 60 in. Unfinished Paint Grade Fireplace Mantel Cap-Shelf

Richmond 60 in. Unfinished Paint Grade Fireplace Mantel Cap-Shelf

Add a sense of timeless beauty to your fireplace and home décor with the Foster Mantels Richmond Fireplace Mantel Shelf. The Richmond Fireplace Mantel Shelf is our basic design, which is simple yet adds a classic finishing touch. The unfinished wood shelf is made of 100% poplar and is ideal for painting in a color that suits your home interior. The Fireplace Mantel Shelf is designed for easy installation, using the supplied mounting board.
Overall rating:
4.479 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(48 reviews) 48
Open Ratings Snapshot
91%of customersrecommend this product43 of 47reviews
Rating Breakdown 48 reviews
4.5 out of 5.0
5
(29)
4
(14)
3
(4)
2
(1)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
91%of customersrecommend this product43 of 47reviews
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 14 Answers
Customer reviews for Richmond 60 in. Unfinished Paint Grade Fireplace Mantel Cap-Shelf
Review 1 for Richmond 60 in. Unfinished Paint Grade Fireplace Mantel Cap-Shelf
DoItMyselfer
from Georgia, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Mantle

PostedJuly 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Exactly what I was looking for. As long as you have some experience mounting things to the wall this is pretty easy to install. It comes with a mounting board that you first mount to the wall. Then you nail the mantel to the mounting board with finishing nails. Caulk the area where the mantel meets the wall and put a finishing coat on. *Note: I actualy put a couple coats of paint on before installing the mantel to the mounting board, then put on a final coat after it was mounted. Looks great and professional! Much easier than trying to build a mantel yourself.
Pros: Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Great Value, High Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Richmond 60 in. Unfinished Paint Grade Fireplace Mantel Cap-Shelf
NewHomeowner
from Virginia, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This was exactly what I wanted.

PostedDecember 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My fireplace looks "finished" now. My brother, who was hanging it for me, didn't read the instructions, so he did it wrong the first time. (True story.) But once he realized, it was fixed and now it looks great! I painted it white and we added a little bit of molding to the sides. It looks amazing.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Work With, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Straight, Good Shape, Great Value, Easy to Clean
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Richmond 60 in. Unfinished Paint Grade Fireplace Mantel Cap-Shelf
BobVila

60" primed mantel

PostedJune 18, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The mantel was shipped in perfect condition. it looks good and easy setup. It comes with no hardware, but it does come with the backer board for the wall. It is hollow made well, very smooth. AND the top of the shelf is 60", so the bottom (base or part connected to the fireplace) is 3-6" less. The description does have the dimension, but if your on the fence about which part is actually 60 inchs then it's the top.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Richmond 60 in. Unfinished Paint Grade Fireplace Mantel Cap-Shelf
grantdmckenzie
from Goleta, CA

Great product.

PostedOctober 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It looks like it is painted white on the website, but was actually unpainted when I received it. It definitely needs to be painted (as opposed to stained) as it has some ugly looking joints.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Richmond 60 in. Unfinished Paint Grade Fireplace Mantel Cap-Shelf
cboss1

Just the shelf we wanted

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Beautiful coat of warm white paint (after priming) and a glazing effect and this shelf came out beautiful for a great price. My husband had no issue putting it up, and now my mother wants one.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Richmond 60 in. Unfinished Paint Grade Fireplace Mantel Cap-Shelf
Basia
from Lake Forest, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Great price

PostedOctober 16, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very good quality product. Arrived before scheduled time.
Pros: Easy to Install, Stylish, Great Value, High Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Richmond 60 in. Unfinished Paint Grade Fireplace Mantel Cap-Shelf
Hank
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Very well made mantle.

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The mantle was very well made . Description was exactly as advertised and the dimensions were accurate.. It required only light sanding prior to priming and painting. It looks great!
Pros: Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Straight, Great Value, Economical
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Richmond 60 in. Unfinished Paint Grade Fireplace Mantel Cap-Shelf
Crystal

Great product

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Awesome product. I don't know why it can in such a large shipping box but once opened it was great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Richmond 60 in. Unfinished Paint Grade Fireplace Mantel Cap-Shelf
RalphB
from CT

MDF and seams visible on mantle top

PostedJanuary 18, 2007
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This mantle appeared like a good bargain but upon receiving it the MDF part is visible on the mantle top.....that may have been all right with painting BUT there are seams where the MDF and wood meet on the top of the mantle....the MDF does not go all the way to the edges of the top mantle and starts about an inch or so in all the way around on the top....anyway, we thought it would not have a uniform finish up on top no matter how we finished it. Home Depot was good and we returned it on their dime but still....I think they should clearly show the top of the mantle so they can see how it looks in detail....
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Richmond 60 in. Unfinished Paint Grade Fireplace Mantel Cap-Shelf
Keanu
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Love it

PostedDecember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great above our tv, as we don't have a fireplace. I can now decorate for Christmas and have a place to hang our stockings!
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Richmond 60 in. Unfinished Paint Grade Fireplace Mantel Cap-Shelf
Dookieduke

Mantle

PostedDecember 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Wonderful and affordable. Easy to install...just make sure you print instructions. Everything you need is noted in the instructions. I couldn't be happier.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Richmond 60 in. Unfinished Paint Grade Fireplace Mantel Cap-Shelf
Jacque

Great product, just wish it came with all tools needed (except power tool)

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
No mounting tools! Wish I knew it didn't come with at least the tools to put it up. I had to go to the store, which the reason I bought it online was not to go to the store, to get the tools.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Good Shape, Light Weight
Cons: no tools added, wants you to go to store to get everything
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Richmond 60 in. Unfinished Paint Grade Fireplace Mantel Cap-Shelf
MikeW
from Visalia, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Very pleased with the quality of the product.

PostedOctober 23, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I ordered this replacement mantle for a vacation property in California. The mantle is high quality and matches the details of the on-line description.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Straight, Great Value, High Quality, Economical
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Richmond 60 in. Unfinished Paint Grade Fireplace Mantel Cap-Shelf
Charlie
from Office
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

The mantel did not look as good as the photo on internet

PostedOctober 23, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was disappointed with the overall look of the product....however the price was reasonable.
Pros: Easy to Install, Straight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Richmond 60 in. Unfinished Paint Grade Fireplace Mantel Cap-Shelf
rb
from fairfax, va

mantel

PostedOctober 2, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
we just installed our new mantel and it looks great. especially for the price. we just printed and painted it. it was fairly easy to install. Only thing is it didnt come with anything needed to install it so we had to purchase screws, anchors, nail glue etc. Overall, we are really happy with the mantel. it looks great, cant wait to hang some stockings!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Richmond 60 in. Unfinished Paint Grade Fireplace Mantel Cap-Shelf
jigali1
from FL
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great but needs better instructions

PostedDecember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Great product but instructions could be clearer for hanging
Pros: Good Size & Weight, Seals Well, Good Shape, Great Value, Easy to Clean, Economical
Cons: Difficult to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Richmond 60 in. Unfinished Paint Grade Fireplace Mantel Cap-Shelf
juneblonde
from Nebraska, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Good value for the price

PostedJune 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Couldn't find this product anywhere else for this value. It was just as described
Pros: Great Value
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Richmond 60 in. Unfinished Paint Grade Fireplace Mantel Cap-Shelf
kindofblue76

Still need to purchase $20+ in hardware and materials to install

PostedMay 1, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
While the Mantel itself was beautiful...it came without any hardware, screws, drywall accessories; essentially the basics you'll need to install this product. Wood putty and liquid nails were not items I anticipated needing. Overall...nice product. But the ease of installation that they claim is a half-truth. If it included the hardware for installation...then maybe they could claim that.
Pros: Good Size & Weight, Great Value, Light Weight
Cons: Difficult to Install, lack of hardware
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Richmond 60 in. Unfinished Paint Grade Fireplace Mantel Cap-Shelf
Dick
from Bozeman, Mt, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

easy to finish, easy to install, beautiful addition

PostedJanuary 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Mantel cap arrived in great condition. It was easy to finish and very easy to install. It complements the tile surrounding the gas fireplace and presents a great finished look.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Richmond 60 in. Unfinished Paint Grade Fireplace Mantel Cap-Shelf
Jess
from Clearwater, FL, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Beautiful quality

PostedDecember 22, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We have not hung this yet, but it is solid, sturdy and beautiful. I am impressed by the quality for such a reasonable price.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>