728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Insect & Pest Control or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 40-Watt Replacement Bulb

40-Watt Replacement Bulb

This Stinger 40-Watt Replacement Bulb is for use with the model UV40 insect killer. It is a long-lasting, easy-to-install bulb, that uses UV light to help lure insects to the unit.
Overall rating:
3.885 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(26 reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
83%of customersrecommend this product20 of 24reviews
Rating Breakdown 26 reviews
3.9 out of 5
5
(14)
4
(4)
3
(2)
2
(3)
1
(3)
Quality 
3.9 out of 5
3.9 out of 5
Value 
3.6 out of 5
3.6 out of 5
83%of customersrecommend this product20 of 24reviews
Customer questions and answers:
13 Questions | 13 Answers
Customer reviews for 40-Watt Replacement Bulb
Review 1 for 40-Watt Replacement Bulb
from CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fatally Flawed by Design

PostedJuly 21, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
New Stinger UV40, worked first time. But after running all night, bulb would not re-light. Installed replacement bulb. Again, worked first time. Then same thing, wouldn't re-light. Not sure if it's the zapper or the bulb, but as one won't work without the other, the whole thing goes to the scrap heap. Don't throw good money after bad. The UV40 is pure junk.
Cons: Not Durable, fails after first use.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Response from By Manufacturer Tech SupportAugust 3, 2015By Manufacturer Tech SupportAugust 3, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Please contact our customer support team and let them know about the issues you're having. We can be reached at 1-800-477-0457 or ConsumerRelations@kaz.com. HoneywellSupportTechnician
Review 2 for 40-Watt Replacement Bulb
from Freeport, NY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great replacement bulb

PostedAugust 26, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This is not a store item, it must be ordered online. The bulb worked flawlessly, turned on instantly when I plugged the bug zapper in.
Pros: Easy to Install, Easy to Clean
Cons: the bug zapper does not work
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 40-Watt Replacement Bulb
from Hermitage, TN
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Bug zapper

PostedAugust 3, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It amazes me that manufacturer's and retailers sale a product that doesn't support replacement parts. This has happened on other products too. What happens is you buy the bug lamp and when you need to replace the bulb you have to special order the thing because the store doesn't stock the replacement. I was lucky though, the HD associate at least offered to help look up the replacement bulb and facilitated the order. Your competitor didn't.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 40-Watt Replacement Bulb
from Richton Park, IL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Replacement Blub

PostedAugust 11, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Replacement blub works as it should. I also own the black light version of this blub. It seem the black light blub attracts bugs a little better in a very dark area.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 40-Watt Replacement Bulb
from Derry NH
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Bug Zapper bulb

PostedJuly 14, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Thank goodness for these replacement bulbs my mother's Stinger bug killer zaps all night long. Every day or do she blows out hundreds of dead misquitos with a hair dryer. Pick up at Home Depot is wonderful. The light company goes a little overboard on the packaging but they all seem to do that now.
Pros: Functionality, Great Quality, Good Shape
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 40-Watt Replacement Bulb
from Grass Valley,CA.

Stinger bulbs 40 watts

PostedAugust 25, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
They all work good to lure the bugs to the electrocution they deserve.
 
Products related to my review
 
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 40-Watt Replacement Bulb

Another store had it cheaper by 10%, same item cheaper

PostedJune 5, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Home Depot sold the complete bug light, but now it does not stock the light bulb need for replacement had to order it on the web was not available at the store
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 40-Watt Replacement Bulb
from Milford Ohio
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

B4040-4N 40-Watt Replacement Bulb

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Works as expected. Installed in minutes. Need to install a time clock for me because I spend a lot of time at Home Depot.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Shape
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 40-Watt Replacement Bulb
from Nawlins
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Bug Light Bulb

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
If you need a replacement bulb you came to the right store.
Pros: Easy to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 40-Watt Replacement Bulb

Okay bug light

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Thanks to the service person who helped me order the light which was not in stock.
Pros: Easy to Install
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 40-Watt Replacement Bulb
from Michigan
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

B4040-4N 40-Watt Replacement Bulb

PostedJune 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy to install. Installation was completed 5 minutes after I returned home.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality, Great Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 40-Watt Replacement Bulb
from Smyrna, Tn

bulb works so far

PostedJune 16, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I installed it in my 20 year old Stinger bug zapper. It works again. As long as this bulb doesn't go out soon, then it should work fine. I read other reviews that said the bulb didn't last but a couple of months. I have only used it a few days and it works fine. The original bulb was still good..until I dropped it while cleaning it out. I don't get bit by mosquitos as long as the bug zapper is on.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 40-Watt Replacement Bulb
from Manhattan, KS, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It Works Great

PostedJune 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
There's not a whole lot you can say about a light bulb, but it is easy to install. The stinger unit itself is great, I have three of them on my property. Some may think the replacement bulb is a little on the pricey side, but if you live in a area such as I do, it is well worth it.
Pros: Easy to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 40-Watt Replacement Bulb
from Aurora, IL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Was what I needed to resolve my issue

PostedJuly 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The stinger appeared to be bad but it was caused by a bad bulb.
Pros: Easy to Install, Great Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 40-Watt Replacement Bulb

Bulb quit after 4-5 months. $15 for a new one?!?

PostedMay 27, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Used the Stinger inside and outside. Super effective while the bulb works, zero effect without the uv light. And am I crazy or is $15 REALLY steep for a bulb?
I plugged a splitter into my extension cord and wired a standard bulb socket with a 12" cord, then hung a $2 backlight bulb in the space where the OEM bulb was. Worked perfectly.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 40-Watt Replacement Bulb

Great product.

PostedJune 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Had this bug zapper for over 24 years. It has been awesome. The light still worked; bulb broke as it was being cleaned. Purchased a new bulb today and we are back in the bug zapping business.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 40-Watt Replacement Bulb
from Lockport, Louisiana

great zapper bulb

PostedApril 30, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Had the unit and the same bulb for well over 20yrs. The bulb just kicked the bucket tonite. Will definitely be heading to Homedepot in the morning. Would recommend this product and the unit to all, it works very good with those big mosquitoes we have here in deep southeast Louisiana, lol.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 40-Watt Replacement Bulb
from Conneaut, OH
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female

Works great

PostedSeptember 25, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Too bad I couldn't find this in the store though and had to pay for shipping.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 40-Watt Replacement Bulb
from Powder Springs, GA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Bulb does not illuminate 100%. It only lights up about 33%

PostedAugust 28, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Placed the bulb in correctly and it only lights up 1/3 of the bulb.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 40-Watt Replacement Bulb
from Ft.Laud Fla

satified

PostedSeptember 2, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
i had this product over 10 year and still zapping.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 >>