728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Animal & Pest Control or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for B4040-4N 40-Watt Replacement Bulb

B4040-4N 40-Watt Replacement Bulb

This Stinger 40-Watt Replacement Bulb. is for use with the model UV40 insect killer. It is a long-lasting, easy-to-install bulb. that uses UV light to help lure insects to the unit.
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4
 / 
5
(21 reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
89%of customersrecommend this product17 of 19reviews
Rating Breakdown 21 reviews
4.0 out of 5.0
5
(12)
4
(3)
3
(2)
2
(2)
1
(2)
Quality 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
Value 
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6 out of 5
89%of customersrecommend this product17 of 19reviews
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer reviews for B4040-4N 40-Watt Replacement Bulb
Review 1 for B4040-4N 40-Watt Replacement Bulb

Another store had it cheaper by 10%, same item cheaper

PostedJune 5, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Home Depot sold the complete bug light, but now it does not stock the light bulb need for replacement had to order it on the web was not available at the store
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for B4040-4N 40-Watt Replacement Bulb
from Milford Ohio
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

B4040-4N 40-Watt Replacement Bulb

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Works as expected. Installed in minutes. Need to install a time clock for me because I spend a lot of time at Home Depot.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Shape
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for B4040-4N 40-Watt Replacement Bulb
from Nawlins
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Bug Light Bulb

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
If you need a replacement bulb you came to the right store.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for B4040-4N 40-Watt Replacement Bulb
from Michigan
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

B4040-4N 40-Watt Replacement Bulb

PostedJune 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to install. Installation was completed 5 minutes after I returned home.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for B4040-4N 40-Watt Replacement Bulb

Okay bug light

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Thanks to the service person who helped me order the light which was not in stock.
Pros: Easy to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for B4040-4N 40-Watt Replacement Bulb
from Grass Valley,CA.

Stinger bulbs 40 watts

PostedAugust 25, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
They all work good to lure the bugs to the electrocution they deserve.
 
Products related to my review
 
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for B4040-4N 40-Watt Replacement Bulb
from Conneaut, OH
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female

Works great

PostedSeptember 25, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Too bad I couldn't find this in the store though and had to pay for shipping.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for B4040-4N 40-Watt Replacement Bulb
from Powder Springs, GA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Bulb does not illuminate 100%. It only lights up about 33%

PostedAugust 28, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Placed the bulb in correctly and it only lights up 1/3 of the bulb.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for B4040-4N 40-Watt Replacement Bulb

Great product.

PostedJune 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Had this bug zapper for over 24 years. It has been awesome. The light still worked; bulb broke as it was being cleaned. Purchased a new bulb today and we are back in the bug zapping business.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for B4040-4N 40-Watt Replacement Bulb

speedy delivery - just what I wanted.

PostedSeptember 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
speedy delivery - just what I wanted. Works well for what I needed it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for B4040-4N 40-Watt Replacement Bulb
from Smyrna, Tn

bulb works so far

PostedJune 16, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I installed it in my 20 year old Stinger bug zapper. It works again. As long as this bulb doesn't go out soon, then it should work fine. I read other reviews that said the bulb didn't last but a couple of months. I have only used it a few days and it works fine. The original bulb was still good..until I dropped it while cleaning it out. I don't get bit by mosquitos as long as the bug zapper is on.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for B4040-4N 40-Watt Replacement Bulb
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This product was available only through on line order

PostedAugust 13, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
It arrived quickly and was packed well. Although it was the specified correct bulb, the light still failed to work. Will have to check wiring in light
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for B4040-4N 40-Watt Replacement Bulb

Bulb quit after 4-5 months. $15 for a new one?!?

PostedMay 27, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Used the Stinger inside and outside. Super effective while the bulb works, zero effect without the uv light. And am I crazy or is $15 REALLY steep for a bulb?
I plugged a splitter into my extension cord and wired a standard bulb socket with a 12" cord, then hung a $2 backlight bulb in the space where the OEM bulb was. Worked perfectly.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for B4040-4N 40-Watt Replacement Bulb
from Aurora, IL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Was what I needed to resolve my issue

PostedJuly 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The stinger appeared to be bad but it was caused by a bad bulb.
Pros: Easy to Install, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for B4040-4N 40-Watt Replacement Bulb
from Manhattan, KS, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It Works Great

PostedJune 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
There's not a whole lot you can say about a light bulb, but it is easy to install. The stinger unit itself is great, I have three of them on my property. Some may think the replacement bulb is a little on the pricey side, but if you live in a area such as I do, it is well worth it.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for B4040-4N 40-Watt Replacement Bulb

I returned the item because it did not work.

PostedMay 1, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
I returned the item because it did not work. I hope I have a 22.00 credit on my statement.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for B4040-4N 40-Watt Replacement Bulb
from Lockport, Louisiana

great zapper bulb

PostedApril 30, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Had the unit and the same bulb for well over 20yrs. The bulb just kicked the bucket tonite. Will definitely be heading to Homedepot in the morning. Would recommend this product and the unit to all, it works very good with those big mosquitoes we have here in deep southeast Louisiana, lol.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for B4040-4N 40-Watt Replacement Bulb
from Garden Grove CA

stinger bug zapper.

PostedMay 29, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Works great at killing insects in & around the home, I bought 2 & we have very little insect problems plus we feed the insects to our 2 turtles & the gecko we have. I would definately recommend this product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for B4040-4N 40-Watt Replacement Bulb
from Alabama

Good Product

PostedMay 26, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Good product. Seems to really help keep mosquito population in check.
Home Depot also shipped fast.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for B4040-4N 40-Watt Replacement Bulb
from Ft.Laud Fla

satified

PostedSeptember 2, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
i had this product over 10 year and still zapping.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>