728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Combustible Gas Detectors or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Plug-In Combination Explosive Gas/Carbon Monoxide Alarm Detector with Battery Back-up

Plug-In Combination Explosive Gas/Carbon Monoxide Alarm Detector with Battery Back-up

Protect your home from dual threats by utilizing the Kidde AC Combination Carbon Monoxide/Explosive Gas Alarm. This combination alarm features a digital display that shows the current level of carbon monoxide or methane or propane gas in the air. When a threat is detected, this alarm produces a loud 85 dB pulsing alert that is sure to get your attention.
Overall rating:
4.446 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(92 reviews) 90
Open Ratings Snapshot
91%of customersrecommend this product81 of 89reviews
Rating Breakdown 92 reviews
4.4 out of 5
5
(63)
4
(18)
3
(4)
2
(3)
1
(4)
Quality 
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
91%of customersrecommend this product81 of 89reviews
Customer questions and answers:
15 Questions | 35 Answers
Customer reviews for Plug-In Combination Explosive Gas/Carbon Monoxide Alarm Detector with Battery Back-up
Review 1 for Plug-In Combination Explosive Gas/Carbon Monoxide Alarm Detector with Battery Back-up
from Texas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A good value and it works

PostedJune 26, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I purchased this unit after my wife woke me up and told me she thought she smelled gas. After being up the rest of the night assuring her she didn’t I drove to Home Depot and picked up this combination Gas/Carbon Monoxide detector unit. I tested it with an open gas valve and it works well. The alarm emits a very loud piercing blast that is sure to wake up even the soundest sleeper. Having an alkaline 9 volt battery (included) backup; it can be unplugged and moved from room to room for testing. You can plug it right into a 110 volt outlet or slide out a built in stand and sit it on the counter. I have used a Nighthawk Carbon Monoxide detector for several years with no problems. In my opinion this combination unit is a very small price to pay for a good night of sleep.
Pros: Easy to Use, Loud, Nice Design, Easy Installation, battery backup
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Plug-In Combination Explosive Gas/Carbon Monoxide Alarm Detector with Battery Back-up
from IL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product is a must have.

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The product has Night Hawk technology which our fire dept suggest a carbon monoxide alarm have. It is easy to read, has a battery back up and is reasonably priced. We have one in our lower level, main level and upstairs level of our home. The carbon monoxide/gas alarm combination is the best way to go.
Pros: Easy to Use, Great Sound Quality, Compact, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Installation
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Plug-In Combination Explosive Gas/Carbon Monoxide Alarm Detector with Battery Back-up
from Staten Island, New York
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Well worth the money

PostedOctober 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Bought this because my boys bedroom was being built close to the furnace. Didn't expect it to go off the minute I plugged it in. Turns out there was an issue with the furnace. Awesome product, a true life saver.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Plug-In Combination Explosive Gas/Carbon Monoxide Alarm Detector with Battery Back-up
from NE Ohio
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Peace Of Mind

PostedDecember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
CO2 detectors are becoming more mainstream and unfortunately house explosions seemingly more frequent. Just 2 years ago not far from our residence an older couple lost their lives when their home exploded as they slept. Our century home is well over 100 and the hot water heat boiler (slated for replacement when finances permit) should be in a museum. The boiler and all mechanical systems are regularly maintained but never leave anything to chance. The CO2 / explosive gas detector makes perfect sense. After reading the reviews this detector was purchased and installed in a handy wall outlet at the top of the stairs right outside our bedroom. An unlit propane torch provided a gas "leak" source and the unit responded in a timely manner. I have no doubt the CO2 detection is as responsive. The unit has a pull-out tab on the backside to stabilize the unit against the wall. This tab needs a firmer lock as the unit is frequently bumped due to the location of the wall outlet right at the end of the stair handrail. The stabilizing tab consistently retracts with the slightest bump. Other than that minor annoyance the unit gives peace of mind. The recent price reduction was a nice plus.
Pros: Loud, Easy Installation
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Plug-In Combination Explosive Gas/Carbon Monoxide Alarm Detector with Battery Back-up
from St. Louis, MO, USA
Age Range:25 to 34

So far so good!

PostedJanuary 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We've had ours installed for about 2 weeks, which comes with lots and lots of peace of mind because we recently had a gas leak in our house and never knew we needed a gas detector instead of just a carbon monoxide detector. The price is high, but you can't put a price on peace of mind. We haven't had any false alarms yet like other reviewers have complained about. We also haven't had any issues with the 9 volt backup battery like others have. Seems to be a good product so far! EVERYONE WHO HAS GAS RUN TO THEIR HOUSE NEEDS TO HAVE ONE OF THESE! We had a low level gas leak in our house that was making me sick, so I will never ever live without one of these again.
Pros: Loud, Clear Instructions, Easy Installation, peace of mind and safety
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Plug-In Combination Explosive Gas/Carbon Monoxide Alarm Detector with Battery Back-up
from baltimore
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

2 monitors in one

PostedFebruary 4, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
An easy, no brain er to protect your family. I read the instructions to know what to expect and plugged it in. That simple. Yes, there is a shelf life and I'll have to replace it in years to come, but I'm fine with that. I really like that it is outside my HVAC closet monitoring to two items that concern me at that location.
Pros: Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Installation
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Plug-In Combination Explosive Gas/Carbon Monoxide Alarm Detector with Battery Back-up
from Delta, PA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent buy for Propane Users

PostedJuly 7, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Experienced a propane leak at friends house who has been sick. My friend could not smell the effects of the gas. If a visitor had not stopped in, my friend could have become very sick or died. The alarm on the detector is very loud and can easily alert personnel on the first and second floors of the home.
Pros: Easy to Use, Loud, Compact, Clear Instructions, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Plug-In Combination Explosive Gas/Carbon Monoxide Alarm Detector with Battery Back-up
from Olathe
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Detects natuaral gas as well as other solvent fumes.

PostedDecember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Bought a second one to replace an old one that I have been using for several years. The old one stll works fine as well as the new one. Product quality has not changed over the the past several years as many things seem to do. As well as natural gas they also detect hydrocarbon vapors from cleaning solvents and also the wife's harispray propellant.
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Nice Design, Easy Replacement, Easy Installation
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Plug-In Combination Explosive Gas/Carbon Monoxide Alarm Detector with Battery Back-up
from New York NY
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I don't want to die of bad gas!

PostedFebruary 3, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Plugs into the wall socket. A little large. Seems to be good quality.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: a bit large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Plug-In Combination Explosive Gas/Carbon Monoxide Alarm Detector with Battery Back-up
from Oswego, IL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent unit - no issues after several years of continuous use

PostedAugust 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We purchased this detector a few years ago, and have had no issues with it since. Last night, the gas detector went off. I couldn't smell the odorant in the leaking gas, but I still shut off the flow and called the gas company.
They found two small leaks, and were surprised that the unit detected the gas levels found.
I previously owned a Nighthawk CO detector (no gas detctor), and it performed quite well.
Pros: Loud, Very Bright, Nice Design, Easy Installation
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Plug-In Combination Explosive Gas/Carbon Monoxide Alarm Detector with Battery Back-up
from Grand Haven, MI, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Worked when I needed it to.

PostedNovember 29, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
This alarm went off twice and both times it detected a very small gas leak in the old house we were living in. The gas leak was small, and the gas specialist assured us that it was so small it wouldn't even have been an issue, but the fact is, this detector caught it. I've been happy with it and it makes me feel safer. I have a First Alert detector as well, and that one didn't go off when the Kidde Nighthawk did.
+24points
25out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Plug-In Combination Explosive Gas/Carbon Monoxide Alarm Detector with Battery Back-up
from drexel hill, PA

not sure how it will work down the road

PostedJune 2, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The reason for my review is that I've had several of these. I wanted a detector that would handle gas and carbon monoxide. There are not a lot of choices out there, and Home Depot only had this one. I've lived in my home for 8 years now, and have had to purchase three of these. Each one went bad after a few years. Am hoping this one lasts for the term of the warranty, but it won't unless the manufacturer has made some changes to the design. I will know in a few years whether this was worth it to buy.
Pros: Nice Design, works for carbon monoxide and gas
Cons: Burns Out
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Plug-In Combination Explosive Gas/Carbon Monoxide Alarm Detector with Battery Back-up
from Farmington Hills,MI
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

replacing expired unit

PostedJune 16, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The first replacement I purchased was inoperative. I returned the unit and got a like 2nd replacement and that functions very well.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Easy Replacement, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Plug-In Combination Explosive Gas/Carbon Monoxide Alarm Detector with Battery Back-up
from Ohio
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Seems Good

PostedMarch 25, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I use this device as a plug in with battery as a back up. The left button operates the test function, the right button operates the highest level function that shows you the highest level of CO detected. The readout screen shows zero but the highest level shows 20ppm not sure 20ppm is accurate since the detector has a range of 30ppm to 999ppm. I recently replaced a hot water heater that made my simple CO detector beep. The fire department used their test equipment to narrow down the hot water heater as the culprit. The recommended replacing the CO detector after replacing the hot water heater. I decided to go with a model with a readout. The fire department report that 30ppm is an unhealthy level of CO. The detector I believe sounds an alarm at 70ppm. I think I will purchase another one to put in the basement near the equipment to have one on the main level and one near the utilities for better information. I may look at the different brands to see if any of the detectors have a readout at the lower range. As a last resort safety device these should work well.
Pros: Easy Installation
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Plug-In Combination Explosive Gas/Carbon Monoxide Alarm Detector with Battery Back-up
from Marietta, GA

Kidde CO Detector with Battery Back-Up

PostedJune 1, 2006
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Very easy to install, just plug into an outlet. The first one we purchased was defective. The alarm would constantly go off even when the digital display said zero and no carbon monoxide was in the air. We knew there was no carbon monoxide present because we had another CO detector that did not go off. The alarm is a very high pitched sound that awakens you immediately. We know because it would often sound in the middle of the night. We finally called the manufacturer and they asked us for the serial number. They said it was defective and told us to throw it away. They sent us a new one that we have had no problems with.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Plug-In Combination Explosive Gas/Carbon Monoxide Alarm Detector with Battery Back-up
from Madison, WI

This Product Saved Our Lives!!!

PostedSeptember 3, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Recently, our home was hit by lightning. The lightning ran along the ductwork in the house and punctured holes in the adjacent flexible gas lines. Without this detector, we wouldn't have known so quickly that there was explosive gas filling the basement, and we could have had a very bad outcome. There is no doubt in our minds that this product saved our lives.
If you have any gas appliances in your home, this is a must!
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Plug-In Combination Explosive Gas/Carbon Monoxide Alarm Detector with Battery Back-up

It works - plug it in

PostedMay 26, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
It works - plug it in. Read through the manual, supposed to put it in rooms you sleep in.
Pros: Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Plug-In Combination Explosive Gas/Carbon Monoxide Alarm Detector with Battery Back-up
from NJ
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This is an Explosive Gas Dectector ! ! !

PostedMay 5, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This detector will respond to all explosive gases. If you leave a glass of wine (alcohol) near the detector, it will set off an alarm (as alcohol is an explosive gas). When mine first went off without merit (so I thought), I was upset, until I realized it was my wife's glass of red wine that was too close to the detector & set it off. I'm a Home Performance Contractor and recommend this product to all of my customers during my audits.
Pros: Easy to Use, Loud, Compact, Easy Replacement, Easy Installation, could be life saving!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Plug-In Combination Explosive Gas/Carbon Monoxide Alarm Detector with Battery Back-up
from Buufalo NY
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very Good Detector

PostedMay 13, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I have been using this detector for well over 15 years. This is the third one we have since they by design only last 5 years or so. So far no gas has been detected but we do regularly test the unit by uing small amounts of natural gas. Yes to verify only.
Small price to pay for peace of mind.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Loud, Compact, Nice Design, Easy Replacement, Easy Installation, Reliable
Cons: Burns Out, short life by design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Plug-In Combination Explosive Gas/Carbon Monoxide Alarm Detector with Battery Back-up
from Seatte, wa
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Won't pick up a small leak

PostedFebruary 10, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
We had a tiny leak that could be smelled by someone with a sensitive nose (not me), but it was not detected by the detector. I assume it works if the level is higher/dangerous.
It is built solid and is convenient.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>