728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Plug-In Combination Explosive Gas/Carbon Monoxide Alarm Detector with Battery Back-up

Plug-In Combination Explosive Gas/Carbon Monoxide Alarm Detector with Battery Back-up

Protect your home from dual threats by utilizing the Kidde AC Combination Carbon Monoxide/Explosive Gas Alarm. This combination alarm features a digital display that shows the current level of carbon monoxide or methane or propane gas in the air. When a threat is detected, this alarm produces a loud 85 dB pulsing alert that is sure to get your attention.
Overall rating:
4.417 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(84 reviews) 82
Open Ratings Snapshot
91%of customersrecommend this product74 of 81reviews
Rating Breakdown 84 reviews
4.4 out of 5
5
(56)
4
(18)
3
(3)
2
(3)
1
(4)
Quality 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
91%of customersrecommend this product74 of 81reviews
Customer questions and answers:
14 Questions | 21 Answers
Customer reviews for Plug-In Combination Explosive Gas/Carbon Monoxide Alarm Detector with Battery Back-up
Review 1 for Plug-In Combination Explosive Gas/Carbon Monoxide Alarm Detector with Battery Back-up
from IL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product is a must have.

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The product has Night Hawk technology which our fire dept suggest a carbon monoxide alarm have. It is easy to read, has a battery back up and is reasonably priced. We have one in our lower level, main level and upstairs level of our home. The carbon monoxide/gas alarm combination is the best way to go.
Pros: Easy to Use, Great Sound Quality, Compact, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Installation
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Plug-In Combination Explosive Gas/Carbon Monoxide Alarm Detector with Battery Back-up
from NE Ohio
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Peace Of Mind

PostedDecember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
CO2 detectors are becoming more mainstream and unfortunately house explosions seemingly more frequent. Just 2 years ago not far from our residence an older couple lost their lives when their home exploded as they slept. Our century home is well over 100 and the hot water heat boiler (slated for replacement when finances permit) should be in a museum. The boiler and all mechanical systems are regularly maintained but never leave anything to chance. The CO2 / explosive gas detector makes perfect sense. After reading the reviews this detector was purchased and installed in a handy wall outlet at the top of the stairs right outside our bedroom. An unlit propane torch provided a gas "leak" source and the unit responded in a timely manner. I have no doubt the CO2 detection is as responsive. The unit has a pull-out tab on the backside to stabilize the unit against the wall. This tab needs a firmer lock as the unit is frequently bumped due to the location of the wall outlet right at the end of the stair handrail. The stabilizing tab consistently retracts with the slightest bump. Other than that minor annoyance the unit gives peace of mind. The recent price reduction was a nice plus.
Pros: Loud, Easy Installation
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Plug-In Combination Explosive Gas/Carbon Monoxide Alarm Detector with Battery Back-up
from baltimore
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

2 monitors in one

PostedFebruary 4, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
An easy, no brain er to protect your family. I read the instructions to know what to expect and plugged it in. That simple. Yes, there is a shelf life and I'll have to replace it in years to come, but I'm fine with that. I really like that it is outside my HVAC closet monitoring to two items that concern me at that location.
Pros: Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Installation
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Plug-In Combination Explosive Gas/Carbon Monoxide Alarm Detector with Battery Back-up
from New York NY
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I don't want to die of bad gas!

PostedFebruary 3, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Plugs into the wall socket. A little large. Seems to be good quality.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: a bit large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Plug-In Combination Explosive Gas/Carbon Monoxide Alarm Detector with Battery Back-up
from Staten Island, New York
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Well worth the money

PostedOctober 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Bought this because my boys bedroom was being built close to the furnace. Didn't expect it to go off the minute I plugged it in. Turns out there was an issue with the furnace. Awesome product, a true life saver.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Plug-In Combination Explosive Gas/Carbon Monoxide Alarm Detector with Battery Back-up
from Olathe
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Detects natuaral gas as well as other solvent fumes.

PostedDecember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Bought a second one to replace an old one that I have been using for several years. The old one stll works fine as well as the new one. Product quality has not changed over the the past several years as many things seem to do. As well as natural gas they also detect hydrocarbon vapors from cleaning solvents and also the wife's harispray propellant.
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Nice Design, Easy Replacement, Easy Installation
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Plug-In Combination Explosive Gas/Carbon Monoxide Alarm Detector with Battery Back-up
from Columbus, OH
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Durable construction with added confidence

PostedApril 14, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I must admit that now I'm much happier knowing that this product serves to detect combustible gases along with CO. While one never knows how real the threat the whole reason to purchase these devices is to remove all doubt. Battery backup is a nice added feature even if it's plugged into the wall. Very nice product.
Pros: Easy to Use, Loud, Compact, Nice Design, dual power source
Cons: little large
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Plug-In Combination Explosive Gas/Carbon Monoxide Alarm Detector with Battery Back-up
from Seatte, wa
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Won't pick up a small leak

PostedFebruary 10, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
We had a tiny leak that could be smelled by someone with a sensitive nose (not me), but it was not detected by the detector. I assume it works if the level is higher/dangerous.
It is built solid and is convenient.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Plug-In Combination Explosive Gas/Carbon Monoxide Alarm Detector with Battery Back-up
from West Bloomfield, MI
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice n' simple

PostedApril 14, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I haven't had to use it yet, so that's good. Plug it in and hope it works if needed. Replaced my 10 year old device. Went with same but newer version
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Replacement, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Plug-In Combination Explosive Gas/Carbon Monoxide Alarm Detector with Battery Back-up
from Urbandale
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Gas/Carbon Monoxide Detector

PostedApril 14, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Monitor instructions were easy to understand. Nice size.
Pros: Compact, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Plug-In Combination Explosive Gas/Carbon Monoxide Alarm Detector with Battery Back-up

Versatile Combo Detector

PostedJanuary 29, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
A combination CO2 and gas detector is the way to go with gas appliances.
The best feature is that you can plug the unit directly into a wall outlet, or have the unit on a flat surface with the built in corded plug that can be extended to the outlet. In my case I did not have a suitable outlet location so I set it on a cabinet and plugged it in to an outlet five feet away.
Pros: Nice Design, Easy Installation
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Plug-In Combination Explosive Gas/Carbon Monoxide Alarm Detector with Battery Back-up
from St. Louis, MO, USA
Age Range:25 to 34

So far so good!

PostedJanuary 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We've had ours installed for about 2 weeks, which comes with lots and lots of peace of mind because we recently had a gas leak in our house and never knew we needed a gas detector instead of just a carbon monoxide detector. The price is high, but you can't put a price on peace of mind. We haven't had any false alarms yet like other reviewers have complained about. We also haven't had any issues with the 9 volt backup battery like others have. Seems to be a good product so far! EVERYONE WHO HAS GAS RUN TO THEIR HOUSE NEEDS TO HAVE ONE OF THESE! We had a low level gas leak in our house that was making me sick, so I will never ever live without one of these again.
Pros: Loud, Clear Instructions, Easy Installation, peace of mind and safety
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Plug-In Combination Explosive Gas/Carbon Monoxide Alarm Detector with Battery Back-up
from Ohio
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Seems Good

PostedMarch 25, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I use this device as a plug in with battery as a back up. The left button operates the test function, the right button operates the highest level function that shows you the highest level of CO detected. The readout screen shows zero but the highest level shows 20ppm not sure 20ppm is accurate since the detector has a range of 30ppm to 999ppm. I recently replaced a hot water heater that made my simple CO detector beep. The fire department used their test equipment to narrow down the hot water heater as the culprit. The recommended replacing the CO detector after replacing the hot water heater. I decided to go with a model with a readout. The fire department report that 30ppm is an unhealthy level of CO. The detector I believe sounds an alarm at 70ppm. I think I will purchase another one to put in the basement near the equipment to have one on the main level and one near the utilities for better information. I may look at the different brands to see if any of the detectors have a readout at the lower range. As a last resort safety device these should work well.
Pros: Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Plug-In Combination Explosive Gas/Carbon Monoxide Alarm Detector with Battery Back-up
from Oswego, IL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent unit - no issues after several years of continuous use

PostedAugust 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We purchased this detector a few years ago, and have had no issues with it since. Last night, the gas detector went off. I couldn't smell the odorant in the leaking gas, but I still shut off the flow and called the gas company.
They found two small leaks, and were surprised that the unit detected the gas levels found.
I previously owned a Nighthawk CO detector (no gas detctor), and it performed quite well.
Pros: Loud, Very Bright, Nice Design, Easy Installation
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Plug-In Combination Explosive Gas/Carbon Monoxide Alarm Detector with Battery Back-up
from Glenn Dale, MD, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Good idea

PostedMarch 10, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Built a shed, put a Mr. Heater propane heater in there for the winter (t=rated for indoor use). Figured this was a good idea just to be safe. Like that it will detect a propane leak as well as carbon monoxide, I'm not big into blowing myself up.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Plug-In Combination Explosive Gas/Carbon Monoxide Alarm Detector with Battery Back-up
from Grand Haven, MI, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Worked when I needed it to.

PostedNovember 29, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
This alarm went off twice and both times it detected a very small gas leak in the old house we were living in. The gas leak was small, and the gas specialist assured us that it was so small it wouldn't even have been an issue, but the fact is, this detector caught it. I've been happy with it and it makes me feel safer. I have a First Alert detector as well, and that one didn't go off when the Kidde Nighthawk did.
+23points
24out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Plug-In Combination Explosive Gas/Carbon Monoxide Alarm Detector with Battery Back-up
from Marietta, GA

Kidde CO Detector with Battery Back-Up

PostedJune 1, 2006
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Very easy to install, just plug into an outlet. The first one we purchased was defective. The alarm would constantly go off even when the digital display said zero and no carbon monoxide was in the air. We knew there was no carbon monoxide present because we had another CO detector that did not go off. The alarm is a very high pitched sound that awakens you immediately. We know because it would often sound in the middle of the night. We finally called the manufacturer and they asked us for the serial number. They said it was defective and told us to throw it away. They sent us a new one that we have had no problems with.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Plug-In Combination Explosive Gas/Carbon Monoxide Alarm Detector with Battery Back-up
from Madison, WI

This Product Saved Our Lives!!!

PostedSeptember 3, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Recently, our home was hit by lightning. The lightning ran along the ductwork in the house and punctured holes in the adjacent flexible gas lines. Without this detector, we wouldn't have known so quickly that there was explosive gas filling the basement, and we could have had a very bad outcome. There is no doubt in our minds that this product saved our lives.
If you have any gas appliances in your home, this is a must!
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Plug-In Combination Explosive Gas/Carbon Monoxide Alarm Detector with Battery Back-up

Gas/carbon monoxide detector

PostedFebruary 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Don't know if it works. Guess I'll find out if I get a gas leak! Product seems well designed and is easy to set up.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Plug-In Combination Explosive Gas/Carbon Monoxide Alarm Detector with Battery Back-up

Constant false alarms

PostedOctober 2, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
I owned two of these units and they alarmed all the time. Anything that had a scent such as cleaners would trigger the unit. It appears to be too sensitive for explosive gas detection. To my amazement human and pet "natural gas" triggered the units too. I'm not kidding. It took a while to figure that one out. I have my doubts that would be an explosive hazard.
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Nice Design
Cons: frequent false alarm
+1point
5out of 9found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>