728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Combustible Gas Detectors or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Plug-In Combination Explosive Gas/Carbon Monoxide Alarm Detector with Battery Back-up

Plug-In Combination Explosive Gas/Carbon Monoxide Alarm Detector with Battery Back-up

Protect your home from dual threats by utilizing the Kidde AC Combination Carbon Monoxide/Explosive Gas Alarm. This combination alarm features a digital display that shows the current level of carbon monoxide or methane or propane gas in the air. When a threat is detected, this alarm produces a loud 85 dB pulsing alert that is sure to get your attention.
Overall rating:
4.348 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(69 reviews) 67
Open Ratings Snapshot
90%of customersrecommend this product60 of 67reviews
Rating Breakdown 69 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(45)
4
(14)
3
(3)
2
(3)
1
(4)
Quality 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
90%of customersrecommend this product60 of 67reviews
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 10 Answers
Customer reviews for Plug-In Combination Explosive Gas/Carbon Monoxide Alarm Detector with Battery Back-up
Review 1 for Plug-In Combination Explosive Gas/Carbon Monoxide Alarm Detector with Battery Back-up
from NE Ohio
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Peace Of Mind

PostedDecember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
CO2 detectors are becoming more mainstream and unfortunately house explosions seemingly more frequent. Just 2 years ago not far from our residence an older couple lost their lives when their home exploded as they slept. Our century home is well over 100 and the hot water heat boiler (slated for replacement when finances permit) should be in a museum. The boiler and all mechanical systems are regularly maintained but never leave anything to chance. The CO2 / explosive gas detector makes perfect sense. After reading the reviews this detector was purchased and installed in a handy wall outlet at the top of the stairs right outside our bedroom. An unlit propane torch provided a gas "leak" source and the unit responded in a timely manner. I have no doubt the CO2 detection is as responsive. The unit has a pull-out tab on the backside to stabilize the unit against the wall. This tab needs a firmer lock as the unit is frequently bumped due to the location of the wall outlet right at the end of the stair handrail. The stabilizing tab consistently retracts with the slightest bump. Other than that minor annoyance the unit gives peace of mind. The recent price reduction was a nice plus.
Pros: Loud, Easy Installation
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Plug-In Combination Explosive Gas/Carbon Monoxide Alarm Detector with Battery Back-up
from IL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product is a must have.

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The product has Night Hawk technology which our fire dept suggest a carbon monoxide alarm have. It is easy to read, has a battery back up and is reasonably priced. We have one in our lower level, main level and upstairs level of our home. The carbon monoxide/gas alarm combination is the best way to go.
Pros: Easy to Use, Great Sound Quality, Compact, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Installation
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Plug-In Combination Explosive Gas/Carbon Monoxide Alarm Detector with Battery Back-up
from Staten Island, New York
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Well worth the money

PostedOctober 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought this because my boys bedroom was being built close to the furnace. Didn't expect it to go off the minute I plugged it in. Turns out there was an issue with the furnace. Awesome product, a true life saver.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Plug-In Combination Explosive Gas/Carbon Monoxide Alarm Detector with Battery Back-up

Priceless Peace of Mind

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
You can't put a price on peace of mind. With the winter upon us I wanted to protect my family and this dual purpose alarm is perfect. User friendly and the price was excellent. It is very important to read the instruction booklet in order to properly place to insure maximum protection.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Plug-In Combination Explosive Gas/Carbon Monoxide Alarm Detector with Battery Back-up
from St. Louis, MO, USA
Age Range:25 to 34

So far so good!

PostedJanuary 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We've had ours installed for about 2 weeks, which comes with lots and lots of peace of mind because we recently had a gas leak in our house and never knew we needed a gas detector instead of just a carbon monoxide detector. The price is high, but you can't put a price on peace of mind. We haven't had any false alarms yet like other reviewers have complained about. We also haven't had any issues with the 9 volt backup battery like others have. Seems to be a good product so far! EVERYONE WHO HAS GAS RUN TO THEIR HOUSE NEEDS TO HAVE ONE OF THESE! We had a low level gas leak in our house that was making me sick, so I will never ever live without one of these again.
Pros: Loud, Clear Instructions, Easy Installation, peace of mind and safety
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Plug-In Combination Explosive Gas/Carbon Monoxide Alarm Detector with Battery Back-up
from Saginaw,MI
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Peace of mind is priceless.

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This puts my wife at ease. Just install the battery and plug it in.
Pros: Easy to Use, Nice Design, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Plug-In Combination Explosive Gas/Carbon Monoxide Alarm Detector with Battery Back-up
from Oswego, IL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent unit - no issues after several years of continuous use

PostedAugust 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We purchased this detector a few years ago, and have had no issues with it since. Last night, the gas detector went off. I couldn't smell the odorant in the leaking gas, but I still shut off the flow and called the gas company.
They found two small leaks, and were surprised that the unit detected the gas levels found.
I previously owned a Nighthawk CO detector (no gas detctor), and it performed quite well.
Pros: Loud, Very Bright, Nice Design, Easy Installation
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Plug-In Combination Explosive Gas/Carbon Monoxide Alarm Detector with Battery Back-up

Constant false alarms

PostedOctober 2, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
I owned two of these units and they alarmed all the time. Anything that had a scent such as cleaners would trigger the unit. It appears to be too sensitive for explosive gas detection. To my amazement human and pet "natural gas" triggered the units too. I'm not kidding. It took a while to figure that one out. I have my doubts that would be an explosive hazard.
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Nice Design
Cons: frequent false alarm
-2points
2out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Plug-In Combination Explosive Gas/Carbon Monoxide Alarm Detector with Battery Back-up

Cannot run on battery alone

PostedNovember 7, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The detector works fine with easy instructions but when first trying it out with just the battery, it sucked the battery down in just a few days. It did it again with the second fresh battery. Mine is now plugged in and working great. Battery will only be used as back-up.
Pros: Easy to Use, Clear Instructions, Easy Installation
Cons: Short Battery Life
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Plug-In Combination Explosive Gas/Carbon Monoxide Alarm Detector with Battery Back-up

Be safe

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I did a practice run with this device and it worked perfectly. I highly suggest using this product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Plug-In Combination Explosive Gas/Carbon Monoxide Alarm Detector with Battery Back-up
from Grand Haven, MI, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Worked when I needed it to.

PostedNovember 29, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This alarm went off twice and both times it detected a very small gas leak in the old house we were living in. The gas leak was small, and the gas specialist assured us that it was so small it wouldn't even have been an issue, but the fact is, this detector caught it. I've been happy with it and it makes me feel safer. I have a First Alert detector as well, and that one didn't go off when the Kidde Nighthawk did.
+19points
20out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Plug-In Combination Explosive Gas/Carbon Monoxide Alarm Detector with Battery Back-up
from Madison, WI

This Product Saved Our Lives!!!

PostedSeptember 3, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Recently, our home was hit by lightning. The lightning ran along the ductwork in the house and punctured holes in the adjacent flexible gas lines. Without this detector, we wouldn't have known so quickly that there was explosive gas filling the basement, and we could have had a very bad outcome. There is no doubt in our minds that this product saved our lives.
If you have any gas appliances in your home, this is a must!
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Plug-In Combination Explosive Gas/Carbon Monoxide Alarm Detector with Battery Back-up

Peace of mind

PostedJune 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Thankfully we have not had any gas leaks but it is reassuring to know that we have this in our bedroom in case anything should happen. Kidde makes quality products and I am fully confident in this CO detector working if needed.
Pros: Easy to Use, Clear Instructions, Easy Installation
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Plug-In Combination Explosive Gas/Carbon Monoxide Alarm Detector with Battery Back-up
from Lexington KY
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great unit. Detects explosive gas

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I bought this to not only detect carbon monoxide, but also to detect explosive gas. I am sure it works on propane, but not sure about natural gas. The unit has not sent off any false alarms which is great.
Pros: Easy to Use, Loud, Compact, Easy Replacement, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Plug-In Combination Explosive Gas/Carbon Monoxide Alarm Detector with Battery Back-up
from Oscoda MI.
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

works great!

PostedJanuary 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I did test the unit. works just great. intall just plug in and use small propane tank to test
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Plug-In Combination Explosive Gas/Carbon Monoxide Alarm Detector with Battery Back-up
from Marietta, GA

Kidde CO Detector with Battery Back-Up

PostedJune 1, 2006
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Very easy to install, just plug into an outlet. The first one we purchased was defective. The alarm would constantly go off even when the digital display said zero and no carbon monoxide was in the air. We knew there was no carbon monoxide present because we had another CO detector that did not go off. The alarm is a very high pitched sound that awakens you immediately. We know because it would often sound in the middle of the night. We finally called the manufacturer and they asked us for the serial number. They said it was defective and told us to throw it away. They sent us a new one that we have had no problems with.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Plug-In Combination Explosive Gas/Carbon Monoxide Alarm Detector with Battery Back-up

Read all the reviews then ordered it

PostedMay 4, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Turned the gas on and tried ......Doesnt work, going back to HD... can someone plz suggest a natural gas alarm that really works? Thanks
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Plug-In Combination Explosive Gas/Carbon Monoxide Alarm Detector with Battery Back-up
from Lexington, KY

Very Sensitive and makes me feel very safe

PostedAugust 29, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I would recommend this detector to anyone that wants to keep their family safe. It has gone off a couple of times when my wife burnt some food on the stove. It even surprisingly went off once when the family cat passed gas right under where it was plugged in. That was not expected, but shows how good it is at detecting gas leaks.
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Plug-In Combination Explosive Gas/Carbon Monoxide Alarm Detector with Battery Back-up
from Ludlow, Ky

Excellent Product

PostedFebruary 3, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We just purchased this detector about 4 weeks ago and it was proved to be a life-saving decision. My wife had just started baking some blueberry muffins and went to answer the phone. There was a fluxuation in the gas pressure and the oven burners went out. She had only been out of the kitchen for about 2 minutes when the GAS alarm went off. She was able to immediately take action. This item is well worth getting.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Plug-In Combination Explosive Gas/Carbon Monoxide Alarm Detector with Battery Back-up
from Bloomingdale New Jersey
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

carbon monoxide alarm detector

PostedJune 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This style of carbon monoxide detector is great ! The life span is 7 years and this is my second time buying the Kidde brand. It's easy to use and reset and put the back up battery in and you just plug it in and your good to go. I reset once a month. It's very easy. It saves life's it's worth every single penny .
Pros: Battery Length, Easy to Use, Loud, Clear Instructions, Easy Installation
Cons: none
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>