728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 3-1/2 in. Round Head Framing Nailer

3-1/2 in. Round Head Framing Nailer

Featuring an internal piston catch mechanism, the porter cable 3-1/2 in. Round Head Strip Framing Nailer provides the power to drive nails up to 3-1/2 in. into engineered lumber. The nailer's compact-body design and inline, hard-coat anodized magazine offer balance while its bypass nail pusher provides fast reloading for your convenience. This unit's depth of drive adjusts with no tools required so you can properly set the nail heads.
Overall rating:
4.688 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(16 reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
94%of customersrecommend this product15 of 16reviews
Rating Breakdown 16 reviews
4.7 out of 5.0
5
(14)
4
(1)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
94%of customersrecommend this product15 of 16reviews
Customer reviews for 3-1/2 in. Round Head Framing Nailer
Review 1 for 3-1/2 in. Round Head Framing Nailer
Enselma
from Honey Brook, PA 19344, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good value for light use

PostedDecember 20, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
While I've not yet made extensive use of the nailer, it does seem solid and did function well out of the box. One thing I'll suggest to buyers is to check the availability of nails at your local store since it does vary a bit. Nailer isn't much good without ample supply of the right angled nails. The unit came with a sturdy plastic case which wasn't listed in the description so that was nice. The depth gauge adjusts fairly easily. The adjustable exhaust is also nice to get the blast away from you. Overall I'm very pleased with this unit, especially the price. Unit was shipped quickly to me in good condition.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 3-1/2 in. Round Head Framing Nailer
hillbillyjoe
from Peru Me

excellent tool

PostedAugust 17, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Framed my whole house with this gun and it has never missed a beat. Seems to require less air to drive nails than some other brands I have used. I really like the selectable firing modes on the trigger when switching from one job to another there is no down time changing parts.
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 3-1/2 in. Round Head Framing Nailer
OrangeTiger1998
from Norfolk, VA

An essential tool for the exceptional homeowner

PostedOctober 31, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The average homeowner may not build a deck, convert the basement into living space, or enclose a porch into a sunroom. The exceptional homeowner will. If this is you, buy this framing nailer. The Porter-Cable Roundhead Framing Nailer is an exceptional purchase with fantastic durability, performance and price. With the Roundhead nailer, you won't have to worry about meeting additional nailing requirments that the clipped nails may carry (in certain high wind zones across the country.) Nails are available in almost any variety for this nailer also, whether you need ring shank, stainless steel, galvanized, or just a cheap-o nail. The weight of this nailer is somewhere in the middle of the spectrum: you can pay another $100-$150 dollars for a lighter gun, if it concerns you. However, there are a lot of guns that are considerably heavier, and in the same price range. I have used this nailer for approximately 20,000 nails and have thus far never experienced multiple fires or wrist fatigue. On the down side, the Roundhead nails have more plastic in-between nails for collation. It can be a bit messy sometimes, and safety glasses should be worn at all times, as with all power tools. But this will be the case with all roundhead nailers. All said, best buy for the money, by far!
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 3-1/2 in. Round Head Framing Nailer
Randy6771
from Foresthill, Ca.

31/2 " Round Head Framing Nailer

PostedAugust 8, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I just bought this unit thinking that it was just another Framing Nail Gun.
OMG! Was I wrong!
This baby does everything I've asked it to do and more!
It seems a little heavy at first, but then it becomes very comfortable in the hand!
Make sure to jack the pressure up to the max and use the depth gauge to sink the nail perfectly every time!
I was so surprised because I thought a Great Framing Nail Gun had to cost at least $500....
Not so in this case!!!
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 3-1/2 in. Round Head Framing Nailer
VTcivil
from Springfield, VA

Solid

PostedMarch 30, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I got this for home use, mainly for building a shed and for doing some attic framing. It's been great. I have 1,000 nails through it without a problem and no jambs. Nails feed in fast with no hassle. It's even not jamming when I leave the 3 nails in it that you are supposed to take out when putting in all new strips of nails.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 3-1/2 in. Round Head Framing Nailer
JoeM45
from Marion, Ohio

First time owner

PostedJuly 9, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is my first framing nailer and I love it. It has all power I needed to build my 8x12 ft. shed. It very lite and easy to use, not one jam up, easy to load also. I'm having problems trying to buy nails at most stores for my nailer because most stores do not carry 11o nails.Other than that small problem I'm very happy with my nailer and would recommend to my friends very highly....
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 3-1/2 in. Round Head Framing Nailer
Rayhill

Excellent Nail Gun!

PostedDecember 25, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I currently own three of these stick nailers, two older models and the the newer one now being sold. Have had zero problems with any of them and they will reliably shoot almost any nail maker's nails from 20-22 degrees. One minor complaint would be the lack of a plastic carrying case like the other two guns have.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 3-1/2 in. Round Head Framing Nailer
Jay
from Ojai, CA

Porter Cable 3 1/2" Nailer

PostedJune 16, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Really like this nailer! I could not have completed my project in such a short time span without it.
It can get heavy but my wrists really appreciate the rest from repeated hammer blows.
Works flawlessly!
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 3-1/2 in. Round Head Framing Nailer
hyle

PostedAugust 23, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
porter cable... the name says it all. i have never had a problem with porter cable tools and so far this nailer has not been an exception. i bought the same brand 6 gallon compressor and right out of the box (except the compressor has a 15 minute break in and then i had to set the regulator) they were pretty much ready to go and i started hanging pickets on my fence. way to go porter cable.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 3-1/2 in. Round Head Framing Nailer
Mike
from Bristol, PA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This product Work Great

PostedMarch 27, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This nailer has great range of uses. I purchased 3 weeks ago and have complete multiple projects with it. I make the job of framing easy. It drives 3 1/2 inch nails straight into everything weither it is loose or already held tight
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 3-1/2 in. Round Head Framing Nailer
Nailman
from Arlington, VA, USA
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good solid nailer

PostedJune 12, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I read online reviews prior to purchase and have to agree with others' observations. It is a solid performer and had no jams at all after running around one thousand nails through it. It took a little practice to get the nail set depth/pressure correct. I initially used my lower pressure pancake compressor successfully to drive the nails as it was easier to move around but the limited CFM became annoying and had to bring out my larger compressor. There are two minor issues so far. First, there seems to be a limited availability of nails at my local Home Depot. Second, it is bulky and does not fit well where maneuvering space is limited. Overall, I am very satisfied with the purchase and would buy it again.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 3-1/2 in. Round Head Framing Nailer
COHandyman
from CO

Heavy duty -Get the job done!

PostedJune 11, 2006
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This nailer made framing our basement a can-do project. Even with a small compressor I was able to keep working and cycle time was minimal.
On the down side, it is heavy. When you are not particularly careful it tends to multiple fire.
Overall, a great product! As a general handyman it has made virtually every job easier.
0points
10out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 3-1/2 in. Round Head Framing Nailer
Kegger

Garbage!!!

PostedSeptember 29, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
If your a proffesional framer then this is not the gun u want!!
Cons: Difficult to Use
-4points
0out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 3-1/2 in. Round Head Framing Nailer
MacNut11
from NC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great Framing Nailer

PostedAugust 19, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My and son used it for major repairs to cattle shed and stationary feeders in the sheds. They have probably shot a 1000 nails through and no jams or misfires. Using 3" Grip-Rite nails from HD. Very simple to adjust the depth, be sure to use a pressure regulator.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 3-1/2 in. Round Head Framing Nailer
Cowboy
from Montana
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I should have purchased it sooner

PostedAugust 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It is perfect for me and my projects and wish I had bought it sooner. I don't use it to make a living and someone else may think it is a little on the heavy side.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 3-1/2 in. Round Head Framing Nailer
NOLA

Product well built, works fine, nails easy to buy, would recommend.

PostedAugust 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought in part because of Porter Cable's fine reputation and network of nationwide service centers.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.