728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Mechanical Floor and Carpet Sweeper

Mechanical Floor and Carpet Sweeper

The Rubbermaid Floor and Carpet Sweeper is a manual, lightweight and compact mechanical sweeper for cleaning all types of floors as well as low-pile carpets. Its single bristle brush picks up dirt, lint, coins, straws, hair, sand, cigarettes and crumbs. The sweeper features a 6-1/2 in. sweep path and an easy-open debris pan.
Overall rating:
3.765 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(17 reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
76%of customersrecommend this product13 of 17reviews
Rating Breakdown 17 reviews
3.8 out of 5.0
5
(7)
4
(6)
3
(0)
2
(1)
1
(3)
Quality 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Features 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
76%of customersrecommend this product13 of 17reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 3 Answers
Customer reviews for Mechanical Floor and Carpet Sweeper
Review 1 for Mechanical Floor and Carpet Sweeper
James
from Mount Sinai, NY, USA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Terrific time-saver for every home and business.

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The most engaging feature of this economical, light-weight floor-cleaning tool is that it does its job very well and simply without time-wasting electronic "features". Since purchasing this little carpet sweeper, I do not haul out our central vacuum cleaner as often as I once did, because this terrific little time-saver does the job that actually needs to be done most of the time. Works equally well on carpets and hard flooring.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Performs Well, Looks Great, Good for All Surfaces, Quiet, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter, Nice Design, does not waste electricity
Cons: not available in all stores
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Mechanical Floor and Carpet Sweeper
Chin

Cheap, environmentally friendly, and effective.

PostedAugust 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After a month if owning, no qualms about this purchase. Cleans hardwoods and low-pile carpet well.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quiet, Good Size & Lightweight
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Mechanical Floor and Carpet Sweeper
Catt
from Reston, Va
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Daily

Great quick cleaner, no power or batteries needed!

PostedApril 9, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This sweeper is a great, quick, lightweight cleaning tool. It's great for inbetween your regular vacuuming. It works well on low pile or flat pile carpet, as well as, hardwood floors.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Looks Great, Quiet, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Mechanical Floor and Carpet Sweeper
cleanerhousenow
from Orlando, FL USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Usage frequency:Weekly

Rumbermaid Sweeper!!!

PostedDecember 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I absolutely love this product and been wanting one for years!!. With living in FL all kinds of leaves, sand, dirt get in the house and to be able to do a quick non-electrically powered clean is well - priceless!
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Performs Well, Looks Great, Good for All Surfaces, Quiet, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter, Nice Design
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Mechanical Floor and Carpet Sweeper
Katt

Would Not Buy Again

PostedApril 4, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought it in July of last year, threads are already stripped. The handle will not stay together. Used on a semi-regular basis to clean low pile carpet. Luckily the manufacturer's warranty covered it and the store refunded our money.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Performs Well, Looks Great, Good for All Surfaces, Quiet, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter, Lots of Features, Nice Design
Cons: Build Quality, poor threading
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Mechanical Floor and Carpet Sweeper
Disappointed
from Brooklyn, NY, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Usage frequency:Daily

Doesn't deliver!

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was extremely disappointed! I brought this product with the expectation that it would at least clean the carpet. Unfortunately it didn't deliver! As you sweep forward it picks up but as you pull it back all of the lint clusters and redeposits on the carpet worse than before.
What a waste!!!
Cons: Performance, doesn't pick up efficiently
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Mechanical Floor and Carpet Sweeper
Gman
from Chesapeake, VA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

Excellent results

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was skeptical at first, but after using the sweeper, it was spot on. I am very pleased with this sweepers performance and plan on purchasing more.
Pros: Performs Well, Quiet, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Mechanical Floor and Carpet Sweeper
PAS68
from Maryland, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Usage frequency:Weekly

Works nicely on small things, what it is intended for.

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Works nicely on small things, what it is intended for.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Performs Well, Good for All Surfaces, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Mechanical Floor and Carpet Sweeper
dbone
Usage frequency:Daily

Very happy with it.

PostedOctober 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Sweeper works great. Love not lugging out the big vacuum cleaner. Love not having to plug it in and work around the cord getting stuck under furnture or around corners or running out of cord. I use it daily in between cleaning with my big vacuum cleaner and it really picks stuff up.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Mechanical Floor and Carpet Sweeper
Kristastic

Excellent

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Excellent little sweeper. Great pick up too. Would recommend!
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great, Quiet, Strong Suction, Good Size & Lightweight, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Mechanical Floor and Carpet Sweeper
Doinker
from Ephrata,PA.

Floor and carpet sweeper

PostedDecember 22, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is an excellent product for quick everyday pickups. We have 3 cats, therefore 3 litterboxes and its very convienent for the spill-overs.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Mechanical Floor and Carpet Sweeper
Fred
from Pittsburgh, PA

My cat likes it...

PostedMay 16, 2006
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I got this item for lighter cleaning. My vacuum cleaner freaks my cat out and I got this so I could do some light vacuuming without her running and hiding. It does the trick! It lacks the flexibility of a regular vacuum but it still does a good job.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Mechanical Floor and Carpet Sweeper
RONNIEW
from NORTH CAROLINA

CARPET SWEEPER

PostedApril 30, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I AM UNABLE TO PUSH AROUND MY BIG VACUUM SO THE CARPET SWEEPER DOES THE JOB.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Mechanical Floor and Carpet Sweeper
Bobby

Do not buy if you have a long hair dog.

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
To clean a small room with a carpet area of 60 sq. ft., the brush has to be cleaned twice..The little comb that is supplied is a piece of junk. It does not stay clamped to the handle and it is warped from use. On certain fuzz it will pick it up sometimes but then lays it back down.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Mechanical Floor and Carpet Sweeper
leemarie
from New York, NY

Carpet Sweeper

PostedOctober 3, 2006
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This Rubbermaid carpet sweeper is the best one I have ever purchased. I use it on bare floors as well as on area rugs which are on top of my carpet. It picks up dirt easily with one sweep and it easy to clean.
I would recommend it to anyone!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Mechanical Floor and Carpet Sweeper
Cindy

works well

PostedAugust 8, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Purchased for my Mom - to pick up crumbs in the kitchen. Works well. The only thing I don't like is the design of the handle - three pieces, which to assemble you have to "pound" them on a book to get them to stick together without coming apart with the sweeping motion. Took us a couple of times of "pounding" to get the handle to stay together.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Mechanical Floor and Carpet Sweeper
globelwin
from WV

Would not recommend

PostedSeptember 7, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This sweeper does pick up the cat hair -- which is my reason for buying it -- however, it also puts it back down. I am not happy with this product.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.