728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Hard Surface Cleaners or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Mechanical Floor and Carpet Sweeper

Mechanical Floor and Carpet Sweeper

The Rubbermaid Floor and Carpet Sweeper is a manual, lightweight and compact mechanical sweeper for cleaning all types of floors as well as low-pile carpets. Its single bristle brush picks up dirt, lint, coins, straws, hair, sand, cigarettes and crumbs. The sweeper features a 6-1/2 in. sweep path and an easy-open debris pan.
Overall rating:
3.931 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(29 reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
76%of customersrecommend this product22 of 29reviews
Rating Breakdown 29 reviews
3.9 out of 5
5
(15)
4
(7)
3
(1)
2
(2)
1
(4)
Quality 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
Features 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
76%of customersrecommend this product22 of 29reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer reviews for Mechanical Floor and Carpet Sweeper
Review 1 for Mechanical Floor and Carpet Sweeper
from Mount Sinai, NY, USA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Terrific time-saver for every home and business.

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The most engaging feature of this economical, light-weight floor-cleaning tool is that it does its job very well and simply without time-wasting electronic "features". Since purchasing this little carpet sweeper, I do not haul out our central vacuum cleaner as often as I once did, because this terrific little time-saver does the job that actually needs to be done most of the time. Works equally well on carpets and hard flooring.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Performs Well, Looks Great, Good for All Surfaces, Quiet, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter, Nice Design, does not waste electricity
Cons: not available in all stores
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Mechanical Floor and Carpet Sweeper
from Sun Prairie, WI
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

Does the Job

PostedJune 23, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Bought this for our church for quick clean ups. It does the job with no issues. Appears to be build solid but time will tell if it holds up. Our Janitor cleans once per week and this was purchased for the Pastors or helpers to use to clean up carpet messes.
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great, Good for All Surfaces
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Mechanical Floor and Carpet Sweeper
from Tacoma, WA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Usage frequency:Daily

Didn't work for my floors

PostedJune 2, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This did not pick up dirt well from my laminate flooring.
Pros: Good Size & Lightweight
Cons: Performance
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Mechanical Floor and Carpet Sweeper

Cheap, environmentally friendly, and effective.

PostedAugust 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
After a month if owning, no qualms about this purchase. Cleans hardwoods and low-pile carpet well.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quiet, Good Size & Lightweight
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Mechanical Floor and Carpet Sweeper
from Ephrata,PA.

Floor and carpet sweeper

PostedDecember 22, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is an excellent product for quick everyday pickups. We have 3 cats, therefore 3 litterboxes and its very convienent for the spill-overs.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Mechanical Floor and Carpet Sweeper
Usage frequency:Daily

Very happy with it.

PostedOctober 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Sweeper works great. Love not lugging out the big vacuum cleaner. Love not having to plug it in and work around the cord getting stuck under furnture or around corners or running out of cord. I use it daily in between cleaning with my big vacuum cleaner and it really picks stuff up.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Mechanical Floor and Carpet Sweeper
from Pittsburgh, PA

My cat likes it...

PostedMay 16, 2006
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I got this item for lighter cleaning. My vacuum cleaner freaks my cat out and I got this so I could do some light vacuuming without her running and hiding. It does the trick! It lacks the flexibility of a regular vacuum but it still does a good job.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Mechanical Floor and Carpet Sweeper

mechanica floor sweeper

PostedFebruary 23, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Product doesn't pick up ANYthing with back and forth motion. Picks up very little with forward motion. Need to turn upsidedown to release contents if there are any. Difficult to empty.
Pros: Quiet
Cons: Performance, Difficult to Empty Filter
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Mechanical Floor and Carpet Sweeper
from NORTH CAROLINA

CARPET SWEEPER

PostedApril 30, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I AM UNABLE TO PUSH AROUND MY BIG VACUUM SO THE CARPET SWEEPER DOES THE JOB.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Mechanical Floor and Carpet Sweeper
from Angleton, Tx
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Daily

It works for me

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I use it on carpet and also bare kitchen floors. It seems to pick up very well for an inexpensive item. I like that the handle locks against the base for storage, so that you can store it in a narrow crevice or in a closet without taking up much space. It's really a joy to use.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Mechanical Floor and Carpet Sweeper
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

Great to clean carpet

PostedAugust 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this product because I just moved into an apartment that much of it is carpet. I needed someway to clean in. I couldn't afford a nice dyson or anything so I bought this guy to hold me over till then.
When I got it it came in a 18" x 4" box. It seem to look bigger online. The handle is a sectional screw together. and the sweeper was smaller than i expected but it was correct to specifications. I assembled it. I was a little disappointed that the rubber bumper was not yellow as the picture shows, but GREY. I was trying to do this all yellow and black theme with my cleaning. supplies.
Anyways, I started using this thing. NO BATTERIES, NO CORD, NO NOISE, NO HASSLE, EASY DISPOSAL. This guy cleaned my whole apartment excellently. The carpets looked great. I was a little worried when they said , low pile carpet. and only showed pictures of that thin cheap office carpet. My carpet is pretty normal sized house carpet., which is definitely longer than what i think of with low pile carpet.
It cleaned it so good that I think i might not need to buy a vacuum for the rest of my time here.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Performs Well, Quiet, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter
Cons: not as shown
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Mechanical Floor and Carpet Sweeper
from Columbus, Ohio
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Usage frequency:Weekly

Great little sweeper to pick up in the office between cleanings

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Needed something for paper and small messes between the regular sweeping by the cleaning crew; this works great - stores behind the door; easy to use; good price.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Mechanical Floor and Carpet Sweeper
from Leominster Massachusetts
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Usage frequency:Daily

Does the job

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I'm a custodian at a school and I use the floor sweeper between vacuuming when it would be too loud.The sweeper keeps the carpet in the lobby clean
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Quiet, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Mechanical Floor and Carpet Sweeper
from Chicago, IL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Daily

Carpet Sweeper

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I love this sweeper. It's easy to use and small enough to fit anywhere for storage.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Mechanical Floor and Carpet Sweeper
from Clarksville, IN
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

Excellent purchase

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy to use and pick-up is excellent! Very easy to assemble,
Pros: Easy to Use, Good for All Surfaces, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Mechanical Floor and Carpet Sweeper
from WV

Would not recommend

PostedSeptember 7, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This sweeper does pick up the cat hair -- which is my reason for buying it -- however, it also puts it back down. I am not happy with this product.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Mechanical Floor and Carpet Sweeper
from Denver,co
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Usage frequency:Daily

Amazing!

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I have three small children & a large dog with mostly hardwood in the house. This has been a lifesaver to quickly pick up the crumbs, dog hair and dirt that is constantly parading through my kitchen!
Pros: Performs Well, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Mechanical Floor and Carpet Sweeper
from Orlando, FL USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Usage frequency:Weekly

Rumbermaid Sweeper!!!

PostedDecember 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I absolutely love this product and been wanting one for years!!. With living in FL all kinds of leaves, sand, dirt get in the house and to be able to do a quick non-electrically powered clean is well - priceless!
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Performs Well, Looks Great, Good for All Surfaces, Quiet, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter, Nice Design
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Mechanical Floor and Carpet Sweeper

works well

PostedAugust 8, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Purchased for my Mom - to pick up crumbs in the kitchen. Works well. The only thing I don't like is the design of the handle - three pieces, which to assemble you have to "pound" them on a book to get them to stick together without coming apart with the sweeping motion. Took us a couple of times of "pounding" to get the handle to stay together.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Mechanical Floor and Carpet Sweeper
from AL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Daily

Not worth the cost

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Even though the product has a lost cost it was not worth the price. Picked up the sweeper so we wouldn't have to use a broom or the vacumn. Back to the broom and dust pan.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Performance
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 >>