728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Mailboxes & Mailbox Posts or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Elite Standard Size Galvanized Steel Post Mount Mailbox in Black

Elite Standard Size Galvanized Steel Post Mount Mailbox in Black

The Gibraltar Industries Post Mount Rural Mailbox is made from galvanized steel for durability. The mailbox should be mounted on a post for stability and is designed in a standard size to accommodate all of your mail. It is finished in a striking black color that is rust resistant and U.S. Postmaster General approved. The mailbox also features an aluminum flag and steel latch for convenient operation.
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4
 / 
5
(50 reviews) 50
Open Ratings Snapshot
81%of customersrecommend this product38 of 47reviews
Rating Breakdown 50 reviews
4.0 out of 5.0
5
(20)
4
(18)
3
(6)
2
(4)
1
(2)
Quality 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
Value 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
81%of customersrecommend this product38 of 47reviews
Customer reviews for Elite Standard Size Galvanized Steel Post Mount Mailbox in Black
Review 1 for Elite Standard Size Galvanized Steel Post Mount Mailbox in Black
motherofboys
from Salt Lake City, UT
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fantastic Deal. Good finish for using vinyl lettering.

PostedDecember 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We replaced our beaten up mailbox that the snow plow hit with this. This was purchased from a Home Depot store and not from their online store. We were wanting to keep the price down but I am very pleased with the looks, finish and durability of this product. We put vinyl letters of our last name and address on the mailbox and they stuck very well to the finish. If you need a standard size mailbox to mount to post that won't break the bank this is a great option and looks nice. We wanted a step above the standard pole post so we chose this price point on the mailbox so we could get the nicer pole. It looks great in front of the home. I would recommend.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Elite Standard Size Galvanized Steel Post Mount Mailbox in Black
Bill
from Birmngha AL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

On Line Order made easy

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The mail box was as expected. Sometime picking out a product online can be difficult but Home Depot makes it easy
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Elite Standard Size Galvanized Steel Post Mount Mailbox in Black
eBayShopper
from San Antonio, TX
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Strongly regret buying it

PostedApril 6, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The flag is attached to the box with a fastening system that sticks out way too much on the inside of the box. You have to be careful not to thrust your hand in too fast so you don't hit it with your knuckles. I think an older person with fragile skin could break the skin hitting that fastener wrong inside the box. it is always going to be in the way whenever a bulky package is put in. There is a kind of peg that goes through a loop on the inside holding the flag on, it's all plastic, and anyone who wants to stick their hand into the box and pull the peg could steal the flag. I feel like this was engineered to be quick and easy to assemble at the factory, NOT to be a quality engineered feature. Look inside the box before you buy it and install it. I have tried to find some kind of plug I could use to fill the hole if I just remove the flag, but so far have not found a good plug. I plan to either remove the flag or replace the whole box. ALSO, the door does not close right, and it isn't because the little prong needs adjusting. It is because the shape of the door is out of sync with the shape of the box. Maybe it will gradually conform, I don't know, so far it's a struggle every time. I feel like I wasted $18, plus $6 on numbers, I am going to have to replace it with a different box, I don't want to put up with a box that won't close and is awkward inside everyday for the next 10 years.
Cons: Not Durable
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Elite Standard Size Galvanized Steel Post Mount Mailbox in Black
MikeL
from Windsor, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The door after adjustment is not closing, defected design

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Average for under $20.00, door is not manufactured to fit the opening. This is after I used a plier on lock and door. O well it poorly manufactured .
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: Not Durable, poor manufacturing
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Elite Standard Size Galvanized Steel Post Mount Mailbox in Black
walla2k5
from Waitsburg,WA

It holds the mail

PostedJanuary 19, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Decent mailbox, seems to be weather tight. Door latch works well.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Elite Standard Size Galvanized Steel Post Mount Mailbox in Black
Chris
from CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The box is lightweight, very simple, and opens and closes easily.

PostedSeptember 4, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is a simple, standard mailbox. It is sturdy enough and lightweight. The door and flag move easily. It is a good value.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Easy to Move, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Elite Standard Size Galvanized Steel Post Mount Mailbox in Black
Winter
from New England

it will do for now....

PostedApril 15, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
In a pinch after my other mailbox met it's end during a blizzard I ordered this mailbox. When I got it home the packing box showed no signs of damage but when unwrapped the door of the mailbox was crushed so badly on the lower right side that it would not open. The one that was given to me as an exchange at my local home depot also came in an original unopened box but, when opened, was missing the flag. I gave it one more try and exchanged it again this time settling for a white one since there were no other black ones left in stock. It came home undamaged but I must admit that after only a few days use it is already suffering from scratch marks from the flag and opening of the door. Seems functional but I would recommend a slightly higher priced item which hopefully will be of a better quality.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Elite Standard Size Galvanized Steel Post Mount Mailbox in Black
Tweetee
from Louisiana, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great Buy!!!!

PostedFebruary 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
For the price and ease of installment I was very pleased.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Elite Standard Size Galvanized Steel Post Mount Mailbox in Black
kcouture
from High Point, NC, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

No screws...really?

PostedJune 13, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
How disappointing to find this came without screws. The box says the post is not included but doesn't say screws are not included. In fact, it's pictured with the screws. Now I have to make another run to home depot to get new screws. Ugh.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
Cons: No Instructions, no screws
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Elite Standard Size Galvanized Steel Post Mount Mailbox in Black
chumash
from san luis obispo ca

good basic mailbox

PostedAugust 8, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
we had some old metal mailboxes to replace
and ordered these...they are a basic light weight
mailbox with a plastic flag but work fine for holding
mail and keeping the weather out
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Elite Standard Size Galvanized Steel Post Mount Mailbox in Black
LB12

Fair quality given the price

PostedOctober 2, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Meets standards. Simple design, but meets our needs.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Elite Standard Size Galvanized Steel Post Mount Mailbox in Black
Mars
from Pittsford NY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

mailbox

PostedMarch 29, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Really isn't much that can be said about a mailbox. Reasonable price for a standard box ,mounts easily to a post.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Elite Standard Size Galvanized Steel Post Mount Mailbox in Black
Hopps

It's a Mailbox

PostedMay 1, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was expecting a standard black mailbox, and this is it. It's not overly exciting in any way, but hey... It's a mailbox!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Elite Standard Size Galvanized Steel Post Mount Mailbox in Black
auntbbrownie
from oklahoma

sturdy mailbox

PostedJune 5, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
this mailbox is a great value and very sturdy, too. the post office has no problem with this type of mailbox and fits on a variety of posts.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Elite Standard Size Galvanized Steel Post Mount Mailbox in Black
Rgarden

Good value for the price.

PostedJune 14, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We needed a new mailbox. This one was simple and easy to install. For the price we're happy with it.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Elite Standard Size Galvanized Steel Post Mount Mailbox in Black
Rascal
from Fredericksburg, VA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Sound Product

PostedMarch 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It is a study, basic, functional product that gets the job done.
Pros: Sturdy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Elite Standard Size Galvanized Steel Post Mount Mailbox in Black
CherylMc
from Waynesboro, VA

PostedApril 19, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
You can`t beat the quality and the price.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Elite Standard Size Galvanized Steel Post Mount Mailbox in Black
homeimprov

good buy

PostedFebruary 28, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Pretty standard. Solidly built, nothing fancy but does the trick.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Elite Standard Size Galvanized Steel Post Mount Mailbox in Black
MrDIY
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The Gibraltar Industries Post Mount Rural Mailbox is made from galvanized steel for durability.

PostedFebruary 5, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I received The Standard Size Black Galvanized Steel Rural Mailbox as advertised and in a timely manner. I am satisfied with my order.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Elite Standard Size Galvanized Steel Post Mount Mailbox in Black
customer

simple, priced right

PostedJanuary 17, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
"wobbly" on post. also wish mailbox itself had a "tab" to press against as the cover has
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>