728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 8 ft. x 30 in. 120V Radiant Floor Warming Mat

8 ft. x 30 in. 120V Radiant Floor Warming Mat

The SunTouch Floor Warming 8 ft. x 30 in. Radiant Floor Warming Mat adds comfort and a touch of luxury to your home. This ultra-thin, low-profile system installs beneath tile, stone and even vinyl or laminate flooring. It's ideal for remodeling bathrooms and kitchens and offers an upscale option when designing new construction. It is energy efficient as well as inexpensive to operate. Dual wire technology reduces electromagnetic fields (EMF) to ultra-low levels and it is UL listed for safety.
Overall rating:
4.667 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(24 reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
96%of customersrecommend this product22 of 23reviews
Rating Breakdown 24 reviews
4.7 out of 5.0
5
(19)
4
(4)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(1)
Appearance 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
Quality 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
96%of customersrecommend this product22 of 23reviews
Customer reviews for 8 ft. x 30 in. 120V Radiant Floor Warming Mat
Review 1 for 8 ft. x 30 in. 120V Radiant Floor Warming Mat
JimAtlanta
from Atlanta, GA

A Very Good Choice

PostedMay 31, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Have done this system in three separate bathrooms over the past ~8 years; I highly recommend it.
It's not quite so simple as "unroll it and tack it down", but it is very do-able if you take your time and follow the directions.
One tip: do *not* assume that the heat will radiate more than about 1" laterally from the coils. I found this out when I laid the system out in a way that did not heat the footprint of the cabinet/vanity that was going to go on top of the floor. What I didn't account for was the toe kick area at the bottom of the vanity and there was about a 2" wide area where your toes go that wasn't heated!
+22points
22out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 8 ft. x 30 in. 120V Radiant Floor Warming Mat
Bill

Straight forward

PostedDecember 31, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Got it in a few days was easy to install just had to put spacers or mat down where the heat mat does not get to make everything level as the heat mat is about an eigth inch high also had to route out an channel where the sensor goes as it is about one quarter inch high. Got the programable sensor and its great.
Pros: Easy to Install, Comfortable, Effective
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 8 ft. x 30 in. 120V Radiant Floor Warming Mat
dpf000
from Wattsburg, PA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Over all satisfied, with some negative observations

PostedFebruary 20, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The only reason this product doesn't get 5 stars is because it doesn't reach full temperature with the setting at MAX. The green light doesn't come on until it is helped by the hot air heat run that runs directly under half of my heating area. Although, even at less than max, it's comfortable. I originally bought the product planning on installing it myself. I changed my mind and had the tile work and much of the remodeling done by a contractor. I can see that it would be very difficult to install tile over an get it level.
Pros: Comfortable, Looks Great
Cons: installing tile over it would be difficult
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 8 ft. x 30 in. 120V Radiant Floor Warming Mat
M4R14
from Brighton, Michigan

PostedMay 12, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a really neat product. We are "do-it-yourselfers" who, last fall, added a 6' x 11' mudroom in the back of our unheated garage. We bought the Sun Touch mats to heat the floor, hoping that they would also adequately heat the room itself. We installed two mats on an insulated sub floor, built over the cement slab of the garage. Not only does it heat the room very nicely, (in Michigan winters!), it actually throws quite a bit of extra heat into the adjoining family room. The directions were easy to understand and the installation was also easy. The heating wires seem pretty tough, just make sure you don't chop them with the edge of your trowel as you lay the thin-set. Also make sure that as you lay the ceramic tile, you keep checking the ohm resistance of the mats. Once it warms up, the floor gets nice and toasty. It's wonderful to kick off your snowy boots and just stand on it. :-)
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 8 ft. x 30 in. 120V Radiant Floor Warming Mat
VBCAM
from Chicago
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Floor Heat

PostedFebruary 16, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The mats are great to layout and in the mat format much better for covering area. It should be noted that the mats need to be cut a little to get the leads long enough to reach the side of the room(mats should not cover complete surface)
Pros: Comfortable, Great Accent, Looks Great
Cons: difficult to make even
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 8 ft. x 30 in. 120V Radiant Floor Warming Mat
SgtLew
from Memphis, TN

Give it Time

PostedNovember 13, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This SunTouch floor warming mat is a treat for your toes- but give it time to install correctly and give it time to warm up.
If installing ceramic tile with thinset, extra mortar will be needed to account for the thickness of the mat. Grooves should be cut in the underlayment to lay the sensor wire and power feed so they do not protrude above the mat wires. Regular staples may not work to secure the mat to tile backer, so heavy duty electrical staples or hot glue may be used.
The warming system takes some time to get up to temperature, so a programmable thermostat is best to ensure the floor is warm when needed. If there is a forced-air heating duct in the room, it may be blocked to allow the floor warming system to keep the room warm using less energy.
Overall this is a great product, though overpriced a bit if you consider that this is basically just a heating element woven into a flimsy rubber mat. It certainly adds an element of luxury to any bathroom or kitchen.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 8 ft. x 30 in. 120V Radiant Floor Warming Mat
Gbert14
from Maryland

SunTouch Mats are Fantastic

PostedJanuary 23, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a fantastic product! We put it over an existing slab, with a 3mm cork underlayment underneath it. We then installed the SunTouch mats (2) with thinset and then re-tiled. We have yielded a 16 degree increase in our tile warmth - the floor was 57 and is now 73 on the coldest night this year (outside temp was single digits!). We are totally thrilled with the product! The instructions are fantastic, and very easy to follow.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 8 ft. x 30 in. 120V Radiant Floor Warming Mat
Blue

Love the warm floors

PostedOctober 8, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the third time we have installed this product. We are advanced do-it-yourselfers but installation instructions were very complete. We have installed under marble and travertine. Tricky to level things out when going over the heated mat areas but the end result of the warm floors in the winter are well worth it.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Install, Great Instructions, Effective
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 8 ft. x 30 in. 120V Radiant Floor Warming Mat
jcas
from Elko, NV

Must have for tile + cold weather

PostedSeptember 20, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I live in Nevada and decided to use this product for the first time when I remodeled my master bathroom, about 2 years ago.
After that it became the standard and I used it again when finishing the basement bathroom, remodeling another bathroom and installing tile in the mud room...
Works great and is really easy to install... plenty of install instructions and tips come with the product.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 8 ft. x 30 in. 120V Radiant Floor Warming Mat
Columbiacarpenter

Great product

PostedDecember 27, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
My wife loves the warm floor. If you are installing this under tile be advised you will need triple the tile set mortar, not double as the instructions call for.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 8 ft. x 30 in. 120V Radiant Floor Warming Mat
Larry
from Virginia Beach, Virginia

Suntouch floor heating

PostedJune 17, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased a 8'X30" tile floor heating element. Suntouch provides a excellent product and this is the best purchase for tile floors. My install was in the kitchen and it is fantastic! This is a easy install for DIY projects. If one installs tile, purchase a heating element. You will love it!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 8 ft. x 30 in. 120V Radiant Floor Warming Mat
LeRoy and Maryann
from Oklahoma City, OK

Bathroom Tile Heater

PostedMay 28, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We recently gutted our bathroom and put in this heater under the floor tiles. It was much easier than the heater we installed in our other home that required us to run the wires up and down and get it exactly right. This is already done for you (no brainer) and provided very exact directions and precautions that helped the installation go well. It is worth the time and effort because now we have beautiful and warm, inviting tile to walk on. Our bathroom used to be so cold and we hated it. This product works great and we are very satisfied!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 8 ft. x 30 in. 120V Radiant Floor Warming Mat
Pamela
from Savannah, GA

Suntouch Electric Tile Warming Mat

PostedMay 28, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a wonderful product. Our electrician ran the wires and hooked up the control for us. It was easy to install in the thinset, and our entire bathroom is warm and comfortable when it's turned on. The warmth it generates can be felt in our bedroom and the central hall, and it substantially reduces the amount of time our heater runs. We use it sparringly in the summer, but during the cool seasons, we leave it on around the clock. I only wish that we had used it beneath the tile throughout our house.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 8 ft. x 30 in. 120V Radiant Floor Warming Mat
MaxsGrandmom
from Philadelphia Pa

warming floor mat

PostedJune 16, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've had the mat and programmable thermostat for a year and just love it. I no longer need a heater in my bathroom and the ceramic tile stays toasty. I recommend the programable thermostat-you don't have to waste energy. Also, if I am away-I am able to easily set it to turn off until I return.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 8 ft. x 30 in. 120V Radiant Floor Warming Mat
ColdInTexas
from Dallas, Texas

REALLY hard to install

PostedOctober 6, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
What they don't tell you in the instructions and video is, this product is VERY difficult to install. Unless you get it ABSOLUTELY PERFECTLY flat - and I mean, nothing sticking up 1/64th of an inch - you aren't going to be able to get the tiles level with each other.
And as far as using thinset to even everything up - forget that! I used leveling compound but not enough of it; I probably should have just kept pouring the dang stuff in until the mats were was all 100% covered. Too late for that now.
I had a couple of tiles I had to replace because they were 1/4 inch off from the wall. I popped them out, but guess what - there's no way to hammer, chisel, sand. or grind the thinset down without cutting the wires, which are about as fragile as spun glass. So far I've pulled up half the floor already; that mat is ruined. The second has a break which I'll try to repair with their $20 repair kit ($15 shipping).
This project is a nightmare. If I hadn't tried the warming mats I'd have been done a month ago. I wish I'd never heard of them!
Beware - this WILL NOT go as smoothly as the video suggests!
-8points
4out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 8 ft. x 30 in. 120V Radiant Floor Warming Mat
Joanfamily

Wonderful product, easy instructions

PostedFebruary 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Easy to follow instructions, laid out exactly as detailed. Works fabulous, have timer set to go on 2 different times of the day.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 8 ft. x 30 in. 120V Radiant Floor Warming Mat
JR249
from California, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Value

PostedMarch 13, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to install and very good value for a bathroom upgrade.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 8 ft. x 30 in. 120V Radiant Floor Warming Mat
MrFlick
from PA

Work great! Easy to install

PostedApril 13, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
"The Warming matt works great and Home Depot having the online PDF file for the installation was wounderful.
Using the PDF installation file I was able to get the room ready for the installation before I received the product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 8 ft. x 30 in. 120V Radiant Floor Warming Mat
Rose
from Illinois

Heated Floor Mat

PostedMay 12, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a GREAT product we installed it under our lower level bathroom tile it makes those old cold tile floors a thing of the past now with newly installed tile and these mats it is absolutely wonderful to walk on no more cold feet.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 8 ft. x 30 in. 120V Radiant Floor Warming Mat
JBod
from Colorado Springs, CO

8'x30" Radiant Floor Warming Mat

PostedJanuary 3, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The mat met all my expectations. I was very apprehensive about installing the radiant floor system on my own but the step by step instruction booklet and DVD really made iit go smoothly.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>