728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Riding Mower & Tractor Attachments or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 42 in. 20 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper

42 in. 20 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper

The Brinly 42 in. Lawn Sweeper is a tow-behind tractor attachment that collects leaves and grass clippings with It's 11 in. brushes. A practical feature of this self-storing sweeper is It's collapsible capability which allows for easy storage during winter months. Collects leaves and grass clippings behind tractors and mowers.
Overall rating:
4.337 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(163 reviews) 163
Open Ratings Snapshot
92%of customersrecommend this product146 of 159reviews
Rating Breakdown 163 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(91)
4
(55)
3
(7)
2
(1)
1
(9)
Features 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Quality 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
92%of customersrecommend this product146 of 159reviews
Customer questions and answers:
19 Questions | 110 Answers
Customer reviews for 42 in. 20 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper
Review 1 for 42 in. 20 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper
Craig
from Magnolia, TX
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I love this thing

PostedOctober 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have thatched and swept up years of accumulated grass clippings and pine needles. Two loads on my 8'X16' trailer, about 20 cu yds, in two days of operation. Be sure to get the thatcher attachment. Instructions and hardware packaging were first class. Assembly went flawlessly. I recommend not attaching the pull rope and getting off the tractor/mower seat and manually dumping. The rope can become entangled in the brushes and damage them. I pull this behind a well known green & yellow zero turn 48" deck mower. The sweeper tongue binds only on the sharpest turns; not a big issue. Getting all the sweepings on and off the trailer are the hardest jobs. You are going to like the way your property looks. I cannot imagine being without one of these great sweepers.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Small Turn Radius, made in the u.s.a.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 42 in. 20 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper
ToB64
from Elizabeth City, NC, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Solidly built, extremely well made, easy assembly

PostedJune 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this attachment for my lawn tractor & to do an acre of property. The first thing I noticed when I opened the box was how well the sweeper was packaged and the large 3"wide x 12 H tires. The only real assembly was the hamper & tow bar. The parts are extremely high quality, thick wall steel tubing, NO aluminum. I had it assembled & adjusted in less the an hour, It works GREAT, highly recommended, look no further, I settled on the Brinly, not just because its made in the USA or the fact they've been around 173 yrs, or that parts are readily available, but because of the quality and features, 6 quality brushes not just 4, fully welded parts, not just tack or spot welded, extremely well made. easy assembly, and it works.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting, made in the good old usa
Cons: nothing i can think of or find
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+31points
37out of 43found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 42 in. 20 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper
JCDouglas
from Douglas, GA, USA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Monster Sweeper

PostedMarch 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Relatively easy to put together although the instructions could be better written along with illustrations. As for the performance, The sweeper picked up more than a thousand pine cones plus the pine straw. Disconnecting the basket with the horizontal bolt and pin is cumbersome at best. Either use larger holding pins or drill two vertical holes and use a drop in hitch bolts. Don't hesitate purchasing the made in USA sweeper.
Pros: Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 42 in. 20 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper
Easydoesit
from Fruitland Park, FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

She Likes It!

PostedOctober 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Our 3 acre property features numerous oak and elm trees. We're constantly leaf gathering. We've had high-end brand name lawn sweepers in the past and decided this time to choose the Brinly because of a neighbor's recommendation. We could not be more pleased. It is very sturdy, but was extremely easy to put together. The directions and pictures are perfect. Before I was done, my retired wife demanded that she try it out first. She's says it's great. That review is priceless. Brinly saves you money and makes the wife happy----Wow.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 42 in. 20 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper
qwertyman
from Warrenton Va
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Extremely Good Product

PostedNovember 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Before I go on to say how this Lawn Sweeper is incredible I do want to point out that setting the correct heights for the sweeper is very important. Also don't overload it. Even though it can handle it, it becomes hard to dump.
The Brinley blows the competition away. Solidly built using steel and real bearings, no plastic gears or bushings. This thing is built to take it, not just break 2 days after the Warranty is up.
Not only does it pick up leaves and twigs but pine needles, cones, even small branches and rocks. I did learn that it's better to go slow and let it do it's job. Also the tighter your turn the slower you need to pull it. I'm trying not to abuse it but it handles everything so well it's hard not to.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Long-Lasting
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 42 in. 20 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper
Cinintx
from Tyler, TX, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We have 100 year old oak trees covering 2acres and the sweeper cleaned them up in one pass! Great investment for lower back health
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Self-Propelled, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 42 in. 20 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper
Yardman
from Waldorf, MD, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

No Problems

PostedApril 20, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this from Home Depot based on other peoples reviews. For those who said the assembley was difficult, I had no problems at all. Instructions were plain to understand and the bolts are shrink-wrapped according to the instructions. For those who don't like putting things together, Home Depot did offer to assemble it for a fee.
I ran it around the yard and it picked up almost everything in it's path. Gumball were no challange except for the one that had been mashed into the ground.
I would have no problem recommending this to others.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 42 in. 20 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper
srsykes
from North Florida
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Satisfied

PostedMarch 7, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought this Lawn Sweeper from Home Depot last month. Used it twice so far, and I am mostly pleased. I have more than an acre lawn with lots of trees. It does a good job picking up the leaves. But N. Florida longleaf pine needles are long enough that they wrap around the brushes and sometimes clog it up. Have to stop once in a while to unclog the brushes. Also noticed once the bag gets 2/3 full, the sweeper begins to leave or drop almost as many leafs as it picks up, so have to empty often. The small nylon rope that comes with it, for emptying the bag doesn't last long. Replaced it with larger rope and it works much better.
Overall does a reasonably good job, with a reasonable price tag.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 42 in. 20 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper
roharris33
from Caledonia, IL 61011, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Overall a good product with one issue

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this along with the dethatcher kit back in February. They set in the garage for a few weeks before I decided to put them together. The image of the sweeper shows the height adjustment handle in the middle. This is the older version of this sweeper. The new version has the height adjustment handle on the right side (when facing it). That meant that the dethatcher kit would not fit. Even though Home Depot says it does. I checked Brinly's website and they currently do not make a dethatcher kit for the new version of their sweeper. Thankfully the standalone dethatcher is the same price as the kit. Otherwise the sweeper works great. The cord has plenty of length on it, and the sweeper picks up just about anything. The instructions are a bit cumbersome, and seem incomplete at the end. I have one screw that I installed per the instructions that isn't actually used for anything, it is literately just filling a hole in the bar.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: instructions are cumbersome
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 42 in. 20 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper
farful
from Pennsylvania
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Solid machine, excellent tool for the job.

PostedNovember 8, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Assembly is a bit painstaking, but if you have some skills, it can be simple. The hardware is nicely shrink-wrapped in the order in which it's to be used........ very helpful.
Pop the 'E' clips off the axles and apply dry lube to the gears and axle surfaces. Squeeze clips a bit tighter before re- installing.
This sweeper requires some trial and error adjustments for height and level settings, but works like a charm when correct. It picks up all dry leaves easily, most grass clippings, most sticks and nuts, some dry dog droppings, most wet leaves and all pine cones. Of course what it won't do is reach down in a low spot and brush out wet, compact leaves. That's beyond any sweeper's capability. Break out the rake.
I'm completely satisfied with it's quality and operation. It dumps easily and doesn't brush in reverse. What used to take me two partial days now takes three hours. It's a pleasure to use.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 42 in. 20 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper
Rick42
from Athens, Texas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very good sweeper

PostedJanuary 7, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Box was delivered by UPS upside down, because the unit had busted out the bottom of the box. My first fear was that parts were missing. Had to lay the parts out to inventory them before I could start assembly. As it turned out, all of the parts were there. The box should be reinforced for a machine this size.
Does a great job of collecting grass and leaves in a short time.
It is very hard to dump a full load of grass from the seat of my mower. A second handle on the pull rope would make this easier. I plan to add one.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
Cons: Limited Features
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 42 in. 20 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper
Andy
from Chickasha, OK, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works as advertised, a rare treat these days

PostedAugust 23, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I pulled it behind an ATV to save the drive belts on my mower. The Brinly performed well at almost any speed. You knew when you were going TOO fast when it threw the grass over the hopper instead of catching it. Pull rope to empty hopper was difficult with freshly cut (heavy) grass, and required a dismount from ATV to lift by hand but could have been solved by more frequent dumping of load.
Pros: Sturdy
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 42 in. 20 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper
Phil

Good sweeper

PostedJuly 31, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
When I opened the box to assemble it, they had sent the wrong instructions. I had to go online to download the correct packet. It does a good job of sweeping our yard, and is fairly easy to store. I take the bag off and wrestle the sweeper into a small shed, then just set the bag inside without breaking it down. The 'bendable' rods are just a bit too long.
BTW, we went to register for the two year warranty, and my wife said that we needed the numbers off the box to register. WHAT? We'd already burned the box. If you buy one, be sure to get the numbers off the box.
Pros: Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
Cons: No Instructions
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 42 in. 20 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper
Tony
from Kansas, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works as expected

PostedNovember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I was impressed with the quality of this sweeper. The instructions were clear and was really simple to put together. The top flap that covers 1/2 of the hopper needs a better way to tie it down..
I have used it once. It picks up leaves, grass clippings, walnuts, etc... Worked great.. You have to be moving forward to dump, but not a big deal.. I am happy with the purchase so far.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Small Turn Radius
Cons: the cost was higher than expected
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 42 in. 20 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper
IDDave
from Idaho Falls, ID, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Satisfied Owner

PostedMay 24, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I've owned my Brinley 42 in sweeper for three years now and it's done a pretty darn good job on my 1 acre lawn. Last year I added the Dethatcher kit which worked better than I expected at pulling up the dead grass for the sweeper to pick up. I use it with the Dethatcher pretty much all year long but it most shines in the spring when there is lots of dead matted grass to pull up. The only problem I have had so far with this sweeper was in the second year when the pinion gears wore out which was partially my fault. The brushes need to be set to just skim the top of the grass, if set to low the brushes can catch in thicker grass and lock the wheels causing them to drag which puts to much pressure on the metal pinion gears and they begin to divot where the drop pin catches. After a while the pins will catch more frequently until they fail completely. I called Brinley and they knew what the problem was right away based on my description (apparently this happens commonly enough) and they sold me replacement pinion gears for a reasonable price and explained what causes this problem. Now that I know the cause of the problem I can avoid it in the future by being a little more gentle and keep the brushes a little higher in thicker grass. Over all, I've been satisfied with this sweeper, It's not perfect all across the board and perhaps the pinions gears could use some redesign work or maybe just harder steel but even if I have to replace them every few years it is still worth it. the sweeper does a good job and my lawn has never looked better.
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 42 in. 20 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper
staps
from Gardiner, Maine

One of the Best

PostedOctober 3, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This sweeper is great! The 42' brush width is excellent in getting the job done fast. The convenient 17 cubic foot hamper dumps at the pull of a rope so you don't have to leave your seat. You can also adjust the brush height with out leaving the tractor. Both wheels free spin when going in reverse, not turning the brushes, so you don't loose your load. The easy fold up self-storage is an added bonus.
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 42 in. 20 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper
Timlab
from Aiken, SC, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Machine

PostedJanuary 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I live on 6 acres with 2 horses and 4 dogs, plus the trees. I started with picking up leaves and acorns, then when to picking up the dogs messes and today to the horses messes. It's all around tool to have around a farm and home. It just keeps picking up and it loves it. I really don't have anything bad to say about this.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Light Weight
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 42 in. 20 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper
cookieman
from Pensacola, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works as well as my high expectations for it

PostedDecember 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Solidly built. Picks up well; leaves, sticks and magnolia pods. Easy to get used to towing it behind my zero-turn. Particularly like the six instead of standard four brushes and the large capacity. Great value.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Store, 6 brushes, Large Capacity
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 42 in. 20 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper
RMH1
from Dutchess County, NY
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works as it should.

PostedOctober 12, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this product last night, built it this morning and used it after lunch. This sweeper works as it should and did not break the bank. I finished clearing leaves and about 80% of the black walnuts of my lawn in half the time it would have taken me to rake. For the most part, this seems to have been a good purchase.
I will make some modifications to this product over the weekend. First I will buy two bungee cords to attach the top of the hamper to the axle frame as there is currently no place to attach it to keep it from being open. Next I will switch out the crummy little nylon string for dumping for a larger gauge piece of rope. I will also get a clip to attach to the rope to the tractor since the Velcro provided did not adequately hold the string which lead to my having to untangle the rope from the brush axle. I will also try attaching the mulching shield to my tractor to prevent the grass and stuff from being discharged at the side. It would also be nice if this was easier to store. I currently have it under my deck.
Other than the aforementioned minor issues (most of which I will be able to fix), it works well. Just make sure you have a good clear place to drop the clippings and leaves. I think with the listed modifications and practice, this product and I will get along just fine.
Pros: Sturdy, Self-Propelled, Good Size & Weight
Cons: difficult to store
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 42 in. 20 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper
Hobby
from Georgia, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does a good job on pine straw and sweet gum balls

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This sweeper is fun to use. I can empty the bag without getting off my mower. It picks up straw and large leaves best. I have found the lowest setting on the brushes works the best for now with my grass dormant.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 9 >>