728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Riding Mower & Tractor Attachments or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 42 in. 20 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper

42 in. 20 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper

The Brinly 42 in. Lawn Sweeper is a tow-behind tractor attachment that collects leaves and grass clippings with It's 11 in. brushes. A practical feature of this self-storing sweeper is It's collapsible capability which allows for easy storage during winter months. Collects leaves and grass clippings behind tractors and mowers.
Overall rating:
4.337 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(163 reviews) 163
Open Ratings Snapshot
92%of customersrecommend this product146 of 159reviews
Rating Breakdown 163 reviews
4.3 out of 5
5
(91)
4
(55)
3
(7)
2
(1)
1
(9)
Features 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
Quality 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
92%of customersrecommend this product146 of 159reviews
Customer questions and answers:
19 Questions | 110 Answers
Customer reviews for 42 in. 20 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper
Review 61 for 42 in. 20 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper
from Cambridge, IL

Very good sweeper for the money

PostedSeptember 20, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have been looking at several sweepers before buying this one. I decided to buy this sweeper because of the positive height adjustment and the way the optional dethatcher mounts. I feel these two features are superior to sweepers from other makers.
The assembly is straight forward and the hardware is packaged in order of assembly. The only confusing part of assembly are the spring rods used to expand the bag. Referencing the color picture on the web site helped there.
Overall this is a very good product with bettter than average assembly instructions.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 62 for 42 in. 20 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper

Product does the job well

PostedMay 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This baby does an awesome job at cleaning up the yard after a mow. Grass cuttings are no match for this beast.. Come to think of it.. small branches and Spikey balls from a gum tree are no match either.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 63 for 42 in. 20 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper
from Culpeper, Va

Sweeper is a must

PostedOctober 6, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This sweeper is a must for those of us who have acres of tree covered yard. This works amazingly well picking up acorns, small sticks, leaves, grass......... The sweeper is a bit difficult to back into your dump location and the catcher can get very heavy, so heavy the string release can't even budge it. Would I recomend this to others? Absolutely!! Only down side is the terrible instructions, at least a dozen times you will say "WHAT"? but if you have ever been a victim of "some assembly required" you should do OK.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 64 for 42 in. 20 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper
from New Jersey

WOW!!! this is great!!!!

PostedNovember 11, 2006
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Love this product!! I was very sceptical to say the least im not a gadget guy. I was looking for a faster way to rake the lawn it used to take 4 weekends to do, now it take about 2-3 hours. this product is fast and makes yard clean-up a breeze. it would have gotten 5 stars but it was a heck of a job assembleing the thing. they were only picture instructions which are very tough to figure out. when you get past assembley this thing is awsome and I highly recommend it to people with large yards!!!!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 65 for 42 in. 20 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper
from San Antonio, TX

wonderful

PostedMarch 19, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This was purchased for our church. we have a 2.5 acre lot with lots of oak trees and elms. we use the sweeper pretty much year round too sweep the leaves from the yard and even from the parking lot. it has made a 4-5 man project that would take 3-4 hours of back breaking work down to a 1-2 person project that only takes 2-3 hours.
I'll admidt that the instructions are a bit vague. However, being the handy type poerson I am I got it together with little trouble. These sweepers are wonderful
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 66 for 42 in. 20 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper
from Big Lake, MN, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Raking is a thing of the past with this unit!

PostedMarch 30, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I bought the Brinly Lawn Sweeper after much hesitation; however, after using this on my lawn 1x, it has more than paid for itself. My lawn had not been raked at all last year and after the winter snow melt, was littered with grass clippings, twigs, small branches and other debris. The Brinly 42" unit picked it all up. It took aprrox. 1 hour to completely clean my .50 acre lawn. Assembly was easy, just follow the directions.
No blisters here!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 67 for 42 in. 20 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper
from Howell, MI

High hopes, low performance

PostedMay 31, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I had high hopes for this product after reading the reviews. It was somewhat difficult to build, bit eventually got it rolling. Fresh out of the gate, it worked well. However, under any load, the PLASTIC gears begin to break down, and after replacing them both twice over the course of two summers, having to have the frame welded at a loose point, and replacing c-clips with every tank of gas, I listed it on the neighborhood freecycle board and bought a rake.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 68 for 42 in. 20 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper
from Florida Treasure Coast

42 in. Lawn Sweeper

PostedApril 30, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This item worked very well but had to be extremly careful with my 42in mower because the sweeper was much wider than mower and the wheels might catch a object and tear it apart. Also item came in what seemed to be 100 pieces and took a time to assemlble. Although function was excellent, I give it a 3 for the problem with assembly and danger towing.
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 69 for 42 in. 20 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper
from Michigan, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product works!

PostedOctober 30, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I'm a single gal with a big yard. I did have someone put the sweeper together for me. Using it daily and when leaves are dry it works great! Dumps OK, although you need a lot of space for drive by dumping! With a blower, you could dump and blow leaves to location.
Pros: Easy to Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 70 for 42 in. 20 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper
from Pennsylvania, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent at picking up debris from yard.

PostedNovember 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Large size means less trips around yard. Brushes very good at sweeping leaves, grass clippings, and even small twigs into hopper. Does take up quite a bit of room in storage. Assembly from enclosed directions was fairly easy.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 71 for 42 in. 20 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper
from Hutto, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Sweeper great benefit for large yard.

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Product was relatively easy to assemble, second set of hands would had made the job go quicker. Once attached to mower the unit was fairly easy to adjust to proper height for sweeping up leaves and small twigs/branches. Unit filled very quickly and was easy to dump once the pull rope was secured to rear of seat.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 72 for 42 in. 20 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper
from Granger, IN, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product...

PostedNovember 25, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
It's a great product and very sturdy material. I compare with other brands I seen in the store and I like the quality and pricing. I want something that will last longer then few years at least.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Durable, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 73 for 42 in. 20 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper
from Georgia, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does a good job on pine straw and sweet gum balls

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This sweeper is fun to use. I can empty the bag without getting off my mower. It picks up straw and large leaves best. I have found the lowest setting on the brushes works the best for now with my grass dormant.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 74 for 42 in. 20 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper
from va
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A must have for the fall

PostedSeptember 29, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I picked it up one week ago and have used it every day. I have not had any problems with this item. I have been able to get all leaves up, even wet matted down ones. The only issue I had was where to dump all the leaves and grass clippings.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 75 for 42 in. 20 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper
from Elgin, IL
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Well worth it...

PostedNovember 9, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Overall, This is a very good product. I have been very happy with it so far. It picks up leaves and smaller sticks very well, and it dumps well. My yard has a slight up hill and down hill grade. Even with the grade it picks up the leaves and sticks well. Assembly was not bad, took about 1 1/2 hrs. by myself (took my time). much easier than raking. I have about 1 acre of property with 20 large trees on my lot and neighbors property. All mature maples and oaks, some pine trees also. Stores pretty well in my shed. Would recomend and buy again for sure!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Self-Propelled, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 76 for 42 in. 20 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper
from Indiana

PostedJune 2, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After reading all the positive reviews about this product I decided to purchase it. After the hour of assembly got it all hooked up and ready to go worked good for about 3 minutes and the wheel fell off. This sweeper is very poorly constructed, half the moving parts are plastic and the wheels are held on with a metal bar with c clips at both ends. I would not recommend this sweeper to anyone. save your 300 dollars and buy a rake.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 77 for 42 in. 20 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper
from Glens Falls, NY, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

product works well when not broke

PostedOctober 31, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
have had o replace every nut, bolt,clip, washer and scew on it with hardware that is hardend so it will stop breaking.
Pros: All In One, Easy to Use, i like it makes work easy
Cons: Not Durable, better haedware
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 78 for 42 in. 20 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper
from Milford, MA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Would reccomend

PostedMay 15, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Although the asembly directions don't seem to make much sense, if you follow them, this thing will come together. The only downfall I have found with it is sometimes the wheels drag, rather than spin to pick up the grass clippilngs.
Overall it is a good product and definatly a back saver.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 79 for 42 in. 20 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper
from Mechanicsville, VA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

this product works great

PostedOctober 9, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I HAVE USED THIS PRODUCT ON MY FRONT YARD TO CLEAN UP DEAD GRASS THAT WAS THICK AND IT DID GREAT. THE EASE OF DUMPING IS A PLUS.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 80 for 42 in. 20 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper
from South Carolina, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works well

PostedDecember 21, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
First unit was damaged in transit and UPS wouldn't deliver. After seeing this on the tracking screen I called Home Depot and they were quick to send a second unit. Second unit had small bend on one edge but doesn't affect anything. They might want to beef up the packaging.
Directions could have been a little clearer, but got it assembled OK. Took about one and a half hours to assemble. Very much liked the way the nuts and bolts were arranged and labeled.
Have used this twice to get up leaves and acorns. Picks up well except won't pick up things that are in a slight depression. Still gets 95+% picked up and hand raking the remainder doesn't take very long. Got oak leaves up on about an acre in just under two hours (you lose a little time hauling the full container to a dumping spot). Very easy to dump the leaves out using the pull cord without getting off the lawn tractor. This is a much easier and faster way to get up leaves than raking by hand.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
<< 1 2 3 4 5 6  ... 9 >>