728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Riding Mower & Tractor Attachments or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 42 in. 20 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper

42 in. 20 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper

The Brinly 42 in. Lawn Sweeper is a tow-behind tractor attachment that collects leaves and grass clippings with It's 11 in. brushes. A practical feature of this self-storing sweeper is It's collapsible capability which allows for easy storage during winter months. Collects leaves and grass clippings behind tractors and mowers.
Overall rating:
4.337 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(163 reviews) 163
Open Ratings Snapshot
92%of customersrecommend this product146 of 159reviews
Rating Breakdown 163 reviews
4.3 out of 5
5
(91)
4
(55)
3
(7)
2
(1)
1
(9)
Features 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
Quality 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
92%of customersrecommend this product146 of 159reviews
Customer questions and answers:
19 Questions | 110 Answers
Customer reviews for 42 in. 20 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper
Review 61 for 42 in. 20 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper

Product does the job well

PostedMay 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This baby does an awesome job at cleaning up the yard after a mow. Grass cuttings are no match for this beast.. Come to think of it.. small branches and Spikey balls from a gum tree are no match either.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 62 for 42 in. 20 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper
from Culpeper, Va

Sweeper is a must

PostedOctober 6, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This sweeper is a must for those of us who have acres of tree covered yard. This works amazingly well picking up acorns, small sticks, leaves, grass......... The sweeper is a bit difficult to back into your dump location and the catcher can get very heavy, so heavy the string release can't even budge it. Would I recomend this to others? Absolutely!! Only down side is the terrible instructions, at least a dozen times you will say "WHAT"? but if you have ever been a victim of "some assembly required" you should do OK.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 63 for 42 in. 20 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper
from Caledonia, IL 61011, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Overall a good product with one issue

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased this along with the dethatcher kit back in February. They set in the garage for a few weeks before I decided to put them together. The image of the sweeper shows the height adjustment handle in the middle. This is the older version of this sweeper. The new version has the height adjustment handle on the right side (when facing it). That meant that the dethatcher kit would not fit. Even though Home Depot says it does. I checked Brinly's website and they currently do not make a dethatcher kit for the new version of their sweeper. Thankfully the standalone dethatcher is the same price as the kit. Otherwise the sweeper works great. The cord has plenty of length on it, and the sweeper picks up just about anything. The instructions are a bit cumbersome, and seem incomplete at the end. I have one screw that I installed per the instructions that isn't actually used for anything, it is literately just filling a hole in the bar.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: instructions are cumbersome
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 64 for 42 in. 20 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper
from New Jersey

WOW!!! this is great!!!!

PostedNovember 11, 2006
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Love this product!! I was very sceptical to say the least im not a gadget guy. I was looking for a faster way to rake the lawn it used to take 4 weekends to do, now it take about 2-3 hours. this product is fast and makes yard clean-up a breeze. it would have gotten 5 stars but it was a heck of a job assembleing the thing. they were only picture instructions which are very tough to figure out. when you get past assembley this thing is awsome and I highly recommend it to people with large yards!!!!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 65 for 42 in. 20 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper
from San Antonio, TX

wonderful

PostedMarch 19, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This was purchased for our church. we have a 2.5 acre lot with lots of oak trees and elms. we use the sweeper pretty much year round too sweep the leaves from the yard and even from the parking lot. it has made a 4-5 man project that would take 3-4 hours of back breaking work down to a 1-2 person project that only takes 2-3 hours.
I'll admidt that the instructions are a bit vague. However, being the handy type poerson I am I got it together with little trouble. These sweepers are wonderful
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 66 for 42 in. 20 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper
from Big Lake, MN, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Raking is a thing of the past with this unit!

PostedMarch 30, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I bought the Brinly Lawn Sweeper after much hesitation; however, after using this on my lawn 1x, it has more than paid for itself. My lawn had not been raked at all last year and after the winter snow melt, was littered with grass clippings, twigs, small branches and other debris. The Brinly 42" unit picked it all up. It took aprrox. 1 hour to completely clean my .50 acre lawn. Assembly was easy, just follow the directions.
No blisters here!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 67 for 42 in. 20 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper
from Howell, MI

High hopes, low performance

PostedMay 31, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I had high hopes for this product after reading the reviews. It was somewhat difficult to build, bit eventually got it rolling. Fresh out of the gate, it worked well. However, under any load, the PLASTIC gears begin to break down, and after replacing them both twice over the course of two summers, having to have the frame welded at a loose point, and replacing c-clips with every tank of gas, I listed it on the neighborhood freecycle board and bought a rake.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 68 for 42 in. 20 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper
from Florida Treasure Coast

42 in. Lawn Sweeper

PostedApril 30, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This item worked very well but had to be extremly careful with my 42in mower because the sweeper was much wider than mower and the wheels might catch a object and tear it apart. Also item came in what seemed to be 100 pieces and took a time to assemlble. Although function was excellent, I give it a 3 for the problem with assembly and danger towing.
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 69 for 42 in. 20 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper
from Michigan, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product works!

PostedOctober 30, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I'm a single gal with a big yard. I did have someone put the sweeper together for me. Using it daily and when leaves are dry it works great! Dumps OK, although you need a lot of space for drive by dumping! With a blower, you could dump and blow leaves to location.
Pros: Easy to Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 70 for 42 in. 20 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper
from Pennsylvania, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent at picking up debris from yard.

PostedNovember 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Large size means less trips around yard. Brushes very good at sweeping leaves, grass clippings, and even small twigs into hopper. Does take up quite a bit of room in storage. Assembly from enclosed directions was fairly easy.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 71 for 42 in. 20 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper
from Granger, IN, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product...

PostedNovember 25, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
It's a great product and very sturdy material. I compare with other brands I seen in the store and I like the quality and pricing. I want something that will last longer then few years at least.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Durable, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 72 for 42 in. 20 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper
from Indiana

PostedJune 2, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After reading all the positive reviews about this product I decided to purchase it. After the hour of assembly got it all hooked up and ready to go worked good for about 3 minutes and the wheel fell off. This sweeper is very poorly constructed, half the moving parts are plastic and the wheels are held on with a metal bar with c clips at both ends. I would not recommend this sweeper to anyone. save your 300 dollars and buy a rake.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 73 for 42 in. 20 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper
from va
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A must have for the fall

PostedSeptember 29, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I picked it up one week ago and have used it every day. I have not had any problems with this item. I have been able to get all leaves up, even wet matted down ones. The only issue I had was where to dump all the leaves and grass clippings.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 74 for 42 in. 20 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper
from Glens Falls, NY, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

product works well when not broke

PostedOctober 31, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
have had o replace every nut, bolt,clip, washer and scew on it with hardware that is hardend so it will stop breaking.
Pros: All In One, Easy to Use, i like it makes work easy
Cons: Not Durable, better haedware
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 75 for 42 in. 20 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper
from Milford, MA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Would reccomend

PostedMay 15, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Although the asembly directions don't seem to make much sense, if you follow them, this thing will come together. The only downfall I have found with it is sometimes the wheels drag, rather than spin to pick up the grass clippilngs.
Overall it is a good product and definatly a back saver.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 76 for 42 in. 20 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper
from Mechanicsville, VA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

this product works great

PostedOctober 9, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I HAVE USED THIS PRODUCT ON MY FRONT YARD TO CLEAN UP DEAD GRASS THAT WAS THICK AND IT DID GREAT. THE EASE OF DUMPING IS A PLUS.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 77 for 42 in. 20 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper
from South Carolina, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works well

PostedDecember 21, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
First unit was damaged in transit and UPS wouldn't deliver. After seeing this on the tracking screen I called Home Depot and they were quick to send a second unit. Second unit had small bend on one edge but doesn't affect anything. They might want to beef up the packaging.
Directions could have been a little clearer, but got it assembled OK. Took about one and a half hours to assemble. Very much liked the way the nuts and bolts were arranged and labeled.
Have used this twice to get up leaves and acorns. Picks up well except won't pick up things that are in a slight depression. Still gets 95+% picked up and hand raking the remainder doesn't take very long. Got oak leaves up on about an acre in just under two hours (you lose a little time hauling the full container to a dumping spot). Very easy to dump the leaves out using the pull cord without getting off the lawn tractor. This is a much easier and faster way to get up leaves than raking by hand.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 78 for 42 in. 20 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper
from North Haven, CT

Very poor quality control on this product!!

PostedOctober 23, 2010
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I wish I read the online reviews for this product before purchasing it because the problems I had with this product were also reported by others. Basically, you need to be willing to accept very poor quality control on the part of Brinley if you buy this sweeper!! I bought it and spent about 21/2 hours putting it together mainly because the tubes could not be assembled due to metal burrs inside the tubes. I had to spend time removing the burrs before I could put it together.
After assembly, things worked well for about 15 minutes until a wheel fell off!! Upon closer inspection, I noticed that E-clips to hold the wheels on from the inside were never installed at the factory and were missing from BOTH wheels. I returned the sweeper and exchanged it for the same sweeper after making sure the clips were installed before leaving the store.
About halfway through my second time assembling, I realized parts were missing to assemble the bagger. I had to bring the sweeper back AGAIN to get the bagger from the first sweeper to finish putting it all together. After a total of 8 hours - time I should have been picking up leaves - things worked pretty well.
The large wheels do not drag when pulled over a thick layer of leaves which is nice and the large bagger holds a lot of leaves. However, even on the lowest setting, it does not pick up leaves in any kind of low spot and doesn't do a very good job with acorns. It will tear up your lawn before it picks up the acorns.
Home Depot should really consider selling a different brand of sweeper.
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 79 for 42 in. 20 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper
from Collegeville, Pa.

PostedMay 12, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I read the reviews for this item and it was rated 5 out of 5. I usually like to hear what people say prior to buying something. I bought this today and it took me about 2 hours to put it together at a slow pace. I took it out and it picked up sticks, leaves, and all of the grass clippings.
This product is great and i strongly recommend buying it. I hope this is helpful to anyone who reads it.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 80 for 42 in. 20 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper
from Fort Worth, Texas

Customer Service Is EXCELLENT!

PostedMarch 28, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Purchased assembled unit at Home Depot. Discovered a minor problem, called Brinly Customer Service, A real person answered and immediately addressed the problem! Very pleasant and knowledgeable!
Unit works as represented. For the price, high quality construction and performance is far ahead of the competition.
Extremely Satisfied, Great Product by a great manufacturer!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
<< 1 2 3 4 5 6  ... 9 >>