728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Riding Mower & Tractor Attachments or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 42 in. 20 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper

42 in. 20 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper

The Brinly 42 in. Lawn Sweeper is a tow-behind tractor attachment that collects leaves and grass clippings with It's 11 in. brushes. A practical feature of this self-storing sweeper is It's collapsible capability which allows for easy storage during winter months. Collects leaves and grass clippings behind tractors and mowers.
Overall rating:
4.337 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(163 reviews) 163
Open Ratings Snapshot
92%of customersrecommend this product146 of 159reviews
Rating Breakdown 163 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(91)
4
(55)
3
(7)
2
(1)
1
(9)
Features 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Quality 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
92%of customersrecommend this product146 of 159reviews
Customer questions and answers:
19 Questions | 110 Answers
Customer reviews for 42 in. 20 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper
Review 61 for 42 in. 20 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper
from Dallas, Texas

Brinley 42" Lawn Sweeper

PostedApril 1, 2008
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After doing extensive research and review of the Lawn Sweepers in the $200 - $300 price range, I was very impressed with the Brinley and purchased it primarily to sweep up the annual pecan hulls, and leaves under the single tree in my yard and to occassionally sweep the the excessive grass clippings after using the multching attachment on my lawn tractor. As many of the reviews, I found the instructions somewhat lacking, but by being very careful and slow, I was able to assemble the unit in about an hour. I then very carefully made sure the draw bars were parallel with the ground when attached to my lawn tractor and in order to be extra careful that the catcher did not drag the ground, I adjusted the catcher to its maximum height. I am very impressed with the efficiency of the sweeper itself with the three rows of sweeping bristles and the overall performance.
However, after only two usages of the sweeper on my yard which by most standards if relatively small, the seam at the left rear of the catcher has come unsewn and I now have about a 4" to 5" hole in that corner. It is very obvious that even at the maximum hopper height adjustment, the catcher still drags. I have notice that there was some gentleman in my many reviews had the same problem and he built a metal skid plate with casters on the rear corners to resolve the problem I will look closely at making this modification. Also the dump rope is virtually useless for as little as a bushel of dry grass clippings, unless you enjoy the feeling of the rope cutting into your hand and have the necessary upper body strength to overcome the mechanical disadvantage of the dump mechanism. I found it necessary to dismount my tractor and dump the catcher, which is more of an inconvenience than anything. This catcher may work better on perfectly level and manacured surfaces like a golf course but it cannot handle even minor dips in the lawn without dragging and causing the seam in the rear edge or corners from being ripped out.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 62 for 42 in. 20 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper
from New Hampshire
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very good product

PostedApril 18, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Received the 42 in sweeper with the dethatcher attachment a week after ordering (not bad turn around). Assembly is quite simple. What the manufacturer has done which makes assembly a breeze was to put all the hardware in a laminate with a cardboad backing. The hardware pieces needed for each step of assembly are clearly marked. If I could purchase all things needing assembly this way I would probably have many more things. Assembly took about an hour which includes time needed to monitor my 2 year old son. One part of the assembly to be aware of is the metal bracket that is a part of the hitch. My tractor required me to use the lowest setting on the bracket and some of the welds at this point made connecting the bolts difficult, but this was not a showstopper. Once hitched to my tractor the sweeper did a great job with loose debris on my lawn. Debris such as leaves that have become stuck to the ground over the winter it did not pick up. However this was not a problem when I attached the dethatcher. Emptying the hopper is very simple using the rope that is supplied although I do wish the rope was longer (I will probably replace with one of my own). In summary I highly recommend this product and also recommend spending a few extra $ to get the dethatcher attachment. The sweeper is a good value when you compare to the price of a good bagger.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 63 for 42 in. 20 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper
from Cincinnati Ohio

Never rake again.

PostedMay 14, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have a large back yard, and this is saving me time and my back. Easy to put together. Well made easy to dump the grass or leaves.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 64 for 42 in. 20 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper
from SC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

absolutely worth the money

PostedFebruary 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was absolutely amazed how well this unit worked, brought the unit home took about an hour to put it together then hooked to my tractor and swepted the lawn and it worked to perfection no problems what so ever
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 65 for 42 in. 20 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper
from Cambridge, IL

Very good sweeper for the money

PostedSeptember 20, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have been looking at several sweepers before buying this one. I decided to buy this sweeper because of the positive height adjustment and the way the optional dethatcher mounts. I feel these two features are superior to sweepers from other makers.
The assembly is straight forward and the hardware is packaged in order of assembly. The only confusing part of assembly are the spring rods used to expand the bag. Referencing the color picture on the web site helped there.
Overall this is a very good product with bettter than average assembly instructions.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 66 for 42 in. 20 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper
from Alabama
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I think we have a winner here!

PostedDecember 31, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this for my husband. We have a large front yard with many pine trees which produce a heavy blanket of pine straw on a regular basis. He would spend hours and hours raking large amounts of pine straw, pine cones and leaves several times in the fall and winter. He was skeptical that it would actually work on the pine straw but after reading many reviews, this particular sweeper seemed to be worth a try. He has only used it one time but it made a believer of him. It did a very good job even without the dethatcher attachment (which I also bought). His only complaint was that it had to be emptied fairly frequently (again, we have lots of pine straw). Other than that, he was very pleased with it and that's a small price to pay to make a tough job a bit easier. He said that the instructions were easy to follow and assembly was not difficult.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 67 for 42 in. 20 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper
from Elgin, IL
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Well worth it...

PostedNovember 9, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Overall, This is a very good product. I have been very happy with it so far. It picks up leaves and smaller sticks very well, and it dumps well. My yard has a slight up hill and down hill grade. Even with the grade it picks up the leaves and sticks well. Assembly was not bad, took about 1 1/2 hrs. by myself (took my time). much easier than raking. I have about 1 acre of property with 20 large trees on my lot and neighbors property. All mature maples and oaks, some pine trees also. Stores pretty well in my shed. Would recomend and buy again for sure!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Self-Propelled, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 68 for 42 in. 20 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

WORKS GREAT

PostedJanuary 2, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
WORKS FINE PICKING UP LEAVES AND SMALL STICKS. THE MAIN ISSUE I HAD WAS THE PACKAGING IS NOT DESIGNED TO PROTECT THE SWEEPER FROM DAMAGE WHEN ITS NOT SHIPPED ON A PALLET. HAD PARTS POKING THROUGH THE BOX. THE CORNER OF THE SHEET METAL FRAME WAS BENT AND THE PAINT WAS SCRATCHED ALL OVER. PULLS AT A GOOD PACE AND I CAN CLEAN UP TWO ACRES IN ABOUT AN HOUR.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Small Turn Radius, Easy to Store
Cons: packaging, assembly awakard
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 69 for 42 in. 20 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper
from Culpeper, Va

Sweeper is a must

PostedOctober 6, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This sweeper is a must for those of us who have acres of tree covered yard. This works amazingly well picking up acorns, small sticks, leaves, grass......... The sweeper is a bit difficult to back into your dump location and the catcher can get very heavy, so heavy the string release can't even budge it. Would I recomend this to others? Absolutely!! Only down side is the terrible instructions, at least a dozen times you will say "WHAT"? but if you have ever been a victim of "some assembly required" you should do OK.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 70 for 42 in. 20 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper
from NWA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works well

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Totally satisfied with the sweeper. Only problem I have is when it is disconnected and you're moving it around by hand .. it drags unless you bend way down .. luckily don't have to move it far.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 71 for 42 in. 20 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper
from Big Lake, MN, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Raking is a thing of the past with this unit!

PostedMarch 30, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought the Brinly Lawn Sweeper after much hesitation; however, after using this on my lawn 1x, it has more than paid for itself. My lawn had not been raked at all last year and after the winter snow melt, was littered with grass clippings, twigs, small branches and other debris. The Brinly 42" unit picked it all up. It took aprrox. 1 hour to completely clean my .50 acre lawn. Assembly was easy, just follow the directions.
No blisters here!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 72 for 42 in. 20 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper
from Yulee, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

AWESOME

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
AWESOME We have a big yard - the sweeper does it in a day - raking took days
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 73 for 42 in. 20 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper
from Michigan, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product works!

PostedOctober 30, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I'm a single gal with a big yard. I did have someone put the sweeper together for me. Using it daily and when leaves are dry it works great! Dumps OK, although you need a lot of space for drive by dumping! With a blower, you could dump and blow leaves to location.
Pros: Easy to Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 74 for 42 in. 20 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper
from New Jersey

WOW!!! this is great!!!!

PostedNovember 11, 2006
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Love this product!! I was very sceptical to say the least im not a gadget guy. I was looking for a faster way to rake the lawn it used to take 4 weekends to do, now it take about 2-3 hours. this product is fast and makes yard clean-up a breeze. it would have gotten 5 stars but it was a heck of a job assembleing the thing. they were only picture instructions which are very tough to figure out. when you get past assembley this thing is awsome and I highly recommend it to people with large yards!!!!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 75 for 42 in. 20 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper
from San Antonio, TX

wonderful

PostedMarch 19, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This was purchased for our church. we have a 2.5 acre lot with lots of oak trees and elms. we use the sweeper pretty much year round too sweep the leaves from the yard and even from the parking lot. it has made a 4-5 man project that would take 3-4 hours of back breaking work down to a 1-2 person project that only takes 2-3 hours.
I'll admidt that the instructions are a bit vague. However, being the handy type poerson I am I got it together with little trouble. These sweepers are wonderful
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 76 for 42 in. 20 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper
from Pennsylvania, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent at picking up debris from yard.

PostedNovember 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Large size means less trips around yard. Brushes very good at sweeping leaves, grass clippings, and even small twigs into hopper. Does take up quite a bit of room in storage. Assembly from enclosed directions was fairly easy.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 77 for 42 in. 20 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper
from Granger, IN, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product...

PostedNovember 25, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It's a great product and very sturdy material. I compare with other brands I seen in the store and I like the quality and pricing. I want something that will last longer then few years at least.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Durable, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 78 for 42 in. 20 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male

Great product

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Awesome product. Cleans up my yard in no time at all.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 79 for 42 in. 20 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper
from Howell, MI

High hopes, low performance

PostedMay 31, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I had high hopes for this product after reading the reviews. It was somewhat difficult to build, bit eventually got it rolling. Fresh out of the gate, it worked well. However, under any load, the PLASTIC gears begin to break down, and after replacing them both twice over the course of two summers, having to have the frame welded at a loose point, and replacing c-clips with every tank of gas, I listed it on the neighborhood freecycle board and bought a rake.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 80 for 42 in. 20 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper
from va
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A must have for the fall

PostedSeptember 29, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I picked it up one week ago and have used it every day. I have not had any problems with this item. I have been able to get all leaves up, even wet matted down ones. The only issue I had was where to dump all the leaves and grass clippings.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
<< 1 2 3 4 5 6  ... 9 >>