728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Riding Mower & Tractor Attachments or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 42 in. 20 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper

42 in. 20 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper

The Brinly 42 in. Lawn Sweeper is a tow-behind tractor attachment that collects leaves and grass clippings with It's 11 in. brushes. A practical feature of this self-storing sweeper is It's collapsible capability which allows for easy storage during winter months. Collects leaves and grass clippings behind tractors and mowers.
Overall rating:
4.337 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(163 reviews) 163
Open Ratings Snapshot
92%of customersrecommend this product146 of 159reviews
Rating Breakdown 163 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(91)
4
(55)
3
(7)
2
(1)
1
(9)
Features 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Quality 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
92%of customersrecommend this product146 of 159reviews
Customer questions and answers:
19 Questions | 110 Answers
Customer reviews for 42 in. 20 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper
Review 61 for 42 in. 20 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper
juneman25
from michigan

awsome addition

PostedSeptember 17, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
this sweeper is a great addition to any yard work equipment you have. conterdictery to what others say i found the assembly very easy if you dont rush and open all the nuts and bolts pack at once. the directions and parts are in very easy order to follow and are labeled in the order and the peice you need. also about the corners of the hamper wearing out, mine doesn't even have a scratch on it. the directions tell you how to level the hamper so it doesn't drag on the ground. my suggestion is a little higher than level so as you add your weight then the hamper is level. all in all a very awsome peice of equipment to own!!!!!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 62 for 42 in. 20 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper
Debbi
from Athens, AL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product, not easy to assemble

PostedOctober 23, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The product is great and works very well. The assembly is another matter. It's definitely a two-person job and there were a few areas where we could have used another hand or two. The price seems a little high. Maybe $199 would be closer to what I would like to see. Overall, a great product with a couple of caveats.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Easy to Store
Cons: difficult assembly, pricey
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 63 for 42 in. 20 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper
JohnH
from Minneapolis, MN, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Sweeper for the Price

PostedOctober 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This sweeper works well on our 1/2 acre lot. It picks up both sticks and acorns. It was frustrating to assemble and the dumping/emptying rope is a too short but overall it is a very good sweeper.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 64 for 42 in. 20 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper
Cookie
from Gooding, ID 83330, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

The frame isn't drilled right for all the bolts to fit. It didn't come with the hardware to put it together .

PostedJune 18, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We have had a problem putting together the sweeper. The holes are not drilled right on the frame. It does sweep the lawn well.
Cons: Difficult to Use, No Instructions, holes not drilled right to install hardware
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 65 for 42 in. 20 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper
Mike
from Illinois, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Stop thinking about it and buy it !!!!

PostedApril 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I usually spend the first weekend every year devoted to cleaning up the yard.
Not this year !!!!! It only took me and hour and a half and the yard looks even better than if I would of raked it !!!
This thing picks up everything. The only thing I had to do was pick up the "larger" branches say over a half an inch in diameter.
It picked up small and large pine cones, small and large pine needles, and even sticks. Don't hesitate, I was a doubter but not any more.
Pros: All In One, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Small Turn Radius, Light Weight, Easy to Store
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 66 for 42 in. 20 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper
YardCrazy
from Columbus, OH
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Time Saver and seems to be Good Quaity

PostedAugust 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I read the reviews before buying this product. Assembly took about an hour and was mildly frustrating, but nothing most can't handle. I had also purchased a Brinley tow behind yard dethatcher and used it first. While that is a different review, it did a pretty good job and pulled up a lot of dead thatch. I then ran this sweeper over the yard (about 1/3 acre) and it performed beyond my expectations. I was really surprised that it picked up as much grass as it did. Bottom line is that I would recommend this product. I don't know how long it will last, but it seems like it would last if you don't abuse it (i.e. setting the brushes too low). Go for it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 67 for 42 in. 20 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper
Cappy

Product does the job well

PostedMay 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This baby does an awesome job at cleaning up the yard after a mow. Grass cuttings are no match for this beast.. Come to think of it.. small branches and Spikey balls from a gum tree are no match either.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 68 for 42 in. 20 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper
Turtle49

Overall an excellent sweeper

PostedJune 11, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Follow the assembly instructions carefully and match the parts to the pictures or you will be undoing and redoing things like I had to do.
The sweeper works well and certainly does the job but I wish the collector bin was made from a bit sturdier material. I bought mine after borrowing one from my Brother-in-Law and had to replace the bin on his as it ripped after admittedly fairly rough useage.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 69 for 42 in. 20 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper
SewerRat
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Flawless Operation

PostedSeptember 26, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The main reason I wanted to get this sweeper was to pick up the nuts and shells in my backyard. They are EVERYWHERE. The sweeper did an okay job of picking up the ones that were pretty loose and sitting toward the top of the grass, but didn't get the ones that were down in the grass/dirt. The sweeper picks up grass that was just cut with great success. I have a ton of trees in my yard, and I can't wait to see this thing pay for itself this fall when the leaves start falling.
One down side is that if you make tight turns it kind of tears up the yard. But you learn to make less aggressive turns pretty quickly when you hear it clanging around behind you.
The other down side is that it does not store up very small. I am building a shed, but don't have it ready yet, and it takes up a considerable amount of space in my garage. Once I have the shed built, I'm not worried about it at all.
Pros: Easy to Use, Powerful
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 70 for 42 in. 20 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper
dick
from Ithaca, NY
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

very good as advertised

PostedOctober 31, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After a thorough review of tow-behind lawn sweepers and as the reviews were all favorable, I purchased a Brinly lawn sweeper.
I have used it now for 6 months and am very impressed. It is excellent for picking up lawn cuttings, the reason I purchased it. It is also great for sweeping leaves and pine needles. Much quicker than hand raking. However, once sweeping lawn cuttings, leaves or pine needles, you have to have a place to drop the cuttings. Be prepared for doing a lof of work getting rid of the large piles that have been swept up.
You really have to drive forward and dump the loads and then manually throw the sweepings somewhere else. This takes a lot of time.Backing the full load of sweepings is not an option.
Although the lawn sweeper is quicker than hand raking. It was much easier to dump my wheel barrow in an area than it is to hand move the large piles of sweepings.
The assembly of the unit was quite easy with the exception of step 2a. The note regarding "it might be necessary to put down pressure on the lower pivot assembly" shoud be over emphasized. I spent an hour trying to figure out how the unit would go together before I noticed the note. Senior moment.
Although the reviews of this unit were great cosidering asembly and usage, no one mentioned the amount of work required for routine and annual maintenance. This was a real problem for me. I am 75 years old and this routine and annual maintenance is a problem.
I would suggest that you become familar with the maintenance requirement prior to getting ready to srore the unit in late fall. Also, do not try to perform the routine and annual maintenance while being on your lawn outside of your storage shed. You will need a heated facility, like a garage and special tools.
To perform the REQUIRED maintenance steps shown on page 15 of the owners manual, one has to totally disassemble the drive mechanism(s) of the unit. To oil the drive pinion (required), one must force off an "E" ring and bushing (not easy), take off the wheel, undo the outer gear cover, take off the drive gear, and take off the inner dust shield. Now it become complicated and where you will need a good snap ring tool as you have to remove the external snap ring to loosen the drive pinion so you can get to the dowel pin to oil it. This is a lot of work and has to be done for both the left and right drive assemblies.
It is also suggested that the wheels be greased annually. The unit must be stood on end to perform all of the above these steps. Although not extremely heavy, this is a lot of work for a 75 year old man.
It is a good idea to do all of the annual maintenance as the drive mechanism(s) of my unit were filled with grass clippings. Also, the wheel axle was dry as a bone. Apparently, not greased when it left the factory.
Still in all, a good unit and worth the investment. Just a lot more work than I expected.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Too Heavy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 71 for 42 in. 20 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper
GurneeMan
from Gurnee, IL

Not a smart buy / un-reliable

PostedOctober 17, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this unit four years ago. Worked pretty well for the first year. One wheel drive unit broke (didn't know it) until the 2nd drive unit broke and the brushes no longer spun. Parts were difficult to find so fixed it with additional washers to pickup the space created by wear. Got another two years out of it. No longer able to repair the drive wheels.... the sweeper is destined for the junk pile.. find another sweeper with better durability. In the market now. At almost $300 should have lasted 10 or more years, didn't get two before major repairs were needed.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 72 for 42 in. 20 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper
chuck

tough machine, bag could be better though

PostedOctober 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Went together easy enough. Unit is sturdy, but i managed to tear bottom of bag in first 2 weeks. Admittedly, i abuse the machine in heavy, years old piles of leaves with sticks, rocks, abd other debris mixed in. This sweeper handles it all. It also devours leaves in record time. Would buy again.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 73 for 42 in. 20 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper
drwizard
from Exeter.RI

great tool

PostedSeptember 7, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
loved it... worked as described... no complaints. Easy assembly and attachment to both of my lawn mowers. I got the dethatcher as well (DK-42LX) and together they are exactly what i was looking for. Not something for a small yard as it is too bulky.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 74 for 42 in. 20 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper
HandyManRoy
from Hudson, Fl

Does what is was made to do!

PostedJune 20, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The assembly can be done by one, but I would recommend 2. This sweeper picks up almost everything and acorns too. If you don't have one you need one, or you can just use a hand rack that does not work as well.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 75 for 42 in. 20 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper
CubCadet46
from Greenville, SC, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great on grass, not so good on driveway

PostedOctober 1, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Picks up great on grass. Don't expect it to sweep up every single leaf though. Not so good on the driveway. On the lowest setting the brushes still don't pick up everything. Seems well build and sturdy.
Pros: Sturdy, Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 76 for 42 in. 20 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper
mlp2411
from Maine, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

good product!

PostedOctober 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My husband and father put this together in less than an hour with minimal difficulty. We have only used it once, but it was awesome! I'm anxious to see how it holds up over time.
Pros: Cuts Well, Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 77 for 42 in. 20 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper
YardBoy11226

Great Product

PostedOctober 1, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Works just as intended. Does a fine job on grass clippings and leaves. Make sure you watch the "lock" nuts as they tend to loosen (and fall off) if you don't watch them carefully.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 78 for 42 in. 20 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper
Flash
from MA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Super Product

PostedSeptember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the third lawn sweeper I have owned. It is by far the best. It is easy to adjust for superb sweeping and has proved to be very durable. The other two brands I've owned didn't sweep as well, were as easy to adjust nor were they as durable.
Pros: Easy to Use, Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 79 for 42 in. 20 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper
Boss

Works great

PostedSeptember 24, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Was a bit hesitant to purchase this sweeper due to some of the reviews concerning assembly and durability. It took me about 1 hour to assemble the unit. I found the instructions adequate and especially liked the way the small parts were shrink wrapped on a piece cardboard, ordered by assembly steps, and well marked. The first time I used it was in the worst conditions the unit will ever see. The grass clippings were 6 to 10 inches long and extremely wet. The unit performed flawlessly. All in all, I would recomend this product to anyone.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 80 for 42 in. 20 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper
dusty

waiting for a leaf to fall

PostedSeptember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The assembly instructions were difficult to follow to the end. The leaf catcher was the hardest. Do not wait until last minute to assemble. Plan on a couple of hours and a six pack!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
<< 1 2 3 4 5 6  ... 9 >>