728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Riding Mower & Tractor Attachments or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 42 in. 20 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper

42 in. 20 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper

The Brinly 42 in. Lawn Sweeper is a tow-behind tractor attachment that collects leaves and grass clippings with It's 11 in. brushes. A practical feature of this self-storing sweeper is It's collapsible capability which allows for easy storage during winter months. Collects leaves and grass clippings behind tractors and mowers.
Overall rating:
4.337 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(163 reviews) 163
Open Ratings Snapshot
92%of customersrecommend this product146 of 159reviews
Rating Breakdown 163 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(91)
4
(55)
3
(7)
2
(1)
1
(9)
Features 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Quality 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
92%of customersrecommend this product146 of 159reviews
Customer questions and answers:
19 Questions | 110 Answers
Customer reviews for 42 in. 20 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper
Review 61 for 42 in. 20 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper
from Illinois, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Stop thinking about it and buy it !!!!

PostedApril 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I usually spend the first weekend every year devoted to cleaning up the yard.
Not this year !!!!! It only took me and hour and a half and the yard looks even better than if I would of raked it !!!
This thing picks up everything. The only thing I had to do was pick up the "larger" branches say over a half an inch in diameter.
It picked up small and large pine cones, small and large pine needles, and even sticks. Don't hesitate, I was a doubter but not any more.
Pros: All In One, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Small Turn Radius, Light Weight, Easy to Store
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 62 for 42 in. 20 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper
from Mount Airy, MD 21771, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Very durable and easy to use, but I wish it had a bigger hopper

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This was recommended by a family member, who has tried other brands in the past. This was by far, his favorite lawn sweeper. So far, it has been great! I did snap the rope that came with it the first day, but it was because it got caught in the rear axle.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy
Cons: assembly was a little tricky
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 63 for 42 in. 20 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper
from Gooding, ID 83330, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

The frame isn't drilled right for all the bolts to fit. It didn't come with the hardware to put it together .

PostedJune 18, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We have had a problem putting together the sweeper. The holes are not drilled right on the frame. It does sweep the lawn well.
Cons: Difficult to Use, No Instructions, holes not drilled right to install hardware
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 64 for 42 in. 20 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper
from Saucier, MS 39574, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product performs as advertised!

PostedDecember 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to assemble, easy to operate, sweeps everything, easy to dump, stores efficiently. Capacity is great. Well made, well designed.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 65 for 42 in. 20 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper
from Berkshire, MA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female

The box came damaged and a piece was missing

PostedJuly 3, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The main bar for this sweeper was missing from the box. But customer service was great! She was understanding , quick response, and shipped the missing piece immediately....... We received the bar within a week. My Husband LOVES this!!!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 66 for 42 in. 20 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper

Very good piece of equipment

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I used this rating system to make my decision, good product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 67 for 42 in. 20 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper

Product does the job well

PostedMay 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This baby does an awesome job at cleaning up the yard after a mow. Grass cuttings are no match for this beast.. Come to think of it.. small branches and Spikey balls from a gum tree are no match either.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 68 for 42 in. 20 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper
from Coon Rapids MN
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I love it so far seems to work great

PostedNovember 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Most reviews have been right on , easy to put together, good directions, parts card laid out in order. Used it once worked great, couple of changes should be made, hopper should be just a little taller and the gear housing cover on axle by the wheels is very cheap plastic, and one side is already open should be metal cover, the rest of unit seems to be good quality, and I really like that the brushes do not turn when backing up
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 69 for 42 in. 20 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper
from conroe tx
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

best purchace ever ,makes life so easy

PostedNovember 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
best thing i ever did,mulch leaves and sweep up behind,5 times more leaves if u mulch while sweeping,easy dump,easy too put together,seems like it is built too last,lawn looks very good
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Small Turn Radius, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 70 for 42 in. 20 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper
from Sylvan Beach, NY, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works Like A Champ

PostedNovember 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought the lawn sweeper to clear leaves and it does a great job. I have to dump the cart after 2-3 passes, but my yard is 100 ft. deep and I have a lot of leaves!
Takes some time and patience to assemble, but it sure beats raking.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 71 for 42 in. 20 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper

Very happy with the purchase.

PostedNovember 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We have 5 acres and more than 100 trees!
Great product, we love it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 72 for 42 in. 20 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper
from Waldorf MD

Brinly Lawn Sweep

PostedMarch 10, 2007
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this hoping it would work, well it did work beyond my expectations. I have 1 acre and this lawm has not been cared for in 7 years or more according to the neighbor this thing has picked up grass, sticks, and even the glass fouind in the yard I will have the yard for my daughter to play in safely my only complaint is like other's the instructions are not very clear at all.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 73 for 42 in. 20 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper

I would recommend this product!

PostedOctober 22, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this for my mother, as she is over 70 but still enjoys mowing her yard. She doesn't have the strength to rake the grass clippings any longer, so we thought this would be a good fit for her. She has really enjoyed using this to rake her yard and finds it to be a blast to operate. I used it for a few test runs on my own yard after I put it together. It was great!!!
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 74 for 42 in. 20 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

very happy does great job

PostedNovember 12, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
cleans yard fast ,only thing fills to fast, best to have two people one sweeping the other empty.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 75 for 42 in. 20 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper
from Houston, TX

Lawn Sweeper

PostedAugust 21, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The instructions could have been more clear. The assembly did not take too long. The product is good except for the fact of dragging on the lawn when full. The bag is not the best quality, but adequate. For me pulling the rope does not dump the trash.
Still would recommend this for other home owners.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 76 for 42 in. 20 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper

Does what its suppose to do!

PostedNovember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have only used the sweeper three times and it works great! Makes the lawn look so nice. It was easy to put together. Very pleased with my purchase.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 77 for 42 in. 20 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper
from Athens, AL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product, not easy to assemble

PostedOctober 23, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The product is great and works very well. The assembly is another matter. It's definitely a two-person job and there were a few areas where we could have used another hand or two. The price seems a little high. Maybe $199 would be closer to what I would like to see. Overall, a great product with a couple of caveats.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Easy to Store
Cons: difficult assembly, pricey
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 78 for 42 in. 20 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper

Works great and folds up nicely.

PostedNovember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This lawn sweeper has greatly reduced the time that it takes to take my yard. It even picks up grass clippings.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 79 for 42 in. 20 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper
from Minneapolis, MN, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Sweeper for the Price

PostedOctober 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This sweeper works well on our 1/2 acre lot. It picks up both sticks and acorns. It was frustrating to assemble and the dumping/emptying rope is a too short but overall it is a very good sweeper.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 80 for 42 in. 20 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper
from Savannah, GA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works as Advertised

PostedJanuary 2, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I got the Brinly 42" Lawn Sweeper from my local Home Depot last week. It is made in the USA , it works as advertised, it feels very sturdy, and the instructions make sense. Assembly was straight forward and simple. I read over the instructions before I unboxed the sweeper. The assembly process took me 55 minutes and I did it all myself. I will admit that I'm somewaht mechanically inclined, but even a novice should be able to handle this in 1-2 hours. One tip, start at the top of the hardware card (it's all shrinkwrapped to cardboard) and work down the card as you follow the instructions. Set up on my mower (Cub Cadet LT 1018) was also very straight forward and leveling was not a problem. I've only used this on my yard once, and I am very satisfied with the results. We have an acre with trees and wooded lots on either side of us and our yard had not been raked since last spring. I spent about 3 hours this first time on the yard due to the hige volume of leaves, twigs, acorns, pine cones and such that needed removal. The high volume meant frequent trips to my dumping location (a swampy drop off area roughly 50 yards away). I expect it to take about half that time for subsequent uses. My lot is mostly level and quite sandy as we live in coastal GA. The sweeper will miss areas that are below level with the terrain that the wheels are riding over, (dips and holes)as the brushes simply cannot make contact with the ground when it is below the level of the ground the wheels are rolling over. Generally this thing picks up about 90% of what is there and the lawn looks signifigantly better after using it. It picked up small twigs, acorns, pine cones, leaves and pine straw. It does about the same job that a hand rake does but signifigantly faster and with far less effort. Overall I am very satisfied with the Brinly 42" sweeper and would recommend it.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
<< 1 2 3 4 5 6  ... 9 >>