728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Sanders or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Detail Sander

Detail Sander

The Ryobi Detail Sander sands, scrapes, buffs, cleans, polishes and removes rust from a wide variety of materials. The sander features a compact, lightweight ergonomic design for comfortable use, and the head's oscillating action enables the sander to easily reach tight spots, nooks and corners. The sander comes with a polishing angle, assorted sanding angles with self-adhesive backs and a stripping pad.
Overall rating:
2.283 / 5
2.3
 / 
5
(60 reviews) 60
Open Ratings Snapshot
34%of customersrecommend this product20 of 58reviews
Rating Breakdown 60 reviews
2.3 out of 5.0
5
(12)
4
(7)
3
(3)
2
(2)
1
(36)
Quality 
2.5 out of 5.0
2.5 out of 5
Value 
2.5 out of 5.0
2.5 out of 5
34%of customersrecommend this product20 of 58reviews
Customer reviews for Detail Sander
Review 1 for Detail Sander
from NYC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

People, Please Get This For Your Pedicure

PostedJanuary 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Sometimes you have to downstream your power use of things. I'm not judging whether or not it's capable of construction utility or not. I like household repair equipment that gets the job done. But, I find this extremely effective for sanding callouses and beating the competition at the nail salon in effectiveness and budget. Why pay $60 for a pedicure or for more junk at the drug store when I can achieve super soft baby feet in five minutes with this thing and never leave my home? Pays for itself. Also, look into the mini-dremel for your nails.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Good Size & Weight
Cons: none
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Detail Sander

Plastic elbow breaks easily

PostedJune 25, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The 90' bend on the detail sander broke after about two years (conveniently just outside of warranty). It's made of plastic, no suprise. Only lightly used the thing, and it's probably been less than two years that I've owned the tool, but I don't have the receipt and therefore have to go by the manufacturing date.
Doesn't matter much anyway, with such a cheap tool, since Ryobi expects you to pay shipping both ways for warranty service. Even if I paid more than half the item's value to get it fixed, it would still have a ill-designed plastic piece that would eventually break again.
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Detail Sander
from Pennsylvania, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

works very well

PostedJanuary 15, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The dander does let you get into extremely tight spaces just as designed. Only problem I'm running into is finding compatible replacement pads.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Detail Sander
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Useless

PostedJune 19, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Wish I had read the reviews on this product before buying. The sand paper is peel-and-stick and falls off almost immediately. What a waste of money. Wish I could return it.
Cons: Not Durable, sand paper falls off within seconds
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Detail Sander
from houston, TX
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

ZERO POWER!!!

PostedApril 28, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this to sand in tight spots & some of the detail work that my Ryobi orbit sander couldn't reach. This thing is a joke. I have more power in my electric toothbrush! On that note; it could make a decent facial exfoliator. This is safe for a youth's first carpentry kit though.
As for me; I've got big projects underway that require real tools with power for efficacy.
I'll be exchanging this toy today for an actual power tool.
Ryobi, you let me down. I use to be faithful to you, but ya did me wrong...sigh.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Detail Sander

Great little tool. My Robi vibrates--great.

PostedApril 30, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have had my Robi for over 5 years, and use it all the time for my grandkids little wooden toys. I am redoing an oak rocking chair, and it is working like a charm.
Remember the tool has to fit the job. You don't buy a pick-up truck if you need a bull dozer.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Detail Sander

Wont sand even with supplied 60 grit

PostedJune 24, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I used the sander first with 110 grit and it was barely making dust. Switched to the 60 grit and sanded the same spot for 10 minutes with barely any wood being removed. I then turned it off and used the tool by hand moving it back and forth and in 1 minute removed more that I had with it on in 10 minutes. The sanding pads are adhered with sticky tape, or should I say non sticky tape. Your better off sanding by hand then buying this.
Cons: doesn't sand
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Detail Sander
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

I'm returning mine.

PostedAugust 23, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The noise level is quite high for a small tool. And the sanding power is inadequate. I'm returning mine tomorrow. The tool is so weak that it couldn't move the grit across the wood- it just grabbed the wood... maybe one shouldn't use the 60 grit with this tool.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Detail Sander
from Gillette, WY

Ryobi Detail Sander - Refinishing Cabinet Doors

PostedMay 23, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We bought the Ryobi 120V Detail Sander DS1100 last weekend to refinish the original wooden kitchen cabinet doors in our 30+ year old mobile home. The sander is light, easy to handle, and worked like a dream in the corners of the door panels and in the grooves of the frame trim. We used both the 100 and 150 grit sandpaper for rough stripping and final finish. The sandpaper was easy to attach, didn't shift, and came off with no problems when I swapped between types. Are you planning on carrying a rechargable cordless version of this lovely toy? You can never own too many tools!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Detail Sander
from Newberry, MI
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Had on years ago, misplaced it so was very glad to get another just like the on I had. Very good tool!!

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I enjoy the sander as it is lightweight and easy to use in tight places. The product was delivered in a timely manner. I did the ordering on line and the web site is easy to manuver to place orders.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, All In One, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Detail Sander
from Minot, Maine

You could do better sanding with a cotton ball!

PostedFebruary 3, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Unfortunately this site makes you give the product at least one star,believe me it doesn't even deserve that! The only thing it does well is make alot of noise and scares my dog!
I'm not sure if the "oscillating" head would jiggle a bowl of Jello...don't wast your time.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Detail Sander
from Pacific Northwest
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Detail Sander

PostedFebruary 5, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was very disappointed with the quality and performance of this sander. The only bright side is that the store took my return with no hassles.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Detail Sander
from Naperville

Not aggressive, but good for detail

PostedFebruary 21, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I read the negative reviews for this product before purchasing, but considering the work I was going to do of sanding wood in tight areas, I took a chance. The sander is seemingly underpowered and does not remove material as quickly as an orbital sander. I want to say I had to use a grit 50% rougher than usual to get the same finish. Basically, if I wanted to get the same finish of 120 grit sandpaper, I would have to use a 60 grit pad. The sander comes with several different types of pads, so I would try out the pads before buying replacements as I had prematurely bought too fine of a grit when I bought extras when buying the sander. I did compare side by side working with a hand held sanding block and the sander to see which was faster/easier. The sander was faster and easier for doing the tight spaces by hand, so for me, the device was useful. I could see how people could be disappointed with this tool though.
Pros: Accurate, Light Weight
Cons: underpowered
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Detail Sander
from Roseville Michigan

maybe i just got lucky

PostedJune 3, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
i have had my sander for 4 maybe 5 years now and have never had a performance issue with it, this is one of two things i have by ryobi, i do use this professionally, the only complaint i ever had is for a small tool this sure does make a lot of noise, but it has never failed me, even after dropping it on the floor several times, maybe i just got lucky with mine, i saw a lot of bad reviews on this site, i am sure some people have had head aces from it but not me.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Detail Sander
from St. Petersburg, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This prorduct is light weight ,works great on trim

PostedJanuary 23, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Light weight good size for small area nice long handle for easy handling sand paper goes on easy and last a long time
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Detail Sander
from Gainesville, GA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

this was a big piece of junk

PostedJuly 7, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
we bought this after our B&D mouse w/attachments broke. after reading the reviews on the new mouse's we decided to get this stick thing. we used it for 10 minutes and returned it to the store. it doesn't work good. doesn't sand in small places as described and it bends if you put pressure on it.
Cons: Not Durable, Limited Features, Difficult to Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Detail Sander
from Pittsburgh, PA

Good Design, terrible product

PostedSeptember 1, 2008
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
First let me say the good. This sander is well designed. It can reach into almost any spot. It should be a good compliment to a random orbital sander or a belt sander.
However, it just doesn't remove that much material at a reasonable pace. I put the 60 grit paper on, and started to sand the corners of an oak chair that i just stripped. There was very minor cosmetic blemishes that needed to be removed. This sander just didn't do anything. i put it down, and gave it a try a week later. Again, it was just doing nothing. I changed paper, angles, and even tried it on some painted pine. Again, nothing.
if you want a good, effective corner sander, purchase a Bosch detail sander. it costs $100, but it will work on anything.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Detail Sander
from Buffalo, NY
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

You're better off hand sanding

PostedDecember 13, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I got one of these to help in refinishing my old house. On yellow pine, it won't sand enough to create any dust, at best I just get a couple deep gouges in the wood. When I tried to apply any pressure, the sander would quit. I cannot really think of any good use for this sander
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Detail Sander

About as powerful as an electric toothbrush

PostedMarch 9, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I read the negative reviews and decided to purchase this product anyhow as I was on a power tool buying tear. This is anything but a power tool maybe a glorified sanding block for tight spaces. If you set it on the paint it dosn't even scratch the surfaces let alone remove any layers. I literally think my Mach 3 Turbo could have removed more paint with more power delivered from 2 AAA batteries. I had high hopes for this product as it was the only one of its kind however it failed to deliver.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Detail Sander
from Rochester, MI

Ryobi Sander Fails as a Kid's Toy

PostedSeptember 19, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I read the previous reviews and bought this Ryobi Detail Sander anyways. I thought the previous reviewers were trying to do too much with this tool and I had a detailed application for this. Once I turned this on, the tool made noise but the head failed to oscilate with any significance to sand anything. I quickly returned it and later bought a B&D Mouse. The B&D's detailed attachments did everything I was hoping for and worked quite well.
DON'T buy this Ryobi tool - it's a joke!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>