728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Sanders or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Detail Sander

Detail Sander

The 120-volt RYOBI Detail Sander sands, scrapes, buffs, cleans, polishes and removes rust from a wide variety of materials. Its 0.3 amp motor maintains consistent performance during extended use. And, for comfort during extended use, its ergonomic design is compact and lightweight to help limit user fatigue.
Overall rating:
2.321 / 5
2.3
 / 
5
(81 reviews) 81
Open Ratings Snapshot
34%of customersrecommend this product27 of 79reviews
Rating Breakdown 81 reviews
2.3 out of 5
5
(15)
4
(11)
3
(5)
2
(4)
1
(46)
Quality 
2.5 out of 5
2.5 out of 5
Value 
2.7 out of 5
2.7 out of 5
34%of customersrecommend this product27 of 79reviews
Customer reviews for Detail Sander
Review 1 for Detail Sander
from vermont
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A lot of bark but no bite.

PostedApril 15, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The RYOBI 0.3 amp detail sander with peel and stick pads should be advertised as the (RYOBI miniature project sander). I purchased this tool to do the final detail sanding around each spindle on my indoor stair project, when I turned it on the sander was just as loud as your standard palm sander however, that’s all it was just loud the sander did not perform well at all even with the 80 grit sand paper. I do see this tool being used as a sander for miniature projects for example doll houses, children wood toys but not for regular detail home use. The item has a 30 day no-risk guarantee and a two year warranty. I would NOT recommend the purchasing of this product. However I do recommend the BLACK and DECKER (BDEMS600) mouse sander with finger attachment as an alternative for detail sanding.
(I take time to do product reviews after every major purchase, help keep me doing them by rating my review) hope this review was helpful.
Pros: might be used for doll houses and childrens wood, toys
Cons: did not do the job
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+22points
22out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Detail Sander

junk

PostedAugust 16, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
not very effective. you need patience to use this tool. Gets hot after extended use. noisy
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Detail Sander

Awful, absolutely awful

PostedApril 28, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have an electric toothbrush with more power. It will not remove any material short of flaking paint. The handle vibrates more than the sanding head does. Disregard the one star rating. It deserves none.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Detail Sander

Absolute Junk!

PostedJune 28, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
A few years ago I swore I would never buy another Ryobi product. I wish I would have stayed true to my word. The price was right for this sander, and I figured they certainly couldn't screw up a simple detail sander. I intended to use it for refinishing a wood stairway. I completed two steps and threw the sander across the room. Literally. It doesn't get all the way into a corner or all the way to an edge. And what it does cover it does a horrible job on. Scratches, blotches, etc. So, it completely fails to do the very simple task it is intended for. To add to, the flippin plug wouldn't stay in the extension cord, so I had to hold it in my hand the whole time. I wish HD would simply stop carrying Ryobi products all together.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Detail Sander
from Santa Cruz, CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Possibly the most disappointing tool I've ever used.

PostedJuly 28, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Lame. When I turned the switch on, I was compelled to check the manual to see if I needed to do something else to make it work. Sanding by hand is much, much faster. My guess is that this product started out as an electric toothbrush, but was repurposed because it wasn't powerful enough for dental care.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
Cons: useless
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Detail Sander
from Lakewood, Ca.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works Good for detail Work!

PostedJuly 14, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ryobi makes some excellent tools and this one of them.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Detail Sander

Not Happy

PostedApril 13, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Home Depot in Logan Utah does not sell replacement sanding pads, nor does any other store. I need 250 and 320 grit. Does anyone know where I may purchase these items. Not happy with my purchase, I should have bought the all purpose machine with the hook and loop sanding pads, those are everywhere.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Detail Sander
from Huntsville, AL
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male

Good design, horrendous execution.

PostedMay 20, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this detail sander to save some hand sanding in corners for a large staining job. This sander was so weak that it took more time and effort to use than to sand by hand. I have purchased several Ryobi products and have not been disappointed until this product. I don't know why they would even put their name to this. The vibration is more intense in your hand than at the tip, where the sandpaper is. Also, the vent is right where you need to hold the thing, so your hand gets really hot as you're sanding. I had high hopes for this sander because the head design is really good, fitting into multiple angles. But that ends up a pretty useless feature when it sands virtually nothing.
Cons: weak
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Detail Sander
from Metrowest, ma
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Womp, womp!

PostedMarch 1, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I picked this up as part of a project to refinish a table and some chairs. When I first tried to use I thought it might be defective, and I contemplated swapping it out for another. Then I read the reviews on here and realized that it's just a really, really bad product. I turned it on with #60 paper (very coarse), rubbed it firmly across the back of my hand and it felt like a massage. I have all ryobi tools and am just stunned that they would tarnish their name by putting this thing on the shelves.
It's just awful. Don't waste your time with this thing.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Detail Sander
from Bellevue, WA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Excellent for job intended

PostedApril 7, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought one of these units several years ago and it works great for the job it’s intended to preform. These sanders are intended to get up close into corners and along edges/risers in panels and so forth. They are not intended to do large open and flat spaces. After reading these reviews it comes down to “the right tool for the right job.” However I must add that the unit I bought was the RYOBI DS 2000, which seems to be a unit able to do heavy duty work (long hours). It weighs about 30% more than the current model available at Home Depot and I used it in my construction business for several years. As for the sand paper sticking to the pad I use a alcohol pad to clean the surface keeping it free of dust. Also allow the sander to do the work, don’t press down hard, use light pressure letting the vibration of the unit do the work for you. FYI: I actually came across this looking for sanding pads for my sander and I found several of the DS 2000’s for sale on-line. The current model uses the same pads.
Pros: Light Weight
Cons: unknowen
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Detail Sander
from NYC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

People, Please Get This For Your Pedicure

PostedJanuary 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Sometimes you have to downstream your power use of things. I'm not judging whether or not it's capable of construction utility or not. I like household repair equipment that gets the job done. But, I find this extremely effective for sanding callouses and beating the competition at the nail salon in effectiveness and budget. Why pay $60 for a pedicure or for more junk at the drug store when I can achieve super soft baby feet in five minutes with this thing and never leave my home? Pays for itself. Also, look into the mini-dremel for your nails.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Good Size & Weight
Cons: none
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Detail Sander
from west valley city,utah
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good purchase, for small sanding places, but , could use other attachements, that your suppose to come with robi sander,only mentions them on line

PostedMarch 25, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
good product for sanding small places,small projects.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, good for sanding small area.
Cons: Not Durable, Limited Features, No Instructions, other attatchements needed and not available, can't get other attachemnts., store is not very knowledgeable.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Detail Sander

Great little tool. My Robi vibrates--great.

PostedApril 30, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I have had my Robi for over 5 years, and use it all the time for my grandkids little wooden toys. I am redoing an oak rocking chair, and it is working like a charm.
Remember the tool has to fit the job. You don't buy a pick-up truck if you need a bull dozer.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Detail Sander
from Annapolis, MD
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Sander

PostedMay 18, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy to use and very powerful, light and quiet. Great product.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Detail Sander
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I guess its better than sanding by hand?

PostedMay 14, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This doesn't seem to have the power of other hand sanders. Maybe it's too small? Takes forever to sand a little tiny space!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Detail Sander
from Pennsylvania, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

works very well

PostedJanuary 15, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The dander does let you get into extremely tight spaces just as designed. Only problem I'm running into is finding compatible replacement pads.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Detail Sander
from Ridley Twp., PA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Details, details....

PostedNovember 14, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this tool and thought I would give it a try at removing rough paint that had been peeling and scraped in the tight spaces of window sills. It was not fast, but it took little effort to smooth up the surface using it. It did a better job than I could do by hand, as I decided to buy it and try it after doing the first window by hand. I was pleased with the way it performed, it made the job easier, and it helped give my painting project a more professional looking finish. I would recommend this product for the appropriate applications, and the understanding that it is really made for small tight spaces where other tools wouldn't fit. I used only one coarse pad to do 4 window sills and it had wear still in it. I wouldn't say this is a commercial heavy duty tool, but for the value I was satisfied with the results I achieved.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Light Weight
Cons: limited applications
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Detail Sander
from Roseville Michigan

maybe i just got lucky

PostedJune 3, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
i have had my sander for 4 maybe 5 years now and have never had a performance issue with it, this is one of two things i have by ryobi, i do use this professionally, the only complaint i ever had is for a small tool this sure does make a lot of noise, but it has never failed me, even after dropping it on the floor several times, maybe i just got lucky with mine, i saw a lot of bad reviews on this site, i am sure some people have had head aces from it but not me.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Detail Sander
from Brentwood, CA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

You get what you pay for but it does the job.

PostedMarch 22, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Purchased this little sander to strip a hallway full of door casings. For the price, I am pleased. It's not massively powerful but for the job I am doing, that's a good thing. It makes it so easy to clear the old paint out of the grooves in the casings. Again, for $30, it's worth it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Detail Sander
from Gillette, WY

Ryobi Detail Sander - Refinishing Cabinet Doors

PostedMay 23, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We bought the Ryobi 120V Detail Sander DS1100 last weekend to refinish the original wooden kitchen cabinet doors in our 30+ year old mobile home. The sander is light, easy to handle, and worked like a dream in the corners of the door panels and in the grooves of the frame trim. We used both the 100 and 150 grit sandpaper for rough stripping and final finish. The sandpaper was easy to attach, didn't shift, and came off with no problems when I swapped between types. Are you planning on carrying a rechargable cordless version of this lovely toy? You can never own too many tools!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>