728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Sanders or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Detail Sander

Detail Sander

The 120-volt RYOBI Detail Sander sands, scrapes, buffs, cleans, polishes and removes rust from a wide variety of materials. Its 0.3 amp motor maintains consistent performance during extended use. And, for comfort during extended use, its ergonomic design is compact and lightweight to help limit user fatigue.
Overall rating:
2.366 / 5
2.4
 / 
5
(71 reviews) 71
Open Ratings Snapshot
35%of customersrecommend this product24 of 69reviews
Rating Breakdown 71 reviews
2.4 out of 5
5
(14)
4
(9)
3
(5)
2
(4)
1
(39)
Quality 
2.6 out of 5
2.6 out of 5
Value 
2.7 out of 5
2.7 out of 5
35%of customersrecommend this product24 of 69reviews
Customer reviews for Detail Sander
Review 1 for Detail Sander
from Santa Cruz, CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Possibly the most disappointing tool I've ever used.

PostedJuly 28, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Lame. When I turned the switch on, I was compelled to check the manual to see if I needed to do something else to make it work. Sanding by hand is much, much faster. My guess is that this product started out as an electric toothbrush, but was repurposed because it wasn't powerful enough for dental care.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
Cons: useless
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Detail Sander
from Metrowest, ma
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Womp, womp!

PostedMarch 1, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I picked this up as part of a project to refinish a table and some chairs. When I first tried to use I thought it might be defective, and I contemplated swapping it out for another. Then I read the reviews on here and realized that it's just a really, really bad product. I turned it on with #60 paper (very coarse), rubbed it firmly across the back of my hand and it felt like a massage. I have all ryobi tools and am just stunned that they would tarnish their name by putting this thing on the shelves.
It's just awful. Don't waste your time with this thing.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Detail Sander
from Brentwood, CA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

You get what you pay for but it does the job.

PostedMarch 22, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Purchased this little sander to strip a hallway full of door casings. For the price, I am pleased. It's not massively powerful but for the job I am doing, that's a good thing. It makes it so easy to clear the old paint out of the grooves in the casings. Again, for $30, it's worth it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Detail Sander
from west valley city,utah
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good purchase, for small sanding places, but , could use other attachements, that your suppose to come with robi sander,only mentions them on line

PostedMarch 25, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
good product for sanding small places,small projects.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, good for sanding small area.
Cons: Not Durable, Limited Features, No Instructions, other attatchements needed and not available, can't get other attachemnts., store is not very knowledgeable.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Detail Sander
from Houston, Texas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very Satisfied

PostedJanuary 13, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Well-pleased with this sander, only wish I had purchased it sooner. Works well in smaller areas, as promised and included sand paper is easy to apply.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Detail Sander
from NYC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

People, Please Get This For Your Pedicure

PostedJanuary 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Sometimes you have to downstream your power use of things. I'm not judging whether or not it's capable of construction utility or not. I like household repair equipment that gets the job done. But, I find this extremely effective for sanding callouses and beating the competition at the nail salon in effectiveness and budget. Why pay $60 for a pedicure or for more junk at the drug store when I can achieve super soft baby feet in five minutes with this thing and never leave my home? Pays for itself. Also, look into the mini-dremel for your nails.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Good Size & Weight
Cons: none
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Detail Sander
from Ridley Twp., PA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Details, details....

PostedNovember 14, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this tool and thought I would give it a try at removing rough paint that had been peeling and scraped in the tight spaces of window sills. It was not fast, but it took little effort to smooth up the surface using it. It did a better job than I could do by hand, as I decided to buy it and try it after doing the first window by hand. I was pleased with the way it performed, it made the job easier, and it helped give my painting project a more professional looking finish. I would recommend this product for the appropriate applications, and the understanding that it is really made for small tight spaces where other tools wouldn't fit. I used only one coarse pad to do 4 window sills and it had wear still in it. I wouldn't say this is a commercial heavy duty tool, but for the value I was satisfied with the results I achieved.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Light Weight
Cons: limited applications
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Detail Sander
from Pennsylvania, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

works very well

PostedJanuary 15, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The dander does let you get into extremely tight spaces just as designed. Only problem I'm running into is finding compatible replacement pads.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Detail Sander

Great little tool. My Robi vibrates--great.

PostedApril 30, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I have had my Robi for over 5 years, and use it all the time for my grandkids little wooden toys. I am redoing an oak rocking chair, and it is working like a charm.
Remember the tool has to fit the job. You don't buy a pick-up truck if you need a bull dozer.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Detail Sander
from Boise
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Scratcher not a sander

PostedNovember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Not enough pulse to actually sand effectively. Better to use a larger sander at the point.
Cons: does not work well
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Detail Sander

not impressed

PostedOctober 24, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The it works well but I was disappointed with the sanding pads and the fact that if you change them you might as well throw them away as they don't stick well the second time and you have no way to store them so that that they don't get ruined.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Detail Sander
from Gillette, WY

Ryobi Detail Sander - Refinishing Cabinet Doors

PostedMay 23, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We bought the Ryobi 120V Detail Sander DS1100 last weekend to refinish the original wooden kitchen cabinet doors in our 30+ year old mobile home. The sander is light, easy to handle, and worked like a dream in the corners of the door panels and in the grooves of the frame trim. We used both the 100 and 150 grit sandpaper for rough stripping and final finish. The sandpaper was easy to attach, didn't shift, and came off with no problems when I swapped between types. Are you planning on carrying a rechargable cordless version of this lovely toy? You can never own too many tools!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Detail Sander
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

I'm returning mine.

PostedAugust 23, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The noise level is quite high for a small tool. And the sanding power is inadequate. I'm returning mine tomorrow. The tool is so weak that it couldn't move the grit across the wood- it just grabbed the wood... maybe one shouldn't use the 60 grit with this tool.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Detail Sander
from Minot, Maine

You could do better sanding with a cotton ball!

PostedFebruary 3, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Unfortunately this site makes you give the product at least one star,believe me it doesn't even deserve that! The only thing it does well is make alot of noise and scares my dog!
I'm not sure if the "oscillating" head would jiggle a bowl of Jello...don't wast your time.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Detail Sander
from Roseville Michigan

maybe i just got lucky

PostedJune 3, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
i have had my sander for 4 maybe 5 years now and have never had a performance issue with it, this is one of two things i have by ryobi, i do use this professionally, the only complaint i ever had is for a small tool this sure does make a lot of noise, but it has never failed me, even after dropping it on the floor several times, maybe i just got lucky with mine, i saw a lot of bad reviews on this site, i am sure some people have had head aces from it but not me.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Detail Sander

Wont sand even with supplied 60 grit

PostedJune 24, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I used the sander first with 110 grit and it was barely making dust. Switched to the 60 grit and sanded the same spot for 10 minutes with barely any wood being removed. I then turned it off and used the tool by hand moving it back and forth and in 1 minute removed more that I had with it on in 10 minutes. The sanding pads are adhered with sticky tape, or should I say non sticky tape. Your better off sanding by hand then buying this.
Cons: doesn't sand
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Detail Sander

Plastic elbow breaks easily

PostedJune 25, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The 90' bend on the detail sander broke after about two years (conveniently just outside of warranty). It's made of plastic, no suprise. Only lightly used the thing, and it's probably been less than two years that I've owned the tool, but I don't have the receipt and therefore have to go by the manufacturing date.
Doesn't matter much anyway, with such a cheap tool, since Ryobi expects you to pay shipping both ways for warranty service. Even if I paid more than half the item's value to get it fixed, it would still have a ill-designed plastic piece that would eventually break again.
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Detail Sander
from Pittsburgh, PA

Good Design, terrible product

PostedSeptember 1, 2008
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
First let me say the good. This sander is well designed. It can reach into almost any spot. It should be a good compliment to a random orbital sander or a belt sander.
However, it just doesn't remove that much material at a reasonable pace. I put the 60 grit paper on, and started to sand the corners of an oak chair that i just stripped. There was very minor cosmetic blemishes that needed to be removed. This sander just didn't do anything. i put it down, and gave it a try a week later. Again, it was just doing nothing. I changed paper, angles, and even tried it on some painted pine. Again, nothing.
if you want a good, effective corner sander, purchase a Bosch detail sander. it costs $100, but it will work on anything.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Detail Sander

doesnt work

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Doesnt work.. better off using sand paper manually. vibration hurts wrist
Pros: Good Size & Weight
Cons: Limited Features, No Instructions, Difficult to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Detail Sander
from houston, TX
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

ZERO POWER!!!

PostedApril 28, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this to sand in tight spots & some of the detail work that my Ryobi orbit sander couldn't reach. This thing is a joke. I have more power in my electric toothbrush! On that note; it could make a decent facial exfoliator. This is safe for a youth's first carpentry kit though.
As for me; I've got big projects underway that require real tools with power for efficacy.
I'll be exchanging this toy today for an actual power tool.
Ryobi, you let me down. I use to be faithful to you, but ya did me wrong...sigh.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>