728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Free Standing Cabinets, Racks & Shelves or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 36 in. W x 72 in. H x 24 in. D 5-Shelf Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit

36 in. W x 72 in. H x 24 in. D 5-Shelf Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit

The HDX 24 in. 5-shelf plastic shelving unit is constructed of heavy duty plastic, giving you a storage capacity of 1000 lbs., evenly distributed. Place this multi-purpose 5 Shelf Storage Organizer in your home, garage, basement or utility areas to help keep your space clean and organized. Each shelf unit is 36 in. W x 24 in. D x 72 in. H, making it a great fit for storage in your home or office. Each shelf can hold up to 200 lb. and has a span of 24 in., designed to hold most size storage totes. The ventilated shelving is easy to clean and it's raised feet will help prevent water damage.
Overall rating:
4.5 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(262 reviews) 261
Open Ratings Snapshot
94%of customersrecommend this product238 of 253reviews
Rating Breakdown 262 reviews
4.5 out of 5.0
5
(173)
4
(67)
3
(10)
2
(4)
1
(8)
Quality 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
94%of customersrecommend this product238 of 253reviews
Customer questions and answers:
15 Questions | 51 Answers
Customer reviews for 36 in. W x 72 in. H x 24 in. D 5-Shelf Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
Review 1 for 36 in. W x 72 in. H x 24 in. D 5-Shelf Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from Akron, OH
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male

Garage Organization

PostedOctober 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The shelves were very easy to put together; however, we had to cut some excess plastic off. Overall easy to install and really do the trick! Nice, clean and organized garage.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Functional, Looks Great
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 36 in. W x 72 in. H x 24 in. D 5-Shelf Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from Madison, WI

Light, Sturdy and Easy to assemble

PostedMay 23, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These shelves are fantastic, if you want shelves that are easy to assemble and dissemble, yet light weight and sturdy at the same time, these are the shelves for you. My wife and I put together 4 of these units in less than a half hour, and when they say no tools needed, they are not just blowing smoke. They are deep enough to hold all of your big plastic storage bins, and and my entire stuffed hockey bag fits on one shelf.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+26points
26out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 36 in. W x 72 in. H x 24 in. D 5-Shelf Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from San Antonio, TX
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

Great Shelving at a Good Price

PostedFebruary 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the second shelf I've bought for my garage. I got this one when I noticed that stacking too many plastic bins on one another was slowly crushing the bottoms bins. I can't say they are cheap but they are the cheapest option that still does a great job. For plastic, they are strong and sturdy. They are also a breeze to assemble.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Looks Great, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+10points
13out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 36 in. W x 72 in. H x 24 in. D 5-Shelf Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from NH
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female

Get Oraganized!

PostedOctober 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These shelves are very sturdy and hold a lot. They can fit 8 bins also. They helped me to organize my basement toy room and to get the toys off the floor so we could actually walk down there.
Pros: Sturdy
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 36 in. W x 72 in. H x 24 in. D 5-Shelf Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from New jersey
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female

Great value and product

PostedFebruary 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this rack on sale, I was initially going with the steel ones but, a contractor there said this brand was extremely durable and better quality. I am happy I listened, It has transformed my indoor storage closet and the shelves are large and very sturdy for plastic. It also has vents in between so it can accommodate anything. Easy to assemble, what more can I ask for functions as intended, great price and a great value. Thank you Home Depot.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Sturdy
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 36 in. W x 72 in. H x 24 in. D 5-Shelf Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from Florida, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

Easy set-up, strong, attractive garage shelving.

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought three sets of the largest HDX-5 shelves because I was moving into a new-construction garage and had to store all the goods & books that will go into a new study that is not yet finished. Everything claimed was true: excellent materials, set up in just a few minutes w/o tools, and hold LOTS of items in an attractive way. They are bug-proof and moisture-proof, PERFECT for a Florida waterside home. Great value for money!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, Excellent Quality, High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 36 in. W x 72 in. H x 24 in. D 5-Shelf Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from Hampton, VA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male

Amazing shelf

PostedAugust 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The shelves are very easy to assemble. The material is durable and easy to handle.
Shevles once asembled are sturdy and hold many items neatly.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Functional, High Quality of Material, Great Instructions, Sturdy, Looks Great, Looks High End, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 36 in. W x 72 in. H x 24 in. D 5-Shelf Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from Lake wales fl
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

excellent price value

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very easy to put together and was sturdy . the price value is excellent.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Functional, Excellent Quality, Sturdy, Looks Great, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 36 in. W x 72 in. H x 24 in. D 5-Shelf Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from South Central Pennsylvania
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female

Very Nice Despite Not Accomodating Standard Totes

PostedJuly 18, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
USUSABLE SHELF SPACE IS 32" WIDE FROM POST-TO-POST & AND A SMIDGE UNDER 15" BETWEEN SHELVES. I had to buy a unit in order to find that out. Sadly, it won't hold one standard Rubbermaid or Sterlite tote to a shelf let alone a pair.
The 32" width is just enough to store a maximum-sized suitcase. The 24" depth is more than enough for other goodies
Having read other reviews, I knew to look for damage and, sure enough, one of the two units at the store had significant damage. Mine had a less than one-inch chip in the grey end. Until opened, this was hidden by packaging.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Good Size & Weight
+15points
16out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 36 in. W x 72 in. H x 24 in. D 5-Shelf Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from Shamong NJ
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Good product

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The shelving unit went together very easily without the usual pounding on poor fitting parts. With a little common sense in loading storage on the shelf, I expect this unit to last a long time.
Pros: Looks Great, Durable, Functional, Well Made, Great Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 36 in. W x 72 in. H x 24 in. D 5-Shelf Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from Newbury, VT
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Quality Control Issues

PostedMay 25, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We have been buying and enjoying these shelves for a number of years and have rows and rows of them in our basement. They are very practical, durable and easy to assemble. However, yesterday we went back and bought six more (for over $300.00) for our garage. Something has clearly happened to the quality control on these shelving units. Virtually all of the shelving units had spillover casting material in each of the four holes and we had to use boxcutters to clean them out first. In addition, more than half of the posts had extra plastic shards attached that also had to be trimmed. Two units came with double sets of feet and caps while one unit of the six had none. If these have been jobbed out to a new factory, Home Depot should really look into the QC process.
Pros: Functional, Sturdy
Cons: Difficult to Assemble
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 36 in. W x 72 in. H x 24 in. D 5-Shelf Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit

Sturdy and easy to assemble

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Fit two of these in a storage closet and maximized the space in 20 minutes.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 36 in. W x 72 in. H x 24 in. D 5-Shelf Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from fort smith, ar
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male

great product

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Product is very easy to set up. Took about 5 minutes and no tools. Shelving is very sturdy
Pros: Easy to Assemble
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 36 in. W x 72 in. H x 24 in. D 5-Shelf Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from Ashland, OR
Gender:Female

Great Value and Easy Assembly!

PostedMay 9, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of setup 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this shelving unit because it was light weight (necessary for our above the car storage area), but sturdy for garage storage. I wanted to make it into two racks...one a 2 shelf unit and one a 3 shelf unit. The company sent me, free of charge, the extra caps and legs for the second set up. We liked the unit so well, we bought a second unit. This unit was packed with extra legs, caps and support pieces. A bonus! It is easy to put together and make into smaller sets of shelves if you don't have the height needed for the 5 shelf unit. The storage shelves are 24" deep which was a plus too. Our upper garage storage area never looked so good!
+19points
26out of 33found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 36 in. W x 72 in. H x 24 in. D 5-Shelf Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from Huntington Woods MI
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female

Easy to assemble

PostedNovember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
these shelves are easy to assemble but sturdy enough to hold everything I need to store.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Sturdy, Looks Great, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 36 in. W x 72 in. H x 24 in. D 5-Shelf Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from CT
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Very sturdy and easy to put together

PostedNovember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Very sturdy, attractive and easy to put together. Have 4 now in my basement.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Functional, High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 36 in. W x 72 in. H x 24 in. D 5-Shelf Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from vero beach florida
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female

Great Purchase for shelving in South Florida

PostedNovember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
easy assembly, rust resistant, sturdy,............
Pros: Functional, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 36 in. W x 72 in. H x 24 in. D 5-Shelf Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from Logan, UT

Durable and portable

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the second shelf like this that I have purchased. It is very durable, easy to set up and take down and is relatively inexpensive. I have moved with it a couple of times and it is a snap to take down and set up again. It's weight rating per shelf is great and the shelves are the perfect size for totes. I love these shelves! They've not sagged or broken.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Functional, Excellent Quality, Sturdy, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 36 in. W x 72 in. H x 24 in. D 5-Shelf Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from EATONTON, GA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

GREAT SHELF.

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
SHELF IS EASY TO INSTALL AND HAS LOTS OF ROOM TO STORE ITEMS ON.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Excellent Quality, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 36 in. W x 72 in. H x 24 in. D 5-Shelf Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from Oakland County, MI
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

Easy to Assemble, Light Weight and Sturdy

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I love these shelving units. Light weight and easy to assemble. No tools required, and very stable. Minus 1 star for a few holes not lined up correctly, which then takes a lot of force to assemble. I own like 10 of these units.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Well Made, High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Looks Great, Looks High End, Nice Design
Cons: occasionally posts don't line up
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 13 >>