728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Free Standing Cabinets, Racks & Shelves or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 36 in. W x 72 in. H x 24 in. D 5-Shelf Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit

36 in. W x 72 in. H x 24 in. D 5-Shelf Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit

The HDX 24 in. 5-shelf plastic shelving unit is constructed of heavy duty plastic, giving you a storage capacity of 1000 lbs., evenly distributed. Place this multi-purpose 5 Shelf Storage Organizer in your home, garage, basement or utility areas to help keep your space clean and organized. Each shelf unit is 36 in. W x 24 in. D x 72 in. H, making it a great fit for storage in your home or office. Each shelf can hold up to 200 lb. and has a span of 24 in., designed to hold most size storage totes. The ventilated shelving is easy to clean and it's raised feet will help prevent water damage.
Overall rating:
4.498 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(279 reviews) 278
Open Ratings Snapshot
94%of customersrecommend this product254 of 270reviews
Rating Breakdown 279 reviews
4.5 out of 5
5
(185)
4
(70)
3
(11)
2
(4)
1
(9)
Quality 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
94%of customersrecommend this product254 of 270reviews
Customer questions and answers:
15 Questions | 52 Answers
Customer reviews for 36 in. W x 72 in. H x 24 in. D 5-Shelf Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
Review 1 for 36 in. W x 72 in. H x 24 in. D 5-Shelf Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from NH
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female

Get Oraganized!

PostedOctober 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
These shelves are very sturdy and hold a lot. They can fit 8 bins also. They helped me to organize my basement toy room and to get the toys off the floor so we could actually walk down there.
Pros: Sturdy
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 36 in. W x 72 in. H x 24 in. D 5-Shelf Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from Glenodra, California
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

All defective and should be sent back to the manufacturer

PostedJanuary 13, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The shelf assembly contains flat shelf pieces and tubes to space out the shelves. The problem is that the manufacturer is too inexperienced to properly mold the parts, so the holes which the tubes are supposed to be inserted into are partially filled with extra plastic (called flashings) so it's not possible to assemble the unit unless you modify them manually. Surprisingly up to half of the area of the holes were covered with plastic flashings which are not supposed to be there. It is not a subtle thing and very visible and detectable in production. How can this wide spread defect get past the Quality Control at the manufacturer, and how can this not be caught and pulled off the shelves by Home Depot? I purchased 4 separate shelf assemblies and all 4 had the issue, and 50% of all the holes were problematic. It took me hours to use a card board cutter knife and shave off the extra plastic material from inside the holes to make it work. These shelves are defective and should not be sold.
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: all defective with no exceptions
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 36 in. W x 72 in. H x 24 in. D 5-Shelf Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from Akron, OH
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male

Garage Organization

PostedOctober 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The shelves were very easy to put together; however, we had to cut some excess plastic off. Overall easy to install and really do the trick! Nice, clean and organized garage.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Functional, Looks Great
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 36 in. W x 72 in. H x 24 in. D 5-Shelf Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from Madison, WI

Light, Sturdy and Easy to assemble

PostedMay 23, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
These shelves are fantastic, if you want shelves that are easy to assemble and dissemble, yet light weight and sturdy at the same time, these are the shelves for you. My wife and I put together 4 of these units in less than a half hour, and when they say no tools needed, they are not just blowing smoke. They are deep enough to hold all of your big plastic storage bins, and and my entire stuffed hockey bag fits on one shelf.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+29points
29out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 36 in. W x 72 in. H x 24 in. D 5-Shelf Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from Florida, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

Easy set-up, strong, attractive garage shelving.

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought three sets of the largest HDX-5 shelves because I was moving into a new-construction garage and had to store all the goods & books that will go into a new study that is not yet finished. Everything claimed was true: excellent materials, set up in just a few minutes w/o tools, and hold LOTS of items in an attractive way. They are bug-proof and moisture-proof, PERFECT for a Florida waterside home. Great value for money!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, Excellent Quality, High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 36 in. W x 72 in. H x 24 in. D 5-Shelf Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from San Antonio, TX
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

Great Shelving at a Good Price

PostedFebruary 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is the second shelf I've bought for my garage. I got this one when I noticed that stacking too many plastic bins on one another was slowly crushing the bottoms bins. I can't say they are cheap but they are the cheapest option that still does a great job. For plastic, they are strong and sturdy. They are also a breeze to assemble.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Looks Great, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+13points
16out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 36 in. W x 72 in. H x 24 in. D 5-Shelf Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from New jersey
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female

Great value and product

PostedFebruary 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased this rack on sale, I was initially going with the steel ones but, a contractor there said this brand was extremely durable and better quality. I am happy I listened, It has transformed my indoor storage closet and the shelves are large and very sturdy for plastic. It also has vents in between so it can accommodate anything. Easy to assemble, what more can I ask for functions as intended, great price and a great value. Thank you Home Depot.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Sturdy
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 36 in. W x 72 in. H x 24 in. D 5-Shelf Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from Bristow, VA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

Bought 5 sets for my basement

PostedJanuary 27, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought 5 sets to use in my basement. Good - they are easy to put together and pretty sturdy compared to other plastic shelves I have had. Bad - one set was missing 8 of the vertical pieces and two sets had one of the shelves cracked. Luckily there is a whole website dedicated to getting new parts for these. However, the site and process is a little confusing if you try to do it all online.
Long story short, these are pretty good shelves, especially for the price.
Buy online though, they were $5 more expensive in the store.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Sturdy
Cons: plastic parts could be damaged
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 36 in. W x 72 in. H x 24 in. D 5-Shelf Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from Lowell, MA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Great shelving for basement or garage

PostedJanuary 27, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy no tool required assembly. Sturdy. Height between shelves is very good for storage bins. Maximum weight (from personal experience) is about 50lbs - 60lbs. It can take a bit more but over time the shelf will sag a small amount. The 24 inch shelf depth is great.
I did need to call customer support when the instructions did not clearly show which direction the poles inserted (wide end or tapered end) I initially put them in upside down. Very good telephone support.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: instructions need a bit more detail
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 36 in. W x 72 in. H x 24 in. D 5-Shelf Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from Clemmons, NC
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female

Fantastic Value!

PostedJanuary 6, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I first bought one, and then decided to make room for another one. I am trying to organize my teaching materials and my garage, so why not have things off the floor? These seem to be very sturdy, but they are still new in my garage. I (65 year old woman) put them together in probably 7 minutes for each set of shelves. Very simple, no tools, and totally useful! The price is unbeatable, and I'm a real shopper. I put light-weight things on the top shelf so that they wouldn't be too hard to get down, as well as safety with heavier things on the bottom shelf. Love them, really!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 36 in. W x 72 in. H x 24 in. D 5-Shelf Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from Davie
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Good for the price and function

PostedJanuary 27, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Purchased 4 units for garage storage. Good price for the quality and easy to assemble. Only issue is one of the poles would not fit into one of the shelves due to manufacturing defect. I tried to file the the plastic down to increase the size of the hole, but ended up forcing the pole in and slightly cracking it. would recommend this for light duty shelving.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 36 in. W x 72 in. H x 24 in. D 5-Shelf Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from Austin Texas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female

Great shelves

PostedJanuary 29, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Although my cabinet measurements were slightly off we were able to fit the shelves in perfectly. They are sturdy and are perfect for finishing out my personal storage space.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 36 in. W x 72 in. H x 24 in. D 5-Shelf Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit

perfect for our basement

PostedJanuary 27, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
we have so much stuff to store in our basement and its kind of damp so these plastic shelves are the perfect way to organize everything while keeping it all off the floor and rust free
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 36 in. W x 72 in. H x 24 in. D 5-Shelf Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from Louisiana
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female

Great Shelf Unit

PostedJanuary 27, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Perfect for my garage, and was very easy to assemble. No tools needed. Also, light enough for me to handle alone, but strong enough to hold lots of stuff.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Functional, Excellent Quality, Sturdy, Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 36 in. W x 72 in. H x 24 in. D 5-Shelf Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit

Storage Shelf

PostedJanuary 27, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is a great shelf. With it being so wide gives not only more space but makes it extremely sturdy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 36 in. W x 72 in. H x 24 in. D 5-Shelf Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from South Central Pennsylvania
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female

Very Nice Despite Not Accomodating Standard Totes

PostedJuly 18, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
USUSABLE SHELF SPACE IS 32" WIDE FROM POST-TO-POST & AND A SMIDGE UNDER 15" BETWEEN SHELVES. I had to buy a unit in order to find that out. Sadly, it won't hold one standard Rubbermaid or Sterlite tote to a shelf let alone a pair.
The 32" width is just enough to store a maximum-sized suitcase. The 24" depth is more than enough for other goodies
Having read other reviews, I knew to look for damage and, sure enough, one of the two units at the store had significant damage. Mine had a less than one-inch chip in the grey end. Until opened, this was hidden by packaging.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Good Size & Weight
+17points
18out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 36 in. W x 72 in. H x 24 in. D 5-Shelf Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit

Got the boxes off the floor

PostedJanuary 13, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This was the perfect solution to getting some boxes off the cold floor and then using the shelves to provide stability between box layers. A very solid material.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 36 in. W x 72 in. H x 24 in. D 5-Shelf Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from Pocatello, ID
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female

IT DIDN'T BREAK! BUT IT WOKE UP THE NEIGHBORS!

PostedDecember 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Long story short, I was hiding this in my trunk (not assembled) to give to my husband for Christmas. I was carrying it into the house at 1am Christmas morning to hide behind the tree... On my way from the trunk to the front door, I tripped on air and went fumbling towards the front door. All the pieces inside were bouncing around and I managed to crash and land on the shelves. Loudest noise ever. I scrambled to get it inside and put it behind the tree before my husband saw. It woke up my husband and all the neighbors. I checked out the shelves and they didn't have a scratch on them, I on the other hand had a black and blue bruise on my thigh for months. Haha... If I could rate this products durability any higher, I would! It is such a great shelf, that we went back and bought another... with help of course haha!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, Excellent Quality, High Quality of Material, Great Instructions, Sturdy, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: it hurts, awkward to carry alone
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 36 in. W x 72 in. H x 24 in. D 5-Shelf Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from Henderson, NV
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female

Study and Easy to Assemble

PostedJanuary 13, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Made of thick plastic with deep shelves that can store large boxes. Makes garage look neat and organized.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 36 in. W x 72 in. H x 24 in. D 5-Shelf Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from Houston, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Easy to assemble but strong

PostedJanuary 13, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Shelving unit assembled easily and holds up well. No worries for the future.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Sturdy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 14 >>