728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Free Standing Cabinets, Racks & Shelves or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 36 in. W x 72 in. H x 24 in. D 5-Shelf Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit

36 in. W x 72 in. H x 24 in. D 5-Shelf Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit

The HDX 24 in. 5-shelf plastic shelving unit is constructed of heavy duty plastic, giving you a storage capacity of 1000 lbs., evenly distributed. Place this multi-purpose 5 Shelf Storage Organizer in your home, garage, basement or utility areas to help keep your space clean and organized. Each shelf unit is 36 in. W x 24 in. D x 72 in. H, making it a great fit for storage in your home or office. Each shelf can hold up to 200 lb. and has a span of 24 in., designed to hold most size storage totes. The ventilated shelving is easy to clean and it's raised feet will help prevent water damage.
Overall rating:
4.508 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(305 reviews) 304
Open Ratings Snapshot
94%of customersrecommend this product278 of 296reviews
Rating Breakdown 305 reviews
4.5 out of 5
5
(202)
4
(78)
3
(12)
2
(4)
1
(9)
Quality 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
94%of customersrecommend this product278 of 296reviews
Customer questions and answers:
16 Questions | 56 Answers
Customer reviews for 36 in. W x 72 in. H x 24 in. D 5-Shelf Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
Review 1 for 36 in. W x 72 in. H x 24 in. D 5-Shelf Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from NH
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female

Get Oraganized!

PostedOctober 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
These shelves are very sturdy and hold a lot. They can fit 8 bins also. They helped me to organize my basement toy room and to get the toys off the floor so we could actually walk down there.
Pros: Sturdy
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 36 in. W x 72 in. H x 24 in. D 5-Shelf Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from Glenodra, California
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

All defective and should be sent back to the manufacturer

PostedJanuary 13, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The shelf assembly contains flat shelf pieces and tubes to space out the shelves. The problem is that the manufacturer is too inexperienced to properly mold the parts, so the holes which the tubes are supposed to be inserted into are partially filled with extra plastic (called flashings) so it's not possible to assemble the unit unless you modify them manually. Surprisingly up to half of the area of the holes were covered with plastic flashings which are not supposed to be there. It is not a subtle thing and very visible and detectable in production. How can this wide spread defect get past the Quality Control at the manufacturer, and how can this not be caught and pulled off the shelves by Home Depot? I purchased 4 separate shelf assemblies and all 4 had the issue, and 50% of all the holes were problematic. It took me hours to use a card board cutter knife and shave off the extra plastic material from inside the holes to make it work. These shelves are defective and should not be sold.
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: all defective with no exceptions
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
5out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 36 in. W x 72 in. H x 24 in. D 5-Shelf Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from Akron, OH
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male

Garage Organization

PostedOctober 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The shelves were very easy to put together; however, we had to cut some excess plastic off. Overall easy to install and really do the trick! Nice, clean and organized garage.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Functional, Looks Great
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 36 in. W x 72 in. H x 24 in. D 5-Shelf Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from Rochester, NY
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Great product

PostedFebruary 20, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is the 5th shelf of this make and model I've purchased. They are easy to put together, sturdy and well worth the money.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 36 in. W x 72 in. H x 24 in. D 5-Shelf Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from Madison, WI

Light, Sturdy and Easy to assemble

PostedMay 23, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
These shelves are fantastic, if you want shelves that are easy to assemble and dissemble, yet light weight and sturdy at the same time, these are the shelves for you. My wife and I put together 4 of these units in less than a half hour, and when they say no tools needed, they are not just blowing smoke. They are deep enough to hold all of your big plastic storage bins, and and my entire stuffed hockey bag fits on one shelf.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+31points
31out of 31found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 36 in. W x 72 in. H x 24 in. D 5-Shelf Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from Florida, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

Easy set-up, strong, attractive garage shelving.

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought three sets of the largest HDX-5 shelves because I was moving into a new-construction garage and had to store all the goods & books that will go into a new study that is not yet finished. Everything claimed was true: excellent materials, set up in just a few minutes w/o tools, and hold LOTS of items in an attractive way. They are bug-proof and moisture-proof, PERFECT for a Florida waterside home. Great value for money!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, Excellent Quality, High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 36 in. W x 72 in. H x 24 in. D 5-Shelf Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from San Antonio, TX
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

Great Shelving at a Good Price

PostedFebruary 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is the second shelf I've bought for my garage. I got this one when I noticed that stacking too many plastic bins on one another was slowly crushing the bottoms bins. I can't say they are cheap but they are the cheapest option that still does a great job. For plastic, they are strong and sturdy. They are also a breeze to assemble.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Looks Great, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+14points
17out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 36 in. W x 72 in. H x 24 in. D 5-Shelf Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from New jersey
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female

Great value and product

PostedFebruary 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased this rack on sale, I was initially going with the steel ones but, a contractor there said this brand was extremely durable and better quality. I am happy I listened, It has transformed my indoor storage closet and the shelves are large and very sturdy for plastic. It also has vents in between so it can accommodate anything. Easy to assemble, what more can I ask for functions as intended, great price and a great value. Thank you Home Depot.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Sturdy
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 36 in. W x 72 in. H x 24 in. D 5-Shelf Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from Cocoa Beach, Fl
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

FAST solution for creating new storage

PostedFebruary 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I am able to quickly acquire these shelves and create massive amounts of storage very quickly with these shelves. Because they come in two depths, it gives me lots of options. If I just need storage along the garage walls, I but the narrow version. If I need to store large bulky heavy items, I buy the deeper version. They take about 5 minutes to assemble and slide into position very easily. I have them down both sides of our garage and along two walls in my shop. No clutter on the floors anymore and everything is easy to find.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Functional, Excellent Quality, Sturdy, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 36 in. W x 72 in. H x 24 in. D 5-Shelf Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from Clermont, FL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female

This was just what I was looking for, one of my most satisfied purchases

PostedFebruary 26, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The heavy plastic shelving works perfectly for the location & purpose I planned to use it for. It has plenty of space for my extra bulky pantry items, and it holds the weight without a problem.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Functional, Sturdy, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 36 in. W x 72 in. H x 24 in. D 5-Shelf Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from valdosta, georgia
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

satisfied much needed storage problem by going verticle

PostedFebruary 26, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
excellent storage unit large and sturdy enough to accommodate all the storage boxes and greatly saving floor space. Easily assembled in just a few minutes
Pros: Functional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 36 in. W x 72 in. H x 24 in. D 5-Shelf Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from Yorklyn, Delaware
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

Perfect size and strength

PostedFebruary 17, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I needed shelf space in the basement. Although the basement is dry, I didn't want metal shelves that may rust over time. I wanted to put some heavy objects on the shelves so I needed something that was strong, I wanted the shelves to have ventilation so that it would be difficult for mold to form between the objects and shelves. I wanted the shelves to light in color so that if there were any signs of mold forming it would be immediately apparent and I could eliminate the mold. I wanted shelves that could be assembled / disassembled for easy installation. These shelves satisfied all these requirements. Without spending fortunes, I think these are the best shelves available for this type application. Better yet, I ordered and paid for them over the Internet and drove to the store later that day to pick them up. They were on a cart and ready for me to push out to my vehicle.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, High Quality of Material, Lots of Features, Sturdy, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 36 in. W x 72 in. H x 24 in. D 5-Shelf Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from Columbus, OH
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female

36 IN. W X 72 IN. H X 24 IN. D 5-SHELF PLASTIC VENTILATED STORAGE SHELVING UNIT

PostedFebruary 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have these shelves in my office and my craft room. They are sturdy and serve the purpose that I need for extra storage.
Pros: Durable, Functional, Sturdy, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 36 in. W x 72 in. H x 24 in. D 5-Shelf Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from vicksburg, mich.
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Nice, but needs some "polish"

PostedFebruary 17, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The shelf works very well, strong well built, however some plastic "flashing" was in the leg holes which required a bit of work to remove. No big deal, I have 4 of them, and 2 required some work on at least 1 leg hole, sometimes several.
Pros: Durable, Functional, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: Difficult to Assemble
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 36 in. W x 72 in. H x 24 in. D 5-Shelf Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from Copemish, Mi
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Solid

PostedFebruary 17, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
We have lots of storage and have used several different kinds of shelving units. This one has become our go to shelf because of durability, weight and ease of use. It holds most containers and for standard shelving, has been very useful.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Functional, Sturdy
Cons: not versatile
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 36 in. W x 72 in. H x 24 in. D 5-Shelf Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from South Central Pennsylvania
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female

Very Nice Despite Not Accomodating Standard Totes

PostedJuly 18, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
USUSABLE SHELF SPACE IS 32" WIDE FROM POST-TO-POST & AND A SMIDGE UNDER 15" BETWEEN SHELVES. I had to buy a unit in order to find that out. Sadly, it won't hold one standard Rubbermaid or Sterlite tote to a shelf let alone a pair.
The 32" width is just enough to store a maximum-sized suitcase. The 24" depth is more than enough for other goodies
Having read other reviews, I knew to look for damage and, sure enough, one of the two units at the store had significant damage. Mine had a less than one-inch chip in the grey end. Until opened, this was hidden by packaging.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Good Size & Weight
+17points
18out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 36 in. W x 72 in. H x 24 in. D 5-Shelf Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from Placer County California
Gender:Female

Great use of space

PostedFebruary 17, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I had a 24 inch deep space that this unit fit perfectly. I have my big tools on the bottom and labeled boxes with all of the small tools on other shelves. It's really Keeps me organized.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Excellent Quality, Sturdy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 36 in. W x 72 in. H x 24 in. D 5-Shelf Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from Bristow, VA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

Bought 5 sets for my basement

PostedJanuary 27, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought 5 sets to use in my basement. Good - they are easy to put together and pretty sturdy compared to other plastic shelves I have had. Bad - one set was missing 8 of the vertical pieces and two sets had one of the shelves cracked. Luckily there is a whole website dedicated to getting new parts for these. However, the site and process is a little confusing if you try to do it all online.
Long story short, these are pretty good shelves, especially for the price.
Buy online though, they were $5 more expensive in the store.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Sturdy
Cons: plastic parts could be damaged
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 36 in. W x 72 in. H x 24 in. D 5-Shelf Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from Lowell, MA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Great shelving for basement or garage

PostedJanuary 27, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy no tool required assembly. Sturdy. Height between shelves is very good for storage bins. Maximum weight (from personal experience) is about 50lbs - 60lbs. It can take a bit more but over time the shelf will sag a small amount. The 24 inch shelf depth is great.
I did need to call customer support when the instructions did not clearly show which direction the poles inserted (wide end or tapered end) I initially put them in upside down. Very good telephone support.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: instructions need a bit more detail
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 36 in. W x 72 in. H x 24 in. D 5-Shelf Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from Pigeon Forge, TN
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

shelves

PostedFebruary 11, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Shelves went together very easily. Construct is sturdy.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Functional, Excellent Quality, Sturdy, Looks Great, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 15 >>