728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Shelves & Shelf Brackets or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 5-Shelf 24 in. D x 36 in. W x 72 in. H Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit

5-Shelf 24 in. D x 36 in. W x 72 in. H Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit

Start saving space and staying organized by using this HDX 5-Shelf Storage Organizer in your home, garage or utility areas. Each shelf can hold up to 200 lb. for ample storage capacity. Its attached feet make this organizer suitable for the basement by keeping the unit safe from dirt and water damage.
Overall rating:
4.475 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(242 reviews) 241
Open Ratings Snapshot
94%of customersrecommend this product218 of 233reviews
Rating Breakdown 242 reviews
4.5 out of 5.0
5
(157)
4
(63)
3
(10)
2
(4)
1
(8)
Quality 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
94%of customersrecommend this product218 of 233reviews
Customer questions and answers:
13 Questions | 44 Answers
Customer reviews for 5-Shelf 24 in. D x 36 in. W x 72 in. H Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
Review 1 for 5-Shelf 24 in. D x 36 in. W x 72 in. H Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from Hampton, VA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male

Amazing shelf

PostedAugust 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The shelves are very easy to assemble. The material is durable and easy to handle.
Shevles once asembled are sturdy and hold many items neatly.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Functional, High Quality of Material, Great Instructions, Sturdy, Looks Great, Looks High End, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 5-Shelf 24 in. D x 36 in. W x 72 in. H Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from San Antonio, TX
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

Great Shelving at a Good Price

PostedFebruary 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the second shelf I've bought for my garage. I got this one when I noticed that stacking too many plastic bins on one another was slowly crushing the bottoms bins. I can't say they are cheap but they are the cheapest option that still does a great job. For plastic, they are strong and sturdy. They are also a breeze to assemble.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Looks Great, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+6points
9out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 5-Shelf 24 in. D x 36 in. W x 72 in. H Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from Madison, WI

Light, Sturdy and Easy to assemble

PostedMay 23, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These shelves are fantastic, if you want shelves that are easy to assemble and dissemble, yet light weight and sturdy at the same time, these are the shelves for you. My wife and I put together 4 of these units in less than a half hour, and when they say no tools needed, they are not just blowing smoke. They are deep enough to hold all of your big plastic storage bins, and and my entire stuffed hockey bag fits on one shelf.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+25points
25out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 5-Shelf 24 in. D x 36 in. W x 72 in. H Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from Florida, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

Easy set-up, strong, attractive garage shelving.

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought three sets of the largest HDX-5 shelves because I was moving into a new-construction garage and had to store all the goods & books that will go into a new study that is not yet finished. Everything claimed was true: excellent materials, set up in just a few minutes w/o tools, and hold LOTS of items in an attractive way. They are bug-proof and moisture-proof, PERFECT for a Florida waterside home. Great value for money!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, Excellent Quality, High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 5-Shelf 24 in. D x 36 in. W x 72 in. H Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from New jersey
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female

Great value and product

PostedFebruary 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this rack on sale, I was initially going with the steel ones but, a contractor there said this brand was extremely durable and better quality. I am happy I listened, It has transformed my indoor storage closet and the shelves are large and very sturdy for plastic. It also has vents in between so it can accommodate anything. Easy to assemble, what more can I ask for functions as intended, great price and a great value. Thank you Home Depot.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Sturdy
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 5-Shelf 24 in. D x 36 in. W x 72 in. H Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from South Central Pennsylvania
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female

Very Nice Despite Not Accomodating Standard Totes

PostedJuly 18, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
USUSABLE SHELF SPACE IS 32" WIDE FROM POST-TO-POST & AND A SMIDGE UNDER 15" BETWEEN SHELVES. I had to buy a unit in order to find that out. Sadly, it won't hold one standard Rubbermaid or Sterlite tote to a shelf let alone a pair.
The 32" width is just enough to store a maximum-sized suitcase. The 24" depth is more than enough for other goodies
Having read other reviews, I knew to look for damage and, sure enough, one of the two units at the store had significant damage. Mine had a less than one-inch chip in the grey end. Until opened, this was hidden by packaging.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Good Size & Weight
+14points
15out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 5-Shelf 24 in. D x 36 in. W x 72 in. H Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from bellport, NY
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

quick, easy, sturdy

PostedAugust 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
These shelves assemble in 5 minutes, plastic feet let you slide it aroubd the garage, and they're very sturdy. A little pricey at 50 bucks, but nicer than steel and 24 inches deep! You'll get some sag if you store car poarts or encyclopedias but still strong enough to really load up.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Functional, High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 5-Shelf 24 in. D x 36 in. W x 72 in. H Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from Coventry Connecticut
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female

Good purchase for needs and those using items

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The shelves were not difficult to assemble. Product seems to be well made.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Functional, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 5-Shelf 24 in. D x 36 in. W x 72 in. H Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from Newbury, VT
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Quality Control Issues

PostedMay 25, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We have been buying and enjoying these shelves for a number of years and have rows and rows of them in our basement. They are very practical, durable and easy to assemble. However, yesterday we went back and bought six more (for over $300.00) for our garage. Something has clearly happened to the quality control on these shelving units. Virtually all of the shelving units had spillover casting material in each of the four holes and we had to use boxcutters to clean them out first. In addition, more than half of the posts had extra plastic shards attached that also had to be trimmed. Two units came with double sets of feet and caps while one unit of the six had none. If these have been jobbed out to a new factory, Home Depot should really look into the QC process.
Pros: Functional, Sturdy
Cons: Difficult to Assemble
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 5-Shelf 24 in. D x 36 in. W x 72 in. H Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit

Not cut properly

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
When putting the item together I had to use a utility knife to cut the extra plaster int eh leg holes. The shelf is durable and inexpensive.
Pros: Looks Great, Durable, Functional
Cons: Difficult to Assemble
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 5-Shelf 24 in. D x 36 in. W x 72 in. H Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from Cedarburg, WI
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female

A good value

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The shelf was easy to put together. The shelves were solid contruction.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Well Made
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 5-Shelf 24 in. D x 36 in. W x 72 in. H Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from Frenchtown NJ
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Quality has diminished

PostedJuly 31, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I just purchased 6 Sets of these shelves from Home Depot in Flemington NJ and I was surprised that the holes in the shelves did not accept the posts as the plastic was not cleaned inside the receiving hole of the shelves. I needed to use a razor knife to cut away plastic then at times had to use a hammer to get the shelves to fit the posts.
Cons: Difficult to Assemble
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 5-Shelf 24 in. D x 36 in. W x 72 in. H Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from Portland, Oregon
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Very good purchase.

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Storage unit was very easy to assemble. I bought three and all were easy, all parts there, and looked good. Also stored a lot of boxes and made the garage look organized and great. My son said he was happy because he now could play in the garage.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Excellent Quality, Sturdy, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Great Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 5-Shelf 24 in. D x 36 in. W x 72 in. H Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from Panama City, FL
Gender:Male

Poor Quality controlls, over priced for quality

PostedJuly 12, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Must have utility knife ready to enlarge holes for legs. At least two holes per unit had been molded small. Mold seams had remnants of plastic that created sharp edges that did cause a small laceration and sharp elevated areas in the middle of the shelves had to be cut off. For this price the molding process should be of higher quality.
Two shelves were broken, which was not evident until opened. After a lengthy form was submitted, the answer was to call customer service M-F
Pros: Easy to Assemble
Cons: poor quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 5-Shelf 24 in. D x 36 in. W x 72 in. H Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from Melbourne, FL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

POOR QUALITY

PostedMarch 22, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
First QA issue. One of the posts (legs) was melted from molding process. This should have been caught in Keter's (manufacturer) QA process. I can't complete assembly until I receive this part. By the way. Expect to provide lots of information to get your replacement part even with a photo, as included here. The topper was that in order to get your replacement YOU need to provide them the date and time stamp off their packaging material, which most of us dispose of when opening the product. Are you ready for this? They state, "This will assist us in identifying and correcting quality issues." I enjoy dumpster diving.
Secondly, have a utility knife ready when assembling. One post hole on EVERY shelf had a molding process built up of plastic that had to be cut out. Yes, it was that thick. The post would not go in until removed. Another QA issue that Keter should have caught.
The "Broken or Missing Parts?" sheet doesn't state ALL the info you need to provide.
Advice: take pictures, have your receipt in an electronic form (.jpg), don't throw the shrink wrap away.
I will now see how long it will take to receive my replacement part while the shelf unit sits empty. Any bets it doesn't come priority?
Pros: Great Instructions
Cons: poor quality
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 5-Shelf 24 in. D x 36 in. W x 72 in. H Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from Ashland, OR
Gender:Female

Great Value and Easy Assembly!

PostedMay 9, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of setup 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this shelving unit because it was light weight (necessary for our above the car storage area), but sturdy for garage storage. I wanted to make it into two racks...one a 2 shelf unit and one a 3 shelf unit. The company sent me, free of charge, the extra caps and legs for the second set up. We liked the unit so well, we bought a second unit. This unit was packed with extra legs, caps and support pieces. A bonus! It is easy to put together and make into smaller sets of shelves if you don't have the height needed for the 5 shelf unit. The storage shelves are 24" deep which was a plus too. Our upper garage storage area never looked so good!
+19points
26out of 33found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 5-Shelf 24 in. D x 36 in. W x 72 in. H Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from Leesburg, VA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female

Great purchase!

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Love these shelves - they are the perfect size and are perfect keeping things tidy in our storage room. The only draw back is that they are a little wobbly, but it hasn't been an issue - just something to note.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
Cons: slightly wobbly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 5-Shelf 24 in. D x 36 in. W x 72 in. H Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from Westford, MA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female

Great storage

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This shelving unit was just the size I needed. Good quality very useful.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Good Size & Weight, Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 5-Shelf 24 in. D x 36 in. W x 72 in. H Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from Puerto Rico
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Plastic Shelving

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I'm used shelving for storage shoes in the laundry room.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Functional, Excellent Quality, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 5-Shelf 24 in. D x 36 in. W x 72 in. H Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit

Stray plastic bits a problem

PostedJuly 18, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
A sturdy and useful shelf. BUT several shelves had stray plastic around the holes that had to be filed off before it could slide into the support posts. Added about 30 minutes to the assembly and required a metal file.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 12 >>