728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Free Standing Cabinets, Racks & Shelves or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 5-Shelf 24 in. D x 36 in. W x 72 in. H Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit

5-Shelf 24 in. D x 36 in. W x 72 in. H Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit

The HDX 5-tier shelving unit is 72 in. H x 36 in. W x 24 in. D. Use this multi-purpose storage organizer in your home, garage, basement or utility area to keep your space neat and manageable. HDX designed it to hold most storage tote sizes, providing you with options for every room.
Overall rating:
4.513 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(316 reviews) 315
Open Ratings Snapshot
94%of customersrecommend this product289 of 307reviews
Rating Breakdown 316 reviews
4.5 out of 5
5
(209)
4
(82)
3
(12)
2
(4)
1
(9)
Quality 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
94%of customersrecommend this product289 of 307reviews
Customer questions and answers:
17 Questions | 62 Answers
Customer reviews for 5-Shelf 24 in. D x 36 in. W x 72 in. H Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
Review 1 for 5-Shelf 24 in. D x 36 in. W x 72 in. H Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from Dallas, Texas
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female

My 2015 shelves for stock!!!

PostedMarch 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This was soooo easy to assemble. There were no tools needed and I put all three together in less than 10 minutes EACH!! (yes I ordered one online then went to the store and purchased 2 more!!) That is how impressed I am with the quality. Each shelf holds 200 pounds each!!! They are sturdy and excellent quality. I had purchased one from another vendor, and after I got the first one from Home Depot, I returned the other to the vendor and purchased 2 more from Home Depot!!!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, Excellent Quality, High Quality of Material, Great Instructions, Sturdy, Looks Great, Looks High End, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 5-Shelf 24 in. D x 36 in. W x 72 in. H Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from NH
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female

Get Oraganized!

PostedOctober 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
These shelves are very sturdy and hold a lot. They can fit 8 bins also. They helped me to organize my basement toy room and to get the toys off the floor so we could actually walk down there.
Pros: Sturdy
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 5-Shelf 24 in. D x 36 in. W x 72 in. H Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from Akron, OH
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male

Garage Organization

PostedOctober 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The shelves were very easy to put together; however, we had to cut some excess plastic off. Overall easy to install and really do the trick! Nice, clean and organized garage.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Functional, Looks Great
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 5-Shelf 24 in. D x 36 in. W x 72 in. H Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from Glenodra, California
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

All defective and should be sent back to the manufacturer

PostedJanuary 13, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The shelf assembly contains flat shelf pieces and tubes to space out the shelves. The problem is that the manufacturer is too inexperienced to properly mold the parts, so the holes which the tubes are supposed to be inserted into are partially filled with extra plastic (called flashings) so it's not possible to assemble the unit unless you modify them manually. Surprisingly up to half of the area of the holes were covered with plastic flashings which are not supposed to be there. It is not a subtle thing and very visible and detectable in production. How can this wide spread defect get past the Quality Control at the manufacturer, and how can this not be caught and pulled off the shelves by Home Depot? I purchased 4 separate shelf assemblies and all 4 had the issue, and 50% of all the holes were problematic. It took me hours to use a card board cutter knife and shave off the extra plastic material from inside the holes to make it work. These shelves are defective and should not be sold.
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: all defective with no exceptions
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
-2points
5out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 5-Shelf 24 in. D x 36 in. W x 72 in. H Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from Madison, WI

Light, Sturdy and Easy to assemble

PostedMay 23, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
These shelves are fantastic, if you want shelves that are easy to assemble and dissemble, yet light weight and sturdy at the same time, these are the shelves for you. My wife and I put together 4 of these units in less than a half hour, and when they say no tools needed, they are not just blowing smoke. They are deep enough to hold all of your big plastic storage bins, and and my entire stuffed hockey bag fits on one shelf.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+32points
32out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 5-Shelf 24 in. D x 36 in. W x 72 in. H Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from Florida, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

Easy set-up, strong, attractive garage shelving.

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought three sets of the largest HDX-5 shelves because I was moving into a new-construction garage and had to store all the goods & books that will go into a new study that is not yet finished. Everything claimed was true: excellent materials, set up in just a few minutes w/o tools, and hold LOTS of items in an attractive way. They are bug-proof and moisture-proof, PERFECT for a Florida waterside home. Great value for money!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, Excellent Quality, High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 5-Shelf 24 in. D x 36 in. W x 72 in. H Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from San Antonio, TX
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

Great Shelving at a Good Price

PostedFebruary 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is the second shelf I've bought for my garage. I got this one when I noticed that stacking too many plastic bins on one another was slowly crushing the bottoms bins. I can't say they are cheap but they are the cheapest option that still does a great job. For plastic, they are strong and sturdy. They are also a breeze to assemble.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Looks Great, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+15points
18out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 5-Shelf 24 in. D x 36 in. W x 72 in. H Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from Rochester, NY
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Great product

PostedFebruary 20, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is the 5th shelf of this make and model I've purchased. They are easy to put together, sturdy and well worth the money.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 5-Shelf 24 in. D x 36 in. W x 72 in. H Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from New jersey
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female

Great value and product

PostedFebruary 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased this rack on sale, I was initially going with the steel ones but, a contractor there said this brand was extremely durable and better quality. I am happy I listened, It has transformed my indoor storage closet and the shelves are large and very sturdy for plastic. It also has vents in between so it can accommodate anything. Easy to assemble, what more can I ask for functions as intended, great price and a great value. Thank you Home Depot.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Sturdy
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 5-Shelf 24 in. D x 36 in. W x 72 in. H Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from New Hampshire
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Acceptable Plastic Shelving

PostedMarch 25, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The shelf Unit was easy to assemble, serves its purpose. I think it is a little overpriced for what you get and the quality.
Do have 6 of these units.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 5-Shelf 24 in. D x 36 in. W x 72 in. H Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit

Great Product for a Great Price

PostedMarch 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Very pleased with the shelving unit. It is very sturdy and worth every penny.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 5-Shelf 24 in. D x 36 in. W x 72 in. H Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from Spring Hill, Florida
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

Great Unit

PostedMarch 24, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Very pleased with the shelf unit and the amount of items it can hold. Fit my needs.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 5-Shelf 24 in. D x 36 in. W x 72 in. H Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from Cocoa Beach, Fl
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

FAST solution for creating new storage

PostedFebruary 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I am able to quickly acquire these shelves and create massive amounts of storage very quickly with these shelves. Because they come in two depths, it gives me lots of options. If I just need storage along the garage walls, I but the narrow version. If I need to store large bulky heavy items, I buy the deeper version. They take about 5 minutes to assemble and slide into position very easily. I have them down both sides of our garage and along two walls in my shop. No clutter on the floors anymore and everything is easy to find.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Functional, Excellent Quality, Sturdy, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 5-Shelf 24 in. D x 36 in. W x 72 in. H Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from South Central Pennsylvania
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female

Very Nice Despite Not Accomodating Standard Totes

PostedJuly 18, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
USUSABLE SHELF SPACE IS 32" WIDE FROM POST-TO-POST & AND A SMIDGE UNDER 15" BETWEEN SHELVES. I had to buy a unit in order to find that out. Sadly, it won't hold one standard Rubbermaid or Sterlite tote to a shelf let alone a pair.
The 32" width is just enough to store a maximum-sized suitcase. The 24" depth is more than enough for other goodies
Having read other reviews, I knew to look for damage and, sure enough, one of the two units at the store had significant damage. Mine had a less than one-inch chip in the grey end. Until opened, this was hidden by packaging.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Good Size & Weight
+17points
18out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 5-Shelf 24 in. D x 36 in. W x 72 in. H Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from Brandon, FL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

Plastic ventilated shelving

PostedMarch 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The shelving was very easy to put together and they are very solid. I purchased 6 of these units and Have been very pleased with the products. A very quick solution to storage problems and I would recommend the shelving to anyone that is looking for a sturdy and good looking set of shelves.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, Excellent Quality, Sturdy, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 5-Shelf 24 in. D x 36 in. W x 72 in. H Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

Shelving unit

PostedMarch 12, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
These are excellent shelving units. Easy to assemble and non-sagging shelves.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Excellent Quality, Sturdy, Looks Great, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 5-Shelf 24 in. D x 36 in. W x 72 in. H Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from Jacksonville, FL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Inexpensive and sturdy

PostedMarch 11, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
These are easy to put together, hold a lot and are very sturdy. Happy with the purchase.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Sturdy, Looks Great, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 5-Shelf 24 in. D x 36 in. W x 72 in. H Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit

great product for the price

PostedMarch 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
i bought it for garage storage. Its great and taller than i expected.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 5-Shelf 24 in. D x 36 in. W x 72 in. H Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from Tampa, Fl
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female

Sturdy & Reliable

PostedMarch 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This product is very sturdy, and also look very great..
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, Excellent Quality, High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Looks Great, Looks High End, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 5-Shelf 24 in. D x 36 in. W x 72 in. H Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

racks

PostedMarch 6, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
They are ok. If it is cold they shatter easily though
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 16 >>