728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Shelves & Shelf Brackets or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 5-Shelf 24 in. D x 36 in. W x 72 in. H Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit

5-Shelf 24 in. D x 36 in. W x 72 in. H Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit

Start saving space and staying organized by using this HDX 5-Shelf Storage Organizer in your home, garage or utility areas. Each shelf can hold up to 200 lb. for ample storage capacity. Its attached feet make this organizer suitable for the basement by keeping the unit safe from dirt and water damage.
Overall rating:
4.494 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(235 reviews) 234
Open Ratings Snapshot
94%of customersrecommend this product212 of 226reviews
Rating Breakdown 235 reviews
4.5 out of 5.0
5
(155)
4
(59)
3
(10)
2
(4)
1
(7)
Quality 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
94%of customersrecommend this product212 of 226reviews
Customer questions and answers:
13 Questions | 44 Answers
Customer reviews for 5-Shelf 24 in. D x 36 in. W x 72 in. H Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
Review 1 for 5-Shelf 24 in. D x 36 in. W x 72 in. H Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from San Antonio, TX
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

Great Shelving at a Good Price

PostedFebruary 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the second shelf I've bought for my garage. I got this one when I noticed that stacking too many plastic bins on one another was slowly crushing the bottoms bins. I can't say they are cheap but they are the cheapest option that still does a great job. For plastic, they are strong and sturdy. They are also a breeze to assemble.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Looks Great, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 5-Shelf 24 in. D x 36 in. W x 72 in. H Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from Florida, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

Easy set-up, strong, attractive garage shelving.

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought three sets of the largest HDX-5 shelves because I was moving into a new-construction garage and had to store all the goods & books that will go into a new study that is not yet finished. Everything claimed was true: excellent materials, set up in just a few minutes w/o tools, and hold LOTS of items in an attractive way. They are bug-proof and moisture-proof, PERFECT for a Florida waterside home. Great value for money!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, Excellent Quality, High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 5-Shelf 24 in. D x 36 in. W x 72 in. H Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from Madison, WI

Light, Sturdy and Easy to assemble

PostedMay 23, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These shelves are fantastic, if you want shelves that are easy to assemble and dissemble, yet light weight and sturdy at the same time, these are the shelves for you. My wife and I put together 4 of these units in less than a half hour, and when they say no tools needed, they are not just blowing smoke. They are deep enough to hold all of your big plastic storage bins, and and my entire stuffed hockey bag fits on one shelf.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+25points
25out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 5-Shelf 24 in. D x 36 in. W x 72 in. H Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from New jersey
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female

Great value and product

PostedFebruary 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this rack on sale, I was initially going with the steel ones but, a contractor there said this brand was extremely durable and better quality. I am happy I listened, It has transformed my indoor storage closet and the shelves are large and very sturdy for plastic. It also has vents in between so it can accommodate anything. Easy to assemble, what more can I ask for functions as intended, great price and a great value. Thank you Home Depot.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Sturdy
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 5-Shelf 24 in. D x 36 in. W x 72 in. H Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from Newbury, VT
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Quality Control Issues

PostedMay 25, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We have been buying and enjoying these shelves for a number of years and have rows and rows of them in our basement. They are very practical, durable and easy to assemble. However, yesterday we went back and bought six more (for over $300.00) for our garage. Something has clearly happened to the quality control on these shelving units. Virtually all of the shelving units had spillover casting material in each of the four holes and we had to use boxcutters to clean them out first. In addition, more than half of the posts had extra plastic shards attached that also had to be trimmed. Two units came with double sets of feet and caps while one unit of the six had none. If these have been jobbed out to a new factory, Home Depot should really look into the QC process.
Pros: Functional, Sturdy
Cons: Difficult to Assemble
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 5-Shelf 24 in. D x 36 in. W x 72 in. H Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from South Central Pennsylvania
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female

Very Nice Despite Not Accomodating Standard Totes

PostedJuly 18, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
USUSABLE SHELF SPACE IS 32" WIDE FROM POST-TO-POST & AND A SMIDGE UNDER 15" BETWEEN SHELVES. I had to buy a unit in order to find that out. Sadly, it won't hold one standard Rubbermaid or Sterlite tote to a shelf let alone a pair.
The 32" width is just enough to store a maximum-sized suitcase. The 24" depth is more than enough for other goodies
Having read other reviews, I knew to look for damage and, sure enough, one of the two units at the store had significant damage. Mine had a less than one-inch chip in the grey end. Until opened, this was hidden by packaging.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Good Size & Weight
+14points
15out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 5-Shelf 24 in. D x 36 in. W x 72 in. H Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from Panama City, FL
Gender:Male

Poor Quality controlls, over priced for quality

PostedJuly 12, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Must have utility knife ready to enlarge holes for legs. At least two holes per unit had been molded small. Mold seams had remnants of plastic that created sharp edges that did cause a small laceration and sharp elevated areas in the middle of the shelves had to be cut off. For this price the molding process should be of higher quality.
Two shelves were broken, which was not evident until opened. After a lengthy form was submitted, the answer was to call customer service M-F
Pros: Easy to Assemble
Cons: poor quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 5-Shelf 24 in. D x 36 in. W x 72 in. H Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from Leesburg, VA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female

Great purchase!

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Love these shelves - they are the perfect size and are perfect keeping things tidy in our storage room. The only draw back is that they are a little wobbly, but it hasn't been an issue - just something to note.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
Cons: slightly wobbly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 5-Shelf 24 in. D x 36 in. W x 72 in. H Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from Westford, MA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female

Great storage

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This shelving unit was just the size I needed. Good quality very useful.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Good Size & Weight, Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 5-Shelf 24 in. D x 36 in. W x 72 in. H Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from Puerto Rico
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Plastic Shelving

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I'm used shelving for storage shoes in the laundry room.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Functional, Excellent Quality, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 5-Shelf 24 in. D x 36 in. W x 72 in. H Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit

Stray plastic bits a problem

PostedJuly 18, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
A sturdy and useful shelf. BUT several shelves had stray plastic around the holes that had to be filed off before it could slide into the support posts. Added about 30 minutes to the assembly and required a metal file.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 5-Shelf 24 in. D x 36 in. W x 72 in. H Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from Melbourne, FL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

POOR QUALITY

PostedMarch 22, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
First QA issue. One of the posts (legs) was melted from molding process. This should have been caught in Keter's (manufacturer) QA process. I can't complete assembly until I receive this part. By the way. Expect to provide lots of information to get your replacement part even with a photo, as included here. The topper was that in order to get your replacement YOU need to provide them the date and time stamp off their packaging material, which most of us dispose of when opening the product. Are you ready for this? They state, "This will assist us in identifying and correcting quality issues." I enjoy dumpster diving.
Secondly, have a utility knife ready when assembling. One post hole on EVERY shelf had a molding process built up of plastic that had to be cut out. Yes, it was that thick. The post would not go in until removed. Another QA issue that Keter should have caught.
The "Broken or Missing Parts?" sheet doesn't state ALL the info you need to provide.
Advice: take pictures, have your receipt in an electronic form (.jpg), don't throw the shrink wrap away.
I will now see how long it will take to receive my replacement part while the shelf unit sits empty. Any bets it doesn't come priority?
Pros: Great Instructions
Cons: poor quality
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 5-Shelf 24 in. D x 36 in. W x 72 in. H Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from Leawood, KS
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

Excellent purchase

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
very easy to put together, with i'd bought it long ago and gotten rid of those awful metal shelves.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Great Instructions, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 5-Shelf 24 in. D x 36 in. W x 72 in. H Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from west palm beach
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female

reg.18 gallon totes do not fit on these shelfs

PostedJune 5, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
These shelf's are very nice and are pretty easy to put together. But my totes will not fit, now I have to buy smaller totes and my husband won't be to happy about that after I just purchased 3 of these to organize all of my Christmas decorations that means I need to buy 30 totes.Just wish it would of stated the size of totes that it can hold.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Excellent Quality, Great Instructions, Sturdy, Looks Great
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 5-Shelf 24 in. D x 36 in. W x 72 in. H Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from Antioch, TN
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female

Terrific Value!

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Not only are these shelves a great price -- they are so easy to assemble and are sturdy! Home Depot -- I'm so glad you offered these! Thanks!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Excellent Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 5-Shelf 24 in. D x 36 in. W x 72 in. H Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from Missouri
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

Great Storage Solution

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Easy assembly. One unit has about 300 pounds of ammo on it. Very sturdy.
Pros: Easy to Assemble
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 5-Shelf 24 in. D x 36 in. W x 72 in. H Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from atlanta georgia
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

great cheap storage

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
easy,easy to assemble, sturdy, no nonesense. works great
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Sturdy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 5-Shelf 24 in. D x 36 in. W x 72 in. H Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from Buffalo, NY, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Nice shelf!

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
What can I say? it's a shelf. But, it works, all the parts were there and fit together nice and tight.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Well Made, Excellent Quality, Sturdy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 5-Shelf 24 in. D x 36 in. W x 72 in. H Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from Waterford
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Shelving

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Overall the shelves were good. No Tools were required to assemble except when some of the leg posts couldn't fit into the shelf holes because of obstructions/flashing. They required trimming with a knife.
Pros: Functional, Sturdy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 5-Shelf 24 in. D x 36 in. W x 72 in. H Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from Sunapee, NH
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

Sturdy, Easy to Assemble

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The unit is very sturdy, lightweight, easy to assemble. Additionally, the depth and height of the shelves allows easy storage of plastic totes.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Functional, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 12 >>