728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 5-Shelf 24 in. D x 36 in. W x 72 in. H Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit

5-Shelf 24 in. D x 36 in. W x 72 in. H Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit

The HDX 5-tier shelving unit is 72 in. H x 36 in. W x 24 in. D. Use this multi-purpose storage organizer in your home, garage, basement or utility area to keep your space neat and manageable. HDX designed it to hold most storage tote sizes, providing you with options for every room.
Overall rating:
4.517 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(329 reviews) 328
Open Ratings Snapshot
94%of customersrecommend this product302 of 320reviews
Rating Breakdown 329 reviews
4.5 out of 5
5
(219)
4
(83)
3
(14)
2
(4)
1
(9)
Quality 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
94%of customersrecommend this product302 of 320reviews
Customer questions and answers:
17 Questions | 78 Answers
Customer reviews for 5-Shelf 24 in. D x 36 in. W x 72 in. H Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
Review 1 for 5-Shelf 24 in. D x 36 in. W x 72 in. H Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from Dallas, Texas
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female

My 2015 shelves for stock!!!

PostedMarch 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This was soooo easy to assemble. There were no tools needed and I put all three together in less than 10 minutes EACH!! (yes I ordered one online then went to the store and purchased 2 more!!) That is how impressed I am with the quality. Each shelf holds 200 pounds each!!! They are sturdy and excellent quality. I had purchased one from another vendor, and after I got the first one from Home Depot, I returned the other to the vendor and purchased 2 more from Home Depot!!!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, Excellent Quality, High Quality of Material, Great Instructions, Sturdy, Looks Great, Looks High End, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 5-Shelf 24 in. D x 36 in. W x 72 in. H Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from NH
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female

Get Oraganized!

PostedOctober 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
These shelves are very sturdy and hold a lot. They can fit 8 bins also. They helped me to organize my basement toy room and to get the toys off the floor so we could actually walk down there.
Pros: Sturdy
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 5-Shelf 24 in. D x 36 in. W x 72 in. H Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from Akron, OH
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male

Garage Organization

PostedOctober 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The shelves were very easy to put together; however, we had to cut some excess plastic off. Overall easy to install and really do the trick! Nice, clean and organized garage.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Functional, Looks Great
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 5-Shelf 24 in. D x 36 in. W x 72 in. H Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from Madison, WI

Light, Sturdy and Easy to assemble

PostedMay 23, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
These shelves are fantastic, if you want shelves that are easy to assemble and dissemble, yet light weight and sturdy at the same time, these are the shelves for you. My wife and I put together 4 of these units in less than a half hour, and when they say no tools needed, they are not just blowing smoke. They are deep enough to hold all of your big plastic storage bins, and and my entire stuffed hockey bag fits on one shelf.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+32points
32out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 5-Shelf 24 in. D x 36 in. W x 72 in. H Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from Glenodra, California
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

All defective and should be sent back to the manufacturer

PostedJanuary 13, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The shelf assembly contains flat shelf pieces and tubes to space out the shelves. The problem is that the manufacturer is too inexperienced to properly mold the parts, so the holes which the tubes are supposed to be inserted into are partially filled with extra plastic (called flashings) so it's not possible to assemble the unit unless you modify them manually. Surprisingly up to half of the area of the holes were covered with plastic flashings which are not supposed to be there. It is not a subtle thing and very visible and detectable in production. How can this wide spread defect get past the Quality Control at the manufacturer, and how can this not be caught and pulled off the shelves by Home Depot? I purchased 4 separate shelf assemblies and all 4 had the issue, and 50% of all the holes were problematic. It took me hours to use a card board cutter knife and shave off the extra plastic material from inside the holes to make it work. These shelves are defective and should not be sold.
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: all defective with no exceptions
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
-2points
5out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 5-Shelf 24 in. D x 36 in. W x 72 in. H Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from Florida, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

Easy set-up, strong, attractive garage shelving.

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought three sets of the largest HDX-5 shelves because I was moving into a new-construction garage and had to store all the goods & books that will go into a new study that is not yet finished. Everything claimed was true: excellent materials, set up in just a few minutes w/o tools, and hold LOTS of items in an attractive way. They are bug-proof and moisture-proof, PERFECT for a Florida waterside home. Great value for money!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, Excellent Quality, High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 5-Shelf 24 in. D x 36 in. W x 72 in. H Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from San Antonio, TX
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

Great Shelving at a Good Price

PostedFebruary 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is the second shelf I've bought for my garage. I got this one when I noticed that stacking too many plastic bins on one another was slowly crushing the bottoms bins. I can't say they are cheap but they are the cheapest option that still does a great job. For plastic, they are strong and sturdy. They are also a breeze to assemble.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Looks Great, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+15points
18out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 5-Shelf 24 in. D x 36 in. W x 72 in. H Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from Rochester, NY
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Great product

PostedFebruary 20, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is the 5th shelf of this make and model I've purchased. They are easy to put together, sturdy and well worth the money.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 5-Shelf 24 in. D x 36 in. W x 72 in. H Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from New jersey
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female

Great value and product

PostedFebruary 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased this rack on sale, I was initially going with the steel ones but, a contractor there said this brand was extremely durable and better quality. I am happy I listened, It has transformed my indoor storage closet and the shelves are large and very sturdy for plastic. It also has vents in between so it can accommodate anything. Easy to assemble, what more can I ask for functions as intended, great price and a great value. Thank you Home Depot.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Sturdy
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 5-Shelf 24 in. D x 36 in. W x 72 in. H Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit

Great shelves

PostedApril 7, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Easy to set up. Really stable on carpet with a little weight added to it. Plan on buying a couple more
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 5-Shelf 24 in. D x 36 in. W x 72 in. H Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit

Great product

PostedApril 7, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Very sturdy! Holds a lot of weight! Easy to assemble
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 5-Shelf 24 in. D x 36 in. W x 72 in. H Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from Belvidere, Tennessee
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Great shelves.

PostedApril 3, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ihave owned various plastic shelves over the years. These are the best I have ever bought.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Well Made, Sturdy
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 5-Shelf 24 in. D x 36 in. W x 72 in. H Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

great product

PostedApril 1, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This American made product is very strong and easy to assemble. Much less expensive than bracket type or metal type shelves yet they serve the same purpose.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Sturdy, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Functional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 5-Shelf 24 in. D x 36 in. W x 72 in. H Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from Baltimore, MD
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Nice, but with limitations and quality control issues

PostedApril 13, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I ordered 3 of these and only 1 could be built without problems. 50% of the pieces had excess plastic that had to be removed prior to installation. Several leg pieces had signs of melting, likely during manufacturing, which makes you wonder how it got past quality control to be packaged and shipped. Two of the shelves were broken with clear holes. The shelves are not adjustable, which is a shame, but they are otherwise functional. l would recommend them based on your need. I am using them in a basement closet so they serve my purpose.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional
Cons: poor quality control, not adjustable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 5-Shelf 24 in. D x 36 in. W x 72 in. H Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from Chicago, IL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female

GREAT QUALITY

PostedApril 20, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This product is very easy to assemble. Great value and quality!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 5-Shelf 24 in. D x 36 in. W x 72 in. H Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from PA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Shelving

PostedApril 14, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
These are the most easily installed shelves ever! Not a lot of money spent and well worth it, without making them yourself.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, Excellent Quality, Sturdy, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 5-Shelf 24 in. D x 36 in. W x 72 in. H Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from Baltimore
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female

Very sturdy!

PostedApril 14, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
So easy to assemble. Very lightweight and easy to move. Holds all of my heavy stuff and the shelves aren't bending at all.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, Excellent Quality, High Quality of Material, Great Instructions, Sturdy, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 5-Shelf 24 in. D x 36 in. W x 72 in. H Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from Bel Air, MD
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

Great once you have all the parts

PostedApril 8, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
The other reviews about the posts being molded poorly were dead on. Fortunately, I read them ahead of time and bought two of these units. Between the two, I was able to successfully get one together. I had 4 unusable posts in one package and 5 in the other. With the support line only open during the week, I wasn't going to mess with that either. I put my shelving unit together in about 10 minutes using four good posts from the second unit. Then I put the bad posts back in the second unit, taped it back up so I could carry it and returned it to the store. I told them this was unusable and it shouldn't go back out on the floor. Of course, next weekend, there it was-restocked.
But, once they are put together, the shelves are tremendous. They hold all kinds of stuff and can be stacked vertically as well as 3 and two (I do that in my shed). If you plan ahead and buy more than you need with the idea that you will take back the defunct one next weekend, you will love these. If you buy one-good luck.
Pros: Sturdy, Functional
Cons: posts molded poorly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 5-Shelf 24 in. D x 36 in. W x 72 in. H Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from Stockton, CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Excellent Value for the Price.

PostedApril 8, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Packaged well. Associate/Greeter Miss/Mrs Esperanza was very courteous and very fast. Great smile for me also. Real helpful young lady. I have always had great experiences with my online purchases and in store pickups. Thank You.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, Excellent Quality, High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Looks Great, Looks High End, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 5-Shelf 24 in. D x 36 in. W x 72 in. H Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from Sunny Fl

Excellent purchase!!

PostedApril 9, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This shelf is huge!! It is sturdy and a excellent value. I plan to buy another one for my garage!!!
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Excellent Quality, Sturdy, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Functional, Well Made, Looks High End, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 17 >>