728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Free Standing Cabinets, Racks & Shelves or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 5-Shelf 24 in. D x 36 in. W x 72 in. H Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit

5-Shelf 24 in. D x 36 in. W x 72 in. H Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit

The HDX 5-tier shelving unit is 72 in. H x 36 in. W x 24 in. D. Use this multi-purpose storage organizer in your home, garage, basement or utility area to keep your space neat and manageable. HDX designed it to hold most storage tote sizes, providing you with options for every room.
Overall rating:
4.501 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(365 reviews) 364
Open Ratings Snapshot
94%of customersrecommend this product333 of 355reviews
Rating Breakdown 365 reviews
4.5 out of 5
5
(241)
4
(92)
3
(16)
2
(6)
1
(10)
Quality 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
94%of customersrecommend this product333 of 355reviews
Customer questions and answers:
20 Questions | 85 Answers
Customer reviews for 5-Shelf 24 in. D x 36 in. W x 72 in. H Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
Review 1 for 5-Shelf 24 in. D x 36 in. W x 72 in. H Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from NH
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female

Get Oraganized!

PostedOctober 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
These shelves are very sturdy and hold a lot. They can fit 8 bins also. They helped me to organize my basement toy room and to get the toys off the floor so we could actually walk down there.
Pros: Sturdy
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 5-Shelf 24 in. D x 36 in. W x 72 in. H Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from Madison, WI

Light, Sturdy and Easy to assemble

PostedMay 23, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
These shelves are fantastic, if you want shelves that are easy to assemble and dissemble, yet light weight and sturdy at the same time, these are the shelves for you. My wife and I put together 4 of these units in less than a half hour, and when they say no tools needed, they are not just blowing smoke. They are deep enough to hold all of your big plastic storage bins, and and my entire stuffed hockey bag fits on one shelf.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+36points
36out of 36found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 5-Shelf 24 in. D x 36 in. W x 72 in. H Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from Dallas, Texas
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female

My 2015 shelves for stock!!!

PostedMarch 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This was soooo easy to assemble. There were no tools needed and I put all three together in less than 10 minutes EACH!! (yes I ordered one online then went to the store and purchased 2 more!!) That is how impressed I am with the quality. Each shelf holds 200 pounds each!!! They are sturdy and excellent quality. I had purchased one from another vendor, and after I got the first one from Home Depot, I returned the other to the vendor and purchased 2 more from Home Depot!!!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, Excellent Quality, High Quality of Material, Great Instructions, Sturdy, Looks Great, Looks High End, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 5-Shelf 24 in. D x 36 in. W x 72 in. H Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from Akron, OH
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male

Garage Organization

PostedOctober 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The shelves were very easy to put together; however, we had to cut some excess plastic off. Overall easy to install and really do the trick! Nice, clean and organized garage.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Functional, Looks Great
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 5-Shelf 24 in. D x 36 in. W x 72 in. H Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from San Antonio, TX
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

Great Shelving at a Good Price

PostedFebruary 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is the second shelf I've bought for my garage. I got this one when I noticed that stacking too many plastic bins on one another was slowly crushing the bottoms bins. I can't say they are cheap but they are the cheapest option that still does a great job. For plastic, they are strong and sturdy. They are also a breeze to assemble.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Looks Great, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+15points
18out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 5-Shelf 24 in. D x 36 in. W x 72 in. H Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from Florida, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

Easy set-up, strong, attractive garage shelving.

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought three sets of the largest HDX-5 shelves because I was moving into a new-construction garage and had to store all the goods & books that will go into a new study that is not yet finished. Everything claimed was true: excellent materials, set up in just a few minutes w/o tools, and hold LOTS of items in an attractive way. They are bug-proof and moisture-proof, PERFECT for a Florida waterside home. Great value for money!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, Excellent Quality, High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 5-Shelf 24 in. D x 36 in. W x 72 in. H Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from Rochester, NY
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Great product

PostedFebruary 20, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is the 5th shelf of this make and model I've purchased. They are easy to put together, sturdy and well worth the money.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 5-Shelf 24 in. D x 36 in. W x 72 in. H Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from New jersey
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female

Great value and product

PostedFebruary 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased this rack on sale, I was initially going with the steel ones but, a contractor there said this brand was extremely durable and better quality. I am happy I listened, It has transformed my indoor storage closet and the shelves are large and very sturdy for plastic. It also has vents in between so it can accommodate anything. Easy to assemble, what more can I ask for functions as intended, great price and a great value. Thank you Home Depot.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Sturdy
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 5-Shelf 24 in. D x 36 in. W x 72 in. H Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from Seattle, WA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female

Reasonable storage for a low price

PostedJuly 28, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This shelving unit is very easy to assemble, and it's lightweight and inexpensive, all of which seemed desirable, so I purchased it. But there were some manufacturing flaws which rendered one of the shelves unusable and some of them difficult to put together -- flaps of plastic overlapped some of the holes in the shelves that the supports were to fit into. They could be cut away with a sharp knife in all cases but one, but basically, if you can afford a better shelf, go ahead and spend the money; you won't regret it. The shelves of this one can support maybe 120 pounds, but they're already starting to bow a bit.
Pros: Functional, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 5-Shelf 24 in. D x 36 in. W x 72 in. H Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit

Better than Lowes 5 Shelf Unit

PostedJune 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased a 5 shelf unit at both Lowes and Home Depot. They were both $49 and claimed 200 lb per shelf capacity. The Home Depot HDX option was FAR better. The Lowes comparable was flimsy and not nearly as rigid as the HDX. Take my word for it, get the Home Depot brand on this one.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 5-Shelf 24 in. D x 36 in. W x 72 in. H Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from Glenodra, California
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

All defective and should be sent back to the manufacturer

PostedJanuary 13, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The shelf assembly contains flat shelf pieces and tubes to space out the shelves. The problem is that the manufacturer is too inexperienced to properly mold the parts, so the holes which the tubes are supposed to be inserted into are partially filled with extra plastic (called flashings) so it's not possible to assemble the unit unless you modify them manually. Surprisingly up to half of the area of the holes were covered with plastic flashings which are not supposed to be there. It is not a subtle thing and very visible and detectable in production. How can this wide spread defect get past the Quality Control at the manufacturer, and how can this not be caught and pulled off the shelves by Home Depot? I purchased 4 separate shelf assemblies and all 4 had the issue, and 50% of all the holes were problematic. It took me hours to use a card board cutter knife and shave off the extra plastic material from inside the holes to make it work. These shelves are defective and should not be sold.
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: all defective with no exceptions
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
-5points
6out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 5-Shelf 24 in. D x 36 in. W x 72 in. H Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit

Not as rugged as I would like, but not bad.

PostedJuly 14, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I like the space and flexibility these shelves provide, but I find the plastic slats in the shelving break way to easily. Even the sides of the shelves can crack without much abuse. I recently purchased these shelves to replace similar older ones that had failed after somewhat light duty. At the store, I could see many shelves with cracked sides and broken slats through the packaging. I had to pull away three packages of broken shelves to get to a package that was intact. I generally like these shelves but wish they held up better. They're fine if you're careful with them.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 5-Shelf 24 in. D x 36 in. W x 72 in. H Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from Florida
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female

Broken and poorly made

PostedJuly 28, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After bring the box home (large, cumbersome box) and unwrapping the parts we discovered 3 of the shelves were cracked and broken. We would hate for someone else to go through the same hassle we did.We had ordered on line for in-store pick-up and after taking it back the clerk didn't know what to do with our on-line receipt - another hassle. We ended up with a much better wire shelving unit which we are pleased with.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 5-Shelf 24 in. D x 36 in. W x 72 in. H Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from West Henrietta, NY
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female

Amazing Shelves

PostedJuly 9, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
These shelves are excellent. They are incredibly sturdy and couldn't be easier to assemble. I am using them in my basement to organize a multitude of items from plastic tubs, extra dishes and serving trays, my "food pantry", Christmas decorations, party supplies, wrapping paper, camping items, paint cans and hand tools.
Not at all like the cheaper shelves out on the market that sag so much you wonder when they will give out. None of these shelves sag from the weight I put on them. They are remarkable.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Functional, Excellent Quality, Sturdy, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 5-Shelf 24 in. D x 36 in. W x 72 in. H Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from Beach Haven, NJ
Age Range:65 or over

Perfect storage for a damp basement

PostedJuly 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Product was easy to assemble, and perfectly suited my need for off-the-floor storage of tools and supplies in a 7-foot high crawl space that occasionally has a wet floor. I plan to buy several more for the same application.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 5-Shelf 24 in. D x 36 in. W x 72 in. H Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from Richmond , Va.
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

Perfect for storage and organization .....

PostedJuly 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is great for eliminating clutter and organizing your life where you can actually find what you are looking for ! Product is strong yet light weight .....easy 5 minute construction without instructions ( None Needed )
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Functional, Sturdy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 5-Shelf 24 in. D x 36 in. W x 72 in. H Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit

Water proof and sturdy!

PostedJuly 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I've purchased a number of these shelves as they are easy to set up and are 100% water proof. Never have to worry about rusting or rotting due to a damp or flooded basement.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 5-Shelf 24 in. D x 36 in. W x 72 in. H Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from Charlevoix, Michigan
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

great shelving

PostedJuly 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Strong, easy to assemble and price is right. Have several already.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Functional, Sturdy, Looks Great, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 5-Shelf 24 in. D x 36 in. W x 72 in. H Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from East Brady, Pa.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Large Capacity Storage of Heavy Items

PostedJuly 14, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The storage units are excellent. Only comment would be that the unassembled size is much larger than anticipated as they are capable of holding 200 lbs per shelf. We bought 7 on-line to be picked up at the store. Unfortunately we could only get 4 shelves into a SUV and had to make two trips.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Excellent Quality, Sturdy, Looks High End, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: unassembled size
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 5-Shelf 24 in. D x 36 in. W x 72 in. H Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from North Carolina
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female

Perfect shelf

PostedJuly 14, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I am not very handy but the shelf was easy for me to setup. I love the size it fix perfect in my garage and I will be purchasing two more, one more for my garage and one for my storage room
Pros: Easy to Assemble, High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 18 >>