728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Free Standing Cabinets, Racks & Shelves or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 5-Shelf 24 in. D x 36 in. W x 72 in. H Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit

5-Shelf 24 in. D x 36 in. W x 72 in. H Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit

Start saving space and staying organized by using this HDX 5-Shelf Storage Organizer in your home, garage or utility areas. Each shelf can hold up to 200 lb. for ample storage capacity. Its attached feet make this organizer suitable for the basement by keeping the unit safe from dirt and water damage.
Overall rating:
4.488 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(254 reviews) 253
Open Ratings Snapshot
94%of customersrecommend this product230 of 245reviews
Rating Breakdown 254 reviews
4.5 out of 5.0
5
(166)
4
(66)
3
(10)
2
(4)
1
(8)
Quality 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
94%of customersrecommend this product230 of 245reviews
Customer questions and answers:
15 Questions | 48 Answers
Customer reviews for 5-Shelf 24 in. D x 36 in. W x 72 in. H Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
Review 1 for 5-Shelf 24 in. D x 36 in. W x 72 in. H Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from Akron, OH
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male

Garage Organization

PostedOctober 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The shelves were very easy to put together; however, we had to cut some excess plastic off. Overall easy to install and really do the trick! Nice, clean and organized garage.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Functional, Looks Great
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 5-Shelf 24 in. D x 36 in. W x 72 in. H Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from NH
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female

Get Oraganized!

PostedOctober 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These shelves are very sturdy and hold a lot. They can fit 8 bins also. They helped me to organize my basement toy room and to get the toys off the floor so we could actually walk down there.
Pros: Sturdy
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 5-Shelf 24 in. D x 36 in. W x 72 in. H Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from Madison, WI

Light, Sturdy and Easy to assemble

PostedMay 23, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These shelves are fantastic, if you want shelves that are easy to assemble and dissemble, yet light weight and sturdy at the same time, these are the shelves for you. My wife and I put together 4 of these units in less than a half hour, and when they say no tools needed, they are not just blowing smoke. They are deep enough to hold all of your big plastic storage bins, and and my entire stuffed hockey bag fits on one shelf.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+26points
26out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 5-Shelf 24 in. D x 36 in. W x 72 in. H Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from San Antonio, TX
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

Great Shelving at a Good Price

PostedFebruary 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the second shelf I've bought for my garage. I got this one when I noticed that stacking too many plastic bins on one another was slowly crushing the bottoms bins. I can't say they are cheap but they are the cheapest option that still does a great job. For plastic, they are strong and sturdy. They are also a breeze to assemble.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Looks Great, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+8points
11out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 5-Shelf 24 in. D x 36 in. W x 72 in. H Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from Florida, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

Easy set-up, strong, attractive garage shelving.

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought three sets of the largest HDX-5 shelves because I was moving into a new-construction garage and had to store all the goods & books that will go into a new study that is not yet finished. Everything claimed was true: excellent materials, set up in just a few minutes w/o tools, and hold LOTS of items in an attractive way. They are bug-proof and moisture-proof, PERFECT for a Florida waterside home. Great value for money!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, Excellent Quality, High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 5-Shelf 24 in. D x 36 in. W x 72 in. H Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from Hampton, VA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male

Amazing shelf

PostedAugust 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The shelves are very easy to assemble. The material is durable and easy to handle.
Shevles once asembled are sturdy and hold many items neatly.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Functional, High Quality of Material, Great Instructions, Sturdy, Looks Great, Looks High End, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 5-Shelf 24 in. D x 36 in. W x 72 in. H Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from New jersey
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female

Great value and product

PostedFebruary 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this rack on sale, I was initially going with the steel ones but, a contractor there said this brand was extremely durable and better quality. I am happy I listened, It has transformed my indoor storage closet and the shelves are large and very sturdy for plastic. It also has vents in between so it can accommodate anything. Easy to assemble, what more can I ask for functions as intended, great price and a great value. Thank you Home Depot.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Sturdy
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 5-Shelf 24 in. D x 36 in. W x 72 in. H Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from South Central Pennsylvania
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female

Very Nice Despite Not Accomodating Standard Totes

PostedJuly 18, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
USUSABLE SHELF SPACE IS 32" WIDE FROM POST-TO-POST & AND A SMIDGE UNDER 15" BETWEEN SHELVES. I had to buy a unit in order to find that out. Sadly, it won't hold one standard Rubbermaid or Sterlite tote to a shelf let alone a pair.
The 32" width is just enough to store a maximum-sized suitcase. The 24" depth is more than enough for other goodies
Having read other reviews, I knew to look for damage and, sure enough, one of the two units at the store had significant damage. Mine had a less than one-inch chip in the grey end. Until opened, this was hidden by packaging.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Good Size & Weight
+15points
16out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 5-Shelf 24 in. D x 36 in. W x 72 in. H Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from Logan, UT

Durable and portable

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the second shelf like this that I have purchased. It is very durable, easy to set up and take down and is relatively inexpensive. I have moved with it a couple of times and it is a snap to take down and set up again. It's weight rating per shelf is great and the shelves are the perfect size for totes. I love these shelves! They've not sagged or broken.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Functional, Excellent Quality, Sturdy, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 5-Shelf 24 in. D x 36 in. W x 72 in. H Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from Oakland County, MI
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

Easy to Assemble, Light Weight and Sturdy

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I love these shelving units. Light weight and easy to assemble. No tools required, and very stable. Minus 1 star for a few holes not lined up correctly, which then takes a lot of force to assemble. I own like 10 of these units.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Well Made, High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Looks Great, Looks High End, Nice Design
Cons: occasionally posts don't line up
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 5-Shelf 24 in. D x 36 in. W x 72 in. H Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from lake wales florida
Age Range:65 or over

could not wait for a sale price on this item, needed urgently for storage

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
very easy to assemble. some connecting pieces had to be "whittled" down with a utility knife to fit together.
Pros: Functional, Sturdy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 5-Shelf 24 in. D x 36 in. W x 72 in. H Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit

My HDX 5 shelf 24x36x72

PostedOctober 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This was easy to put together it has a lot of shelf space product is very sturdy and it makes my garage look neat I used crates and 5gal.buckets to store things on the shelves this is exactly what I needed thanks home depot 1704
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 5-Shelf 24 in. D x 36 in. W x 72 in. H Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from Florida
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

It's SNAP!!

PostedOctober 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Was ajoy to put together. Great addition to my garage.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Looks Great, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 5-Shelf 24 in. D x 36 in. W x 72 in. H Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from Tigard OR
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female

Perfect for garage storage and easy to assemble

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Have purchased these units on several occasions. Easy and quick to assemble. No tools required.J
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 5-Shelf 24 in. D x 36 in. W x 72 in. H Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit

HDX 5-Shelf

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was looking for an inexpensive, easy to assemble, and sturdy plastic shelving unit.... this HDX 5-Shelf matched all my needs. I actually am considering getting more.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 5-Shelf 24 in. D x 36 in. W x 72 in. H Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from Royal Oak MI
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Great Shelving

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The shelves are great. I bought about 7 of them, in the 24 inch and 18 inch depth. I was missing one piece and the customer service was excellent about shipping it to me. Definitely an excellent purchase.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Functional, Vibrant Color, Well Made, Excellent Quality, High Quality of Material, Great Instructions, Sturdy, Looks Great, Looks High End, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 5-Shelf 24 in. D x 36 in. W x 72 in. H Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from Ashland, OR
Gender:Female

Great Value and Easy Assembly!

PostedMay 9, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of setup 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this shelving unit because it was light weight (necessary for our above the car storage area), but sturdy for garage storage. I wanted to make it into two racks...one a 2 shelf unit and one a 3 shelf unit. The company sent me, free of charge, the extra caps and legs for the second set up. We liked the unit so well, we bought a second unit. This unit was packed with extra legs, caps and support pieces. A bonus! It is easy to put together and make into smaller sets of shelves if you don't have the height needed for the 5 shelf unit. The storage shelves are 24" deep which was a plus too. Our upper garage storage area never looked so good!
+19points
26out of 33found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 5-Shelf 24 in. D x 36 in. W x 72 in. H Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from Newbury, VT
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Quality Control Issues

PostedMay 25, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We have been buying and enjoying these shelves for a number of years and have rows and rows of them in our basement. They are very practical, durable and easy to assemble. However, yesterday we went back and bought six more (for over $300.00) for our garage. Something has clearly happened to the quality control on these shelving units. Virtually all of the shelving units had spillover casting material in each of the four holes and we had to use boxcutters to clean them out first. In addition, more than half of the posts had extra plastic shards attached that also had to be trimmed. Two units came with double sets of feet and caps while one unit of the six had none. If these have been jobbed out to a new factory, Home Depot should really look into the QC process.
Pros: Functional, Sturdy
Cons: Difficult to Assemble
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 5-Shelf 24 in. D x 36 in. W x 72 in. H Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from Scotch Plains, NJ
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female

Great shelving

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These shelves are light enough to move around yet very sturdy. They're plastic so they won't rust or rot. We have 7 sets and plan to get more. They are also easy to assemble and made in the USA!
Pros: Easy to Assemble, High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Functional, Well Made
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 5-Shelf 24 in. D x 36 in. W x 72 in. H Plastic Ventilated Storage Shelving Unit
from San Antonio, Texas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Great shelving system

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to put together. Strong and very portable if necessary. Some parts were missing but were sent in two days after calling.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Excellent Quality, Sturdy, Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 13 >>