728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Riding Mower & Tractor Attachments or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 18 in. x 24 in. 270 lb. Combination Push/Tow Poly Lawn Roller

18 in. x 24 in. 270 lb. Combination Push/Tow Poly Lawn Roller

The Brinly 18 in. x 24 in. Poly Lawn Roller features a large diameter for easy pushing or hookup behind a tractor for towing. It's heavy-duty drums resist denting and rusting. Holds 270 lb. when filled with sand or water.
Overall rating:
4.5 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(102 reviews) 102
Open Ratings Snapshot
98%of customersrecommend this product93 of 95reviews
Rating Breakdown 102 reviews
4.5 out of 5.0
5
(61)
4
(34)
3
(5)
2
(1)
1
(1)
Features 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Quality 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
98%of customersrecommend this product93 of 95reviews
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer reviews for 18 in. x 24 in. 270 lb. Combination Push/Tow Poly Lawn Roller
Review 1 for 18 in. x 24 in. 270 lb. Combination Push/Tow Poly Lawn Roller
foridagardener1
from Vero Beach,FL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

The product performs the task for which it was purchased.

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I needed a lawn roller with enough weight (270 lbs.) and ease of use to maintain a flat and hard playing surface on a newly installed bocce court. The lawn roller does the job. My only complaint - and it's a minor one - is that the handle tends to loosen a bit with use and has to be occasionally retightened. Ordering, delivery, and product all meet or exceed my expectations.
Pros: Durable, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
Cons: handle needs occassional retightening
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 18 in. x 24 in. 270 lb. Combination Push/Tow Poly Lawn Roller
Mic56
from Seth, WV 25181, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Love this roller

PostedMarch 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is my 2nd roller, my first was much larger and worked great when I had a lawn tractor. But I have downsized to just a riding lawn mower and it is not really large enough to handle the weight. So I bought this one to use with a smaller mower, plus by hand if I want too. It is really well built as was my 1st one. And I love the easy of use. And it easily and quickly switches from mower to hand operation. I would caution anyone buying a lawn roller, not to use sand for weight. It is very difficult to get out and if let setting will create flat spots. This one will on see water as it's weight. A lot easier to clean and drain at the end of the season. I learned this with my 1st on at the end of the 1st season. It's a really great product and look forward to many years of use as I did with the bigger one.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Small Turn Radius, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 18 in. x 24 in. 270 lb. Combination Push/Tow Poly Lawn Roller
Nohead
from NC
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great lawn roller

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
My only complaint was that the threaded plug would not start into the threaded plug hole! The plug averaged .020 inches bigger than the hole. Brinly sent me a new plug which had the same problem. I had to borrow an 1.75" pipe tap to open the hole a little so the plug would work.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store
Cons: plug would not fit
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 18 in. x 24 in. 270 lb. Combination Push/Tow Poly Lawn Roller
MrValue
from danville, nh

18 IN. X 24 IN. POLY LAWN ROLLER WORKS GREAT

PostedNovember 3, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This roller was easy to assemble and easy to use. It can be attached to a tractor, but I pulled it over my lawn. Using the roller, I was able to easily and quickly tamp my lawn between tilling and seeding. Weight was sufficient filled with water. Empty, this roller was light enough to carry up to my attic for storage. The 24" swarth made quick work of my lawn but was still nimble enough maneuver in tight spots.
Only possible improvement would be the handle. It works fine, but the swivel action strikes me as a likely point of wear and premature failure. I don't expect to use it enough to test that theory.
I recommend this roller highly.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 18 in. x 24 in. 270 lb. Combination Push/Tow Poly Lawn Roller
MrPDGee
from Maine, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Just the ticket by hand or by tow

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Filled with sand instead of water, this roller is freeze proof. Perfect for flattening out the mud season ruts (I'll add more sand for weight for the late spring when the soil isn't as saturated). Being able to manually push/pull for fine tuning at this time of year is great. Being able to tow it for mole hill flattening and soil compaction is a plus - great design.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 18 in. x 24 in. 270 lb. Combination Push/Tow Poly Lawn Roller
CLouise
from rural high desert
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Using it for gradual back filling

PostedSeptember 4, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I am using this to do some back filling without having to have a plate compactor constantly on hand. I spread an inch of loose dirt at a time, wet it down, wait for it to dry enough so that it won't stick to the roller, then roll it. It seems to be working well enough. I am 56, 108#s, female, yet have no trouble pushing or pulling it by hand. It's a huff and a puff sometimes, but not bad.
I didn't give it five stars because I have to go out to the property to roll it every few days to make sure it doesn't get a flat spot. If you empty it, you don't have to worry about that, but water is scarce where I'm working so I leave it full. Also, the plastic cap that you screw into the opening is not easy to use. I have yet to get it more than 1/3 closed.
The instructions that come with it are very detailed, the parts are clearly identified, and if you have a question, there's a phone number where a human being answers speaking perfect American English.
It is a good idea to reverse the bolts that attach the handle as some other reviewers have advised.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 18 in. x 24 in. 270 lb. Combination Push/Tow Poly Lawn Roller
deadwax
from NC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to assemble

PostedApril 19, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Handle a little on the small side. Drum will flatten on bottom if left full of water and too long in the sun, but will round itself out when used again. Empty between use.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 18 in. x 24 in. 270 lb. Combination Push/Tow Poly Lawn Roller
BJFisch
from North Carolina, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Well designed and packaged. Easy to assemble (instructions are excellent). Easy to push by hand.

PostedJune 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
All in all, a well-designed tool. Works as advertised. The assembly instructions are very good. The packaging is good. A highlight is the "carding" of the small parts (nuts, bolts, etc. on a cardboard card covered with heat-shrunk clear plastic). The parts are arranged in groups, in the order that the parts are needed for the installation. This avoids the problem of trying to figure out whether you have in your hand "Bolt E" or "Bolt L." Wish more manufacturers packaged parts this way.
Two minor annoyances. 1) The screw-in filler plug is a very tight fit in the drum, and I was concerned that I was cross-threading it. A little spray silicon helped. Suggest not over-tightening. 2) The bolt holding the cross-bar handle needs to be very tight in order to keep the handle from moving in the handle frame.
Wouldn't hesitate to recommend the roller.
Pros: Sturdy, Accurate
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 18 in. x 24 in. 270 lb. Combination Push/Tow Poly Lawn Roller
westernmassmom
from chicopee
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Heavy enough but light to store

PostedMay 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My roller was ancient and rusted right through. This one is heavier full than the old one but light enough for me to store on the shelf in the garage once you empty it. As a 50 year old female, I found that full, its actually a little too heavy for me to use. (I only filled it part way and it worked great.).
Pros: Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 18 in. x 24 in. 270 lb. Combination Push/Tow Poly Lawn Roller
joecool
from Winchester, VA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Way better than expected

PostedJune 12, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Have to be honest after reading the reviews on this site and Amazon i was skeptical but lets face it, you can't find these very many places. Home Depot had the best price and free shipping so I gave it a shot. I installed 4000 square feet of sod and this roller did the trick. Fairly easy to assemble, and got heavy enough to do what I needed it to. I can see where some folks had trouble with the cap but if you screw it in and back it out gradually increasing the depth it worked just fine, no leaks. The cap didn't screw in flush for me but it really didn't need to either. I'd recommend this for sure.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 18 in. x 24 in. 270 lb. Combination Push/Tow Poly Lawn Roller
ConcordOH

Mostly good.

PostedNovember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Seems well made, except handle is attached poorly, pivots from side to side. This doesn't really affect when pushing, just annoying.
I'm 57, male, and it's a moderate cardio workout to push this thing, but that's OK because that's where i get my exercise.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 18 in. x 24 in. 270 lb. Combination Push/Tow Poly Lawn Roller
Carpenter6875
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Easy to assemble sturdy construction

PostedNovember 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Awesome price $100 or more thru lowes. Will get years of use.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 18 in. x 24 in. 270 lb. Combination Push/Tow Poly Lawn Roller
Moleman
from VA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to assemble. Works well.

PostedNovember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought this to flatten mole tunnels in lawn. Worked well.
Pros: Durable, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 18 in. x 24 in. 270 lb. Combination Push/Tow Poly Lawn Roller
Gary

Low cost Hand lawn roller

PostedApril 23, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this to flatten down mole runs before mowing. For that purpose it will work fine. It was easy to assemble and quality was good. At weighs about 300 pounds full of water so it is about all you will want to pull. I don't think they make a larger roller for hand pulling. This can also be pulled with a lawn tractor. I didn't have a problem with the drum plug. You do have to be careful not to cross thread and not try to tighten too much. It should last years for occasional home use.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 18 in. x 24 in. 270 lb. Combination Push/Tow Poly Lawn Roller
bear
from Plainfield, IL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This lawn roller seems to be a good value!

PostedMay 21, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This lawn roller pushes easy and works quite well. we had to reverse one bolt end for end on the frame near the drum to keep it from rubbing on the drum when using the roller. It does take a bit of storage space when not in use but is well worth it!
Pros: Easy to Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 18 in. x 24 in. 270 lb. Combination Push/Tow Poly Lawn Roller
fomoco

it is round,that is important

PostedMay 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
hardware was not cheap so it secured properly when assembling. need a large adjustable wrench or channel locks to thread fill/drain plug. other than that it's a roller dudes and dudettes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 18 in. x 24 in. 270 lb. Combination Push/Tow Poly Lawn Roller
Daugh

Good handheld lawn roller with hitch option

PostedApril 30, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It does what it says, but they used a pipe fitting for the plug and it doesn't screw down flush. This contacts the bolt and nut which bumps and scratches the plug. It'll break eventually, but for now it's working fine.
Pros: Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
Cons: plug
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 18 in. x 24 in. 270 lb. Combination Push/Tow Poly Lawn Roller
Henry
from Fairfield, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great value, bang for the buck.

PostedMay 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Works as advertised. I do not plan to write an essay over the garden/lawn tool. It works.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Small Turn Radius, Easy to Store
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 18 in. x 24 in. 270 lb. Combination Push/Tow Poly Lawn Roller
KJMS
from Rochester, NY, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does the job

PostedApril 23, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Easy to assemble - a little tricky to fill but did a nice job on the lawn - used it when the ground was still soft in order to be sure that lumps and bumps would be smoothed out
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 18 in. x 24 in. 270 lb. Combination Push/Tow Poly Lawn Roller
DragonLady1
from Grand Island, NY, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very pleased with this !!

PostedMay 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Thanks to existing reviews, I decided to purchase this lawn roller. It is a less expensive model than others available, but works beautifully. I was afraid to spend a lot of money and be disappointed, but this roller has been great and I am so glad I bought it.
I agree that the plug should be sprayed or greased before tightening, but once it was done, it went in the roller perfectly. It also hooked up easily to the back of the lawn tractor.
Thank you all who took the time to write a review on this because it was the deciding factor for me, and I hope this review will help you decide as well. It was worth every penny.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>