728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Riding Mower & Tractor Attachments or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 18 in. x 24 in. 270 lb. Combination Push/Tow Poly Lawn Roller

18 in. x 24 in. 270 lb. Combination Push/Tow Poly Lawn Roller

The Brinly 18 in. x 24 in. Poly Lawn Roller features a large dia. for easy pushing or hookup behind a tractor for towing. It's heavy-duty drums resist denting and rusting. Holds 270 lb. when filled with sand or water.
Overall rating:
4.425 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(141 reviews) 141
Open Ratings Snapshot
96%of customersrecommend this product128 of 134reviews
Rating Breakdown 141 reviews
4.4 out of 5
5
(81)
4
(48)
3
(6)
2
(3)
1
(3)
Features 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
Quality 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
96%of customersrecommend this product128 of 134reviews
Customer questions and answers:
11 Questions | 31 Answers
Customer reviews for 18 in. x 24 in. 270 lb. Combination Push/Tow Poly Lawn Roller
Review 1 for 18 in. x 24 in. 270 lb. Combination Push/Tow Poly Lawn Roller
from Florida
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Brinly-Hardy

PostedMarch 8, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have purchased this roller to prepare and maintain the "Petanque" courts we play on. This is a game similar to Bocce ball, but we use small 1 pound steel balls instead. The roller keeps the court well groomed as we use it every time we play, which is 3 times a week. We love it.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
Cons: none
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Response from By BrinlyCustomerServiceMarch 10, 2015By BrinlyCustomerServiceMarch 10, 2015
Thanks Karhy,
We are glad that you are enjoying your roller. We wish you the best of luck and many grand victories!

Brinly-Hardy Company Brinly
Review 2 for 18 in. x 24 in. 270 lb. Combination Push/Tow Poly Lawn Roller
from Pacific Northwest
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Works Great

PostedMarch 3, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Our horse corral became muddy and filled with ruts after the heavy rains. I purchased this lawn roller to level out the ground and it worked great. I would recommend it to anyone wanting to level out there lawn or pasture after heavy rains.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 18 in. x 24 in. 270 lb. Combination Push/Tow Poly Lawn Roller
from Vero Beach,FL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

The product performs the task for which it was purchased.

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I needed a lawn roller with enough weight (270 lbs.) and ease of use to maintain a flat and hard playing surface on a newly installed bocce court. The lawn roller does the job. My only complaint - and it's a minor one - is that the handle tends to loosen a bit with use and has to be occasionally retightened. Ordering, delivery, and product all meet or exceed my expectations.
Pros: Durable, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
Cons: handle needs occassional retightening
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 18 in. x 24 in. 270 lb. Combination Push/Tow Poly Lawn Roller
from danville, nh

18 IN. X 24 IN. POLY LAWN ROLLER WORKS GREAT

PostedNovember 3, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This roller was easy to assemble and easy to use. It can be attached to a tractor, but I pulled it over my lawn. Using the roller, I was able to easily and quickly tamp my lawn between tilling and seeding. Weight was sufficient filled with water. Empty, this roller was light enough to carry up to my attic for storage. The 24" swarth made quick work of my lawn but was still nimble enough maneuver in tight spots.
Only possible improvement would be the handle. It works fine, but the swivel action strikes me as a likely point of wear and premature failure. I don't expect to use it enough to test that theory.
I recommend this roller highly.
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 18 in. x 24 in. 270 lb. Combination Push/Tow Poly Lawn Roller
from Gold Hill, Colorado
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good, heavy roller

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We use this roller for a very different use than rolling lawns. Rather, we use it to roll our new town Bocce court, which needs to be flattened after grooming. For this use it has a couple of shortcomings. 1) Its plastic surface deforms when it encounters small rocks, rather than pushing them down into the court, and 2) the radius on the edge prevents getting right up to the edge timbers. We are in the process of fabricating a steel roller to overcome these limitations.
Neither of these shortcomings would affect its use rolling lawns, however. Overall, the roller is well made. The only issue we discovered is that the slip-on hand grips also tend to slip off, but some black duct tape solved that problem.
Pros: Sturdy, Durable
Cons: Too Heavy
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 18 in. x 24 in. 270 lb. Combination Push/Tow Poly Lawn Roller
from Poughkeepsie,NY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

top quality product

PostedJuly 28, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The roller was simple to assemble. rolls sooo easily.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 18 in. x 24 in. 270 lb. Combination Push/Tow Poly Lawn Roller

Poor cap design

PostedApril 21, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The roller works fine. But as other have stated, the water plug is cheap plastic. You need a large pipe wrench to tighten it down, as channel locks are to small. The plug also sticks out to far and catches on the bolts in the far, but that's nothing a saw can't fix.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 18 in. x 24 in. 270 lb. Combination Push/Tow Poly Lawn Roller
from Seth, WV 25181, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Love this roller

PostedMarch 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is my 2nd roller, my first was much larger and worked great when I had a lawn tractor. But I have downsized to just a riding lawn mower and it is not really large enough to handle the weight. So I bought this one to use with a smaller mower, plus by hand if I want too. It is really well built as was my 1st one. And I love the easy of use. And it easily and quickly switches from mower to hand operation. I would caution anyone buying a lawn roller, not to use sand for weight. It is very difficult to get out and if let setting will create flat spots. This one will on see water as it's weight. A lot easier to clean and drain at the end of the season. I learned this with my 1st on at the end of the 1st season. It's a really great product and look forward to many years of use as I did with the bigger one.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Small Turn Radius, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 18 in. x 24 in. 270 lb. Combination Push/Tow Poly Lawn Roller
from Englewood FL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Did the job I bought it for.

PostedMarch 31, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy to assemble and use. Just what I needed. To store, just remove the water.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 18 in. x 24 in. 270 lb. Combination Push/Tow Poly Lawn Roller

Sturdy Contruction

PostedMarch 24, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Good quality product ... purchased for rolling out .25 acre lot for grass seed. Was skeptical about the threaded plastic fill plug st first, but seems to be holding up fine so far.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 18 in. x 24 in. 270 lb. Combination Push/Tow Poly Lawn Roller
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good roller, but not easily convertable.

PostedOctober 15, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The price was right and the quality okay. However, it is billed as being convertable between hand push and pull behind, but to make the change requires tools. Also the push handle does not stay in place, making it difficult to work with and causing the metal to be scratched. Recommend that you use this for pulling behind a tractor or riding mower, and don't count on using it by hand.
Drain plus doesn't screwing anywhere near all the way. Directions mention this, but why on earth didn't they just make one that fit?
Good value, but design flaws.
Pros: Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store
Cons: not easy to convert
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 18 in. x 24 in. 270 lb. Combination Push/Tow Poly Lawn Roller
from new york
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good value

PostedMay 20, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
good for small yards...time consuming for large yards....handle feature not the best
Pros: Good Size & Weight
Cons: Limited Features
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 18 in. x 24 in. 270 lb. Combination Push/Tow Poly Lawn Roller
from Sumter, SC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works like a charm

PostedFebruary 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Even when I was considering the purchase, I expected to have a lot of work ahead of me. However, it moves easily even when full. My wife keeps taking it from me because it's good exercise.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: assembly instructions not very clear.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 18 in. x 24 in. 270 lb. Combination Push/Tow Poly Lawn Roller
from Woodstock, Maryland
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product for the price.

PostedMay 5, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This is a good product for the price and the design, weight and features are also good. Good solid frrame and handle. However, some design work is needed on the fill hole screw cover as it is difficult to screw down when closing.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 18 in. x 24 in. 270 lb. Combination Push/Tow Poly Lawn Roller
from Bennington,Vemont
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product for a fair price.

PostedMay 5, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I like the non-metal construction of the roller. It took all of 15 minutes to assemble. Being lightweight makes it easy to store.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 18 in. x 24 in. 270 lb. Combination Push/Tow Poly Lawn Roller
from Portland, OR
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Engineering on the handle is lacking

PostedApril 28, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
High quality drum and frame, but the handle needs better engineering and unfortunately brings down my rating and scoring. As it is, it relies on the tightness of the hardware to prevent slip in and out. Which, if over-tightened will deform the parts; sigh. I ended up making a 1/4" thick spacer and sandwiched between the frame extension bars (#1 on the instructions) at the handle assembly to stabilize that risk. However, the handle itself also pivots on the single bolt through it's center. When using the roller, I go back and forth in my yard and sometimes will turn my back towards it and pull with one hand which naturally puts a lot of torque on one handle against the tightness of the one bolt (#16). I realize they've tried to make this switchable for towing, but this is poor design and wouldn't take much to fix. Maybe a few inches of square tubing large enough to slid over the hitch assembly with a cross drilled hole the handle bar would pass through before installing the 1/2" bolt (#16). That way the handle could still be easily removed for towing. Anyway, I've glued my grips on with some left over motorcycle grip glue, so there's three very simple things I'd expect a brand that brags about their 175 year history to have figured out by now.
But, having a tool on site for those few days of the year when the ground is at optimal pliability and the weather permits is worth making a few tweaks on an otherwise fine piece of equipment.
Pros: better than renting
Cons: beware, handle will pivot on you
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 18 in. x 24 in. 270 lb. Combination Push/Tow Poly Lawn Roller
from rural high desert
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Using it for gradual back filling

PostedSeptember 4, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I am using this to do some back filling without having to have a plate compactor constantly on hand. I spread an inch of loose dirt at a time, wet it down, wait for it to dry enough so that it won't stick to the roller, then roll it. It seems to be working well enough. I am 56, 108#s, female, yet have no trouble pushing or pulling it by hand. It's a huff and a puff sometimes, but not bad.
I didn't give it five stars because I have to go out to the property to roll it every few days to make sure it doesn't get a flat spot. If you empty it, you don't have to worry about that, but water is scarce where I'm working so I leave it full. Also, the plastic cap that you screw into the opening is not easy to use. I have yet to get it more than 1/3 closed.
The instructions that come with it are very detailed, the parts are clearly identified, and if you have a question, there's a phone number where a human being answers speaking perfect American English.
It is a good idea to reverse the bolts that attach the handle as some other reviewers have advised.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 18 in. x 24 in. 270 lb. Combination Push/Tow Poly Lawn Roller

love it

PostedApril 7, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought the roller to smooth out a uneven fresh laid sod. And it did a great job.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 18 in. x 24 in. 270 lb. Combination Push/Tow Poly Lawn Roller
from Decatur, Al
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product

PostedApril 7, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy assembly. Good instructions. Just as advertised. Delivered on time.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Durable
Cons: none
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 18 in. x 24 in. 270 lb. Combination Push/Tow Poly Lawn Roller

Not recommended for purchase

PostedJanuary 27, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
If you live in Georgia like I do, this item will have little to no impact on new sob placed on red clay. I even tried using the product after a very long duration rain where the ground was soft, still no noticeable impact. Good workout, but not a great yard roller.
Potential buyers beware, you may be disappointed with this product. I would recommend renting a more heavy duty unit.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 7 >>