728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Riding Mower & Tractor Attachments or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 18 in. x 24 in. 270 lb. Combination Push/Tow Poly Lawn Roller

18 in. x 24 in. 270 lb. Combination Push/Tow Poly Lawn Roller

The Brinly 18 in. x 24 in. Poly Lawn Roller features a large dia. for easy pushing or hookup behind a tractor for towing. It's heavy-duty drums resist denting and rusting. Holds 270 lb. when filled with sand or water.
Overall rating:
4.448 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(116 reviews) 116
Open Ratings Snapshot
96%of customersrecommend this product105 of 109reviews
Rating Breakdown 116 reviews
4.4 out of 5.0
5
(66)
4
(41)
3
(5)
2
(3)
1
(1)
Features 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Quality 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
96%of customersrecommend this product105 of 109reviews
Customer questions and answers:
8 Questions | 25 Answers
Customer reviews for 18 in. x 24 in. 270 lb. Combination Push/Tow Poly Lawn Roller
Review 1 for 18 in. x 24 in. 270 lb. Combination Push/Tow Poly Lawn Roller
from Gold Hill, Colorado
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good, heavy roller

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We use this roller for a very different use than rolling lawns. Rather, we use it to roll our new town Bocce court, which needs to be flattened after grooming. For this use it has a couple of shortcomings. 1) Its plastic surface deforms when it encounters small rocks, rather than pushing them down into the court, and 2) the radius on the edge prevents getting right up to the edge timbers. We are in the process of fabricating a steel roller to overcome these limitations.
Neither of these shortcomings would affect its use rolling lawns, however. Overall, the roller is well made. The only issue we discovered is that the slip-on hand grips also tend to slip off, but some black duct tape solved that problem.
Pros: Sturdy, Durable
Cons: Too Heavy
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 18 in. x 24 in. 270 lb. Combination Push/Tow Poly Lawn Roller
from Vero Beach,FL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

The product performs the task for which it was purchased.

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I needed a lawn roller with enough weight (270 lbs.) and ease of use to maintain a flat and hard playing surface on a newly installed bocce court. The lawn roller does the job. My only complaint - and it's a minor one - is that the handle tends to loosen a bit with use and has to be occasionally retightened. Ordering, delivery, and product all meet or exceed my expectations.
Pros: Durable, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
Cons: handle needs occassional retightening
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 18 in. x 24 in. 270 lb. Combination Push/Tow Poly Lawn Roller
from Seth, WV 25181, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Love this roller

PostedMarch 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is my 2nd roller, my first was much larger and worked great when I had a lawn tractor. But I have downsized to just a riding lawn mower and it is not really large enough to handle the weight. So I bought this one to use with a smaller mower, plus by hand if I want too. It is really well built as was my 1st one. And I love the easy of use. And it easily and quickly switches from mower to hand operation. I would caution anyone buying a lawn roller, not to use sand for weight. It is very difficult to get out and if let setting will create flat spots. This one will on see water as it's weight. A lot easier to clean and drain at the end of the season. I learned this with my 1st on at the end of the 1st season. It's a really great product and look forward to many years of use as I did with the bigger one.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Small Turn Radius, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 18 in. x 24 in. 270 lb. Combination Push/Tow Poly Lawn Roller
from Ohio, USA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Leaks around fill plug

PostedJune 25, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The unit leaks around the Fill plug. The threads are very tight and need to be perfectly lined up when trying to insert plug. I added a little pipe dope for lubrication. The threads do not leak, however, the insert that is permanently attached leaks a little as it attaches to the unit. It appears they did not do a good job of gluing the insert.
The parts were very well labeled making assemble a breeze. They were clearly marked and were sectionally grouped for area of installation. This was the best labeled parts that I have ever encountered.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, parts well labeled for assembly
Cons: manufacturing issues, shipment from manufacturer
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 18 in. x 24 in. 270 lb. Combination Push/Tow Poly Lawn Roller

title says it all

PostedSeptember 19, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
like the product. was easy to assemble. will be perfect for my jobs.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 18 in. x 24 in. 270 lb. Combination Push/Tow Poly Lawn Roller
from danville, nh

18 IN. X 24 IN. POLY LAWN ROLLER WORKS GREAT

PostedNovember 3, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This roller was easy to assemble and easy to use. It can be attached to a tractor, but I pulled it over my lawn. Using the roller, I was able to easily and quickly tamp my lawn between tilling and seeding. Weight was sufficient filled with water. Empty, this roller was light enough to carry up to my attic for storage. The 24" swarth made quick work of my lawn but was still nimble enough maneuver in tight spots.
Only possible improvement would be the handle. It works fine, but the swivel action strikes me as a likely point of wear and premature failure. I don't expect to use it enough to test that theory.
I recommend this roller highly.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 18 in. x 24 in. 270 lb. Combination Push/Tow Poly Lawn Roller
from Texas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Poly roller

PostedAugust 29, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Receive on time in good condition. Went together fine. Seems a little high in price for what you get,or could have given it five stars.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store
Cons: price
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 18 in. x 24 in. 270 lb. Combination Push/Tow Poly Lawn Roller

Plug Threads Are Tricky

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I read some other reviews about the plug threads being difficult, but assumed I wouldn't have any issues as I'm mechanically inclined.
Well, I also had trouble with the plug threads. I could not get it to thread in properly. I don't know if the plastic has warped, or they just didn't calculate the min/max thread diameter when they designed the product.
So in the end I just cross threaded it and I plan to never un-screw the plug. I could only get the plug about half way in, but it's not leaking.
Also, the instructions are frustrating. After each step, the next step required me to undo the previous step! This happened a few different times, so just read ahead!
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 18 in. x 24 in. 270 lb. Combination Push/Tow Poly Lawn Roller
from Houston, Texas

Poly Lawn Roller

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Reasonable pricing, well made. Easy to assemble and works perfect.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 18 in. x 24 in. 270 lb. Combination Push/Tow Poly Lawn Roller
from NC
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great lawn roller

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
My only complaint was that the threaded plug would not start into the threaded plug hole! The plug averaged .020 inches bigger than the hole. Brinly sent me a new plug which had the same problem. I had to borrow an 1.75" pipe tap to open the hole a little so the plug would work.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store
Cons: plug would not fit
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 18 in. x 24 in. 270 lb. Combination Push/Tow Poly Lawn Roller
from Mesa, AZ
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fill plug difficult to thread.

PostedMay 4, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
There are several reviews that have commented on having difficulties with the fill hole plug. I did too. I sprayed it with silicone and worked with it for a while and finally got it about 1/2 way in without cross threading. It was water tight, but is was a pain in the behind to get it on and off.
Another reviewer a couple of years ago mentioned replacing the plastic plug with a metal one. It's standard pipe thread, so the solution seemed reasonable. I got a 1 1/2 inch steel plug at Home Depot for $4.83. I lubed it with silicone (lard or hand soap would work too), grabbed a monkey wrench, and screwed it in. Problem solved. Easy fix and well worth the $5 as you will fill and empty this many, many times over the years.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Store, Light Weight
Cons: fill plug is a problem.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 18 in. x 24 in. 270 lb. Combination Push/Tow Poly Lawn Roller
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

the product is not good

PostedJune 5, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
the water plug fit terribly. It's a struggle to get it in and tight.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 18 in. x 24 in. 270 lb. Combination Push/Tow Poly Lawn Roller
from NC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to assemble

PostedApril 19, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Handle a little on the small side. Drum will flatten on bottom if left full of water and too long in the sun, but will round itself out when used again. Empty between use.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 18 in. x 24 in. 270 lb. Combination Push/Tow Poly Lawn Roller
from Midland
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Good product,

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
easy to use and store good product light weight for storage
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 18 in. x 24 in. 270 lb. Combination Push/Tow Poly Lawn Roller
from retired
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Product was easy to put together

PostedMay 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The roller worked as expected and was very handy to have. I'll be keeping it around to use on other projects
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Small Turn Radius
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 18 in. x 24 in. 270 lb. Combination Push/Tow Poly Lawn Roller
from Arden, NC 28704, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

A Great Product ! ! ! !

PostedMay 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I pulled the lawn roller behind my garden tractor and it was easy to pull.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 18 in. x 24 in. 270 lb. Combination Push/Tow Poly Lawn Roller
from RICHBORO
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

FANTASTIC!

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
In just two passes over the lawn, it's flatter than it's been in years. The winter 'heaves' are all but gone. The roller has flattened out several really poor areas of the lawn. Not having a riding mower (on 3/4 acre) has given me the opportunity to get a workout...a secondary benefit to the roller. Friends and neighbors either want to borrow or buy one for themselves!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting, cheap exercise
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 18 in. x 24 in. 270 lb. Combination Push/Tow Poly Lawn Roller
from rural high desert
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Using it for gradual back filling

PostedSeptember 4, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I am using this to do some back filling without having to have a plate compactor constantly on hand. I spread an inch of loose dirt at a time, wet it down, wait for it to dry enough so that it won't stick to the roller, then roll it. It seems to be working well enough. I am 56, 108#s, female, yet have no trouble pushing or pulling it by hand. It's a huff and a puff sometimes, but not bad.
I didn't give it five stars because I have to go out to the property to roll it every few days to make sure it doesn't get a flat spot. If you empty it, you don't have to worry about that, but water is scarce where I'm working so I leave it full. Also, the plastic cap that you screw into the opening is not easy to use. I have yet to get it more than 1/3 closed.
The instructions that come with it are very detailed, the parts are clearly identified, and if you have a question, there's a phone number where a human being answers speaking perfect American English.
It is a good idea to reverse the bolts that attach the handle as some other reviewers have advised.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 18 in. x 24 in. 270 lb. Combination Push/Tow Poly Lawn Roller
from 15101
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Choice if you don't have a tractor to pull it,

PostedApril 29, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
When filled with water it is the heaviest you could reasonably pull by hand around your lawn.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 18 in. x 24 in. 270 lb. Combination Push/Tow Poly Lawn Roller
from Ohio, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works well for smaller yards

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Bought this to use by hand. It works well. Will have to go over yard several times but it works.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>