728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Riding Mower & Tractor Attachments or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 18 in. x 24 in. 270 lb. Combination Push/Tow Poly Lawn Roller

18 in. x 24 in. 270 lb. Combination Push/Tow Poly Lawn Roller

The Brinly 18 in. x 24 in. Poly Lawn Roller features a large dia. for easy pushing or hookup behind a tractor for towing. It's heavy-duty drums resist denting and rusting. Holds 270 lb. when filled with sand or water.
Overall rating:
4.424 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(132 reviews) 132
Open Ratings Snapshot
95%of customersrecommend this product119 of 125reviews
Rating Breakdown 132 reviews
4.4 out of 5
5
(76)
4
(45)
3
(5)
2
(3)
1
(3)
Features 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
Quality 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
95%of customersrecommend this product119 of 125reviews
Customer questions and answers:
9 Questions | 28 Answers
Customer reviews for 18 in. x 24 in. 270 lb. Combination Push/Tow Poly Lawn Roller
Review 1 for 18 in. x 24 in. 270 lb. Combination Push/Tow Poly Lawn Roller
from Florida
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Brinly-Hardy

PostedMarch 8, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have purchased this roller to prepare and maintain the "Petanque" courts we play on. This is a game similar to Bocce ball, but we use small 1 pound steel balls instead. The roller keeps the court well groomed as we use it every time we play, which is 3 times a week. We love it.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
Cons: none
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Response from By BrinlyCustomerServiceMarch 10, 2015By BrinlyCustomerServiceMarch 10, 2015
Thanks Karhy,
We are glad that you are enjoying your roller. We wish you the best of luck and many grand victories!

Brinly-Hardy Company Brinly
Review 2 for 18 in. x 24 in. 270 lb. Combination Push/Tow Poly Lawn Roller
from Pacific Northwest
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Works Great

PostedMarch 3, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Our horse corral became muddy and filled with ruts after the heavy rains. I purchased this lawn roller to level out the ground and it worked great. I would recommend it to anyone wanting to level out there lawn or pasture after heavy rains.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 18 in. x 24 in. 270 lb. Combination Push/Tow Poly Lawn Roller
from Vero Beach,FL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

The product performs the task for which it was purchased.

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I needed a lawn roller with enough weight (270 lbs.) and ease of use to maintain a flat and hard playing surface on a newly installed bocce court. The lawn roller does the job. My only complaint - and it's a minor one - is that the handle tends to loosen a bit with use and has to be occasionally retightened. Ordering, delivery, and product all meet or exceed my expectations.
Pros: Durable, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
Cons: handle needs occassional retightening
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 18 in. x 24 in. 270 lb. Combination Push/Tow Poly Lawn Roller
from Gold Hill, Colorado
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good, heavy roller

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We use this roller for a very different use than rolling lawns. Rather, we use it to roll our new town Bocce court, which needs to be flattened after grooming. For this use it has a couple of shortcomings. 1) Its plastic surface deforms when it encounters small rocks, rather than pushing them down into the court, and 2) the radius on the edge prevents getting right up to the edge timbers. We are in the process of fabricating a steel roller to overcome these limitations.
Neither of these shortcomings would affect its use rolling lawns, however. Overall, the roller is well made. The only issue we discovered is that the slip-on hand grips also tend to slip off, but some black duct tape solved that problem.
Pros: Sturdy, Durable
Cons: Too Heavy
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 18 in. x 24 in. 270 lb. Combination Push/Tow Poly Lawn Roller

Sturdy Contruction

PostedMarch 24, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Good quality product ... purchased for rolling out .25 acre lot for grass seed. Was skeptical about the threaded plastic fill plug st first, but seems to be holding up fine so far.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 18 in. x 24 in. 270 lb. Combination Push/Tow Poly Lawn Roller
from danville, nh

18 IN. X 24 IN. POLY LAWN ROLLER WORKS GREAT

PostedNovember 3, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This roller was easy to assemble and easy to use. It can be attached to a tractor, but I pulled it over my lawn. Using the roller, I was able to easily and quickly tamp my lawn between tilling and seeding. Weight was sufficient filled with water. Empty, this roller was light enough to carry up to my attic for storage. The 24" swarth made quick work of my lawn but was still nimble enough maneuver in tight spots.
Only possible improvement would be the handle. It works fine, but the swivel action strikes me as a likely point of wear and premature failure. I don't expect to use it enough to test that theory.
I recommend this roller highly.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 18 in. x 24 in. 270 lb. Combination Push/Tow Poly Lawn Roller
from Seth, WV 25181, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Love this roller

PostedMarch 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is my 2nd roller, my first was much larger and worked great when I had a lawn tractor. But I have downsized to just a riding lawn mower and it is not really large enough to handle the weight. So I bought this one to use with a smaller mower, plus by hand if I want too. It is really well built as was my 1st one. And I love the easy of use. And it easily and quickly switches from mower to hand operation. I would caution anyone buying a lawn roller, not to use sand for weight. It is very difficult to get out and if let setting will create flat spots. This one will on see water as it's weight. A lot easier to clean and drain at the end of the season. I learned this with my 1st on at the end of the 1st season. It's a really great product and look forward to many years of use as I did with the bigger one.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Small Turn Radius, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 18 in. x 24 in. 270 lb. Combination Push/Tow Poly Lawn Roller
from Sumter, SC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works like a charm

PostedFebruary 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Even when I was considering the purchase, I expected to have a lot of work ahead of me. However, it moves easily even when full. My wife keeps taking it from me because it's good exercise.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: assembly instructions not very clear.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 18 in. x 24 in. 270 lb. Combination Push/Tow Poly Lawn Roller
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good roller, but not easily convertable.

PostedOctober 15, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The price was right and the quality okay. However, it is billed as being convertable between hand push and pull behind, but to make the change requires tools. Also the push handle does not stay in place, making it difficult to work with and causing the metal to be scratched. Recommend that you use this for pulling behind a tractor or riding mower, and don't count on using it by hand.
Drain plus doesn't screwing anywhere near all the way. Directions mention this, but why on earth didn't they just make one that fit?
Good value, but design flaws.
Pros: Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store
Cons: not easy to convert
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 18 in. x 24 in. 270 lb. Combination Push/Tow Poly Lawn Roller

Not recommended for purchase

PostedJanuary 27, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
If you live in Georgia like I do, this item will have little to no impact on new sob placed on red clay. I even tried using the product after a very long duration rain where the ground was soft, still no noticeable impact. Good workout, but not a great yard roller.
Potential buyers beware, you may be disappointed with this product. I would recommend renting a more heavy duty unit.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 18 in. x 24 in. 270 lb. Combination Push/Tow Poly Lawn Roller
from Riverside, CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Helps starting a lawn easier

PostedJanuary 14, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Bought this to use with professional spray-on grass seeds which instructions said to "roll" after spraying, to finally start a yard we have never been able to manage growing. Ease of use was primary feature for me being a female 58 years old and my husband in a wheelchair. Can be rented at Home Depot, as well, but I purchased to have for future use of patching up.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 18 in. x 24 in. 270 lb. Combination Push/Tow Poly Lawn Roller

Did roller

PostedJanuary 13, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The only problem I have with these are the clips on the attachment from handles to the roller. They always fall off and lose them! Other then that it is a great sod roller
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 18 in. x 24 in. 270 lb. Combination Push/Tow Poly Lawn Roller
from Lynwood
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice device to add to my yard tools

PostedDecember 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Depending on the medium being smoothed or compacted, it can be easy or difficult. I bought it to use on loose gravel which I found easier to pull than try to push. It works well and is easy to clean. I'm not sure how many times it will be needed in the future but the price was reasonable and I'll have it when the occasion presents itself.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
Cons: none
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 18 in. x 24 in. 270 lb. Combination Push/Tow Poly Lawn Roller
from Snead, AL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Only one small improvement needed - otherwise just what I needed

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Just fine for me, but when installing the handle for the small jobs where I can't tow it, the handle does not tighten enough to keep it from slipping from side to side. This is not a big deal, but is inconvenient.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 18 in. x 24 in. 270 lb. Combination Push/Tow Poly Lawn Roller
from peoria, az
Age Range:55 to 64
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

roller

PostedDecember 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Being disabled it was hard for us to use but the younger generation that helped us out did very good and made it easy. For them it was! We used it compact the 1/4 minus for our backyard. Looks good!
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Easy to Store, easy for younger and some muscles
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 18 in. x 24 in. 270 lb. Combination Push/Tow Poly Lawn Roller

junk

PostedDecember 6, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
the fill/drain plug will only thread in one turn. tried two different ones from amazon. poor quality from Brinly. I've been around pipe thread for years and know it should seat about half way in than tighten up from there. don't waste your money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By BrinlyCustomerServiceDecember 9, 2014By BrinlyCustomerServiceDecember 9, 2014
We apologize for the inconvenience that you have experienced with your roller. The threads on the drum and plug were designed to be an extremely tight fit so as to provide a water-tight seal without the need for thread tape, and is typically tightened down with an adjustable wrench after the first turn. Please call our Technical Service department at 877-728-8224 if you have any other concerns or questions.Brinly
Review 17 for 18 in. x 24 in. 270 lb. Combination Push/Tow Poly Lawn Roller
from Ohio, USA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Leaks around fill plug

PostedJune 25, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The unit leaks around the Fill plug. The threads are very tight and need to be perfectly lined up when trying to insert plug. I added a little pipe dope for lubrication. The threads do not leak, however, the insert that is permanently attached leaks a little as it attaches to the unit. It appears they did not do a good job of gluing the insert.
The parts were very well labeled making assemble a breeze. They were clearly marked and were sectionally grouped for area of installation. This was the best labeled parts that I have ever encountered.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, parts well labeled for assembly
Cons: manufacturing issues, shipment from manufacturer
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 18 in. x 24 in. 270 lb. Combination Push/Tow Poly Lawn Roller
from rural high desert
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Using it for gradual back filling

PostedSeptember 4, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I am using this to do some back filling without having to have a plate compactor constantly on hand. I spread an inch of loose dirt at a time, wet it down, wait for it to dry enough so that it won't stick to the roller, then roll it. It seems to be working well enough. I am 56, 108#s, female, yet have no trouble pushing or pulling it by hand. It's a huff and a puff sometimes, but not bad.
I didn't give it five stars because I have to go out to the property to roll it every few days to make sure it doesn't get a flat spot. If you empty it, you don't have to worry about that, but water is scarce where I'm working so I leave it full. Also, the plastic cap that you screw into the opening is not easy to use. I have yet to get it more than 1/3 closed.
The instructions that come with it are very detailed, the parts are clearly identified, and if you have a question, there's a phone number where a human being answers speaking perfect American English.
It is a good idea to reverse the bolts that attach the handle as some other reviewers have advised.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 18 in. x 24 in. 270 lb. Combination Push/Tow Poly Lawn Roller

Easy assembly

PostedNovember 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This thing went together in about ten minutes using a ratchet with a half inch deep socket. The plug is a two inch socket and threads in tight all the way. I still need to fill it with water so I can run around with it, but it seems like a solid piece. The barrel seemed to have a high/flat spot, but I'm sure it will even out once I get it rolling. Overall, I'm happy with it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 18 in. x 24 in. 270 lb. Combination Push/Tow Poly Lawn Roller
from NC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to assemble

PostedApril 19, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Handle a little on the small side. Drum will flatten on bottom if left full of water and too long in the sun, but will round itself out when used again. Empty between use.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 7 >>