728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Animal & Pest Control or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Termite Detection and Killing Stakes (15-Count) -

Termite Detection and Killing Stakes (15-Count) -

Spectracide Terminate Termite Detection and Killing Stakes are the first do-it-yourself termite bait stakes available to consumers who want added protection for their homes and other wood structures against wood-destroying termites. The stakes have a pop-up and an easy-to-find locator shields that make it easier to inspect stakes regularly. The kit also includes a digging tool for faster installation, and complete instruction booklet. Spectracide Terminate Termite Detection and Killing Stakes are not recommended as sole protection against termites, and for active infestations get a professional inspection.
Overall rating:
3.177 / 5
3.2
 / 
5
(17 reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
73%of customersrecommend this product11 of 15reviews
Rating Breakdown 17 reviews
3.2 out of 5.0
5
(5)
4
(4)
3
(2)
2
(1)
1
(5)
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.4 out of 5.0
1.4 out of 5
73%of customersrecommend this product11 of 15reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer reviews for Termite Detection and Killing Stakes (15-Count) -
Review 1 for Termite Detection and Killing Stakes (15-Count) -
from central Virginia

Work well, but they have some flaws

PostedDecember 26, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I used a full set of these as an alternative to almost the same thing an exterminator would do for about ten times the price. I followed directions, installed t hem in mid-winter, checked after a few months and replaced several as required. Then came the rain in late summer and fall. Somehow the rain trashed them and all the indicators popped up, even though no bait was taken. I replaced them, and after several more weeks (and lots of rain) the bait and cardboard just dissolved. Conclusion: they seemed to work well initially, but too much moisture did them in.
It would also help if spectracide would sell just the stakes without having to buy the whole kit each time.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Termite Detection and Killing Stakes (15-Count) -
from Talladega, Alabama, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does not last long

PostedSeptember 12, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product does not last long in wet regions.I live in a zone known for subterranean termites and have been purchacing these stakes after finding a tree stump on the edge of my property (30 feet from my home) infested with these pests. I continue to purchace but beginning to have doubts on whether it is worth the price of continually replacing.
The stakes last less than 1 month when I place them in the damper areas around my house, as per the manual instructs. Not from termite damage but from water deteriating the cardboard interior. After a hard rain at least half of these are popping up, even if replaced just 1 week prior.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: Not Durable, does not last as promised, does not withstand rainy weather
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Termite Detection and Killing Stakes (15-Count) -
from Loudon, TN

Mr. Ralph

PostedJune 17, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
A new house is being constructed next door to me on a previously wooded lot and I wanted to be proactive and be able to detect the presence of termites. I bought and installed Spectracide's Terminate. I reviewed the CD and the well worded directions on the required installation of the product and the follow-up required. I was impressed with this organized kit and what was provided including a tool for digging and installing detectors. The cost of doing it yourself compared to having it professionally done was also a purchasing factor.
+13points
14out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Termite Detection and Killing Stakes (15-Count) -
from Atlanta, GA

The Stakes Fail when they get wet

PostedJuly 16, 2010
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I bought these stakes and followed the instructions for putting them in the ground. The instructions were clear and the process was not difficult. After about two weeks I noticed that one of the stakes had "triggered," but when I pulled it out of the ground, it seemed to show no signs of termite activity. After a few more days, others triggered, until ultimately about 75% of them had the orange indicator popped up. It appears that the indicator is triggered by the removal of the cardboard bait inside (presumably by the termites eating it). But in my case, the water from rains had so softened the cardboard that it allowed the orange indicator to trigger without the cardboard actually having been touched by termites. I supposed the cardboard bait is still good, and I can just manually check the stakes every month or so. But it would have been nice if the trigger would have not been so vulnerable to failure due to rain water.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Termite Detection and Killing Stakes (15-Count) -

DON’T BUY THIS PRODUCT.

PostedSeptember 9, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
I wasted 49.95 plus tax on these termite detection/killing stakes. The only thing they detect is rain. After three weeks, I noticed that the red detection shaft on 3 stakes had popped up. Today (at 5 weeks), 3 more units had tripped. I carefully inspected each unit and found no evidence of termites. The cardboard cylinders were soaked with water and had collapsed, causing the units to trip. I don’t have sprinkler, don’t water my lawn and have adequate grade/slope/drainage. Don’t waste your time/money on this useless, poorly-designed product. I’m sure the store will refund the purchase price but they won’t compensate me (or you) for time spent purchasing/installing/removing/returning the product.
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Termite Detection and Killing Stakes (15-Count) -

I wasted 49.95 plus tax on these termite detection/killing stakes. The only thing they detect is rain.

PostedSeptember 20, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I wasted good $'s plus tax on these termite detection/killing stakes. The only thing they detect is rain.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: Not Durable
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Termite Detection and Killing Stakes (15-Count) -
from Florence, AL

Seems to work well

PostedMarch 10, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After 2 years of large termite swarms lasting several days and 2 liquid termite re-treatments, I decided to try this product. I first installed it in September 2005. Termites found the first of the stations within 2 months. The next spring, we experienced a much smaller termite swarm that only lasted a couple of days. It appears to me that we have a much smaller colony now due to the Terminate Termite Stakes. Just checked my stakes today and 12 of them need replacing. The termites are obviously finding them. Hopefully as spring comes, there will be no termite swarms. One note...Just make sure you are buying the detection and killing stakes, not just the detection stakes.
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Termite Detection and Killing Stakes (15-Count) -

Solution to rain issues

PostedSeptember 25, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
To everyone who had them dissolve after they get wet - cover the tops. I covered mine with upside down planters to keep my dog from pulling them out, and they last quite a while. I'm not sure how effective they are at termite killing, but by covering them, you'll keep them in the ground long enough to find out.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Termite Detection and Killing Stakes (15-Count) -
from Virginia

Will fail if you have sprinker system

PostedJuly 22, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This system is useless. The main reason is the element inside it is not wood, it is cardboard. If you live in a wet climate the stakes will trip as the moisture softens the cardboard. Not the fun part, if you have a sprinkler system or water your lawn THEY WILL FAIL! Oh BTW they don't make/sell individual replacement stakes, you have to buy an ENTIRE kit once you trip one to replace it. Save yourself the money & aggravation, buy termite traps with the wood inserts.
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Termite Detection and Killing Stakes (15-Count) -
from San Francisco, CA

Has everything.

PostedNovember 1, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This kit has everything you need; also has clear, concise directions. Their web site and customer support also is great. I use it on my home and my properties.
It does take a lot of followup work (checking and replacing stakes), but this improved kit just makes that job easier too.
Best to keep a spare kit around for "followup" work all year.
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Termite Detection and Killing Stakes (15-Count) -
from Washington DC
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fails when wet

PostedMarch 1, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product does work when it doesn't get wet. But that kind of wet environment is the kind that attracts termites in the first place. Since the bait inside is like cardboard, which also holds the spring, when it gets wet its becomes soggy and the spring in the bait automatically trips itself which defeats the purpose of the product. I would rather use the Advance Bait System since it has wood instead of cardboard and you can replace it with a bait if it's tripped rather than think termites are in the area and dish out some cash for the exterminator to find nothing.
Cons: Not Durable, false positives, not worth it
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Termite Detection and Killing Stakes (15-Count) -
from Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product has been working for me foe about 3years

PostedFebruary 4, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have a termite problem beneath my above ground swimming pool. About 3 years ago, I was losing water from my pool.Called in a diver and he said I have termites. Used his suggestion and installed these stakes. No more water loss. It is controlling the problem. The maximum cure would be to lift the liner and call termite pros. Not a feasable solution at this time. SoI just keep on replacing the stakes. So far, so good! You will not find termites in the cylinder cause they take the poison back to the colony and feed their "friends". When the bait empties, the orange pop up rises. "Good Product for the price"
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Termite Detection and Killing Stakes (15-Count) -
from Texas, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Having same problem

PostedSeptember 4, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
We are having the same problem as most others. It rained a lot a recently and since then, they are popping up like crazy. No termite activity, but what good is it if we can't trust the product to work correctly. I prefer the old type from years ago, but those are not available now.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Termite Detection and Killing Stakes (15-Count) -
from Altamonte Springs, Florida

Bate Stick Review

PostedJuly 22, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had a termite problem in my kitchen -- about 100 or so of the little pests were walking around in my kitchen every night. I bought the bate sticks for outside, in three days the population in my kitchen decreased by half. In a month, I had two or three. It's been 6 weeks, and the party is over in my kitchen! Yeah! No smell. No touching the poison. Purrrr-feck. I just put the sticks all around the termite-filled tree, and wha-lah!
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Termite Detection and Killing Stakes (15-Count) -

Seems to have worked well

PostedNovember 3, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought these after finding termites under a few logs in the back yard. (The alternative "pro" stakes were at least 4x expensive.) The included auger worked fine with my drill in relatively soft, moist soil. It might not go so well in clay or hard dry soil. I kept some small pieces of bait wood on the soil surface, and the termites disappeared within a week or so. I'm guessing the colonies were still pretty small, fortunately. No problem with rain despite some good downpours, and it helps that my soil is a little sandy and drains pretty well. It probably helps to pack the soil in underneath the stake cover and to make a slightly raised ring of soil around the hole to keep water out. And the indicators can pop up with only a little indication of termites eating the bait because they will eat the interior first. So you might just see a one or two tunnels into the cardboard. I had two stakes that were almost completely eaten. The main con is that their recommended lifetime is just one year in the ground.
I actually got a 5-pack first to see if they would get any action, and they certainly did. So I then bought the 15-pack as a follow-up in the same areas and to put a row along the house on the side were the termites were (about 30-40 ft from the house). So far no obvious activity on the new stakes (visual inspection, too). Overall definitely cheaper than a single call to an exterminator.
Pros: Easy to Install, effective (at least for small infestation)
Cons: one-year deployment lifetime
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Termite Detection and Killing Stakes (15-Count) -
from Anaheim, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I like this.

PostedJune 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Yes it works very well with DYI termite control. Need to be able to drill about 1 ft. into the ground. Use the bit provided with an electric drill.
Pros: Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Termite Detection and Killing Stakes (15-Count) -

i have used this product for 4 yrs and no termites in house

PostedMarch 20, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
product was ready to pickup at customer service desk when i arrived
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.