728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Residential Gas or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 40 gal. Tall 6 Year 36,000 BTU Natural Gas Water Heater - DISCONTINUED

40 gal. Tall 6 Year 36,000 BTU Natural Gas Water Heater - DISCONTINUED

The GE 40-gal. 36,000 BTU Natural Gas Water Heater has a Low-NOx burner that delivers 36,000 BTUs, reduces emissions and offers long-lasting energy efficiency. The heater's Piezo ignition system saves you the effort and hazard of lighting matches, and its maintenance-free combustion air intake means there are no filters to clean and replace. The SmartShield sensor system has an exclusive air/fuel shut-off device that helps prevent the ignition of flammable vapors outside the water heater to enhance your safety.
Overall rating:
3.863 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(117 reviews) 117
Open Ratings Snapshot
76%of customersrecommend this product82 of 108reviews
Rating Breakdown 117 reviews
3.9 out of 5.0
5
(55)
4
(31)
3
(8)
2
(6)
1
(17)
Ease of installation 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Quality 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
76%of customersrecommend this product82 of 108reviews
Customer questions and answers:
59 Questions | 113 Answers
Customer reviews for 40 gal. Tall 6 Year 36,000 BTU Natural Gas Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
Review 1 for 40 gal. Tall 6 Year 36,000 BTU Natural Gas Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
Dubbya
from Chicago
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

I am noticing a trend

PostedJanuary 9, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
SO I am a licensed plumber and decided to put one of these in my own home. The first one came with some dents and scratches, Home Depot replaced with out any problems. The replacement has been in my house for more than 6 years and I have had to replace the dip tube a couple times. The issue with the dip tube is the quality of water going into the heater. If you have poor quality water the dip tube deteriorates quicker as does the anode rod. I see some complaints about the hot water running out quickly by some of you so I suggest changing the dip tubes on your units. Also get your water tested.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, No Leaks
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 40 gal. Tall 6 Year 36,000 BTU Natural Gas Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
Id1dthat
from Texas, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Ease of install and Workmanship Excellent

PostedJuly 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Every feature "Relief Valve, Ignition system...etc" except my home had (2) 50 gal. water heaters the replacements were 40 gals made great replacements.. I installed them myself which was a first for me. Success with both installations..
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks, plumbing dept support asistance
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+21points
27out of 33found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 40 gal. Tall 6 Year 36,000 BTU Natural Gas Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
Anonymous
from columbus,oh
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

buyer beware

PostedNovember 25, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Went to home depo today and bought this water heater but it in and the pressure relief valve was broken (stuck open ). Called GE and got the run around !!! I had to talk to 4 different people to see if they could send me a new valve. I'll just go back to home depo in the morning and get new valve
Cons: Leaks
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Response from By GE AnswersNovember 27, 2013By GE AnswersNovember 27, 2013
Hi-this is Sue from GE. We are so sorry to hear of this issue with the pressure relief valve and apologize for any inconvenience this caused you. We encourage you to contact our experts at the GE Water Heater Line- 1-800-431-1549 (Monday-Saturday 8AM to 8PM EST, Sunday 9AM to 4:30PM EST). They are tasked with assisting in restoring your hot water service quickly and efficiently. We hope this is helpful. Thanks for checking with us.GE_Appliances
Review 4 for 40 gal. Tall 6 Year 36,000 BTU Natural Gas Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
KJMM
from Bensalem, PA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Won't honor warranty

PostedNovember 18, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Just take a minute to google GE water heater warranty, or GE water heater class action and you will learn all you need to know about the quality of these and the service that stands behind it. Don't take my word for it, there are hundreds of people out there reporting their stories.
My warranty was voided because I had the unit removed rather than let it continue to leak until their call center opened Monday morning.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: poor cust svc
+27points
30out of 33found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 40 gal. Tall 6 Year 36,000 BTU Natural Gas Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
csdphd
from Elmhurst, IL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

21 months old and water accumulates on the floor below the base and leaks to the drain

PostedOctober 25, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have had my GE gas hot water heater 21 months, and it has started developing a puddle of water on the floor, below the base (about several cups of water), after we shower. I contacted GE (Rheem) and they say this is normal. If you don't mind water on the floor below your hot water heater when you shower, get a GE (Rheem) gas hot water heater. Our puddle is about a 4 foot stream that's about 4 to 6 inches wide. If it didn't empty into our basement drain, there would be even more water on the floor. You could splash in it, and GE (Rheem) says it's because of condensate. The sides of the tank are completely dry. If you're a fan of condensate on your floor, then you should get this hot water heater. If not, avoid it. I hired a handyman to install the tank, so I cannot comment on ease of installation. It does provide consistent hot water.
Cons: Leaks
+18points
19out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 40 gal. Tall 6 Year 36,000 BTU Natural Gas Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
AggieJoe
from Bryan, TX
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Broke twice in two years

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased this item just over two years ago. The pilot light went out and didn't turn back on two days after purchase. Because I had recently purchased it Whirlpool covered the replacement parts and the labor, but my family still went several days without hot water. It broke again two years and eight days later. This time the parts were free, but shipping($30) and labor($100+) are out of pocket. They offered me free 5-10 day shipping, but what family can go 5-10 days without hot water? The management at Home Depot was very apologetic and made concessions, but I'd advise against the product.
Cons: poor warranty
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 40 gal. Tall 6 Year 36,000 BTU Natural Gas Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
RichB

It does what it's supposed to do well

PostedJune 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
There's not much to say other than this water heater does what it's supposed to do, has a good price and is as easy to install as any. As for the gentleman that's only getting 6-8 minutes of hot water after 2 years check the dip tube, it's most likely broken off and GE will probably replace it for free. The dip tube pushes the intake water down to the bottom so it doesn't mix with the hot water at that naturally rises to the top. If it's broken then the cold and hot mix together and your hot water won't last long.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, No Leaks
+37points
38out of 39found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 40 gal. Tall 6 Year 36,000 BTU Natural Gas Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
NIGHTSTALKER
from Las Vegas, NV, USA

Super easy installation

PostedJuly 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this 6 year gas water heater an installed it in 2004. It lasted 9 years before it started leaking. Replaced it this past weekend with identical model. Install was super easy and I did it myself in 1.5 hrs. The only complaint I have is this. When you light the pilot light with the Piezo igniter, make sure you get on your knees and look high up into the viewing glass. Thats the only way you will see if the burner/pilot light has ignited properly or not. I could not confirm that the burner had ignited because I was not looking up high enough thru the viewing glass to confirm the pilot light was lit. Called the 800 GE service number and they walked me thru it with no problems. So far...water heater is working great! Highly recommended.
Pros: Easy to Install
+24points
26out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 40 gal. Tall 6 Year 36,000 BTU Natural Gas Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
Homeowner

You get what you pay for

PostedJanuary 19, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Reviews are all over the place on this product. Makes you wonder whatever happened to quality control. Ours will be 2 years old in June. There are two adults in this house and we can't take showers in the same hour anymore without water temperature fluctuation. I raised the temp on the unit but that doesn't help and I really don't like setting the temp much higher than 120. Why do I have to now? What's changed? GE used to be a reliable brand. This unit has a GE label on it but made by Rheem--where?
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 40 gal. Tall 6 Year 36,000 BTU Natural Gas Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
Bob1
from Macedonia, OH, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

6 year warranty - Really 1 Be Careful

PostedSeptember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I you are using this for anything oter than a house - don't. Even then would reconsider. I installed this into a business with 3 baths (no more than a normal house) and in a clean environment - still referred to as "Commercial". It ruptured 2 weeks after the 1 year warranty and ruined part of my ceiling. Now I get to pay for a ceiling AND a new Tank.
Cons: Leaks, 1 year warraanty for anything but a single family
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 40 gal. Tall 6 Year 36,000 BTU Natural Gas Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
RamMan
from Phoenix, AZ, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Overall I Am Very Happy!

PostedOctober 15, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Like most of the reviews of this unit, I tend to agree. For the price of the water heater, it was very easy to install and light. Just make sure you look far enough into the little window to see the flame. At first I was only looking down at it and expecting to see a spark or something. I had good luck and didn't have any water or gas leaks first attempt. Heated the water quickly and is working well now...
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+25points
25out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 40 gal. Tall 6 Year 36,000 BTU Natural Gas Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
nickname
from Wisconsin
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good price for a 6 year warranty

PostedNovember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Replaced an AO Smith standard 40 that lasted over 10 years with a GE 40 tall so took a little work but used the sharkbite quick connects and was able to reuse the current gas hookup so not hard to install. The GE has been running for 30 days and no issues.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, No Leaks
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 40 gal. Tall 6 Year 36,000 BTU Natural Gas Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
poppi
from Texas, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

reliable

PostedOctober 15, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It works well. Does what it should, heats water. I have a family of 4. No issues what so ever.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 40 gal. Tall 6 Year 36,000 BTU Natural Gas Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
whatevs
from Cleveland, Ohio

Easy install, would recommend

PostedJanuary 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Only hiccup was trying to get the pilot light lit. I purchased the installation kit as well, which made everything pretty straight forward and simple. Counting moving it down a rather steep set of basement steps and removal of my old water heater, total time was under 2 hours working at a leisurely pace.
I'm not sure what I did wrong the first try, if anything, but I had to wait a few minutes after trying to light the pilot. As long as you follow the directions, I'd say don't panic and just keep trying.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 40 gal. Tall 6 Year 36,000 BTU Natural Gas Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
fromOhio
from columbus, OH

Model GG40T06AVG01

PostedFebruary 1, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this unit and installed it 12-31-10. The tenant complained that she had hot water for only 10-12 min. I called GE and they said that that is the way it is designed. The folks at Home Depot we good enough to exchange it for the same model. Got it installed with the same results. I talked to another plumber and he said that maybe the dip tube was not installed in that manufacturing run. He took it apart and there was a dip tube, all 2 feet of it. Can't believe that GE would do this to save a few pennies.
You may want to pull the dip tube out and inspect it before you install this model. No more GE products for me.
+23points
25out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 40 gal. Tall 6 Year 36,000 BTU Natural Gas Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
EDDIE
from KENNER,LA

GE 40 GAL GAS WATER HEATER

PostedAugust 10, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
GOT 5 YRS AND 7 MONTHS OUT OF THIS MODEL,6 YR. WARRANTY,STARTED LEAKING THANK GOODNESS I HAD A CATCH PAN UNDER IT. CALLED GE AND WITHOUT ANY TROUBLE SENT ME BACK TO HOME DEPOT FOR A EVEN EXCHANGE EVEN THOUGH THE PRICE INCREASED BY $59.00.FROM THE ORGINIAL DATE OF PURCHASE. THANKS TO GE SUPPORT AND HOME DEPOT FOR A NO HASSLE EXCHANGE.....
+30points
30out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 40 gal. Tall 6 Year 36,000 BTU Natural Gas Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
oldcarnut
from San Diego, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

works real good

PostedJune 29, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Hauled it home, had a plumber install it. (it had to be lifted up 2 feet to go into an enclosure) It installed as it should. Lit after the gas got to it. No leaks or any other problems. Heats water real fast and works just fine. Good, low priced water heater.
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 40 gal. Tall 6 Year 36,000 BTU Natural Gas Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
GranV
from Nebraska, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

The price for this product was very reasonable. GE is a brand that I have always had good luck with in the past.

PostedMarch 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great discounts offered on this product from home Depot. It is comforting to buy a name brand such as G E and get such a good deal. GE is a quality product I have used in my home for years. As always shopping at Home Depot is never a bad experience but always good. Customers can get the help needed with any questions they might have because of the knowledgeable agents in every department.
Pros: Easy to Install, well built
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 40 gal. Tall 6 Year 36,000 BTU Natural Gas Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
POPPY
from Spring City, Tennessee

Manufactured 1998

PostedFebruary 5, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was just watching This Old House and they were replacing a gas water heater. Failed after seven years, six year warranty. So I decided to check mine. I have this heater model #GG40T6A and it was mfg in 1998 and has not failed yet. I am on well water and use a whole house filter. I hook up a water hose to the drain once per year and flush the tank. There were three of us for seven years and my son has been gone for the last six. So just me and my wife now. Two showers every night and four loads of laundry each week. I think thirteen years is great and I expect to replace it soon with another just like it. I am extreemly satisfied.
+18points
20out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 40 gal. Tall 6 Year 36,000 BTU Natural Gas Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
SamB
from Evansville, IN, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Exact same unit as many other brands. Better value.

PostedJanuary 28, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
When we found we had water on the laundry room floor,I knew the old water heater had finally sprung a leak. After exaustive online and in-store shopping,my wife and I discovered that this heater is actually made in Mexico under a variety of brands,licensed by Rheem. The various different brands also had an amazing range of prices. Home Depot had the best price and had it in stock for a hassle-free purchase. We are pleased with the ease of installation and the ease of lighting it,compared to our old one,lit with a match! We'd purchase one of these again without hesitation.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks, exceptionally easy to light, good tank insulation, fit where our old 30 gal was
Cons: none
+22points
31out of 40found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>