728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Outdoor Security Lighting or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 150-Degree Outdoor Motion-Sensing Security Light

150-Degree Outdoor Motion-Sensing Security Light

The Heath Zenith 150-Degree Outdoor Motion-Sensing Security Light offers multi-zone protection with a detection range up to 70 ft. or 6,400 sq. ft. It has a selectable light timer with daylight shut-off and manual override. Adjustable sensitivity and pulse-count technology help eliminate false triggering.
Overall rating:
3.818 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(44 reviews) 44
Open Ratings Snapshot
77%of customersrecommend this product33 of 43reviews
Rating Breakdown 44 reviews
3.8 out of 5.0
5
(21)
4
(13)
3
(0)
2
(1)
1
(9)
Appearance 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Quality 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
77%of customersrecommend this product33 of 43reviews
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer reviews for 150-Degree Outdoor Motion-Sensing Security Light
Review 1 for 150-Degree Outdoor Motion-Sensing Security Light

excellent performing device. easy to install, easy to adjust

PostedJune 5, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I'm an electronic technician and know the original product from Heath/Zenith... this is the same unit. There are enough controls to make this perform "just" the way you'de like it (I leave mine in the "test" mode, and use it for an annunciator on the front porch. I can see the lights through the living room window). This particular unit is extreamly easy to hook-up/install. The mounting hardware is very easy to put up. And... the adjustments to allign the lights and the sensor head are very easy to adjust!
The most diffacult part of the job is finding where I last left the step ladder.
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 150-Degree Outdoor Motion-Sensing Security Light
from San Jose, CA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Motion Sensing Light

PostedJanuary 29, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought this to replace a light that came with the house whose socket that had gone bad. Installation was a snap, you just install the interior bracket with two screws supplied, put some silicone attach the rubber gasket and screw in main light with one screw and put the cap on.
Put in 2 x 120W flood light bulbs also purchased at home depot for $5.48 and throw the switch, wallah it works as expected. You can angle the bulbs by turning metal washer, you should have them hang down 30 degree to avoid water getting into electrical connection
These also come with 10 year warranty which is nice, hold onto the receipt
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 150-Degree Outdoor Motion-Sensing Security Light
from Turner oregon

bad motion sensor

PostedDecember 3, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought the above motion sensing light , worked great for about 18 months then quit. checked and replaced bulbs still no go. It cost as much to replace the sensor as it does to buy a brand new unit. Great value , isn't it.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 150-Degree Outdoor Motion-Sensing Security Light
from Ohio
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good so far

PostedDecember 7, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Only been using for close to 2 weeks, cost was about $21.95 from Home Depot.
Good sensor range, not over sensitive (not coming on when it rains) has test, 1, 5, I believe 10 and 20min, settings, I only use the 1min. setting...so far so good
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 150-Degree Outdoor Motion-Sensing Security Light
from LK, FL

Easy to install, works fine and good price!!

PostedJanuary 18, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Hi,
Thanks for reading this review.
Basically I bought this set for my front yard. It took me least than an hour to install this set to a already available spot and wires. No wiring had to be done on my side. Plus, I am not an electrician. So everybody can but it and install it by your own.
The thing I like the most is the sensitiveness of the sensors. They turned on no matter where you stand. Very good. This also will not turn on in the daylight. Save you money and provide you the feeling of safeness.
Note: Make sure to buy the float lights. It does NOT come in the package.
Thanks and happy lighting.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 150-Degree Outdoor Motion-Sensing Security Light
from CANDLER, NC

VERY GOOD ITEM!!

PostedApril 30, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I WOULD JUST LIKE TO SAY THAT FOR THE MONEY, WHEN ONE IS ON A BUGET AND WHO ISN'T, THIS 150-DEGREE OUTDOOR MOTION-SENSING SECURITY LIGHT WAS A PERFECT PROBLEM SOLVER FOR ME! VERY EASY TO INSTALL AND WORKS VERY GOOD FOR WHEN PEOPLE WALK INTO YOUR YARD AT NIGHT AND IT DETECTS THEM AS THEY COME IN, NOT AFTER THE FACT! I ONLY GAVE IT A FOUR AS I WISH I HAD BOUGHT A 180-DEGREE INSTEAD! I'M VERY PLEASED, MR. ELMORE.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 150-Degree Outdoor Motion-Sensing Security Light
from Kirkland, WA

Perfect light

PostedJanuary 30, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Super easy to install and configure. For the price this is a great light. Just leave turn the switch on and leave it be. Light does not turn on during the day and the time that the light stays on is adjustable.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 150-Degree Outdoor Motion-Sensing Security Light

Best item for the price

PostedMarch 22, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought two of these to replace two existing sensor lights, they work great and install same as all standard lighting fixtures.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 150-Degree Outdoor Motion-Sensing Security Light
from New Jersey!!!!

Worked for a few hours

PostedMarch 13, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Not recommended. This unit was installed by an electrician. It worked for several hours of testing and then started turning on and off regardless of any changes to the settings. I read this was a symptom and did as the directions said, but it did not work. Therefore, I will be purchasing a different unit from a different company. Hopefully one that was built in the U.S.A.! I love Home Depot!!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 150-Degree Outdoor Motion-Sensing Security Light
from Tennessee

White Motion Sensor Security Light

PostedSeptember 25, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I thought these white motion sensor security lights might be hard to put up but they were a breeze and worked the first time I tried them. I don't know why I didn't buy this a long time ago. Everyone said that these security lights were too expensive which is wrong. I feel so dumb that I didn't buy these a long time ago. These were not expensive at all. Plus, they look great!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 150-Degree Outdoor Motion-Sensing Security Light
from Dunnellon, FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

eASY TO INSTALL AS A REPLACEMENT APPLIANCE

PostedJune 19, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
WOULD BUY AGAIN FOR ANOTHER INSTALLATION. Performs as advertised
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 150-Degree Outdoor Motion-Sensing Security Light

Good Product I would buy another one.

PostedJanuary 24, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I needed a guick fix to a light over my garage that went out and this one filled the bill it was easy to install.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 150-Degree Outdoor Motion-Sensing Security Light
from nh

Great Product

PostedMarch 30, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a great product I just purchased 2 for my home and they work great. Very easy to install and all you do is leave the switch on and enjoy the light when you get home without tripping over things trying to find the switch.
Very happy with this product.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 150-Degree Outdoor Motion-Sensing Security Light
from Myrtle Beach, SC

A great motion sensor light

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We placed this on the corner of the back of our new house. It works great, turns on when anything crosses in front of it. A great light.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 150-Degree Outdoor Motion-Sensing Security Light
from sacramento ca

Heath Zenith outdoor security light

PostedFebruary 6, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Works well, fairly easy to install. Auto mode is easily bypassed by flipping the lightswitch off and on again. Nice feature. Daylight sensor works well. Keep in mind bulbs are almost as much as this unit. Also has a flashing red led on sensor.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 150-Degree Outdoor Motion-Sensing Security Light
from New Jersey

Good deal, good quality

PostedOctober 19, 2006
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Pleased with quality of fixture, liked thoughtfulness of having included a temporary hanger to hold fixture on junction box while wiring. Only drawback is photocell is located on bottom of sensor, headlights stop lights from coming on when pulling up.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 150-Degree Outdoor Motion-Sensing Security Light
from Humboldt, TN

Excellent Product

PostedNovember 14, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I just purchased a replacement a week ago. The last one did the job for almost 10 years. As long as they keep making them, I will come back to them when needed.
Here's to another 10 years of good service!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 150-Degree Outdoor Motion-Sensing Security Light
from Atlanta, GA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Not a good light to purchase if you are a traveler because you have to be home to turn the light

PostedNovember 23, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Light was installed by a electrician and I was disappointed to discover that you have to daily "manually" turn the light back on at night. Not a good light to purchase if you are a traveler because you have to be home to turn the light on and off to activate at night.
+2points
7out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 150-Degree Outdoor Motion-Sensing Security Light
from CLARKSVILLE, TEXAS
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

More than what meets the eye

PostedFebruary 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have six (6) of these motion sensors connected in series in my shop. They are above each door. I have also connected an alarm / siren in the wiring in the motion sensors. The lights and alarm / siren have separate circuit breakers switches. When any motion sensor is activated all of the other lights go on as well as the alarm / siren.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 150-Degree Outdoor Motion-Sensing Security Light
from silver springs fl

better than most other brands

PostedSeptember 26, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
just put it up 'works great
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>