728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 1540 CFM Power Gable Mount Vent in Mill

1540 CFM Power Gable Mount Vent in Mill

Master Flow Gable Mount Attic Ventilators are a great choice for exhaust ventilation. They are the easiest power vent to install and won't detract from the appearance of your roof. They can quickly remove a larger volume of hot and/or humid air from your attic, compared to static ventilation and can save you money on your heating and cooling costs. The PG2, Power Gable Mount Vent in Mill Finish can move air at a rate of up to 1540 cu. ft. per minutes. The recommended attic size for peak performance is 2400 sq. ft.
Overall rating:
4.195 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(87 reviews) 87
Open Ratings Snapshot
86%of customersrecommend this product73 of 85reviews
Rating Breakdown 87 reviews
4.2 out of 5
5
(53)
4
(18)
3
(3)
2
(6)
1
(7)
Quality 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
86%of customersrecommend this product73 of 85reviews
Customer reviews for 1540 CFM Power Gable Mount Vent in Mill
Review 1 for 1540 CFM Power Gable Mount Vent in Mill
from Dillsburg PA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Love it! Glad I made the purchase

PostedMay 8, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Our old gable fan died. Of course i came looking here online first. I read reviews. there were enough to make me want to get it.
It installed in just a few minutes and was up and running. 3 weeks later it's doing great. I can barely hear it in my bedroom which is just below that section of the attic.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1540 CFM Power Gable Mount Vent in Mill
from Key West, FL 33040, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

great value

PostedOctober 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Works well with the auto open shutters. Thermostat works perfectly. Relatively quiet. Moves a lot of air. A must for keeping the attic cool, especially during the summers here in key west. I recommend this fan. It makes a huge difference in temperature control in my 800 sq ft house. The attic is 20 x 40 with a low pitch. The fan pulls the air through nicely in conjunction with a small vent at the opposite end. For the money it's a winner.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Great Value, Economical, Reliable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1540 CFM Power Gable Mount Vent in Mill
from Sunnyvale, CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very Quiet, easy to install

PostedMay 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I installed 2 to vent a 2000 sq. ft. attic. Much quieter than my old fans, one of which might be the same brand. About half the current draw of old fans. To install the fan is less than 30 min. If your opening is the right size and you have power from an old fan. I did have to add a 2 by 4 brace as my louvered openings were to big to mount the fan, again about a 30 min job. Helps keep house 20 deg cooler than outside at 2pm and we have no AC, just the natural one that comes on every night from the Pacific Ocean.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Economical
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1540 CFM Power Gable Mount Vent in Mill
from san antonio
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

great product

PostedJune 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
this unit replaced a previous one that lasted 9.5 yrs in south texas.
Pros: Easy to Install, Great Value, Economical, Reliable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1540 CFM Power Gable Mount Vent in Mill

well made . Very easy to install.

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Very easy to install. Appears to be good quantity.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1540 CFM Power Gable Mount Vent in Mill
from Utah

Attic Fan Model PG 2

PostedJuly 18, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This took a while to install, not the fault of the fan's manufacturing but the cheap builder who installed vents but didn't remove enough subwall (plywood sheating) for the vent to work. I had to cut about a two square feet of sheating to unblock the vent (used a jigsaw). This took an hour or more to complete - it was getting hot. With that aside, several tips for installing this fan or any other attic fan is to make certain, if you build a frame, make it solid. I used 2x4 and joint brackets to hold it together; reinforced with 90 degree shelf brackets (4) inside the frame. Next step is to make sure the factory screws, fan motor to housing, are tight. Two of them in my case were loose.
Finally installing the mounting tabs, metal to metal, might amplify hum, so I used some heavy duty, thick vinyl tool box liner material between tabs and fan housing and folded it over and held in place with the screws. Rubber grommets might be more useful and last longer but that meant another trip to the store, some miles away.
I spliced electrical connections in the fan box before going to the attic, carried the frame w/attached fan and spliced wire leads to the attic. Using three inch lag bolts, I drilled and secured frame to the attic studs, tapped into an electrical circuit, attached the thermostat and turned on the power. I set the thermostat to come on at 95 degrees.
Suggested shopping list: Rubber grommets for mounting tabs to fan housing; Perhaps 4 grommets between wood frame and attic studs (your call) 14/2 wire, electrical light switch (if you plan on using one), 2.5 to 3.0 inch lag bolts - minimum of 4 perhaps 5 (depending on your mounting format); one for each mounting point (maybe one in center if needed).
Start early in the AM before the attic heat rises; do all wiring, framing etc. before entering the attic. Install and exit.
It's been in a week and when it's on, it is quiet. My ceiling fans noiser than the attic fan. I may repeat this for the other end of my attic since part of a load bearing stud is centered over the builder installed vent.
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1540 CFM Power Gable Mount Vent in Mill
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Great Product - works as advertised

PostedAugust 21, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I'm installing two of these at one end of my attic each with a Master Flow 20 in. Power Gable Vent Shutter that automatically opens when the fan turns on. I'm going to install two regular gable vents at the other end of the attic so that air gets drawn in at one end of the attic and blows out the other end. This should provide a great cooling effect for the house. The fan is easy to install. You just build a 2x4 frame in the wall for it to mount onto. I built a frame that matched the size of the opening for the power gable vent then installed some extra blocks inside that opening to attach the fan to. It has four mounting flanges, two at each side. I'd recommend putting the fan on a separate circuit from anything else and having a switch in the circuit to be able to turn the fan off in the winter and isolate it if you need to work on or near it in the attic. You don't want to be in the attic near this fan when it's operating !!
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1540 CFM Power Gable Mount Vent in Mill

Very Good as expected.

PostedAugust 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased this fan to replace a previously purchase model that had failed. (Bad Bearing)
The 1540 CFM Power Gable Mount Vent in Mill fit right in place of the old model. It runs well. Thermostat is a little off, but with a minor adjustment it is going to work fine. Glad I chose this one.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Great Value, Economical
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1540 CFM Power Gable Mount Vent in Mill
from Tampa, FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Products are performing as expected; cooling our Florida attic

PostedSeptember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Repaet purchase. Earlier fans lasted 9 years. Product was easy to install even in a +100 degree attic. Mounting bracket could be an inch longer to enable more flexibility in mounting.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1540 CFM Power Gable Mount Vent in Mill
from Redwood City, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice and quiet; easy installation

PostedJune 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Like the earlier reviewer, I was replacing an older gable mount fan which was noisy and eventually stopped working. This one is quieter and more compact (less deep) than the old one, but fortunately the diameter was the same ~16".
One thing I like about this MasterFlow PG2 is that rather than four mounting brackets at 12/3/6/9 o'clock, it has them at roughly 10/2/4/8 o'clock. This made for easier mounting (all four mounting ears got screwed into a stud) than the old one.
Note: Installation requires some experience working with Romex® cable etc. -- you need to supply your own wire nuts and a Romex clamp. Fortunately I had these from the previous installation. You also need to have studs at the Right Spacing for the fan, and you need to supply your own fasteners.
About value: I like the $84 for 1540cfm. The 1600cfm fan (PG3) was $112: almost $30 for another 60cfm.
Pros: Easy to Install, Quiet, Great Value
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1540 CFM Power Gable Mount Vent in Mill

perfect

PostedJune 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I read other reviews about this fan being a little noisy. NOT. This fan was super easy to install and being above my bedroom I have to open the closet to make sure it's running. I bought the recommended automatic vent cover also. From start to finish took 2hrs. The A/C runs less than half the time it used to. We are about to install more of these in our barns.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1540 CFM Power Gable Mount Vent in Mill

Attic fan

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Seems like a good product. Relatively well-priced. Easy installation, good directions. One suggestion that would make it better would be to include a sort of extendable mounting bracket, something like what is used for recessed lighting cans, to go between studs instead of having to build extra mounting points.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Quiet, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1540 CFM Power Gable Mount Vent in Mill
from Texas

Nice Fan

PostedJuly 9, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Only installed few weeks ago but runs quietly, easy to install. My old one lasted 11 years, replaced it with this one.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1540 CFM Power Gable Mount Vent in Mill
from Olney, MD, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It's a Gable Fan and It Works

PostedAugust 7, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
What can I say, it's a gable fan and it works. I had to replace an existing unit that was about 15 years old that had stopped working. New unit had smaller mounting brackets, so I reused the old brackets which required doing a little drilling on the round casing, no big deal. New unit is quieter than the old unit, can't even hear it in bedroom directly below, and can only barely hear it outside in the yard under the gable.
Pros: Performs Well, Quiet
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1540 CFM Power Gable Mount Vent in Mill
from Pasadena, MD
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Great Value, Works Great

PostedJuly 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
easily installed and minimal electrical work. Fan is quiet, adjustable thermostat works well. If you aren't familiar with electric get help even if it costs a few dollars. It will be well worth it, safety first.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Quiet, Great Value, Easy to Clean, High Quality, Economical, Reliable
Cons: consider electrician if unfamliar with electric
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 1540 CFM Power Gable Mount Vent in Mill
from Redmond WA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Weekly

Wow! Awesome $84 well spent. Cool 2nd Floor in old Farmhouse!

PostedJuly 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have a 1914yr Farmhouse thats 3000sqft.. big rectangle. the house is minimmally insulated. (blown in insulation is only about 4" deep in the attic). I live in Redmond WA. this week temps are around 96deg F. weve got fans blowin like mad downstairs and a portable AC (9000btu) taking the edge off in the living room. (can hang moving blankets between rooms to isolate AC if need be) heck its only temporary. 2nd floor is HOT STUFFY HUMID uuugh! our 600sqft bedroom is up there. impossible to sleep....
so we bought another portable AC (9000btu again) for the bedroom. Sealed up the windows well, and let the AC Run. The AC is just chasin the heat.
I installed the gable mount fan.. tuned the thermostat to 100F. Bought a chunk of romex... black to black white to white ground to ground... tapped it right into an available source in the attic.
I come home today and the upstairs is about 15deg to 20deg cooler than yesterday!!!!!!!!!!!! ahhhhh saaaaweeeeeet!! the AC unit in the bedroom is cooling so much better... yesterday temp was 82 on the AC unit.. today its 75.. so 7deg difference in the bedroom...
BEST $84 BUCKS EVER SPENT! BUY ONE...SET THE THERMOSTAT AT 100F and set it an forget it!
i mean you can go up there and adjust the thermostat but im just gonna let it run till fall..when the temp in the attic is less than 100F.. it will just kick itself off anyways.
thats wazzup
do it
buy one
ah ya super quiet too
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Great Value, High Quality, Economical
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 1540 CFM Power Gable Mount Vent in Mill
from California, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Qreat price and quality product

PostedJuly 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Unit is very quiet and does a really good job for the price
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Quiet, Good Size & Weight, High Quality, Economical, Reliable, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 1540 CFM Power Gable Mount Vent in Mill
from San Gabriel, CA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Purchase frequency:Monthly

It's a great product

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This product is quite on scale 8/10. easy to install.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Quiet, Good Size & Weight, Good Shape, Great Value, Easy to Clean
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 1540 CFM Power Gable Mount Vent in Mill
from Bladensburg, Ohio
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Nice and quiet

PostedNovember 12, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I replaced a more expensive plastic unit purchased from a competitor with this nice metal unit, and I am thrilled by how quiet it is.
I could hear my old one clearly in my basement, I can not even hear this one in the room directly below where it is mounted.
It also seems to move more air, which I thought it would just looking at it.
It is a basic and simple design, sturdy and functional. I found the flexible conduit a little short , so I drilled a hole in the housing and routed the conduit through it to so it would be secured to my liking. Super easy to install.
It is everything I hoped it would be.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 1540 CFM Power Gable Mount Vent in Mill
from Glendale, AZ, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Best buy for attic in AZ

PostedAugust 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Why aren't homes aren't built with these fans?. Live in AZ temp reach 170 and above in attic. Bought 2 fans and already feel the change. Would I recommend this to a friend, oh not only a friend, but even my enemy. Best item I bought for my home since I moved in, light bill dropped by 30%, must have for your home.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Work With, Quiet, Good Size & Weight, High Quality, Economical, Reliable, Light Weight
Cons: Difficult to Install
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>