728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Attic Fans & Vents or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 1540 CFM Power Gable Mount Vent in Mill

1540 CFM Power Gable Mount Vent in Mill

Master Flow Gable Mount Attic Ventilators are a great choice for exhaust ventilation. They are the easiest power vent to install and won't detract from the appearance of your roof. They can quickly remove a larger volume of hot and/or humid air from your attic, compared to static ventilation and can save you money on your heating and cooling costs. The PG2, Power Gable Mount Vent in Mill finish can move air at a rate of up to 1540 cu. ft. per minutes. The recommended attic size for peak performance is 2400 sq. ft.
Overall rating:
4.18 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(100 reviews) 100
Open Ratings Snapshot
86%of customersrecommend this product84 of 98reviews
Rating Breakdown 100 reviews
4.2 out of 5
5
(59)
4
(22)
3
(5)
2
(6)
1
(8)
Quality 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
86%of customersrecommend this product84 of 98reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 3 Answers
Customer reviews for 1540 CFM Power Gable Mount Vent in Mill
Review 1 for 1540 CFM Power Gable Mount Vent in Mill
from Boise, Idaho

Good product!

PostedJuly 21, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Actually I did'nt buy this fan, my elderly neighbor did. I'd promised to install it for him if he bought one and in return all he needed to do was give me something to replace my sweat.
Having put a solar powered gable fan in our own attic years ago, he was envious when he saw how much we benefited from a reduced electric bill. He really wanted one but the solar type was more than he was willing to pay.
Installation was a breeze and it helps a lot to be prepared with everything you need in advance before entering the fiery temps in the attic. I was was hot, but fortunately I didn't have to climb very far to mount it and run the wiring. When I turned it on I didn't notice any vibration to speak of. and after closing up the attic crawlspace I couldn't even hear it running.
Not sure who got the better deal, my neighbor or me. The case of beer he bought me should replenish my sweat for at least a dozen or so fan installations.
+2points
9out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1540 CFM Power Gable Mount Vent in Mill

Very Good as expected.

PostedAugust 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased this fan to replace a previously purchase model that had failed. (Bad Bearing)
The 1540 CFM Power Gable Mount Vent in Mill fit right in place of the old model. It runs well. Thermostat is a little off, but with a minor adjustment it is going to work fine. Glad I chose this one.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Great Value, Economical
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1540 CFM Power Gable Mount Vent in Mill
from Madison, CT, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

The best fan for the money and it replaced a previous fan that lasted 15 years

PostedJune 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have used this fan before so why not buy an exact equal for replacement. The new fan features make it easy to mount since I had to stand on a ladder in my garage open attic area.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Quiet, Good Size & Weight, Great Value, Lots of Features, High Quality, Economical, Reliable, Light Weight
Cons: none
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1540 CFM Power Gable Mount Vent in Mill
from Pasadena, MD
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Great Value, Works Great

PostedJuly 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
easily installed and minimal electrical work. Fan is quiet, adjustable thermostat works well. If you aren't familiar with electric get help even if it costs a few dollars. It will be well worth it, safety first.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Quiet, Great Value, Easy to Clean, High Quality, Economical, Reliable
Cons: consider electrician if unfamliar with electric
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1540 CFM Power Gable Mount Vent in Mill

Best attic fan on the market

PostedJuly 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Unit was very easy to install and runs very quiet.
Pros: Easy to Install, Quiet, High Quality, Economical
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1540 CFM Power Gable Mount Vent in Mill
from Walnut Creek
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Purchase frequency:Yearly

I recommend

PostedAugust 21, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Looked at quite a few fans online. Pulled the trigger on this one. Arrived in a timely manner. Installation was fairly easy and it pulls plenty of air through my 1100 hundred square-foot house. Came with a thermostat installed. Much quieter than my previous one I can barely hear it from inside the house when it's running.
Pros: Easy to Install, Quiet, Economical
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1540 CFM Power Gable Mount Vent in Mill
from Bladensburg, Ohio
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Nice and quiet

PostedNovember 12, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I replaced a more expensive plastic unit purchased from a competitor with this nice metal unit, and I am thrilled by how quiet it is.
I could hear my old one clearly in my basement, I can not even hear this one in the room directly below where it is mounted.
It also seems to move more air, which I thought it would just looking at it.
It is a basic and simple design, sturdy and functional. I found the flexible conduit a little short , so I drilled a hole in the housing and routed the conduit through it to so it would be secured to my liking. Super easy to install.
It is everything I hoped it would be.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1540 CFM Power Gable Mount Vent in Mill
from Texas

Nice Fan

PostedJuly 9, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Only installed few weeks ago but runs quietly, easy to install. My old one lasted 11 years, replaced it with this one.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1540 CFM Power Gable Mount Vent in Mill
from Olney, MD, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It's a Gable Fan and It Works

PostedAugust 7, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
What can I say, it's a gable fan and it works. I had to replace an existing unit that was about 15 years old that had stopped working. New unit had smaller mounting brackets, so I reused the old brackets which required doing a little drilling on the round casing, no big deal. New unit is quieter than the old unit, can't even hear it in bedroom directly below, and can only barely hear it outside in the yard under the gable.
Pros: Performs Well, Quiet
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1540 CFM Power Gable Mount Vent in Mill
from California, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Qreat price and quality product

PostedJuly 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Unit is very quiet and does a really good job for the price
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Quiet, Good Size & Weight, High Quality, Economical, Reliable, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1540 CFM Power Gable Mount Vent in Mill
from Talladega, AL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

This is a great unit if you don't want to cut a hole in your roof

PostedMarch 13, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I installed the unit in about a hour,it was easy to set up .The instructions were not as easy at first , mostly pic.Works great after you figure out whats is what.I also install a corded plug for the unit so I could plug it in a grounnd fault plug.I did'nt know it has a type of ground fault built in,so I didn't need the plug but used it any way.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1540 CFM Power Gable Mount Vent in Mill
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Works great

PostedMay 29, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Installed this with some 1/4 inch thick foam between the studs and bracket because people said it was kinda noisy. It's not. Another thing is I put a dimmer slider on the unit so I could adjust the speed as it's installed in a tuffshed used for a shop. Don't need it running at full speed all the time. Works great.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1540 CFM Power Gable Mount Vent in Mill
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Great Product - works as advertised

PostedAugust 21, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I'm installing two of these at one end of my attic each with a Master Flow 20 in. Power Gable Vent Shutter that automatically opens when the fan turns on. I'm going to install two regular gable vents at the other end of the attic so that air gets drawn in at one end of the attic and blows out the other end. This should provide a great cooling effect for the house. The fan is easy to install. You just build a 2x4 frame in the wall for it to mount onto. I built a frame that matched the size of the opening for the power gable vent then installed some extra blocks inside that opening to attach the fan to. It has four mounting flanges, two at each side. I'd recommend putting the fan on a separate circuit from anything else and having a switch in the circuit to be able to turn the fan off in the winter and isolate it if you need to work on or near it in the attic. You don't want to be in the attic near this fan when it's operating !!
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1540 CFM Power Gable Mount Vent in Mill
from Alabama, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Works as good as stated in ad

PostedAugust 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The fan works as advertised I bought it to replace an old fan that had quit working. Easy to swap out with the old one. Minimal noise from the fan. A/C unit seems to run less.
Pros: Performs Well
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1540 CFM Power Gable Mount Vent in Mill
from Pompano Beach, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Works as advertised

PostedAugust 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I am very happy with the product; it was easy to install and works great. I do not hear it running, the unit is very quite and runs smooth. The temperature in the attic is no longer extremely and I am able to go online to my electric company (FPL) and see my daily electric usage; my electric usage went done as soon as the unit was installed, the attic is cooler which means the A/C does not have to run as hard.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Quiet
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 1540 CFM Power Gable Mount Vent in Mill
from Highlands Ranch, CO, USA

Pretty happy . . . great product, easy install, seems to work well

PostedJuly 14, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My office on the 2nd floor of the house (south facing) gets pretty warm. We have a big whole house fan, which works awesome at night when it cools down, but during the hottest part of the day it's not an option and the A/C just doesn't keep the upstairs cool enough. Installed some additional insulation and a ceiling fan, which helped but still hotter than I'd like.
So I took a chance that a gable fan would be the next thing to try. Saw this and bought based on good reviews. Installed it yesterday in about 3 hours and it was pretty simple to do . . . seems to work really well too. Only took a couple hours to take the attic from 120+ down to the low 100's during mid day and cooled off more as the afternoon wore on. I installed a wireless thermometer so will keep an eye on it. Only reason it's not a top rating for quality was that the fan shroud was bent up on the inflow side and one blade was a little bent. Nothing I couldn't fix but would have preferred to see it less dinged up for a brand new product.
The upstairs was noticeably cooler yesterday--you didn't get that feeling as you got to the top of the stairs where the heat smacks you in the face. I may install another one of these in the attic above the garage where I have some storage and where some other rooms sit next to.
Pros: Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Great Value
Cons: fan was a bit dinged up & bent
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 1540 CFM Power Gable Mount Vent in Mill
from Tampa, FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Products are performing as expected; cooling our Florida attic

PostedSeptember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Repaet purchase. Earlier fans lasted 9 years. Product was easy to install even in a +100 degree attic. Mounting bracket could be an inch longer to enable more flexibility in mounting.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 1540 CFM Power Gable Mount Vent in Mill
from Woodbridge, VA 22193, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Weekly

Easy install and cannot hear below.

PostedJune 19, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy to install and quiet. Extremely satisfied. Thermostat control is great.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 1540 CFM Power Gable Mount Vent in Mill

Good product

PostedAugust 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The fan was fairly easy to install, works well, hums quietly and smoothly. Does good job. Highly recommend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 1540 CFM Power Gable Mount Vent in Mill
from Hephzibah, GA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Excellent Value and workmanship

PostedJune 26, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This,is the second gable mount vint that I have purchased from Home Depot. The first one was to replace one purhased from sears that lasted about two years. The replacement has being going and going. The new one was installed in a new utility building to keep the heat down inside the building. It is working fine.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>