728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 1540 CFM Power Gable Mount Vent in Mill

1540 CFM Power Gable Mount Vent in Mill

Master Flow Gable mount attic ventilators are a great choice for exhaust ventilation. They are the easiest power vent to install and won't detract from the appearance of your roof. They remove the greatest volume of hot and/or humid air from your attic, saving you more in heating and cooling costs than any other type of ventilation.
Overall rating:
4.253 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(83 reviews) 83
Open Ratings Snapshot
88%of customersrecommend this product71 of 81reviews
Rating Breakdown 83 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(52)
4
(17)
3
(3)
2
(5)
1
(6)
Quality 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
88%of customersrecommend this product71 of 81reviews
Customer reviews for 1540 CFM Power Gable Mount Vent in Mill
Review 1 for 1540 CFM Power Gable Mount Vent in Mill
from Bladensburg, Ohio
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Nice and quiet

PostedNovember 12, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I replaced a more expensive plastic unit purchased from a competitor with this nice metal unit, and I am thrilled by how quiet it is.
I could hear my old one clearly in my basement, I can not even hear this one in the room directly below where it is mounted.
It also seems to move more air, which I thought it would just looking at it.
It is a basic and simple design, sturdy and functional. I found the flexible conduit a little short , so I drilled a hole in the housing and routed the conduit through it to so it would be secured to my liking. Super easy to install.
It is everything I hoped it would be.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1540 CFM Power Gable Mount Vent in Mill
from Tampa, FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Products are performing as expected; cooling our Florida attic

PostedSeptember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Repaet purchase. Earlier fans lasted 9 years. Product was easy to install even in a +100 degree attic. Mounting bracket could be an inch longer to enable more flexibility in mounting.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1540 CFM Power Gable Mount Vent in Mill
from Petaluma, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy Installation, works fine so far

PostedJune 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I installed it yesterday. It was really simple.
I held my trouble light against the thermostat to test it and it worked perfectly.
Previous comments complained about the screws hitting the fan...not a problem, I just put notches in each of the fan blades so they could spin freely.
...Just kidding.
I guess MasterFlow fixed the issue. My screws were low profile so there was plenty of space.
I am happy with the fan and recommend it, especially at $84 (the price in June 2013).
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, it's light/easy to manage with one person
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1540 CFM Power Gable Mount Vent in Mill
from Madison, CT, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

The best fan for the money and it replaced a previous fan that lasted 15 years

PostedJune 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have used this fan before so why not buy an exact equal for replacement. The new fan features make it easy to mount since I had to stand on a ladder in my garage open attic area.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Quiet, Good Size & Weight, Great Value, Lots of Features, High Quality, Economical, Reliable, Light Weight
Cons: none
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1540 CFM Power Gable Mount Vent in Mill

Good price and hardly hear it

PostedJune 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Installed it without any issues and it runs really quietly. Barely hear it downstairs even without installing and noise dampers.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Quiet, Good Size & Weight, Economical, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1540 CFM Power Gable Mount Vent in Mill
from Redmond WA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Weekly

Wow! Awesome $84 well spent. Cool 2nd Floor in old Farmhouse!

PostedJuly 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have a 1914yr Farmhouse thats 3000sqft.. big rectangle. the house is minimmally insulated. (blown in insulation is only about 4" deep in the attic). I live in Redmond WA. this week temps are around 96deg F. weve got fans blowin like mad downstairs and a portable AC (9000btu) taking the edge off in the living room. (can hang moving blankets between rooms to isolate AC if need be) heck its only temporary. 2nd floor is HOT STUFFY HUMID uuugh! our 600sqft bedroom is up there. impossible to sleep....
so we bought another portable AC (9000btu again) for the bedroom. Sealed up the windows well, and let the AC Run. The AC is just chasin the heat.
I installed the gable mount fan.. tuned the thermostat to 100F. Bought a chunk of romex... black to black white to white ground to ground... tapped it right into an available source in the attic.
I come home today and the upstairs is about 15deg to 20deg cooler than yesterday!!!!!!!!!!!! ahhhhh saaaaweeeeeet!! the AC unit in the bedroom is cooling so much better... yesterday temp was 82 on the AC unit.. today its 75.. so 7deg difference in the bedroom...
BEST $84 BUCKS EVER SPENT! BUY ONE...SET THE THERMOSTAT AT 100F and set it an forget it!
i mean you can go up there and adjust the thermostat but im just gonna let it run till fall..when the temp in the attic is less than 100F.. it will just kick itself off anyways.
thats wazzup
do it
buy one
ah ya super quiet too
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Great Value, High Quality, Economical
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1540 CFM Power Gable Mount Vent in Mill

Best attic fan on the market

PostedJuly 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Unit was very easy to install and runs very quiet.
Pros: Easy to Install, Quiet, High Quality, Economical
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1540 CFM Power Gable Mount Vent in Mill

Low noice, good performance.

PostedAugust 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this fan to replace my old fan. For past two weeks I've been satisfied with it. It is easy to install, the great feature are the low noise and automatic on/off controlled by theromostat function.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Great Value
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1540 CFM Power Gable Mount Vent in Mill
from Chester, Va

Good fan at a good price

PostedApril 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The vent installed no problem. I used a video I found on the internet to basically box in the fan so that all the hot air is exhausted to the outside. I disassembled the fan itself and was surprised to find that it was a pretty solid device. The 'sleeve bushing/bearing' appears to have a good quality grease. I put a little automotive wheel bearing grease in also. I had done this to the fan I installed in our old house when that fan started squealing real badly. After that, it ran fine and is still running after 10+ years. This unit is extremely quiet. It is almost impossible to hear even while standing in the hallway directly below it. It is actually quieter than the air conditioner unit installed in the attic and that unit is very quiet.
Pros: Performs Well, Quiet, Great Value
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1540 CFM Power Gable Mount Vent in Mill
from Texas

Nice Fan

PostedJuly 9, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Only installed few weeks ago but runs quietly, easy to install. My old one lasted 11 years, replaced it with this one.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1540 CFM Power Gable Mount Vent in Mill
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Works great

PostedMay 29, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Installed this with some 1/4 inch thick foam between the studs and bracket because people said it was kinda noisy. It's not. Another thing is I put a dimmer slider on the unit so I could adjust the speed as it's installed in a tuffshed used for a shop. Don't need it running at full speed all the time. Works great.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1540 CFM Power Gable Mount Vent in Mill

Very Good as expected.

PostedAugust 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this fan to replace a previously purchase model that had failed. (Bad Bearing)
The 1540 CFM Power Gable Mount Vent in Mill fit right in place of the old model. It runs well. Thermostat is a little off, but with a minor adjustment it is going to work fine. Glad I chose this one.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Great Value, Economical
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1540 CFM Power Gable Mount Vent in Mill
from Graham, NC
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Installed and seems to be working fine

PostedMay 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Installed in about 1 hour. Very easy 2 wire hook up. For the price cheapest there is and does 1500+ sq ft. Comes with thermostat control which was not in description, but is a big plus. Seem well built from steel not cheap plastic. I'd recommend it to anyone needing a new attic fan. It is a little loud , but it is over our carport so I only hear it when I'm outside.
Pros: Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Great Value, High Quality, Economical, we'll built
Cons: Noisy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1540 CFM Power Gable Mount Vent in Mill
from san antonio
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

great product

PostedJune 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
this unit replaced a previous one that lasted 9.5 yrs in south texas.
Pros: Easy to Install, Great Value, Economical, Reliable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1540 CFM Power Gable Mount Vent in Mill
from Sacramento

These should be in every house!!!

PostedJune 26, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This item is awesome. It was very easy to install with just the basic knowledge of household wiring and everyday hand/power tools. Set the built-in thermostat (once it's installed) and forget it. It sucks the hot air from your attic and blows it on the neighors! LOL! It's very quiet, even when you are outside looking up at it. People swear by whole-house fans. But you have to wait for it to cool down outside in order to draw the cool air into your house. Great, but what if it never cools down? I say don't let the hot air build up in the first place. It pays for itself becuase I don't have to turn the A/C on until it gets to 100F+ here. Note, my install was made easier due to the power outlet being very close by to the vent I mounted the fan behind. A no-brainer idea/item.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 1540 CFM Power Gable Mount Vent in Mill
from Utah

Attic Fan Model PG 2

PostedJuly 18, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This took a while to install, not the fault of the fan's manufacturing but the cheap builder who installed vents but didn't remove enough subwall (plywood sheating) for the vent to work. I had to cut about a two square feet of sheating to unblock the vent (used a jigsaw). This took an hour or more to complete - it was getting hot. With that aside, several tips for installing this fan or any other attic fan is to make certain, if you build a frame, make it solid. I used 2x4 and joint brackets to hold it together; reinforced with 90 degree shelf brackets (4) inside the frame. Next step is to make sure the factory screws, fan motor to housing, are tight. Two of them in my case were loose.
Finally installing the mounting tabs, metal to metal, might amplify hum, so I used some heavy duty, thick vinyl tool box liner material between tabs and fan housing and folded it over and held in place with the screws. Rubber grommets might be more useful and last longer but that meant another trip to the store, some miles away.
I spliced electrical connections in the fan box before going to the attic, carried the frame w/attached fan and spliced wire leads to the attic. Using three inch lag bolts, I drilled and secured frame to the attic studs, tapped into an electrical circuit, attached the thermostat and turned on the power. I set the thermostat to come on at 95 degrees.
Suggested shopping list: Rubber grommets for mounting tabs to fan housing; Perhaps 4 grommets between wood frame and attic studs (your call) 14/2 wire, electrical light switch (if you plan on using one), 2.5 to 3.0 inch lag bolts - minimum of 4 perhaps 5 (depending on your mounting format); one for each mounting point (maybe one in center if needed).
Start early in the AM before the attic heat rises; do all wiring, framing etc. before entering the attic. Install and exit.
It's been in a week and when it's on, it is quiet. My ceiling fans noiser than the attic fan. I may repeat this for the other end of my attic since part of a load bearing stud is centered over the builder installed vent.
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 1540 CFM Power Gable Mount Vent in Mill
from Pasadena, MD
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Great Value, Works Great

PostedJuly 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
easily installed and minimal electrical work. Fan is quiet, adjustable thermostat works well. If you aren't familiar with electric get help even if it costs a few dollars. It will be well worth it, safety first.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Quiet, Great Value, Easy to Clean, High Quality, Economical, Reliable
Cons: consider electrician if unfamliar with electric
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 1540 CFM Power Gable Mount Vent in Mill
from Georgia
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

The Power Gable Mount Vent has performed exactly as promised.

PostedSeptember 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We have been very satisfied with the Power Gable Mount Vent.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Economical
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 1540 CFM Power Gable Mount Vent in Mill
from Key West, FL 33040, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

great value

PostedOctober 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Works well with the auto open shutters. Thermostat works perfectly. Relatively quiet. Moves a lot of air. A must for keeping the attic cool, especially during the summers here in key west. I recommend this fan. It makes a huge difference in temperature control in my 800 sq ft house. The attic is 20 x 40 with a low pitch. The fan pulls the air through nicely in conjunction with a small vent at the opposite end. For the money it's a winner.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Great Value, Economical, Reliable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 1540 CFM Power Gable Mount Vent in Mill
from San Gabriel, CA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Purchase frequency:Monthly

It's a great product

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product is quite on scale 8/10. easy to install.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Quiet, Good Size & Weight, Good Shape, Great Value, Easy to Clean
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>