728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 1540 CFM Power Gable Mount Vent in Mill

1540 CFM Power Gable Mount Vent in Mill

Master Flow Gable mount attic ventilators are a great choice for exhaust ventilation. They are the easiest power vent to install and won't detract from the appearance of your roof. They remove the greatest volume of hot and/or humid air from your attic, saving you more in heating and cooling costs than any other type of ventilation.
Overall rating:
4.25 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(84 reviews) 84
Open Ratings Snapshot
88%of customersrecommend this product72 of 82reviews
Rating Breakdown 84 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(52)
4
(18)
3
(3)
2
(5)
1
(6)
Quality 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
88%of customersrecommend this product72 of 82reviews
Customer reviews for 1540 CFM Power Gable Mount Vent in Mill
Review 1 for 1540 CFM Power Gable Mount Vent in Mill
from Sacramento

These should be in every house!!!

PostedJune 26, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This item is awesome. It was very easy to install with just the basic knowledge of household wiring and everyday hand/power tools. Set the built-in thermostat (once it's installed) and forget it. It sucks the hot air from your attic and blows it on the neighors! LOL! It's very quiet, even when you are outside looking up at it. People swear by whole-house fans. But you have to wait for it to cool down outside in order to draw the cool air into your house. Great, but what if it never cools down? I say don't let the hot air build up in the first place. It pays for itself becuase I don't have to turn the A/C on until it gets to 100F+ here. Note, my install was made easier due to the power outlet being very close by to the vent I mounted the fan behind. A no-brainer idea/item.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1540 CFM Power Gable Mount Vent in Mill
from Utah

Attic Fan Model PG 2

PostedJuly 18, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This took a while to install, not the fault of the fan's manufacturing but the cheap builder who installed vents but didn't remove enough subwall (plywood sheating) for the vent to work. I had to cut about a two square feet of sheating to unblock the vent (used a jigsaw). This took an hour or more to complete - it was getting hot. With that aside, several tips for installing this fan or any other attic fan is to make certain, if you build a frame, make it solid. I used 2x4 and joint brackets to hold it together; reinforced with 90 degree shelf brackets (4) inside the frame. Next step is to make sure the factory screws, fan motor to housing, are tight. Two of them in my case were loose.
Finally installing the mounting tabs, metal to metal, might amplify hum, so I used some heavy duty, thick vinyl tool box liner material between tabs and fan housing and folded it over and held in place with the screws. Rubber grommets might be more useful and last longer but that meant another trip to the store, some miles away.
I spliced electrical connections in the fan box before going to the attic, carried the frame w/attached fan and spliced wire leads to the attic. Using three inch lag bolts, I drilled and secured frame to the attic studs, tapped into an electrical circuit, attached the thermostat and turned on the power. I set the thermostat to come on at 95 degrees.
Suggested shopping list: Rubber grommets for mounting tabs to fan housing; Perhaps 4 grommets between wood frame and attic studs (your call) 14/2 wire, electrical light switch (if you plan on using one), 2.5 to 3.0 inch lag bolts - minimum of 4 perhaps 5 (depending on your mounting format); one for each mounting point (maybe one in center if needed).
Start early in the AM before the attic heat rises; do all wiring, framing etc. before entering the attic. Install and exit.
It's been in a week and when it's on, it is quiet. My ceiling fans noiser than the attic fan. I may repeat this for the other end of my attic since part of a load bearing stud is centered over the builder installed vent.
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1540 CFM Power Gable Mount Vent in Mill
from Texas

Nice Fan

PostedJuly 9, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Only installed few weeks ago but runs quietly, easy to install. My old one lasted 11 years, replaced it with this one.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1540 CFM Power Gable Mount Vent in Mill
from Boise, Idaho

Good product!

PostedJuly 21, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Actually I did'nt buy this fan, my elderly neighbor did. I'd promised to install it for him if he bought one and in return all he needed to do was give me something to replace my sweat.
Having put a solar powered gable fan in our own attic years ago, he was envious when he saw how much we benefited from a reduced electric bill. He really wanted one but the solar type was more than he was willing to pay.
Installation was a breeze and it helps a lot to be prepared with everything you need in advance before entering the fiery temps in the attic. I was was hot, but fortunately I didn't have to climb very far to mount it and run the wiring. When I turned it on I didn't notice any vibration to speak of. and after closing up the attic crawlspace I couldn't even hear it running.
Not sure who got the better deal, my neighbor or me. The case of beer he bought me should replenish my sweat for at least a dozen or so fan installations.
+2points
9out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1540 CFM Power Gable Mount Vent in Mill
from Bladensburg, Ohio
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Nice and quiet

PostedNovember 12, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I replaced a more expensive plastic unit purchased from a competitor with this nice metal unit, and I am thrilled by how quiet it is.
I could hear my old one clearly in my basement, I can not even hear this one in the room directly below where it is mounted.
It also seems to move more air, which I thought it would just looking at it.
It is a basic and simple design, sturdy and functional. I found the flexible conduit a little short , so I drilled a hole in the housing and routed the conduit through it to so it would be secured to my liking. Super easy to install.
It is everything I hoped it would be.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1540 CFM Power Gable Mount Vent in Mill
from florida

Low amp draw and good air flow for the money.

PostedJanuary 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I purchased the Master Flow 1540 CFM Power Gable Mount Vent to today with the idea that I would need to return it based on a few reviews claiming the fan is loud and poorly built.
They must have a defective fan or installed it wrong. The fan works fine.
I could not find any amp ratings, VA ratings or dB ratings on the fan. So I tested the fan before installing it. At no load (0.SP) it used 186watts @ 124Volts and pulled 1.7 Amps. I could not measure the dB but it is in the range of 75dB to 80dB. I have a high velocity 3-speed indoor fan that is louder.
I purchased the fan to use in my 12ft by 10ft greenhouse that required 1440 CFM air change. Running the fan 10hrs per day at 186 watts it will cost about $0.21 cent per day or $6.24 per month to operate. Starting amps was just over 2.5amps. I could later convert this fan to DC with a 200watt dc/ac convertor and a 12v/25amp/hour battery and charge the battery with a solar cell.
Specifications on other fans with about the same air flow used 2.5 to 3.4 amps. This fan has the lowest amp draw for about the same air flow. I could have purchase a variable speed fan and lower the amp draw to 1.1 amp but the fan with controller was $268.00. Not enough pay back to spend the extra money.
I would recommend mounting the fan face down on a per-cut frame or piece of plywood so that you do not get the housing out of round, then lift the fan into place. This will help eliminate the any vibration after installed.
+97points
97out of 97found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1540 CFM Power Gable Mount Vent in Mill
from Talladega, AL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

This is a great unit if you don't want to cut a hole in your roof

PostedMarch 13, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I installed the unit in about a hour,it was easy to set up .The instructions were not as easy at first , mostly pic.Works great after you figure out whats is what.I also install a corded plug for the unit so I could plug it in a grounnd fault plug.I did'nt know it has a type of ground fault built in,so I didn't need the plug but used it any way.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1540 CFM Power Gable Mount Vent in Mill
from Dillsburg PA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Love it! Glad I made the purchase

PostedMay 8, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Our old gable fan died. Of course i came looking here online first. I read reviews. there were enough to make me want to get it.
It installed in just a few minutes and was up and running. 3 weeks later it's doing great. I can barely hear it in my bedroom which is just below that section of the attic.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1540 CFM Power Gable Mount Vent in Mill
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Works great

PostedMay 29, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Installed this with some 1/4 inch thick foam between the studs and bracket because people said it was kinda noisy. It's not. Another thing is I put a dimmer slider on the unit so I could adjust the speed as it's installed in a tuffshed used for a shop. Don't need it running at full speed all the time. Works great.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1540 CFM Power Gable Mount Vent in Mill
from Woodbridge, VA 22193, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Weekly

Easy install and cannot hear below.

PostedJune 19, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to install and quiet. Extremely satisfied. Thermostat control is great.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1540 CFM Power Gable Mount Vent in Mill
from Hephzibah, GA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Excellent Value and workmanship

PostedJune 26, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This,is the second gable mount vint that I have purchased from Home Depot. The first one was to replace one purhased from sears that lasted about two years. The replacement has being going and going. The new one was installed in a new utility building to keep the heat down inside the building. It is working fine.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1540 CFM Power Gable Mount Vent in Mill
from Olney, MD, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It's a Gable Fan and It Works

PostedAugust 7, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
What can I say, it's a gable fan and it works. I had to replace an existing unit that was about 15 years old that had stopped working. New unit had smaller mounting brackets, so I reused the old brackets which required doing a little drilling on the round casing, no big deal. New unit is quieter than the old unit, can't even hear it in bedroom directly below, and can only barely hear it outside in the yard under the gable.
Pros: Performs Well, Quiet
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1540 CFM Power Gable Mount Vent in Mill
from Glendale, AZ, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Best buy for attic in AZ

PostedAugust 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Why aren't homes aren't built with these fans?. Live in AZ temp reach 170 and above in attic. Bought 2 fans and already feel the change. Would I recommend this to a friend, oh not only a friend, but even my enemy. Best item I bought for my home since I moved in, light bill dropped by 30%, must have for your home.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Work With, Quiet, Good Size & Weight, High Quality, Economical, Reliable, Light Weight
Cons: Difficult to Install
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1540 CFM Power Gable Mount Vent in Mill
from Walnut Creek
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Purchase frequency:Yearly

I recommend

PostedAugust 21, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Looked at quite a few fans online. Pulled the trigger on this one. Arrived in a timely manner. Installation was fairly easy and it pulls plenty of air through my 1100 hundred square-foot house. Came with a thermostat installed. Much quieter than my previous one I can barely hear it from inside the house when it's running.
Pros: Easy to Install, Quiet, Economical
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1540 CFM Power Gable Mount Vent in Mill
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Great Product - works as advertised

PostedAugust 21, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I'm installing two of these at one end of my attic each with a Master Flow 20 in. Power Gable Vent Shutter that automatically opens when the fan turns on. I'm going to install two regular gable vents at the other end of the attic so that air gets drawn in at one end of the attic and blows out the other end. This should provide a great cooling effect for the house. The fan is easy to install. You just build a 2x4 frame in the wall for it to mount onto. I built a frame that matched the size of the opening for the power gable vent then installed some extra blocks inside that opening to attach the fan to. It has four mounting flanges, two at each side. I'd recommend putting the fan on a separate circuit from anything else and having a switch in the circuit to be able to turn the fan off in the winter and isolate it if you need to work on or near it in the attic. You don't want to be in the attic near this fan when it's operating !!
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 1540 CFM Power Gable Mount Vent in Mill
from Alabama, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Works as good as stated in ad

PostedAugust 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The fan works as advertised I bought it to replace an old fan that had quit working. Easy to swap out with the old one. Minimal noise from the fan. A/C unit seems to run less.
Pros: Performs Well
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 1540 CFM Power Gable Mount Vent in Mill
from Pompano Beach, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Works as advertised

PostedAugust 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am very happy with the product; it was easy to install and works great. I do not hear it running, the unit is very quite and runs smooth. The temperature in the attic is no longer extremely and I am able to go online to my electric company (FPL) and see my daily electric usage; my electric usage went done as soon as the unit was installed, the attic is cooler which means the A/C does not have to run as hard.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Quiet
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 1540 CFM Power Gable Mount Vent in Mill

Very Good as expected.

PostedAugust 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this fan to replace a previously purchase model that had failed. (Bad Bearing)
The 1540 CFM Power Gable Mount Vent in Mill fit right in place of the old model. It runs well. Thermostat is a little off, but with a minor adjustment it is going to work fine. Glad I chose this one.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Great Value, Economical
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 1540 CFM Power Gable Mount Vent in Mill
from Tampa, FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Products are performing as expected; cooling our Florida attic

PostedSeptember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Repaet purchase. Earlier fans lasted 9 years. Product was easy to install even in a +100 degree attic. Mounting bracket could be an inch longer to enable more flexibility in mounting.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 1540 CFM Power Gable Mount Vent in Mill

great features

PostedSeptember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Very easy to install put up in 20 mins & not to loud when running.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>