728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 1540 CFM Power Gable Mount Vent in Mill

1540 CFM Power Gable Mount Vent in Mill

Master Flow Gable Mount Attic Ventilators are a great choice for exhaust ventilation. They are the easiest power vent to install and won't detract from the appearance of your roof. They can quickly remove a larger volume of hot and/or humid air from your attic, compared to static ventilation and can save you money on your heating and cooling costs. The PG2, Power Gable Mount Vent in Mill finish can move air at a rate of up to 1540 cu. ft. per minutes. The recommended attic size for peak performance is 2400 sq. ft.
Overall rating:
4.189 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(90 reviews) 90
Open Ratings Snapshot
85%of customersrecommend this product75 of 88reviews
Rating Breakdown 90 reviews
4.2 out of 5
5
(54)
4
(19)
3
(4)
2
(6)
1
(7)
Quality 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
85%of customersrecommend this product75 of 88reviews
Customer reviews for 1540 CFM Power Gable Mount Vent in Mill
Review 1 for 1540 CFM Power Gable Mount Vent in Mill
from Bladensburg, Ohio
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Nice and quiet

PostedNovember 12, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I replaced a more expensive plastic unit purchased from a competitor with this nice metal unit, and I am thrilled by how quiet it is.
I could hear my old one clearly in my basement, I can not even hear this one in the room directly below where it is mounted.
It also seems to move more air, which I thought it would just looking at it.
It is a basic and simple design, sturdy and functional. I found the flexible conduit a little short , so I drilled a hole in the housing and routed the conduit through it to so it would be secured to my liking. Super easy to install.
It is everything I hoped it would be.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1540 CFM Power Gable Mount Vent in Mill
from Glendale, AZ, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Best buy for attic in AZ

PostedAugust 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Why aren't homes aren't built with these fans?. Live in AZ temp reach 170 and above in attic. Bought 2 fans and already feel the change. Would I recommend this to a friend, oh not only a friend, but even my enemy. Best item I bought for my home since I moved in, light bill dropped by 30%, must have for your home.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Work With, Quiet, Good Size & Weight, High Quality, Economical, Reliable, Light Weight
Cons: Difficult to Install
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1540 CFM Power Gable Mount Vent in Mill
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Great Product - works as advertised

PostedAugust 21, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I'm installing two of these at one end of my attic each with a Master Flow 20 in. Power Gable Vent Shutter that automatically opens when the fan turns on. I'm going to install two regular gable vents at the other end of the attic so that air gets drawn in at one end of the attic and blows out the other end. This should provide a great cooling effect for the house. The fan is easy to install. You just build a 2x4 frame in the wall for it to mount onto. I built a frame that matched the size of the opening for the power gable vent then installed some extra blocks inside that opening to attach the fan to. It has four mounting flanges, two at each side. I'd recommend putting the fan on a separate circuit from anything else and having a switch in the circuit to be able to turn the fan off in the winter and isolate it if you need to work on or near it in the attic. You don't want to be in the attic near this fan when it's operating !!
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1540 CFM Power Gable Mount Vent in Mill
from Tampa, FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Products are performing as expected; cooling our Florida attic

PostedSeptember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Repaet purchase. Earlier fans lasted 9 years. Product was easy to install even in a +100 degree attic. Mounting bracket could be an inch longer to enable more flexibility in mounting.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1540 CFM Power Gable Mount Vent in Mill

great features

PostedSeptember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Very easy to install put up in 20 mins & not to loud when running.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1540 CFM Power Gable Mount Vent in Mill
from Madison, CT, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

The best fan for the money and it replaced a previous fan that lasted 15 years

PostedJune 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have used this fan before so why not buy an exact equal for replacement. The new fan features make it easy to mount since I had to stand on a ladder in my garage open attic area.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Quiet, Good Size & Weight, Great Value, Lots of Features, High Quality, Economical, Reliable, Light Weight
Cons: none
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1540 CFM Power Gable Mount Vent in Mill
from Redwood City, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice and quiet; easy installation

PostedJune 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Like the earlier reviewer, I was replacing an older gable mount fan which was noisy and eventually stopped working. This one is quieter and more compact (less deep) than the old one, but fortunately the diameter was the same ~16".
One thing I like about this MasterFlow PG2 is that rather than four mounting brackets at 12/3/6/9 o'clock, it has them at roughly 10/2/4/8 o'clock. This made for easier mounting (all four mounting ears got screwed into a stud) than the old one.
Note: Installation requires some experience working with Romex® cable etc. -- you need to supply your own wire nuts and a Romex clamp. Fortunately I had these from the previous installation. You also need to have studs at the Right Spacing for the fan, and you need to supply your own fasteners.
About value: I like the $84 for 1540cfm. The 1600cfm fan (PG3) was $112: almost $30 for another 60cfm.
Pros: Easy to Install, Quiet, Great Value
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1540 CFM Power Gable Mount Vent in Mill
from Redmond WA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Weekly

Wow! Awesome $84 well spent. Cool 2nd Floor in old Farmhouse!

PostedJuly 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have a 1914yr Farmhouse thats 3000sqft.. big rectangle. the house is minimmally insulated. (blown in insulation is only about 4" deep in the attic). I live in Redmond WA. this week temps are around 96deg F. weve got fans blowin like mad downstairs and a portable AC (9000btu) taking the edge off in the living room. (can hang moving blankets between rooms to isolate AC if need be) heck its only temporary. 2nd floor is HOT STUFFY HUMID uuugh! our 600sqft bedroom is up there. impossible to sleep....
so we bought another portable AC (9000btu again) for the bedroom. Sealed up the windows well, and let the AC Run. The AC is just chasin the heat.
I installed the gable mount fan.. tuned the thermostat to 100F. Bought a chunk of romex... black to black white to white ground to ground... tapped it right into an available source in the attic.
I come home today and the upstairs is about 15deg to 20deg cooler than yesterday!!!!!!!!!!!! ahhhhh saaaaweeeeeet!! the AC unit in the bedroom is cooling so much better... yesterday temp was 82 on the AC unit.. today its 75.. so 7deg difference in the bedroom...
BEST $84 BUCKS EVER SPENT! BUY ONE...SET THE THERMOSTAT AT 100F and set it an forget it!
i mean you can go up there and adjust the thermostat but im just gonna let it run till fall..when the temp in the attic is less than 100F.. it will just kick itself off anyways.
thats wazzup
do it
buy one
ah ya super quiet too
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Great Value, High Quality, Economical
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1540 CFM Power Gable Mount Vent in Mill

Best attic fan on the market

PostedJuly 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Unit was very easy to install and runs very quiet.
Pros: Easy to Install, Quiet, High Quality, Economical
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1540 CFM Power Gable Mount Vent in Mill

Low noice, good performance.

PostedAugust 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased this fan to replace my old fan. For past two weeks I've been satisfied with it. It is easy to install, the great feature are the low noise and automatic on/off controlled by theromostat function.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Great Value
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1540 CFM Power Gable Mount Vent in Mill
from Key West, FL 33040, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

great value

PostedOctober 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Works well with the auto open shutters. Thermostat works perfectly. Relatively quiet. Moves a lot of air. A must for keeping the attic cool, especially during the summers here in key west. I recommend this fan. It makes a huge difference in temperature control in my 800 sq ft house. The attic is 20 x 40 with a low pitch. The fan pulls the air through nicely in conjunction with a small vent at the opposite end. For the money it's a winner.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Great Value, Economical, Reliable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1540 CFM Power Gable Mount Vent in Mill
from Chester, Va

Good fan at a good price

PostedApril 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The vent installed no problem. I used a video I found on the internet to basically box in the fan so that all the hot air is exhausted to the outside. I disassembled the fan itself and was surprised to find that it was a pretty solid device. The 'sleeve bushing/bearing' appears to have a good quality grease. I put a little automotive wheel bearing grease in also. I had done this to the fan I installed in our old house when that fan started squealing real badly. After that, it ran fine and is still running after 10+ years. This unit is extremely quiet. It is almost impossible to hear even while standing in the hallway directly below it. It is actually quieter than the air conditioner unit installed in the attic and that unit is very quiet.
Pros: Performs Well, Quiet, Great Value
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1540 CFM Power Gable Mount Vent in Mill
from San Gabriel, CA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Purchase frequency:Monthly

It's a great product

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This product is quite on scale 8/10. easy to install.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Quiet, Good Size & Weight, Good Shape, Great Value, Easy to Clean
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1540 CFM Power Gable Mount Vent in Mill

perfect

PostedJune 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I read other reviews about this fan being a little noisy. NOT. This fan was super easy to install and being above my bedroom I have to open the closet to make sure it's running. I bought the recommended automatic vent cover also. From start to finish took 2hrs. The A/C runs less than half the time it used to. We are about to install more of these in our barns.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1540 CFM Power Gable Mount Vent in Mill
from Olympia, Washington
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

GREAT BUY

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I installed 2 fans, they are terrific at pulling out the hot air. I wish I'd have done this 24 years ago instead of house fans and portable air conditioners. Now, on hot days, the house is 7-10 degrees cooler and I haven't had to run the portable A/C. 85 degree days and the house is comfortable at 70-72. My house is only 1400 square feet including garage and I probably would have been ok with just 1 fan. Noise is not a factor, the South fan is only 6 feet from by bedroom and not noticeable. Don't wait 24 years to get one, you'll really notice a big difference in house temperature.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Quiet, Great Value, High Quality
Cons: none
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 1540 CFM Power Gable Mount Vent in Mill
from wilmington,de
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Purchase frequency:Yearly

great fan

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
this fan was very easy to install and a very good value for the money
Pros: Great Value
Cons: cant think of one
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 1540 CFM Power Gable Mount Vent in Mill
from Summerville, SC, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Quiet fan

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The fan is quiet wth no vibration. The afternoon temperatures in the rooms below dropped five degrees after installation.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, High Quality, Economical, Reliable
Cons: needs uniform brackets
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 1540 CFM Power Gable Mount Vent in Mill
from Huntsville, AL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

works as expected

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy to install and wire. works as expected to circulate hot air from attic.
Pros: Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Great Value, Economical
Cons: Noisy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 1540 CFM Power Gable Mount Vent in Mill
from Texas

Nice Fan

PostedJuly 9, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Only installed few weeks ago but runs quietly, easy to install. My old one lasted 11 years, replaced it with this one.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 1540 CFM Power Gable Mount Vent in Mill
from Boise, Idaho

Good product!

PostedJuly 21, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Actually I did'nt buy this fan, my elderly neighbor did. I'd promised to install it for him if he bought one and in return all he needed to do was give me something to replace my sweat.
Having put a solar powered gable fan in our own attic years ago, he was envious when he saw how much we benefited from a reduced electric bill. He really wanted one but the solar type was more than he was willing to pay.
Installation was a breeze and it helps a lot to be prepared with everything you need in advance before entering the fiery temps in the attic. I was was hot, but fortunately I didn't have to climb very far to mount it and run the wiring. When I turned it on I didn't notice any vibration to speak of. and after closing up the attic crawlspace I couldn't even hear it running.
Not sure who got the better deal, my neighbor or me. The case of beer he bought me should replenish my sweat for at least a dozen or so fan installations.
+2points
9out of 16found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>