728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Concrete, Basement & Garage Floor Paint or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 1-gal. Semigloss 2-Part Epoxy Garage-Floor Coating Kit

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Home Depot.

1-gal. Semigloss 2-Part Epoxy Garage-Floor Coating Kit

The Rust-Oleum 1-Gallon Semigloss 2-Part Epoxy Garage-Floor Coating Kit is designed to create a showroom-quality surface for your interior garage floor. The durable, water-based formula offers optimal adhesion and dries to a beautiful finish that protects against gasoline, antifreeze, motor oil, salt and hot-tire pickup.
Overall rating:
3.842 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(19 reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
74%of customersrecommend this product14 of 19reviews
Rating Breakdown 19 reviews
3.8 out of 5
5
(10)
4
(3)
3
(2)
2
(1)
1
(3)
Quality 
3.5 out of 5
3.5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
74%of customersrecommend this product14 of 19reviews
Customer reviews for 1-gal. Semigloss 2-Part Epoxy Garage-Floor Coating Kit
Review 1 for 1-gal. Semigloss 2-Part Epoxy Garage-Floor Coating Kit
from Humble, Texas
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The Ultimate Review

PostedMay 18, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ok here is my review for better or worse. I will try to capture the good and the bad in a short story. The more work done on the prep will determine the quality of your floor. First of all is the time, this is not a weekend job if done properly. 1st day etch, water wash, squeegee, pressure wash, water wash again and squeegee again. 2nd day shop vacuumed the entire floor. 3rd day let dry one more day (im in the south with high humidity). 4th day coated the floor. 2 day drying ( 1 extra day again for high humidity) 2 more days for the epoxy to dry and then I used the Premium Clear. Thats 8 days and as I just finished today I don't know how long before it is fully cured. Again I live in the south so although the temp is is range the humidity has been 70 - 85 %.
The prep: I used muriatic acid even though rustoleum says not to. I used it because all the professional videos I seen used it. The only down side I can see is you might use more product than stated but I had more than enough with the 2-1/2 car kit. It was not as bad as I feared but I did use rubber boots and a respirator. I put about 3 inches of water and a full gallon of acid in a completely plastic pump sprayer and coated the entire floor. After about 15 minutes I filled my sprayer with a water and a box of baking soda and resprayed the enter floor to naturalize the acid. I then washed it with just water towards the back until it was well diluted.
My biggest mistake was not taking the time to caulk the cracks and imperfections before coating. I thought the epoxy would be thicker and hide imperfections but it does the opposite. After you are done you can see every crack and imperfection in the concrete so if you are looking for a smooth finish you need to address this after the acid treatment.
The application: You need help! even in good weather it takes time to roll, cut and sprinkle the flakes. After falling behind in time I had my kids cut in the sides while I rolled and laid the flakes. For the clear coat you need to mix the anti slip sand into the coating. I mixed all my coatings in a 5 gal bucket with one of those drill mounted mixers. This comes in real handy when mixing the clear coat as the sand settles quite quickly so I mixed between every section. The 2-1/2 car kit covered my garage easily but the clear coat did not come close, I bought 2, 500 sq/ft kits.
The price: All in I'm at about $500 for a 2-1/2 car garage which is not bad considering a contractor would charge $3k+ and i bought a lot of things that I will reuse.
My best advise is to take your time and use good PPE (personal protective equipment). Do your prep-work. Acid, water wash, pressure wash, vacuum and let it dry completely if an extra day is the difference between a floor that looks great and one that is peeling and looks bad you would give that extra day every time.
Pros: Looks Great
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1-gal. Semigloss 2-Part Epoxy Garage-Floor Coating Kit
from Texas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great Product but watch the temperature!

PostedJanuary 31, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Coverage 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Low odor 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Have used this product on two different garage floors. Works as advertised. We love it. However, be careful to apply only if surface temperature is at least 60 degrees or higher. First time I applied it was in summer and things went beautifully. This last time, temps were lower. Directions say to apply only if the surface is 55 degrees or higher. They aren't kidding! We "cheated" a little and things didn't go as well. The coating sets up almost immediately and becomes extremely difficult to spread. If I ever do this again, I will wait until temps are in the 70s or higher.
+56points
57out of 58found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1-gal. Semigloss 2-Part Epoxy Garage-Floor Coating Kit
from san diego

expoxy garage paint

PostedAugust 29, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
So we finally bought this product for our 1 car garage .
Wasnt sure how it would work but I have to say I like it a lot.
Things went good .If I could do it again I would let product sit longer after mixing. It seem to go on better and smoother after sitting. There is enough paint to do the sides and the expantion joint really well as I kinda went fast and thin coat on sides thinking I wouldnt have enough. Also they give plenty of the spinkels . So at the beginning i didnt use very many sprinkels and ended up with a half a bag left .
So all in all let product sit for the 1/2 hour recommended . Take time on side and ex-joints. use plenty of splinkels from beginning to end .This product is great !
Looks great ----no spell check ?
+39points
39out of 39found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1-gal. Semigloss 2-Part Epoxy Garage-Floor Coating Kit
from Washington, DC

So Far So Good

PostedNovember 25, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Outside air temps were just above the recommended minimum of 50'F when I tackled this task. Floor was bare concrete with just a few oily stains. The kit includes plenty of degreaser-etcher which I used sparsely. I needed three kits on my 2+car garage. The kit includes a 'how-to" DVD which was helpful, but did not answer my question of how to deal with the 3/8" cracks I had in my floor. I found two caulk-type crack repair products. The better one seamed to be a polyseamseal product, but it needed several days to cure, so I went with a DAP product which was paintable in 30 minutes. The DAP product was adequate, but it shrunk quite a bit as it dried, so I wished I had time to use the Polyseamseal caulk.
Once the 2 parts of the Epoxy are mixed, you MUST finish using it in 2hrs...this was no problem. It has been down for 30 days now and so far looks great and no problem with hot tires, etc.
+28points
28out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1-gal. Semigloss 2-Part Epoxy Garage-Floor Coating Kit
from Minneapolis, MN

Easy to Use, Great Results

PostedSeptember 5, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased two of these kits in grey for my 1-car garage. One kit says it covers 250 square feet and that's about right. My garage is 190 square feet and I had about one-fifth of the can left over.
This is so easy to use, it's literally painting the floor. It turned out beautifully.
The hard part is preparing the floor. Mine had never been painted, but was filthy and had some hairline cracks. I used the etching powder included and it turned out great. Just be sure it's completely dry, especially in small cracks, before applying. Oh, and be sure to buy a squeegee to get the water off after cleaning. It was a huge help. I bought one to attach at the end of a broom handle for $5 at Home Depot.
I didn't fill any of the hairline cracks before painting, and the epoxy filled them in nicely with the first kit. To be safe, I applied a second kit 24-hours later. It was definitely worth the $150 for the two kits and materials. It looks like a showroom floor!
+28points
28out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1-gal. Semigloss 2-Part Epoxy Garage-Floor Coating Kit
from Orlando, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Excellent Product follow the instructions

PostedJune 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Applied product to 3 year old seldom used garage floor. Remove everything from the garage cleaned the floor and let it dry for three days. The day before leaving on a trip the two car garage was coated only took about two hours. Left door open the Florida heat and sun help dry the floor in a couple of hours. Returned a few weeks later the floor was fantastic. No more sweeping the concrete dust, spilled small amounts of gas, grease, oil, etc. All have wiped up easily with no damage to the epoxy. No hot tire pickup. Wish I had inspected the floor closer there are two small 3" spots where concrete broke and will need coating. 4 years later the coating is still great. Every one in the neighborhood has coated their floor with Rust-Oleum 1-Gallon Semigloss 2-Part Epoxy Garage-Floor Coating.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Looks High End, Modern
+12points
15out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1-gal. Semigloss 2-Part Epoxy Garage-Floor Coating Kit
from Grande Prairie, AB, Canada
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It looks awesome, but

PostedApril 13, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The but is that after the first winter (I live where it get well below freezing every winter for months on end) it started to peel off, and again this winter it is peeling more. Now I'm unsure what to do. I contacted the manufacture and they sent me a patch kit? I guess I have a big problem.
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Dries Quickly
Cons: it peels off
+12points
15out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1-gal. Semigloss 2-Part Epoxy Garage-Floor Coating Kit

worked great for me

PostedJuly 20, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I had a new garage that I put this product on so I didn't use the degreaser that came with it. It went on very easily but I needed 2 and a half kits for my 2 car garage. After 4 years the only place it came up was where I chipped up the concrete by dropping something heavy on it. I did manage to get some rust stains on it that I couldn't get up but I parked on it daily and even rebuilt a car on it (with lots of leaks) and over all it still looked great and the messes came up easily. I plan on using it again in my next garage.
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1-gal. Semigloss 2-Part Epoxy Garage-Floor Coating Kit
from San Diego

Bullet-proof.

PostedFebruary 6, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have used this stuff for years on about 10 garage floors, both new concrete and old. Great stuff. Easy to mix, lasts 1-2 hours. Can walk on it in 1-2 hours. Can park on it the next day (but best to give it 48 hours).
Looks great (I like the tan color best).
Lasts long time.
Best if the floor has been power-washed and cleaned with the cleaner that is provided in the box. Clean well and let dry overnight. But, if you don't do it right, it will still last 1-2 years before you see some wearing through or flaking off.
Then, a recoat is simple to do and it will last twice as long as the first.
+7points
11out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1-gal. Semigloss 2-Part Epoxy Garage-Floor Coating Kit
from Denver, Colorado

Floor Epoxy

PostedDecember 8, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have used this product on several of my rentals in basements and garages. Excellent product! The basements were dark and dreary but after putting down the epoxy they had a clean, finished look. It is fast to apply and easy to clean up after application.
One tenant saw how nice it looked in the garage and asked if I would replace the worn carpet in the bedroom with this product. MUCH cheaper than new carpet or tile.
+8points
10out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1-gal. Semigloss 2-Part Epoxy Garage-Floor Coating Kit
from WV
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Held up for years in shower

PostedMarch 1, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I installed this on a concrete shower floor as to protect it temporarily. It was on the floor for about 5 years before my wife decided she would like a river gravel tile floor. It did have a few specks that had wore off from the constant hot water beating down on it but held up better than I had expected. Had to remove it with a wire wheel on a grinder before installing the tile. Very tough. Also put some of the left over on the floor of a pantry in the basement a couple years ago and it still looks like new.
Pros: Very Adhesive, High Quality of Material, Good Protection, Looks Great
Cons: Difficult to Clean
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1-gal. Semigloss 2-Part Epoxy Garage-Floor Coating Kit
from Saskatoon, SK, Canada
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Did not stand up over time

PostedJuly 30, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
A weak epoxy that did not stand up over time. I prepped my floor with a drum sander, then used the included citrus cleaning powder and applied exaclty as instructed. We use car mats to retain mud, snow and dirt and when I removed them for cleaning, I noticed the product lifting in large sheets. Very poor adhesion. Company offered a "patch kit" but that wouldn't suffice for my issue. It ALL has to come off and be re-done.
Pros: Easy to Apply
Cons: Not Durable, poor adhesion
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1-gal. Semigloss 2-Part Epoxy Garage-Floor Coating Kit

Sprinke Light

PostedAugust 13, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Great Product! Easy Application. Sprinkle Light... I was wanting a little more as I was finishing my final coat, only if they added one more bag...
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Dries Quickly
Cons: needs more decorative flakes and choices of color
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1-gal. Semigloss 2-Part Epoxy Garage-Floor Coating Kit
from New Jersey

Bad Product

PostedSeptember 26, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I used this product on the floor of my 3 car garage last fall to refresh the 6 year old plain garage floor paint which was there previously. I followed all recommendations to clean the floor with Rustoleum's products. checked for mosture, (which I knew I did not have). Spent 3 full days emptying the garage of all its contents, cleaning, letting it dry and them applying this epoxy coating. You can imagine my disappointment when the epoxy coating ( fancy name for 2 part paint) started to bubble up everywhere under our cars where salted snow and ice melted and fell from the wheel wells and bumpers. We live in Northwest New Jersey where we get a dozen or more snow storms a year and roads are regularly cleared with salt. I contacted Rustoleum about their product and was given a runaround for several days. There was no apology for their lousy product, only a vague explanation that salt water dripping "may cause" bubbling and it'snot covered under the warranty. That information is no where on the product and one would think an expensive and time-intensive application product for garage floors would resist a very common garage floor ailment.
+1point
19out of 37found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1-gal. Semigloss 2-Part Epoxy Garage-Floor Coating Kit
from Royal Palm Beach, FL 33411, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Product does not work

PostedJune 24, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I had the product installed/applied to my garage floor last week. I looked beautiful, but to my surprise, while waiting for the floor to dry, it never did. My garage floor is really sticky and when you walk on the floor your shoes get stuck and epoxy/paint residue is left on the bottom of you shoes. It has been a week, and still the floor hasn't dried. I don't recommend using this product again. I plan to see just how good the warranty is and Home Depot's committment to customers. I paid a lot for the product and for installation. Now, I am at a loss and can't use or access my garage. All of my belongings that were stored in the garage have been outside for at least a week. I will be working diligently to resolve this issue.
Cons: does not adhere to floor surface., excessive drying time
-10points
6out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 1-gal. Semigloss 2-Part Epoxy Garage-Floor Coating Kit
from youngstown, ohio

Good but doesn't last long

PostedMay 17, 2010
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I used this product to coat the garage floor last year(the grey one though), went by the book. In less than 6 months it started peeling and now the peeling areas are wider specially where the wheels hit the most.
Need to redo it again, don't know even how, and whether I can apply another coat over the old one and whether it will work!
It's ok, but not the best solution as it trails behind another project in the following year/s.
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 1-gal. Semigloss 2-Part Epoxy Garage-Floor Coating Kit
from Braintree, MA

Came out great - easy to use!

PostedJuly 2, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This product was easy to use and the floor looks so great!
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 1-gal. Semigloss 2-Part Epoxy Garage-Floor Coating Kit
from SPINGFIELD ,TN

GARAGE FLOOR PAINT

PostedMarch 21, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
WHAT A WONDERFUL PRODUCT IT WAS THE EASY ANDGAVE MY GARAGE A SHOW ROOM LOOK. I HAVE SHOWED THIS TO MY FRIENDS AND KNOW THEY ARE GOING TO DO THERE GARAGE FLOORS.
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 1-gal. Semigloss 2-Part Epoxy Garage-Floor Coating Kit
from Winchester, OH, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

did not hold up

PostedJanuary 6, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
used 6 gallons of this in the summer, 6th gallon was a dif't color so we had to redo, but home depot did an awesome job taking care of that problem. floor looked awesome, however after about 4 months it is chipping. keep in mind this is just regular foot traffic, no vehicles on floor i realized nothing last forever, but expected a little longer result.
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean
Cons: Scratches Easily
-3points
2out of 7found this review helpful.