728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Hand Saws & Cutting Tools or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 24 in. Bolt Cutters

24 in. Bolt Cutters

The Workforce 24 in. Bolt Cutters are ideal for cutting bolts and other metal objects. They feature forged CR-MO steel blades and bodies, hardened-steel cutting edges and tubular steel shafts for strength and durability. Their comfortable grips offer more control for easier cutting.
Overall rating:
4.382 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(55 reviews) 55
Open Ratings Snapshot
92%of customersrecommend this product48 of 52reviews
Rating Breakdown 55 reviews
4.4 out of 5
5
(31)
4
(17)
3
(5)
2
(1)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
92%of customersrecommend this product48 of 52reviews
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer reviews for 24 in. Bolt Cutters
Review 1 for 24 in. Bolt Cutters
from Great Falls, MT, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Like Cuttin Budda...

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Bought this to use as a fence cutting tool. I am cutting 4 gauge Cattle panels. It took care of them quickly & without strain. I also listened to advise from another reviewer about picking up & trying a few in the bin. I also strongly advise of this coz the 1st 4 where rather tight. I am sure with time they would break in... I just opted to buy 1 that seemed a bit smoother without me having to "work" it. Overall it is an outstanding tool for what I used it for & I would recommend it whole heartedly. Included pictures of Cattle Panels for an Idea.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 24 in. Bolt Cutters
Age Range:45 to 54

Spend a little extra for a decent pair.

PostedFebruary 18, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The cutting end of the tool is probably ok but the handels are made of pot metal. The tool made it through 20 cuts or so of 1/4" chain before the hindge broke. The tool is now useless.
Cons: Not Durable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+11points
13out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 24 in. Bolt Cutters
from IL
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Outperform for the price

PostedNovember 9, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I work in a commercial kitchen. One day, while my boss was across the street picking up an item not shipped for a party that night, I asked him to pick me up a set of bolt cutters under $25 to cut some chain in my garage. He brought this monstrosity back. Fast forward a few weeks, and these cutters easily handled my chain at home as well as cutting over a dozen locks from abandoned lockers at work and cutting out the folding compartment of a few shopping carts we use to move food products. While I'm sure there are better cutters out there (I'm worried the handles will eventually bend), you just cant beat the quality you get with this pair for the price.
Pros: Strong, Good Size & Weight
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 24 in. Bolt Cutters
from Covington, KY
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great Product!

PostedAugust 20, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This set of "bolt-cutters" was purchased to remove a lock at work due to an employee playing pranks on co-workers to rid the facility of the prank lock once and for all. The lock was a hardened "Master-Lock" and this bolt cutter cut through it as if it were made out of hard plastic. Didn't even show any indication on the jaws where it was, they'd cut the lock off.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight
Cons: no cons
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 24 in. Bolt Cutters
from Gillette, Wyoming
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great

PostedAugust 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The bolt cutters are exactly what I was looking for and at a reasonable price.
Pros: Accurate
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 24 in. Bolt Cutters
from Woodstock, GA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good purchase but check ease of opening before buying

PostedAugust 3, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The bolt cutter worked very well on a Masterlock. Didn't take much effort at all to make the cut.
When I was buying it, I tried the cutter to see how it opened. Two of them were extremely hard to open, started not to buy, but tried the 3rd and 4th ones in the bin. The 3rd one opened better and the forth one was easy to open, as it should be. I'd recommend it, but I'd also advise to check it before buying.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: 2 of the 4 in hard to open.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 24 in. Bolt Cutters
from Wewahitchka, Florida
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Purchase

PostedAugust 18, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Easy to use, good price. Easy to find in store. Was offered help while shopping.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 24 in. Bolt Cutters
from Brooklyn, New York

Fine for most jobs but not the tough ones

PostedNovember 20, 2006
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I run a drop in center and we sometimes have to cut people's combination locks off of our lockers. These bolt cutters are fine with the cheaper locks that aren't made out of tempered steel, but if it's a Master lock or better, these bolt cutters can't handle it. For most of our needs, though, these are fine. They're of a good size and the handles are well padded.
+26points
26out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 24 in. Bolt Cutters
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Master lock on shed, and no key

PostedJuly 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I'd wanted a descent set of bolt cutters for a while now, and was just looking for a good excuse. We just moved into a new home, and the shed still had a padlock for which we weren't given a key. Perfect! This was a Master Lock, which I'd heard was a harder steel to cut through. I was a bit worried that these less-expensive cutters might have a problem. But I was pleasantly surprised when they sliced through the lock on the first squeeze without a terrible amount of effort. No noticable damage to the cutter blades as some people have reported. These are nice heavy duty cutters for the price. I plan on using them later this summer when I install about 300' of chain link fencing.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Strong, Long-Lasting
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 24 in. Bolt Cutters

WOW...What a tool!

PostedJuly 14, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I needed ro cut some rusted locks off some gates and this tool worked perfectly! I was very impressed!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 24 in. Bolt Cutters
from Baton Rouge, LA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Works Great

PostedFebruary 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was worried that I would not be able to actually cut through a lock with these because I'm a woman, BUT no worries with these. I was very surprised when the lock popped off. Very little effort was needed.
Pros: Easy to Use, Strong, Good Size & Weight
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 24 in. Bolt Cutters
from Reston, VA

A Cut above the Rest

PostedJanuary 19, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Within my line of work, we are constantly moving customers around. In doing that, there are a number of times where a customer has lost the keys to their lockers or their laptop cable locks.
I use to borrow some bolt cutters from another location within our company and the need for them was getting more and more frequent. Since the bolt cutters have come in handy many times, I decided to place an order with Home Depot for the same bolt cutters that are used in our other location.
An email confirmation of the order arrived within minutes of placing it.
The order was delivered on the date specified and I couldn’t ask for anything more.
Thanks Home Depot and keep doing what you do!!
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 24 in. Bolt Cutters
from Falls Church, VA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Good leverage, poor blades

PostedJune 29, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The leverage of these cutters is good but the blades themselves aren't that strong. Even worse, they're not replaceable, when they get dinged, you have to purchase a new cutter. Blades are what bolt cutters are all about. Tried to cut hardened masonry nails and just ended up with big dents in the blades and no noticeable effect on the (rusty) nails themselves. Ordinary nails aren't a problem.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Not Durable
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 24 in. Bolt Cutters
from Wayne, NJ

Works Really Well...

PostedJanuary 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
For the money, these cutters work real well. The lock on my shed (Master) refused to open in the cold. Was about ten years old so I decided it was time for a new one. Saw these at HD for $20 and was a snap cutting of the lock. Good value....
Pros: Easy to Use, Strong, Good Size & Weight
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 24 in. Bolt Cutters
from Marlton, nj
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great

PostedMay 26, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
they work great, cut through several pieces of medium sized chain with ease
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Strong, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 24 in. Bolt Cutters
from Hawthorne, NJ
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very good item

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My first ownership of this type of tool. Used only once bur performed task well. Great price!
Pros: Easy to Use, Strong, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 24 in. Bolt Cutters
from Douglasville, Georgia

Thick chain no problem.

PostedDecember 9, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Used it for my dogs pen. Worked great on chain link fenching. I also had to make a length of chain to lock the pen. Thick chain was handled well by the bolt cutters. No damage to the cutting blades. They are heavy duty and should handle most of what you throw at them.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 24 in. Bolt Cutters
from Saint Paul,Minnesota
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Product ordered

PostedMay 19, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Recieved exactly what we needed and in a timely manner.
Pros: Strong
Cons: shipping container not suitable for item
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 24 in. Bolt Cutters
from West Orange, NJ, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Perfect tool for the job

PostedJuly 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought these cutters to assist me with removing a great deal of chain link fence. They made quick work of the fence with little effort. They appear to be well made and I look forward to a lifetime of use from them.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 24 in. Bolt Cutters

Did what was expected.

PostedJuly 3, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Needed to cut a small lockbox off front door which realtor left after I bought house. For the price, did exactly what was necessary. I dont expect it to do anything much large, but it met my needs.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>