728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Hand Saws & Cutting Tools or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 24 in. Bolt Cutters

24 in. Bolt Cutters

The Workforce 24 in. Bolt Cutters are ideal for cutting bolts and other metal objects. They feature forged CR-MO steel blades and bodies, hardened-steel cutting edges and tubular steel shafts for strength and durability. Their comfortable grips offer more control for easier cutting.
Overall rating:
4.405 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(37 reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
91%of customersrecommend this product32 of 35reviews
Rating Breakdown 37 reviews
4.4 out of 5.0
5
(21)
4
(13)
3
(1)
2
(1)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
91%of customersrecommend this product32 of 35reviews
Customer reviews for 24 in. Bolt Cutters
Review 1 for 24 in. Bolt Cutters
from IL
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Outperform for the price

PostedNovember 9, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I work in a commercial kitchen. One day, while my boss was across the street picking up an item not shipped for a party that night, I asked him to pick me up a set of bolt cutters under $25 to cut some chain in my garage. He brought this monstrosity back. Fast forward a few weeks, and these cutters easily handled my chain at home as well as cutting over a dozen locks from abandoned lockers at work and cutting out the folding compartment of a few shopping carts we use to move food products. While I'm sure there are better cutters out there (I'm worried the handles will eventually bend), you just cant beat the quality you get with this pair for the price.
Pros: Strong, Good Size & Weight
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 24 in. Bolt Cutters
from Falls Church, VA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Good leverage, poor blades

PostedJune 29, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The leverage of these cutters is good but the blades themselves aren't that strong. Even worse, they're not replaceable, when they get dinged, you have to purchase a new cutter. Blades are what bolt cutters are all about. Tried to cut hardened masonry nails and just ended up with big dents in the blades and no noticeable effect on the (rusty) nails themselves. Ordinary nails aren't a problem.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 24 in. Bolt Cutters
from Baton Rouge, LA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Works Great

PostedFebruary 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was worried that I would not be able to actually cut through a lock with these because I'm a woman, BUT no worries with these. I was very surprised when the lock popped off. Very little effort was needed.
Pros: Easy to Use, Strong, Good Size & Weight
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 24 in. Bolt Cutters
from Lilburn, Ga
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Heavy Duty!

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Adding a little pressure on these bolt cutters does the trick!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 24 in. Bolt Cutters
from Woodstock, GA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good purchase but check ease of opening before buying

PostedAugust 3, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The bolt cutter worked very well on a Masterlock. Didn't take much effort at all to make the cut.
When I was buying it, I tried the cutter to see how it opened. Two of them were extremely hard to open, started not to buy, but tried the 3rd and 4th ones in the bin. The 3rd one opened better and the forth one was easy to open, as it should be. I'd recommend it, but I'd also advise to check it before buying.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: 2 of the 4 in hard to open.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 24 in. Bolt Cutters
from Wayne, NJ

Works Really Well...

PostedJanuary 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
For the money, these cutters work real well. The lock on my shed (Master) refused to open in the cold. Was about ten years old so I decided it was time for a new one. Saw these at HD for $20 and was a snap cutting of the lock. Good value....
Pros: Easy to Use, Strong, Good Size & Weight
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 24 in. Bolt Cutters
from Brooklyn, New York

Fine for most jobs but not the tough ones

PostedNovember 20, 2006
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I run a drop in center and we sometimes have to cut people's combination locks off of our lockers. These bolt cutters are fine with the cheaper locks that aren't made out of tempered steel, but if it's a Master lock or better, these bolt cutters can't handle it. For most of our needs, though, these are fine. They're of a good size and the handles are well padded.
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 24 in. Bolt Cutters
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Master lock on shed, and no key

PostedJuly 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I'd wanted a descent set of bolt cutters for a while now, and was just looking for a good excuse. We just moved into a new home, and the shed still had a padlock for which we weren't given a key. Perfect! This was a Master Lock, which I'd heard was a harder steel to cut through. I was a bit worried that these less-expensive cutters might have a problem. But I was pleasantly surprised when they sliced through the lock on the first squeeze without a terrible amount of effort. No noticable damage to the cutter blades as some people have reported. These are nice heavy duty cutters for the price. I plan on using them later this summer when I install about 300' of chain link fencing.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Strong, Long-Lasting
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 24 in. Bolt Cutters
from Litchfield, ct
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

24 inch bolt cutters

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great bolt cutters for the price. They are exactly what I needed.
Pros: Strong
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 24 in. Bolt Cutters
Age Range:45 to 54

Spend a little extra for a decent pair.

PostedFebruary 18, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The cutting end of the tool is probably ok but the handels are made of pot metal. The tool made it through 20 cuts or so of 1/4" chain before the hindge broke. The tool is now useless.
Cons: Not Durable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 24 in. Bolt Cutters
from Southern Indiana
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for cutting barbed wire!

PostedJuly 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We bought a house last year with 18 acres and had to remove a lot of old barbed wire. These bolt cutters did the trick and were very inexpensive.
Pros: Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 24 in. Bolt Cutters

Great

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Works well for me. The long handles help my injured shoulder providing additional leverage.
Pros: Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 24 in. Bolt Cutters
from Reston, VA

A Cut above the Rest

PostedJanuary 19, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Within my line of work, we are constantly moving customers around. In doing that, there are a number of times where a customer has lost the keys to their lockers or their laptop cable locks.
I use to borrow some bolt cutters from another location within our company and the need for them was getting more and more frequent. Since the bolt cutters have come in handy many times, I decided to place an order with Home Depot for the same bolt cutters that are used in our other location.
An email confirmation of the order arrived within minutes of placing it.
The order was delivered on the date specified and I couldn’t ask for anything more.
Thanks Home Depot and keep doing what you do!!
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 24 in. Bolt Cutters
from Sunrise, FL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent Product

PostedJune 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very easy to use and slices through wires. Good buy
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 24 in. Bolt Cutters

Easily cuts heavy-gauge fencing wire.

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Needed a tool to cut wire that ordinary wire cutters could only scratch. This one's good. There should be an attachment or (?) to make one-handed operation possible.
Pros: Sturdy, Strong, does the job.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 24 in. Bolt Cutters
from West Orange, NJ, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Perfect tool for the job

PostedJuly 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought these cutters to assist me with removing a great deal of chain link fence. They made quick work of the fence with little effort. They appear to be well made and I look forward to a lifetime of use from them.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 24 in. Bolt Cutters
from Douglasville, Georgia

Thick chain no problem.

PostedDecember 9, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Used it for my dogs pen. Worked great on chain link fenching. I also had to make a length of chain to lock the pen. Thick chain was handled well by the bolt cutters. No damage to the cutting blades. They are heavy duty and should handle most of what you throw at them.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 24 in. Bolt Cutters
from Easton, KS 66020, USA

Does the job

PostedMay 14, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Purchased these to trim off heavy cattle panels. Worked like it was suppose to. Good value.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
Cons: not made in the usa
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 24 in. Bolt Cutters
from West Valley City, UT, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

A great purchase

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Cut through the lock we needed very simply and well. No damage to the bolt cutters. I am very impressed.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 24 in. Bolt Cutters
from Kansas City, KS, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Affordable & Got the job done

PostedJanuary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Needed to cut off lock we forgot combination of. Cutters worked well and were least expensive option.
Pros: low cost
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 >>