728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 6 ft. Toilet Auger with Bulb Head

6 ft. Toilet Auger with Bulb Head

The RIDGID 6 ft. Toilet Auger is a high-quality tool designed to provide safe and easy cleaning of toilet obstructions. The bulb-head auger features a compression-wrapped inner cable. Full lifetime warranty against material defects and workmanship.
Overall rating:
4.62 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(137 reviews) 137
Open Ratings Snapshot
93%of customersrecommend this product122 of 131reviews
Rating Breakdown 137 reviews
4.6 out of 5
5
(106)
4
(20)
3
(5)
2
(2)
1
(4)
Ease of installation 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Quality 
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
93%of customersrecommend this product122 of 131reviews
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 37 Answers
Customer reviews for 6 ft. Toilet Auger with Bulb Head
Review 1 for 6 ft. Toilet Auger with Bulb Head
from Novi MI
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Saved me from having to replace a toilet

PostedNovember 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Bought a Kohler class 6 flush toilet and had it installed.
However the toilet wouldn't flush waste a 5 out of 6 times. Plunging, hot buckets of water and to no avail.Then purchaed the 6ft versions of this auger. Watched the video... do watch the video
Search for this video RIDGID K-6 Toilet Auger. It's worth the time.
The ran it twice and came out with fibers and wax from the old seal that the installer had probably pushed into the waste line that was preventing a good flush.
needed the six foot version to get to obstruction though.
Now the toilet works like a charm. This thing is so good that I'm going to use it instead of the plungers that don't work well anyway.
Pricey but worth every penny.
Pros: Reliable
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 6 ft. Toilet Auger with Bulb Head
from Houston, TX, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A professional toilet snake that works every time

PostedNovember 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The first time I saw a snake like this was when my auger style snake could not clean out a stubborn plugged toilet and I had to pay a plumber almost 3 times what this snake cost. I went out and got one right away and have had to use it several times over the past year. With this snake you can use both auger (turning) and plunger (push/pull) action to get the plug to move. I got the 6 foot length - so not sure if the 3 foot snake of this type is as effective. When finished, I rinse it off with a hose, then hang it in the garage where it's handy for my wife to use (she's done the job several times by herself). It is a life saver (well - a plumber cost saver anyway).
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 6 ft. Toilet Auger with Bulb Head
from Springfield, VA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Auger for toilet

PostedMay 12, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
It worked as I expected. Good to keep one home. Got to have one.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 6 ft. Toilet Auger with Bulb Head
from Round Rock, Texas

Fastest Auger in Texas

PostedFebruary 25, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
After receiving a "free" quote from a local plumber for $164 to snake our clogged toilet, we rushed over to the local Home Depot and purchased the Ridgid 6 Foot Heavy Duty Toilet Auger. We had researched this item on the Home Depot website where most previous purchasers recommended the 6 foot length. Everything about this venture was perfect. The website was helpful, the item was available at the local HD, the HD associate was very helpful and knowledgeable about his products, the price was right and the auger worked!
Ten minutes of my time and minimal effort, produced the desired result. Thanks to Ridgid and to Home Depot for a great product.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 6 ft. Toilet Auger with Bulb Head
from Tampa
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

DIY and Save

PostedApril 23, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I hired a plumber to clear my stopped up toilet. He used this product (but only the first stage 3 ft) and charged $129. The following week I had the same problem and so purchased this toilet auger, used it (both the first 3ft stage and the second 3 ft for a total of 6 ft) and have not had a problem since. There is a you tube video in case you need to see it demonstrated. Save yourself $100 and buy this auger instead of calling a plumber.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 6 ft. Toilet Auger with Bulb Head
from Home owner from Boston

Why you should spend $50 on a snake

PostedNovember 5, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was surprised to see snakes listed for a $10, alongside one for $50. I couldn't imagine why I'd need to spend $50.
It took a trip to the store to see them up close to compare.
Ok, you can get a basic snake with no frills. I'll bet it would work fine, but you'd get your hands and the bowl (where it rubs) messy. I know, I tried a lightweight coil that was rusty and I still haven't gotten that rust off the bowl.
Moving up in price, you get some in "containers" that wind up. While you'd think the handle would reel it in, it does not. So again, you'd be handling the snake that was just down inside your nasty toilet pipes.
Ignoring the crazy expensive versions that I'd imagine only plumbers or handymen would buy, I saw three products in the running.
This one, which is 6' long, a 3' version and a cheaper version in the same fashion. The cheaper version was MUCH cheaper, at $10. I almost bought it. I'll bet it would be enough for most clogs. It seemed like a smaller diameter coil, though, so I decided against it.
So it was down to the 3' and the 6'. Assuming this is the last toilet snake I'll ever buy it wouldn't have made sense to get the 3'.
So how does it work? It was so effortless that I didn't believe it was actually extending into the pipe. My old toilet has really crazy bends and I was worried about it making those bends. I made one complete, six foot pass and tried the toilet to find it still impeded. I made a second pass, this time spending more time working it around in different fdirections as it went in and out. This time when I pulled it out, it had a large mass of paper.
My toilet hasn't flushed this nicely in a long time!
Sigh... I feel lame enthusiastically reviewing a toilet snake on a Friday night!
+26points
26out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 6 ft. Toilet Auger with Bulb Head
from Lexington, SC
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Must have for certain Kohler toilets

PostedApril 6, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I have a Kohler Highline Classic toilet. Two of them, and I love them. But after about a year, one of them clogged up. A standard plunger will not work on them because of the large oval opening prevents a good suction with a plunger. So I purchased this and was surprised how easy it was to unclog the toilet. The best part was there was zero splash, like you would have with a plunger.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions
Cons: can damage your porcelain finish if not careful
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 6 ft. Toilet Auger with Bulb Head
from Covington Ky
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Very good auger.

PostedApril 14, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
They make the best augers in the business. Just getting cheaper heads on the auger.
Pros: Reliable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 6 ft. Toilet Auger with Bulb Head
from Seattle WA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

For older toilets, be advised:

PostedJanuary 31, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I am not able to make this work in a 1974 vintage toilet. I had to call a plumber. He made it work fairly easily, and told me this is the best tool for the job, especially the 6 foot model, but I still haven't gotten it to extend past 1-2 feet into the toilet. It takes more force/torque than I can produce. Maybe the older toilets have a sharper bend in the trap? Anyway, the next day the toilet was clogged again. Apparently my elderly mother had a plastic utensil in the pocket of her robe and it fell in. I was able to remove it with the auger, since it wasn't in very far, so this tool has already paid for itself, plus most of the cost of the last plumber's visit.
Pros: best rated by professional plumber
Cons: doesn't work easily for older toilets
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 6 ft. Toilet Auger with Bulb Head

It just works

PostedApril 7, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
When I bought this I didn't know it extended within itself. This tool far exceeds my expectations and with 4 kids and all my neighbors useing one bathroom I have already used it twice. I'm impressed.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 6 ft. Toilet Auger with Bulb Head
from Mead WA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product

PostedApril 7, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The product was very needed and did the job!! Glad that it was so easy to use.
Pros: Reliable, Good Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 6 ft. Toilet Auger with Bulb Head
from Millburn, NJ, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Job

PostedApril 9, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Glad I bought the 6ft model to unclog my toilet, as my clog was beyond the 3ft point, I then read the instruction sheet. (sorry hun) Pressing in the button on top releases the additional 3ft, and that did the trick;
P.S. A couple of years ago I had to call a service company to clear another toilet in my house that cost $125 and the guy used the same auger. This time The Home Depot saved me $75 or more.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 6 ft. Toilet Auger with Bulb Head
from Wilkes-Barre, PA, US
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Surprised

PostedMarch 3, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I bought this because I was having trouble with my toilet plugging up all the time after some bad roommates left. I used it many times. The toilet would work for a day or so, then needed to do it again. After several tries, I ended up calling a plumber. He solved the problem, there was a lid to a tin can in there! Grrrr. he said he really just got lucky, it is a hard thing to catch, I shouldn't be embarrassed. I showed him this auger. It's the same one HE used, LOL. Apparently, it's good enough for pros.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, same one the professional used.
Cons: instuctions seemed a little hard to understand.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 6 ft. Toilet Auger with Bulb Head
from San Antonio
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good necessary product

PostedFebruary 17, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Wanted to do a periodic clearing as the wife said water in second toilet was flushing slow. As there were no instructions, I went on YouTube to see how to videos. The 6 foot reached way down to clear any obstructions. It worked great! My only complaint is that the rubber covering at the elbow, the part that inserts into the toilet bowl, did not cover move of the auger metal, as a result, when I moved the auger back and forth, I scratched the porcelain. Now I'm looking for a porcelain scratch remover. I'd still recommend this product though.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 6 ft. Toilet Auger with Bulb Head
from Jackson, MS, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Glad I got the 6 footer

PostedAugust 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I had tried a cheap 3 foot model and it didn't unplug my toilet. So I tried this one and it worked great. Very similar to the one the Rotor Rooter man used when he came out. Be sure to read the instructions on how to extend the last 3 feet. I was a little confused at first, but it's just a matter of hitting the extension button.
+13points
14out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 6 ft. Toilet Auger with Bulb Head
from San Diego Ca.

Fix Your Toilet

PostedFebruary 22, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I've had a problem with my low flow toilet for months. And tried everything replaced the flush unit,cleaners,cleaned the ports under the rim did everything but buy a new toilet. I was down to plunging it every two days to get it to flush it just seemed like there was something in the throat of this thing that wouldn't flush down. But after I bought the Ridgid 6ft.HD toilet auger I ran it down twice in about 10 mins. and no more problems and it's easy to use and won't mess up you toilet bowl. THIS IS THE GREATEST THING SINCE THE WHEEL!
FLUSHES LIKE A CHAMP!
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 6 ft. Toilet Auger with Bulb Head

Who woulda thought....

PostedNovember 21, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I never knew such a device existed. I'm new to this home stuff. I thought I was going to have to hire a plumber I couldn't afford. I did some research and someone mentioned I should try a toilet auger before I hired a plumber. I had no clue what a toilet auger was. Went to Home Depot and bought this one... I had no clue how to use it. I thought I had a paper towel clog (We were out of toilet paper for a couple of days, by bad). Well it took a couple of tries but it worked. You can imagine my surprise when a plastic soda bottle came floating up!
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 6 ft. Toilet Auger with Bulb Head
from atlanta , georgia
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

i prefer 3 feet rigid toilet auger

PostedMarch 3, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
It is heavier and extending 3 feet is cumbersome and then rolling it back in is not trivial. I watched youtube videos and mine was not as simple as it is in online videos. I tried on how to use it ( without putting it in toilet ) and did not prefer it for above reasons . I returned it and bought 3 feet rigid toilet auger and it worked for me .
Cons: extending/retracting 3 feet is cumbersome
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 6 ft. Toilet Auger with Bulb Head

When in doubt, Auger it out!

PostedJune 2, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Accidentally flushed something down the toilette, picked up the Rigid 6ft auger, jammed it in the can & BOOM! Problem solved!
Get the 6 footer in case you need to go right to the stack. This is the exact tool that the plumber will use so it pays for itself in one go!
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 6 ft. Toilet Auger with Bulb Head
from Brooklyn Park, MN
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't pay a plumber--keep one of these handy!!!

PostedFebruary 24, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My kids have thrown a variety of items down the toilet--and I mean toilet paper, tp roll inserts, toys, and blocks--lots and lots of blocks, and once, even a spare battery for my cell phone. This auger has cleared every clog every single time.
Save yourself money. Don't call a plumber. Get one of these--especially if you have small children--and learn to use it well. You won't regret the purchase!!
Pros: Reliable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>