728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 6 ft. Toilet Auger with Bulb Head

6 ft. Toilet Auger with Bulb Head

The RIDGID 6 ft. Toilet Auger is a high-quality tool designed to provide safe and easy cleaning of toilet obstructions. The bulb-head auger features a compression-wrapped inner cable. Full lifetime warranty against material defects and workmanship.
Overall rating:
4.679 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(106 reviews) 106
Open Ratings Snapshot
93%of customersrecommend this product94 of 101reviews
Rating Breakdown 106 reviews
4.7 out of 5.0
5
(87)
4
(11)
3
(4)
2
(1)
1
(3)
Ease of installation 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Quality 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Value 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
93%of customersrecommend this product94 of 101reviews
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 24 Answers
Customer reviews for 6 ft. Toilet Auger with Bulb Head
Review 1 for 6 ft. Toilet Auger with Bulb Head
from Novi MI
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Saved me from having to replace a toilet

PostedNovember 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought a Kohler class 6 flush toilet and had it installed.
However the toilet wouldn't flush waste a 5 out of 6 times. Plunging, hot buckets of water and to no avail.Then purchaed the 6ft versions of this auger. Watched the video... do watch the video
Search for this video RIDGID K-6 Toilet Auger. It's worth the time.
The ran it twice and came out with fibers and wax from the old seal that the installer had probably pushed into the waste line that was preventing a good flush.
needed the six foot version to get to obstruction though.
Now the toilet works like a charm. This thing is so good that I'm going to use it instead of the plungers that don't work well anyway.
Pricey but worth every penny.
Pros: Reliable
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 6 ft. Toilet Auger with Bulb Head
from Seattle WA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

For older toilets, be advised:

PostedJanuary 31, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am not able to make this work in a 1974 vintage toilet. I had to call a plumber. He made it work fairly easily, and told me this is the best tool for the job, especially the 6 foot model, but I still haven't gotten it to extend past 1-2 feet into the toilet. It takes more force/torque than I can produce. Maybe the older toilets have a sharper bend in the trap? Anyway, the next day the toilet was clogged again. Apparently my elderly mother had a plastic utensil in the pocket of her robe and it fell in. I was able to remove it with the auger, since it wasn't in very far, so this tool has already paid for itself, plus most of the cost of the last plumber's visit.
Pros: best rated by professional plumber
Cons: doesn't work easily for older toilets
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 6 ft. Toilet Auger with Bulb Head
from Houston, TX, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A professional toilet snake that works every time

PostedNovember 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The first time I saw a snake like this was when my auger style snake could not clean out a stubborn plugged toilet and I had to pay a plumber almost 3 times what this snake cost. I went out and got one right away and have had to use it several times over the past year. With this snake you can use both auger (turning) and plunger (push/pull) action to get the plug to move. I got the 6 foot length - so not sure if the 3 foot snake of this type is as effective. When finished, I rinse it off with a hose, then hang it in the garage where it's handy for my wife to use (she's done the job several times by herself). It is a life saver (well - a plumber cost saver anyway).
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 6 ft. Toilet Auger with Bulb Head
from Brooklyn, NY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does the job.

PostedOctober 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Does the job. Short people may have difficulty using this tool. I found lower prices at online vendors, but we needed it urgently so we bought it at Home Depot.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 6 ft. Toilet Auger with Bulb Head

Don't call a plumber, get this snake!

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Clogged toilets are no match for this snake! Needed 6ft length for our clog. Relatively easy to use because I read the instructions AND watched a YouTube video on snaking a toilet. I also practiced on a toilet that wasn't clogged. Highly recommend watching a quick video for good tips and tricks. Wasn't intuitive on how to get snake to extend to 6ft, but I figured it out. Save hundreds of dollars on a plumber call and use this snake to unclog the toilet yourself. Afterall, the plumber will do the same thing, with similar equipment and charge you quite a bit of money. I had my toilet clear in 20 minutes and I am NOT handy when it comes to house repairs, etc...
Pros: Reliable
Cons: recommend watching youtube video on use
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 6 ft. Toilet Auger with Bulb Head
from Boulder, CO
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Outstanding product with more uses than for just toilets

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This auger was extremely effective and easy to use to clean out a very clogged toilet. Unexpectedly, it had another really good use - cleaning out a downspout clogged with leaves on our upper roof. I was not keen on putting a ladder on a sloped roof so I could reach into the clogged downspout from the upper roof. Rather, I simply used this auger to reach into and unclog the downspout while standing on the lower roof. (Rigid might even consider advertising this for unclogging downspouts, it worked so well.)
Pros: Reliable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 6 ft. Toilet Auger with Bulb Head
Gender:Female

Very happy!

PostedSeptember 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Best tool I've ever purchased. Well worth every penny. Terrible clog - there was NO water moving. After a half hour of plunging, I decided to go to HD. 10 minutes after I got home, the clog was gone! It paid for itself with this one use... didn't have to call a plumber. Very happy!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 6 ft. Toilet Auger with Bulb Head
from Round Rock, Texas

Fastest Auger in Texas

PostedFebruary 25, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After receiving a "free" quote from a local plumber for $164 to snake our clogged toilet, we rushed over to the local Home Depot and purchased the Ridgid 6 Foot Heavy Duty Toilet Auger. We had researched this item on the Home Depot website where most previous purchasers recommended the 6 foot length. Everything about this venture was perfect. The website was helpful, the item was available at the local HD, the HD associate was very helpful and knowledgeable about his products, the price was right and the auger worked!
Ten minutes of my time and minimal effort, produced the desired result. Thanks to Ridgid and to Home Depot for a great product.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 6 ft. Toilet Auger with Bulb Head

No substitute for Ridgid tools

PostedSeptember 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I own a restaurant and it seems like any plumbing problems are always during the busiest times, (Saturday night).
I have used this auger twice and both times it quickly took care of the problem.
The first time it paid for itself, the second time it saved me considerable money and the problem was solved in minutes.
Don't waste your time trying to save a little up front, Ridgid tools are worth the extra expense.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 6 ft. Toilet Auger with Bulb Head
from New Jersey

Please read, works as expected, BUT.....

PostedAugust 4, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I usually do not write a review. But I think this time I need to write my experience so that others be aware of the problem.
It works as expected, beautifully. bulb head is a good thing, but it morel likely will damage the wax seal connecting bowl and flange (If you don't know what I am talking, google it and see the diagram of plumbing). If after use, you see some thing like wax on the tip. After several usage, you might have a leaking seal. Not sure whether waxless seal is ok with it. I just replaced my seal because of that problme. Hope nobody else has this issue. At least you have to be gentle using the augur
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions
Cons: Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 6 ft. Toilet Auger with Bulb Head
from Home owner from Boston

Why you should spend $50 on a snake

PostedNovember 5, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was surprised to see snakes listed for a $10, alongside one for $50. I couldn't imagine why I'd need to spend $50.
It took a trip to the store to see them up close to compare.
Ok, you can get a basic snake with no frills. I'll bet it would work fine, but you'd get your hands and the bowl (where it rubs) messy. I know, I tried a lightweight coil that was rusty and I still haven't gotten that rust off the bowl.
Moving up in price, you get some in "containers" that wind up. While you'd think the handle would reel it in, it does not. So again, you'd be handling the snake that was just down inside your nasty toilet pipes.
Ignoring the crazy expensive versions that I'd imagine only plumbers or handymen would buy, I saw three products in the running.
This one, which is 6' long, a 3' version and a cheaper version in the same fashion. The cheaper version was MUCH cheaper, at $10. I almost bought it. I'll bet it would be enough for most clogs. It seemed like a smaller diameter coil, though, so I decided against it.
So it was down to the 3' and the 6'. Assuming this is the last toilet snake I'll ever buy it wouldn't have made sense to get the 3'.
So how does it work? It was so effortless that I didn't believe it was actually extending into the pipe. My old toilet has really crazy bends and I was worried about it making those bends. I made one complete, six foot pass and tried the toilet to find it still impeded. I made a second pass, this time spending more time working it around in different fdirections as it went in and out. This time when I pulled it out, it had a large mass of paper.
My toilet hasn't flushed this nicely in a long time!
Sigh... I feel lame enthusiastically reviewing a toilet snake on a Friday night!
+25points
25out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 6 ft. Toilet Auger with Bulb Head
from Lackawanna NY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Toilet Auger

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
ive got 4 Grand kids and 2 bathrooms im forever plunging both toilets till I seen this auger first use I was amazed at the speed this unplugged the most stubborn problem I had to date I would definitely recommend this to anyone who has the same problems Ive had Its a little pricey but hey,its better than the ulternative
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 6 ft. Toilet Auger with Bulb Head

Perfect product

PostedSeptember 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this product yesterday for toilet clot. Work perfect. Just took me about 2-3 minutes to clear toilet, very easy to use it
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 6 ft. Toilet Auger with Bulb Head
from Oceanside
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

A should have item

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
THIS ITEM IS PRE ASSEMBLED AND DOES THE JOB IT IS DESIGNED TO. MY PLUMBERT TOLD ME WHERE TO GET ONE AS HE HATED TO HAVE TO CHARGE $100 FOR SOMETHING YOU COULD DO YOURSELF IN SECONDS. NOT EVERYONE HAS A TOILET THAT GETS PLUGGED AND USUALLY THEY ARE A QUICK FIX. THAT'S WHAT THIS IS FOR AND WORKS WELL AND IS EASY TO USE. GOOD ITEM FOR ANY HOME OWNER TO HAVE AROUND. EVEN IF YOU ONLY HAVE TO USE IT ONCE IT PAYS FOR ITSELF TWICE OVER. WORTH CHECKING INTO FOR THAT PROBLEM NO ONE NEEDS OR HAVE TO DEAL WITH. HOME DEPOT HAS IT AND AT A VERY FAIR PRICE.
Pros: Reliable, Good Instructions, works as it should
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 6 ft. Toilet Auger with Bulb Head
from Millburn, NJ, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Job

PostedApril 9, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Glad I bought the 6ft model to unclog my toilet, as my clog was beyond the 3ft point, I then read the instruction sheet. (sorry hun) Pressing in the button on top releases the additional 3ft, and that did the trick;
P.S. A couple of years ago I had to call a service company to clear another toilet in my house that cost $125 and the guy used the same auger. This time The Home Depot saved me $75 or more.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 6 ft. Toilet Auger with Bulb Head
from Tampa Bay
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fixed my problem

PostedApril 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have two 6 year old daughters and my wife so allot of paper gets flushed down our commode.
I have been having issue with the power of my toilet for about a week.
I could get the toilet to drain but not to flush.
I used this product after trying to clear the problem with a plunger for three days.
The first attempt was not successful. I don't think I was getting the auger head down the line far enough.
The second time did the trick. It took allot more pressure and torque than I expected but now I have a functioning toilet for half the price of getting a plumber out to look at it.
Pros: Reliable
Cons: No Instructions
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 6 ft. Toilet Auger with Bulb Head
from Round Rock, TX
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

It is there when it is needed.

PostedAugust 21, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It is easy to use and to store. Never know when they come in use.
Pros: Reliable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 6 ft. Toilet Auger with Bulb Head

Ridgid 6ft. Toilet Auger with Bulb Head.

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It is a great tool to unclogged toilets. It works great.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 6 ft. Toilet Auger with Bulb Head
from Jackson, MS, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Glad I got the 6 footer

PostedAugust 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had tried a cheap 3 foot model and it didn't unplug my toilet. So I tried this one and it worked great. Very similar to the one the Rotor Rooter man used when he came out. Be sure to read the instructions on how to extend the last 3 feet. I was a little confused at first, but it's just a matter of hitting the extension button.
+13points
14out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 6 ft. Toilet Auger with Bulb Head

When in doubt, Auger it out!

PostedJune 2, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Accidentally flushed something down the toilette, picked up the Rigid 6ft auger, jammed it in the can & BOOM! Problem solved!
Get the 6 footer in case you need to go right to the stack. This is the exact tool that the plumber will use so it pays for itself in one go!
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>