728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 6 ft. Toilet Auger with Bulb Head

6 ft. Toilet Auger with Bulb Head

The RIDGID 6 ft. Toilet Auger is a high-quality tool designed to provide safe and easy cleaning of toilet obstructions. The bulb-head auger features a compression-wrapped inner cable. Full lifetime warranty against material defects and workmanship.
Overall rating:
4.691 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(97 reviews) 97
Open Ratings Snapshot
93%of customersrecommend this product86 of 92reviews
Rating Breakdown 97 reviews
4.7 out of 5.0
5
(81)
4
(9)
3
(3)
2
(1)
1
(3)
Ease of installation 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Quality 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Value 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
93%of customersrecommend this product86 of 92reviews
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 23 Answers
Customer reviews for 6 ft. Toilet Auger with Bulb Head
Review 1 for 6 ft. Toilet Auger with Bulb Head
from Novi MI
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Saved me from having to replace a toilet

PostedNovember 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought a Kohler class 6 flush toilet and had it installed.
However the toilet wouldn't flush waste a 5 out of 6 times. Plunging, hot buckets of water and to no avail.Then purchaed the 6ft versions of this auger. Watched the video... do watch the video
Search for this video RIDGID K-6 Toilet Auger. It's worth the time.
The ran it twice and came out with fibers and wax from the old seal that the installer had probably pushed into the waste line that was preventing a good flush.
needed the six foot version to get to obstruction though.
Now the toilet works like a charm. This thing is so good that I'm going to use it instead of the plungers that don't work well anyway.
Pricey but worth every penny.
Pros: Reliable
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 6 ft. Toilet Auger with Bulb Head
from Seattle WA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

For older toilets, be advised:

PostedJanuary 31, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am not able to make this work in a 1974 vintage toilet. I had to call a plumber. He made it work fairly easily, and told me this is the best tool for the job, especially the 6 foot model, but I still haven't gotten it to extend past 1-2 feet into the toilet. It takes more force/torque than I can produce. Maybe the older toilets have a sharper bend in the trap? Anyway, the next day the toilet was clogged again. Apparently my elderly mother had a plastic utensil in the pocket of her robe and it fell in. I was able to remove it with the auger, since it wasn't in very far, so this tool has already paid for itself, plus most of the cost of the last plumber's visit.
Pros: best rated by professional plumber
Cons: doesn't work easily for older toilets
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 6 ft. Toilet Auger with Bulb Head
from Houston, TX, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A professional toilet snake that works every time

PostedNovember 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The first time I saw a snake like this was when my auger style snake could not clean out a stubborn plugged toilet and I had to pay a plumber almost 3 times what this snake cost. I went out and got one right away and have had to use it several times over the past year. With this snake you can use both auger (turning) and plunger (push/pull) action to get the plug to move. I got the 6 foot length - so not sure if the 3 foot snake of this type is as effective. When finished, I rinse it off with a hose, then hang it in the garage where it's handy for my wife to use (she's done the job several times by herself). It is a life saver (well - a plumber cost saver anyway).
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 6 ft. Toilet Auger with Bulb Head

Don't call a plumber, get this snake!

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Clogged toilets are no match for this snake! Needed 6ft length for our clog. Relatively easy to use because I read the instructions AND watched a YouTube video on snaking a toilet. I also practiced on a toilet that wasn't clogged. Highly recommend watching a quick video for good tips and tricks. Wasn't intuitive on how to get snake to extend to 6ft, but I figured it out. Save hundreds of dollars on a plumber call and use this snake to unclog the toilet yourself. Afterall, the plumber will do the same thing, with similar equipment and charge you quite a bit of money. I had my toilet clear in 20 minutes and I am NOT handy when it comes to house repairs, etc...
Pros: Reliable
Cons: recommend watching youtube video on use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 6 ft. Toilet Auger with Bulb Head
from Round Rock, Texas

Fastest Auger in Texas

PostedFebruary 25, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After receiving a "free" quote from a local plumber for $164 to snake our clogged toilet, we rushed over to the local Home Depot and purchased the Ridgid 6 Foot Heavy Duty Toilet Auger. We had researched this item on the Home Depot website where most previous purchasers recommended the 6 foot length. Everything about this venture was perfect. The website was helpful, the item was available at the local HD, the HD associate was very helpful and knowledgeable about his products, the price was right and the auger worked!
Ten minutes of my time and minimal effort, produced the desired result. Thanks to Ridgid and to Home Depot for a great product.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 6 ft. Toilet Auger with Bulb Head
from Vidalia,La.
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Every household should have one

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No assembly required. If you only use this item once you have gotten your moneys worth.
Pros: Reliable, Good Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 6 ft. Toilet Auger with Bulb Head
from Ranchp Santa Margarita, CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Everyone should own one of these

PostedJune 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've used this Rigid drain opener many times since my purchase and couldn't be happier. It's easy to use and usually clears toilets in one try. I recommend rinsing it in the shower after each use and keeping the auger portion oiled. In the long run it will save you money and frustration. Your neighbors will want to borrow it if they know you have one.
Pros: Well Made, Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 6 ft. Toilet Auger with Bulb Head
from Lackawanna NY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Toilet Auger

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
ive got 4 Grand kids and 2 bathrooms im forever plunging both toilets till I seen this auger first use I was amazed at the speed this unplugged the most stubborn problem I had to date I would definitely recommend this to anyone who has the same problems Ive had Its a little pricey but hey,its better than the ulternative
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 6 ft. Toilet Auger with Bulb Head
from Home owner from Boston

Why you should spend $50 on a snake

PostedNovember 5, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was surprised to see snakes listed for a $10, alongside one for $50. I couldn't imagine why I'd need to spend $50.
It took a trip to the store to see them up close to compare.
Ok, you can get a basic snake with no frills. I'll bet it would work fine, but you'd get your hands and the bowl (where it rubs) messy. I know, I tried a lightweight coil that was rusty and I still haven't gotten that rust off the bowl.
Moving up in price, you get some in "containers" that wind up. While you'd think the handle would reel it in, it does not. So again, you'd be handling the snake that was just down inside your nasty toilet pipes.
Ignoring the crazy expensive versions that I'd imagine only plumbers or handymen would buy, I saw three products in the running.
This one, which is 6' long, a 3' version and a cheaper version in the same fashion. The cheaper version was MUCH cheaper, at $10. I almost bought it. I'll bet it would be enough for most clogs. It seemed like a smaller diameter coil, though, so I decided against it.
So it was down to the 3' and the 6'. Assuming this is the last toilet snake I'll ever buy it wouldn't have made sense to get the 3'.
So how does it work? It was so effortless that I didn't believe it was actually extending into the pipe. My old toilet has really crazy bends and I was worried about it making those bends. I made one complete, six foot pass and tried the toilet to find it still impeded. I made a second pass, this time spending more time working it around in different fdirections as it went in and out. This time when I pulled it out, it had a large mass of paper.
My toilet hasn't flushed this nicely in a long time!
Sigh... I feel lame enthusiastically reviewing a toilet snake on a Friday night!
+25points
25out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 6 ft. Toilet Auger with Bulb Head
from Millburn, NJ, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Job

PostedApril 9, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Glad I bought the 6ft model to unclog my toilet, as my clog was beyond the 3ft point, I then read the instruction sheet. (sorry hun) Pressing in the button on top releases the additional 3ft, and that did the trick;
P.S. A couple of years ago I had to call a service company to clear another toilet in my house that cost $125 and the guy used the same auger. This time The Home Depot saved me $75 or more.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 6 ft. Toilet Auger with Bulb Head
from The Salvaion Army
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Good for what it does

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a drane cleaner for just at the toilet, does a good job of dislodging a clog.
Pros: Reliable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 6 ft. Toilet Auger with Bulb Head
from Jackson, MS, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Glad I got the 6 footer

PostedAugust 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had tried a cheap 3 foot model and it didn't unplug my toilet. So I tried this one and it worked great. Very similar to the one the Rotor Rooter man used when he came out. Be sure to read the instructions on how to extend the last 3 feet. I was a little confused at first, but it's just a matter of hitting the extension button.
+13points
14out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 6 ft. Toilet Auger with Bulb Head
from The Colony
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Wow This product is awesome!!!

PostedMay 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
OMG this product saved me probably $250 in plumber fees! It truly works, once I figured out how to really use it, I was finished in a matter of minutes. It also allowed me not to need to use so much plunging which can become exhausting if you're not strong enough. Thanks for making this product and pricing it in the affordable range!!
Pros: Reliable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 6 ft. Toilet Auger with Bulb Head
from Tampa Bay
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fixed my problem

PostedApril 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have two 6 year old daughters and my wife so allot of paper gets flushed down our commode.
I have been having issue with the power of my toilet for about a week.
I could get the toilet to drain but not to flush.
I used this product after trying to clear the problem with a plunger for three days.
The first attempt was not successful. I don't think I was getting the auger head down the line far enough.
The second time did the trick. It took allot more pressure and torque than I expected but now I have a functioning toilet for half the price of getting a plumber out to look at it.
Pros: Reliable
Cons: No Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 6 ft. Toilet Auger with Bulb Head
from Massachusetts

Every home should have one

PostedMay 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I tried several at home remedies for my clogged toilet. Each to varying degrees of only marginal success. I even purchased a Bellows Plunger. After plunging for 15 minutes twice, I moved on to this auger. I was able to clear a very stubborn clog within 5 minutes.The crank handle takes a minute to get used to. Overall having the 6' model gave the leverage and cable reach needed. I would definitely recommend this product for soft clogs.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 6 ft. Toilet Auger with Bulb Head

When in doubt, Auger it out!

PostedJune 2, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Accidentally flushed something down the toilette, picked up the Rigid 6ft auger, jammed it in the can & BOOM! Problem solved!
Get the 6 footer in case you need to go right to the stack. This is the exact tool that the plumber will use so it pays for itself in one go!
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 6 ft. Toilet Auger with Bulb Head

Who woulda thought....

PostedNovember 21, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I never knew such a device existed. I'm new to this home stuff. I thought I was going to have to hire a plumber I couldn't afford. I did some research and someone mentioned I should try a toilet auger before I hired a plumber. I had no clue what a toilet auger was. Went to Home Depot and bought this one... I had no clue how to use it. I thought I had a paper towel clog (We were out of toilet paper for a couple of days, by bad). Well it took a couple of tries but it worked. You can imagine my surprise when a plastic soda bottle came floating up!
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 6 ft. Toilet Auger with Bulb Head
from Tampa, FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Fair

PostedApril 29, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The product was strongly made and might work well for others but in my case it became stuck on two separate occasions and I feared I would have to call a plumber to get it loose. I feared the toilet might have to be removed. Finally, a very muscular neighbor was able to break it loose after about ten minutes of heavy effort. The second time it got stuck and the same neighbor came to my rescue, I gave up. I was afraid to try to use it any more.
Cons: kept getting stuck in toilet
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 6 ft. Toilet Auger with Bulb Head
from San Diego Ca.

Fix Your Toilet

PostedFebruary 22, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've had a problem with my low flow toilet for months. And tried everything replaced the flush unit,cleaners,cleaned the ports under the rim did everything but buy a new toilet. I was down to plunging it every two days to get it to flush it just seemed like there was something in the throat of this thing that wouldn't flush down. But after I bought the Ridgid 6ft.HD toilet auger I ran it down twice in about 10 mins. and no more problems and it's easy to use and won't mess up you toilet bowl. THIS IS THE GREATEST THING SINCE THE WHEEL!
FLUSHES LIKE A CHAMP!
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 6 ft. Toilet Auger with Bulb Head
from Alabama, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Try this before a plumber

PostedOctober 1, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Had a pretty nasty clog that I went after with a plunger and one of those el cheapo closet augers from a discount store (that I used once and was rusted), and neither of those made a difference. I was a little hesitant about shelling out this much for something I'd probably rarely use but after trying the plunger and old rusty 3ft flimsy auger, my only other option was to give this a shot before calling in outside help. I checked the reviews and decided on the 6 ft since I wasn't sure how far down the clog was. Very first time I used it (on the 3 foot setting), it removed the clog in about 2 minutes worth of work. I didn't notice any scratching and I'm not really sure how other people manage to scratch theirs if they follow the instructions. This is a pretty sturdy piece of equipment and def not a disposable one like the last one I owned. I don't really have any doubt that this one would last.
I would highly recommend the 3 or 6 foot version from rigid. Only one use pays for itself when compared to a plumber.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>