728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 6 ft. Toilet Auger with Bulb Head

6 ft. Toilet Auger with Bulb Head

The RIDGID 6 ft. Toilet Auger is a high-quality tool designed to provide safe and easy cleaning of toilet obstructions. The bulb-head auger features a compression-wrapped inner cable. Full lifetime warranty against material defects and workmanship.
Overall rating:
4.618 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(131 reviews) 131
Open Ratings Snapshot
93%of customersrecommend this product116 of 125reviews
Rating Breakdown 131 reviews
4.6 out of 5
5
(102)
4
(18)
3
(5)
2
(2)
1
(4)
Ease of installation 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Quality 
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
93%of customersrecommend this product116 of 125reviews
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 34 Answers
Customer reviews for 6 ft. Toilet Auger with Bulb Head
Review 1 for 6 ft. Toilet Auger with Bulb Head
from Novi MI
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Saved me from having to replace a toilet

PostedNovember 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Bought a Kohler class 6 flush toilet and had it installed.
However the toilet wouldn't flush waste a 5 out of 6 times. Plunging, hot buckets of water and to no avail.Then purchaed the 6ft versions of this auger. Watched the video... do watch the video
Search for this video RIDGID K-6 Toilet Auger. It's worth the time.
The ran it twice and came out with fibers and wax from the old seal that the installer had probably pushed into the waste line that was preventing a good flush.
needed the six foot version to get to obstruction though.
Now the toilet works like a charm. This thing is so good that I'm going to use it instead of the plungers that don't work well anyway.
Pricey but worth every penny.
Pros: Reliable
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 6 ft. Toilet Auger with Bulb Head
from Wilkes-Barre, PA, US
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Surprised

PostedMarch 3, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I bought this because I was having trouble with my toilet plugging up all the time after some bad roommates left. I used it many times. The toilet would work for a day or so, then needed to do it again. After several tries, I ended up calling a plumber. He solved the problem, there was a lid to a tin can in there! Grrrr. he said he really just got lucky, it is a hard thing to catch, I shouldn't be embarrassed. I showed him this auger. It's the same one HE used, LOL. Apparently, it's good enough for pros.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, same one the professional used.
Cons: instuctions seemed a little hard to understand.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 6 ft. Toilet Auger with Bulb Head
from San Antonio
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good necessary product

PostedFebruary 17, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Wanted to do a periodic clearing as the wife said water in second toilet was flushing slow. As there were no instructions, I went on YouTube to see how to videos. The 6 foot reached way down to clear any obstructions. It worked great! My only complaint is that the rubber covering at the elbow, the part that inserts into the toilet bowl, did not cover move of the auger metal, as a result, when I moved the auger back and forth, I scratched the porcelain. Now I'm looking for a porcelain scratch remover. I'd still recommend this product though.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 6 ft. Toilet Auger with Bulb Head
from atlanta , georgia
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

i prefer 3 feet rigid toilet auger

PostedMarch 3, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
It is heavier and extending 3 feet is cumbersome and then rolling it back in is not trivial. I watched youtube videos and mine was not as simple as it is in online videos. I tried on how to use it ( without putting it in toilet ) and did not prefer it for above reasons . I returned it and bought 3 feet rigid toilet auger and it worked for me .
Cons: extending/retracting 3 feet is cumbersome
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 6 ft. Toilet Auger with Bulb Head
from Brooklyn Park, MN
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't pay a plumber--keep one of these handy!!!

PostedFebruary 24, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My kids have thrown a variety of items down the toilet--and I mean toilet paper, tp roll inserts, toys, and blocks--lots and lots of blocks, and once, even a spare battery for my cell phone. This auger has cleared every clog every single time.
Save yourself money. Don't call a plumber. Get one of these--especially if you have small children--and learn to use it well. You won't regret the purchase!!
Pros: Reliable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 6 ft. Toilet Auger with Bulb Head
from Houston, TX, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A professional toilet snake that works every time

PostedNovember 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The first time I saw a snake like this was when my auger style snake could not clean out a stubborn plugged toilet and I had to pay a plumber almost 3 times what this snake cost. I went out and got one right away and have had to use it several times over the past year. With this snake you can use both auger (turning) and plunger (push/pull) action to get the plug to move. I got the 6 foot length - so not sure if the 3 foot snake of this type is as effective. When finished, I rinse it off with a hose, then hang it in the garage where it's handy for my wife to use (she's done the job several times by herself). It is a life saver (well - a plumber cost saver anyway).
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 6 ft. Toilet Auger with Bulb Head
from Redmond, Oregon
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A Must Have Tool!

PostedMarch 3, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
This cleared up my toilet problem FAST! My toilet has been clogging about every 2 weeks, and not because I'm doing something unusual. And, only one person is using this toilet. I've had to call a plumber to unclog the toilet at $75 a pop. This was being paid by the landlord. And, although the plumber told the landlord that there is a problem with the toilet (I've had no problems with the other one in the house.), the owner refuses to buy a new one. And then the landlord told me that I'd have to pay for the plumber if it happened again. It did.
So, I called the plumber and asked what tool he used to do the unclogging, and this was the item. For $60 it was a bit expensive, but a one-time $60 is a lot better than forking over $75 each time the plumber would have to come, right?
It's easy to use although a bit cumbersome and heavy. You just insert the end of the tube into the throat of the toilet and twist the knob as you push down on the rod, and whoosh, it's done. Takes about 2 minutes from when the toilet clogs until you get this tool and unclog it. Easy peezie!
And the quality of this tool is great. It will last a long time if not abused and if cleaned off after every use. This is so much better than the standard toilet snake you can also get at Home Depot. The standard one would do nothing about the clogs. Nothing. This unit only takes a little effort and your problem is solved. And so easy to use! Also, very convenient to take it out any time of the day or night to make the toilet usable again. Plus, it's free after the first time when you have to buy it.
I highly recommend it.
Pros: Reliable, easy to use., works quickly.
Cons: bulky and heavy., a bit expensive.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 6 ft. Toilet Auger with Bulb Head
from Chicago

it surely works

PostedFebruary 17, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
instead of paying $150-200 for a plumber to solve the problem, you can easily do this yourself. It will be a 2-people job since you do need that second pair of hands to hold a large garbage bag when you are done to take the unit outside to rinse it off. We gave it a bleach bath first while it's still inside the toilet bowl before we take it outside to the yard to hose off.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 6 ft. Toilet Auger with Bulb Head
from Round Rock, Texas

Fastest Auger in Texas

PostedFebruary 25, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
After receiving a "free" quote from a local plumber for $164 to snake our clogged toilet, we rushed over to the local Home Depot and purchased the Ridgid 6 Foot Heavy Duty Toilet Auger. We had researched this item on the Home Depot website where most previous purchasers recommended the 6 foot length. Everything about this venture was perfect. The website was helpful, the item was available at the local HD, the HD associate was very helpful and knowledgeable about his products, the price was right and the auger worked!
Ten minutes of my time and minimal effort, produced the desired result. Thanks to Ridgid and to Home Depot for a great product.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 6 ft. Toilet Auger with Bulb Head
from Boston, MA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

At some point, you will need this tool

PostedJanuary 14, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Picture this: major toilet backup, full bowl, not responding to aggressive plunger action. Into my basement I go to retrieve the Ridgid closet auger. I bought this item the first year my wife and I bought our house 21 years ago. Label still attached, never needed to use it in all that time...until tonight. Read the directions, begin the work...toilet flowing in less than 5 minutes. Not a scratch on the bowl. Worth it's weight in gold. Savings from not calling a plumber at 9 pm tonight: $200. Positve change in attitude: priceless
Pros: perfect for task
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 6 ft. Toilet Auger with Bulb Head
from Seattle WA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

For older toilets, be advised:

PostedJanuary 31, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I am not able to make this work in a 1974 vintage toilet. I had to call a plumber. He made it work fairly easily, and told me this is the best tool for the job, especially the 6 foot model, but I still haven't gotten it to extend past 1-2 feet into the toilet. It takes more force/torque than I can produce. Maybe the older toilets have a sharper bend in the trap? Anyway, the next day the toilet was clogged again. Apparently my elderly mother had a plastic utensil in the pocket of her robe and it fell in. I was able to remove it with the auger, since it wasn't in very far, so this tool has already paid for itself, plus most of the cost of the last plumber's visit.
Pros: best rated by professional plumber
Cons: doesn't work easily for older toilets
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 6 ft. Toilet Auger with Bulb Head

Did The Trick!

PostedJanuary 27, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The object clogging the toilet was out of reach of the 3' auger. This 6' gem did the trick. The button mechanism could be more robust, but I don't plan on using it every day.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 6 ft. Toilet Auger with Bulb Head

Will save you BIG TIME PLUMBER MONEY !!!

PostedNovember 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this because we have a basement toilet that drains into a line that has a steep pitch that the waste must be forced out of. We just moved in a few months ago and after using the toilet routinely for a week straight it got clogged. I tried plunging and plunging and the clog just wouldn't come loose. We called a rooter and $180 dollars later and a loud machine for two hours and the line was UNCLOGGED ! IMAGINE THAT ! I don't know anything about plumbing, but when the toilet clogged again 2 days ago I said, this cannot be from ROOTS, the guy was JUST HERE ! Plunged to no avail of course, so I said "I'm getting an AUGER before I pay plumber or rooter again !" So I bought this 6 footer learned how it worked before I stuck it in the toilet (make sure you know how it works mechanically FIRST !) laid down some cardboard by the toilet, got my gloves and goggles and went to work....and my drain was unclogged in 30 seconds...and it only cost me $50 bucks...and it won't cost me a DIME if it happens AGAIN. If this problem sounds familiar....BUY THIS THING !!!
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 6 ft. Toilet Auger with Bulb Head
from Home owner from Boston

Why you should spend $50 on a snake

PostedNovember 5, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was surprised to see snakes listed for a $10, alongside one for $50. I couldn't imagine why I'd need to spend $50.
It took a trip to the store to see them up close to compare.
Ok, you can get a basic snake with no frills. I'll bet it would work fine, but you'd get your hands and the bowl (where it rubs) messy. I know, I tried a lightweight coil that was rusty and I still haven't gotten that rust off the bowl.
Moving up in price, you get some in "containers" that wind up. While you'd think the handle would reel it in, it does not. So again, you'd be handling the snake that was just down inside your nasty toilet pipes.
Ignoring the crazy expensive versions that I'd imagine only plumbers or handymen would buy, I saw three products in the running.
This one, which is 6' long, a 3' version and a cheaper version in the same fashion. The cheaper version was MUCH cheaper, at $10. I almost bought it. I'll bet it would be enough for most clogs. It seemed like a smaller diameter coil, though, so I decided against it.
So it was down to the 3' and the 6'. Assuming this is the last toilet snake I'll ever buy it wouldn't have made sense to get the 3'.
So how does it work? It was so effortless that I didn't believe it was actually extending into the pipe. My old toilet has really crazy bends and I was worried about it making those bends. I made one complete, six foot pass and tried the toilet to find it still impeded. I made a second pass, this time spending more time working it around in different fdirections as it went in and out. This time when I pulled it out, it had a large mass of paper.
My toilet hasn't flushed this nicely in a long time!
Sigh... I feel lame enthusiastically reviewing a toilet snake on a Friday night!
+26points
26out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 6 ft. Toilet Auger with Bulb Head
from Greenville, TX

Excellent!!!

PostedJanuary 15, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This implement is well built, did exactly what it was proclaimed to do and if you're a homeowner, spend a little more to get a durable and easy to use piece of equipment. It did in two minutes what I struggled three days to do with a plunger. I highly recommend this auger.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 6 ft. Toilet Auger with Bulb Head
from Central Florida
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Faulty Design deemed not returnable by manager

PostedNovember 12, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I should have read the negative reviews. Explanation of how this works: a short stub of square steel bar is attached to the end of a 6' snake. This stub has a spring loaded small plunger ball that is suppose to engage one of two holes in either end of a piece of square tubing that is approx 30 to 36" long. The stub slides inside the square tube and after you get 3' of the snake down the toilet you release the plunger ball near the turning handle and slide the square tube out until the plunger ball engages the hole at the other end. Now you have another 3' of reach to get past the wax ring area. This is the way it is suppose to work. What happens in practice is when you go to retrieve the 3' extension the plunger ball pops out of the hole in the sq. tube and you are dead in the water--or waste water :( There is no possible way to get it back in the hole it just popped out of so you have to manually (that's with your hands friends) pull at least 3' out and line up the plug with the end of the tube so the plunger ball will pop out in the upper hole. I guess it depends on your plumbing but it was NOT easy to manually retract it the 3' or so necessary to reattach the plug/snake without being able to spin the handle--a real struggle. Manger tells me it is not returnable but finally relented and gave me a store credit. This design is really marginal but if made to a higher quality standard it might work. After seeing how it worked in action further examination showed my copy to be of very poor quality so I can't recommend this product.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 6 ft. Toilet Auger with Bulb Head
from New Jersey

Please read, works as expected, BUT.....

PostedAugust 4, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I usually do not write a review. But I think this time I need to write my experience so that others be aware of the problem.
It works as expected, beautifully. bulb head is a good thing, but it morel likely will damage the wax seal connecting bowl and flange (If you don't know what I am talking, google it and see the diagram of plumbing). If after use, you see some thing like wax on the tip. After several usage, you might have a leaking seal. Not sure whether waxless seal is ok with it. I just replaced my seal because of that problme. Hope nobody else has this issue. At least you have to be gentle using the augur
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions
Cons: Leaks
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 6 ft. Toilet Auger with Bulb Head
from Millburn, NJ, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Job

PostedApril 9, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Glad I bought the 6ft model to unclog my toilet, as my clog was beyond the 3ft point, I then read the instruction sheet. (sorry hun) Pressing in the button on top releases the additional 3ft, and that did the trick;
P.S. A couple of years ago I had to call a service company to clear another toilet in my house that cost $125 and the guy used the same auger. This time The Home Depot saved me $75 or more.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 6 ft. Toilet Auger with Bulb Head

Don't call a plumber, get this snake!

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Clogged toilets are no match for this snake! Needed 6ft length for our clog. Relatively easy to use because I read the instructions AND watched a YouTube video on snaking a toilet. I also practiced on a toilet that wasn't clogged. Highly recommend watching a quick video for good tips and tricks. Wasn't intuitive on how to get snake to extend to 6ft, but I figured it out. Save hundreds of dollars on a plumber call and use this snake to unclog the toilet yourself. Afterall, the plumber will do the same thing, with similar equipment and charge you quite a bit of money. I had my toilet clear in 20 minutes and I am NOT handy when it comes to house repairs, etc...
Pros: Reliable
Cons: recommend watching youtube video on use
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 6 ft. Toilet Auger with Bulb Head
from Jackson, MS, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Glad I got the 6 footer

PostedAugust 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I had tried a cheap 3 foot model and it didn't unplug my toilet. So I tried this one and it worked great. Very similar to the one the Rotor Rooter man used when he came out. Be sure to read the instructions on how to extend the last 3 feet. I was a little confused at first, but it's just a matter of hitting the extension button.
+13points
14out of 15found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>