728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 6 ft. Toilet Auger with Bulb Head

6 ft. Toilet Auger with Bulb Head

The RIDGID 6 ft. Toilet Auger is a high-quality tool designed to provide safe and easy cleaning of toilet obstructions. The bulb-head auger features a compression-wrapped inner cable. Full lifetime warranty against material defects and workmanship.
Overall rating:
4.641 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(145 reviews) 145
Open Ratings Snapshot
93%of customersrecommend this product127 of 136reviews
Rating Breakdown 145 reviews
4.6 out of 5
5
(114)
4
(20)
3
(5)
2
(2)
1
(4)
Ease of installation 
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5
Quality 
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
93%of customersrecommend this product127 of 136reviews
Customer questions and answers:
7 Questions | 44 Answers
Customer reviews for 6 ft. Toilet Auger with Bulb Head
Review 1 for 6 ft. Toilet Auger with Bulb Head
from Novi MI
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Saved me from having to replace a toilet

PostedNovember 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Bought a Kohler class 6 flush toilet and had it installed.
However the toilet wouldn't flush waste a 5 out of 6 times. Plunging, hot buckets of water and to no avail.Then purchaed the 6ft versions of this auger. Watched the video... do watch the video
Search for this video RIDGID K-6 Toilet Auger. It's worth the time.
The ran it twice and came out with fibers and wax from the old seal that the installer had probably pushed into the waste line that was preventing a good flush.
needed the six foot version to get to obstruction though.
Now the toilet works like a charm. This thing is so good that I'm going to use it instead of the plungers that don't work well anyway.
Pricey but worth every penny.
Pros: Reliable
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 6 ft. Toilet Auger with Bulb Head

Clogged? Not for long using this!

PostedAugust 2, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This auger does the job. After a series of perfect storm events, part of a plastic hanger, yes a plastic hanger was stuck deep inside my toilet. I headed down to the Home Depot looking for something to stop me from having to call my plumber. Bingo!!!! The Rigid toilet auger! The in store price was cheaper, about $16 cheaper, it was $33.98 compare to the $49.98 listed on the Web price. Anyway, I get it home, follow the simple 3 step process and after the third try, the piece of the hanger emerged enough for me to pull it out with my hand. As a added bonus, the toilet flushes better than ever! If you got a clogged toilet whether it's a hanger or anything else, spend the dollars, get this tool, and get to flushing again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 6 ft. Toilet Auger with Bulb Head
from Houston, TX, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A professional toilet snake that works every time

PostedNovember 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The first time I saw a snake like this was when my auger style snake could not clean out a stubborn plugged toilet and I had to pay a plumber almost 3 times what this snake cost. I went out and got one right away and have had to use it several times over the past year. With this snake you can use both auger (turning) and plunger (push/pull) action to get the plug to move. I got the 6 foot length - so not sure if the 3 foot snake of this type is as effective. When finished, I rinse it off with a hose, then hang it in the garage where it's handy for my wife to use (she's done the job several times by herself). It is a life saver (well - a plumber cost saver anyway).
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 6 ft. Toilet Auger with Bulb Head
from Montgomery, Alabama
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Did the job!

PostedAugust 11, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I had a 3 ft. Auger that could not get to the problem, but this 6ft. rigid did the trick. I dreaded having to call a plumber, so this tool saved me from having to call one. Should have had one sooner. Great tool for ever house hold.
Pros: Reliable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 6 ft. Toilet Auger with Bulb Head

Size does matter

PostedJuly 8, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I also own the 3' Brasscraft auger that Home depot sells for $8.78, I chose that item a few years ago because of the price difference versus the Ridgid. It actually served its purpose on at least one prior occasion.
However, for my latest clog, it simply wasn't sufficient. So, after reading a number of the reviews here for the ridgid, I bit the bullet and paid the $50. And I'm glad I did. It worked and saved me from having to call a plumber. The extra 3' did the trick. It's much more solid than the Brasscraft too, so that may have had something to do with it as well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 6 ft. Toilet Auger with Bulb Head
from Round Rock, Texas

Fastest Auger in Texas

PostedFebruary 25, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
After receiving a "free" quote from a local plumber for $164 to snake our clogged toilet, we rushed over to the local Home Depot and purchased the Ridgid 6 Foot Heavy Duty Toilet Auger. We had researched this item on the Home Depot website where most previous purchasers recommended the 6 foot length. Everything about this venture was perfect. The website was helpful, the item was available at the local HD, the HD associate was very helpful and knowledgeable about his products, the price was right and the auger worked!
Ten minutes of my time and minimal effort, produced the desired result. Thanks to Ridgid and to Home Depot for a great product.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 6 ft. Toilet Auger with Bulb Head
from oklahoma city
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This worked great!

PostedAugust 3, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I had a clogged toilet that would not clear. I tried 2 different cheaper 3ft auger.s I watched a video on this one in the questions section and bought the Rigid 6 ft. It worked in a couple minutes. Very pleased to have a working toilet. Recommend!
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 6 ft. Toilet Auger with Bulb Head
from Home owner from Boston

Why you should spend $50 on a snake

PostedNovember 5, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was surprised to see snakes listed for a $10, alongside one for $50. I couldn't imagine why I'd need to spend $50.
It took a trip to the store to see them up close to compare.
Ok, you can get a basic snake with no frills. I'll bet it would work fine, but you'd get your hands and the bowl (where it rubs) messy. I know, I tried a lightweight coil that was rusty and I still haven't gotten that rust off the bowl.
Moving up in price, you get some in "containers" that wind up. While you'd think the handle would reel it in, it does not. So again, you'd be handling the snake that was just down inside your nasty toilet pipes.
Ignoring the crazy expensive versions that I'd imagine only plumbers or handymen would buy, I saw three products in the running.
This one, which is 6' long, a 3' version and a cheaper version in the same fashion. The cheaper version was MUCH cheaper, at $10. I almost bought it. I'll bet it would be enough for most clogs. It seemed like a smaller diameter coil, though, so I decided against it.
So it was down to the 3' and the 6'. Assuming this is the last toilet snake I'll ever buy it wouldn't have made sense to get the 3'.
So how does it work? It was so effortless that I didn't believe it was actually extending into the pipe. My old toilet has really crazy bends and I was worried about it making those bends. I made one complete, six foot pass and tried the toilet to find it still impeded. I made a second pass, this time spending more time working it around in different fdirections as it went in and out. This time when I pulled it out, it had a large mass of paper.
My toilet hasn't flushed this nicely in a long time!
Sigh... I feel lame enthusiastically reviewing a toilet snake on a Friday night!
+26points
26out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 6 ft. Toilet Auger with Bulb Head
from NSB, FL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Toilet Auger with bulb head

PostedJuly 14, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Product was easy to use and worked great. Would definitely recommend it.
Pros: Reliable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 6 ft. Toilet Auger with Bulb Head
from Seattle WA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

For older toilets, be advised:

PostedJanuary 31, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I am not able to make this work in a 1974 vintage toilet. I had to call a plumber. He made it work fairly easily, and told me this is the best tool for the job, especially the 6 foot model, but I still haven't gotten it to extend past 1-2 feet into the toilet. It takes more force/torque than I can produce. Maybe the older toilets have a sharper bend in the trap? Anyway, the next day the toilet was clogged again. Apparently my elderly mother had a plastic utensil in the pocket of her robe and it fell in. I was able to remove it with the auger, since it wasn't in very far, so this tool has already paid for itself, plus most of the cost of the last plumber's visit.
Pros: best rated by professional plumber
Cons: doesn't work easily for older toilets
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 6 ft. Toilet Auger with Bulb Head
from Millburn, NJ, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Job

PostedApril 9, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Glad I bought the 6ft model to unclog my toilet, as my clog was beyond the 3ft point, I then read the instruction sheet. (sorry hun) Pressing in the button on top releases the additional 3ft, and that did the trick;
P.S. A couple of years ago I had to call a service company to clear another toilet in my house that cost $125 and the guy used the same auger. This time The Home Depot saved me $75 or more.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 6 ft. Toilet Auger with Bulb Head
from Huntsville, Al
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Best tool to help get the job done. I rate the product a 100

PostedJune 23, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The Toilet auger with bulb head is very helpful and easy to operate.
Pros: Reliable
Cons: gets the job done
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 6 ft. Toilet Auger with Bulb Head
from Santa Rosa, CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Really good solution

PostedJune 16, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have a toilet that clogs easily. This Toilet Auger is the easiest to use and the results are quick. It doesn't take a lot of room to store. The larger size is a good price and worth having the option for the longest reach.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 6 ft. Toilet Auger with Bulb Head
from San Diego Ca.

Fix Your Toilet

PostedFebruary 22, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I've had a problem with my low flow toilet for months. And tried everything replaced the flush unit,cleaners,cleaned the ports under the rim did everything but buy a new toilet. I was down to plunging it every two days to get it to flush it just seemed like there was something in the throat of this thing that wouldn't flush down. But after I bought the Ridgid 6ft.HD toilet auger I ran it down twice in about 10 mins. and no more problems and it's easy to use and won't mess up you toilet bowl. THIS IS THE GREATEST THING SINCE THE WHEEL!
FLUSHES LIKE A CHAMP!
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 6 ft. Toilet Auger with Bulb Head

Who woulda thought....

PostedNovember 21, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I never knew such a device existed. I'm new to this home stuff. I thought I was going to have to hire a plumber I couldn't afford. I did some research and someone mentioned I should try a toilet auger before I hired a plumber. I had no clue what a toilet auger was. Went to Home Depot and bought this one... I had no clue how to use it. I thought I had a paper towel clog (We were out of toilet paper for a couple of days, by bad). Well it took a couple of tries but it worked. You can imagine my surprise when a plastic soda bottle came floating up!
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 6 ft. Toilet Auger with Bulb Head
from Jackson, MS, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Glad I got the 6 footer

PostedAugust 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I had tried a cheap 3 foot model and it didn't unplug my toilet. So I tried this one and it worked great. Very similar to the one the Rotor Rooter man used when he came out. Be sure to read the instructions on how to extend the last 3 feet. I was a little confused at first, but it's just a matter of hitting the extension button.
+13points
14out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 6 ft. Toilet Auger with Bulb Head
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Keep it clean and unclogged

PostedJune 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Just what the plumbers used here twice. Cost $85.00 each time so I bought the best. Recommend for all homes and mobil homes. A+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
Pros: Reliable, Good Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 6 ft. Toilet Auger with Bulb Head

When in doubt, Auger it out!

PostedJune 2, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Accidentally flushed something down the toilette, picked up the Rigid 6ft auger, jammed it in the can & BOOM! Problem solved!
Get the 6 footer in case you need to go right to the stack. This is the exact tool that the plumber will use so it pays for itself in one go!
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 6 ft. Toilet Auger with Bulb Head
from Alabama, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Try this before a plumber

PostedOctober 1, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Had a pretty nasty clog that I went after with a plunger and one of those el cheapo closet augers from a discount store (that I used once and was rusted), and neither of those made a difference. I was a little hesitant about shelling out this much for something I'd probably rarely use but after trying the plunger and old rusty 3ft flimsy auger, my only other option was to give this a shot before calling in outside help. I checked the reviews and decided on the 6 ft since I wasn't sure how far down the clog was. Very first time I used it (on the 3 foot setting), it removed the clog in about 2 minutes worth of work. I didn't notice any scratching and I'm not really sure how other people manage to scratch theirs if they follow the instructions. This is a pretty sturdy piece of equipment and def not a disposable one like the last one I owned. I don't really have any doubt that this one would last.
I would highly recommend the 3 or 6 foot version from rigid. Only one use pays for itself when compared to a plumber.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 6 ft. Toilet Auger with Bulb Head
from Manchester, NJ

Toilet Auger

PostedJanuary 5, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My toilet was terribly clogged and I could not use a plunger to clear it. I bought this auger and at first I couldn't get it to go down far enough into the toilet. So, I was almost ready to remove the toilet but I tried the auger one last time. This time I tried inserting the bottom part of the auger at various angles and I finally was able to insert the 6ft length of the cable. When pulling out the cable, out came a plastic cap to a softscrub container which is about 3 or so inches in diameter. One of my kids must have dropped it in the toilet and flushed it instead of reaching in to remove it. Go figure. Anyway, with a little effort this auger worked great and saved me big bucks on a plumber. I am glad I went with the 6ft. model because the clog would have been too far for the 3ft version. I also liked how sturdy this one was. It was worth the $50!
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 7 >>