728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Measure & Layout Tools or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 800 ft. Dual Beam Rotary Laser Level

800 ft. Dual Beam Rotary Laser Level

The CST/Berger 800 ft. Manual-Leveling Dual Beam Rotary Laser Package includes Aluminum Tripod, 8 ft. 3 section Aluminum builder’s rod, Laser Detector, target, ceiling mount and laser glasses. Working range is 800 ft. diameter; accuracy is 1/4 in. at a 100 ft. The Lm30 has unique features such as long and short scan modes that create a Laser Chalk line to increase visibility, spot mode for 90 degree point to point mode, variable speed mode for maximum visibility, one person, one button operation, and low battery indicator, protected manual leveling vials both horizontal and vertical. Applications include cabinets, shelves, carpentry, marking elevations, masonry, foundations, septic work, wall and partitions, fencing, floors, siding installations, door and windows, etc.
Overall rating:
4.188 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(16 reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
87%of customersrecommend this product13 of 15reviews
Rating Breakdown 16 reviews
4.2 out of 5.0
5
(9)
4
(5)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(2)
Quality 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
87%of customersrecommend this product13 of 15reviews
Customer reviews for 800 ft. Dual Beam Rotary Laser Level
Review 1 for 800 ft. Dual Beam Rotary Laser Level
from Wisconsin

Great value for the price

PostedJuly 16, 2008
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I was worried that this laser level would not perform well given the relatively low price compared to other laser levels, but I have been pleasantly surprised! I have been using this laser level in swamp forests for several days each week for my field research. I have been using it since early June, and have had no problems. We even briefly dropped the laser receiver in the water (which I don't recommend), and it has continued to work well. The laser also experienced a 4 foot drop onto pavement, but continued to work just fine. We use the laser level for 2-5 hours a days, and have not had to change the batteries in the 1.5 months that we have had it. Given the scientific nature of my work, I could not use the stadia rod that came with the package. I opted to order a metric stadia rod from another company...and the longer length (18m) has been a life saver! In sum, I'd recommend this basic laser level for other field researchers that are working with limited funds and only require basic information from the level!
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 800 ft. Dual Beam Rotary Laser Level
from Gresham, Oregon
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great Laser

PostedJuly 25, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Works Great! Easy to set up and handle. Nice and light weight compared to old lasers.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 800 ft. Dual Beam Rotary Laser Level
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Save your money

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this to use doing a drop ceiling in a new space that was 40' X 60'. Well within the advertised range. Could not see the beam even with the only light being from outside. I had to use it as a spot laser and marked the corners and then used a chalk line. I could have done the same with a $20 hose level. I had a different laser for 10 years and it finally died so I thought I would try a Berger. Not worth half the money. Probably could get the same performance with a $60 Johnson model. It was returned.
Cons: Limited Features
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 800 ft. Dual Beam Rotary Laser Level
from Seattle, WA

A great little toy - 800 FT. DUAL BEAM ROTARY LASER LEVEL

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great quality for the money, Easy to assemble, easy to use. Glad they had an affordable option for my home project
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 800 ft. Dual Beam Rotary Laser Level
from Suffolk, VA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very good & reasonably priced product.

PostedMay 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very happy with this kit. It would be nice to have some useage examples in the literature or manual. The manual is very basic to the operation of the product.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: need useage examples
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 800 ft. Dual Beam Rotary Laser Level
from Palmyra, Mo

Priced right

PostedDecember 18, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have had this laser for 3 years now. Used a lot in pouring concrete and house building. Our only problem was having to check how level it was reagularly or our grade would be off. would still be using if my customers grandchildren had not knocked it over and broken it.
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 800 ft. Dual Beam Rotary Laser Level
from honolulu, hi

rotory lazer

PostedApril 29, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
price of this packaged product initially caught my attention. I researched many rotory laser products and settled on this one as its accuracy and versatilty were equal or better at a much lower packaged cost. I used mine to target a lot excavation that i did not want to pay a surveyor to do. After that it was used to level foundation pours and mason brick walls, It pays for itself easily and provides confidense to take on the largest jobs.
+4points
8out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 800 ft. Dual Beam Rotary Laser Level
from Ma
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great package

PostedNovember 29, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Good start up laser, had it four years in tough conditions no longer works looks like moisture has gotten to it. Still a good tool and priced right. You do need to keep your eye on it because it will lose its level.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Not Durable
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 800 ft. Dual Beam Rotary Laser Level
from Cedar Park, TX, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great tool for a great price. Perfect tool for one person operation.

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to use tool for any level of expertise. Minimum time required for set up. Great tool when calculating elevations and levels by yourself. Lightweight and compact for easy storage. Durable to handle any outdoor conditions.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 800 ft. Dual Beam Rotary Laser Level
from Wyoming, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

All around, one person tool!

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have done a little of everything with this tool. Leveled old cabins, installed drain tile, septic systems, dug basements to grade. installed drop ceilings and built buildings. Now I just need to mount the grade beeper on the arm of the Track Hoe with a Blue Tooth and I will have it made. Hint, Hint.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: not very loanable. needs lots of tlc.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 800 ft. Dual Beam Rotary Laser Level
from CT
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Exceptional product for the price

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have used this product on several projects. It's overall ease of use simplifies obtaining quicker more consistant grades versus the lock level and ruler method.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 800 ft. Dual Beam Rotary Laser Level
from Ontario, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Outstanding Unit

PostedMarch 31, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I'm really impressed with this product. I need it for a backyard project, for the price I was skeptical that it had any range outside. No issues with a 100' shot using the laser target in direct sunlight. I did check the unit for accuracy, at 65' it's 1/8 off.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 800 ft. Dual Beam Rotary Laser Level
from Colorado

Laser Level

PostedJanuary 18, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a top of the line laser level. I bought it for my husband for Christmas because he was constantly renting it. It's very easy to use and can be mounted any where.
0points
4out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 800 ft. Dual Beam Rotary Laser Level
from Pittsburgh
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

EZ to Use and Accurate

PostedNovember 12, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I purchased this rotary laser to make sure my footer frame was level. It was my first time for putting in such a frame and for using a rotary laser. The laser was easy enough to use for one person. The project took less time as a result. The kit is complete and the laser works in a variety of applications. The batteries are included so it is ready to work right out of the box. This tool is perfect for do it yourselfers.
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Cons: price is a bit high, directions could have been more in depth
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 800 ft. Dual Beam Rotary Laser Level

So far so good

PostedMay 14, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have only had this a couple of weeks and have only used it a couple of times indoors. I will post again when used outdoors...
Wish the remote came with it...
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 800 ft. Dual Beam Rotary Laser Level
from haverhill NH

Only 2 years of light service

PostedJune 26, 2008
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Broke in only 2 years. Was nice to use but not reliable enough
-11points
1out of 13found this review helpful.