728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 1-1/2 HP Cast Iron Quick-Prime Lawn-Sprinkler Pump

1-1/2 HP Cast Iron Quick-Prime Lawn-Sprinkler Pump

Wayne's WLS150 cast iron sprinkling pump, pumps up to 2320 gallons per hour at 30 psi. Its features a durable cast iron volute and corrosion-resistant, reinforced thermoplastic infuser and impeller. The dual voltage (115/230) motor is factory set for 230-Volt. The pump is designed to operate underground sprinkling systems, draw water from well, lake or ponds for watering, pool filling or any other applications where high water column is needed.
Overall rating:
3.889 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(81 reviews) 81
Open Ratings Snapshot
81%of customersrecommend this product62 of 77reviews
Rating Breakdown 81 reviews
3.9 out of 5
5
(39)
4
(22)
3
(4)
2
(4)
1
(12)
Ease of installation 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
81%of customersrecommend this product62 of 77reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer reviews for 1-1/2 HP Cast Iron Quick-Prime Lawn-Sprinkler Pump
Review 1 for 1-1/2 HP Cast Iron Quick-Prime Lawn-Sprinkler Pump
from Prescott, AZ, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great pump...need some experience to wire

PostedDecember 8, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The pump arrived in perfect condition, in three days. After installing, it worked as advertised.
I’m using it for a flood-type irrigation system. The pump is moving water through two, ¾”, 100-foot lines with a 10-foot rise. It’s then feeding a total of 12, half-inch open discharge lines, each with a small plastic valve at the end used to balance the flow. It’s producing a good flow at each of the 12 discharge lines.
If you’re having an electrician hook it up, no problem…what I describe below is basic. But be advised that you’ll need some experience to hook it up yourself.
The pump can be configured for either 120v or 240v, and switching between the two is easy with the instructions. But mine was delivered without a wiring compartment (called a peckerhead)…it just had two wires and a place to insert a connector or conduit nipple on the motor.
What I did was buy a ½” close nipple, and threaded it into the back of a weatherproof switch box. I then took this assembly, and threaded it onto the pump. The wires that came with the pump were long enough to fish through the close nipple and reach into the box, so I could make the splices.
As a benefit of using a switch box for this purpose, I was able to install a two-pole switch on the motor.
Pros: reliable and quiet
Cons: basic instructions for experienced installers
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
 
Products related to my review
Metal Switch Box and Receptacle with Faceplate
 
 
 
 
 
+28points
29out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1-1/2 HP Cast Iron Quick-Prime Lawn-Sprinkler Pump
from Central GA

So far so good.

PostedJune 26, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I was told to expect it in 5 - 8 days, had it in two. Physical installation was easy as expected - no issues. Hook up the wiring before mounting the pump, the access is very small. There are both studs (10/24?) and spade connectors, but nuts are not provided. Tech support recommends using the spade connectors, and there is an undersized pigtail installed to show proper installation of the connectors. I removed the connectors from the pigtail and soldered them to my 12 gage leads. My pump has been pulling an 8 ft lift to run a lawn irrigation system for a couple weeks now. So far so good.
Pros: good price and free shipping too
Cons: nuts for electrical connections not provided
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1-1/2 HP Cast Iron Quick-Prime Lawn-Sprinkler Pump
from missouri
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very Good Buy

PostedAugust 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Plenty of water from this lawn sprinkling pump. Very good buy. We use it for vegetable gardening and we can use 3 big sprinklers off of a 2 inch well with water to spare for a 4th sprinkler if needed.
Pros: Easy to Install, Reliable, Good Instructions, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1-1/2 HP Cast Iron Quick-Prime Lawn-Sprinkler Pump
from Ft. Lauderdale, Fl
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

worst pump ever bought

PostedAugust 18, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I had wayne pump for 8 years, motor went bad, i replace this same pump, but last only 28 days, i'm now going to try Flotec pump
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1-1/2 HP Cast Iron Quick-Prime Lawn-Sprinkler Pump
from Coastal Carolina
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good replacement for well pump

PostedJuly 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I used this to replace my 10yr old sprinkler pump on a shallow well. It was reasonably priced and much more economical than most. After over a month of daily operation it continues working well (no pun intended!)
The intake and output connections were larger than the original so I needed to do a small amount of rework to adapt to my existing connections. My old pump was hardwired to electric service so I hooked this one up using the existing connections and it was easy to connect..
The old pump was exposed to the weather so I built a simple housing (in the shape of a dog house for fun) to protect it since the manual says the pump is not designed for direct exposure to weather. I am very happy with this product.
Pros: Good Instructions, plenty of power
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1-1/2 HP Cast Iron Quick-Prime Lawn-Sprinkler Pump
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

I bought this pump online on home depot webside I pay $160 dollars didn't work.

PostedAugust 12, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this pump on home depot web side for $160 dollars I wait for a week to get it than I did the installation and did not work they send me a bad pump I lost so much time with this thing.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1-1/2 HP Cast Iron Quick-Prime Lawn-Sprinkler Pump

Lawn Pump

PostedAugust 13, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
had to pay electrician 75 to install could not trust wiring myself not for average person to install.
Pros: Reliable, Good Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1-1/2 HP Cast Iron Quick-Prime Lawn-Sprinkler Pump
from Lynchburg, VA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

motor failed at start of 3rd season

PostedJuly 20, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this pump in Sept of 2010 and it worked well for 2 seasons to water the lawn and bushes around our lake house. Had trouble with the pump the second year and replaced internal components (all poly materials and wore out after little service time).
During the start of the 3rd season the motor started to fail. I called Wayne tech service and replaced the capacitor. But that did not work and for some reason the motor has now failed completely. The pump was always protected in a pump house.
I realize this is "made in China" stuff but was expecting at least 5 years of usage.
Cons: early failure, unreliable
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1-1/2 HP Cast Iron Quick-Prime Lawn-Sprinkler Pump
from Emerald Isle NC

Exactly the Pump Needed

PostedJuly 28, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Was looking for pump to replace old failing irrigation pump. In picture it looked very similar to the old pump which might save me some plumbing work. Turns out that was the case. It went right in quickly. So far this new pump has performed quite well in the few weeks it has been in service. Nice product, great price.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1-1/2 HP Cast Iron Quick-Prime Lawn-Sprinkler Pump
from Satellite Beach
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Item is leaking after 1 year

PostedJuly 30, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought the item in august of 2014, worked great but then started to leak water, my old pump lasted over 10 years.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1-1/2 HP Cast Iron Quick-Prime Lawn-Sprinkler Pump

Wayne pump

PostedMay 13, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I'm hoping this pump lasts longer than the Simer pump , the light weight wires need to be a larger guage .
Pros: No Leaks
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1-1/2 HP Cast Iron Quick-Prime Lawn-Sprinkler Pump
from GJ Colorado
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

great product at a great price

PostedJuly 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
solidly constructed with ease of installation at a fraction of the price of other retailers
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1-1/2 HP Cast Iron Quick-Prime Lawn-Sprinkler Pump
from VA

Read the specifications

PostedAugust 1, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Every negative review on this pump is due to poor consumer judgment. This pump is NOT self priming, so must be used with a foot valve (2in, not available through home depot). Without it, it will not hold its prime PERIOD. Second, the pump is rated for INDOOR USE, a bit of a bind but the requirements none the less. If you cannot shelter this pump with a real shelter, and not just a sun cover, do not buy it.
Finally the flow complaint. This is a variable flow pump, it is designed to maintain a certain PSI and GPH based on length and lift of your pipe. If you run it wide open through 100’ of 2 in pipe you will only get about 5psi. If you split your 2in pipe into 4 1in valves you will get about 45psi per valve and approximately 2,500gph ( there is a chart in the specs section that will explain this)
Also the MAX lift on this pump is 25’ this means two things, 1 you still need a foot valve (not self priming pump) 2. If your well is 25’ deep or more, this pump is probably too small for you.
All-in-all it is not the most practical sprinkler pump, but it is honestly represented, and if used as instructed a good product.
I am using this pump in a temporary setup to irrigate horse pastures. We are pumping from a nearby pond, only lifting the water about 5 feet and then pumping through 250feet of 2in pvc and vinyl. At the end of the 2in, we run to a splitter which break off into 1in valves with 3/4in garden hoses I can run 4 high flow tripod sprinklers before the pressure starts to drop. If you split the 2 in into another splitter section with 4 more valves your overall pressure will be less, but not by half.. you should be able to run 6-8 high flow sprinklers on this pump with no problem. And based on my use so far I think it is a good product. Since this is a temporary set up and an “indoor pump” I have a large rubber made tub with vent holes cut in it screwed to a board the pump is mounted on, than a larger one on top of that to offset the holes to keep water out.
+27points
27out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1-1/2 HP Cast Iron Quick-Prime Lawn-Sprinkler Pump
from Michigan, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great pump, poor manual

PostedJuly 6, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased this pump to run a new sprinkler system I'm installing. I ordered it online and it arrived on my doorstep 4 days later. Very nice!
Once installed the pump started right up and primed easily. It seems pretty quiet, though it is in a 54" deep concrete pit with a lid and that probably helps.
So far I am very happy with the pump itself. It works exactly as advertised and Home Depots price with free shipping was the best around.
My only complaint is the manual: The wiring instructions were very poor. This pump can be wired for either 220 or 110 operation. The instructions show how to change the voltage but not how to wire it. Mine came set for 220 and has a white wire and black wire coming out of the case. It appears that one supposed to be hot & the other neutral for 110 or both hot for 220. I chose the latter and attached the neutral wire to the case. It runs perfectly this way so I hope that means it's correct!
I would definitely recommend this pump to anyone. The installation instructions are the only reason I didn't give it 5 stars.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1-1/2 HP Cast Iron Quick-Prime Lawn-Sprinkler Pump
from Challis, ID 83226, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great pump

PostedOctober 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Bought this pump to water 1 1/2 acres pasture. I run 12 sprinklers on a 2" main line with 1/2" garden hose as runners. The pump has the pressure to run all heads and will still will blow the mainline out it I turn off too many heads. Great pump from the money.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 1-1/2 HP Cast Iron Quick-Prime Lawn-Sprinkler Pump
from Fair haven Michigan
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

No wiring diagram for the pump to change to 115V, marathon website no help , wayne pump website NO help

PostedJune 25, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
No wiring diagram pump does not work for the 115V setting, sorry I purchased this pump
Cons: No Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 1-1/2 HP Cast Iron Quick-Prime Lawn-Sprinkler Pump
from Fallon, NV

About My 1 1/2 H.P. Wayne Sprinkler Pump

PostedMay 20, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased the Wayne Sprinkle Pump to replace an existing pump I used to sprinkler irrigate 2 acres of pasture along with trees, yard and garden area.
I pump out of a large irrigation ditch and water is pumped up to 400 ft. to the furtherest sprinkler.
The pump is well built and supplies adequate water to 5 sprinklers used in 4 settings to irrigate the 2 acres of pasture. The pump maintains a constant pressure during operation. The pump has kept it's prime and does not overheat during pumping.
I purchased the pump after comparing quality and price, and the pump it replaced and others on the market.
If I need to purchase a smaller pump for other uses (watering livestock or house pump) or a larger pump to sprinkle more area I will definitly consider a Wayne pump.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 1-1/2 HP Cast Iron Quick-Prime Lawn-Sprinkler Pump

AVERAGE

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
pumps well but doesn't hold prime. has to re-prime every time if not used for a day.
Cons: won't hold prime
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 1-1/2 HP Cast Iron Quick-Prime Lawn-Sprinkler Pump
from Colfax,California

Irrigation Pump

PostedAugust 14, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Have had the Wayne 150 for three months, works great. A couple of issues, one being the mounting bracket holes were to close to the pump body making it real hard to secure to the slab. Second, the pump does'nt have a pressure switch so hooking one up was tricky but Wayne tech support had the right answers for that. This should be in the owners manual. Low pressure, high volume pump. A little less water pressure than my last pump but gets the job done. Last, but really important, this is not a sealed unit and does require vented protection when installed outside. Other than that I'm very satisfied with this pump, and the price.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 1-1/2 HP Cast Iron Quick-Prime Lawn-Sprinkler Pump
from Niceville

Great Pump

PostedAugust 20, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I am very pleased with this product so far. It was a near direct drop-in replacement for the other pump. Installation was easy...even for my first time installing a lawn pump. The pump has work flawlessly for the last month. I hope it lasts as long as my other pump...close to 15 yrs on that pump.
Pros: Easy to Install
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>