728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 1-1/2 HP Cast Iron Quick-Prime Lawn-Sprinkler Pump

1-1/2 HP Cast Iron Quick-Prime Lawn-Sprinkler Pump

The WAYNE 1-1/2 HP Quick-Prime Lawn-Sprinkler Pump features a corrosion-resistant reinforced thermoplastic impeller and diffuser. The high-efficiency square-flange motor is thermally protected to help prevent overheating. The pump provides sufficient water volume to operate an underground sprinkling system, fill a pool or draw water from a well for watering.
Overall rating:
3.956 / 5
4
 / 
5
(68 reviews) 68
Open Ratings Snapshot
83%of customersrecommend this product53 of 64reviews
Rating Breakdown 68 reviews
4.0 out of 5.0
5
(33)
4
(19)
3
(4)
2
(4)
1
(8)
Ease of installation 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Quality 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
83%of customersrecommend this product53 of 64reviews
Customer reviews for 1-1/2 HP Cast Iron Quick-Prime Lawn-Sprinkler Pump
Review 1 for 1-1/2 HP Cast Iron Quick-Prime Lawn-Sprinkler Pump
from Prescott, AZ, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great pump...need some experience to wire

PostedDecember 8, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The pump arrived in perfect condition, in three days. After installing, it worked as advertised.
I’m using it for a flood-type irrigation system. The pump is moving water through two, ¾”, 100-foot lines with a 10-foot rise. It’s then feeding a total of 12, half-inch open discharge lines, each with a small plastic valve at the end used to balance the flow. It’s producing a good flow at each of the 12 discharge lines.
If you’re having an electrician hook it up, no problem…what I describe below is basic. But be advised that you’ll need some experience to hook it up yourself.
The pump can be configured for either 120v or 240v, and switching between the two is easy with the instructions. But mine was delivered without a wiring compartment (called a peckerhead)…it just had two wires and a place to insert a connector or conduit nipple on the motor.
What I did was buy a ½” close nipple, and threaded it into the back of a weatherproof switch box. I then took this assembly, and threaded it onto the pump. The wires that came with the pump were long enough to fish through the close nipple and reach into the box, so I could make the splices.
As a benefit of using a switch box for this purpose, I was able to install a two-pole switch on the motor.
Pros: reliable and quiet
Cons: basic instructions for experienced installers
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
 
Products related to my review
 
+16points
17out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1-1/2 HP Cast Iron Quick-Prime Lawn-Sprinkler Pump
from Coastal Carolina
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good replacement for well pump

PostedJuly 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used this to replace my 10yr old sprinkler pump on a shallow well. It was reasonably priced and much more economical than most. After over a month of daily operation it continues working well (no pun intended!)
The intake and output connections were larger than the original so I needed to do a small amount of rework to adapt to my existing connections. My old pump was hardwired to electric service so I hooked this one up using the existing connections and it was easy to connect..
The old pump was exposed to the weather so I built a simple housing (in the shape of a dog house for fun) to protect it since the manual says the pump is not designed for direct exposure to weather. I am very happy with this product.
Pros: Good Instructions, plenty of power
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1-1/2 HP Cast Iron Quick-Prime Lawn-Sprinkler Pump

AVERAGE

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
pumps well but doesn't hold prime. has to re-prime every time if not used for a day.
Cons: won't hold prime
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1-1/2 HP Cast Iron Quick-Prime Lawn-Sprinkler Pump
from Lynchburg, VA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

motor failed at start of 3rd season

PostedJuly 20, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this pump in Sept of 2010 and it worked well for 2 seasons to water the lawn and bushes around our lake house. Had trouble with the pump the second year and replaced internal components (all poly materials and wore out after little service time).
During the start of the 3rd season the motor started to fail. I called Wayne tech service and replaced the capacitor. But that did not work and for some reason the motor has now failed completely. The pump was always protected in a pump house.
I realize this is "made in China" stuff but was expecting at least 5 years of usage.
Cons: early failure, unreliable
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1-1/2 HP Cast Iron Quick-Prime Lawn-Sprinkler Pump
from VA

Read the specifications

PostedAugust 1, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Every negative review on this pump is due to poor consumer judgment. This pump is NOT self priming, so must be used with a foot valve (2in, not available through home depot). Without it, it will not hold its prime PERIOD. Second, the pump is rated for INDOOR USE, a bit of a bind but the requirements none the less. If you cannot shelter this pump with a real shelter, and not just a sun cover, do not buy it.
Finally the flow complaint. This is a variable flow pump, it is designed to maintain a certain PSI and GPH based on length and lift of your pipe. If you run it wide open through 100’ of 2 in pipe you will only get about 5psi. If you split your 2in pipe into 4 1in valves you will get about 45psi per valve and approximately 2,500gph ( there is a chart in the specs section that will explain this)
Also the MAX lift on this pump is 25’ this means two things, 1 you still need a foot valve (not self priming pump) 2. If your well is 25’ deep or more, this pump is probably too small for you.
All-in-all it is not the most practical sprinkler pump, but it is honestly represented, and if used as instructed a good product.
I am using this pump in a temporary setup to irrigate horse pastures. We are pumping from a nearby pond, only lifting the water about 5 feet and then pumping through 250feet of 2in pvc and vinyl. At the end of the 2in, we run to a splitter which break off into 1in valves with 3/4in garden hoses I can run 4 high flow tripod sprinklers before the pressure starts to drop. If you split the 2 in into another splitter section with 4 more valves your overall pressure will be less, but not by half.. you should be able to run 6-8 high flow sprinklers on this pump with no problem. And based on my use so far I think it is a good product. Since this is a temporary set up and an “indoor pump” I have a large rubber made tub with vent holes cut in it screwed to a board the pump is mounted on, than a larger one on top of that to offset the holes to keep water out.
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1-1/2 HP Cast Iron Quick-Prime Lawn-Sprinkler Pump
from Challis, ID 83226, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great pump

PostedOctober 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought this pump to water 1 1/2 acres pasture. I run 12 sprinklers on a 2" main line with 1/2" garden hose as runners. The pump has the pressure to run all heads and will still will blow the mainline out it I turn off too many heads. Great pump from the money.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1-1/2 HP Cast Iron Quick-Prime Lawn-Sprinkler Pump
from homestead
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

good purchase

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
excellent summary quality and value for 1-1/2 cast iron lawn-sprinkler pump.
Pros: Easy to Install, Reliable, Good Instructions, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1-1/2 HP Cast Iron Quick-Prime Lawn-Sprinkler Pump
from Santa Fe, NM
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fine product with plenty of power.

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This pump is all I could ask for, I can run two sprinklers on 50' hoses at full strength with a 10' draw. Here's a tip . . . If you are using this pump in a shallow irrigation ditch like I am you can attach the 2" foot valve horizontally instead of vertically thereby taking advantage of those low water days. This application works just as well as vertical, really! To get a 2" foot valve you will probably have to order it online, I sure couldn't find one at the 3 different plumbing depts. I went to.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1-1/2 HP Cast Iron Quick-Prime Lawn-Sprinkler Pump
from Michigan, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great pump, poor manual

PostedJuly 6, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this pump to run a new sprinkler system I'm installing. I ordered it online and it arrived on my doorstep 4 days later. Very nice!
Once installed the pump started right up and primed easily. It seems pretty quiet, though it is in a 54" deep concrete pit with a lid and that probably helps.
So far I am very happy with the pump itself. It works exactly as advertised and Home Depots price with free shipping was the best around.
My only complaint is the manual: The wiring instructions were very poor. This pump can be wired for either 220 or 110 operation. The instructions show how to change the voltage but not how to wire it. Mine came set for 220 and has a white wire and black wire coming out of the case. It appears that one supposed to be hot & the other neutral for 110 or both hot for 220. I chose the latter and attached the neutral wire to the case. It runs perfectly this way so I hope that means it's correct!
I would definitely recommend this pump to anyone. The installation instructions are the only reason I didn't give it 5 stars.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1-1/2 HP Cast Iron Quick-Prime Lawn-Sprinkler Pump
from Florida
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Quiet and self priming

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Didn't line up to previous plumbing. A couple of blocks and a PVC coupling-Back in business. Like the self priming. Can't tell it's running until the sprinkler heads pop up.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1-1/2 HP Cast Iron Quick-Prime Lawn-Sprinkler Pump
from Columbia, MO, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very pleased with this pump.

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My greatest challenge was finding a 2" foot valve as I am pumping from a lake. The pump works great with ample pressure for watering my lawn. It is heavier than the pump it replaced,
Pros: Good Instructions, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1-1/2 HP Cast Iron Quick-Prime Lawn-Sprinkler Pump
from virginia bech
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

GREAT PRODUCT

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great pressure with a hose watering and the sprinkler on also!
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1-1/2 HP Cast Iron Quick-Prime Lawn-Sprinkler Pump
from Fallon, NV

About My 1 1/2 H.P. Wayne Sprinkler Pump

PostedMay 20, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased the Wayne Sprinkle Pump to replace an existing pump I used to sprinkler irrigate 2 acres of pasture along with trees, yard and garden area.
I pump out of a large irrigation ditch and water is pumped up to 400 ft. to the furtherest sprinkler.
The pump is well built and supplies adequate water to 5 sprinklers used in 4 settings to irrigate the 2 acres of pasture. The pump maintains a constant pressure during operation. The pump has kept it's prime and does not overheat during pumping.
I purchased the pump after comparing quality and price, and the pump it replaced and others on the market.
If I need to purchase a smaller pump for other uses (watering livestock or house pump) or a larger pump to sprinkle more area I will definitly consider a Wayne pump.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1-1/2 HP Cast Iron Quick-Prime Lawn-Sprinkler Pump
from Colfax,California

Irrigation Pump

PostedAugust 14, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Have had the Wayne 150 for three months, works great. A couple of issues, one being the mounting bracket holes were to close to the pump body making it real hard to secure to the slab. Second, the pump does'nt have a pressure switch so hooking one up was tricky but Wayne tech support had the right answers for that. This should be in the owners manual. Low pressure, high volume pump. A little less water pressure than my last pump but gets the job done. Last, but really important, this is not a sealed unit and does require vented protection when installed outside. Other than that I'm very satisfied with this pump, and the price.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1-1/2 HP Cast Iron Quick-Prime Lawn-Sprinkler Pump
from Lehigh Acres, FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Replaced a smaller pump very nicely.

PostedApril 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Pump did what I bought it to do without a hitch. Hooked up easily and after adding prime water started right up.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 1-1/2 HP Cast Iron Quick-Prime Lawn-Sprinkler Pump
from Fort Myers, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I've got 2 of these now

PostedDecember 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
One is going on 4 years old and is still just fine. So I replaced one at the new house with the same pump!!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, dual voltage
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 1-1/2 HP Cast Iron Quick-Prime Lawn-Sprinkler Pump
from Otsego, MI, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works as promissed

PostedSeptember 4, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The only negative I can report is the confusing wiring for a 220 installation. The black and white wires are both hot and the case is neutral. The wiring compartment is very small. Have your own power cord and strain relief on hand. The suggested way to plumb up the output of the pump worked very well...highly recommended. I suggest having some plywood or similar to anchor the pump to for stability. A little noisy, but it really pumps a lot of water! Shipping was via UPS...fast and free. NO problems with installation other than the wiring issue. Have a check valve ready for the end of your intake pipe.
Pros: Reliable, No Leaks
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 1-1/2 HP Cast Iron Quick-Prime Lawn-Sprinkler Pump

Made in China

PostedApril 19, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Works good so far. Electrical connection space very tight, other than that good.
Pros: Easy to Install, No Leaks
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 1-1/2 HP Cast Iron Quick-Prime Lawn-Sprinkler Pump
from Jacksonville, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

VERY CAPABLE PUMP

PostedJune 11, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Purchased pump on suggestion of friend that had used same pump for several years. Ordered online to receive great discount. Received quickly. First pump received had a short in the motor. Return policy straight-forward and to the point... no questions asked, returned to local store, second pump ordered and received in a few days. Irrigation system uses an artesian well that provides 8GPM to the pump. Using 2"inlet and 1-1/2"outlet, pump provides my system with 36GPM and 38psi. I'm very happy at this pump's performance and strongly recommend it.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 1-1/2 HP Cast Iron Quick-Prime Lawn-Sprinkler Pump
from Kansas City

Simple but effective

PostedMay 15, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Overall i like this pump. It works well with plenty of power to push water up a big hill with two sprinklers and was simple to set up. the only down side is rewiring for the 110 volt option and the lack of a on/off switch.
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>