728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Roofing or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 24 in. 4500 CFM Direct Drive Whole-House Fan with Shutter

24 in. 4500 CFM Direct Drive Whole-House Fan with Shutter

The Master Flow 4,500 CFM Power Whole-House Fan is designed for houses larger than 1,000 sq. ft. It works with or without central ducting to cool your home by pulling fresh air in from outside and pushing warm air up and out into the attic. It has a 24 in. shutter and features a low-vibration direct-drive mechanism for quiet, reliable performance.
Overall rating:
3.762 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(63 reviews) 63
Open Ratings Snapshot
76%of customersrecommend this product47 of 62reviews
Rating Breakdown 63 reviews
3.8 out of 5.0
5
(22)
4
(21)
3
(10)
2
(3)
1
(7)
Quality 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
76%of customersrecommend this product47 of 62reviews
Customer reviews for 24 in. 4500 CFM Direct Drive Whole-House Fan with Shutter
Review 1 for 24 in. 4500 CFM Direct Drive Whole-House Fan with Shutter
from Elk Grove, CA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Works GREAT!!!

PostedMay 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Although I have only had this fan installed for several days, I LOVE it! I decided to go with the 24" fan because my house is less than 2200 sq. ft. and I was told that if there wasn't adequate ventilation, the 30" fan would/could make excessive noise. I'm not sure if people have difficulty installing the fan, but the way I did the install makes the fan seem "quiet". The fan noise is very comparable to a traditional box fan. I truly do not mind the noise it makes. I also put the fan on a 60 min. max timer. What I have been doing is setting the timer anywhere from 30-40 minutes, with a couple of windows open down stairs and one or two open up stairs. This cools the house down extremely fast. I am so glad I decided to put a whole house fan in our home. You should do it too! You won't be sorry!
Pros: Performs Well
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 24 in. 4500 CFM Direct Drive Whole-House Fan with Shutter
from NC
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Good fan

PostedAugust 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I didn't follow the directions, This is what I did and the fan is quiet. My house is 2300 sqft and it pulls the air thru nicely. I open the windows about an inch in the bedrooms and other rooms I want air to come in from the outside.
My attic has vents on both ends of the house and affords plenty of exit space for the fan exhaust air.
I got these Ideas off the internet and found them to be absolutely correct.
First I mounted the fan in my attached garage ceiling.
The fan will pull air from your home and into your attached garage ceiling. You don't have to mount it in the house. You will not get that central fan noise in the house that way.
We have a screen door in the kitchen that goes to the garage. The air flows out thru the screen door.
The next thing I did was to build a box for the fan to sit in on top of the ceiling joists. I cut the center joist and boxed it in. Then built a frame to hold the fan on top of the joists. I cut lengths of pipe insulation to fit on the fan wood frame. The glue on the insulation seam holds the insulation on the frame.$1.79 each for 2 insulation tubes at HD.
The frame, is snug to the insulation but not tight. Hence when the fan runs, it is not vibrating on wood to wood contact. All you hear is the fan blade turning like you would any fan.
There is a pull chain to turn it on and off. It is a 2 speed fan. I run it on high.
I used the same size wood the ceiling joist were made of, to box in the joists where I cut one out. I used 2x4 s to make the box on top of the joists.
I used a sawzall to cut the sheetrock, and the center joist.
If you bridge across the top of your joists before you cut the center joist, you will not get any sag from the two ends of the cut joist. All will be strong after you box them in.
I attached a wire and a plug on the fan wire to power the fan. I plugged it in to a receptacle in the attic. The pull chain is right outside the kitchen door in the garage.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Quiet, Good Size & Weight, Seals Well, Good Shape, Great Value, Easy to Clean, High Quality, Economical, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+29points
29out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 24 in. 4500 CFM Direct Drive Whole-House Fan with Shutter
from El Sobrante, CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Purchase frequency:Yearly

This fan really works great. You can feel the air stream by you and it cools down the house in no time!

PostedAugust 20, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It is amazing how many people do not know what a Whole House Fan is. Even contractors. It is a very efficient way to replace the air in your house and attic just by running this fan for about 15 minutes once the air outside is cooler than the air in your house.
This fan was not the biggest, but it seems to be built really well. I am very impressed!
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Shape, Great Value, High Quality, Economical, Reliable
Cons: Noisy
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 24 in. 4500 CFM Direct Drive Whole-House Fan with Shutter
from indianapolis indiana
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

4star becomes 5star

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
almost 4 years ago i wrote the lengthy (and helpful) product installation & description review regarding this whole house fan.--- Indy 2010 whole house fan
Well the fan is still problem free and fantastic for spring through fall use. Wonderful breezes are pulled through the open windows/doors-- like you are riding a bike while you sit on the couch or at the table.
We have actually become more users of the house fan than our AC -- the abundant, and constant, fresh air breeze beats the AC. But sometimes... the AC is called upon, but not like it used to be.
We run this thing as the primary cooling device, many hours straight, no problems. Great "white noise" to sleep through.
Periodic cleaning of the louvered vents and about once a year I clean the fan motor and blades, check the blade for tight/secure, no slippage.
Do yourself a favor, save money and stay cool with this thing.
Pros: Performs Well, Great Value, Reliable
+17points
18out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 24 in. 4500 CFM Direct Drive Whole-House Fan with Shutter
from Seattle
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

12 Year Review of a great house fan.

PostedJune 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I installed this fan in our split level home 12 years ago. The start capacitor has now failed and I located one on Amazon for about $10 with shipping. In the interim the fan starts by using a wood stick to push start the fan blades in the counter clockwise direction when the power is on. The only complaint I have after all of this time is we have gone through a few of the cheap pull chain switches. Power for our fan comes off of a hallway outlet, which I changed out for a GFCI. This allows me to use the outlet as a switch when the pull chain switch fails to work. I am planning on replacing the chain switch with a wall mount switch when the new capacitor arrives. Our start capacitor is a GE model 27L566, printed on the capacitor label hidden under the mounting bracket. If your fan fails it might be the capacitor, not the motor. Also, we have a very low attic space, 2 1/2 foot peak, so I added a roof mounted exhaust fan that is wired into the whole house fan to power on and off when it does. This works great for our needs and cools the house in about 45 minutes. The low speed is quiet enough to listen to the TV which is about 20 feet away. High speed is a bit noisy, but once the hot air is out the low speed keeps thins cool and quiet.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Good Size & Weight, Great Value, Reliable
Cons: Noisy
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 24 in. 4500 CFM Direct Drive Whole-House Fan with Shutter
from Dallas, Texas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works Great!

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had some installation issue but not due to the fan. It would be a snap for most attics. Placed in an upstairs landing, it creates a cooling vortex throughout our 2600 sf house. It has replaced our central AC use by 80% and that's saying something for mid July in Texas. A bit noisy when you are close to it but will pay for itself in 45 days.
Pros: Performs Well, Great Value
Cons: Noisy
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 24 in. 4500 CFM Direct Drive Whole-House Fan with Shutter
from pico rivera, ca
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

I compared the belt driven fan vs direct drive fan!

PostedApril 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
*Tip* I grabbed a roll of wide camper mounting foam tape to put between the fan and the frame, suppose to make it less noisy
I special ordered the belt driven fan and it arrived in 2 weeks.
The measuring, cutting, fitting, mounting wasn't to bad. Wiring is confusing (I'm not an electrician) and I had to make a new hole in the wall for switches and finally after it was all wired up, the motor was dead. I thought maybe the belt tension or wiring but nope dead motor.
I returned the belt driven fan and had to grab this direct drive fan off the shelf because I didnt want to wait 2 more weeks with a giant hole in the ceiling. Having had both in the same weekend
Reasons to go with the direct drive fan
-Includes a shutter template to cut out the ceiling. With the belt driven fan, I had to use long sticks and a square and it came out a little crooked (you know, you don't cut straight either)
-The direct drive shutter is square (a little bigger), the belt driven shutter is a smaller rectangle. It would make a difference when replacing
-This shutter is nicer, shinier, better flaps and a bit more solid
-Includes a very nice joist-in mounting bracket/set up
-It's easier to assemble (2 minutes to flip the fan blade and tighten) vs belt driven remove the motor, put it on right, adjust belt and re-adjust
-It's lighter which makes it easier to lift and get it up there
-The wiring is so much easier, no holes in the walls or fishing out wires. It is just 2 wires and a pull chain for the switch
Reasons to go with the belt driven fan
-It's cheaper
-It has 4 blades on the fan vs 3 on the direct drive so maybe better air flow
-The belt driven is suppose to be quieter. I can't say because mine didn't turn on but I think they are all noisy, not motor noise. It's a big fast moving fan moving a lot of air noise. Even my 20" box fan on high is noisy
Starting from scratch I would go with the direct drive. Sometimes stuff is on the shelf because they are better and easier to put in
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Straight, Good Shape, Great Value, High Quality, Light Weight
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 24 in. 4500 CFM Direct Drive Whole-House Fan with Shutter
from Chino, CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Cools the house fast!

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My brother recommended a whole house fan, so I installed one myself. I bought this one because it was small enough to install in the attic access opening. I mounted it on a separate baffle that is hinge mounted on the 2x4's. Our house had adequate ventilation, about 4 to 1 as compared to the fan. I also used a wireless controlled power strip. That let me turn the fan on and off from my bedside.
Loud? yes, this thing pumps lots of air, so its bound to be loud. Here is what helped me:
The instructions indicate you need to flip the fins upside down, but if the fins are too close to the braces holding the motor in place, it creates extra noise. So, when you flip the fins, don't push it all the way down on the motor shaft. Push the fins up on the shaft so that the shaft is flush with the mounting hub. Also, make sure you cover the electrical box with the supplied cover. If left open, it too creates extra noise. Finally, because mine is mounted on a hinged baffle, I used a 1/2" thick weather stripping gasket all the way around the baffle. This helps reduce the amount of vibration that transfers from the fan to your ceiling joists reducing noise. Now, when we are downstairs, we can hear a soft rumble, but not so loud its objectionable. At night, this fan is right outside my bedroom door, so its just a little too much noise for comfort.
If you take these steps, the amount of noise is significantly reduced. I am not sure I could sleep while this thing is running, well actually I can sleep through most anything, but my wife and kids had a problem with the noise at night, so I shut it down after 10pm. Home Depot has a wireless / timer power strip for outdoor lighting and such. That might be better. Please make sure the power strip you select can handle the 1/3HP motor. It should draw 5-6 amps. The one I purchased is rated for 14 amps.
Pros: Good Size & Weight, Great Value, High Quality, Economical
Cons: Noisy, Vibrates
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 24 in. 4500 CFM Direct Drive Whole-House Fan with Shutter
from Southern California
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Blows a lot of air, noisy

PostedMay 21, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This fan has worked fine for me for over 10 years. It blows a lot of air, but I wish it were quieter. When you are close to it, you can't hear anything else. The motor finally burned out a winding. The exact replacement motor is only available from the manufacturer of the fan, which is a big disadvantage. Replacement parts should be generic and easily available, otherwise, the fan blows no air at all. If I was starting from scratch, I would look for a quieter fan with a motor that is easy to oil and replace. This is the second one I have bought and installed. The bottom line is that it blows a lot of air, lasted me over 10 years of intense use every summer, and the price was reasonable, but you have to accept that it is very noisy.
+29points
29out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 24 in. 4500 CFM Direct Drive Whole-House Fan with Shutter

Loud, but effective

PostedJune 25, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have owned several homes with whole house fans ... this is the loudest one I have heard. However, if you have a hallway to the garage or other out of the way location, it is not too bad. If you go with the standard "over joist" mount, plan on cutting up two two by fours to build a base around the joist, and if you have blown in insulation, plan to cut up two six foot one by tens to build a box that extends above the fan to hold back the insulation. It takes only a few minutes to draw cool air through the entire house. Only wish is that the low speed would be lower. Even low still creates quite a breeze through the house!
+35points
38out of 41found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 24 in. 4500 CFM Direct Drive Whole-House Fan with Shutter
from Warrington, Pa
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Excellent product

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Our old house fan died after 26 years of use. We used the fan to cool the 2nd floor of our house and to help extend the service life of our roofing shingles. This fan was just the ticket. It fit in the opening for the old fan perfectly and was very easy to install. It actually performs better than the original fan. The free delivery was excellent. Having a shoulder injury prevented me from picking it up at the store so the free home delivery made it even a better bargain.
I would recommend this product to anyone interested installing a fan to cool their home.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Quiet, Great Value, Economical
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 24 in. 4500 CFM Direct Drive Whole-House Fan with Shutter
from Lakewood, CO, USA

Noisy Unit/High Decible Level even on low speed

PostedMay 9, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Home Depot is fine. The unit however, is very loud, even on low fan speed. It was unexpected that the fan noise would be this loud since I was replacing with an identical unit (the old unit: the low fan speed noise level was acceptable - the bearings wore out, thus the replacement). Once I/you install the replacement unit and discover the noise/decible level it's too late to return without severe effort: time, sweat, reinstallation cost, etc.
+22points
22out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 24 in. 4500 CFM Direct Drive Whole-House Fan with Shutter

Good House Fan

PostedMarch 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Fan was relatively easy to install, all parts seem to be of good quality. Installed an RF remote outlet (SVAT WRC101) and key fob for easy on / off. This works great from anywhere in the house. Fan is quiet but has the sound of rushing air, would definitely recommend this fan.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 24 in. 4500 CFM Direct Drive Whole-House Fan with Shutter
from Houston, TX, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Too Loud

PostedNovember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I spent a good bit of time installing this fan in the house I just bought. Upon completion of the project I was ready to test the new fan. It works is the best I can say about it. I have a whole house fan in my previous home and wouldn't think of not having one in this house. After turning this one on I was very disappointed in noise level. I walked outside to the street and could still hear it. I won't buy another of this brand. It's loud, what? It's Loud, what? IT'S LOUD.
+41points
44out of 47found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 24 in. 4500 CFM Direct Drive Whole-House Fan with Shutter
from Corona Ca
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

Horrible

PostedJune 16, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I had this fan installed in my house and I had to take it out because of the noise. I went ahead and got a QuietCool whole house fan and it was the best decision I ever made. The noise level was around 45 decibles and move a lot more air. QuietCool is single handily the best purchase I ever made.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 24 in. 4500 CFM Direct Drive Whole-House Fan with Shutter
from Rocklin, ca

Good Fan - Cheap Switch

PostedAugust 10, 2006
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The fan is good for the cost with a solid motor and a decently built frame. When installing additional joist support the louvre cutout is bigger than the fan frame so a complete flush frame on which the fan can sit is impossible. However, the provided plastic pieces bridge the gap well to channel airflow.
My only complaint is the switch was pretty cheap and broke after 1 day of use (would not reset and allow me to shut off the fan - it stuck). Company has offered to send out another one in 5-7 days. Brother-in-law has the same fan and also had the provided chain switch break in the first week.
Definitely look into constructing some kind of insulation box for summer and winter since it is literally a 30" hole in your ceiling that is only insulated by some thin plastic flaps.
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 24 in. 4500 CFM Direct Drive Whole-House Fan with Shutter
from California

Great product

PostedMay 28, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This whole house fan is the first one I have installed. The job came out perfect. I first read the instructions three times. I didn't think the instructions were worthless like some reviews said. Maybe they have updated them. If anything, they were very detailed and you had to avoid the parts that didn't concern your particular type of install.
This unit seems to be designed to be placed on one of the joists. The middle of the fan and shutter has a notch so it can be placed directly on to the joist. Once I found a place for the fan, I found that the joists next to the joist I had placed the fan on were too far to hold the edges of the fan. I had to cut some 2X4's to make up the difference. After adding the 2X4's, I placed the shutter template on the attic floor and traced around it. I cut the hole for the shutter from inside of the attic. Once the shutter hole was done I installed the fan and then the shutter.
I don't believe this fan is made to be ran all day or evening. This fan will cool my whole 2500 foot house in less than 20 minutes depending on the temperature of the air outside. I just open a few windows on the first floor and turn on the fan. You can feel the cool air coming in from outside. It also pushes all of the hot air out of the attic.
As far as the noise, the noise is comparable to the amount of air the fan moves. If you look at one of those slow turning fans that are usually installed in a factory that are very quiet, you will also find they have to be quite large to move any air. This fan is quite small for the amount of air it moves. It will be louder because of the amount of air being moved. I can put up with noise for 20 minutes to get my house cooled down. But I really don't think this fan is loud. If you are married, you will fine this fan is quieter then a wife (or husband). Just kidding !!!
After about four hours, the fan was installed and ready for use. I love this fan. It is much cheaper then using the central air conditioner.
+32points
33out of 34found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 24 in. 4500 CFM Direct Drive Whole-House Fan with Shutter
from Rancho Cucamonga, CA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Worth Every Penny

PostedJuly 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Excellent product. I wish that I had known about it before. My husband and I get so frustrated during the summer. During the day the house heats up and we run the air. In the evening, when it's cool outside, the inside of the house is still hot and we feel like it's a waste to run the AC. We would run the ceiling fans to try to get the air to circulate, but it's circulating warm air and not pulling in the cool air from outside. The whole house fan does just that, as well as cooling the super-heated air (130degrees) in the attic, which cools the house down even faster. You just turn the fan on and crack 1 window on each end of the house and the air just comes whooshing in. This whole house fan has cut our AC use/bills in half. Not only that, but I have gotten several compliments on how fresh our house feels. We don't have stale air, food smells, or personal odor smells because the whole house fan pulls fresh air in and pushes the stinky air out. Given a choice between a ceiling fan and a whole house fan, I would choose the whole house fan every time. The only reason that I gave 4/5 is that it is a bit loud. My husband and I took a few days getting used to sleeping with it on low at night. Now it's just white noise to us. LOVE IT! Easy to install. BTW, I'm a 32yr old woman with the handy skills of a person who switches out light/power sockets, hangs pictures, puts together ikea furniture, and gardens... so very little handyman experience, and I put it in all by myself. On that note, get someone to help lift it up into the attic because the blades are very sharp and the fan is very heavy.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Great Value, Economical
Cons: Noisy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 24 in. 4500 CFM Direct Drive Whole-House Fan with Shutter
from Mentone, So. Cal.

Fan does the job.

PostedMay 2, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
For the cost this fan does a great job. Direct drive is typically a bit noisier than belt drive and definately noisier than in line fans. However, in line fans are about four times the cost. The consistent noise easily becomes white noise. Installation is not difficult but is not for the weak! You are cutting a hole in your ceiling and need to do some electrical wiring. I installed mine in the attic access so I did not mount it on all sides. I built out a frame that the fan sits on and mounted it with hinges so I can simply push it up to access the attic. I added weather stripping to seal it and the back pressure when the fan is on really keeps it tight. Instead of the pull switch, I added a dual on/off timer switch for more control. Typically, I want the fan to go off once we fall asleep because it can get too cold if it stays on all night in So. California. Something else to remember is that you do not want to open all the windows in your house. A few strategic windows across the house works much better. It will create a breeze in the house. Bottom line is that venting the attic alone will help cool the house and a whole house fan will draw air through your house creating a nice breeze but the temperature of the air is still up to mother nature! Hope it helps.
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 24 in. 4500 CFM Direct Drive Whole-House Fan with Shutter

Not bad. Not bad at all.

PostedJuly 6, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Originally bought the 6500 CFM belt drive at Home Depot but decided to change it with this 4500 CFM Direct Drive instead. Didn't want to do a joist cut on my ceiling truss without compromising the structural integrity and I couldn't fit the 30 inch 6500 CFM fan through the attic hatch without doing that so got this instead. This is good house fan and moves alot of air. A bit loud but fortunately mine is mounted on the third floor ceiling hallway so doesn't bother anyone once they're in the rooms. It has a pull switch but I changed mine to a wall switch using a GE timer (6 amp rated) and a Leviton 3 way toggle switch to control the speed. A 3 way rocker switch can be used instead of a toggle switch. Disclaimer: I'm not an electrician so if you are not comfortable with electrical wiring you should consult a license electrician. This isn't an advise how to wire your fan but it is just a statement of how I wired mine. For those interested in the connections (cause I had to look around for it) I basically have a line connecting to the timer and the load of the timer goes to the hot line of the 3 way switch (I got the preferred switch $7+ so it can handle the 2.4 amp house fan motor). Used a 14/3 romex wire 15 amp (unless I'm wiring to 20 amp circuit I would've used a 12/3) and connected the red wire (low speed) to the upper LEFT side of the 3 way toggle swich just across the gound screw. The black wire (high speed) connected to the opposite RIGHT side screw just above the hot connection. For rocker connections, I actually found on youtube. Then I simply made the connections on the house fan according to wire colors (I cut the pull switch connector on the fan making SURE I had enough wires from the house fan to make the connections). The neutral wires (white) from the house fan and line were connected at the wall switch. I connected the ground wires from the timer and the line and made a "pig tail" connection to the toggle switch. Also made sure I connected and grounded the house fan and voila it runs perfect. I added a AFCI circuit breaker (looks exactly like a GFCI breaker but this detects arcing from "loose" wire connections on the wiring which trips to prevent an attic fire in this case). I made sure all my connections were wired nice and tight. The "line" wire that feeds into the wall switch was connected on the "load" side of the AFCI circuit breaker with a "pig tailed" gound connection. This fan cools my 2200 sq foot house in under 40 mins.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>