728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Temporary Shades or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Paper Light Filtering Shade (Price Varies by Size)

Paper Light Filtering Shade (Price Varies by Size)

The Redi Shade 36 in. x 72 in. Paper Light Filtering Shade features a white finish and decorative pleated design. This shade provides light filtering and instant privacy for your space while maintaining your style. Easy to customize to fit your window, this versatile shade offers quick installation and is a perfect addition to your decor.
Overall rating:
4.027 / 5
4
 / 
5
(37 reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
86%of customersrecommend this product30 of 35reviews
Rating Breakdown 37 reviews
4.0 out of 5.0
5
(18)
4
(11)
3
(3)
2
(1)
1
(4)
Quality 
3.1 out of 5.0
3.1 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
86%of customersrecommend this product30 of 35reviews
Customer questions and answers:
10 Questions | 12 Answers
Customer reviews for Paper Light Filtering Shade (Price Varies by Size)
Review 1 for Paper Light Filtering Shade (Price Varies by Size)

Best small purchase we have made in the store

PostedNovember 11, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
We wanted a quick and cheap way to add some privacy to a side entrance door. Didn't want to screw into a metal door for a traditional blind and couldn't find any that attach with magnets.
This was a great solution. It is very thin yes, but we have had this up for almost 4 months and it is still in great shape. If it ever starts to fall apart it is cheap enough to replace. I am very happy to have purchased this shade.
Pros: Easy to Install, Great Value
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Paper Light Filtering Shade (Price Varies by Size)

The GREATEST!

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These are GREAT! To eliminate them falling, use 4 thumb tacks space equally thru out the top seam. Had them up for two years, so far.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Paper Light Filtering Shade (Price Varies by Size)

Great value

PostedDecember 9, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I bought these temporarily for my bay window which needed custom treatment. They were great for the price, nice look, and lasted 6-9 months until I got a permanent fix.( I thought they would fall off after a month with my little ones). It cost $10 to cover the bay window! Easy to cut to size too. Good product for people moving to a new place and needing temp window treatment.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Paper Light Filtering Shade (Price Varies by Size)
from Los Angeles

Good in a pinch

PostedAugust 13, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We bought these while we were waiting for our real shades to arrive and they worked just fine. Used them for 3 weeks. They look nice for a temporary solution.
Pros: Easy to Install, Great Value, Fits in Various Rooms, Functional
Cons: -adhesive pulls off window frame paint, not easy to roll up/down
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Paper Light Filtering Shade (Price Varies by Size)
from Natick, MA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great temporary window covers

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These are perfect as a temporary window covering. I modified the installation, using removable velcro tape to assure they would remain securely fastened. It worked perfectly. The shades look nice enough and do a great job keeping out the sun and heat while providing the desired privacy. Are they easy to open and close? No. But for the price, you really can't expect perfection.
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Functional, Well Made, value for money
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Paper Light Filtering Shade (Price Varies by Size)
from Iowa

Easy to put up, frustrating to take down

PostedNovember 11, 2006
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I was delighted at how easy these were to put up and they look really nice. I am majorly annoyed now that it's time to take them down. I pulled on the shade and the fabric pulls away from the adhesive. So now I have an adhesive strip stuck to the window frame. It's like trying to pull off wallpaper. It comes off in tiny pieces and will likely take me 30 minutes or more to take off the adhesive for each shade unless I find something that will loosen the adhesive! I would give them 5 stars for ease of installation and appearance, 0 stars for removal.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Paper Light Filtering Shade (Price Varies by Size)
from Cameron, NC

Great temp fix

PostedSeptember 28, 2006
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
These were perfect for when we first moved in our new house. Curtains are something you need right away , but it's hard when you feel rushed to decide what to get. After I put them up I decided to wait and save up for interior shutters. They have been up for three months now and are still in same condition and have not fallen or ripped. Which is quite miraculous considering I have two small boys. Definatly worth the price!
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Paper Light Filtering Shade (Price Varies by Size)

Do not affix to anything Painted!!!!!

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The product is fine but I was in an extreme time crunch to put these up and the instructions are basically non-existent, what they don't tell you is that these should only be attached to vinyl or glass portion of the window if you attach to the upper part of painted drywall in the window frame the paint will tear out when you remove. I just had my house painted and to say that I'm upset that I'm having to pay someone $320/ to put 20 minutes, sand and re-primer and paint for the 8x windows I did this at would be an understatement.
Cons: tears off paint from drywall
-1point
3out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Paper Light Filtering Shade (Price Varies by Size)
from Montgomery, Alabama

Great value, great product!

PostedJanuary 8, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
These shades are easy to install and look very pretty. They are a great temporary solution for privacy with beautifully filtered light. They are accordion-pleated material that looks like Chinese rice paper and they fold up to whatever height you want and secure with plastic clips. So you can open and close them. But they work better being in a place where they are mostly or always in one position. They are easy to cut to fit any window and secure with adhesive backing at the top.
I used them initially in a glass sun room and later put a set in the lower sash of a triple window that looks out onto a deck and wooded back yard. The ones in the triple window have been there for five years. I only open them to wash the windows. I did not have a problem removing them from my sunroom when I decided to leave the windows uncovered rather than open and close them constantly.
In a recent move, my sister in Switzerland damaged the ones I sent her years ago and asked if I could get her some more. Really great product
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Paper Light Filtering Shade (Price Varies by Size)
from Conshohocken, PA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female

Dissapointed

PostedJune 14, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product did not stay up more than a day. The paper wrinkled immediately as I was taking it out of the package and looked terrible from the moment I stuck it up.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: Easily Damaged, Wobbles, Not Sturdy, Poor looking, Flimsy Quality, Appearance
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Paper Light Filtering Shade (Price Varies by Size)

DO NOT AFFIX TO DRYWALL

PostedSeptember 25, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I foolishly stuck the adhesive to my ceiling, and when it came time for removal, it ripped away at the wall. Now I will have to repaint.
+3points
6out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Paper Light Filtering Shade (Price Varies by Size)
from san francisco CA

very convenient

PostedJanuary 24, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
perfect for what we need the for as a temporary cover of the windows in our construction project
windows are being replaced an residents need privacy while they get their pemanent blinds
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Paper Light Filtering Shade (Price Varies by Size)

Great value for the price!

PostedOctober 2, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
These paper blinds are awesome. You just stick them up and they look very nice. They filter the light nicely. The only downside is that it is hard to raise them when you want to because you have to fold them up just right and then use the little clips that come with it. If you plan to leave them down then it isn't a problem.
Pros: Beautiful Appearance, Easy to Install, Great Value, Functional, Fits in Various Rooms, Good Size & Fit
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Paper Light Filtering Shade (Price Varies by Size)
from Texas

Great Product

PostedJanuary 11, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I normally do not take the time to add reviews to something I purchased, but felt the urge to do so for this product. I just moved to a new home and our entire front door is mostly glass. Anyone can come by and look through our door and see practically the entire house, so I was looking for a quick fix for some privacy until my husband and I could get a new front door. I didn't want to spend more money than necessary, so I went online to see what my options were and came across these. (I also read the great reviews, but was a bit hesitant). What a great idea! It is covering our entire glass on our front door and I finally feel piece of mind. If you are looking for something to cover windows or doors, you can't go wrong with this product. They also look very nice and you can adjust the length as needed. Highly recommend!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Paper Light Filtering Shade (Price Varies by Size)
from Bucks County, PA

perfect inexpensive solution for rentals

PostedJanuary 23, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
spruces up a rental and keeps the placing looking inhabited while vacant. super easy to install; just cut to fit, if needed, with a shears, then peel and stick and adjust height with clips and you're done! Wish I had come up with the idea!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Paper Light Filtering Shade (Price Varies by Size)

great solution for the situation

PostedSeptember 1, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
We were moving out from the rental property and did not want to leave our shades - redi shades are perfect solution. it was easy to cut them down to size.
Pros: Great Value, Good Size & Fit
Cons: Appearance
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Paper Light Filtering Shade (Price Varies by Size)
from Waterford, MI

Perfect & permanent

PostedJanuary 7, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My husband collects beer & sport items and has things all over the basement and on the walls. He was PARANOID about the sun coming in from the basement glassblock windows. I ran across these shades when I was shopping one day. I bought one to try because I was tired of looking at towels, cardboard or anything he could find to shove into the little opening in front of the windows to block the light. He loved it. We bought more to fill the other windows. We recently moved into a new home and the first thing he did was purchase these shades and put them up before hanging anything on the walls. The are clean and classic looking and dont look cheap, even though they are! He is not very handy and he did these without my help :) Whatta guy. For once, something I didnt have to redo after he did it.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Paper Light Filtering Shade (Price Varies by Size)
from Pittsburgh, PA

Great!

PostedJune 20, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Love them! I just started putting up these shades and love them so much that I had to stop to write this review. They are super easy to put up. I trimmed them width wise to fit my window, pulled the adhesive strip and stuck them to the wall. At first I didn't think they were long enough but as they hung they relaxed and eventually made it all the way down to the sill. I'm so impressed because they look so good! For the price I believe it's the best alternative for temporary window covering. They look so good that mine will probably be up longer. I don't know yet how much heat and light they will block but I'm sure they will do the trick. We've just moved into a new house with bare windows and got tired of no privacy and a hot house. I believe these shades will accommodate all of our needs. I will consider the nicer ones down the road.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Paper Light Filtering Shade (Price Varies by Size)
from New York, NY

What a deal!!!

PostedOctober 14, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I saw these paper shades on a design show the other day and thought ‘Wow, those are a great idea!’ I have been wanting to do something different with my bedroom windows but I didn’t want to spend a lot of money – mission accomplished! These shades are AWESOME! Great clean look, easy to install and easy on the wallet! When its time to redecorate the next room in the house I’ll be using more of these shades!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Paper Light Filtering Shade (Price Varies by Size)
from NC

A great solution at a great price!

PostedSeptember 28, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We purchased one of these as well as one of the black shades to darken our son's room for naptime. His room is on the front of the house, so we put the white shade in first and then the black one so that it looks nice from the road, but blocks out the light. What a great solution! From the road, you can hardly tell the difference b/w them and the blinds in our other windows. And they made his room significantly darker! It's not quite like nighttime, but close enough. This is the second set of these we have purchased and we will be buying more for the nursery when our new baby arrives. They did the trick, were easy to install, & you definitely can't beat the price!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 >>