728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 12 in. Galvanized Externally Braced Replacement Turbine Head

12 in. Galvanized Externally Braced Replacement Turbine Head

The Master Flow externally braced turbines are efficient, easy-to-install venting options for your roof. They allow heat and moisture-laden air to escape your attic, helping to extend the life of your roof. They are designed with upper and lower steel ball bearing systems for years of trouble-free operation.
Overall rating:
3.722 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(36 reviews) 36
Open Ratings Snapshot
75%of customersrecommend this product27 of 36reviews
Rating Breakdown 36 reviews
3.7 out of 5
5
(14)
4
(11)
3
(4)
2
(1)
1
(6)
Quality 
3.6 out of 5
3.6 out of 5
Value 
3.9 out of 5
3.9 out of 5
75%of customersrecommend this product27 of 36reviews
Customer reviews for 12 in. Galvanized Externally Braced Replacement Turbine Head
Review 1 for 12 in. Galvanized Externally Braced Replacement Turbine Head
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Poor quality

PostedJune 23, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
These are adequate replacement products, however somewhat cheaply made. 1 was dented up pretty bad on arrival. They will bend easily w/ even light pressure.
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 12 in. Galvanized Externally Braced Replacement Turbine Head
from Central Arkansas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Check before you buy!

PostedDecember 8, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
After reading other reviews here I decided the best thing would be to check the item in the store before purchase. I opened a box, took out the turbine and gave it a spin. Sure enough, it made a clicking sound. I looked for interference between turbine and support and there was plenty of clearance, so it must have been in the bearings. The second one I opened spun silently. My advice, check it out before you purchase, save yourself a trip back to exchange.
+38points
38out of 38found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 12 in. Galvanized Externally Braced Replacement Turbine Head
from Fl
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not Good

PostedJune 16, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It was bent and did not turn properly had to mess with it and the guy at the store tried to send me home with wrong box so I opened it in the store and told him that was not it he later found correct box so you ask if I am happy ? I ask you would you be happy ?
Cons: came bent
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 12 in. Galvanized Externally Braced Replacement Turbine Head
from Chase City, Virginia
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Has real sealed ball bearings.

PostedJune 9, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This product is well made and fit on a different manufactured unit and works well.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 12 in. Galvanized Externally Braced Replacement Turbine Head
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Good quality replacement part

PostedMay 12, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No need to remove the base, just replace the turbine head in a few easy minutes.
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 12 in. Galvanized Externally Braced Replacement Turbine Head
from Perryton, TX 79070, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Turbine replacement

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Well made, balanced and appear to be durable. First day up, had 65 mph wind with no problem. These babies are silent!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, High Quality, Looks Great, Nice Design
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 12 in. Galvanized Externally Braced Replacement Turbine Head
from Azle, TX

Quality issues

PostedJanuary 4, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I had 3 old turbines on my home, one stopped spinning and the other squeaked; I decided to replace all 3 at the same time.
I returned from the store and discovered one of the new turbines did not rotate freely, the bearing is held in place with a flimsy plastic clip - which was already broken. I returned to the store and obtained a replacement.
The 3 new turbines have been in place for a little under 12 months, and one of them has already started squeaking! I'm looking for alternatives to this product, these units are not built to last.
Very disappointed with the quality and lack of longevity.
+8points
11out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 12 in. Galvanized Externally Braced Replacement Turbine Head
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good for what it is

PostedMarch 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
very easy to install. spins freely and doesn't leak
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 12 in. Galvanized Externally Braced Replacement Turbine Head
from Houston
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Works well

PostedDecember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Of the turbine vents that were available, this one was the most cost effective. It fit on the existing riser like a glove. I painted mine to match the rest of the house and it did take paint easily, though it did require two coats. Installation was quick, only 30 minutes to remove and replace two vents. So far, they are running smoothly and quietly.
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 12 in. Galvanized Externally Braced Replacement Turbine Head
from Sylmar, Los Angeles, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

So far, so good

PostedDecember 31, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Installed a pair about 2 weeks ago and seem to be holding up well despite the strong wind
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 12 in. Galvanized Externally Braced Replacement Turbine Head
from Florida, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't spin very freely.

PostedOctober 29, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
My turbine doesn't spin very easily. My existing turbine spins rapidly while my two new ones are motionless.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great
Cons: don't spin easily
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 12 in. Galvanized Externally Braced Replacement Turbine Head
from Quitman, TX
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Too Easy

PostedDecember 24, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I needed a replacement for a turbine that had failed on my house in Corpus Christi. Just changing out the fan portion by itself saved me loads of time not having to peel back shingles that were 20 years old. Removed 3 screws, the new holes lined up perfect, VOILA' ....done. The trick will be; #1 Does it survive an environment where the wind blows 20+ mph every day, and #2 Does the finish survive coastal/corrosive air. Time will tell.......
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 12 in. Galvanized Externally Braced Replacement Turbine Head
from Long Beach, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Purchase frequency:Yearly

GREAT TURBINE

PostedSeptember 20, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this replacement turbine head for the one on my garage was over forty years old and not turning any more even with spraying the bearing with WD40.
This turbine head is built well, is light weight, and easy to install. Now it spins anytime there is a breeze and it is so quiet you never know if it is spinning or not. I have two old wind turbines on my house that will be geting this new head installed real soon for they both are very old and they squeek when they spin.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 12 in. Galvanized Externally Braced Replacement Turbine Head

Completely unusable

PostedApril 1, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought two of these to replace some old, noisy turbine vents. While they look good, they don't spin at all in normal wind. Even with heavy wind, they only turn very slowly. Nothing was damaged, there was just too much friction in the bearings.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 12 in. Galvanized Externally Braced Replacement Turbine Head
from Phoenix
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Turbine replacement

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I don't know anyone who would want to replace the entire turbine fixture. This kit was easy to install. I would highly recommend it to anyone
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Looks Great, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 12 in. Galvanized Externally Braced Replacement Turbine Head
from Fresno, CA

Easy Install!

PostedAugust 24, 2006
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I just put in three of these. They were very easy to install. Put them on a shake roof without a hitch. Instructions are accurate.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 12 in. Galvanized Externally Braced Replacement Turbine Head

Fast shipping and made well.....BUT

PostedMay 29, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
They were easy to install and look made well BUT I have yet to see them spin even in strong winds. I would not recommend these !!!!
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 12 in. Galvanized Externally Braced Replacement Turbine Head

perfect

PostedNovember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Mine flew off in the last storm. This one fit right in place. Only request is that they shipped it with self tapping screws not standard sheet metal.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 12 in. Galvanized Externally Braced Replacement Turbine Head
from El Paso, TX, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Well put together.

PostedApril 29, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Solid construction.
Very shiny.
Easy to install.
Good value.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 12 in. Galvanized Externally Braced Replacement Turbine Head
from Miami, Florida

Easy

PostedJuly 23, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Except for having to adjust the holes on the old base a little with a drill, this unit went on with no trouble. It was tested by a severe thunderstorm (thirty to forty mph winds) and came through with no harm.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
1 2 >>