728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 12 in. Galvanized Turbine Head in Mill

12 in. Galvanized Turbine Head in Mill

Master Flow externally braced wind turbines offer the most advanced, easy-to-install line of high performance turbines for roofing applications. The turbines are designed with upper and lower stainless steel ball bearing systems for years of trouble-free operation.
Overall rating:
3.607 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(28 reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
75%of customersrecommend this product21 of 28reviews
Rating Breakdown 28 reviews
3.6 out of 5.0
5
(10)
4
(9)
3
(3)
2
(0)
1
(6)
Quality 
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6 out of 5
Value 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
75%of customersrecommend this product21 of 28reviews
Customer reviews for 12 in. Galvanized Turbine Head in Mill
Review 1 for 12 in. Galvanized Turbine Head in Mill
from Central Arkansas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Check before you buy!

PostedDecember 8, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After reading other reviews here I decided the best thing would be to check the item in the store before purchase. I opened a box, took out the turbine and gave it a spin. Sure enough, it made a clicking sound. I looked for interference between turbine and support and there was plenty of clearance, so it must have been in the bearings. The second one I opened spun silently. My advice, check it out before you purchase, save yourself a trip back to exchange.
+33points
33out of 33found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 12 in. Galvanized Turbine Head in Mill
from Perryton, TX 79070, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Turbine replacement

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Well made, balanced and appear to be durable. First day up, had 65 mph wind with no problem. These babies are silent!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, High Quality, Looks Great, Nice Design
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 12 in. Galvanized Turbine Head in Mill
from Holly Hill, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

works well

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This fan was what we needed. It is moving nicely and was easy to install.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 12 in. Galvanized Turbine Head in Mill
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

replacement part purchase

PostedSeptember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Very tight fit on the existing 12" sheet metal parts.
Pros: Nice Design
Cons: Difficult to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 12 in. Galvanized Turbine Head in Mill
from Texas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Turbine required no assembly.

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Turbine was very easy to install and quality was good.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 12 in. Galvanized Turbine Head in Mill
from Sylmar, Los Angeles, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

So far, so good

PostedDecember 31, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Installed a pair about 2 weeks ago and seem to be holding up well despite the strong wind
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 12 in. Galvanized Turbine Head in Mill
from Phoenix
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Turbine replacement

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I don't know anyone who would want to replace the entire turbine fixture. This kit was easy to install. I would highly recommend it to anyone
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Looks Great, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 12 in. Galvanized Turbine Head in Mill
from El Paso, TX, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Well put together.

PostedApril 29, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Solid construction.
Very shiny.
Easy to install.
Good value.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 12 in. Galvanized Turbine Head in Mill
from Florida, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't spin very freely.

PostedOctober 29, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
My turbine doesn't spin very easily. My existing turbine spins rapidly while my two new ones are motionless.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great
Cons: don't spin easily
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 12 in. Galvanized Turbine Head in Mill
from Texas, USA

Fun to look at!

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We bought these to go on top of our new shed. We wanted something on top of the shed that we could watch spin as we sat on the back porch. This fit the bill perfectly!
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 12 in. Galvanized Turbine Head in Mill
from Azle, TX

Quality issues

PostedJanuary 4, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I had 3 old turbines on my home, one stopped spinning and the other squeaked; I decided to replace all 3 at the same time.
I returned from the store and discovered one of the new turbines did not rotate freely, the bearing is held in place with a flimsy plastic clip - which was already broken. I returned to the store and obtained a replacement.
The 3 new turbines have been in place for a little under 12 months, and one of them has already started squeaking! I'm looking for alternatives to this product, these units are not built to last.
Very disappointed with the quality and lack of longevity.
+7points
10out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 12 in. Galvanized Turbine Head in Mill
from Houston
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Works well

PostedDecember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Of the turbine vents that were available, this one was the most cost effective. It fit on the existing riser like a glove. I painted mine to match the rest of the house and it did take paint easily, though it did require two coats. Installation was quick, only 30 minutes to remove and replace two vents. So far, they are running smoothly and quietly.
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 12 in. Galvanized Turbine Head in Mill

Completely unusable

PostedApril 1, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought two of these to replace some old, noisy turbine vents. While they look good, they don't spin at all in normal wind. Even with heavy wind, they only turn very slowly. Nothing was damaged, there was just too much friction in the bearings.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 12 in. Galvanized Turbine Head in Mill

Fast shipping and made well.....BUT

PostedMay 29, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
They were easy to install and look made well BUT I have yet to see them spin even in strong winds. I would not recommend these !!!!
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 12 in. Galvanized Turbine Head in Mill
from Long Beach, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Purchase frequency:Yearly

GREAT TURBINE

PostedSeptember 20, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this replacement turbine head for the one on my garage was over forty years old and not turning any more even with spraying the bearing with WD40.
This turbine head is built well, is light weight, and easy to install. Now it spins anytime there is a breeze and it is so quiet you never know if it is spinning or not. I have two old wind turbines on my house that will be geting this new head installed real soon for they both are very old and they squeek when they spin.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 12 in. Galvanized Turbine Head in Mill
from Little rock, AR
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Doesn't spin

PostedApril 2, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This turbine doesn't spin at all. All of my whirlybirds spin like crazy and this one sits still. It doesn't move even when the wind is blowing. It is going back to the store.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 12 in. Galvanized Turbine Head in Mill
from Fresno, CA

Easy Install!

PostedAugust 24, 2006
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I just put in three of these. They were very easy to install. Put them on a shake roof without a hitch. Instructions are accurate.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 12 in. Galvanized Turbine Head in Mill
from Miami, Florida

Easy

PostedJuly 23, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Except for having to adjust the holes on the old base a little with a drill, this unit went on with no trouble. It was tested by a severe thunderstorm (thirty to forty mph winds) and came through with no harm.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 12 in. Galvanized Turbine Head in Mill

Works well, but may have manufacturing defects.

PostedNovember 9, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Two out of three worked fine - smooth spinning with only minor asymmetry. The third had to be returned due to being bent during manufacture. The replacement was slightly wobbly due to some bending during manufacturing, but worked OK - spins with some asymmetry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 12 in. Galvanized Turbine Head in Mill
from Honea Path, SC 29654, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Product worked just like the ones I replaced.

PostedFebruary 21, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These turbines were very smooth had a little bit of wobblle but were very quite. Fit on the adapters just like the ones I replaced which had been on for almost 15 years
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 >>