728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Point Of Use or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 12 kW 240 Volt Point-of-Use Tankless Electric Water Heater

12 kW 240 Volt Point-of-Use Tankless Electric Water Heater

PowerStar point-of-use tankless water heaters are designed to provide an endless supply of hot water for kitchen, bathroom and hand-washing sinks. There are four under-sink models to choose from (dependent on desired temperature rise and flow rates). Common applications include: homes, offices, warehouses, service stations, stores and concession stands.
Overall rating:
4.2 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(40 reviews) 40
Open Ratings Snapshot
85%of customersrecommend this product33 of 39reviews
Rating Breakdown 40 reviews
4.2 out of 5.0
5
(20)
4
(13)
3
(4)
2
(1)
1
(2)
Ease of installation 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
Quality 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
Value 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
85%of customersrecommend this product33 of 39reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 0 Answers
Customer reviews for 12 kW 240 Volt Point-of-Use Tankless Electric Water Heater
Review 1 for 12 kW 240 Volt Point-of-Use Tankless Electric Water Heater
from Ada Oklahoma

LOVE IT!!!

PostedFebruary 5, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this unit for a whole house water heater...
My house uses one wet wall so I bought this unit to replace a leaking water tank... easy to instal and it works great!!! endless hot showers are very nice...
I have already recommended this product to four others including my dad!
I'm not disappointed with this as it does exactly what it says it can do, I do recommend that you read the product info before you buy and buy the right size for what you need... as for my little home, (three bedroom one bath 1400 square feet), the 12KW unit is perfect! I'm now building a towel closet in the space the old hot water tank use to occupy...
+22points
22out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 12 kW 240 Volt Point-of-Use Tankless Electric Water Heater
from North Carolina mountains
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

TERRIBLE DISAPPOINTMENT

PostedJune 7, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this water heater for a tiny summer cabin in the NC mountains; research had indicated that it would be a perfect use. I installed it in August 2012 and it worked well until I closed the cabin and left for the winter. When I returned in the spring it worked for a time but then stopped.
The man who had installed it for me called the manufacturer's service department for suggestions on how to address the problem and got unspeakable treatment.. In fact, the technician, Scott, was rude, surly and offered absolutely no help. When my installer asked to speak to a supervisor, Scott said he was the supervisor and in fact nothing could be done; we could not send it back and perhaps try another even though it had been used only a short time.
My installer did the best he could and finally got the heater running -- which the tech said could not be done. It continued to work until it was turned off in the fall of 2013 when the cabin was closed for again the winter. This spring [2014] nothing could get it to work. I had seven or eight months use in all.
I of course will never buy anything else from Bosch. I wish luck to all customers who are pleased with the product, and hope they never have to call the manufacturer for help.
Cons: no manufacturer support
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 12 kW 240 Volt Point-of-Use Tankless Electric Water Heater
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works Great

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Unit was easy to install and provides planty of hot water.
Pros: Easy to Install, Compact
Cons: needs 60amp breaker & #6 wire
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 12 kW 240 Volt Point-of-Use Tankless Electric Water Heater
from East ,TN
Age Range:35 to 44
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Works ok for a shower

PostedNovember 14, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I know its marketed for sinks only but in a pinch, if you can accept a lower water pressure, this works ok. for me as a whole house water heater as long as you dont use more than one water outlet at a time.
I first installed it, (had to buy 60 amp double pole breaker) and switched out the 30 amp double pole I had, then had to buy 50 feet of 6-2 wire for $50..then left the outlet hose unhooked and put a 5 gallon bucket under it and turned the water on (instructions say to first flush the system) and i could tell the water was warm but thats it..just lukewarm..i then turned down the shutoff valve and the more i turned down the pressure the warmer then hotter the water got...this is with the heat setting on HIGHEST it will go
BUT I realized that I had the water valve/water pressure dang near off before the water got too hot to stick my hand in it...was getting worried at this point.
so I hooked the water outlet to the copper pipe and went upstairs and turned the bathtub on then played/twisted thewater shutoff valve downstairs (up and down...up and down) just a hair till i finally found the sweet spot between hot enough water to take a shower and enough water pressure to to keep everyone happy (barely) It has been cold here the past week (freezing at night-50s during day) so i imagine water was probably pretty cold coming into the unit..so.would probably be a whole lot hotter come this summer but i dont want to readjust anything and will leave it where it is..
and its only fair to say that they never ever say to use this for a shower, they just say sinks...so for the price..half of what the cheapest electric water heater tank cost...I am very pleased with it
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks, cost
Cons: flow rate needs to be low for water to get hot
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 12 kW 240 Volt Point-of-Use Tankless Electric Water Heater
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Needs a hexagonal 'tightening holder' for the threads, so that the heating pipe doesn't flex as compression fittings go on.

PostedJune 12, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This unit is light years ahead of the old tankless water heating systems. A single heating element makes for enough hot water quickly, and it looks robust. We'll see how it stands the test of time, but for now it works great. The pipe fittings could have been engineered better, as tightening the compression fittings will flex the innards a little as it gets installed.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 12 kW 240 Volt Point-of-Use Tankless Electric Water Heater
from Martin, Ga

Good product!!

PostedJune 13, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Bought this unit to replace a leaking standard water heater. Though the product description states only for a single point use, this will supply plenty of hot water for a whole house as long as you only use one point at a time. Works great in my shower and never run out of hot water. Not so good taking a shower and someone using sink. But as long as there is only one thing using hot water it is great. Have not seen my next power bill yet to see the savings but I am sure it will be noticable. Fairly straight forward to install with a little common sense, biggest thing is getting the correct wire to install with. Kind of expensive, but is better to do it right the first time than have any problems later. Buy 6-2 wire as this unit only uses two leads and a ground. I plan on buying a couple more later on to place in my kitchen and other bathroom or maybe a whole house unit, but either way I am very pleased with the functionality of this product.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 12 kW 240 Volt Point-of-Use Tankless Electric Water Heater
from Gladewater,TX

OK one bathroom water heater

PostedSeptember 26, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This water heater works pretty good for one bathroom in the south (East Texas) with a low flow shower head. It takes a little time to get used to how to adjust the temperature at the faucet. The installation of the new wiring was difficult. But, the small size has given us a whole new closet that the old water heater was stored in. Also, since we use this just for our guest bath, we no longer have to flip the breaker when people visit to turn on and off the heater. All and all, a good product especially considering the price. When our main water heater breaks, we plan to replace it with the "whole house" version of this water heater.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 12 kW 240 Volt Point-of-Use Tankless Electric Water Heater
from Central FL

GREAT if you understand how it works

PostedFebruary 19, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These save a LOT of $ only heat when needed. Should be VERY close to where used. Thermostat helps to give regulated temp after a few sec to minute. First cold, very hot then averages out. We are in FL, coldest H20 is about 69 to 70 degrees. Used for Shower and sink. Installed aprox Feb 2011. Have had other units from this co. They stand behind the warranty and have exelent Tech help. The warranty used to be 5yrs, now it is 2 & 5 IE parts 2 and heater unit 5. Thier website says 1 & 5yrs. so prob changing. The 2/5 was indicated by Home depot.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 12 kW 240 Volt Point-of-Use Tankless Electric Water Heater
from CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It Works GREAT !!!!

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This was easy to install and solved my hot water problem. Thanks...
Pros: Easy to Install, Reliable, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 12 kW 240 Volt Point-of-Use Tankless Electric Water Heater
from Texas

Great performance!

PostedJanuary 27, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The AE12 is a great product and performs great within his specifications. It increases my 1gpm cold water flow from about 65F to 120F in seconds. It now allows us to have hot water at every use over 9ft piping instead of the original 80ft of piping witch was not able to provide instant hot water for specific kitchen needs. It is very small and easily fits under your kitchen sink.
The installation is simple but the challenge is to bring a wire #6/2 (50-60 amps) to get the maximum power from the AE12. I paid about $150 for the 6/2 wire and breaker. I probably $200 for the installation by doing myself but took 5-6 hours to go from the electrical box to the kitchen in the center of the house.
Along with the challenge of the wire installation, there are others considerations.
First, the unit has a very thin/weak temperature knob. On my first order, it came broken (it took about 20 days to send back the unit and get the refund). This knob is really weak and you have to be careful not to break it when removing/installing the unit cover. When the cover is installed the knob is safe and can be turn has needed.
Second, the temperature controller does start with a burst of heat and stabilize few second later. So, its tends to send about 10 seconds of very hotter water than requested then finally adjust the desired temperature. This is a programming/designing issue according to me. I would accept a delay of few second not get that hot water than almost burn your hands. But like everything else you get use to it and modify you old habit.
Third, before to buy, evaluate your needs and current specifications like cold water temperature, desire hot water temperature, water flow (gpm), ease and cost of passing the required electrical wire and room to add a 60 amps breaker in your electrical box. It is suggested to look for product specifications and read the online installation manual before to buy.
Overall I like the unit it performs to meet our need. I would buy again! The initial cost is high but confident that I will save at every use now on the lost of hot water of the long original piping.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 12 kW 240 Volt Point-of-Use Tankless Electric Water Heater
from Bloomsburg, PA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Provides emergency hot water use.

PostedOctober 11, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this product as a stopgap measure when severe flooding ruined our furnace and left us without hot water. We installed it near our upstairs bathroom sink, but running a 240V, 6/2 cable wasn't all that easy (except for an expert, of course). It provides hot water at our bathroom sink, but for showers, the hot water must be turned all the way on with no cold water to get even a lukewarm shower, even with no one drawing hot water at the sink simultaneously. At least we can take "warm" showers, but the cost doesn't seem to be equal to this heater's productivity level. Glad I didn't purchase the whole-house electric tankless water heater because the productivity just doesn't seem to be there.
+5points
8out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 12 kW 240 Volt Point-of-Use Tankless Electric Water Heater
from Southern Indiana
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great for our use.

PostedNovember 27, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We put it in our hunting lodge on our property. We have a h/e washing machine, kitchen sink and bathroom sink. Why have 40 gallons of water heating all the time when we could only use what we need. This unit does the trick. Even with the cold Indiana water - we have HOT water in an instant. Thinking about changing out the one in our home. Having the heavy wire and space in the electric box is the only drawback. Ours was a new installation and not a problem.
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 12 kW 240 Volt Point-of-Use Tankless Electric Water Heater
from Benton, AR

Perfect

PostedNovember 16, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Installation was a breeze. Fit right in under the kitchen sink. Feeds the sink and the dishwasher nice steady stream of HOT water. Installation manual is logical and easy to follow. Electrical connections at the unit are simple as well.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 12 kW 240 Volt Point-of-Use Tankless Electric Water Heater
from Utah

Unsuitable for my needs

PostedMay 15, 2010
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
NOT REFLECTED IN PRODUCT DESCRIPTION..
The fact that this heater does not regulate the amount of power it puts into the water, it just cuts out when it reaches a safety threshold..
So, this makes it unsuitable for use as a booster heater for preheated water, as in the situation where a solar hot water heater is used and you need a booster for those partly cloudy days.
This was reflected in the user install paperwork, so I never installed this item and returned it for refund. It may be just fine for point of use ehating of cold water.
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 12 kW 240 Volt Point-of-Use Tankless Electric Water Heater
from El Paso, TX 79903, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

tankless + knowledge = HAPPYNESS

PostedJanuary 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Excellent product, all I was needing was information, my lack of knowledge kept me with my giant tank and gas bill for decades.
Pros: No Leaks, heats just when you need it., you can take a shower for hours
Cons: you need 2 40 amps to support it, consume from medium to high electrical energy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 12 kW 240 Volt Point-of-Use Tankless Electric Water Heater
from Vincennes, IN 47591, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Product works as stated

PostedSeptember 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It has been several months since my purchase of the PowerStar point of use water heater. I was apprehensive since I was going to use it to service the Kitchen sink, dishwasher, washer and half bath sink. So far I have been pleasantly surprised. It provides adequate hot water to all areas at the medium setting. FYI we only run the dishwasher once/twice a week and one or two loads of laundry a night. Can't speaker to cost savings yet because I haven't had the time to do the evaluation. however it did give back some much needed closet space in the laundry area. So far extremely pleased!
Pros: Good Instructions, No Leaks
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 12 kW 240 Volt Point-of-Use Tankless Electric Water Heater
from Philadelphia Penna

AE 12

PostedAugust 16, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I recently went solar on my 1500 sq ft house and wanted to switch water heaters. I bought 1 AE 12 anticipating maybe I would need a second. It arrived in 2 days! I installed it.I LOVE IT ! more hot water in the shower . I don't think I'll need a second. It also saves so much space . It has Bosch Technology which means alot to a contractor like me. THANKS
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 12 kW 240 Volt Point-of-Use Tankless Electric Water Heater
from central Ohio area

Tankless hot water

PostedMarch 2, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product works like a charm. We now have instant Hot water at our kitchen sink without waiting for the regular hot water which took a good 2-3 minutes of waiting. If you want hot water this is the answer. Now I am thinking about a tankless hot water heater for the whole house.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 12 kW 240 Volt Point-of-Use Tankless Electric Water Heater

Could be better.

PostedOctober 23, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This one was purchased to replace the same exact model that malfunctioned. I have been using it in my grooming salon and it just has to make hot water for one bathtub. Which it does a good job at. I don't know what caused the old unit to malfunction whether it was the age of the unit (3 years old) or if it was from overuse. I only use it to bathe on average 6 dogs a day. It does get hot fast which is nice but, now I am super aware of it due to the last one almost catching on fire.
I would recommend it if you are using it for a sink for sure but, anything more might be pushing the unit.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions
Cons: doesn't last long
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 12 kW 240 Volt Point-of-Use Tankless Electric Water Heater
from Western NY

Fills our need for hot water

PostedJune 11, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Using the product for 2+ weeks - so far it has provided an adequate supply of hot water to our kitchen and small bath (with shower at tolerable volume) - you do have to get used to adjusting volume of water to allow heater to keep up. This was installed in a weekend cottage in Western NY. Removing old 20 gallon heater gave my wife more cupboard space which was great. Wiring the unit was a wrestling match with the sized wire (#6-3 wg) available (that's all I could find locally).
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 >>