728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Lawn Mowers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 20 in. Classic Reel Mower

20 in. Classic Reel Mower

With manual-push operation, a loop-style handle and a super-soft foam grip for comfort, the Scotts 20 in. Classic Reel Mower offers a large mowing path and a 1 - 3 in. adjustable cutting height to provide performance flexibility. The mower features 5 blad
Overall rating:
3.802 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(96 reviews) 95
Open Ratings Snapshot
74%of customersrecommend this product67 of 91reviews
Rating Breakdown 96 reviews
3.8 out of 5.0
5
(42)
4
(26)
3
(7)
2
(9)
1
(12)
Features 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
Quality 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
Value 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
74%of customersrecommend this product67 of 91reviews
Customer questions and answers:
9 Questions | 18 Answers
Customer reviews for 20 in. Classic Reel Mower
Review 1 for 20 in. Classic Reel Mower
aaa111
from Seattle, WA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Ready to go out of the box. Super sharp blades.

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the second Scotts reel mower I own. I put my older one for use at a rental house, and got another for my place.
Ready to go out of the box. Super sharp blades.
If you have a small area of lawn, this works great and you won't disturb the neighbors early Sunday morning with engine noise.
The handle is a bit light weight, but that helps keeps the weight down. The current model has a re-designed handle and it is much better with a padded push bar. Just don't man handle it and it will hold up.
The grass catcher is worthless. I always let the clippings go back on the lawn, they mulch in and the lawn just gets better.
Pros: Cuts Well, All In One, Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Mulches Well, Light Weight, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting, a cool way to go
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 20 in. Classic Reel Mower
Emiah
from FL
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Much easier to use and more durable than I thought

PostedJune 15, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I'm a 5'0 women and after my gas powered mower gave out, I was looking for a more environmentally friendly mower. Although I was aiming to get a Fiskar's, budget didn't allow for it. I got this Scotts 20in reel mower and am impressed with how easy it was to use.
Now my grass was at least 5-6 inches tall in some places. The reel mower went through with some effort, but not as much as I thought. I didn't have to huff and puff. It does require at least two passes to make sure all the grass is cut down. It DOES NOT cut down weeds. Those I had to pull on my own. At least the taller varieties. I think it worked well for my grass even though I have uneven terrain.
I thoroughly enjoyed the use of it and while it took me about an hour to cut down my 1/4 acre, the workout I got from it was very beneficial. I do not mess the smell of gas/exhaust or the bone-rattling noise of my gas mower.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Light Weight, Easy to Store
Cons: Limited Features, slightly difficult to use if grass too long.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 20 in. Classic Reel Mower
Notyou
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Mower, Great Customer Service from Company

PostedNovember 4, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
If you have a smaller yard and will mow once a week or so, this is the mower for you. Especially if you like a clean cut and want to go green. Reel mowers are not for you if you let your lawn get really long or there are tall weeds in your yard.
I have owned this mower for about a year or so and had no issues until a couple weeks ago when the handle broke. I called the 1-800 number on the manual and they are shipping me a new one free. I would definitely recommend this mower if you want an environmentally friendly, relatively cheap way to mow your lawn that I personally think makes it look better than a gas mower...
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 20 in. Classic Reel Mower
Bonnie
from Poughkeepsie, NY, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

EXCELLENT MOWER

PostedMay 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This mower is really a pleasure to use. It just rolls along and simply cuts the grass almost effortlessly. I bought it as a backup mower to my power mower but prefer using it to the other one. A bonus is that the grass can be mowed when still damp from dew or rain. I always had to wait until the grass was completely dry so the power mower wouldn't clog. This way you don't have to wait until the sunny hot time of the day. This is a solid well built mower that does a fine job .
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Easy to Store, mows damp grass easily
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 20 in. Classic Reel Mower
dpratho
from The Woodlands, TX, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Still working great

PostedApril 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've owned this mower 4.5 years now and used it at 2 different houses. The first house I did not have a sprinkler system and so my watering was sporadic and my grass didn't grow super fast so I could go longer in between mows, like once every two weeks. If the grass gets too high this mower (and most reel mowers as I understand it) does not work well. I feel like the instructions and most of the other reviews are all pretty upfront about this. If you over-water your yard you probably don't want this mower, because you'll be out there twice a week. My second house has a sprinkler system so if I don't mow it once per week some parts of my yard do get a little difficult and sometimes I have to use the weedeater to knock down the tall stuff. If you've got a huge yard you probably don't want this, but my first house had a back yard of about 4,000 square feet of grass and I cut it in about an hour, maybe 90 minutes. My second place has only 500 square feet of grass and I can mow that in about 10 minutes. I haven't had the blades sharpened yet, there's no rust visible, it still moves easy. The pad around the handle is coming off, but it seems like I did something to rip it and wasn't caused by some defect.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 20 in. Classic Reel Mower
homeownerinLAX
from La Crosse, WI, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Why did I wait so long!

PostedJune 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have a 7 yr old 10.5hp mower with a 33" wide cut and purchased this as a stop gap. Unfortunately it only takes my 10 more minutes to mow my half an acre yard and I could do this at 5:30am and not wake the neighbors. As a kid I remembering using a reel mower and it being difficult, well this mower is very easy to use even with a 10% grade lawn. This is my new lawn mower.
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 20 in. Classic Reel Mower
mp301
from Groton,MA

Great mower, even for a large lot!

PostedApril 29, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this mower today, and could not stop cutting!
I have a rather large lot, where I cut around 2.5 acres. I am waiting for a new lawn tractor to arrive that I ordered last week which will take another week to come in. I bought this reel mower to trim around trees and difficult to reach areas. I had it out of the box and assembled within 10 minutes. I gave it a test drive, and found it so easy to use, I could not stop cutting! I ended up cutting around 2 acres with it and the only reason I did not keep going is I ran out of daylight.
It is extremely easy to use, and does a great job. As some other reviewers indicated, it does not cut through crab grass very easily, but it took me another quick swipe or two to take care of this.
I like this mower so much, I am considering canceling my lawn tractor order.
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 20 in. Classic Reel Mower
Mel7
from Detroit, MI, USA
Gender:Female

Mower is great, handle is iffy.

PostedMay 9, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
After reading review after review on a bunch of different reel mowers, I went with this one. It seemed to be pretty popular and, while not stellar, a solid machine for an affordable price. I've had it for a couple weeks and LOVE it. I'm a 5'0" woman and find that pushing it is a good workout, but not prohibitively so. The sound of the blades takes some getting used to, but it is quiet enough that I can listen to music and even hold a phone conversation (although the person on the other end may not appreciate the snick-snick-snick of the blades). My only issue is the plastic wing nuts that hold the handle together. Apparently 4 of the 6 jumped ship sometime during my last mowing session and I didn't notice. I plan to replace them with metal ones.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Quiet, environmentally friendly
Cons: cheap parts
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 20 in. Classic Reel Mower
maxl

Fairly easy to push and does pretty good job cutting as long as grass is mowed twice a week

PostedJune 26, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
With the grass growing quickly, I have to mow twice a week or it gets too tall to cut without having to rake. The basket is worthless. Grass catches at the front lip and very little goes into the basket. It is easier to make a higher cut and then go back with a slightly lower cut. As long as you keep up with regular cutting, it does a nice job.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 20 in. Classic Reel Mower
stcdvs

Did the job

PostedApril 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have a very big yard with uneven lawn. This is my first time ever using a reel mower. My family laughed at me when I said I wanted one. I started to think maybe they are right and it will be way too much work. I didn't find it to be any worse than a gas mower really. I liked that I could stop and not have to restart a motor to get going again. I was very impressed with the first time use. We'll see how it goes with the upkeep etc.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 20 in. Classic Reel Mower
greatlawnfor2day
from Upstate South Carolina, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

simple can be better

PostedJune 30, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have had my scotts classic reel mower for at least seven years with excellent service.This mower has a 20 inch cut which is the same as many power mowers. The cutting height has two adjustable wheels that are easy to adjust just the push of a small handle on each wheel. These small wheels make this mower much easier to push than
other reel mowers that I have used before, this mower cuts very well allmost like a power mower at times. My scotts classic is very light and small compared to a power
mower, and I can store this mower it seems like almost anywhere A reel mower has a lot of advantages over a gas mower being no smog, or gas spills, and or oil spills. A reel mower is very quiet so you can hear if their is thunder around, or other things you need to hear.With a reel mower you have so much more convenience ,no expensive tuneups or oil changes and no expensive gas to buy or smell. But the biggest advantage that is often overlooked is safety of operation. Theres no throwing rocks, the blade does not cut off feet or fingers becouse
this blade stops ,for example if you run over a very small stick. Which do you perfer a lawn mower with no pollution, that saves you a lot of money, with no tuneups no ,oilchanges and no gas. Also a lawn mower that is very safe to use. So in conclusion this is a great mower I would
absolutely recomend to anyone to purchase .
+14points
16out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 20 in. Classic Reel Mower
Jeremy
from Snoqualmie, WA

1st Try This Morning and It Works!

PostedJune 11, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was very skeptical about this mower and read several web sites before taking the plunge and plunking down my 130 bucks for it yesterday.
It took about 30 minutes to put together (I gave up on the grip that goes on the handle but I don't really need it). Mowing our small yard took about the same amount of time as normal. The mower is very quiet and does not leave you smelling like lawn mower gas fumes like a gas mower would (since it doesn't use gas). I mowed this morning while my wife was still asleep and had no fear of waking her.
We'll see how it goes over the next few weeks but if the first try is any indication, I won't be going back to a gas mower.
BTW: If you buy it at your local Home Depot, check with the sales staff. They will guarantee that you like it or you can bring it back in 30 days (even if has been used a few times).
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 20 in. Classic Reel Mower
patrick

Great Mower, Lasted 5 years

PostedJuly 1, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this mower in 2006 after some research. I liked that it was 20" wide so I can cut my lawn quickly. Every review about bagged reel mowers said they were useless, so I wasn't worried about bagging.
I've used this to cut my lawn every 1-2 weeks in the spring->fall months for 5 years and it has performed great with minimal maintenance. I have not had to sharpen the blades, just oiled them in the beginning of the season.
In the 4th year, after the manufacturer warranty ran out, the right side of the drive system stopped working, so for the past year I've had to push with leverage on the left side. My lawn is small, so not a big deal. Today, the left side drive broke, the inner gears are plastic, so there's only so much use you can get out of the mower.
I'm on my way out to get another one. Great mower, $140 for 5 years, no maintenance works for me! :)
+13points
15out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 20 in. Classic Reel Mower
HLim
from Orlando, FL

Easy to use

PostedJune 11, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I got this mower because I needed a mower with maximum cutting height and the 3" setting of this mower was the highest I could find in any type of mower.
Assembly was fairly easy. The instructions are not the greatest, but it's not hard to figure out.
I've never used a reel mower so I didn't know how easy or hard it would be to push. It was much easier than I expected. It almost feels like the rear wheels are providing some support.
In taller grass, pushing becomes difficult...the mower stops. I found that it's best to use short back-and-forth movements to get through these tough spots.
I also noticed that there is this type of weed...very tall and thin that the mower cannot get. The front part of the mower bends the weed so the blades never hit it. The weed pops up after the mower runs over it.
This mower is lightweight, easy to use and obviously doesn't use gas or pollute the air. It's a little louder than I expected, but nowhere near as loud as a gas mower. It's great for small lawns, but may not work on tall weeds.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 20 in. Classic Reel Mower
2pups2kids
from St. Paul MN

Mixed Reviews

PostedAugust 29, 2009
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We bought this mower to be green in May of 2008. We live on a city lot in MN so our mower doesnt get too much use most of the year.
We really LOVED this mower because of how quiet it is. We really enjoyed feeling green while keeping our lawn looking nice. Up until today our only complaints were that it didnt mow down crabgrass, but our electric weedwacker took care of that so it wasnt a big deal.
But now we have bigger complaints. The user who said the handle was flimsey was not exaggerating. Our handle snapped into two parts while mowing this afternoon! We take very good care of our belongings and clearly it has not been overused. I am attempting to contact Scotts to get a new handle, but am VERY disappointed. I have neighbors who have the old reel mowers and they are in very good shape. Its a shame to have only used the mower for nearly 2 seasons and to have it broken already...
I guess I will find out how their customer service works!
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 20 in. Classic Reel Mower
wornout
from Granbury, TX, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

You Better have a lot of patients!!

PostedJune 25, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I guess this would be a good mower IF: your lawn is perfectly level, you never let your grass get even the least bit high, you are strong as a plow mule, and your yard is COMPLETELY free of any type of twigs. You better have the patients of Job to use this mower. If the blades are adjusted per the instructions, it is extreamly difficult to push, sometimes the wheel will not turn at all if it is in slightly high grass. Something as small as a match or toothpick will jam the blades. I'm sure this mower has a purpose. Beginning to think my yard is not that purpose!! Be prepared to mow your lawn at least twice a week for this mower to function properly at best.
Pros: it is a pretty green color.
Cons: Difficult to Use
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 20 in. Classic Reel Mower
KCSandy
from KC, MO

Easier Than I Thought!

PostedApril 9, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I'm a mid-40's woman who has a 1/2 acre lawn to mow, including some serious slopes. I can't start the self-propelled mower or handle it easily on the hills, and decided that this year I wasn't going to deal with ripping out my shoulder or messing with the upkeep of the gas mower, so I purchased this 20" reel mower from Scott's. Good decision!
While I don't feel I expend any more effort than mowing with the gas mower, I do notice my upper arms are getting a good workout. Also, since I type for a living, I notice that I don't miss the horrid vibrations I get from the gas mower.
The reel mower cuts the grass easily, and it really only takes me about 8 minutes longer than it used to with the gas mower. I also feel like I'm more "in charge," which, oddly enough, gives me a feeling of being proactive ... and even enjoying a chore that I used to really dislike. :-)
It's easy to push, and I really would not go with one that cuts less than 20". I find I do like to overlap my "lines" more so than I did with the gas mower. A 16" would be too small, I think. I also like going out in the morning before the gas mowers get started. My neighbors wonder how my lawn is cut before they get going on a Saturday!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 20 in. Classic Reel Mower
Bubblewrap
from Florence, MS, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

short manicured yard only

PostedJune 17, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We were trying to stay away from the pump and go green; purchased the Scotts 20 in. Classic Reel Mower and setup was easy.
It was very good at cutting the short grass in the court yard but once we went into the yard itself it would spot cut.
It would not cut anything thick or thin over 4-6 inches.
I would recommend only for a already short manicured yard anything other than that and its not going to do the job.
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 20 in. Classic Reel Mower
sgale

cuts grass only

PostedMay 28, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this mower because I didnt want the hassle of trying to fix my power mower. I used it 3 times and my lawn looked like a jungle. It cuts grass nicely but only grass. My lawn has many dandelions and some of the higher wild grass but it only pushes those over instead of cutting them.After using it three times there were so many dandelions that it didnt look like the yard had been mowed at all. Also the handle isnt as strong as it should be as when I went over any uneven areas I could feel it bending. This mower would only be effective on a flat yard that has no weeds . For me it was a waste of money as now I can't use it and I am out 140. dollars.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 20 in. Classic Reel Mower
cnrun
from michigan
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for the money!

PostedMay 31, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Very easy to use. Even my kids enjoy cutting with it. It looks especially good when cross cut!
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>