728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Easy Gate Bracket Kit

Easy Gate Bracket Kit

Homax Easy Gate No-Sag Gate Kit enables any homeowner to build a sag-free, square gate in as little as 20 minutes. The kit includes 4 gate brackets with attached hinges and screws for easy assembly. All parts are constructed of heavy powder-coated steel in a black finish to resist rust. Constructs a gate for an opening of 27 in. to 72 in. wide, with no height restrictions. Fits various lumber sizes (2x4's, 2x6's, etc.) and types. Choose a left or right swing. Ideal for use with fence gates, driveway gates, corral gates, and shed doors.
Overall rating:
3.318 / 5
3.3
 / 
5
(44 reviews) 44
Open Ratings Snapshot
65%of customersrecommend this product28 of 43reviews
Rating Breakdown 44 reviews
3.3 out of 5.0
5
(17)
4
(8)
3
(4)
2
(2)
1
(13)
Quality 
3.4 out of 5.0
3.4 out of 5
Value 
3.4 out of 5.0
3.4 out of 5
65%of customersrecommend this product28 of 43reviews
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 20 Answers
Customer reviews for Easy Gate Bracket Kit
Review 1 for Easy Gate Bracket Kit
from NH
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very clever design

PostedJuly 16, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
used this gate bracket kit over the weekend to replace a 4'x5' stockade fence gate, has integrated hinges so no need to purchase hinges used WRC for dimensional so gate is very light and won't strain newly installed fence post, it would be helpful if this design incorporated a way to add a 3rd cross section to secure pickets in the center to prevent them from moving that can be easily added with a SS L bracket...all in all this is a clever tool
Pros: Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Easy Gate Bracket Kit
from Woodland Hills, CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

A few flaws in product, but a great item if you're building a wide gate

PostedApril 16, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
First of all I would like to apologize for this long review, but hopefully a few things I've stated below might come in handy when using the "Easy Gate" kit.
I just built a dual gate for a neighbor's RV driveway. I have used the "Easy Gate" kit, on at least a dozen projects and I trust the Easy gate kit when it comes to not sagging. This time I needed the "Easy Gate" kit to come through in a big way, because not only was I making 5-foot-wide gates, but Home Depot was selling the wettest 1 x 6 cedar and treated 2 x 4s I had ever seen in my woodworking career.
As always, the gate frames came together like a breeze, but there are a few things I've learned about the "Easy Gate" kit that perhaps may be of value to the first-time user. #1. Don't use the Easy Gate screws. The screws seem to be made of very soft metal, and the heads strip constantly. #2. The welds that connect the bracket to the hinge are sometimes a little sloppy/bulky and as a result 2 x 4s won't fit snugly into some welded corners. Before assembly I suggest taking note of any welds that might obstruct a tight fit. THEN, dog-ear whatever 2 x 4 is going to be against that weld. Trust me, it will save you a lot of headaches. #3. Sometimes the hinges are a little bowed, bent, or not welded at exactly 90-degrees to the bracket. Said problem has caused some frustration in the past, so I always open 3 or 4 boxes before purchasing. I make sure I have found a box that contains hinges that are as close to perfect as possible. #4. I should also mention that some pipe clamps and Quick Grips really come in handy and help keep everything tight and centered during assembly. #5 A flat surface on which to assemble your easy gate kit is imperative.
Good luck with your next gate,
Pros: Sturdy
Cons: a few small manufacturer flaws but easy to hurdle, a little hard to use if you are a first timer
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Easy Gate Bracket Kit
from Albany, OR
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great kit.

PostedMarch 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have built many gates over the years on my own but decided to finally give this gate kit a try. It makes squaring the gate much easier than building it from scratch. I like the concept but my only complaint is the screws are pretty weak. I had a hard time with the first one wanting to strip out and I was only screwing into fir. I decided to pre-drill all of the screw holes and from then on had no problems.
Pros: Sturdy, Nice Design
Cons: screws are weak and can strip
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Easy Gate Bracket Kit
from East Texas
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

So far so good

PostedNovember 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've put up several fences and gates over the years; including prefab metal gates and the ones you can purchase that have square tubing that slides out. Nothing can beat the prefab metal gates; they are just a better constructed product. The price is high but if you are looking a good product that does the job, then this is worth the consideration. I know that treated lumber has the tendency to warp and bend, so i used Kiln dried lumber for the base of the gate; after I finished the gate, i went back and treated the lumber with Tompson Water Stain.
This gate kit went together rather easily. My apologizes to the manufacturing of this product, but i chose not to utilize the screws provided. I used 2 1/2 inch Deckmate screws instead. I have had great success with these screws, so I chose to use those instead.
So far the gate is functioning properly and looks great.
I would recommend the use of clamps to hang the gate so you don't cause too much stress on the hinges while installing it. Holding the gate while driving in a screw and letting it hang can possibly cause the hinges to bend, so precaution should be taken to make sure it is done correctly. A couple of clamps can make the process a lot easier to install the gate.
Pros: Durable, Nice Design
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Easy Gate Bracket Kit
from Savannah, ga
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Garbage

PostedMay 31, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought 3 kits. I had to cut the hinges off because they would work with the design of the fence. I was fine with that, but I didn't figure out that the brackets were not square until after I cut the hinges off.
I just spent 2 hours trying to square my gate and can't figure out how to make it work.
If you want a quality result go old school.
Cons: poor quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Response from By Homax Customer CareJune 5, 2014By Homax Customer CareJune 5, 2014
Bittleman- Thank you for your review. The brackets should be square and straight to make your gate. If you need assistance with your gate please contact homax@homaxproducts.com we would be happy to assist you.Homax
Review 6 for Easy Gate Bracket Kit
from Baltimore Maryland
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Not a bad kit..

PostedJuly 7, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This kit is actually pretty good, Yes if your using pressure treated 2x4's to make the gate you have to rip about an 1/8 inch from the side of the 2x's to make them fit the brackets. I guess the people complaining about this only know how to cut 90 degree angles strait into the side of the wood. Other than that the kits a breeze, fairly strong and goes together in about 20 min. I build decks for a living, and this is a easy, decent gate to make and install, my customers like it.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Easy Gate Bracket Kit
from Spring, Texas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Makes Great Gates!

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have built many gates over the years using regular materials, kits and even solid steel frames. The EASY GATE BRACKET KIT makes building a great gate easy. The screws are pretty weak. I upgraded the screw sizes and pre-drilled the holes, as suggested, and had no problems building two gates, each over 48" wide and 7' tall.This kit has been re-engineered, since I used it last, and is a lot easier to use. Great product!
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Durable, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Easy Gate Bracket Kit
from Kansas
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

10+ years going strong

PostedJune 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've used these on my own fence gates & recommended them to neighbors & helped install them. Mine are over 10 years old, no sags, no problems. Easiest gates I've ever put together. It's 4 boards screwed to 4 brackets. If you can't figure it out with the instructions included, you shouldn't be building anything.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Easy Gate Bracket Kit

garbage

PostedMarch 21, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this thinking it'd be a fun way to let my wife help with the building of the fence. After I finished building 100 feet of fence and she hadn't finished it I decided to give her a hand. 3 days later I am building a gate from scratch. first of all there are no instructions included so easy isn't exactly accurate. However it wasn't rocket science just not great for beginers. Second the hinges are garbage. third the holes to attach the hardware are in the most inconvenient locations possible making drilling anything next to impossible. I saw the same kit on sale at a different hardware store for 10 bucks. Turns out they are trying to get rid of their inventory and will no longer be carrying them. home depot sells them for 20 bucks less than pre assembled gates so spend the 20 and save the aggrivation.
-2points
3out of 8found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By Homax Customer CareMarch 24, 2014By Homax Customer CareMarch 24, 2014
nick,
The Easy Gate Bracket Kit does come with instructions that are printed on the outside of the box. If at any time you have questions, you can contact us at 1-800-729-9029 and we will assist you with answers to your questions. Thank you for your feedback.Homax
Review 10 for Easy Gate Bracket Kit
from Mifflintown, pa
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

nice design!

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have used these on 3 different projects. Straight forward. Very good concept!
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Easy Gate Bracket Kit
from College Park , MD
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

works okay

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The screws are good enough. The gate keeps the dog in and is easy to open.
Pros: Sturdy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Easy Gate Bracket Kit

Piece of garbage

PostedJanuary 3, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The idea of this is good, but the product is a piece of garbage. It gives space for a perfect 2x4, but there is no such thing. I cut pieces the exact same lengths (cut them together to get it exact) and the whole gate is over an inch out of square. I purchased three, and all three are going back. You can get a much stronger gate using the SPAX lag bolts and going lengthwise thru the 2x4. As far as the hinges go….also cheap. It is not a large enough hinge to carry the load of a full size gate that the product claims to do. Furthermore, the screws that come with it are cheap. Wish I had something better to say about this product, but I don't. Its garbage and should be in the trash.
Pros: Nice Design
Cons: Not Durable, welds are not square, cheap quality
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By Homax Customer CareJanuary 8, 2014By Homax Customer CareJanuary 8, 2014
FenceMan,
The Easy Gate Bracket Kit has been tested to withstand static weight of up to 350 lbs. It is designed to build wooden fence gates up to 6' wide and we never specified a height because even at 9' the system would be able to handle the weight. If you have any questions, we can be contacted at homax@homaxproducts.com. Thank you for you input.Homax
Review 13 for Easy Gate Bracket Kit
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

started out great . . . . but did not last.

PostedApril 18, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I thought this would not only make building the gate easy but would stand up over time. Making the gate was a breeze .... but two brackets are now twisted after 2 years and I have to rebuild everything. Waste of money,
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By Homax Customer CareApril 23, 2014By Homax Customer CareApril 23, 2014
jilyn,
The EasyGATE has been tested to withstand static weight of up to 350 lbs. If your gate exceeds this weight, it could be the cause of the brackets bending. If you need further assistance, please contact us at 1-800-729-9029. Thank you.Homax
Review 14 for Easy Gate Bracket Kit
from buffalo ny
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

good product

PostedApril 13, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
easy to assemble.. 2x4 would not fit into bracket without trimming off about 1/8 inch..really no excuse for that. the supplied screws are very soft easy to break or strip out the heads.my gates did not come out perfectly square but close enough. overall happy with results.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Easy Gate Bracket Kit

Terrible product, don't buy it!

PostedMay 8, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I am a fence and deck contractor and we used these kits for a couple of years before we realized they were bad because we thought they looked nice and would keep the gates from sagging. The problem is that they warp like crazy after some time and the upper hinge is so weak it pulls out further from the post because of the weight of the gate. So they do sag and they warp and I have had several call backs because of this product, stay away!
Cons: Not Durable, No Instructions, it warps and sags
+5points
8out of 11found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By HomaxCustomerCareAugust 27, 2013By HomaxCustomerCareAugust 27, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We’re very sorry you were not completely satisfied with Homax Easy Gate Bracket Kit. Because wood is a natural resource, it can warp over time due to quality, weather, frequency of use, or other factors. To avoid sagging, please be sure the gate weighs no more than 350 lbs. In addition, the hinges must be properly connected to the wood using the included screws. We want you to be 100% satisfied with our products. For additional help, please contact our Customer Care Team at homax@homaxproducts.com . Thanks again for your time and feedback.Homax
Review 16 for Easy Gate Bracket Kit
from Midland, TX, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

I am Testing This Product For Use at Several Properties

PostedDecember 1, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The strength is obvious. It's long term use against rust failure in our climate is yet to be determined.
I didn't use the short/rustable steel screws supplied; Instead I used 2" long deck screws for long-term durability against wood rot.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Easy Gate Bracket Kit
from Jacksonville, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product is easy to build on and is very strong.

PostedDecember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I wanted something that would allow me to make a quick gate but end up being a sturdy gate. This no-sag stainless stell steel gate brackets were perfect for the job. They allow you to build gate that are not of standard size, or you can build a standard size gate. Great product.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Easy Gate Bracket Kit
from Seattle
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Product - Small Screws Provided

PostedDecember 2, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Bought this product after reading the reviews of others. It certainly helps to have this kit. If I had tried to do it all with wood, it wouldn't have been as sturdy and square. It would've weighed more also. I'm sure I'll be remembering my satisfied feeling every time I use this gate for the next 10 years.
Several people remarked about that the kit didn't work well with pressure treated lumber. That made me pause, because I certainly wanted to use pressure treated wood for the frame. But there was no problem at all. I don't know what those reviewers were reacting to.
I was disappointed in the small screws provided. They are black, perhaps have some anti corrosive coating, but not sure about that, so I bought other screws. Why on earth don't they provide more substantial screws?
The box I bought didn't have any instructions inside. But I went online and found them. There are also some videos on UTUBE.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Easy Gate Bracket Kit
from Chattanooga, TN, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

complete kit included

PostedAugust 19, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The brackets are not all set at 90 degrees. Out of two kits, one kit, the strap steel was not even straight. 3 of the brackets were not 90 degrees. They did bent into the proper 90 degrees, which tells me the metal is to thin. I will see how they hold up. Gates I made were 48" wide by 42" high. Had to trim the width of my 2 X 4 treated boards so they would fit into hinged set of brackets.
Pros: Stylish, Nice Design
Cons: metal to weak...thin.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Easy Gate Bracket Kit
from Atascadero, CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very easy to build.

PostedJanuary 26, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Was super easy and you can custom fit it. It did sag a bit after a few months but it's due to the screws they provide for the hinges to attatch to the post. I replaced them with larger lag screws and a year later it's fine.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>