728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for EasyGate No-Sag Gate Bracket Kit

EasyGate No-Sag Gate Bracket Kit

Homax Easy Gate No-Sag Gate Kit enables any homeowner to build a sag-free, square gate in as little as 20 minutes. The kit includes 4 gate brackets with attached hinges and screws for easy assembly. All parts are constructed of heavy powder-coated steel in a black finish to resist rust. Constructs a gate for an opening of 27 in. to 72 in. wide, with no height restrictions. Fits various lumber sizes (2x4's, 2x6's, etc.) and types. Choose a left or right swing. Ideal for use with fence gates, driveway gates, corral gates, and shed doors.
Overall rating:
3.379 / 5
3.4
 / 
5
(58 reviews) 58
Open Ratings Snapshot
67%of customersrecommend this product38 of 57reviews
Rating Breakdown 58 reviews
3.4 out of 5
5
(20)
4
(14)
3
(6)
2
(4)
1
(14)
Quality 
3.5 out of 5
3.5 out of 5
Value 
3.5 out of 5
3.5 out of 5
67%of customersrecommend this product38 of 57reviews
Customer questions and answers:
9 Questions | 31 Answers
Customer reviews for EasyGate No-Sag Gate Bracket Kit
Review 1 for EasyGate No-Sag Gate Bracket Kit
from Allentown, PA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Solid and worth the price

PostedJune 2, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
My gate project was only about 37" across, but I figured I'd make it easy and also build it to last, especially with two-year-old twins hanging on it. Despite the experience of others, my kit was actually pretty square. My box did not include instructions or screws at all! So, I used 3" exterior screws to attach the boards and the post hinges and it seems rock solid.
This was a little confusing regarding which boards were screwed to which holes. As long as you don't have screw heads in the way, it squared up really nice.
Do not tighten your screws fully all around until you have it squared. Mine measured on the diagonal was a bit off, but I got it within an 1/8 inch with a few clamps and braces before fully torquing my screws. My gaps on both sides are perfect.
It is true that the 2x4s I used did not fit into the slots by the gate hinges. Home Depot wood is generally crooked and soaking wet, so I am more likely to fault the lumber. However, if you force 2x4s in place, they WILL put your gate out of square. Following the suggestion of others, i just dog eared them. About 1/8 inch trim with a circular saw on the HINGE side is it needed. I give four stars because it takes a few more tools and tweaking than it should, but it gets you 90% of the way.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy
Cons: No Instructions, no fasteners included
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for EasyGate No-Sag Gate Bracket Kit

Good for 6' gates

PostedApril 30, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I built two gates, 6' each to create a 12' opening. I am very happy with how easy and quick it went, especially with a nail gun! Not sure if it sags yet or not as I just installed it last week (concrete needed to cure for posts) but I would definitely buy this again (and will for a 4' gate). I am recommending this product!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for EasyGate No-Sag Gate Bracket Kit
from NH
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very clever design

PostedJuly 16, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
used this gate bracket kit over the weekend to replace a 4'x5' stockade fence gate, has integrated hinges so no need to purchase hinges used WRC for dimensional so gate is very light and won't strain newly installed fence post, it would be helpful if this design incorporated a way to add a 3rd cross section to secure pickets in the center to prevent them from moving that can be easily added with a SS L bracket...all in all this is a clever tool
Pros: Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 4 for EasyGate No-Sag Gate Bracket Kit
from Woodland Hills, CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

A few flaws in product, but a great item if you're building a wide gate

PostedApril 16, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
First of all I would like to apologize for this long review, but hopefully a few things I've stated below might come in handy when using the "Easy Gate" kit.
I just built a dual gate for a neighbor's RV driveway. I have used the "Easy Gate" kit, on at least a dozen projects and I trust the Easy gate kit when it comes to not sagging. This time I needed the "Easy Gate" kit to come through in a big way, because not only was I making 5-foot-wide gates, but Home Depot was selling the wettest 1 x 6 cedar and treated 2 x 4s I had ever seen in my woodworking career.
As always, the gate frames came together like a breeze, but there are a few things I've learned about the "Easy Gate" kit that perhaps may be of value to the first-time user. #1. Don't use the Easy Gate screws. The screws seem to be made of very soft metal, and the heads strip constantly. #2. The welds that connect the bracket to the hinge are sometimes a little sloppy/bulky and as a result 2 x 4s won't fit snugly into some welded corners. Before assembly I suggest taking note of any welds that might obstruct a tight fit. THEN, dog-ear whatever 2 x 4 is going to be against that weld. Trust me, it will save you a lot of headaches. #3. Sometimes the hinges are a little bowed, bent, or not welded at exactly 90-degrees to the bracket. Said problem has caused some frustration in the past, so I always open 3 or 4 boxes before purchasing. I make sure I have found a box that contains hinges that are as close to perfect as possible. #4. I should also mention that some pipe clamps and Quick Grips really come in handy and help keep everything tight and centered during assembly. #5 A flat surface on which to assemble your easy gate kit is imperative.
Good luck with your next gate,
Pros: Sturdy
Cons: a few small manufacturer flaws but easy to hurdle, a little hard to use if you are a first timer
+41points
41out of 41found this review helpful.
Review 5 for EasyGate No-Sag Gate Bracket Kit

First time gate builder

PostedJune 5, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Just bought a house and the gate on the side yard was missing. I'm no wood worker. Never built a gate before. Followed the instructions and everything went smooth. Would give 5 stars but the screws are very poor. Used different wood screws. I like that the hinges are included. You would spend more money buying all the parts separately. Great product
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for EasyGate No-Sag Gate Bracket Kit
from East Texas
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

So far so good

PostedNovember 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I've put up several fences and gates over the years; including prefab metal gates and the ones you can purchase that have square tubing that slides out. Nothing can beat the prefab metal gates; they are just a better constructed product. The price is high but if you are looking a good product that does the job, then this is worth the consideration. I know that treated lumber has the tendency to warp and bend, so i used Kiln dried lumber for the base of the gate; after I finished the gate, i went back and treated the lumber with Tompson Water Stain.
This gate kit went together rather easily. My apologizes to the manufacturing of this product, but i chose not to utilize the screws provided. I used 2 1/2 inch Deckmate screws instead. I have had great success with these screws, so I chose to use those instead.
So far the gate is functioning properly and looks great.
I would recommend the use of clamps to hang the gate so you don't cause too much stress on the hinges while installing it. Holding the gate while driving in a screw and letting it hang can possibly cause the hinges to bend, so precaution should be taken to make sure it is done correctly. A couple of clamps can make the process a lot easier to install the gate.
Pros: Durable, Nice Design
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 7 for EasyGate No-Sag Gate Bracket Kit
from Albany, OR
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great kit.

PostedMarch 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I have built many gates over the years on my own but decided to finally give this gate kit a try. It makes squaring the gate much easier than building it from scratch. I like the concept but my only complaint is the screws are pretty weak. I had a hard time with the first one wanting to strip out and I was only screwing into fir. I decided to pre-drill all of the screw holes and from then on had no problems.
Pros: Sturdy, Nice Design
Cons: screws are weak and can strip
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 8 for EasyGate No-Sag Gate Bracket Kit
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

GREAT STUFF

PostedMay 26, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
AWESOM PRODUCT. EASY AS 123 AND GIVES YOUR GATE A MUCH CPPEALING FINISH ALSO MAKES YOUR GATE STURDY AND GIVES A SMOOTHE SWING
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Stylish, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for EasyGate No-Sag Gate Bracket Kit
from Kansas
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

10+ years going strong

PostedJune 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I've used these on my own fence gates & recommended them to neighbors & helped install them. Mine are over 10 years old, no sags, no problems. Easiest gates I've ever put together. It's 4 boards screwed to 4 brackets. If you can't figure it out with the instructions included, you shouldn't be building anything.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 10 for EasyGate No-Sag Gate Bracket Kit
from Los Angeles, CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It works !

PostedMay 6, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I would give this product a 5 stars review but the screws are not up to the challenge. They are soft.
Having that out of the way, this kit works perfect, making gate building a mindless job.
Build 3 gates already and plan to build 2 more.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Nice Design, no experience need it.
Cons: screws are soft.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for EasyGate No-Sag Gate Bracket Kit
from Joshua Tree
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not ready for Prime Time.

PostedAugust 9, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is a great idea done poorly. Unknown to me, three of the brackets were not squared and I had to go back and pull it all apart, bend the brackets or saw (custom fit) the wood to make the necessary adjustments. The welds were sloppy so that carving out the corners of the wood had to be done to make it fit properly. If these were made properly this kit would have been terrific. As it was, it was hours of extra work to tear it all down and start again. A little quality control could make this a winner.
Cons: Difficult to Install
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Response from By Homax Customer CareAugust 12, 2014By Homax Customer CareAugust 12, 2014
Jveetoo- Thank you for your review. We apologize the brackets were not squared. If you need assistance please contact us at 800-729-9029Homax
Review 12 for EasyGate No-Sag Gate Bracket Kit
from Junction City, KS
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It does what it says.

PostedApril 12, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I agree with the others on the welds of the product. The brackets do hold up to their name because they don't sag. It is pretty easy to assemble at any level of experience. But overall the welds do make things more difficult.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Nice Design
Cons: poor welding
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for EasyGate No-Sag Gate Bracket Kit
from Cypress, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Gate is perfect. Excellent value

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This kit is easy to install and worked beautifully. I am a 52 year old female and put this together myself. Of course I had to have help from a friend to hold the gate up when connecting to the post but otherwise, did everything else myself. Price was reasonable and instructions were easy to follow.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for EasyGate No-Sag Gate Bracket Kit
from Hedgesville, WV
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great item...

PostedMarch 26, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This item help a lot, now my door is nice and straight. Very easy to install.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for EasyGate No-Sag Gate Bracket Kit
from Oregon
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Built-in-sag not easy fence gate bracket kit

PostedMarch 9, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
3 brackets were over square and the remaining bracket was under square. It did take less than 20 minutes to build the gate but it took an additional 2.5 hours to correct the brackets. Not impressed both with the kit and myself. I should have checked the brackets before I even started.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By Homax Customer CareMarch 23, 2015By Homax Customer CareMarch 23, 2015
Imapepper- Thank you very much for your feedback. We apologize for the inconvenience. All parts should be square in this kit, if there are any issues with our brackets please contact us so we can take care of it for you. Please email us at homax@ppg.com or call 800-729-9029, we would be happy to speak to you about our Easy Gate Homax
Review 16 for EasyGate No-Sag Gate Bracket Kit
from Orlando, FL

Great idea, poor quailty

PostedOctober 9, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
For a product that advertises building a gate that's square, it's disappointing when the brackets aren't perfectly square. Also the instructions are poorly written. Watch out for the welds. You might as well dog-ear all edges of your 2x4s that will sit next to the weld. I had some pretty wet 2x4s and snapped a couple of screw heads off the screws while torquing down. Not only that, but the screws and holes on the brackets rust pretty quickly. So I wouldn't even use the screws provided. Get some Grip Rite exterior screws for better peace of mind.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By Homax Customer CareOctober 13, 2014By Homax Customer CareOctober 13, 2014
deano- Thank you for your review. These brackets should be squared so you can use with 2x4 boards. If this is not the case please contact us at homax@homaxproducts.com. The brackets are made of steel, have powder coated paint, and are salt-spray tested. Both the brackets and the zinc phosphate (black finish) weather resistant screws have been tested and do resist rust.Homax
Review 17 for EasyGate No-Sag Gate Bracket Kit
from Spring, Texas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Makes Great Gates!

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I have built many gates over the years using regular materials, kits and even solid steel frames. The EASY GATE BRACKET KIT makes building a great gate easy. The screws are pretty weak. I upgraded the screw sizes and pre-drilled the holes, as suggested, and had no problems building two gates, each over 48" wide and 7' tall.This kit has been re-engineered, since I used it last, and is a lot easier to use. Great product!
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Durable, Nice Design
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for EasyGate No-Sag Gate Bracket Kit
from Midland, TX, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

I am Testing This Product For Use at Several Properties

PostedDecember 1, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
The strength is obvious. It's long term use against rust failure in our climate is yet to be determined.
I didn't use the short/rustable steel screws supplied; Instead I used 2" long deck screws for long-term durability against wood rot.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 19 for EasyGate No-Sag Gate Bracket Kit
from Jacksonville, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product is easy to build on and is very strong.

PostedDecember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I wanted something that would allow me to make a quick gate but end up being a sturdy gate. This no-sag stainless stell steel gate brackets were perfect for the job. They allow you to build gate that are not of standard size, or you can build a standard size gate. Great product.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 20 for EasyGate No-Sag Gate Bracket Kit
from Savannah, ga
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Garbage

PostedMay 31, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought 3 kits. I had to cut the hinges off because they would work with the design of the fence. I was fine with that, but I didn't figure out that the brackets were not square until after I cut the hinges off.
I just spent 2 hours trying to square my gate and can't figure out how to make it work.
If you want a quality result go old school.
Cons: poor quality
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By Homax Customer CareJune 5, 2014By Homax Customer CareJune 5, 2014
Bittleman- Thank you for your review. The brackets should be square and straight to make your gate. If you need assistance with your gate please contact homax@homaxproducts.com we would be happy to assist you.Homax
1 2 3 >>