728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 36 in. x 80 in. 75 Series White Self-Storing Storm Door

36 in. x 80 in. 75 Series White Self-Storing Storm Door

The EMCO 75 Series 36 in. White Aluminum Self-Storing Storm Door with Black Hardware is weather stripped to help seal out drafts. It has 1 in. thick construction with glass that stores in the door when not in use. The door includes the glass and insect screen and has 4 venting positions for anytime ventilation. A white finish and matching hardware complete the look of this door.
Overall rating:
2.294 / 5
2.3
 / 
5
(17 reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
40%of customersrecommend this product6 of 15reviews
Rating Breakdown 17 reviews
2.3 out of 5
5
(2)
4
(4)
3
(0)
2
(2)
1
(9)
Appearance 
3.8 out of 5
3.8 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.1 out of 5
3.1 out of 5
Value 
2.7 out of 5
2.7 out of 5
Quality 
2.3 out of 5
2.3 out of 5
40%of customersrecommend this product6 of 15reviews
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer reviews for 36 in. x 80 in. 75 Series White Self-Storing Storm Door
Review 1 for 36 in. x 80 in. 75 Series White Self-Storing Storm Door
from Long Island, NY
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Storm door on a budget but don't take this as an insult

PostedMay 18, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I actually came back on here to see if Depot had more in stock. Good news they do. I purchased this door 9 months ago and will be purchasing another one as I have two back doors to my home. At first glance I am a little taken back by the bad reviews; however, not many people take the time to write a review for a storm door that they are happy about do they? I didn't at first :) So I'd personally take these reviews with a grain of salt. For $100 this door has awesome value. It has held up just fine and is showing ZERO signs of failing or wearing. I love the convenience of having the screen and window in one so I never have to remove one or the other during the change of seasons. Let me stress this again, the door is $100. Its a lower budget door but that does not mean it doesn't do what it's suppose to do. Hey, I am an avid DIY Homeowner and I am buying another one without hesitation. The storm door I installed for my front door was $250 and I can tell ya right now its a great door but I'll go with the door on a budget for my back door, again :) Good luck
Pros: Great Value, Functional, Easy to Clean
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Response from By EMCOMay 21, 2015By EMCOMay 21, 2015
Thanks so much for your positive comments. We do appreciate your feedback. AWEMCOMarketing
Review 2 for 36 in. x 80 in. 75 Series White Self-Storing Storm Door
from Huntsville, AL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It looked OK new but is falling apart a year later

PostedDecember 11, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
The "storm" door looked good when new, but the particle board base is "erupting" a year later. It does not appear serviceable if it is exposed to weather.
Pros: Good Size & Fit
Cons: not functional, not good for weather exposure
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+23points
25out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 36 in. x 80 in. 75 Series White Self-Storing Storm Door
from Maine
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

reasonable product

PostedJune 9, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Installation a bit of a pain. Reasonable product for the price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By EMCOJune 11, 2015By EMCOJune 11, 2015
Thank you for your comments, we appreciate the feedback. AWEMCOMarketing
Review 4 for 36 in. x 80 in. 75 Series White Self-Storing Storm Door
from Windsor, Ct
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female

Poor Quality!!!!!!

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This was suppose to be easy to install, but it was a nightmare!! Looked good and worked good for about one month!! Them the screen came loose, I fixed it. Them it came loose again!!! Now the whole door is not staying in place, tried to replace screws, with no luck. Now the door has to be lifted to close it, this is a piece of junk!! I would never recommend this product to any one. I do mostly all of my shopping at Home Depot for things I need around the house, and if I were the one doing the ordering for the store this would be on product I would not want to sell to my customers!! Makes me thing is there any other products you sell that are junk ????????????
Cons: not functional, junk
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 36 in. x 80 in. 75 Series White Self-Storing Storm Door
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Very unhappy with quality! Looks nice but that's it :(

PostedJune 13, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Very disappointed with the quality of this door. We live in MN and the bottom is so thin that it rattles every time you shut or open the door! And this winter the bottom is going to be so full of ice that we'll probably have to get a new one by next yr already :(
Not happy at all~ And now I read don't take back to the store so just what am I supposed to do with it?
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 36 in. x 80 in. 75 Series White Self-Storing Storm Door

Junk

PostedJune 21, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This door is flimsy, ultra thin, and when it was installed, my daughter commented that it looked like it belonged on a cabin. I'm replacing it as I'm sure it won't hold up through a winter. Take my advice and spend a few extra dollars on a better quality door.
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 36 in. x 80 in. 75 Series White Self-Storing Storm Door
from Shrevepoert LA

Product can have flaws

PostedApril 2, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The quality control on this EMCO product is not good. I bought one at the store and the door frame was not the same as the display model. It is about 3/4 inches deep where the store model was the full 1 inch deep so that the door fits flush inside the jam. Also, the door closure that was sent with the door had a defect in and did not close the door satisfactorily, no matter how it was adjusted. The local store manager on Pines Rd. in Shreveport, LA was kind enough to replace the closure with one from the hardware supplies, free of charge. I may just have got a bad one this time. I have installed many screen doors and this one was the hardest to install and of the poorest quality.
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 36 in. x 80 in. 75 Series White Self-Storing Storm Door
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Beware... Cheap Parts

PostedDecember 20, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Whatever you do when you buy this; save your receipt. The door sat for a month or two before I actually installed it. After installation, when I went to open the door one of the screw heads popped off of the door handle. The head of the screw separated from the threads. I called Emco and they told me I needed a receipt before they could send replacement screws! They said the reason for this is that the door was manufactured three years ago. I was sold a three year old door and now I can't get two replacement screws for the door handle. Also, the door has a significant rattle, the screen is on the bottom and is easily damaged by pets. The frame of the door is flimsy and will not withstand abuse. The hydraulic door closer is very weak at best. The weatherstripping is not crimped in the channel it is placed in and slides out with the force of gravity. Very dissatisfied! If you have kids, pets that might scratch the screen or if it is placed in a high traffic location, it would be best for you to look at another door.
Pros: Good Size & Fit
Cons: Quality
+14points
15out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 36 in. x 80 in. 75 Series White Self-Storing Storm Door

PostedAugust 14, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Worst product I ever purchased have had it for three months and is already falling apart--a piece of junk!
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 36 in. x 80 in. 75 Series White Self-Storing Storm Door
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

You get what you pay for.

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Door was easy to install. You get what you pay for. If possible, spend the extra money and get a better door.
Pros: Easy to Install, Easy to Clean
Cons: Quality, Appearance
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 36 in. x 80 in. 75 Series White Self-Storing Storm Door
from Myakka City, FL

This Door is the greatest!

PostedJanuary 25, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I'v had this door for years and just love it! Every where I have lived we instaled these doors. Easy to instale and easy to keep clean. I love the fact that the door stores the window so you don't have to worry about where to put it and not get broken.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 36 in. x 80 in. 75 Series White Self-Storing Storm Door

cheap flimsy

PostedNovember 25, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Appearance 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Bought this door and was seriously disappointed. Poorly made and no insulation value at all in my opinion. Bought a Larson for $20 bucks more and it was far surperior and easier to put in. Buy a Larson and get a good door for a fair price.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 36 in. x 80 in. 75 Series White Self-Storing Storm Door
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Quality for Price

PostedAugust 21, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
We purchased these doors for a vacation home so insulation value wasn't really a factor in the purchase. The door looks nice and works. A few things to consider before purchase. 1. The screen does not slide up. We have children and hands have come dangerously close to going through the screen. 2. The bottom panel is not solid. Every time the door closes the metal panel rattles.
This is a good door for the price, but we would have gladly spent a little more for a screen door had an upper screen and was solid.
Pros: Easy to Install, Great Value, Functional, Good Size & Fit
Cons: screen is bottom only, bottom panel is not solid
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 36 in. x 80 in. 75 Series White Self-Storing Storm Door

DO NOT BUY

PostedNovember 14, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
THE BOTTOM WINDOW IS TOO SMALL AND KEEPS POPPING OFF WHEN I OPEN OR CLOSE IT.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By EMCOApril 17, 2015By EMCOApril 17, 2015
We are sorry to hear your are having a problem with your window. For assistance, please call our Customer Contact Center at 800-933-3626. AWEMCOMarketing
Review 15 for 36 in. x 80 in. 75 Series White Self-Storing Storm Door
from Rochester, MI 48309, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product, easy to install

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This us a great product, easy to be installed , light door .
Pros: Great Value, Well Made, Beautiful Appearance, Easy to Install
Cons: Quality, color
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 36 in. x 80 in. 75 Series White Self-Storing Storm Door
from South Carolina, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Three sets of instructions for closer and latch installation..all in a foreign language..nothing in English.

PostedJuly 23, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
No instructions in English, had to get on internet for instructions. Door sweep is a piece of junk, does not even cover space between door bottom and thresh hold. So far, very disappointed.
Cons: Quality, poor instructions
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 36 in. x 80 in. 75 Series White Self-Storing Storm Door
from Aurora, IL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

this product is a good value

PostedNovember 12, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Door works well and was easy to install and was at a great price.
Pros: Great Value, Functional, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.