728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Brown Snap-In Gutter Guard-DISCONTINUED

Brown Snap-In Gutter Guard-DISCONTINUED

Keeps leaves and debris out of gutters. It is made of a high quality, rigid PVC. Handy 3 ft. sections fit any K style aluminum, steel or plastic gutters. Will not collapse under debris. Product installs in seconds by snapping on to front edge of gutter.
Overall rating:
2.25 / 5
2.3
 / 
5
(16 reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
38%of customersrecommend this product6 of 16reviews
Rating Breakdown 16 reviews
2.3 out of 5.0
5
(3)
4
(2)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(10)
Quality 
2.5 out of 5.0
2.5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
38%of customersrecommend this product6 of 16reviews
Customer reviews for Brown Snap-In Gutter Guard-DISCONTINUED
Review 1 for Brown Snap-In Gutter Guard-DISCONTINUED
Phil
from Illinois

Amerimax gutter guard

PostedOctober 4, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
These installed easily and looked great for about a year. After the summer sun and heat hit them, they curled up and shrunk. Don't spend your money on these, find something else.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Brown Snap-In Gutter Guard-DISCONTINUED
GeorgeZ
from New Hampshire

Can't take the sun - do not buy

PostedOctober 3, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I installed these gutter guards last year. I just got done checking them and every guard exposed to the sun was warped and collapsed in the bottom of the gutters, clogging things up worse than if I had done nothing. I live in NH, so the sun and heat are hardly intense.
Guards not exposed to the sun were still in place and did a reasonable job, but I'll try something else next time.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Brown Snap-In Gutter Guard-DISCONTINUED
ASC3
from Solano County CA

Plastic Gutter Guard

PostedDecember 11, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These install very easily and do the job. As some have noted, they aren't long-life items as they can be affected by sunlight/heat in the summer here, which tends to warp the light gauge plastic. If one uses small screws to anchor the leading edge the warping is less but then one has screw holes in the front/top edge of your gutters. Still, for the money, these are a good solution to avoid or at least minimize plugged gutters.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Brown Snap-In Gutter Guard-DISCONTINUED
cschmalz
from Dallas, TX

brown vinyl snap in gutter guards

PostedJuly 31, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased 75 of these guards last fall. They were easy to install and worked fine for about 6 months. Once summer came and it got hot, however, they all warped and became brittle and are now unusable. Do not purchase this product.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Brown Snap-In Gutter Guard-DISCONTINUED
k22o
from PA

Bad choice

PostedSeptember 19, 2007
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought quite a number of pieces. It installed fairly easily, and looked ok. A short time later I noticed that several pieces were out of place. Upon examination, the pieces had what I will call wilted. They also became rather brittle. The pieces are unuseable, and will have to be replaced by some other product. I recommend NOT purchasing this product. I live in Western PA, so the temperature/sun should not have had this effect.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Brown Snap-In Gutter Guard-DISCONTINUED
joanzone29
from Macomb County Michigan

gutter guards

PostedMarch 5, 2007
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I put Amerimax plastic gutter guards with mesh up on our house last fall. It kept the leaves out, but the rain ran right over the top and formed puddles on the ground near the foundation. In the past two weeks we had a freezing rain and the same thing happened. I tore off the mesh screening on some of the gutters over the garage entrance, but to no avail, the rain ran over the gutter guards. I
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Brown Snap-In Gutter Guard-DISCONTINUED
DMA824
from Chicago suburb

Not for use in the sun!!

PostedSeptember 3, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I llive in the Chicago area and the guards that on the second story and in the sun have bowed and warped to the point they are unuseable after less than a year. Apparently the plastics used in the manufacturing are not uv stabilized or can not take the heat generated from sunshine. Guards in the shade from a tree have held up much better.
Wish there was a warranty!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Brown Snap-In Gutter Guard-DISCONTINUED
sprhd6
from Antioch, IL

Do not waste your money

PostedMay 20, 2007
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
These "guards" clog up just as much as my gutters did!
The problem is the product has holes with a screen mesh covering. These screens trap the various debris that fall off the trees. To compound matters the "guard" has a lip on the outer edge that does not allow the debris to flow off.
By late Spring there was a blanket of debris on top of the screen that effectively prevented all water from flowing into the gutter.
The result is that I actually have more rain water dripping by the foundation than I had before. I wish I could return these!!!
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Brown Snap-In Gutter Guard-DISCONTINUED
kidmystery
from Wichita, KS, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Much less epensive than the pros

PostedJuly 15, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Granted, they are cheap. They don't last long but when I compared the cost of installing these guards to the $32 per ft ($640 for a 20 foot section) the pros want it seemed like a no brainer. Even their leaf free type are not full proof. (mainly spill over because I've seen those slots/holes clog from certain types of debris and I too get water in my basement if that happens hence the reason for gutters and guards).
So what if I need to replace a few of these every year at the beginning of summer, it still cost a fraction ($10 if I replace them all) of what the pros want and I get new guards every year. (it will take me 64 years to spend $640 on these !!!)
I have been very satisfied with them considering the cost and gutter cleaning is minimal.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Brown Snap-In Gutter Guard-DISCONTINUED
CLH12
from Orlando Fl.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

At less then 2 bucks not worth the money

PostedMarch 3, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
As with most of the other comments if they are in the sun for any lengh of time in Florida they quickly warp. They do install easly and look great if you are standing on top of the house (as I am sure many do). I installed a dozen of them and after a couple of months I had to go onto the roof for somthing else and was very disapointed to see about a third of them warped and unusable. Those that are covered by the shade of the trees are doing fine but I have to move them out of the way to clean the gutters.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Brown Snap-In Gutter Guard-DISCONTINUED
Azul
from Wilkes Barre, Pa

My Gutter Protection

PostedFebruary 9, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I highly recommend the vinyl snap in gutter guard. For the past three years, I have been struggling to keep my gutters clean. Every fall, the leaves from my neighbors trees blows over my house and garage and clogs the gutters. After reading an online review about gutter guards, I contacted my contractor and had him install this very inexpensive snap on vinyl gutter guards. Because they were so easy to install, my contractor did not charge me a lot of money for his services, and my gutters have been clean from leaves for the past few months.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Brown Snap-In Gutter Guard-DISCONTINUED
Kove
from Atlanta, GA

Poor Product

PostedFebruary 22, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I installed these and they failed to survive even a year in Atlanta. First, the screens detached on most of them, falling into the gutters and clogging them, in addition to letting in the debris they were designed to keep out. Many of them also warped in the summer heat, causing them to detach and creating ripples in the surface. This, of course, created additional gaps for debris to enter the gutters. For me, they were a waste of time and money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Brown Snap-In Gutter Guard-DISCONTINUED
TruthCker
from Sacramento, CA

Warped after half a summer

PostedJuly 20, 2007
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I live in Sacramento, CA and installed these in the spring and here it is July and they are warping to the point that they are showing gaps on the edges where they slip onto the gutter edge. maybe the white ones would fare better as they wouldn't heat up as much from the sun but I'm not so sure. They just can't take the heat. Time to see if they have any waranty.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Brown Snap-In Gutter Guard-DISCONTINUED
FacilityDir
from Forest City, NC

Can't you follow directions?

PostedAugust 26, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These guards are excellant and I have had no problems with them.
After reading the reviews I found that 2 of them mounted the guards "UPSIDE DOWN!!" It is no wonder they failed. Not only that they were probably very hard to install...the WRONG WAY!
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Brown Snap-In Gutter Guard-DISCONTINUED
dudeman
from California

can't take the heat

PostedNovember 18, 2009
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
For the most part these work really well.They trap most debree. The one drawback is they warp in the extreme heat.I solved this problem by attching to gutter with self tapping screws to prevent warpage.Working so far, we'll see next summer
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Brown Snap-In Gutter Guard-DISCONTINUED
Sash
from New Jersey

Brown vinyl snap in gutter guard

PostedSeptember 7, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
These guards work great. I have had them in over a year now, and I have no issues. They are very inexpensive, and keep my gutters free of debree. Such a convenience not to have to clean the gutters!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.