728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Wet/Dry Vacuums or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 2.5-Gal. Wet/Dry Vac

2.5-Gal. Wet/Dry Vac

This versatile Stinger 2.5-Gallon Wet/Dry Vac provides powerful suction and converts into a blower to clear debris. The dent-resistant plastic tank helps keep the wet/dry vac unharmed, while the included multi-purpose and utility nozzles help you take on a wide variety of difficult cleaning projects.
Overall rating:
3.877 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(122 reviews) 122
Open Ratings Snapshot
79%of customersrecommend this product92 of 116reviews
Rating Breakdown 122 reviews
3.9 out of 5.0
5
(62)
4
(27)
3
(8)
2
(6)
1
(19)
Quality 
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Features 
3.5 out of 5.0
3.5 out of 5
79%of customersrecommend this product92 of 116reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 8 Answers
Customer reviews for 2.5-Gal. Wet/Dry Vac
Review 1 for 2.5-Gal. Wet/Dry Vac
from austin, tx
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

Great Shop Vac! Don't listen to bad reviews, they're using it wrong

PostedFebruary 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
To reply to the person that says it's blowing dust all over your shop, solution = put on the filter, that's what it's for.
To the person who says it doesn't have any suction power, solution = you're facing the top the wrong way, try reversing it and it has great suction power, seems weird, I know, but it works.
The reason I can address both of these negative reviews is that I had the same issues, but after a little bit of thinking, I figured it out.
It's a great shop vac, especially for the price! Just buy it and be happy you saved $ compared to the more expensive brands.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Performs Well, Strong Suction, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter, Nice Design
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2.5-Gal. Wet/Dry Vac
from Miami
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

GOOD FOR THE PRICE

PostedDecember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Pros; Lots of power in such a small equipment. Cons; the hose is too short. Need to place vacuum inside the car to reach far corners.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Performs Well, Looks Great, Strong Suction, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter, Nice Design
Cons: hose too short
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2.5-Gal. Wet/Dry Vac
from Tampa, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Geat little gadget!!

PostedApril 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
My husband wanted to "clean up the grill" which included removing all the Charcoal build-up. It was either use my indoor vacuum or buy a cheap shop-vac. I picked the later!! It did a great job, easy to clean & economical. It will be handy for all thos little jobs. My only disappointment was that I thought it came w/ all those nifty tools that it showed on the box, but it didn't. My fault???!!!
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Performs Well, Looks Great, Strong Suction, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter
Cons: wished it came w/ all the nifty tools!!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2.5-Gal. Wet/Dry Vac
from Southern California
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Usage frequency:Daily

Durable, no problems.

PostedJanuary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I use this on my job as an HVAC technician to vacuum condensate hoses, traps, and to some extent the PVC lines. I have used it for three winters and two summers and it is absolutely reliable. I typically encounter water so I leave the filter out...as you are supposed to. Without the filter, it naturally will blow
lighter dust/insulation out the exhaust port. The remedy for that is to simply install the filter--duh. The filter is fairly fine and Home Depot sells/stocks a package of three for a reasonable price. I do not understand how people can say it does not suck up lighter/finer material. Vacuum cleaners are about airflow & suction. This vacuum has both and is great for its small size. It isn't rocket science. If you can't figure out why dust is exiting the vacuum cleaner, you are not bright enough to be using a vacuum cleaner. Stick to hammers--ha, ha. The thing does not have a tipping problem. And the hose is a fixed length, so it does not have the issues of the boxy Ridgid one. Its only downside is of course the loudness. But I gather that were it quieter, it would weigh a lot more. I hope this helps.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Performs Well, Good for All Surfaces, Strong Suction, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter, Nice Design, reliable as a rock bridge
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2.5-Gal. Wet/Dry Vac
from Secane, PA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Mission Accomplished

PostedMay 3, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
So, I bought this little shop vac because I had to tear up carpet and padding. My wife did'nt want me to use the vaccum we have for the house. I just wanted something inexpensive to clean up after tearing up the carpet. Not only did it adequately suck up bits of padding, but staples as well. There was more dust under them old carpets than I could have imagined. That all got sucked up too. I did have to stay on my knees the whole time, but still happy with this product.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Performs Well, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight
Cons: Cord Length, Noisy
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2.5-Gal. Wet/Dry Vac
from Jacksonville FL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

Great Shop Vac!

PostedApril 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this little shop vac several years ago. It has always worked great. I have a part time cleaning business cleaning where we clean new construction homes and use it constantly. It has great suction and is light weight so I carry it up and down stairs and all over the place with no problem. It cleans up sawdust, drywall dust, paint shavings (from scraping windows, etc) carpet fuzzies and any thing else around. It makes my cleaning jobs so much easier! I wouldn't trade it for anything! All you have to do is change the filter every so often and you are set to go!!!
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Performs Well, Strong Suction, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2.5-Gal. Wet/Dry Vac
from Cheyenne, WY, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Usage frequency:Daily

This faucet is extremely versatile.

PostedFebruary 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The flexible retractable hose has on quick stop button and has the capability to spray or pour. The pressure of the faucet seems to be higher.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Looks Great, Lots of Features, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
-6points
0out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2.5-Gal. Wet/Dry Vac
from Sylacauga, AL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Monthly

lightweight

PostedJuly 9, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The vacuum is lightweight and therefore easy to move around. The suction power is average. It is easy to clean.
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter
Cons: Suction, Clogs
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2.5-Gal. Wet/Dry Vac
from Orlando, Florida
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

Great product

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great product, east to use and clean up. I use it often and it cleans up my pet hair and outside patio with ease. I definitely recommend this product.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Performs Well, Looks Great, Great Value, Easy to Empty Filter, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2.5-Gal. Wet/Dry Vac
from freeport, fl
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

lightweight vac

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
best little vac we have ever purchased....its light and powerful
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong Suction
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2.5-Gal. Wet/Dry Vac
from League City, Texas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Usage frequency:Weekly

Great Car Vac!

PostedJune 26, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Very light weight, good suction, great car vacuum but also buy a good extension cord while you're there. Can't beat the price. Far and away better than the hand held DC "lighter plug" outlet powered car vacs.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2.5-Gal. Wet/Dry Vac
from Fresno, CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Monthly

Handy Little Item to Have

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I recently had my carpet professionally cleaned in our Family Room. The professional cleaner told me I should own a little portable vacuum that could pick up liquids. This has been perfect for what we need. It also is small enough it is easy to store.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Looks Great, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2.5-Gal. Wet/Dry Vac
from Rio Vista, CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Usage frequency:Weekly

Stinger takes the sting out of the job !

PostedJune 4, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I use my stinger for professionally, Sailboat repair, hard to reach place on sailboats, I does what a small shop vac should. It is great for sucking up cob webs, dust and small objects, I even used it a few times to suck water out of the beige, Do not expect it to pick up hair off a rugs, carpeting or furniture, it was not designed for that job. Shop vacs do not have brushes and beater bars. But for a small shop vac it does a over all good job.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter, Nice Design
Cons: Noisy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2.5-Gal. Wet/Dry Vac
from San Diego
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Poor Quality, Cheap throw away

PostedMay 24, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I know tools and regretted this purchase as soon as I used it the first time. Poor suction, cheap construction and poor design. The vac was extremely loud and had poor suction. There is no seal between the top and bottom. I used it to vacuum out the car and was extremely frustrated that it was unable to pick up sand and minor debris. I liberally wasted my money on this product. I gave it away to my brother in law who isn't as picky about tools as I am and he ended up throwing it away because it was so worthless.
Cons: Suction, Dust Chamber, Noisy, Build Quality, Performance
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2.5-Gal. Wet/Dry Vac

Nice product for small jobs.

PostedJune 13, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This thing has paid for itself. Cleaned my a/c drains and much more with ease!!!
Pros: Sturdy, Performs Well, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2.5-Gal. Wet/Dry Vac
from Rome, GA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

Great small wet/dry vac

PostedFebruary 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this several months ago because I was looking for something smaller that I didn't have to drag along behind me on wheels. This is the perfect size for me to carry and use at the same time. The container is a good size. The suction does a great job of sucking up sheetrock dust which is the real test for any vac for me. The attachments are smaller and useful for small spaces like windows. The hose is a good length, too. I really, really like mine. It's the best one-including those larger ones that I have had in the past-that I have ever used.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Performs Well, Looks Great, Good for All Surfaces, Strong Suction, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter, Nice Design
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2.5-Gal. Wet/Dry Vac
from Florida
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Usage frequency:Weekly

very good, excellent for the price

PostedJune 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Worked as expected, saved me for a $150 AC tech visit. I consider it very good for the price.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2.5-Gal. Wet/Dry Vac
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Usage frequency:Weekly

great product

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I love this little Vac.it is the perfect size and weight and it does just what I needed to do.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Good Size & Lightweight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2.5-Gal. Wet/Dry Vac
from Phoenicia, NY 12464, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Usage frequency:Daily

great dust collection

PostedJanuary 30, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Suction 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Weight 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I mainly use this vacuum as a means of dust collection in my shop. i have a small carpentry shop and this is a very cheap alternative to a large dust collector. for collecting sawdust from my machines, this works great. i have now purchased 5 of them as stationary dust collectors and they work great.
*downsides*
the only downsides to this shop vac that i have found is that due to the small hose size, things tend to get stuck often. This has only happened the few times that i have taken one off a machine to clean something up. otherwise, these vacuum's are a great investment for a dust-free shop
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2.5-Gal. Wet/Dry Vac

This product has great features and easy to use

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Easy to use and very handy tool. I use this product to clean unfinished basement and garage, it really has good suction.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Good for All Surfaces, Nice Design
Cons: Unbalanced
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>