728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Wet/Dry Vacuums or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 2.5-Gal. Wet/Dry Vac

2.5-Gal. Wet/Dry Vac

This versatile Stinger 2.5-Gallon Wet/Dry Vac provides powerful suction and converts into a blower to clear debris. The dent-resistant plastic tank helps keep the wet/dry vac unharmed, while the included multi-purpose and utility nozzles help you take on a wide variety of difficult cleaning projects.
Overall rating:
3.849 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(106 reviews) 106
Open Ratings Snapshot
77%of customersrecommend this product78 of 101reviews
Rating Breakdown 106 reviews
3.8 out of 5.0
5
(56)
4
(20)
3
(6)
2
(6)
1
(18)
Quality 
3.5 out of 5.0
3.5 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Features 
3.4 out of 5.0
3.4 out of 5
77%of customersrecommend this product78 of 101reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 5 Answers
Customer reviews for 2.5-Gal. Wet/Dry Vac
Review 1 for 2.5-Gal. Wet/Dry Vac
Juan
from Miami
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

GOOD FOR THE PRICE

PostedDecember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Pros; Lots of power in such a small equipment. Cons; the hose is too short. Need to place vacuum inside the car to reach far corners.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Performs Well, Looks Great, Strong Suction, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter, Nice Design
Cons: hose too short
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2.5-Gal. Wet/Dry Vac
Mrgustox1
from Cheyenne, WY, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Usage frequency:Daily

This faucet is extremely versatile.

PostedFebruary 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The flexible retractable hose has on quick stop button and has the capability to spray or pour. The pressure of the faucet seems to be higher.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Looks Great, Lots of Features, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2.5-Gal. Wet/Dry Vac
rattmoth
from austin, tx
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

Great Shop Vac! Don't listen to bad reviews, they're using it wrong

PostedFebruary 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
To reply to the person that says it's blowing dust all over your shop, solution = put on the filter, that's what it's for.
To the person who says it doesn't have any suction power, solution = you're facing the top the wrong way, try reversing it and it has great suction power, seems weird, I know, but it works.
The reason I can address both of these negative reviews is that I had the same issues, but after a little bit of thinking, I figured it out.
It's a great shop vac, especially for the price! Just buy it and be happy you saved $ compared to the more expensive brands.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Performs Well, Strong Suction, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2.5-Gal. Wet/Dry Vac
BummedOvenBuyer
from Minneapolis

Did not like at all

PostedMarch 16, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Was looking for the smallest size Shop-Vac brand, I could not find. In fact, I don't think I saw any Shop-Vac at all. Yes the price is good, but this thing is weak. Small plant leaves clog it, I find myself having to clear the hose constantly. I like bags also and this unit doesn't fit bags, it's just a dump it out as you go type deal. Quite messy if you ask me. I prefer Shop-Vac by far.
Cons: Suction, Clogs, Performance, short hose
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2.5-Gal. Wet/Dry Vac
Burt
from Southern California
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Usage frequency:Daily

Durable, no problems.

PostedJanuary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I use this on my job as an HVAC technician to vacuum condensate hoses, traps, and to some extent the PVC lines. I have used it for three winters and two summers and it is absolutely reliable. I typically encounter water so I leave the filter out...as you are supposed to. Without the filter, it naturally will blow
lighter dust/insulation out the exhaust port. The remedy for that is to simply install the filter--duh. The filter is fairly fine and Home Depot sells/stocks a package of three for a reasonable price. I do not understand how people can say it does not suck up lighter/finer material. Vacuum cleaners are about airflow & suction. This vacuum has both and is great for its small size. It isn't rocket science. If you can't figure out why dust is exiting the vacuum cleaner, you are not bright enough to be using a vacuum cleaner. Stick to hammers--ha, ha. The thing does not have a tipping problem. And the hose is a fixed length, so it does not have the issues of the boxy Ridgid one. Its only downside is of course the loudness. But I gather that were it quieter, it would weigh a lot more. I hope this helps.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Performs Well, Good for All Surfaces, Strong Suction, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter, Nice Design, reliable as a rock bridge
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2.5-Gal. Wet/Dry Vac
Lesa
from Jacksonville FL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

Great Shop Vac!

PostedApril 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this little shop vac several years ago. It has always worked great. I have a part time cleaning business cleaning where we clean new construction homes and use it constantly. It has great suction and is light weight so I carry it up and down stairs and all over the place with no problem. It cleans up sawdust, drywall dust, paint shavings (from scraping windows, etc) carpet fuzzies and any thing else around. It makes my cleaning jobs so much easier! I wouldn't trade it for anything! All you have to do is change the filter every so often and you are set to go!!!
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Performs Well, Strong Suction, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2.5-Gal. Wet/Dry Vac
CCCCC
from Atlanta GA

Not a true WET/Dry Vac!

PostedMarch 16, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I am so disappointed by all the reviews here. The main problem with this vacuum is the flimsy blue filter that comes with it. It's for DRY ONLY!! Instructions say that you have to take it off for wet vac. So for wet use there is no filter at all. Do I want dirty liquid to spray out when I vacuum liquids? Do people just leave the thin blue bag on when using it wet? I'm returning mine and spending a little extra for one that has the cylinder filter that can handle wet and dry.
Pros: Sturdy
Cons: no filter for wet use, thin blue filter for dry use has holes
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2.5-Gal. Wet/Dry Vac
kmikemoo

Vac for Service Truck

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Chose this one because its profile fits better into a field service truck than a canister of the same capacity. Performs well. Only needed to add an extension piece.
Pros: Good Size & Lightweight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2.5-Gal. Wet/Dry Vac
MikeP

Great Price!

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Works well, light, good suction, great price would recommend.
Pros: Performs Well
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2.5-Gal. Wet/Dry Vac
jimbocool
from Dickinson, TX 77539, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Usage frequency:Weekly

great

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I use this in my a/c service business. This is the second one I have purchased in the last 4 years.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Performs Well, Looks Great, Good for All Surfaces, Strong Suction, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Lots of Features, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2.5-Gal. Wet/Dry Vac
Iluvbooks4
from Rome, GA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

Great small wet/dry vac

PostedFebruary 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this several months ago because I was looking for something smaller that I didn't have to drag along behind me on wheels. This is the perfect size for me to carry and use at the same time. The container is a good size. The suction does a great job of sucking up sheetrock dust which is the real test for any vac for me. The attachments are smaller and useful for small spaces like windows. The hose is a good length, too. I really, really like mine. It's the best one-including those larger ones that I have had in the past-that I have ever used.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Performs Well, Looks Great, Good for All Surfaces, Strong Suction, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter, Nice Design
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2.5-Gal. Wet/Dry Vac
jwhitt
from GREENSBORO, NC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

Low power, Shop-Vac 2.5-Gallon is better for same price

PostedNovember 9, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This one is 4 amp 1.75 hp, the Shop-Vac 2.5-Gallon version at Lowes is the same price but is 8 amp 2.5 hp.
Cons: Suction, Performance
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2.5-Gal. Wet/Dry Vac
crafty55
from pittsburgh
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

Great for small jobs

PostedFebruary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
You get what $30 gives you. Fine for small jobs. Has basic attachments but more are available. My only complaint is it tips from dragging. I'd pay $5 extra at retail for little plastic wheels to keep it from tipping.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Unbalanced
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2.5-Gal. Wet/Dry Vac
djcl
from nova

Cheap Indeed

PostedFebruary 22, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It worked great for about 10 minutes. Now whenever I turn it on it only blows air out of the hose, no suction whatsoever. I have no clue what happened. There is no way to get around this, I cleaned it very thoroughly and it still doesn't work. DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT, spend more $ and get something nicer.
Cons: Suction, Noisy, Performance
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2.5-Gal. Wet/Dry Vac
Terry
from Colorado
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Usage frequency:Weekly

dryvac

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This dry vac has worked very well for my use. It has plenty of suction and the holding tank is big. The lightness is the best part. It is also nice to have a long cord.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Looks Great, Strong Suction, Good Size & Lightweight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2.5-Gal. Wet/Dry Vac
Stuck
from Neenah Wi
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Usage frequency:Weekly

Best in Sm need projects

PostedDecember 31, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We have had ours now for 9 yrs now. We only use it to clean out our pellet stove. That's it…… Fact is it dose a Great job and I can find the filters that i need rite at my Local Home Depot !!!! 3 for about $5. Reusable at that. They do well for this, we generally go through about 6/ yr. just because for the soot from the stove and he doesn't want to mess w/ the washing out of them. He says it's to messy, I'm already dirty from the cleaning just put on a New One …. LOL. Thats ok, Bottom Line is the Beat of Quality , Value for the job !!!! Love my little Stinger 2.5 gal !!!!!! It has more than Pd for itself !!!
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Performs Well, Strong Suction, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2.5-Gal. Wet/Dry Vac
parttimecarpenter
from Phoenicia, NY 12464, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Usage frequency:Daily

great dust collection

PostedJanuary 30, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Suction 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Weight 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I mainly use this vacuum as a means of dust collection in my shop. i have a small carpentry shop and this is a very cheap alternative to a large dust collector. for collecting sawdust from my machines, this works great. i have now purchased 5 of them as stationary dust collectors and they work great.
*downsides*
the only downsides to this shop vac that i have found is that due to the small hose size, things tend to get stuck often. This has only happened the few times that i have taken one off a machine to clean something up. otherwise, these vacuum's are a great investment for a dust-free shop
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2.5-Gal. Wet/Dry Vac
Ginger
from Huntsville Texas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

Compact and easy to use

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Needed something small to do a good job. It is well made and has good suction.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Performs Well, Strong Suction, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2.5-Gal. Wet/Dry Vac
TexasJD
Usage frequency:Weekly

What a piece of junk

PostedJanuary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have 4 of these purchased for my company. Only 1 is still in use, but only because it has never actually been used. The top will not stay clipped onto the bottom, making for an awful mess when you go to pick it up. The motors are ridiculously loud, and the vibration is out of this world crazy! The bearings went out in 2 of the units I had within 3 uses. The suction leaves a bit to be desired. Pure junk, through and through.
Pros: Good Size & Lightweight, cheap price
Cons: Suction, Noisy, Difficult to Use, Build Quality, Performance, lid won't stay tight, vibration
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2.5-Gal. Wet/Dry Vac
vegasgroomer
from Las Vegas, NV
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Usage frequency:Weekly

Great Little Vac!

PostedNovember 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I use this vac for dog grooming. This little, light weight vacume cleaner is perfect for cleaning up hair after I do my dog grooming. It is small and light enought to hang under your grooming table and powerful enough to quickly and efficiently vacume up hair off table, floor or your clothes after clippering is done! And it holds a lot of hair so you can groom for several weeks before needing to empty and shake ourt the filters. I reuse the filters numerous times before replacing them when I finally notice a drop in suction. And, the filters are easy to shake and clean. I have had mine for 5 years now. It is the 2 gallon size.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Performs Well, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter, Nice Design
Cons: Noisy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>