728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Wet/Dry Vacuums or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 2.5-gal. Wet/Dry Vacuum

2.5-gal. Wet/Dry Vacuum

This versatile Stinger 2.5-gal. Wet/Dry Vacuum provides powerful suction and converts into a blower to clear debris. The dent-resistant plastic tank helps keep the wet/dry vac unharmed, while the included multi-purpose and utility nozzles help you take on a wide variety of difficult cleaning projects.
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4.0
 / 
5
(166 reviews) 166
Open Ratings Snapshot
83%of customersrecommend this product133 of 160reviews
Rating Breakdown 166 reviews
4.0 out of 5
5
(87)
4
(40)
3
(11)
2
(8)
1
(20)
Quality 
3.9 out of 5
3.9 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
Features 
3.7 out of 5
3.7 out of 5
83%of customersrecommend this product133 of 160reviews
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 14 Answers
Customer reviews for 2.5-gal. Wet/Dry Vacuum
Review 1 for 2.5-gal. Wet/Dry Vacuum
from austin, tx
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

Great Shop Vac! Don't listen to bad reviews, they're using it wrong

PostedFebruary 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
To reply to the person that says it's blowing dust all over your shop, solution = put on the filter, that's what it's for.
To the person who says it doesn't have any suction power, solution = you're facing the top the wrong way, try reversing it and it has great suction power, seems weird, I know, but it works.
The reason I can address both of these negative reviews is that I had the same issues, but after a little bit of thinking, I figured it out.
It's a great shop vac, especially for the price! Just buy it and be happy you saved $ compared to the more expensive brands.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Performs Well, Strong Suction, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter, Nice Design
+24points
24out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2.5-gal. Wet/Dry Vacuum
from Miami
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

GOOD FOR THE PRICE

PostedDecember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Pros; Lots of power in such a small equipment. Cons; the hose is too short. Need to place vacuum inside the car to reach far corners.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Performs Well, Looks Great, Strong Suction, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter, Nice Design
Cons: hose too short
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2.5-gal. Wet/Dry Vacuum
from madison wi
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

Great and handy, and powerful little vacuum!

PostedFebruary 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this for cleaning out my car, as well as doing some spot cleaning of my carpeting - it
does both jobs VERY well! Excellent value - - with great suction - it really pulled a LOT of dirty water out of our carpets!
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Performs Well, Looks Great, Strong Suction, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter, Nice Design
Cons: Noisy
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2.5-gal. Wet/Dry Vacuum
from Georgia, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

Handy W/D vacuum

PostedMay 19, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I have a 14 gallons Ridgid W/D vacuum, but it's too bulky to bring in the house for a small job, the Stinger is the perfect size for that, easy to use and clean spills perfectly.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Good Size & Lightweight
Cons: Noisy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2.5-gal. Wet/Dry Vacuum

Wet Vac

PostedMay 19, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The vacuum work perfectly! We had an emergency and it worked great for what we needed.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2.5-gal. Wet/Dry Vacuum
from USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

Nice little Vacuum

PostedMay 13, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Nice little vacuum for the price. Small, compact. Perfect for my little shop on wheels in my converted school bus.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2.5-gal. Wet/Dry Vacuum
from MI
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Monthly

One little sucker....

PostedMay 12, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This is a great little vacuum... Just don't lose or damage the hose.... A replacement hose is half the cost of the vacuum..
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Performs Well, Looks Great, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2.5-gal. Wet/Dry Vacuum
from Chico, CA

Not enough power to be classified as a shop vacuum.

PostedMay 7, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Weak suction and easily clogged hose. Took it back after one use and upgraded.
Cons: Suction, Clogs, Performance
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2.5-gal. Wet/Dry Vacuum
from Texas
Usage frequency:Weekly

Good for the $

PostedFebruary 10, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Does the job. Compact, much better than a bulky vac. Accessories are a bit light though.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Lightweight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2.5-gal. Wet/Dry Vacuum
from SF Bay area
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

Good vac, nothing spectacular

PostedMarch 10, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I would give it 3.5 stars but HD doesn't let you do 1/2 stars. Good solid little shop vac, this replaced a similar size/power 'Shop Vac' brand unit. A bit more $$, but has more capacity to hold debris and also has a blower function which is really handy. Not sure it is any more powerful suction even though it has more hp. One thing I don't like is the hose can pop out too easily. Just not a secure fit. Annoying when it happens. Maybe over time it will conform better.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Good for All Surfaces, Good Size & Lightweight, also a blower
Cons: Cord Length, hose can come loose
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2.5-gal. Wet/Dry Vacuum
from Southern California
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Usage frequency:Daily

Durable, no problems.

PostedJanuary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I use this on my job as an HVAC technician to vacuum condensate hoses, traps, and to some extent the PVC lines. I have used it for three winters and two summers and it is absolutely reliable. I typically encounter water so I leave the filter out...as you are supposed to. Without the filter, it naturally will blow
lighter dust/insulation out the exhaust port. The remedy for that is to simply install the filter--duh. The filter is fairly fine and Home Depot sells/stocks a package of three for a reasonable price. I do not understand how people can say it does not suck up lighter/finer material. Vacuum cleaners are about airflow & suction. This vacuum has both and is great for its small size. It isn't rocket science. If you can't figure out why dust is exiting the vacuum cleaner, you are not bright enough to be using a vacuum cleaner. Stick to hammers--ha, ha. The thing does not have a tipping problem. And the hose is a fixed length, so it does not have the issues of the boxy Ridgid one. Its only downside is of course the loudness. But I gather that were it quieter, it would weigh a lot more. I hope this helps.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Performs Well, Good for All Surfaces, Strong Suction, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter, Nice Design, reliable as a rock bridge
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2.5-gal. Wet/Dry Vacuum
from Ravalli County Montana
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

right size for the job

PostedJanuary 6, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Right power, right size, kid friendly, fits small places
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Performs Well, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2.5-gal. Wet/Dry Vacuum
from Phoenicia, NY 12464, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Usage frequency:Daily

great dust collection

PostedJanuary 30, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Suction 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Weight 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I mainly use this vacuum as a means of dust collection in my shop. i have a small carpentry shop and this is a very cheap alternative to a large dust collector. for collecting sawdust from my machines, this works great. i have now purchased 5 of them as stationary dust collectors and they work great.
*downsides*
the only downsides to this shop vac that i have found is that due to the small hose size, things tend to get stuck often. This has only happened the few times that i have taken one off a machine to clean something up. otherwise, these vacuum's are a great investment for a dust-free shop
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2.5-gal. Wet/Dry Vacuum
from Littleton, MA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Strong suction. Very portable shop vac

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This is a very portable, powerful wet/dry vac. I've owned this vacuum for several years and it continues to work flawlessly, with exellent suction. I also own a 12-gal wet/dry vac, but this is my go-to vac when I don't want to lug around a big vac. The 2.5 gal cup detaches from the motor and is easy to dump and clean, as is the reusable filter bag. The plastic flex hose is short at only about 3-feet, so you need to be close to your work, but the length of the power cord is more than adequate. The included tools allows you to vacuum flooring and carpet as well as to reach into tight spaces, such as in between seat cushions. Great value. A strong performer. Highly recommended.
Pros: Easy to Use, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter, Lots of Features
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2.5-gal. Wet/Dry Vacuum
from New York, NY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

Nice little shop vac for the money

PostedFebruary 22, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
It's not a powerful workhorse but for the do it yourselfer it does an OK job of picking up drywall and plaster dust as well as other debris. I've had the older version of this model and it's fine for these weekend jobs and small enough to store on a closet shelf. As with any power tool purchase the user has to make their own expense vs. use evaluation. This would be like a toy for a pro but for the weekender it does its intended job. I gave it 5 stars based on value for the money.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight
Cons: Noisy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2.5-gal. Wet/Dry Vacuum
from Webster, ny
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

Great product

PostedMarch 13, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Look at the size of this woman's chest! One of them is the size of the vacuum!!! OMG!!
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Looks Great
Cons: Noisy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2.5-gal. Wet/Dry Vacuum
from Richmond, Va.

Great product

PostedJuly 11, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Very rarely does a product under promise and over deliver. I was looking for a small shop vac and asked the Home Depot salesman if the Stinger was worth anything. His eyes lit up and he replied "get it, you'll love it" He was absolutely correct. This thing is great, it has a million uses and is very portable. Don't let it's small size fool you. It has incredible suction for it's size. It is perfect for any homeowner. The more things you have in your life that make messes, the more uses you will have for your stinger. Since I bought mine 2 years ago I have bought 2 more and given them as gifts. That's how much I like this product.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2.5-gal. Wet/Dry Vacuum

Wet/Dry Shop Vacuum Cleaner

PostedMarch 3, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Small, light weight and a good design. It's a little Dynamo. I was very surprised for the price. I like the hose to be slightly longer and suggest a few more attachments for tight spaces and cleaning the car. For the price, it's a great buy. I am very satisfied.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2.5-gal. Wet/Dry Vacuum
from Turnersville, NJ
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Daily

Puppy love

PostedSeptember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this wet vac for the inevitable “accidents” that would happen during house breaking of a new puppy. It’s small and light and all plastic, which is a good thing since urine is corrosive (even though it gets emptied and rinsed each time). Suction and overall quality of the unit are good. Compact carpet cleaners are pricey so at $30ish bucks, this is a great option. The best feature for my use is its compact design. The pics don’t show it but the cord wraps neatly around the handle, and the hose is just long enough to leave in the suction port and also insert into the exhaust port for when you’re transporting/storing the unit. (the bucket has spots to hold the hose but my way is quicker, although the designed way would allow the hose to dry more quickly for long term storage) No fighting the gangly hose and cord while you’re trying to wrestle it up the steps or whatever.
Pros: Easy to Use, Strong Suction, Easy to Empty Filter, Nice Design
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2.5-gal. Wet/Dry Vacuum
from Rome, GA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

Great small wet/dry vac

PostedFebruary 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this several months ago because I was looking for something smaller that I didn't have to drag along behind me on wheels. This is the perfect size for me to carry and use at the same time. The container is a good size. The suction does a great job of sucking up sheetrock dust which is the real test for any vac for me. The attachments are smaller and useful for small spaces like windows. The hose is a good length, too. I really, really like mine. It's the best one-including those larger ones that I have had in the past-that I have ever used.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Performs Well, Looks Great, Good for All Surfaces, Strong Suction, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter, Nice Design
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 8 >>