728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Wet/Dry Vacuums or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 2.5-gal. Wet/Dry Vacuum

2.5-gal. Wet/Dry Vacuum

This versatile Stinger 2.5-gal. Wet/Dry Vacuum provides powerful suction and converts into a blower to clear debris. The dent-resistant plastic tank helps keep the wet/dry vac unharmed, while the included multi-purpose and utility nozzles help you take on a wide variety of difficult cleaning projects.
Overall rating:
3.973 / 5
4
 / 
5
(148 reviews) 148
Open Ratings Snapshot
82%of customersrecommend this product117 of 142reviews
Rating Breakdown 148 reviews
4.0 out of 5.0
5
(78)
4
(34)
3
(10)
2
(6)
1
(20)
Quality 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Features 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
82%of customersrecommend this product117 of 142reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer reviews for 2.5-gal. Wet/Dry Vacuum
Review 1 for 2.5-gal. Wet/Dry Vacuum
from austin, tx
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

Great Shop Vac! Don't listen to bad reviews, they're using it wrong

PostedFebruary 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
To reply to the person that says it's blowing dust all over your shop, solution = put on the filter, that's what it's for.
To the person who says it doesn't have any suction power, solution = you're facing the top the wrong way, try reversing it and it has great suction power, seems weird, I know, but it works.
The reason I can address both of these negative reviews is that I had the same issues, but after a little bit of thinking, I figured it out.
It's a great shop vac, especially for the price! Just buy it and be happy you saved $ compared to the more expensive brands.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Performs Well, Strong Suction, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter, Nice Design
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2.5-gal. Wet/Dry Vacuum
from Miami
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

GOOD FOR THE PRICE

PostedDecember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Pros; Lots of power in such a small equipment. Cons; the hose is too short. Need to place vacuum inside the car to reach far corners.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Performs Well, Looks Great, Strong Suction, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter, Nice Design
Cons: hose too short
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2.5-gal. Wet/Dry Vacuum
from Florida
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Usage frequency:Weekly

Good Buy

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Vacuum works well, hose stores inside with a little persuading. Overall I am pleased
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Performs Well, Good for All Surfaces, Good Size & Lightweight
Cons: Suction, Noisy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2.5-gal. Wet/Dry Vacuum

works great

PostedDecember 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
i just bought this vacuum today cuz my car was really dirty from the inside on the carpets and seats so i decided that it was time for me to purchase a vacuum for my car and something that wasnt too big and expensive this vacuum is great picks up everything and fits in the trunk.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2.5-gal. Wet/Dry Vacuum
from Manatee County, Fl
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

Good Value

PostedDecember 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have had this unit for over 5 years and it is still going strong. I got rid of my larger vac because this does everything I need for shop and car cleaning.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2.5-gal. Wet/Dry Vacuum
from Littleton, MA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Strong suction. Very portable shop vac

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is a very portable, powerful wet/dry vac. I've owned this vacuum for several years and it continues to work flawlessly, with exellent suction. I also own a 12-gal wet/dry vac, but this is my go-to vac when I don't want to lug around a big vac. The 2.5 gal cup detaches from the motor and is easy to dump and clean, as is the reusable filter bag. The plastic flex hose is short at only about 3-feet, so you need to be close to your work, but the length of the power cord is more than adequate. The included tools allows you to vacuum flooring and carpet as well as to reach into tight spaces, such as in between seat cushions. Great value. A strong performer. Highly recommended.
Pros: Easy to Use, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter, Lots of Features
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2.5-gal. Wet/Dry Vacuum
from Turnersville, NJ
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Daily

Puppy love

PostedSeptember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this wet vac for the inevitable “accidents” that would happen during house breaking of a new puppy. It’s small and light and all plastic, which is a good thing since urine is corrosive (even though it gets emptied and rinsed each time). Suction and overall quality of the unit are good. Compact carpet cleaners are pricey so at $30ish bucks, this is a great option. The best feature for my use is its compact design. The pics don’t show it but the cord wraps neatly around the handle, and the hose is just long enough to leave in the suction port and also insert into the exhaust port for when you’re transporting/storing the unit. (the bucket has spots to hold the hose but my way is quicker, although the designed way would allow the hose to dry more quickly for long term storage) No fighting the gangly hose and cord while you’re trying to wrestle it up the steps or whatever.
Pros: Easy to Use, Strong Suction, Easy to Empty Filter, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2.5-gal. Wet/Dry Vacuum
from Southern California
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Usage frequency:Daily

Durable, no problems.

PostedJanuary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I use this on my job as an HVAC technician to vacuum condensate hoses, traps, and to some extent the PVC lines. I have used it for three winters and two summers and it is absolutely reliable. I typically encounter water so I leave the filter out...as you are supposed to. Without the filter, it naturally will blow
lighter dust/insulation out the exhaust port. The remedy for that is to simply install the filter--duh. The filter is fairly fine and Home Depot sells/stocks a package of three for a reasonable price. I do not understand how people can say it does not suck up lighter/finer material. Vacuum cleaners are about airflow & suction. This vacuum has both and is great for its small size. It isn't rocket science. If you can't figure out why dust is exiting the vacuum cleaner, you are not bright enough to be using a vacuum cleaner. Stick to hammers--ha, ha. The thing does not have a tipping problem. And the hose is a fixed length, so it does not have the issues of the boxy Ridgid one. Its only downside is of course the loudness. But I gather that were it quieter, it would weigh a lot more. I hope this helps.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Performs Well, Good for All Surfaces, Strong Suction, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter, Nice Design, reliable as a rock bridge
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2.5-gal. Wet/Dry Vacuum
from St Paul MN
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

Great small vacuum

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great to have around the house or garage. Good for pet hair also, stairs and laundry room.
Must have around the garage for projects and picking up wood dust.
Pros: Easy to Use, Strong Suction, Great Value, Easy to Empty Filter
Cons: Cord Length
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2.5-gal. Wet/Dry Vacuum

Very Good

PostedOctober 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have had one of these for 7-8 years of moderate use and it just broke so I got another one. The only thing that broke ever was the ground on the power cord. I tried to replace the cord, but it would have required soldering. For $30 time for a new one. The difference between my old one and the new one is colors and the hose is about 2 feet shorter on the new one. Excellent for vacuuming A/C drain lines and other small jobs
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2.5-gal. Wet/Dry Vacuum

Garbage

PostedNovember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I got the smaller shop vac since I really needed minimal cleanup for minor home repairs and updates. This thing can't handle minor drywall dust.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2.5-gal. Wet/Dry Vacuum
from Bellevue WA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Monthly

Great Vac, Hard to Find Filters

PostedOctober 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Love the vacuum... lightweight, durable, versatile (great for doing car interior and household cleanup), and it's easy to empty. But I'm frustrated about how hard it is to find replacement filters to fit the 2.5 gal vacuum. Only small ones are available (they don't fit), and even those are hard to find.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Performs Well, Looks Great, Good for All Surfaces, Strong Suction, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter, Nice Design
Cons: hard to find 2.5 gal filters
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2.5-gal. Wet/Dry Vacuum

Wet dry vaccum

PostedNovember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It's easy to handle and it's powerful enough to clean out my car
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2.5-gal. Wet/Dry Vacuum
from Longview, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Usage frequency:Monthly

The small shopvac for the small shop

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We had a small shop that needed a heavy duty vac and we had a drain that backed up and needed a wet vac for this as well. The 2.5 gal capacity and the fact that it was small and light enough to carry around with out stress. Worked well on both wet and dry messes. Picked up sawdust and nails, after cleaning out, it picked up the water without issue. Would recomend for anyone who has small cleanups to do.
Pros: Easy to Use, Strong Suction, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2.5-gal. Wet/Dry Vacuum
from Glendale, Arizona
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Usage frequency:Weekly

good value

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Out of the box ready to go. Easy to switch to wet vac from dry.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Performs Well, Good for All Surfaces, Strong Suction, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2.5-gal. Wet/Dry Vacuum
from Tampa, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Geat little gadget!!

PostedApril 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
My husband wanted to "clean up the grill" which included removing all the Charcoal build-up. It was either use my indoor vacuum or buy a cheap shop-vac. I picked the later!! It did a great job, easy to clean & economical. It will be handy for all thos little jobs. My only disappointment was that I thought it came w/ all those nifty tools that it showed on the box, but it didn't. My fault???!!!
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Performs Well, Looks Great, Strong Suction, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter
Cons: wished it came w/ all the nifty tools!!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2.5-gal. Wet/Dry Vacuum
from Rome, GA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

Great small wet/dry vac

PostedFebruary 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this several months ago because I was looking for something smaller that I didn't have to drag along behind me on wheels. This is the perfect size for me to carry and use at the same time. The container is a good size. The suction does a great job of sucking up sheetrock dust which is the real test for any vac for me. The attachments are smaller and useful for small spaces like windows. The hose is a good length, too. I really, really like mine. It's the best one-including those larger ones that I have had in the past-that I have ever used.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Performs Well, Looks Great, Good for All Surfaces, Strong Suction, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter, Nice Design
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2.5-gal. Wet/Dry Vacuum
from Phoenicia, NY 12464, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Usage frequency:Daily

great dust collection

PostedJanuary 30, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Suction 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Weight 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I mainly use this vacuum as a means of dust collection in my shop. i have a small carpentry shop and this is a very cheap alternative to a large dust collector. for collecting sawdust from my machines, this works great. i have now purchased 5 of them as stationary dust collectors and they work great.
*downsides*
the only downsides to this shop vac that i have found is that due to the small hose size, things tend to get stuck often. This has only happened the few times that i have taken one off a machine to clean something up. otherwise, these vacuum's are a great investment for a dust-free shop
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2.5-gal. Wet/Dry Vacuum
from Katy, Texas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Daily

Real Convenience

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this cute little, but very efficient, vacuum cleaner for my kids that are studying in another city. For the size of their apartment this little thing proved to be of real convenience from all aspects: efficiency, size (ease of handling and storage) and value as its price was very reasonable as well.
You will just need to buy some extra accessories with it to cover all applications (couple of nozzles and an extension wand) ... still at a very reasonable price.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Performs Well, Looks Great, Good for All Surfaces, Strong Suction, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter, Lots of Features, Nice Design
Cons: doesn't have wheels
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2.5-gal. Wet/Dry Vacuum

Shop vac

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The product works great plus its small and compact.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 8 >>