728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Wet/Dry Vacuums or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 2.5-gal. Wet/Dry Vacuum

2.5-gal. Wet/Dry Vacuum

This versatile Stinger 2.5-gal. Wet/Dry Vacuum provides powerful suction and converts into a blower to clear debris. The dent-resistant plastic tank helps keep the wet/dry vac unharmed, while the included multi-purpose and utility nozzles help you take on a wide variety of difficult cleaning projects.
Overall rating:
3.977 / 5
4.0
 / 
5
(172 reviews) 172
Open Ratings Snapshot
83%of customersrecommend this product137 of 166reviews
Rating Breakdown 172 reviews
4.0 out of 5
5
(89)
4
(41)
3
(12)
2
(9)
1
(21)
Quality 
3.9 out of 5
3.9 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
Features 
3.6 out of 5
3.6 out of 5
83%of customersrecommend this product137 of 166reviews
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 15 Answers
Customer reviews for 2.5-gal. Wet/Dry Vacuum
Review 1 for 2.5-gal. Wet/Dry Vacuum
from austin, tx
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

Great Shop Vac! Don't listen to bad reviews, they're using it wrong

PostedFebruary 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
To reply to the person that says it's blowing dust all over your shop, solution = put on the filter, that's what it's for.
To the person who says it doesn't have any suction power, solution = you're facing the top the wrong way, try reversing it and it has great suction power, seems weird, I know, but it works.
The reason I can address both of these negative reviews is that I had the same issues, but after a little bit of thinking, I figured it out.
It's a great shop vac, especially for the price! Just buy it and be happy you saved $ compared to the more expensive brands.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Performs Well, Strong Suction, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter, Nice Design
+26points
26out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2.5-gal. Wet/Dry Vacuum
from Miami
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

GOOD FOR THE PRICE

PostedDecember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Pros; Lots of power in such a small equipment. Cons; the hose is too short. Need to place vacuum inside the car to reach far corners.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Performs Well, Looks Great, Strong Suction, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter, Nice Design
Cons: hose too short
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2.5-gal. Wet/Dry Vacuum
from madison wi
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

Great and handy, and powerful little vacuum!

PostedFebruary 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this for cleaning out my car, as well as doing some spot cleaning of my carpeting - it
does both jobs VERY well! Excellent value - - with great suction - it really pulled a LOT of dirty water out of our carpets!
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Performs Well, Looks Great, Strong Suction, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter, Nice Design
Cons: Noisy
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2.5-gal. Wet/Dry Vacuum
from Coppell, TX

Works well and is light, but hose detaches too easily

PostedJune 30, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This works well, and does its job. But it is annoying. There is no way to secure the hose to the vacuum, so the hose gets pulled out all the time as you use it.
Pros: Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter
Cons: hose does not attach well
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2.5-gal. Wet/Dry Vacuum
from Mesa
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not a good buy. I returned it.

PostedJune 24, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
When not being used, the hose was supposed to fit into wedges around the oblong drum, but did not. The hose was not very flexible either. I returned it for a different model.
Pros: Great Value
Cons: Build Quality, Unbalanced, hoses did not fit where they were supposed to
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2.5-gal. Wet/Dry Vacuum
from Derby, CT
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Monthly

Stinger Wet/Dry Vac

PostedJune 23, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
The vacuum needs a better filter. The paper filter does not stop the particulates like my rigid vac does. Are there better filters for this device?
Cons: Performance
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2.5-gal. Wet/Dry Vacuum

Stinger 2.5 gal wet/dry vac

PostedJune 23, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Works good, not to loud. But the cord could be longer.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2.5-gal. Wet/Dry Vacuum
from Wilmington, DE
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Usage frequency:Monthly

This product works very well with where I have used it.

PostedJune 17, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
It works well with all the uses: car, steps, windows.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Good for All Surfaces, Strong Suction, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2.5-gal. Wet/Dry Vacuum
from Coudersport,Pa
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Daily

Great Purchase

PostedJune 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Very easy to use and practical. Great price for the features.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Performs Well, Looks Great, Strong Suction, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2.5-gal. Wet/Dry Vacuum
from Georgia, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

Handy W/D vacuum

PostedMay 19, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I have a 14 gallons Ridgid W/D vacuum, but it's too bulky to bring in the house for a small job, the Stinger is the perfect size for that, easy to use and clean spills perfectly.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Good Size & Lightweight
Cons: Noisy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2.5-gal. Wet/Dry Vacuum

Wet Vac

PostedMay 19, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The vacuum work perfectly! We had an emergency and it worked great for what we needed.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2.5-gal. Wet/Dry Vacuum
from USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

Nice little Vacuum

PostedMay 13, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Nice little vacuum for the price. Small, compact. Perfect for my little shop on wheels in my converted school bus.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2.5-gal. Wet/Dry Vacuum
from MI
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Monthly

One little sucker....

PostedMay 12, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This is a great little vacuum... Just don't lose or damage the hose.... A replacement hose is half the cost of the vacuum..
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Performs Well, Looks Great, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2.5-gal. Wet/Dry Vacuum
from Chico, CA

Not enough power to be classified as a shop vacuum.

PostedMay 7, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Weak suction and easily clogged hose. Took it back after one use and upgraded.
Cons: Suction, Clogs, Performance
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2.5-gal. Wet/Dry Vacuum
from Phoenicia, NY 12464, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Usage frequency:Daily

great dust collection

PostedJanuary 30, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Suction 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Weight 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I mainly use this vacuum as a means of dust collection in my shop. i have a small carpentry shop and this is a very cheap alternative to a large dust collector. for collecting sawdust from my machines, this works great. i have now purchased 5 of them as stationary dust collectors and they work great.
*downsides*
the only downsides to this shop vac that i have found is that due to the small hose size, things tend to get stuck often. This has only happened the few times that i have taken one off a machine to clean something up. otherwise, these vacuum's are a great investment for a dust-free shop
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2.5-gal. Wet/Dry Vacuum
from Texas
Usage frequency:Weekly

Good for the $

PostedFebruary 10, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Does the job. Compact, much better than a bulky vac. Accessories are a bit light though.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Lightweight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2.5-gal. Wet/Dry Vacuum
from Southern California
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Usage frequency:Daily

Durable, no problems.

PostedJanuary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I use this on my job as an HVAC technician to vacuum condensate hoses, traps, and to some extent the PVC lines. I have used it for three winters and two summers and it is absolutely reliable. I typically encounter water so I leave the filter out...as you are supposed to. Without the filter, it naturally will blow
lighter dust/insulation out the exhaust port. The remedy for that is to simply install the filter--duh. The filter is fairly fine and Home Depot sells/stocks a package of three for a reasonable price. I do not understand how people can say it does not suck up lighter/finer material. Vacuum cleaners are about airflow & suction. This vacuum has both and is great for its small size. It isn't rocket science. If you can't figure out why dust is exiting the vacuum cleaner, you are not bright enough to be using a vacuum cleaner. Stick to hammers--ha, ha. The thing does not have a tipping problem. And the hose is a fixed length, so it does not have the issues of the boxy Ridgid one. Its only downside is of course the loudness. But I gather that were it quieter, it would weigh a lot more. I hope this helps.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Performs Well, Good for All Surfaces, Strong Suction, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter, Nice Design, reliable as a rock bridge
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2.5-gal. Wet/Dry Vacuum
from Rome, GA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

Great small wet/dry vac

PostedFebruary 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this several months ago because I was looking for something smaller that I didn't have to drag along behind me on wheels. This is the perfect size for me to carry and use at the same time. The container is a good size. The suction does a great job of sucking up sheetrock dust which is the real test for any vac for me. The attachments are smaller and useful for small spaces like windows. The hose is a good length, too. I really, really like mine. It's the best one-including those larger ones that I have had in the past-that I have ever used.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Performs Well, Looks Great, Good for All Surfaces, Strong Suction, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter, Nice Design
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2.5-gal. Wet/Dry Vacuum
from St Pete Fl
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Daily

I love this vac

PostedJanuary 23, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I bought this 4 yrs ago. It is now the only vac I use. I have dogs and cats and tile floors throughout house. This vac picks up all the fur and sand from floors and furniture including corners and seams. I use it for the car as well and it picks up the sand and fur very well. I purchased two hose extensions from my local vacuum repair shop and now don't even have to bend over much. Fits easily under furniture to vacuum fur and dust. Also does a great job on walls to vacuum the occasional spider web from corners. I use it on the window blinds to dust and remove pet fur. I also use it to blow out a/c lines. When my roof leaked once it did a great job sucking up the water. It does seem to blow out some sand from the exhaust at times but I remedied that by clipping a rag to the exhaust hole. I think the people that have a problem with the suction have the hose attached to the wrong end. When and if this one gives out I will definitely buy another one. Giving one to my grandson for his first apartment.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Performs Well, Good for All Surfaces, Strong Suction, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2.5-gal. Wet/Dry Vacuum
from Richmond, Va.

Great product

PostedJuly 11, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Very rarely does a product under promise and over deliver. I was looking for a small shop vac and asked the Home Depot salesman if the Stinger was worth anything. His eyes lit up and he replied "get it, you'll love it" He was absolutely correct. This thing is great, it has a million uses and is very portable. Don't let it's small size fool you. It has incredible suction for it's size. It is perfect for any homeowner. The more things you have in your life that make messes, the more uses you will have for your stinger. Since I bought mine 2 years ago I have bought 2 more and given them as gifts. That's how much I like this product.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 9 >>