728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Wet/Dry Vacuums or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 2.5-gal. Wet/Dry Vacuum

2.5-gal. Wet/Dry Vacuum

This versatile Stinger 2.5-gal. Wet/Dry Vacuum provides powerful suction and converts into a blower to clear debris. The dent-resistant plastic tank helps keep the wet/dry vac unharmed, while the included multi-purpose and utility nozzles help you take on a wide variety of difficult cleaning projects.
Overall rating:
4.011 / 5
4.0
 / 
5
(182 reviews) 182
Open Ratings Snapshot
83%of customersrecommend this product146 of 175reviews
Rating Breakdown 182 reviews
4.0 out of 5
5
(95)
4
(45)
3
(12)
2
(9)
1
(21)
Quality 
3.9 out of 5
3.9 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Features 
3.7 out of 5
3.7 out of 5
83%of customersrecommend this product146 of 175reviews
Customer questions and answers:
7 Questions | 16 Answers
Customer reviews for 2.5-gal. Wet/Dry Vacuum
Review 1 for 2.5-gal. Wet/Dry Vacuum
from austin, tx
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

Great Shop Vac! Don't listen to bad reviews, they're using it wrong

PostedFebruary 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
To reply to the person that says it's blowing dust all over your shop, solution = put on the filter, that's what it's for.
To the person who says it doesn't have any suction power, solution = you're facing the top the wrong way, try reversing it and it has great suction power, seems weird, I know, but it works.
The reason I can address both of these negative reviews is that I had the same issues, but after a little bit of thinking, I figured it out.
It's a great shop vac, especially for the price! Just buy it and be happy you saved $ compared to the more expensive brands.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Performs Well, Strong Suction, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter, Nice Design
+28points
28out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2.5-gal. Wet/Dry Vacuum
from Miami
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

GOOD FOR THE PRICE

PostedDecember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Pros; Lots of power in such a small equipment. Cons; the hose is too short. Need to place vacuum inside the car to reach far corners.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Performs Well, Looks Great, Strong Suction, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter, Nice Design
Cons: hose too short
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2.5-gal. Wet/Dry Vacuum
from Rochester, N.Y
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Usage frequency:Daily

Love it !!!!!

PostedJuly 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
have 1 already purchased another 1 just incase the other 1 happens to break. Wanted make sure I had a back up of the same kind
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Performs Well, Looks Great, Good for All Surfaces, Strong Suction, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2.5-gal. Wet/Dry Vacuum
from Southern California
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

Good Purchase, but...

PostedAugust 20, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I have had this Stinger for many years, in fact I think bought it when they were new. When I went to use it, I discovered that the top motor and bottom tank housing do not meet and seal very well!
I was able to pick up the handle and the tank part rattled as if it were loose! So, I decided to keep it, but I added some neoprene weather stripping to the top motor side right where the tank part meets it. This stripping comes with one side adhesive, so you stick it into the groove where the tank meets it. This now seals it completely. I have sucked up all kinds of dirt and dust and never had it escape from the tank now.
The hose is a little short, but you can pick up extra hose for this size very easily now. For small jobs around the house, workshop, or in and around your car, this Vac is more than capable. Worth the money.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Performs Well, Good for All Surfaces, Strong Suction, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter, Lots of Features, Nice Design
Cons: Noisy, Build Quality, did not seal properly.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2.5-gal. Wet/Dry Vacuum
from Ohio
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Monthly

Nice little wet / dry vac

PostedSeptember 1, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Great size for people who may need a wet / dry vac but not very often. Does what it is supposed to do.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Performs Well, Strong Suction, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2.5-gal. Wet/Dry Vacuum
from Louisville, KY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Usage frequency:Weekly

Sucks_ But in a good way!

PostedAugust 25, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Lightweight and compact. Been using to clean HVAC equip while on a ladder.
Pros: Strong Suction, Good Size & Lightweight
Cons: Noisy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2.5-gal. Wet/Dry Vacuum
from madison wi
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

Great and handy, and powerful little vacuum!

PostedFebruary 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this for cleaning out my car, as well as doing some spot cleaning of my carpeting - it
does both jobs VERY well! Excellent value - - with great suction - it really pulled a LOT of dirty water out of our carpets!
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Performs Well, Looks Great, Strong Suction, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter, Nice Design
Cons: Noisy
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2.5-gal. Wet/Dry Vacuum
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Usage frequency:Weekly

Small shop vac

PostedAugust 11, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
It's light weight, big enough for most jobs, more accessories than I need. So far so good.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2.5-gal. Wet/Dry Vacuum
from Hampton VA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Usage frequency:Monthly

Smart Looking!

PostedJuly 28, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
It's the perfect size for our Life Safety Trailer and will store nicely in one of the cabinets.
Pros: Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2.5-gal. Wet/Dry Vacuum
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Usage frequency:Weekly

wet/dry vac

PostedJuly 28, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
vacuum was easy to handle and really did it's job. love it!
Pros: Good Size & Lightweight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2.5-gal. Wet/Dry Vacuum
from MI
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Monthly

One little sucker....

PostedMay 12, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This is a great little vacuum... Just don't lose or damage the hose.... A replacement hose is half the cost of the vacuum..
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Performs Well, Looks Great, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2.5-gal. Wet/Dry Vacuum
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I am a fan.

PostedJuly 19, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is a very nice little shop vac. I have used it for several years with no problems at all. I use it for cleaning the workshop, the basement and the car. I've also used it for vacuuming leaves off the surface or our backyard pond. It is compact and easy to store.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Great Value, Easy to Empty Filter
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2.5-gal. Wet/Dry Vacuum

Poor accdsories

PostedJuly 7, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Great unit.. But the hose it comes with is very short and I am not sure if more accdsories are available.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2.5-gal. Wet/Dry Vacuum
from pell city al.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

real sucker

PostedJuly 7, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
vac was very light weight,and its power was all that was expected.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Strong Suction, Great Value, Easy to Empty Filter, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2.5-gal. Wet/Dry Vacuum
from Coppell, TX

Works well and is light, but hose detaches too easily

PostedJune 30, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This works well, and does its job. But it is annoying. There is no way to secure the hose to the vacuum, so the hose gets pulled out all the time as you use it.
Pros: Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter
Cons: hose does not attach well
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2.5-gal. Wet/Dry Vacuum
from Phoenicia, NY 12464, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Usage frequency:Daily

great dust collection

PostedJanuary 30, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Suction 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Weight 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I mainly use this vacuum as a means of dust collection in my shop. i have a small carpentry shop and this is a very cheap alternative to a large dust collector. for collecting sawdust from my machines, this works great. i have now purchased 5 of them as stationary dust collectors and they work great.
*downsides*
the only downsides to this shop vac that i have found is that due to the small hose size, things tend to get stuck often. This has only happened the few times that i have taken one off a machine to clean something up. otherwise, these vacuum's are a great investment for a dust-free shop
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2.5-gal. Wet/Dry Vacuum
from Southern California
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Usage frequency:Daily

Durable, no problems.

PostedJanuary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I use this on my job as an HVAC technician to vacuum condensate hoses, traps, and to some extent the PVC lines. I have used it for three winters and two summers and it is absolutely reliable. I typically encounter water so I leave the filter out...as you are supposed to. Without the filter, it naturally will blow
lighter dust/insulation out the exhaust port. The remedy for that is to simply install the filter--duh. The filter is fairly fine and Home Depot sells/stocks a package of three for a reasonable price. I do not understand how people can say it does not suck up lighter/finer material. Vacuum cleaners are about airflow & suction. This vacuum has both and is great for its small size. It isn't rocket science. If you can't figure out why dust is exiting the vacuum cleaner, you are not bright enough to be using a vacuum cleaner. Stick to hammers--ha, ha. The thing does not have a tipping problem. And the hose is a fixed length, so it does not have the issues of the boxy Ridgid one. Its only downside is of course the loudness. But I gather that were it quieter, it would weigh a lot more. I hope this helps.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Performs Well, Good for All Surfaces, Strong Suction, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter, Nice Design, reliable as a rock bridge
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2.5-gal. Wet/Dry Vacuum
from Mesa
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not a good buy. I returned it.

PostedJune 24, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
When not being used, the hose was supposed to fit into wedges around the oblong drum, but did not. The hose was not very flexible either. I returned it for a different model.
Pros: Great Value
Cons: Build Quality, Unbalanced, hoses did not fit where they were supposed to
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2.5-gal. Wet/Dry Vacuum
from Rome, GA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

Great small wet/dry vac

PostedFebruary 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this several months ago because I was looking for something smaller that I didn't have to drag along behind me on wheels. This is the perfect size for me to carry and use at the same time. The container is a good size. The suction does a great job of sucking up sheetrock dust which is the real test for any vac for me. The attachments are smaller and useful for small spaces like windows. The hose is a good length, too. I really, really like mine. It's the best one-including those larger ones that I have had in the past-that I have ever used.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Performs Well, Looks Great, Good for All Surfaces, Strong Suction, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter, Nice Design
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2.5-gal. Wet/Dry Vacuum
from Derby, CT
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Monthly

Stinger Wet/Dry Vac

PostedJune 23, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
The vacuum needs a better filter. The paper filter does not stop the particulates like my rigid vac does. Are there better filters for this device?
Cons: Performance
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 9 >>