728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Super "S" 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post

Super "S" 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post

The Tiger Brand Jack Post Super "S" 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post can adjust from 4 ft. 8 in. to 8 ft. 4 in. It has a compression load range of 18,000 lbs. at its lowest setting and 9,100 lbs. at its highest setting. It is ideal for correcting sagging floors and basement beams and providing secondary support for room additions, remodeling projects, porches and decks.
Overall rating:
4.263 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(76 reviews) 76
Open Ratings Snapshot
93%of customersrecommend this product66 of 71reviews
Rating Breakdown 76 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(45)
4
(17)
3
(7)
2
(3)
1
(4)
Quality 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
93%of customersrecommend this product66 of 71reviews
Customer reviews for Super "S" 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post
Review 1 for Super "S" 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post
from Kalamazoo, MI, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Posted up, taking a load off...

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
As a state licensed builder, I find this product simple to install with easy directions (pay attention to whether it is used to support metal or wood), and it simply handles it's business. Secure and solid, it holds up no matter how many times I bash into it (funny how the places you need these for are always in the most inconvenient places, i.e. The middle of my basement wood shop). Even comes painted up with scratch resistant durable paint (which is code in my state when used in a basement) which saves me the hassle when I need to install them.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Straight, Good Shape, Easy to Clean, High Quality, Reliable, handles it's business
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Super "S" 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post
from Chattanooga, TN, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Product works as designed

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The Jack Posts supported my concrete porch floor while replacing the foundation walls.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Economical, Reliable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Super "S" 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post
from Slidell, LA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Easy to setup, east to adjust to various heights and THEY WORK

PostedJuly 31, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Used the jack post to support ceiling joist to replace a 21 foot long, 3 1/2 " wide and 16" deep support beam in house. "Tiger" jack post were easy and fast to set up. They worked great and the price was right.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Economical
Cons: support brackets on end of posts should have, smaller holes for differnt size screws for, temporary use
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+20points
21out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Super "S" 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post
from Asheville
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Holds a heavy load,easy to use

PostedAugust 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We used the jackpost to hold the porch roof up while ,replacing the floor and the old post . It was easy to put the Jackpost in place next to an old post and lift the weight of the roof up so the old post could be easily removed. We raised the jackpost with a wrench
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Reliable, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+20points
23out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Super "S" 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post
from Cave Spring, GA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Make a very useful Forewood stacking system

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Using two treated landscape timbers, two treated 8' 2x4 studs, and two cinder blocks you can make a very stable firewood stacking system that will keep your firewood off of the ground. If built out in the open, a tarp can be draped over the 2x4s to keep the rain off of your logs and still allow for air circulation to dry out your wood.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Great Value, High Quality, Economical, Reliable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
-2points
2out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Super "S" 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post
from Phoenix, AZ, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Did Exactly What I Wanted

PostedJune 2, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product was less expensive than renting from the local rental shop. They (2) held up my patio overhang while I replaced the 4x6 posts. Simple, quick and safe.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+17points
18out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Super "S" 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post

did the job but needs work

PostedOctober 21, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This product worked for what I needed it to do but was kinda loose and slopy. It would have been much better if the pipe screw insert would either snap in or screw into the pipe. It fit so loose that it had a tendancy to fall out and just made using this product by my self harder than it needed to be. 3 or 4 hands would have made it easier too.. It reminds me of many Chinese built tools I've used before. Even though this was a long way from being a well machined presision tool.. the price was very reasonable and it did the job I needed so I won't be returning it'
Pros: Good Size & Weight, Economical
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Super "S" 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post
from Albany NY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

JACK MAST

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The best aspect of this post was it's versatile adjustability. The other posts may have been of better quality but with Jack Post I didn't have to measure and the price was right.
Pros: Good Size & Weight, Economical
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Super "S" 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Good Jack JUNK PLATE

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The jack itself works like its supposed to but the plates it comes with are next to junk.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: flimsy plate
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Super "S" 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post
from Modesto, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Simple and effective

PostedJanuary 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I needed to replace two 6 x 6 posts on my front porch. I didn't want to jerry-rig a support to hold up my roof and found this unit online at a good price. I used concrete stepping stone(s) at about 1 foot from rotted post as a base for leveling, firm support and adjusting initial height of jack (this prevented curling of the base plate as was mentioned in another review.) Firmed jack in place by hand, used a plumb bob to insure vertical placement, then used a wrench to turn the screw at the top of jack to raise the beam. Removed old post, set in new post, turned screw to lower beam. Very simple, secure and I felt far safer than anything I could have jerry rigged. I'm a simple 'do-it-yourself' kinda guy. Never tried this before but feel comfortable doing it again.
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Super "S" 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post
from san francisco
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Purchase frequency:Yearly

As cheap as renting

PostedMay 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Used to raise a corner of an 8ft X 20ft deck 4 inches while I replaced a rotted post. I nailed both the top and bottom plate to wood for safety and I had no problem turning the screw with a monkey wrench to level the beam. Was easier than I thought it would be.
Pros: Great Value
Cons: was scratched probably used and returned
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Super "S" 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post

Great jack post

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The only issue I had was that I believe that I got a return. I purchased 2 and had 2 prior to purchase. Every single one had a nut which was capped and smooth, easy to work with, and one of the packages came with one regular nut. Not a big deal but the capped ones are easier to work with. Also the end plate on one of them was bent, I would have exchanged it for another one in store, but I bought the last two and the project could not have waited.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Super "S" 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post
from Coal Township, PA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

It did as expected and did it well.

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to assemble, easy to use, easy to store. What more can one say?
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Work With, High Quality, Economical, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Super "S" 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post
from tx
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Purchase frequency:Yearly

acuprop

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
does what it is supposed to do--brace and prop a beam in place
safe
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Super "S" 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post
from Cincinnati, OH, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Weekly

poor quality but did the job ok

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Bought 14 of these to raise a single family cap cod. While they did the job and I hope to be able to use them again in the future the quality is not all that great. If I had a selection between these and a better made version for a higher price I would choose the higher price.
Pros: Economical, Light Weight
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Super "S" 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post

Very pleased

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Purchased to replace a lally column that fell in the basement. It shipped for free and was easy to install. No complaints!
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Super "S" 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post
from Prescott, AZ, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

These work great to level / jack-up a basement floor.

PostedDecember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used six of the large posts to jack-up / level part of my basement. The foundation wall, circa 1930 was cracked and part of the house "sunk". These are well built, and worth every penny! They are also easy to use. A+ all the way!
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Super "S" 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post

The product was heavy duty.

PostedMay 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The house jack stands worked great. I can't say much for the condition of all the packages when they arrived, as everyone was ripped open. Luckily all the parts were still inside. A little more tape on the ends before shipment would be helpful.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Super "S" 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post
from Claypool, AZ, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Simple to use easy install.

PostedFebruary 19, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Equipment needed plumber's rench and drill with fittings for both wood and concrete pilot hole. Must purchase screws yourself. Works!, sorry I could not get it off the shelf at local HomeDepot.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Super "S" 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Worked as expected!

PostedMay 6, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The jacking post were packaged so that they were easily handled and fit in the trunk (about 4.5'). They were easy to assemble but a third hand would have helped to hold the floating top plate straight while supporting the post and tightening the screw adjustment. I was able to install 4 of them by myself in under an hour and adjust to evenly support the load of a steel frame. I would use these jacking posts again.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Straight, Great Value
Cons: floating end plates
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>