728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Super "S" 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post

Super "S" 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post

The Tiger Brand Jack Post Super "S" 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post can adjust from 4 ft. 8 in. to 8 ft. 4 in. It has a compression load range of 18,000 lbs. at its lowest setting and 9,100 lbs. at its highest setting. It is ideal for correcting sagging floors and basement beams and providing secondary support for room additions, remodeling projects, porches and decks.
Overall rating:
4.215 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(65 reviews) 65
Open Ratings Snapshot
92%of customersrecommend this product55 of 60reviews
Rating Breakdown 65 reviews
4.2 out of 5.0
5
(38)
4
(14)
3
(6)
2
(3)
1
(4)
Quality 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
92%of customersrecommend this product55 of 60reviews
Customer reviews for Super "S" 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post
Review 21 for Super "S" 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post
Terry
from West Hartford, CT, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Perfectlhy adequate

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is a sturdy and useful jackpost. I particularly appreciated that the bars that you put through the tubes in order to set the height are not merely bars, but are bolts with cap nuts that stay secure. That is a better system than older jackposts I've used. My one concern is that the top screw setup slips at times when you are trying to tighten or lift with the screw. It would be better if that top assembly locked in place somehow.
Pros: Easy to Use, Reliable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Super "S" 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post
ronjay39
from California, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Easy to set up and use

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Product as described. Very easy to put to use. Adjusts quickly.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Lots of Features, Economical, Reliable
Cons: none
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Super "S" 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post
Bill
from Minneapolis, MN, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Did a great job

PostedSeptember 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Really easy to use and sturdy. The only thing that I would have liked better is if the base plate had been directly attached to the pole. Without that, there are a lots of parts running around.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Great Value, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Super "S" 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post
Bill

ok for the price

PostedAugust 6, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I was disappointed when it came. It will do the job, but it really isn't a quality tool. It comes in many pieces and they are not permanently attached. The tube sits on a plate that isn't attached, the screw mechanism just sit inside the tube, and the top plate is not attached.it will do the job that's why I gave it an average score. If I was using this a lot I would find a better one.
Pros: Economical
Cons: Difficult to Use, Difficult to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Super "S" 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post
Rocco

Easy set up and strong support

PostedAugust 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product was inexpensive and very good quality with easy set up and use. I'm very satisfied with product and would use and recommend again.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Great Value, High Quality, Economical
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Super "S" 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post
charlene
from Portland, OR, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

sturdy and functional

PostedAugust 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used this tool to replace my front porch portico supports. I couldn't have done the job without this.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Work With, Quiet, Good Size & Weight, Great Value, Easy to Clean, High Quality, Economical, Reliable
Cons: top piece was a little tricky to hold in place
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Super "S" 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post
madebyjapan

This product work as specified.

PostedAugust 15, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Great product for the cost. I used two them to replace 8 pillars and this made it safe and easy.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Good Size & Weight, High Quality, Economical, Reliable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Super "S" 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post
GreatKahuna
from Boulder, CO, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Cheap

PostedJuly 16, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
I would not recommend this stand because the head and foot can not be fastened to the pole, so it's a juggling act with another person to stand the pole up. Plus the head and foot are pretty flimsy. I don't know what you would do if you had to move the pole other than take it completely down and start all over. Go rent substantial ones, they're not that expensive.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Difficult to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Super "S" 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post
RAYJAY
from LEESBURG, VA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

WORKED AS ADVERTISED

PostedDecember 11, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
JUST WHAT I WAS LOOKING FOR. I JACKED UP MY FLOOR IN THE BASEMENT IN 55 Y.O. HOUSE TO CLOSE UP WALL CRACK IN FIRST FLOOR. LOOKS GREAT!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Work With
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Super "S" 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post
tsnowcu

Great product

PostedJuly 28, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great product! Easy to assemble and adjust. Works great!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Super "S" 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post
Kenm
from California, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Product good dealing with Home Depot online bad

PostedMarch 12, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I tried to order online but Home Depot system has problems so I had to call in to finish order but because I called in I lost the option to change my order or return it. If I been able to finish online it would b different I'm glad I was happy with the items
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Straight
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Super "S" 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post
MikeFixesEverything
from Heath, OH

Cheaply made product

PostedOctober 19, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought these to use as temporary supports for my deck (8 foot above ground) while I replaced the permanent wood support beams. I was disapointed with the quality of these jack posts. The top and bottom plates are thin stamped sheet metal. The plates are not attached and have no means of attaching them. The post just "sits" on the plates. This is unsafe because even if you bolt down the support plate, it doesn't matter because the post just sits on it and will easily slip off. The jack screw also just sits in the end of the post and is not attached either. Once the jack screw is extended over half way, it too could easily tip out if something bumped the post. I mig welded the top plate to the post end, and also mig welded the jack screw into the lower post end. This made the posts stable and made me a whole lot more comfortable working under 30,000 pounds of deck/screenroom held up by these posts.
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Super "S" 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post
Olde27Gal
from Seaford, DE 19973, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The Jack Post worked and made my job replacing another post easy.

PostedOctober 30, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The jack post worked just as it was advertsed. Easily adjustable and sturdy.
Pros: Easy to Use, Reliable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Super "S" 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post
Generalcontractor
from San Pedro, Los Angeles, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Really Good Product

PostedSeptember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This Product saves you time and money and they work perfectly and effortlessly........Our company loves these things
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Great Value, Economical, Light Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Super "S" 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post
Yopeacemaker
from NY

GREAT JACK

PostedSeptember 12, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
the price is great, the quality is great, i use 3 of these Jacks for my porch project and it all went well, i do recommend this product
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Straight, Good Shape, Easy to Clean, Economical
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Super "S" 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post
robin

Worked Great

PostedJune 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Good Solid Support for bringing up a Sagging Floor. Very Happy with my products.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Straight, Good Shape, Great Value, High Quality, Reliable
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Super "S" 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post
Will

The product is under designed

PostedApril 30, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This jack is designed to jack up floor joists and the like. The bearing plates are made out of very thing steel and bent as soon as I put any tension on the jack. Other jacks come with much more beefy bearing plates.
The jack requires a Very Large Crescent wrench to operate. The screw on the jack just has two flats ground in the sides for lifting.
Cons: poor design thin bearing plates
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Super "S" 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post
Joanna
from Virginia
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Basically fair value for money.

PostedJanuary 11, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
One nut from one jackpost missing, but still able to use jackpost. Recommend opening box and checking post over before making purchase.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Super "S" 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post
Dan
from Hot Springs, AR

8 Ft. 4 In. Super "S" Series Jack Post

PostedJune 15, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These Jack Posts are definitely worth the money. They are built well, easy to use and will hold up to 19K lbs each. For lifting a sagging floor or temporarily supporting anything overhead they fit the bill completely. I used them to level out a deck and they worked perfectly. The telescoping jack screws allow you to make very minor or major adjustsments based on your need. The only negative I found with these Jacks is that the screw mechanism tends to fall out of the post ie they sit there held with gravity so if you tilt the post too much they could tumble out. Not to worry though, they are tough and dropping them won't hurt them. To solve this very minor annoyance I just took a bit of duct-tape and wrapped/bound the perimeter of the screw base to the post . Now they sit there in place and don't move at all. Again, for the money these will give you a lifetime of use.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Super "S" 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post
HappyInOhio

Awesome!

PostedSeptember 27, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Good quality item, we are using it to brace the floor from the basement to hold up a 600# safe. Sturdy post.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
<< 1 2 3 4 >>