728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Super S Series 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post

Super S Series 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post

The Tiger Brand Jack Post Super "S" 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post can adjust from 4 ft. 8 in. to 8 ft. 4 in. It has a compression load range of 18,000 lbs. at its lowest setting and 9,100 lbs. at its highest setting. It is ideal for correcting sagging floors and basement beams and providing secondary support for room additions, remodeling projects, porches and decks.
Overall rating:
4.292 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(89 reviews) 89
Open Ratings Snapshot
93%of customersrecommend this product78 of 84reviews
Rating Breakdown 89 reviews
4.3 out of 5
5
(52)
4
(22)
3
(8)
2
(3)
1
(4)
Quality 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
93%of customersrecommend this product78 of 84reviews
Customer reviews for Super S Series 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post
Review 1 for Super S Series 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post
from Kalamazoo, MI, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Posted up, taking a load off...

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
As a state licensed builder, I find this product simple to install with easy directions (pay attention to whether it is used to support metal or wood), and it simply handles it's business. Secure and solid, it holds up no matter how many times I bash into it (funny how the places you need these for are always in the most inconvenient places, i.e. The middle of my basement wood shop). Even comes painted up with scratch resistant durable paint (which is code in my state when used in a basement) which saves me the hassle when I need to install them.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Straight, Good Shape, Easy to Clean, High Quality, Reliable, handles it's business
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+17points
18out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Super S Series 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post
from Chattanooga, TN, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Product works as designed

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The Jack Posts supported my concrete porch floor while replacing the foundation walls.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Economical, Reliable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Super S Series 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post
from Slidell, LA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Easy to setup, east to adjust to various heights and THEY WORK

PostedJuly 31, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Used the jack post to support ceiling joist to replace a 21 foot long, 3 1/2 " wide and 16" deep support beam in house. "Tiger" jack post were easy and fast to set up. They worked great and the price was right.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Economical
Cons: support brackets on end of posts should have, smaller holes for differnt size screws for, temporary use
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+22points
23out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Super S Series 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post
from Sherwood or
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Very useful

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The jack post was used in conjunction with other jacks to raise a ceiling from within a house before placing a new support beam in place. I was able to raise the interior ceiling 1.5 inches where it had sagged over the years. I accomplished this with no damage to the sheet rock textured ceiling.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Good Size & Weight, load strength
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Super S Series 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post
from Asheville
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Holds a heavy load,easy to use

PostedAugust 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
We used the jackpost to hold the porch roof up while ,replacing the floor and the old post . It was easy to put the Jackpost in place next to an old post and lift the weight of the roof up so the old post could be easily removed. We raised the jackpost with a wrench
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Reliable, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+23points
26out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Super S Series 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post
from Milton, GA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Yearly

It did the job

PostedJanuary 6, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
The top and bottom plates are thin and warp under a load. I am looking for someone who can make me thicker plates so I can continue to use it and then it will be terrific and 5 star.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Maintenance
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Super S Series 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post
from Phoenix, AZ, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Did Exactly What I Wanted

PostedJune 2, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This product was less expensive than renting from the local rental shop. They (2) held up my patio overhang while I replaced the 4x6 posts. Simple, quick and safe.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+19points
20out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Super S Series 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Solid and what I needed.

PostedJanuary 19, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Worked perfect for propping up a sagging beam. The packaging is loose so there were scratches on the post. Plan to paint anyway.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install
Cons: scratched
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Super S Series 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post
from Laquey, MO
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Temporary fix

PostedMarch 4, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Assembly is very easy (second time I have purchased these) and they perform as advertised. I have a very large deck (10' X 55') with support problems and using four of these for a "temporary" fix. The only negative thing I found was that one treaded end cap was not drilled properly. This caused the screw jack to extend at a small angle. It was not severe enough to return and seems to be holding fine.
Overall, I would recommend these for their intended purpose.
Pros: Easy to Install, Economical
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Super S Series 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post
from Burrbank, Ca
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Steel support post for wood ceiling beams

PostedMarch 5, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Company packaging opened the end of the box in transit and lost a few parts. Home Depot made it good. Product is very solid when installed. Now wood beam feels like concrete.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Economical
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Super S Series 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post
from Modesto, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Simple and effective

PostedJanuary 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I needed to replace two 6 x 6 posts on my front porch. I didn't want to jerry-rig a support to hold up my roof and found this unit online at a good price. I used concrete stepping stone(s) at about 1 foot from rotted post as a base for leveling, firm support and adjusting initial height of jack (this prevented curling of the base plate as was mentioned in another review.) Firmed jack in place by hand, used a plumb bob to insure vertical placement, then used a wrench to turn the screw at the top of jack to raise the beam. Removed old post, set in new post, turned screw to lower beam. Very simple, secure and I felt far safer than anything I could have jerry rigged. I'm a simple 'do-it-yourself' kinda guy. Never tried this before but feel comfortable doing it again.
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Super S Series 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post
from Angola,New York 14006
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Purchase frequency:Yearly

"HOLDING THINGS UP"

PostedFebruary 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Both posts fit the job I needed them for, They're strong and sturdy.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Straight, Good Shape, Great Value, High Quality, Economical, Reliable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Super S Series 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post
from Greater Kansas City Area
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Jack Posts

PostedFebruary 3, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This product was exactly what I expected it to be and it did exactly what I wanted it to do. I used four (4) of these to support a large wood beam and they worked great. Easy to assemble and easy to work with.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Straight, Good Shape, Great Value, High Quality, Economical, Reliable, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Super S Series 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post

tIger brand series 8 ft 4 jack post

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I founces the jac tube adiquit. Bot the plates very flimey the plates were very thin .as soon as I put pressure on then from the beam being lowered they bent I had to go out and purchase two thick plates drilled the center hole and put four smaller holes on each corner see I could attach to floor and beam.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Super S Series 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post
from Orange County. CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Weekly

JUST WHAT I NEEDED

PostedJanuary 27, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Delivered right on time and this was just what I needed. I need them to hold up 2 balcony's while we rebuild water damage. I bought 4 jack posts. No rental yards had these in our city, so I bought instead.
Pros: Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Great Value, Economical
Cons: bottom plate is bad design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Super S Series 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post
from Cave Spring, GA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Make a very useful Forewood stacking system

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Using two treated landscape timbers, two treated 8' 2x4 studs, and two cinder blocks you can make a very stable firewood stacking system that will keep your firewood off of the ground. If built out in the open, a tarp can be draped over the 2x4s to keep the rain off of your logs and still allow for air circulation to dry out your wood.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Great Value, High Quality, Economical, Reliable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
-7points
2out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Super S Series 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post
from Prescott, AZ, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

These work great to level / jack-up a basement floor.

PostedDecember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I used six of the large posts to jack-up / level part of my basement. The foundation wall, circa 1930 was cracked and part of the house "sunk". These are well built, and worth every penny! They are also easy to use. A+ all the way!
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Super S Series 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Great price, excellent performing product

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The jack post was easy to setup and use by one person. Did everything it needed to do and more. Great product.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, High Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Super S Series 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post
from San Diego CA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Working great!

PostedDecember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This will be a temp support until I can get the perm braces in but I have lots of peace of mind knowing its installed and doing what it was designed for.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Reliable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Super S Series 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post
from san francisco
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Purchase frequency:Yearly

As cheap as renting

PostedMay 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Used to raise a corner of an 8ft X 20ft deck 4 inches while I replaced a rotted post. I nailed both the top and bottom plate to wood for safety and I had no problem turning the screw with a monkey wrench to level the beam. Was easier than I thought it would be.
Pros: Great Value
Cons: was scratched probably used and returned
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>