728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Super S Series 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post

Super S Series 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post

The Tiger Brand Jack Post Super "S" 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post can adjust from 4 ft. 8 in. to 8 ft. 4 in. It has a compression load range of 18,000 lbs. at its lowest setting and 9,100 lbs. at its highest setting. It is ideal for correcting sagging floors and basement beams and providing secondary support for room additions, remodeling projects, porches and decks.
Overall rating:
4.265 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(102 reviews) 102
Open Ratings Snapshot
93%of customersrecommend this product90 of 97reviews
Rating Breakdown 102 reviews
4.3 out of 5
5
(57)
4
(27)
3
(10)
2
(4)
1
(4)
Quality 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
93%of customersrecommend this product90 of 97reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer reviews for Super S Series 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post
Review 1 for Super S Series 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post
from Kalamazoo, MI, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Posted up, taking a load off...

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
As a state licensed builder, I find this product simple to install with easy directions (pay attention to whether it is used to support metal or wood), and it simply handles it's business. Secure and solid, it holds up no matter how many times I bash into it (funny how the places you need these for are always in the most inconvenient places, i.e. The middle of my basement wood shop). Even comes painted up with scratch resistant durable paint (which is code in my state when used in a basement) which saves me the hassle when I need to install them.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Straight, Good Shape, Easy to Clean, High Quality, Reliable, handles it's business
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+19points
20out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Super S Series 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post
from Chattanooga, TN, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Product works as designed

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The Jack Posts supported my concrete porch floor while replacing the foundation walls.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Economical, Reliable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Super S Series 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post
from Slidell, LA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Easy to setup, east to adjust to various heights and THEY WORK

PostedJuly 31, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Used the jack post to support ceiling joist to replace a 21 foot long, 3 1/2 " wide and 16" deep support beam in house. "Tiger" jack post were easy and fast to set up. They worked great and the price was right.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Economical
Cons: support brackets on end of posts should have, smaller holes for differnt size screws for, temporary use
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+24points
25out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Super S Series 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post
from Asheville
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Holds a heavy load,easy to use

PostedAugust 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
We used the jackpost to hold the porch roof up while ,replacing the floor and the old post . It was easy to put the Jackpost in place next to an old post and lift the weight of the roof up so the old post could be easily removed. We raised the jackpost with a wrench
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Reliable, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+26points
29out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Super S Series 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post
from Phoenix, AZ, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Did Exactly What I Wanted

PostedJune 2, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This product was less expensive than renting from the local rental shop. They (2) held up my patio overhang while I replaced the 4x6 posts. Simple, quick and safe.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+20points
22out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Super S Series 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post
from Sherwood or
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Very useful

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The jack post was used in conjunction with other jacks to raise a ceiling from within a house before placing a new support beam in place. I was able to raise the interior ceiling 1.5 inches where it had sagged over the years. I accomplished this with no damage to the sheet rock textured ceiling.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Good Size & Weight, load strength
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Super S Series 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post
from Lawrenceville, Ga
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Excellent Product for an Emergency

PostedAugust 4, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Needed emergency support for porch roof after tree fell on house. The jack post saved the day!!
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, High Quality, Economical, Reliable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Super S Series 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post
from California
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Did the job just fine

PostedAugust 18, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I followed the earlier suggestion to buy using store delivery to make sure all the parts were included. Sure enough, one of the boxes was open - but fortunately everything was there. Plates are a little flimsy - they bend quite a bit under load and the shaft really grinds into it when it turns. I found it helped a lot to us a very good lube - like super lube- on the threads and also on the bottom plate. I added a heavy 1/2" washer beneath the shaft where it turns on the plate - with superlube on both sides. With this I was able to turn the jack with a 12" crescent wrench with no problem.
Pros: Economical
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Super S Series 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post
from St. Louis
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Weekly

Happy with it

PostedAugust 12, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Good pacaging , all parts there , easy to use . I do recommend .
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Straight, Good Shape, Easy to Clean, High Quality, Economical, Reliable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Super S Series 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post
from Milton, GA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Yearly

It did the job

PostedJanuary 6, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
The top and bottom plates are thin and warp under a load. I am looking for someone who can make me thicker plates so I can continue to use it and then it will be terrific and 5 star.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Maintenance
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Super S Series 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post
from Modesto, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Simple and effective

PostedJanuary 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I needed to replace two 6 x 6 posts on my front porch. I didn't want to jerry-rig a support to hold up my roof and found this unit online at a good price. I used concrete stepping stone(s) at about 1 foot from rotted post as a base for leveling, firm support and adjusting initial height of jack (this prevented curling of the base plate as was mentioned in another review.) Firmed jack in place by hand, used a plumb bob to insure vertical placement, then used a wrench to turn the screw at the top of jack to raise the beam. Removed old post, set in new post, turned screw to lower beam. Very simple, secure and I felt far safer than anything I could have jerry rigged. I'm a simple 'do-it-yourself' kinda guy. Never tried this before but feel comfortable doing it again.
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Super S Series 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post
from SD, CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Poor Manufacturing Quality

PostedAugust 4, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
One beam top screw came in tapped at an off angle. Not good for a load bearing beam. Poduct is good but one off defect, I hope. Plan to exchange.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Super S Series 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Solid and what I needed.

PostedJanuary 19, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Worked perfect for propping up a sagging beam. The packaging is loose so there were scratches on the post. Plan to paint anyway.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install
Cons: scratched
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Super S Series 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post
from Washington
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Functional for the purpose

PostedJuly 18, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I do recommend it despite my criticisms. The top piece which adjust is not secured to the rest of the device. It sits on top of the tube with a shallow piloting feature machined into the plate which fits onto the tube. Why didn't they make the unit one-piece so the adjuster would not fall off when positioning it? Because of this, taking tensile loads is not possible and keeping the unit under compression is necessary I think to assure everything stays together. The unit worked and is highly adjustable to many lengths. I used it to support my entry stairs as I replaced a 4x4 support post. As a temporary support it worked well and served its purpose. For a homeowner that may likely need a temporary structural support from time to time for house work or decking, it's a good buy and avoids the difficulty of trying to use a hydraulic jack and 4x4 cut to length. I could also see it being functional as a permanent support, although I do not think that is the product intent. It has fastener holes where one could secure each end to a wood structure with screws.
Pros: Performs Well
Cons: Difficult to Use, Difficult to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Super S Series 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post

Great product

PostedJuly 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This product was very intuitive and easy to use. It was easy to install.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Great Value, High Quality, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Super S Series 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post
from Los Angeles
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Support jack Post from HD

PostedJune 23, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Adjustable from 4ft. to over 8ft. Perfect for holding up my outdoor sun cover as I changed out some rotten timber. Strong and easy to use with a good price value.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Work With, Great Value, Economical
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Super S Series 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post
from Prescott, AZ, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

These work great to level / jack-up a basement floor.

PostedDecember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I used six of the large posts to jack-up / level part of my basement. The foundation wall, circa 1930 was cracked and part of the house "sunk". These are well built, and worth every penny! They are also easy to use. A+ all the way!
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Super S Series 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post

Does the job

PostedJune 16, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Used to temporarily support an overhang roof. Worked well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Super S Series 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post

Does the job well

PostedMay 15, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Great product.
@Homedepot feedback: Please notify shipping to double tape the ends of the box. The posts have a habit of punching through the box and losing parts during shipping transit (due to the weight). -Had this happen to both the posts I ordered, and had to get replacements. -THanks
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Great Value, Economical
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Super S Series 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post
from Seattle, WA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Simple and does the job

PostedApril 7, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We're using several sizes of these jack posts to shore up a building while we put a foundation under it. At first you wonder if they are stout enough to hold up a single story house but I spaced them about 4 feet apart holding up 4x6 timbers under the floor joists and they are working fine. The foundation is almost complete and we will soon lower the house to the new foundation.
I found that not all HD's carry all the sizes so call ahead and they can get them in one location for you.
Good value for the money and they worked fine for me.
Pros: Easy to Work With
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>