728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Super S Series 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post

Super S Series 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post

The Tiger Brand Jack Post Super "S" 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post can adjust from 4 ft. 8 in. to 8 ft. 4 in. It has a compression load range of 18,000 lbs. at its lowest setting and 9,100 lbs. at its highest setting. It is ideal for correcting sagging floors and basement beams and providing secondary support for room additions, remodeling projects, porches and decks.
Overall rating:
4.292 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(89 reviews) 89
Open Ratings Snapshot
93%of customersrecommend this product78 of 84reviews
Rating Breakdown 89 reviews
4.3 out of 5
5
(52)
4
(22)
3
(8)
2
(3)
1
(4)
Quality 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
93%of customersrecommend this product78 of 84reviews
Customer reviews for Super S Series 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post
Review 21 for Super S Series 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post
from Tacoma WA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Excellent value

PostedNovember 8, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Used two of these to lift a big elevated deck and replace rotted posts. Could not have done it without The ability to adjust size for odd areas was the key. Bottle jack would have requires many different temporary supports Great value
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Super S Series 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post

right tool for the job!

PostedNovember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I needed this to lift a flat roof over a car port that was pulling away from the house. I had no problems adjusting the height and then screwing the top until reaching the desired height. Put in 4x4s for support and removed the jack. Hoping for another project to use it on!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Super S Series 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post
from Moosup, CT
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Works as advertised

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Use duct tape to secure the end pieces in place until the post is installed firmly. Makes life much easier. Used 3 of these to slowly jack up an entire 2-car garage roof to replace vertical supports destroyed by ants. Not the slightest strain on the posts. Lubricate the screw threads.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight
Cons: end plates don't lock on
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Super S Series 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post
from Reno, Nevada

Super "S" Series Jack Post

PostedSeptember 7, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We needed something to raise a sagging second story floor in our two-story garage. The jack post was exactly what we needed. It was easy to set up and install and took care of the problem of the sagging floor without having to build something that would have taken up more space that the jack post. We are very pleased with the product and were very happy when we found it on Home Depot's web site. We had looked all over town and couldn't find one.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Super S Series 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post

The product was heavy duty.

PostedMay 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The house jack stands worked great. I can't say much for the condition of all the packages when they arrived, as everyone was ripped open. Luckily all the parts were still inside. A little more tape on the ends before shipment would be helpful.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Super S Series 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Good Jack JUNK PLATE

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
The jack itself works like its supposed to but the plates it comes with are next to junk.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: flimsy plate
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Super S Series 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post

Great jack post

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The only issue I had was that I believe that I got a return. I purchased 2 and had 2 prior to purchase. Every single one had a nut which was capped and smooth, easy to work with, and one of the packages came with one regular nut. Not a big deal but the capped ones are easier to work with. Also the end plate on one of them was bent, I would have exchanged it for another one in store, but I bought the last two and the project could not have waited.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Super S Series 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post
from West Hartford, CT, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Perfectlhy adequate

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This is a sturdy and useful jackpost. I particularly appreciated that the bars that you put through the tubes in order to set the height are not merely bars, but are bolts with cap nuts that stay secure. That is a better system than older jackposts I've used. My one concern is that the top screw setup slips at times when you are trying to tighten or lift with the screw. It would be better if that top assembly locked in place somehow.
Pros: Easy to Use, Reliable
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Super S Series 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post
from Scottsdale AZ
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

inexpensive (anyway you look at it)

PostedSeptember 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Cheap insurance . Easy to install. I have several in different houses. Good stuff
Pros: Performs Well, Great Value
Cons: none
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Super S Series 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post
from Heath, OH

Cheaply made product

PostedOctober 19, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought these to use as temporary supports for my deck (8 foot above ground) while I replaced the permanent wood support beams. I was disapointed with the quality of these jack posts. The top and bottom plates are thin stamped sheet metal. The plates are not attached and have no means of attaching them. The post just "sits" on the plates. This is unsafe because even if you bolt down the support plate, it doesn't matter because the post just sits on it and will easily slip off. The jack screw also just sits in the end of the post and is not attached either. Once the jack screw is extended over half way, it too could easily tip out if something bumped the post. I mig welded the top plate to the post end, and also mig welded the jack screw into the lower post end. This made the posts stable and made me a whole lot more comfortable working under 30,000 pounds of deck/screenroom held up by these posts.
+5points
8out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Super S Series 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post
from manassas virginia
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

easy to use

PostedJune 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Had to replace a couple of support posts on my deck. This was easy to use and supported the deck until I replaced them.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Work With, Easy to Clean
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Super S Series 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post
from Claypool, AZ, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Simple to use easy install.

PostedFebruary 19, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Equipment needed plumber's rench and drill with fittings for both wood and concrete pilot hole. Must purchase screws yourself. Works!, sorry I could not get it off the shelf at local HomeDepot.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Super S Series 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post
from Albany NY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

JACK MAST

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The best aspect of this post was it's versatile adjustability. The other posts may have been of better quality but with Jack Post I didn't have to measure and the price was right.
Pros: Good Size & Weight, Economical
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Super S Series 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post
from phx az
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Monthly

This product met our expectation

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Product was a good value for the price -- Did the job it was intended and we will be able to us it again on another project.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Super S Series 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post
from Cincinnati, OH, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Weekly

poor quality but did the job ok

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Bought 14 of these to raise a single family cap cod. While they did the job and I hope to be able to use them again in the future the quality is not all that great. If I had a selection between these and a better made version for a higher price I would choose the higher price.
Pros: Economical, Light Weight
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Super S Series 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post
from Chicago, IL, USA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good quality at a good cost

PostedJanuary 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
It was easy to install, looks great since the previous one was rusted and ugly, this one looks much better and I was able to replace it very fast.
Pros: Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Great Value, Easy to Clean, Economical
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Super S Series 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post

Super "S" 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The Super "S" 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post worked as advertised and is just the jack to level and maintain your sagging beams.
Pros: Easy to Work With, Great Value, High Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Super S Series 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post

Jack Post just barely works

PostedDecember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Upon receipt one of the jack posts was missing support base. Had to make replacement base. Very unstable when installed due to base and top plate fitting loose. Welded top and bottom plates to poles for stability. Good for holding up but not for jacking. I used a hydraulic jack to lift then used Jack Post as support.
Pros: provides support
Cons: Difficult to Use, Difficult to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Super S Series 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post
from LEESBURG, VA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

WORKED AS ADVERTISED

PostedDecember 11, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
JUST WHAT I WAS LOOKING FOR. I JACKED UP MY FLOOR IN THE BASEMENT IN 55 Y.O. HOUSE TO CLOSE UP WALL CRACK IN FIRST FLOOR. LOOKS GREAT!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Work With
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Super S Series 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post
from Coal Township, PA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

It did as expected and did it well.

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy to assemble, easy to use, easy to store. What more can one say?
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Work With, High Quality, Economical, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
<< 1 2 3 4 5 >>