728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Super S Series 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post

Super S Series 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post

The Tiger Brand Jack Post Super "S" 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post can adjust from 4 ft. 8 in. to 8 ft. 4 in. It has a compression load range of 18,000 lbs. at its lowest setting and 9,100 lbs. at its highest setting. It is ideal for correcting sagging floors and basement beams and providing secondary support for room additions, remodeling projects, porches and decks.
Overall rating:
4.255 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(98 reviews) 98
Open Ratings Snapshot
92%of customersrecommend this product86 of 93reviews
Rating Breakdown 98 reviews
4.3 out of 5
5
(54)
4
(27)
3
(9)
2
(4)
1
(4)
Quality 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
92%of customersrecommend this product86 of 93reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer reviews for Super S Series 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post
Review 21 for Super S Series 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post
from Laquey, MO
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Temporary fix

PostedMarch 4, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Assembly is very easy (second time I have purchased these) and they perform as advertised. I have a very large deck (10' X 55') with support problems and using four of these for a "temporary" fix. The only negative thing I found was that one treaded end cap was not drilled properly. This caused the screw jack to extend at a small angle. It was not severe enough to return and seems to be holding fine.
Overall, I would recommend these for their intended purpose.
Pros: Easy to Install, Economical
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Super S Series 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post
from Tacoma WA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Excellent value

PostedNovember 8, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Used two of these to lift a big elevated deck and replace rotted posts. Could not have done it without The ability to adjust size for odd areas was the key. Bottle jack would have requires many different temporary supports Great value
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Super S Series 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post

tIger brand series 8 ft 4 jack post

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I founces the jac tube adiquit. Bot the plates very flimey the plates were very thin .as soon as I put pressure on then from the beam being lowered they bent I had to go out and purchase two thick plates drilled the center hole and put four smaller holes on each corner see I could attach to floor and beam.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Super S Series 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post
from Burrbank, Ca
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Steel support post for wood ceiling beams

PostedMarch 5, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Company packaging opened the end of the box in transit and lost a few parts. Home Depot made it good. Product is very solid when installed. Now wood beam feels like concrete.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Economical
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Super S Series 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post
from Reno, Nevada

Super "S" Series Jack Post

PostedSeptember 7, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We needed something to raise a sagging second story floor in our two-story garage. The jack post was exactly what we needed. It was easy to set up and install and took care of the problem of the sagging floor without having to build something that would have taken up more space that the jack post. We are very pleased with the product and were very happy when we found it on Home Depot's web site. We had looked all over town and couldn't find one.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Super S Series 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post
from Angola,New York 14006
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Purchase frequency:Yearly

"HOLDING THINGS UP"

PostedFebruary 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Both posts fit the job I needed them for, They're strong and sturdy.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Straight, Good Shape, Great Value, High Quality, Economical, Reliable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Super S Series 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post
from san francisco
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Purchase frequency:Yearly

As cheap as renting

PostedMay 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Used to raise a corner of an 8ft X 20ft deck 4 inches while I replaced a rotted post. I nailed both the top and bottom plate to wood for safety and I had no problem turning the screw with a monkey wrench to level the beam. Was easier than I thought it would be.
Pros: Great Value
Cons: was scratched probably used and returned
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Super S Series 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Great price, excellent performing product

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The jack post was easy to setup and use by one person. Did everything it needed to do and more. Great product.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, High Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Super S Series 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post
from Greater Kansas City Area
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Jack Posts

PostedFebruary 3, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This product was exactly what I expected it to be and it did exactly what I wanted it to do. I used four (4) of these to support a large wood beam and they worked great. Easy to assemble and easy to work with.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Straight, Good Shape, Great Value, High Quality, Economical, Reliable, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Super S Series 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post
from Orange County. CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Weekly

JUST WHAT I NEEDED

PostedJanuary 27, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Delivered right on time and this was just what I needed. I need them to hold up 2 balcony's while we rebuild water damage. I bought 4 jack posts. No rental yards had these in our city, so I bought instead.
Pros: Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Great Value, Economical
Cons: bottom plate is bad design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Super S Series 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post
from West Hartford, CT, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Perfectlhy adequate

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This is a sturdy and useful jackpost. I particularly appreciated that the bars that you put through the tubes in order to set the height are not merely bars, but are bolts with cap nuts that stay secure. That is a better system than older jackposts I've used. My one concern is that the top screw setup slips at times when you are trying to tighten or lift with the screw. It would be better if that top assembly locked in place somehow.
Pros: Easy to Use, Reliable
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Super S Series 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post
from San Diego CA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Working great!

PostedDecember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This will be a temp support until I can get the perm braces in but I have lots of peace of mind knowing its installed and doing what it was designed for.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Reliable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Super S Series 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post
from Heath, OH

Cheaply made product

PostedOctober 19, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought these to use as temporary supports for my deck (8 foot above ground) while I replaced the permanent wood support beams. I was disapointed with the quality of these jack posts. The top and bottom plates are thin stamped sheet metal. The plates are not attached and have no means of attaching them. The post just "sits" on the plates. This is unsafe because even if you bolt down the support plate, it doesn't matter because the post just sits on it and will easily slip off. The jack screw also just sits in the end of the post and is not attached either. Once the jack screw is extended over half way, it too could easily tip out if something bumped the post. I mig welded the top plate to the post end, and also mig welded the jack screw into the lower post end. This made the posts stable and made me a whole lot more comfortable working under 30,000 pounds of deck/screenroom held up by these posts.
+4points
8out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Super S Series 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post

Great jack post

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The only issue I had was that I believe that I got a return. I purchased 2 and had 2 prior to purchase. Every single one had a nut which was capped and smooth, easy to work with, and one of the packages came with one regular nut. Not a big deal but the capped ones are easier to work with. Also the end plate on one of them was bent, I would have exchanged it for another one in store, but I bought the last two and the project could not have waited.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Super S Series 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post

The product was heavy duty.

PostedMay 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The house jack stands worked great. I can't say much for the condition of all the packages when they arrived, as everyone was ripped open. Luckily all the parts were still inside. A little more tape on the ends before shipment would be helpful.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Super S Series 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Good Jack JUNK PLATE

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
The jack itself works like its supposed to but the plates it comes with are next to junk.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: flimsy plate
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Super S Series 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post
from manassas virginia
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

easy to use

PostedJune 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Had to replace a couple of support posts on my deck. This was easy to use and supported the deck until I replaced them.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Work With, Easy to Clean
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Super S Series 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post

right tool for the job!

PostedNovember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I needed this to lift a flat roof over a car port that was pulling away from the house. I had no problems adjusting the height and then screwing the top until reaching the desired height. Put in 4x4s for support and removed the jack. Hoping for another project to use it on!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Super S Series 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post
from LEESBURG, VA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

WORKED AS ADVERTISED

PostedDecember 11, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
JUST WHAT I WAS LOOKING FOR. I JACKED UP MY FLOOR IN THE BASEMENT IN 55 Y.O. HOUSE TO CLOSE UP WALL CRACK IN FIRST FLOOR. LOOKS GREAT!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Work With
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Super S Series 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post
from Moosup, CT
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Works as advertised

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Use duct tape to secure the end pieces in place until the post is installed firmly. Makes life much easier. Used 3 of these to slowly jack up an entire 2-car garage roof to replace vertical supports destroyed by ants. Not the slightest strain on the posts. Lubricate the screw threads.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight
Cons: end plates don't lock on
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
<< 1 2 3 4 5 >>