728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Super S Series 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post

Super S Series 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post

The Tiger Brand Jack Post Super "S" 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post can adjust from 4 ft. 8 in. to 8 ft. 4 in. It has a compression load range of 18,000 lbs. at its lowest setting and 9,100 lbs. at its highest setting. It is ideal for correcting sagging floors and basement beams and providing secondary support for room additions, remodeling projects, porches and decks.
Overall rating:
4.268 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(82 reviews) 82
Open Ratings Snapshot
92%of customersrecommend this product71 of 77reviews
Rating Breakdown 82 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(48)
4
(19)
3
(8)
2
(3)
1
(4)
Quality 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
92%of customersrecommend this product71 of 77reviews
Customer reviews for Super S Series 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post
Review 21 for Super S Series 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post
from Albany NY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

JACK MAST

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The best aspect of this post was it's versatile adjustability. The other posts may have been of better quality but with Jack Post I didn't have to measure and the price was right.
Pros: Good Size & Weight, Economical
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Super S Series 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post
from West Hartford, CT, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Perfectlhy adequate

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is a sturdy and useful jackpost. I particularly appreciated that the bars that you put through the tubes in order to set the height are not merely bars, but are bolts with cap nuts that stay secure. That is a better system than older jackposts I've used. My one concern is that the top screw setup slips at times when you are trying to tighten or lift with the screw. It would be better if that top assembly locked in place somehow.
Pros: Easy to Use, Reliable
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Super S Series 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post
from Coal Township, PA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

It did as expected and did it well.

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to assemble, easy to use, easy to store. What more can one say?
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Work With, High Quality, Economical, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Super S Series 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post
from tx
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Purchase frequency:Yearly

acuprop

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
does what it is supposed to do--brace and prop a beam in place
safe
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Super S Series 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post
from Claypool, AZ, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Simple to use easy install.

PostedFebruary 19, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Equipment needed plumber's rench and drill with fittings for both wood and concrete pilot hole. Must purchase screws yourself. Works!, sorry I could not get it off the shelf at local HomeDepot.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Super S Series 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post
from phx az
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Monthly

This product met our expectation

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Product was a good value for the price -- Did the job it was intended and we will be able to us it again on another project.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Super S Series 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post

Very pleased

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Purchased to replace a lally column that fell in the basement. It shipped for free and was easy to install. No complaints!
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Super S Series 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post
from Chicago, IL, USA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good quality at a good cost

PostedJanuary 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It was easy to install, looks great since the previous one was rusted and ugly, this one looks much better and I was able to replace it very fast.
Pros: Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Great Value, Easy to Clean, Economical
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Super S Series 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post
from Reno, Nevada

Super "S" Series Jack Post

PostedSeptember 7, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We needed something to raise a sagging second story floor in our two-story garage. The jack post was exactly what we needed. It was easy to set up and install and took care of the problem of the sagging floor without having to build something that would have taken up more space that the jack post. We are very pleased with the product and were very happy when we found it on Home Depot's web site. We had looked all over town and couldn't find one.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Super S Series 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post

Super "S" 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The Super "S" 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post worked as advertised and is just the jack to level and maintain your sagging beams.
Pros: Easy to Work With, Great Value, High Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Super S Series 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post

Jack Post just barely works

PostedDecember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Upon receipt one of the jack posts was missing support base. Had to make replacement base. Very unstable when installed due to base and top plate fitting loose. Welded top and bottom plates to poles for stability. Good for holding up but not for jacking. I used a hydraulic jack to lift then used Jack Post as support.
Pros: provides support
Cons: Difficult to Use, Difficult to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Super S Series 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post
from manassas virginia
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

easy to use

PostedJune 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Had to replace a couple of support posts on my deck. This was easy to use and supported the deck until I replaced them.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Work With, Easy to Clean
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Super S Series 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post

The product was heavy duty.

PostedMay 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The house jack stands worked great. I can't say much for the condition of all the packages when they arrived, as everyone was ripped open. Luckily all the parts were still inside. A little more tape on the ends before shipment would be helpful.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Super S Series 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Worked as expected!

PostedMay 6, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The jacking post were packaged so that they were easily handled and fit in the trunk (about 4.5'). They were easy to assemble but a third hand would have helped to hold the floating top plate straight while supporting the post and tightening the screw adjustment. I was able to install 4 of them by myself in under an hour and adjust to evenly support the load of a steel frame. I would use these jacking posts again.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Straight, Great Value
Cons: floating end plates
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Super S Series 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post
from Heath, OH

Cheaply made product

PostedOctober 19, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought these to use as temporary supports for my deck (8 foot above ground) while I replaced the permanent wood support beams. I was disapointed with the quality of these jack posts. The top and bottom plates are thin stamped sheet metal. The plates are not attached and have no means of attaching them. The post just "sits" on the plates. This is unsafe because even if you bolt down the support plate, it doesn't matter because the post just sits on it and will easily slip off. The jack screw also just sits in the end of the post and is not attached either. Once the jack screw is extended over half way, it too could easily tip out if something bumped the post. I mig welded the top plate to the post end, and also mig welded the jack screw into the lower post end. This made the posts stable and made me a whole lot more comfortable working under 30,000 pounds of deck/screenroom held up by these posts.
+4points
7out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Super S Series 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Works Great

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product is well made and easy to use.
It will easily correct your beam or assist in your ceiling joist
adjustment.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Straight, Great Value, High Quality, Economical, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Super S Series 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post

ok for the price

PostedAugust 6, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I was disappointed when it came. It will do the job, but it really isn't a quality tool. It comes in many pieces and they are not permanently attached. The tube sits on a plate that isn't attached, the screw mechanism just sit inside the tube, and the top plate is not attached.it will do the job that's why I gave it an average score. If I was using this a lot I would find a better one.
Pros: Economical
Cons: Difficult to Use, Difficult to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Super S Series 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post
from Hot Springs, AR

8 Ft. 4 In. Super "S" Series Jack Post

PostedJune 15, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These Jack Posts are definitely worth the money. They are built well, easy to use and will hold up to 19K lbs each. For lifting a sagging floor or temporarily supporting anything overhead they fit the bill completely. I used them to level out a deck and they worked perfectly. The telescoping jack screws allow you to make very minor or major adjustsments based on your need. The only negative I found with these Jacks is that the screw mechanism tends to fall out of the post ie they sit there held with gravity so if you tilt the post too much they could tumble out. Not to worry though, they are tough and dropping them won't hurt them. To solve this very minor annoyance I just took a bit of duct-tape and wrapped/bound the perimeter of the screw base to the post . Now they sit there in place and don't move at all. Again, for the money these will give you a lifetime of use.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Super S Series 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post
from Boulder, CO, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Cheap

PostedJuly 16, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
I would not recommend this stand because the head and foot can not be fastened to the pole, so it's a juggling act with another person to stand the pole up. Plus the head and foot are pretty flimsy. I don't know what you would do if you had to move the pole other than take it completely down and start all over. Go rent substantial ones, they're not that expensive.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Difficult to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Super S Series 8 ft. 4 in. Jack Post

Just as advertised

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Good product that works as advertised. I would use HD again
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
<< 1 2 3 4 5 >>