728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 7 in. x 9 in. x 8 ft. Used Creosote-Treated Railroad Tie

7 in. x 9 in. x 8 ft. Used Creosote-Treated Railroad Tie

For your next decking project consider using the 7 in. x 9 in. x 8 ft. Used Creosote-Treated Railroad Tie. This used tie works great for nonstructural earth retaining projects, where the appearance is not critical.
Overall rating:
2.556 / 5
2.6
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
44%of customersrecommend this product4 of 9reviews
Rating Breakdown 9 reviews
2.6 out of 5.0
5
(3)
4
(0)
3
(0)
2
(2)
1
(4)
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.5 out of 5.0
2.5 out of 5
44%of customersrecommend this product4 of 9reviews
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer reviews for 7 in. x 9 in. x 8 ft. Used Creosote-Treated Railroad Tie
Review 1 for 7 in. x 9 in. x 8 ft. Used Creosote-Treated Railroad Tie
from Jemez mountains, NM
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Trash

PostedAugust 21, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
They picked out 4 for me. They should have said that no decent ones were left. Unfortunately, I didn't look closely before loading on my car. Two broke when I dropped them off the car at home - rotten inside and on the bottom where I did not look. I tried to get a refund without having to reload them and drive them all the way back, but no. The one in the picture was the best of the 4. Notice the bottom where it is only half thick. The other was only useful as edging. Railroad ties are getting to be hard to find, but don't find them here! I wish some other supplier was open the day I needed these.
Cons: no quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 7 in. x 9 in. x 8 ft. Used Creosote-Treated Railroad Tie
from Montgomery, AL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Rail Road Ties From Montgmery AL Store

PostedOctober 4, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I recently purchased 20 ties from the Eastern Bypass store. I went to look at them to check the condition and they were banded in 16 tie packs. The loose ones looked pretty bad and have been obviously picked over, but some were fine. I was weary of having them delivered because I did not want unusable ties. In the end I figured I'd have them delivered and save tha hassle and take my chances knowing at least 16 would be fine. When delivered, the 16 banded had 4 more added and banded to the top. Outside appearances were fine. When I got into the project and opened the delivery one of the four additional ties was completely rotted on the underside. I ended up just throwing it out, but I think it was unacceptable to deliver me a tie like this. Fortunately I ordered one more than I needed. Home Depot you need to do better.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: delivered unusable product
+26points
29out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 7 in. x 9 in. x 8 ft. Used Creosote-Treated Railroad Tie
from Pensacola, FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Never Have Lumber DELIVERED

PostedJanuary 23, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
My son manages a railroad. Most railroad ties are basically beyond use when the railroad replaces them. Having said this, NEVER have lumber products that you haven't personally selected delivered. You will get the culls that nobody else wants. Remember, NEVER!!!
Contractor for 37 years.
+84points
100out of 116found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 7 in. x 9 in. x 8 ft. Used Creosote-Treated Railroad Tie
from Long Beach, CA, USA

Be sure to go and pick yours out in person.

PostedJune 6, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I had 10 delivered to my house because I am making a planter out of them. The delivery guy was great but when I started to move them to my backyard, I saw what bad shape most of them are in. I really wish I had gone and picked them out myself. I am going to really have to pick and choose how to place them. After spending $17 each and $80 for delivery, I expected ties that weren't falling apart. I understand that they are used, but I would expect a little better. I am really disappointed.
+54points
61out of 68found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 7 in. x 9 in. x 8 ft. Used Creosote-Treated Railroad Tie
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Poor quality and selection

PostedJune 4, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The website listed over a hundred in stock at a specific store, but there were very few in a usable condition. I did not expect flawless railroad ties, but the majority were unusable (split down the middle, large rotted holes over half the size of the railroad tie). Fortunately, the staff allowed me to choose some of the better ones, but i sorted through at least 50 to find 10 that were usable at least on one side.
+42points
48out of 54found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 7 in. x 9 in. x 8 ft. Used Creosote-Treated Railroad Tie
from Divide, CO 80814, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

sustainability

PostedNovember 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
rail road ties are the best thing for mountain gardening projects. they are very well prices long lasting and once in place stay there. what more could one ask for.
Pros: High Quality of Material
-2points
10out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 7 in. x 9 in. x 8 ft. Used Creosote-Treated Railroad Tie
from Bakersfield, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Railroad Tie Great-Customer Service NOT SO MUCH

PostedDecember 31, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Railroad ties were the quality I expected, and worked well with the task we were utilizing them for.
-6points
0out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 7 in. x 9 in. x 8 ft. Used Creosote-Treated Railroad Tie
from Palmdale, CA

Home Depot = Great Yard

PostedMay 9, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
While my mom was out of town for her birthday, I spent a lot of time at Home Depot buying railroad ties, flowers, sprinkler equipment and much more to landscape her front yard as a surprise for her. Home Depot had the best prices for everything I bought and the best quality. These railroad ties turned the front yard into something better than just a yard and made my mother cry seeing her yard look so beautiful. I have had several neighbors ask where I bought the railroad ties and told them Home Depot, the next day two of my neighbors went and bought some for their front yard. It was so easy and so nice being able to drive down to my local Home Depot and receive so much help with all of my purchases. I received help in choosing and loading the railroad ties and all of my other supplies. The front yard looks so amazing that I have now decided to over the next month do the same to the back yard. I plan to return to Home Depot to buy at least another 20 -30 railroad ties (best quality and the best price), tress, plants, and a lot more. My mom’s dream of having a beautiful yard is all thanks to Home Depot and I recommend everyone to choose this store for any home project you may have.
-22points
35out of 92found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 7 in. x 9 in. x 8 ft. Used Creosote-Treated Railroad Tie
from WA state

Railroad ties

PostedAugust 6, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Another dependable product available thru Home Depot. good price great quality. You make it so easy.
-41points
16out of 73found this review helpful.