728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Deck Hardware or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Used Railroad Tie-Cresote Treated (Common: 7 in. x 9 in. x 8 ft.; Actual: 96 in.)

Used Railroad Tie-Cresote Treated (Common: 7 in. x 9 in. x 8 ft.; Actual: 96 in.)

For your next decking project consider using the 7 in. x 9 in. x 8 ft. Used Creosote-Treated Railroad Tie. This used tie works great for nonstructural earth retaining projects, where the appearance is not critical.
Overall rating:
2.727 / 5
2.7
 / 
5
(11 reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
45%of customersrecommend this product5 of 11reviews
Rating Breakdown 11 reviews
2.7 out of 5
5
(4)
4
(0)
3
(0)
2
(3)
1
(4)
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
2.5 out of 5
2.5 out of 5
45%of customersrecommend this product5 of 11reviews
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer reviews for Used Railroad Tie-Cresote Treated (Common: 7 in. x 9 in. x 8 ft.; Actual: 96 in.)
Review 1 for Used Railroad Tie-Cresote Treated (Common: 7 in. x 9 in. x 8 ft.; Actual: 96 in.)
from Jemez mountains, NM
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Trash

PostedAugust 21, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
They picked out 4 for me. They should have said that no decent ones were left. Unfortunately, I didn't look closely before loading on my car. Two broke when I dropped them off the car at home - rotten inside and on the bottom where I did not look. I tried to get a refund without having to reload them and drive them all the way back, but no. The one in the picture was the best of the 4. Notice the bottom where it is only half thick. The other was only useful as edging. Railroad ties are getting to be hard to find, but don't find them here! I wish some other supplier was open the day I needed these.
Cons: no quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+10points
15out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Used Railroad Tie-Cresote Treated (Common: 7 in. x 9 in. x 8 ft.; Actual: 96 in.)

Solid

PostedApril 4, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
They allowed me to pick my own. All exceeded my expectations and were very solid. It would be a good idea to conduct a visual inspection prior to purchase. I do not see how you could load these inside your truck and not notice it falling apart. They are also quite heavy.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Used Railroad Tie-Cresote Treated (Common: 7 in. x 9 in. x 8 ft.; Actual: 96 in.)
from Montgomery, AL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Rail Road Ties From Montgmery AL Store

PostedOctober 4, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I recently purchased 20 ties from the Eastern Bypass store. I went to look at them to check the condition and they were banded in 16 tie packs. The loose ones looked pretty bad and have been obviously picked over, but some were fine. I was weary of having them delivered because I did not want unusable ties. In the end I figured I'd have them delivered and save tha hassle and take my chances knowing at least 16 would be fine. When delivered, the 16 banded had 4 more added and banded to the top. Outside appearances were fine. When I got into the project and opened the delivery one of the four additional ties was completely rotted on the underside. I ended up just throwing it out, but I think it was unacceptable to deliver me a tie like this. Fortunately I ordered one more than I needed. Home Depot you need to do better.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: delivered unusable product
+42points
46out of 50found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Used Railroad Tie-Cresote Treated (Common: 7 in. x 9 in. x 8 ft.; Actual: 96 in.)
from Long Beach, CA, USA

Be sure to go and pick yours out in person.

PostedJune 6, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I had 10 delivered to my house because I am making a planter out of them. The delivery guy was great but when I started to move them to my backyard, I saw what bad shape most of them are in. I really wish I had gone and picked them out myself. I am going to really have to pick and choose how to place them. After spending $17 each and $80 for delivery, I expected ties that weren't falling apart. I understand that they are used, but I would expect a little better. I am really disappointed.
+64points
71out of 78found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Used Railroad Tie-Cresote Treated (Common: 7 in. x 9 in. x 8 ft.; Actual: 96 in.)
from Pensacola, FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Never Have Lumber DELIVERED

PostedJanuary 23, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
My son manages a railroad. Most railroad ties are basically beyond use when the railroad replaces them. Having said this, NEVER have lumber products that you haven't personally selected delivered. You will get the culls that nobody else wants. Remember, NEVER!!!
Contractor for 37 years.
+113points
129out of 145found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Used Railroad Tie-Cresote Treated (Common: 7 in. x 9 in. x 8 ft.; Actual: 96 in.)
from Oakland, CA

DO NOT USE FOR VEGETABLE BEDS

PostedMay 22, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
concrete segmental retaining wall is easy and much safer in the long run. Creosote is the problem here although much has worn away at this point.
Pros: long lasting
Cons: toxic to some degree
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Used Railroad Tie-Cresote Treated (Common: 7 in. x 9 in. x 8 ft.; Actual: 96 in.)
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Poor quality and selection

PostedJune 4, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The website listed over a hundred in stock at a specific store, but there were very few in a usable condition. I did not expect flawless railroad ties, but the majority were unusable (split down the middle, large rotted holes over half the size of the railroad tie). Fortunately, the staff allowed me to choose some of the better ones, but i sorted through at least 50 to find 10 that were usable at least on one side.
+53points
60out of 67found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Used Railroad Tie-Cresote Treated (Common: 7 in. x 9 in. x 8 ft.; Actual: 96 in.)
from Divide, CO 80814, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

sustainability

PostedNovember 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
rail road ties are the best thing for mountain gardening projects. they are very well prices long lasting and once in place stay there. what more could one ask for.
Pros: High Quality of Material
-3points
14out of 31found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Used Railroad Tie-Cresote Treated (Common: 7 in. x 9 in. x 8 ft.; Actual: 96 in.)
from Palmdale, CA

Home Depot = Great Yard

PostedMay 9, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
While my mom was out of town for her birthday, I spent a lot of time at Home Depot buying railroad ties, flowers, sprinkler equipment and much more to landscape her front yard as a surprise for her. Home Depot had the best prices for everything I bought and the best quality. These railroad ties turned the front yard into something better than just a yard and made my mother cry seeing her yard look so beautiful. I have had several neighbors ask where I bought the railroad ties and told them Home Depot, the next day two of my neighbors went and bought some for their front yard. It was so easy and so nice being able to drive down to my local Home Depot and receive so much help with all of my purchases. I received help in choosing and loading the railroad ties and all of my other supplies. The front yard looks so amazing that I have now decided to over the next month do the same to the back yard. I plan to return to Home Depot to buy at least another 20 -30 railroad ties (best quality and the best price), tress, plants, and a lot more. My mom’s dream of having a beautiful yard is all thanks to Home Depot and I recommend everyone to choose this store for any home project you may have.
-28points
39out of 106found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Used Railroad Tie-Cresote Treated (Common: 7 in. x 9 in. x 8 ft.; Actual: 96 in.)
from Bakersfield, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Railroad Tie Great-Customer Service NOT SO MUCH

PostedDecember 31, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Railroad ties were the quality I expected, and worked well with the task we were utilizing them for.
-9points
2out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Used Railroad Tie-Cresote Treated (Common: 7 in. x 9 in. x 8 ft.; Actual: 96 in.)
from WA state

Railroad ties

PostedAugust 6, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Another dependable product available thru Home Depot. good price great quality. You make it so easy.
-44points
17out of 78found this review helpful.