728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Trimmers & Edgers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Expand-It 9 in. Universal Straight Shaft Edger Attachment for String Trimmer

Expand-It 9 in. Universal Straight Shaft Edger Attachment for String Trimmer

Use the Ryobi Expand-It Universal Straight-Shaft Edger Attachment for String Trimmer to transform your grass trimmer into a powerful edger. The height of the attachment adjusts to help you create professional edges.
Overall rating:
3.753 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(93 reviews) 93
Open Ratings Snapshot
77%of customersrecommend this product67 of 87reviews
Rating Breakdown 93 reviews
3.8 out of 5.0
5
(38)
4
(27)
3
(9)
2
(5)
1
(14)
Features 
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6 out of 5
Quality 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.5 out of 5.0
3.5 out of 5
Value 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
77%of customersrecommend this product67 of 87reviews
Customer reviews for Expand-It 9 in. Universal Straight Shaft Edger Attachment for String Trimmer
Review 1 for Expand-It 9 in. Universal Straight Shaft Edger Attachment for String Trimmer
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works pretty good. Works best with electric power head.

PostedJune 18, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I have had this unit for a couple of years and didn't really like it at first. With the electric 40V power head it seems to work way better. It is much easier to control. The gas power is too powerful and it is easy to nick the sidewalk.
Pros: Easy to Use
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Expand-It 9 in. Universal Straight Shaft Edger Attachment for String Trimmer
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great, easy to install

PostedJuly 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have owned this for about 3months now. I was VERY weary of buying an attachment, as I was told the individual tool was better, but this has exceeded my expectations. It is much more powerful than I expected it to be and has done a fine job.
Pros: Cuts Well, Powerful
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Expand-It 9 in. Universal Straight Shaft Edger Attachment for String Trimmer
from Independence, MO, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This attachment works great!

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Works on the Ryobi40-Volt X Lithium-ion string trimmer. Once put together, works as well as a gas equal. Blades cut into the edge for professional look. Only thing that is less than full rating is that there are 3 pieces to put together before use and have to get them exact on for it to work. Had to take apart once and reassemble for it to work.
Pros: Durable, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Expand-It 9 in. Universal Straight Shaft Edger Attachment for String Trimmer
from Oklahoma City, OK
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best edger I've had, but small nits keep it from being perfect

PostedJuly 27, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It connects right on the Ryobi 40v power head I bought as a string trimmer. For the most part it works great. When it binds up, it just stops. Lift it out of the work, pull the triggers, and it fires right up again. Edges cleanly and efficiently, but the dirt will tend to get clogged up in the shield, necessitating stopping work to clear the dirt. When I noticed that the professional lawn care people running around were using either brush cutters turned sideways or edgers without shields, I thought about using my reciprocating saw to trim back part of the shield so it wouldn't clog up but it's still under warranty and that seems like it would unnecessarily dangerous because if the blade were to break, there wouldn't be anything to protect you or persons nearby. Remember that you should be wearing full jeans, good shoes, gloves, and safety goggles when you use this or any other piece of equipment, whether you modify it or not.
Pros: Cuts Well, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store
Cons: blade shield could be redesigned.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Expand-It 9 in. Universal Straight Shaft Edger Attachment for String Trimmer
from Georgetown, TX
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Requires a Modification

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This edger has a small tang that protrudes down in the back. It is to long and gets caught in the grass as you are trying to edge. I removed all but about 1/4" of this tang and it made all the difference in t world. Works far better without it.
Pros: Cuts Well, Great Engine
Cons: Difficult to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Expand-It 9 in. Universal Straight Shaft Edger Attachment for String Trimmer
from Texas
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Handy Attachment

PostedJuly 23, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This attachment was easy to connect with my my trimmer. The tool seems to be durable, but takes some getting used to as with any new tool. Overall I've enjoyed this product.
Pros: Cuts Well, Durable, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Expand-It 9 in. Universal Straight Shaft Edger Attachment for String Trimmer
from Killeen, TX
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Adequate

PostedJuly 5, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Just as everyone else has mentioned, the first time out this edger is going to give you a work out. You will spend some time going back and forth, lifting and replacing, etc if your edges have overgrown. I just bought this and spent a good chunk of time establish a good edge. The next time shouldn't be a problem. If you are on top of your yard work this will be a great tool. If you are behind on your edging, get ready for a work out. Overall, solid build, easy to attach. The rubber flap doesn't stop a whole lot from coming back at you and it gets backed up with material which will come loose with a few good shakes of the edger. I'm not a pro landscaper but I do have a big yard and the first use was challenging (but that was my fault for letting it get out of hand). I bought the string trimmer, edger, and blower in one shot and overall pleased with my purchase.
Pros: Sturdy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Expand-It 9 in. Universal Straight Shaft Edger Attachment for String Trimmer
from Louisiana
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Hard to handle....

PostedJune 4, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have never been so ambivalent about a product. The people at Home Depot must think I'm crazy because I purchased this product, returned it, and then purchased it again.
As everyone has mentioned, the rubber flap is a huge design flaw to this model. It causes grass and clippings to get caught in it. I didn't feel like making the adjustments mentioned in the other comments, so I returned the product to the store.
I ended up purchasing the attachment again, because the next attachments were almost double the cost of this attachment. For example, the popular and highly rated Black and Decker Edge Hog is $90, but then you'll have to buy a $40 100feet power cord. The gas models start at over $200. I didn't want to pay that much for a gas model, and I didn't feel like dealing with a power cord. So, I purchased this attachment AGAIN.
This time, I made the adjustment recommended in the other comments, and I unscrewed the rubber from the nut/bolt that it was attached too. It was pretty easy to do. The edger attachment worked quite nicely after that....except for now I noticed how poorly it handled. It hurt my wrist to press the "trigger" button of my 40V Expand-It PowerTrain while maneuvering the edger.
If you don't have alot to edge, then I recommend this product. Otherwise, get the gas model or the electric model. I'm likely going to return this edger again.
Cons: Difficult to Use
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Expand-It 9 in. Universal Straight Shaft Edger Attachment for String Trimmer

Works great with one minor modification

PostedMay 8, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this edger attachment several weeks ago and have used it for a total of a couple hours doing all of the gardens and walkway/driveway edges. Initially I wasn't holding my breath that it would be sufficiently robust to tackle all of the edging that our property needed but it has proven to be more than capable of surviving some serious digging. Two thumbs down to me for being such a skeptic.
Assembly was very straightforward. There are only two or three steps and the unit is assembled and mounted. Adjusting the depth of cut is simple and with the modification mentioned below the machine rolls and tracks very well, very easy to guide with minimal throw back from debris. And wear of the edging blade appears to be very minimal especially considering the number of rocks and asphalt I have encountered.
As was mentioned by another person who reviewed this product, the design of the edger is good with one minor flaw: the guide which protrudes down into the ground behind the spinning blade gets clogged easily and quickly with the result being terrible progress as you constantly have to stop and clear the jam. The fix is to take a grinder w/ a cutoff wheel and remove the bottom several inches of the guide. Result: 5 minutes of modification equals a 100 percent improvement in how this thing works, it's like a different machine.
Overall I can recommend this product, and I can highly recommend it if you are able to perform the modification.
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Expand-It 9 in. Universal Straight Shaft Edger Attachment for String Trimmer
from Houston, TX
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Terrible Edger

PostedJune 12, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I got suckered into purchasing all of the Ryobi interchangeable equipment and it has been one of the worse purchase I have made. Like many others the rubber flap is the first issue you will have with this. I have the 4-Cycle which is junk as well.
Cons: Limited Features, Not Durable, junk
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Expand-It 9 in. Universal Straight Shaft Edger Attachment for String Trimmer
from Cleveland, OH, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Durable and a good value, gets job done but

PostedJune 5, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It's an attachment not a dedicated edger! Dedicated gas edgers are better but if u want to throw it on your weed wackier and edge the around the home and sometimes others homes for a few extra bucks its tough and quick.
The con: I find the direction the blade spins causes me to walk backwards rather than forwards the result is its far more efficient for me. I can walk very fast and dig hard dry soil no problem, walking forward with the blade spin direction is less desirable. Also the guide does get clumped with mud, unit works far better if soil is on the dry side, it has plenty of power is quick to install and durable mine is about 16 years old! I find Ryobi makes good tools, that are well engineered and durable, I have an old Ryobo weed wackier curved shaft 31cc
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Self-Propelled, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
Cons: work better walking backwards
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Expand-It 9 in. Universal Straight Shaft Edger Attachment for String Trimmer
from Merritt Island, FL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Good yard tool

PostedJune 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
High priced compared to others, but a quality item.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Durable
Cons: none yet..
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Expand-It 9 in. Universal Straight Shaft Edger Attachment for String Trimmer
from Valdosta, GA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Think I got a Defective Unit

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Home Depot customer service was terrific and gladly allowed me to exchange, what I think is, a defective unit at no charge. The head where the two arrows are supposed to line up, was lose and could not be tightened making it difficult to control.
Pros: Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Easy to Store
Cons: Not Durable, think defective - exchanged
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Expand-It 9 in. Universal Straight Shaft Edger Attachment for String Trimmer
from Florida
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Seems to be a good product

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Seems to be a good product but really have not had much time to work with it
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Expand-It 9 in. Universal Straight Shaft Edger Attachment for String Trimmer
from Mobile, AL

Works if you modifiy it a bit

PostedAugust 1, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I have used this all summer and it has some design issues. It makes you wonder if the Ryobi people ever test their products. The guide (tooth?) on the back of the trimmer quickly gets clogged then the wheel won't turn and it's pretty frustrating. I got so frustrated this weekend that I took a grinder with a cutoff wheel to it and cut the guide off.
What a difference! It's like a new machine. The wheel functions now instead of getting filled with grass and debris and the unit is MUCH easier to use. I wish I had done this sooner.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Expand-It 9 in. Universal Straight Shaft Edger Attachment for String Trimmer
from KC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Worked Great

PostedMay 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy assembly. I was expecting a difficult 1st edge of the season, but was done quickly. At medium high speeds did the job.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, All In One, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Expand-It 9 in. Universal Straight Shaft Edger Attachment for String Trimmer
from Woodbridge, VA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Design Flaw

PostedApril 20, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The guide in the back clogs the machine. get rid of it. I did not want to cut it off so i returned it.
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Expand-It 9 in. Universal Straight Shaft Edger Attachment for String Trimmer

Product performs well, but the rear guard sometimes interferes with motion.

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Product works well and fit to my Toro as expected. The rear guard seems to be too long as it sometimes interferes with movement of the edger.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Expand-It 9 in. Universal Straight Shaft Edger Attachment for String Trimmer
from Hialeah
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Change the wheel with a bigger wheel

PostedSeptember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
My husband had to changed the wheel with a bigger wheel and also bended the guide because the original wheel is very small. So far it works for him, considering these changes, otherwise I do not recomend this product.
Delivery to our door was fast and free from Home Depot which is very convenient.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Expand-It 9 in. Universal Straight Shaft Edger Attachment for String Trimmer
from Sterling, VA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product is not as good as the one it replaces.

PostedNovember 19, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The edger has a larger, heavier, more aggressive blade than the Ryobi edger attachment I had before. However, the splitter is offset from the blade, which means that the edger can only be used in one direction. The wide fixed plastic debri guard snags on grass hampering maneuverability and prevents the edger from being used to its full depth capability. The previous model had a smaller blade by more than an inch, but could edge deeper. Finally, the edger has a high level of vibration. This is probably the result of the many notches cut in the blade making it hard to mass produce a balanced blade. I still have my old edger and will probably resume using it. All though. I will need to cut down an Echo blade to fit since the smaller Ryobi blade is no longer available at Home Depot
Pros: fits the ryobi power head
Cons: Difficult to Use, not as good as the old model, Vibrates, does not feel very sturdy
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>