728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Trimmers & Edgers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Expand-It 9 in. Universal Straight Shaft Edger Attachment for String Trimmer

Expand-It 9 in. Universal Straight Shaft Edger Attachment for String Trimmer

Use the Ryobi Expand-It Universal Straight-Shaft Edger Attachment for String Trimmer to transform your grass trimmer into a powerful edger. The height of the attachment adjusts to help you create professional edges.
Overall rating:
3.806 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(108 reviews) 108
Open Ratings Snapshot
78%of customersrecommend this product80 of 102reviews
Rating Breakdown 108 reviews
3.8 out of 5.0
5
(47)
4
(30)
3
(10)
2
(5)
1
(16)
Features 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
Quality 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
Value 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
78%of customersrecommend this product80 of 102reviews
Customer reviews for Expand-It 9 in. Universal Straight Shaft Edger Attachment for String Trimmer
Review 1 for Expand-It 9 in. Universal Straight Shaft Edger Attachment for String Trimmer
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works pretty good. Works best with electric power head.

PostedJune 18, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I have had this unit for a couple of years and didn't really like it at first. With the electric 40V power head it seems to work way better. It is much easier to control. The gas power is too powerful and it is easy to nick the sidewalk.
Pros: Easy to Use
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Expand-It 9 in. Universal Straight Shaft Edger Attachment for String Trimmer
from Oklahoma City, OK
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best edger I've had, but small nits keep it from being perfect

PostedJuly 27, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It connects right on the Ryobi 40v power head I bought as a string trimmer. For the most part it works great. When it binds up, it just stops. Lift it out of the work, pull the triggers, and it fires right up again. Edges cleanly and efficiently, but the dirt will tend to get clogged up in the shield, necessitating stopping work to clear the dirt. When I noticed that the professional lawn care people running around were using either brush cutters turned sideways or edgers without shields, I thought about using my reciprocating saw to trim back part of the shield so it wouldn't clog up but it's still under warranty and that seems like it would unnecessarily dangerous because if the blade were to break, there wouldn't be anything to protect you or persons nearby. Remember that you should be wearing full jeans, good shoes, gloves, and safety goggles when you use this or any other piece of equipment, whether you modify it or not.
Pros: Cuts Well, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store
Cons: blade shield could be redesigned.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Expand-It 9 in. Universal Straight Shaft Edger Attachment for String Trimmer

Been using these things for years.

PostedSeptember 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
OK, I've been using these things for years and if you're new to the edging thing and have never edged your yard before you're going to have a hard time unless you have a powerful power plant like the stihl kombi 130 so if you're working with a ryobi 2 stroke it will take some patience. BUT once you have the groove etched into the side of the lawn after the first couple to three times of use it's easy as pie. It will work effortlessly from that point forward. I hear it's easier to go backwards forwards etc. Once you have that groove it works as easily both ways. I have thick saint augustine and don't have problems, ever. This will always be my edger of choice.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Expand-It 9 in. Universal Straight Shaft Edger Attachment for String Trimmer
from Independence, MO, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This attachment works great!

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Works on the Ryobi40-Volt X Lithium-ion string trimmer. Once put together, works as well as a gas equal. Blades cut into the edge for professional look. Only thing that is less than full rating is that there are 3 pieces to put together before use and have to get them exact on for it to work. Had to take apart once and reassemble for it to work.
Pros: Durable, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Expand-It 9 in. Universal Straight Shaft Edger Attachment for String Trimmer
from melbourne fl
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

not good

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
on my second one after using the first one once,fell apart
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Expand-It 9 in. Universal Straight Shaft Edger Attachment for String Trimmer

love the edge

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I had to replace the edger attachment for my troy built string trimmer This was the perfect tool. Best edge I have ever done
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Expand-It 9 in. Universal Straight Shaft Edger Attachment for String Trimmer
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Trimmer attachment

PostedSeptember 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The attachment could be more user friendly but it's a great product overall
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Expand-It 9 in. Universal Straight Shaft Edger Attachment for String Trimmer
from Killeen, TX
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Adequate

PostedJuly 5, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Just as everyone else has mentioned, the first time out this edger is going to give you a work out. You will spend some time going back and forth, lifting and replacing, etc if your edges have overgrown. I just bought this and spent a good chunk of time establish a good edge. The next time shouldn't be a problem. If you are on top of your yard work this will be a great tool. If you are behind on your edging, get ready for a work out. Overall, solid build, easy to attach. The rubber flap doesn't stop a whole lot from coming back at you and it gets backed up with material which will come loose with a few good shakes of the edger. I'm not a pro landscaper but I do have a big yard and the first use was challenging (but that was my fault for letting it get out of hand). I bought the string trimmer, edger, and blower in one shot and overall pleased with my purchase.
Pros: Sturdy
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Expand-It 9 in. Universal Straight Shaft Edger Attachment for String Trimmer
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great, easy to install

PostedJuly 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have owned this for about 3months now. I was VERY weary of buying an attachment, as I was told the individual tool was better, but this has exceeded my expectations. It is much more powerful than I expected it to be and has done a fine job.
Pros: Cuts Well, Powerful
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Expand-It 9 in. Universal Straight Shaft Edger Attachment for String Trimmer

Edward Scissorshands meets his rival

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It's handy to be able to interchange lawn accessories to the trimmer.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Expand-It 9 in. Universal Straight Shaft Edger Attachment for String Trimmer
from Rainsville, al
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Durable and economical, a good attachement

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Works well. Does a clean and sharp cut. The cost is reasonable
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Light Weight, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Expand-It 9 in. Universal Straight Shaft Edger Attachment for String Trimmer
from Oviedo, Florida
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Expand-It Ryobi Edger

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I questioned the quality of the unit at first. However, after closely examining how the unit was made, I found the quality to be very good. I had the older version of this item and I did prefer the rubber roller tire over the hard plastic one that has now replaced it. But, it appears a good durable hard plastic was used for the wheel. I've used the attachment several times now and it has performed well and seems to be pretty durable.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Expand-It 9 in. Universal Straight Shaft Edger Attachment for String Trimmer
from Marietta, GA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very good for my needs

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I love the ease of setup and how quickly you can "get at it." However, I have zoysia grass and this does not have enough horsepower to knock it out in one session.
Also, the guides are not as stable as I would like. I think once I get a good edge on the yard, future maintenance will be easier.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Expand-It 9 in. Universal Straight Shaft Edger Attachment for String Trimmer

Not what I expected

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Did not cut the edges as shown on promo. Disappointed.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Expand-It 9 in. Universal Straight Shaft Edger Attachment for String Trimmer
from Philadelphia
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Was a little wary but it really did the job

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I was a little concerned that a tool that does everything doesn't do any particular job that well. While the edger isn't probably as good as a sole-purpose push edger, it did the job very well and certainly did a much better job than a string trimmer on the tough spots. I will probably get the pruner attachment as well.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Expand-It 9 in. Universal Straight Shaft Edger Attachment for String Trimmer
from Clinton,Oh.
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great little add on

PostedAugust 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I purchased a reconditioned unit and it was the best buy I could have made. The unit attaches easily, It does a great job(after learning not to over force the unit) and it has reduced my trimming time and makes my driveway and sidewalk look neat and tidy.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Expand-It 9 in. Universal Straight Shaft Edger Attachment for String Trimmer

Works great with one minor modification

PostedMay 8, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this edger attachment several weeks ago and have used it for a total of a couple hours doing all of the gardens and walkway/driveway edges. Initially I wasn't holding my breath that it would be sufficiently robust to tackle all of the edging that our property needed but it has proven to be more than capable of surviving some serious digging. Two thumbs down to me for being such a skeptic.
Assembly was very straightforward. There are only two or three steps and the unit is assembled and mounted. Adjusting the depth of cut is simple and with the modification mentioned below the machine rolls and tracks very well, very easy to guide with minimal throw back from debris. And wear of the edging blade appears to be very minimal especially considering the number of rocks and asphalt I have encountered.
As was mentioned by another person who reviewed this product, the design of the edger is good with one minor flaw: the guide which protrudes down into the ground behind the spinning blade gets clogged easily and quickly with the result being terrible progress as you constantly have to stop and clear the jam. The fix is to take a grinder w/ a cutoff wheel and remove the bottom several inches of the guide. Result: 5 minutes of modification equals a 100 percent improvement in how this thing works, it's like a different machine.
Overall I can recommend this product, and I can highly recommend it if you are able to perform the modification.
+22points
22out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Expand-It 9 in. Universal Straight Shaft Edger Attachment for String Trimmer
from Cleveland, OH, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Durable and a good value, gets job done but

PostedJune 5, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It's an attachment not a dedicated edger! Dedicated gas edgers are better but if u want to throw it on your weed wackier and edge the around the home and sometimes others homes for a few extra bucks its tough and quick.
The con: I find the direction the blade spins causes me to walk backwards rather than forwards the result is its far more efficient for me. I can walk very fast and dig hard dry soil no problem, walking forward with the blade spin direction is less desirable. Also the guide does get clumped with mud, unit works far better if soil is on the dry side, it has plenty of power is quick to install and durable mine is about 16 years old! I find Ryobi makes good tools, that are well engineered and durable, I have an old Ryobo weed wackier curved shaft 31cc
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Self-Propelled, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
Cons: work better walking backwards
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Expand-It 9 in. Universal Straight Shaft Edger Attachment for String Trimmer

works great

PostedAugust 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This edger works great. I'd put it up against professional equipment with no regret
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Expand-It 9 in. Universal Straight Shaft Edger Attachment for String Trimmer
from Mission, Texas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Excellent

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
All products I have purchased at Home Depot are excellent quality and easy to use.
Customer Service has greatly improved the last year or so.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>