728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Trimmers & Edgers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Expand-It 9 in. Universal Straight Shaft Edger Attachment for String Trimmer

Expand-It 9 in. Universal Straight Shaft Edger Attachment for String Trimmer

Use the Ryobi Expand-It Universal Straight-Shaft Edger Attachment for String Trimmer to transform your grass trimmer into a powerful edger. The height of the attachment adjusts to help you create professional edges.
Overall rating:
3.815 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(119 reviews) 119
Open Ratings Snapshot
79%of customersrecommend this product89 of 113reviews
Rating Breakdown 119 reviews
3.8 out of 5
5
(53)
4
(32)
3
(11)
2
(5)
1
(18)
Features 
3.8 out of 5
3.8 out of 5
Quality 
3.9 out of 5
3.9 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.7 out of 5
3.7 out of 5
Value 
3.9 out of 5
3.9 out of 5
79%of customersrecommend this product89 of 113reviews
Customer reviews for Expand-It 9 in. Universal Straight Shaft Edger Attachment for String Trimmer
Review 1 for Expand-It 9 in. Universal Straight Shaft Edger Attachment for String Trimmer

Works great with one minor modification

PostedMay 8, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this edger attachment several weeks ago and have used it for a total of a couple hours doing all of the gardens and walkway/driveway edges. Initially I wasn't holding my breath that it would be sufficiently robust to tackle all of the edging that our property needed but it has proven to be more than capable of surviving some serious digging. Two thumbs down to me for being such a skeptic.
Assembly was very straightforward. There are only two or three steps and the unit is assembled and mounted. Adjusting the depth of cut is simple and with the modification mentioned below the machine rolls and tracks very well, very easy to guide with minimal throw back from debris. And wear of the edging blade appears to be very minimal especially considering the number of rocks and asphalt I have encountered.
As was mentioned by another person who reviewed this product, the design of the edger is good with one minor flaw: the guide which protrudes down into the ground behind the spinning blade gets clogged easily and quickly with the result being terrible progress as you constantly have to stop and clear the jam. The fix is to take a grinder w/ a cutoff wheel and remove the bottom several inches of the guide. Result: 5 minutes of modification equals a 100 percent improvement in how this thing works, it's like a different machine.
Overall I can recommend this product, and I can highly recommend it if you are able to perform the modification.
+22points
22out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Expand-It 9 in. Universal Straight Shaft Edger Attachment for String Trimmer
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works pretty good. Works best with electric power head.

PostedJune 18, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I have had this unit for a couple of years and didn't really like it at first. With the electric 40V power head it seems to work way better. It is much easier to control. The gas power is too powerful and it is easy to nick the sidewalk.
Pros: Easy to Use
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Expand-It 9 in. Universal Straight Shaft Edger Attachment for String Trimmer
from Independence, MO, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This attachment works great!

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Works on the Ryobi40-Volt X Lithium-ion string trimmer. Once put together, works as well as a gas equal. Blades cut into the edge for professional look. Only thing that is less than full rating is that there are 3 pieces to put together before use and have to get them exact on for it to work. Had to take apart once and reassemble for it to work.
Pros: Durable, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Expand-It 9 in. Universal Straight Shaft Edger Attachment for String Trimmer
from Mobile, AL

Works if you modifiy it a bit

PostedAugust 1, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I have used this all summer and it has some design issues. It makes you wonder if the Ryobi people ever test their products. The guide (tooth?) on the back of the trimmer quickly gets clogged then the wheel won't turn and it's pretty frustrating. I got so frustrated this weekend that I took a grinder with a cutoff wheel to it and cut the guide off.
What a difference! It's like a new machine. The wheel functions now instead of getting filled with grass and debris and the unit is MUCH easier to use. I wish I had done this sooner.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Expand-It 9 in. Universal Straight Shaft Edger Attachment for String Trimmer
from Cleveland, OH, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Durable and a good value, gets job done but

PostedJune 5, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
It's an attachment not a dedicated edger! Dedicated gas edgers are better but if u want to throw it on your weed wackier and edge the around the home and sometimes others homes for a few extra bucks its tough and quick.
The con: I find the direction the blade spins causes me to walk backwards rather than forwards the result is its far more efficient for me. I can walk very fast and dig hard dry soil no problem, walking forward with the blade spin direction is less desirable. Also the guide does get clumped with mud, unit works far better if soil is on the dry side, it has plenty of power is quick to install and durable mine is about 16 years old! I find Ryobi makes good tools, that are well engineered and durable, I have an old Ryobo weed wackier curved shaft 31cc
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Self-Propelled, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
Cons: work better walking backwards
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Expand-It 9 in. Universal Straight Shaft Edger Attachment for String Trimmer
from Oklahoma City, OK
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best edger I've had, but small nits keep it from being perfect

PostedJuly 27, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
It connects right on the Ryobi 40v power head I bought as a string trimmer. For the most part it works great. When it binds up, it just stops. Lift it out of the work, pull the triggers, and it fires right up again. Edges cleanly and efficiently, but the dirt will tend to get clogged up in the shield, necessitating stopping work to clear the dirt. When I noticed that the professional lawn care people running around were using either brush cutters turned sideways or edgers without shields, I thought about using my reciprocating saw to trim back part of the shield so it wouldn't clog up but it's still under warranty and that seems like it would unnecessarily dangerous because if the blade were to break, there wouldn't be anything to protect you or persons nearby. Remember that you should be wearing full jeans, good shoes, gloves, and safety goggles when you use this or any other piece of equipment, whether you modify it or not.
Pros: Cuts Well, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store
Cons: blade shield could be redesigned.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Expand-It 9 in. Universal Straight Shaft Edger Attachment for String Trimmer
from Evans, GA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Perfect since I'm not a pro

PostedOctober 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought the edger at my local Home Depot and it was already assembled in the box. I use this on my Craftsman weed-eater and it works perfect. I use many Ryobi attachments on my Craftsman, they are always compatible. Like many have said, if you have not kept up with your edging then you will have a workout. The first time I used it, it did clog up but when that happened, I would just hold it off to the side and rev it up a bit and it would clean itself out. I also like the more rounded edges of this blade as opposed to other straight edges. After you get used to using it, you won't nick your sidewalk as much. It is also very easy to adjust depth.
Pros: Durable, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Store, easy depth adjustment
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Expand-It 9 in. Universal Straight Shaft Edger Attachment for String Trimmer
from Woodbridge, VA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Design Flaw

PostedApril 20, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The guide in the back clogs the machine. get rid of it. I did not want to cut it off so i returned it.
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Expand-It 9 in. Universal Straight Shaft Edger Attachment for String Trimmer
from New Mexico, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does the job

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I am going to grade this hard, and will be as explicit as I can be. I hate writting review and I don't even know how people have the time but besides that here it goes. This unit attaches quickly to my ryobi 30cc. This unit needs to have a wheel assembly, both front and back because it wobbles too much. If you don't have a strong grip, and are not ready with your back muscles this unit will exhaust you quickly. I had to trim and edge an area that had my sprinkler heads so close to the side walk which required caution and I have to say this unit made me sweat. If you are not ready this unit can jump up from where it's edging and land in an area where you didn't want to end up. So, for those who are perfectionist out there, use caution with this. If they only attached a wheel assembly front and back, it would make the difference in the world. I had the money to spend for the bigger unit but I saw this and said why not. It attaches, it stores well, it's light weight, and many other features, what could possibly go wrong. Well, my back and my sweat. Other than that, I have to deal with it. It's pricy but not like the four wheel unit edger out there. Gabe NM
Pros: Cuts Well, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Light Weight, Easy to Store
Cons: Difficult to Use, jumps too much, use your back muscles, needs wheel assembly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Expand-It 9 in. Universal Straight Shaft Edger Attachment for String Trimmer
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Versatile add-on

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Great add-on to the gas powered Ryobi 4 cycle gas trimmer.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Expand-It 9 in. Universal Straight Shaft Edger Attachment for String Trimmer

Been using these things for years.

PostedSeptember 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
OK, I've been using these things for years and if you're new to the edging thing and have never edged your yard before you're going to have a hard time unless you have a powerful power plant like the stihl kombi 130 so if you're working with a ryobi 2 stroke it will take some patience. BUT once you have the groove etched into the side of the lawn after the first couple to three times of use it's easy as pie. It will work effortlessly from that point forward. I hear it's easier to go backwards forwards etc. Once you have that groove it works as easily both ways. I have thick saint augustine and don't have problems, ever. This will always be my edger of choice.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Expand-It 9 in. Universal Straight Shaft Edger Attachment for String Trimmer

OK product

PostedJune 24, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I have to agree, it's a whole lot easier to go backward then forward....i have to take out the black plastic guard piece so it easier to manuver......ok product but not excellent...it works fine for me !!!
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Expand-It 9 in. Universal Straight Shaft Edger Attachment for String Trimmer
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Good attachement works well but....

PostedMay 4, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The edger works well but the guide and rubber flap are its Achilles heel. it clogs and binds up no matter what you do even if you cut the rubber flap off it still clogs. Do your self a favor and just take the whole thing off before you use it. Its just one nut and loosen the thumb screw and it comes right off. Then its works great.
+9points
11out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Expand-It 9 in. Universal Straight Shaft Edger Attachment for String Trimmer

Does the job

PostedSeptember 22, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This handy little edger does what it suppose to do. I get so tired of people writing bad reviews when they dont know how to do the job to start with. If you are new to edging a yard then it will take some time to get use to. Once the initial groove is edged on your yard, this product seemlessly keeps it up and works like a charm. Buy this if you want to add it to your collection of weedeater tools and cut down on so many yard tools.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Expand-It 9 in. Universal Straight Shaft Edger Attachment for String Trimmer
from melbourne fl
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

not good

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
on my second one after using the first one once,fell apart
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Expand-It 9 in. Universal Straight Shaft Edger Attachment for String Trimmer
from Killeen, TX
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Adequate

PostedJuly 5, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Just as everyone else has mentioned, the first time out this edger is going to give you a work out. You will spend some time going back and forth, lifting and replacing, etc if your edges have overgrown. I just bought this and spent a good chunk of time establish a good edge. The next time shouldn't be a problem. If you are on top of your yard work this will be a great tool. If you are behind on your edging, get ready for a work out. Overall, solid build, easy to attach. The rubber flap doesn't stop a whole lot from coming back at you and it gets backed up with material which will come loose with a few good shakes of the edger. I'm not a pro landscaper but I do have a big yard and the first use was challenging (but that was my fault for letting it get out of hand). I bought the string trimmer, edger, and blower in one shot and overall pleased with my purchase.
Pros: Sturdy
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Expand-It 9 in. Universal Straight Shaft Edger Attachment for String Trimmer
from Long Island

Great in theory

PostedJuly 5, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased a Toro string trimmer which can accept attachments with the thought of using this edger. I purchased the two items together and went home excited to edge the sidewalk. Well, it didn't work quite as I expected. It is hard to push due to the small size of the wheel and the rear tab which rides in the channel just cut kept binding up. This had to be run at near open throttle to make any progress. Even then the blade could get jammed in place and stop rotating. Overall it didn't work for me. I returned it the very next day. Great idea though. If you really need an edger like this I would recommend replacing the guide wheel.
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Expand-It 9 in. Universal Straight Shaft Edger Attachment for String Trimmer
from Virginia Beach

Good addition to my trimmer

PostedJuly 19, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Bearing in mind this is a light duty tool, it beats the heck out of edging with my string trimmer head. The string trimmer would (a) beat and shred the flowers when edging a bed and (b) wear and break repeatedly when edging the drive and sidewalk; this tool solved both problems.
As other's have stated, it does not work well in wet soil, quickly clogging and bogging down. Also, I have found a back and forth "sawing" motion helps, along with wide open throttle when cutting new edges.
For what it cost, the minimal amount of storage space, and not adding another motor to take care of, I am very happy with this tool.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Expand-It 9 in. Universal Straight Shaft Edger Attachment for String Trimmer
from Atlanta, GA

Great edger for low price

PostedApril 21, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I really wanted an edger to put that special touch on the yard, but just couldn't spend the money on the larger models and can't use a cord with my long driveway. This edger does a fantastic job. Don't try it after a recent rain as it gets bogged down in excessily moist soil, but it does great when it's not mud. I have very long curbs and driveway and this product does just great.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Expand-It 9 in. Universal Straight Shaft Edger Attachment for String Trimmer
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great, easy to install

PostedJuly 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have owned this for about 3months now. I was VERY weary of buying an attachment, as I was told the individual tool was better, but this has exceeded my expectations. It is much more powerful than I expected it to be and has done a fine job.
Pros: Cuts Well, Powerful
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>