728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Trimmers & Edgers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Expand-It 9 in. Universal Straight Shaft Edger Attachment for String Trimmer

Expand-It 9 in. Universal Straight Shaft Edger Attachment for String Trimmer

Use the Ryobi Expand-It Universal Straight-Shaft Edger Attachment for String Trimmer to transform your grass trimmer into a powerful edger. The height of the attachment adjusts to help you create professional edges.
Overall rating:
3.8 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(80 reviews) 80
Open Ratings Snapshot
77%of customersrecommend this product57 of 74reviews
Rating Breakdown 80 reviews
3.8 out of 5.0
5
(35)
4
(21)
3
(8)
2
(5)
1
(11)
Features 
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6 out of 5
Quality 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
77%of customersrecommend this product57 of 74reviews
Customer reviews for Expand-It 9 in. Universal Straight Shaft Edger Attachment for String Trimmer
Review 1 for Expand-It 9 in. Universal Straight Shaft Edger Attachment for String Trimmer
chomowitz

Product performs well, but the rear guard sometimes interferes with motion.

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Product works well and fit to my Toro as expected. The rear guard seems to be too long as it sometimes interferes with movement of the edger.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Expand-It 9 in. Universal Straight Shaft Edger Attachment for String Trimmer
Cephas
from Olympia, WA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Has lots of power with the electric power source.

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Works well but a bit awkward to handle if you are not use to using a blade edge trimmer.
Pros: Durable, Cuts Well, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Expand-It 9 in. Universal Straight Shaft Edger Attachment for String Trimmer
Beerisyummy

Works great with one minor modification

PostedMay 8, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this edger attachment several weeks ago and have used it for a total of a couple hours doing all of the gardens and walkway/driveway edges. Initially I wasn't holding my breath that it would be sufficiently robust to tackle all of the edging that our property needed but it has proven to be more than capable of surviving some serious digging. Two thumbs down to me for being such a skeptic.
Assembly was very straightforward. There are only two or three steps and the unit is assembled and mounted. Adjusting the depth of cut is simple and with the modification mentioned below the machine rolls and tracks very well, very easy to guide with minimal throw back from debris. And wear of the edging blade appears to be very minimal especially considering the number of rocks and asphalt I have encountered.
As was mentioned by another person who reviewed this product, the design of the edger is good with one minor flaw: the guide which protrudes down into the ground behind the spinning blade gets clogged easily and quickly with the result being terrible progress as you constantly have to stop and clear the jam. The fix is to take a grinder w/ a cutoff wheel and remove the bottom several inches of the guide. Result: 5 minutes of modification equals a 100 percent improvement in how this thing works, it's like a different machine.
Overall I can recommend this product, and I can highly recommend it if you are able to perform the modification.
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Expand-It 9 in. Universal Straight Shaft Edger Attachment for String Trimmer
Kenn
from Cleveland, OH, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Durable and a good value, gets job done but

PostedJune 5, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It's an attachment not a dedicated edger! Dedicated gas edgers are better but if u want to throw it on your weed wackier and edge the around the home and sometimes others homes for a few extra bucks its tough and quick.
The con: I find the direction the blade spins causes me to walk backwards rather than forwards the result is its far more efficient for me. I can walk very fast and dig hard dry soil no problem, walking forward with the blade spin direction is less desirable. Also the guide does get clumped with mud, unit works far better if soil is on the dry side, it has plenty of power is quick to install and durable mine is about 16 years old! I find Ryobi makes good tools, that are well engineered and durable, I have an old Ryobo weed wackier curved shaft 31cc
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Self-Propelled, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
Cons: work better walking backwards
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Expand-It 9 in. Universal Straight Shaft Edger Attachment for String Trimmer
Troy1967
from Sterling, VA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product is not as good as the one it replaces.

PostedNovember 19, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The edger has a larger, heavier, more aggressive blade than the Ryobi edger attachment I had before. However, the splitter is offset from the blade, which means that the edger can only be used in one direction. The wide fixed plastic debri guard snags on grass hampering maneuverability and prevents the edger from being used to its full depth capability. The previous model had a smaller blade by more than an inch, but could edge deeper. Finally, the edger has a high level of vibration. This is probably the result of the many notches cut in the blade making it hard to mass produce a balanced blade. I still have my old edger and will probably resume using it. All though. I will need to cut down an Echo blade to fit since the smaller Ryobi blade is no longer available at Home Depot
Pros: fits the ryobi power head
Cons: Difficult to Use, not as good as the old model, Vibrates, does not feel very sturdy
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Expand-It 9 in. Universal Straight Shaft Edger Attachment for String Trimmer
Quartz
from Mobile, AL

Works if you modifiy it a bit

PostedAugust 1, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I have used this all summer and it has some design issues. It makes you wonder if the Ryobi people ever test their products. The guide (tooth?) on the back of the trimmer quickly gets clogged then the wheel won't turn and it's pretty frustrating. I got so frustrated this weekend that I took a grinder with a cutoff wheel to it and cut the guide off.
What a difference! It's like a new machine. The wheel functions now instead of getting filled with grass and debris and the unit is MUCH easier to use. I wish I had done this sooner.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Expand-It 9 in. Universal Straight Shaft Edger Attachment for String Trimmer
BCuba
from Hialeah
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Change the wheel with a bigger wheel

PostedSeptember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
My husband had to changed the wheel with a bigger wheel and also bended the guide because the original wheel is very small. So far it works for him, considering these changes, otherwise I do not recomend this product.
Delivery to our door was fast and free from Home Depot which is very convenient.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Expand-It 9 in. Universal Straight Shaft Edger Attachment for String Trimmer
Verlon
from Woodbridge, VA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Design Flaw

PostedApril 20, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The guide in the back clogs the machine. get rid of it. I did not want to cut it off so i returned it.
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Expand-It 9 in. Universal Straight Shaft Edger Attachment for String Trimmer
jonsan
from Ventura, CA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

AWFUL! DON'T BUY

PostedJune 24, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This Ryobi stuff is awful. You can't even get this attachment to work until you start cutting off that metal piece that others have mentioned. This and the power head that I just purchased are my first experience with Ryobi tools. And my last. I'm taking them both back. Why would you buy something that you have to take home and modify before it will work decently? There are so many other brands of tools that work decently so why mess with Ryobi? I have had good luck with Echo and Stihl. I wonder what "Ryobi" means? "A tool fit for Job himself"?
Cons: Difficult to Use, needs modification before using
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Expand-It 9 in. Universal Straight Shaft Edger Attachment for String Trimmer
Larry
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Edger

PostedMay 28, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I'm guessing someone left handed invented this edger because not only is very difficult to use the blade spins towards you which to me makes no sense at all.
I've had to cut several pieces off just so I can use it.
Cons: Difficult to Use
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Expand-It 9 in. Universal Straight Shaft Edger Attachment for String Trimmer
kwalk
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Good attachement works well but....

PostedMay 4, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The edger works well but the guide and rubber flap are its Achilles heel. it clogs and binds up no matter what you do even if you cut the rubber flap off it still clogs. Do your self a favor and just take the whole thing off before you use it. Its just one nut and loosen the thumb screw and it comes right off. Then its works great.
+8points
10out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Expand-It 9 in. Universal Straight Shaft Edger Attachment for String Trimmer
flynaway
from Atlanta, GA

Great edger for low price

PostedApril 21, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I really wanted an edger to put that special touch on the yard, but just couldn't spend the money on the larger models and can't use a cord with my long driveway. This edger does a fantastic job. Don't try it after a recent rain as it gets bogged down in excessily moist soil, but it does great when it's not mud. I have very long curbs and driveway and this product does just great.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Expand-It 9 in. Universal Straight Shaft Edger Attachment for String Trimmer
latz
from Pflugerville, TX, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

easy assembly, worked right away.

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
using with Toro power head. no issues. works fine, did not seem to have the plugging up issues others mentioned.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Expand-It 9 in. Universal Straight Shaft Edger Attachment for String Trimmer
Azn29

OK product

PostedJune 24, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have to agree, it's a whole lot easier to go backward then forward....i have to take out the black plastic guard piece so it easier to manuver......ok product but not excellent...it works fine for me !!!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Expand-It 9 in. Universal Straight Shaft Edger Attachment for String Trimmer
Troy

Does the job

PostedSeptember 22, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This handy little edger does what it suppose to do. I get so tired of people writing bad reviews when they dont know how to do the job to start with. If you are new to edging a yard then it will take some time to get use to. Once the initial groove is edged on your yard, this product seemlessly keeps it up and works like a charm. Buy this if you want to add it to your collection of weedeater tools and cut down on so many yard tools.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Expand-It 9 in. Universal Straight Shaft Edger Attachment for String Trimmer
Harry

Works great once modified...

PostedOctober 19, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I first tried this edger is it comes out of the box, and like a lot of the reviews said, it clogged up and I
Could only edge a few feet at a time.
So to make this product work...
Step 1: remove rubber guard.
Step 2: get out your hack saw and cut off the metal guide just below the wheel
After doing these two things I can edge like a pro. There is no constantly backing up or clogging of the blade and I can race down the sidewalk.
Also. Look for a reconditioned one first. They are an incredible bargain, but are frequently out of stock.
Pros: value
Cons: needs modified
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Expand-It 9 in. Universal Straight Shaft Edger Attachment for String Trimmer
PleasedCustomer
from Long Island

Great in theory

PostedJuly 5, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased a Toro string trimmer which can accept attachments with the thought of using this edger. I purchased the two items together and went home excited to edge the sidewalk. Well, it didn't work quite as I expected. It is hard to push due to the small size of the wheel and the rear tab which rides in the channel just cut kept binding up. This had to be run at near open throttle to make any progress. Even then the blade could get jammed in place and stop rotating. Overall it didn't work for me. I returned it the very next day. Great idea though. If you really need an edger like this I would recommend replacing the guide wheel.
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Expand-It 9 in. Universal Straight Shaft Edger Attachment for String Trimmer
JCH841
from Virginia Beach

Good addition to my trimmer

PostedJuly 19, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bearing in mind this is a light duty tool, it beats the heck out of edging with my string trimmer head. The string trimmer would (a) beat and shred the flowers when edging a bed and (b) wear and break repeatedly when edging the drive and sidewalk; this tool solved both problems.
As other's have stated, it does not work well in wet soil, quickly clogging and bogging down. Also, I have found a back and forth "sawing" motion helps, along with wide open throttle when cutting new edges.
For what it cost, the minimal amount of storage space, and not adding another motor to take care of, I am very happy with this tool.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Expand-It 9 in. Universal Straight Shaft Edger Attachment for String Trimmer
PTNHCicco

Disappointed

PostedOctober 29, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product severely underperformed. Most importantly, it did not advance well for me. It was difficult to push and keep an even edge. Maybe I just need more practice with it, but I think I'd rather return this and get a better edger.
Cons: Difficult to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Expand-It 9 in. Universal Straight Shaft Edger Attachment for String Trimmer
Al204
from eastern N.C.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

easy to use

PostedOctober 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No assembly required.Never had a lawn to edge so this was new to me.Took a few cuttings to get the hang of it but works great.
Pros: Cuts Well, All In One, Easy to Store
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>