728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Trimmers & Edgers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Expand-It 9 in. Universal Straight Shaft Edger Attachment for String Trimmer

Expand-It 9 in. Universal Straight Shaft Edger Attachment for String Trimmer

Use the RYOBI Expand-It Edger Attachment to transform your string trimmer into a powerful edger. Adjust the depth on the 9 in. serrated blade to help you create professional edges on different areas in your yard. Get the most out of your dual serrated edging blade by reversing it when dull to make use of fresh cutting edges and extending the life of the blade. This edger attachment can be used with RYOBI, Toro, Weed Eater, Troy Bilt, Murray, Poulan Pro Trimmers and other universal brand fit power heads and trimmers.
Overall rating:
3.718 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(131 reviews) 131
Open Ratings Snapshot
76%of customersrecommend this product93 of 123reviews
Rating Breakdown 131 reviews
3.7 out of 5
5
(56)
4
(34)
3
(11)
2
(8)
1
(22)
Features 
3.7 out of 5
3.7 out of 5
Quality 
3.8 out of 5
3.8 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.5 out of 5
3.5 out of 5
Value 
3.7 out of 5
3.7 out of 5
76%of customersrecommend this product93 of 123reviews
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 9 Answers
Customer reviews for Expand-It 9 in. Universal Straight Shaft Edger Attachment for String Trimmer
Review 1 for Expand-It 9 in. Universal Straight Shaft Edger Attachment for String Trimmer
from Riverton, UT
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Lawn edges look the best they ever have.

PostedJune 2, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I used this attachment with my 40V Ryobi trimmer. The attachment worked flawlessly. I have never used any other tool to edge my lawn as I have never edged my law before. My lawn looks great!
I will say this about the 40V trimmer, it may have been a little under powered at times or it may have been my inexperience with edging. One thing is for sure, the regular capacity 40V battery was not enough for job. I got the front lawn done with nearly barely over 2 charges. I charged and used it dead, charged and used it dead, charged and finished the last 10 feet. It was only a slight inconvenience because I don't normally edge and the battery lasts plenty for other jobs.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Store
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Expand-It 9 in. Universal Straight Shaft Edger Attachment for String Trimmer
from St Petersburg FL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not a real tool

PostedJune 20, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this for use with the Ryobi 40v RY40220 trimmer, both of which I would not consider as tools. I say that because although it looks nice, it is unable to do the job for which it is intended. Basic design flaws prevent this from being useful right out of the box (see other reviews suggesting modifications), materials are cheap and fragile, and way under designed for long term use. For example, the plastic shroud around the edger blade is not circular but has odd angles, and comes around the open side of the edger, which create pockets that trap dirt, grass & debris. This in turn adds resistance to the blade, which stalls the power head, causing you to stop and clean it out every few minutes. In the half hour I used this "tool" I spent half my time turning it upside down and digging out the grass & dirt with my fingers. The little plastic wheel is held on with a pressed on retainer cap like you would find on a child's toy wagon. The bracket that supports the wheel is so thin you can bend it with your fingers. There is no way this thing would last with regular usage. If you really need an edger, save your money and buy a better tool that works and doesn't waste your time. I returned this Ryobi set and replaced it with the Echo 58v trimmer & PAS edger attachment - those are real tools.
Pros: Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store
Cons: Difficult to Use, Not Durable, self defeating
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Expand-It 9 in. Universal Straight Shaft Edger Attachment for String Trimmer
from Colorado
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great, saves time and effort

PostedJune 5, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I used this edger attachment with a Ryobi 2-stroke power head to edge over 750’ of lawn. I previously use a string attachment with a heavy 1.05 line to do the job. It took over 45 minutes, ate up lots of line and was labor intensive having to hold up the machine and manually align the cutting edge and depth. With this edger, the job was done in less than 15 minutes, took almost no effort and it cut a perfect edge (even around corners).
As with all equipment, read the instructions. If it’s the first time cutting a new edge, set the attachment to a shallower depth (maybe 1” or so) and don’t force the cut. If needed, come back a second time with a deeper depth setting. If your power head bogs down too much, adjust the depth setting and slow down. It’s all common sense - let the machine do the work.
I wish I had bought this attachment earlier because it would have saved me a lot of time and wasted energy over the years. It’s a great buy and I highly recommend it!
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Expand-It 9 in. Universal Straight Shaft Edger Attachment for String Trimmer
from Columbia, SC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Straight Shaft Edger

PostedMay 19, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
First use I was greatly satisfied with. Cut was straight and to the depth I had set.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Expand-It 9 in. Universal Straight Shaft Edger Attachment for String Trimmer

worked great.

PostedApril 28, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Purchased this thinking it looked a little cheap, but it worked great edging my driveway and sidewalk that was unmaintained for years. I believe it should work for many seasons to come.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Expand-It 9 in. Universal Straight Shaft Edger Attachment for String Trimmer
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

NOT universal

PostedJune 2, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It was easy to assemble, however the shaft diameter is the exact same as the diameter of the shaft on my trimmer. So it is not universal. The box was damaged in shipping and I threw it away before testing it, so I don't believe I can return it to a store. I bought it on homedepot.com.
Cons: not universal
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Expand-It 9 in. Universal Straight Shaft Edger Attachment for String Trimmer
from Cabot, AR, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Waste of money!

PostedJune 2, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Edger constantly bogs down Can't do more than a foot at a time, then it stops and you have to start agian.
Cons: poor cutting, useless
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Expand-It 9 in. Universal Straight Shaft Edger Attachment for String Trimmer

Works great with one minor modification

PostedMay 8, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this edger attachment several weeks ago and have used it for a total of a couple hours doing all of the gardens and walkway/driveway edges. Initially I wasn't holding my breath that it would be sufficiently robust to tackle all of the edging that our property needed but it has proven to be more than capable of surviving some serious digging. Two thumbs down to me for being such a skeptic.
Assembly was very straightforward. There are only two or three steps and the unit is assembled and mounted. Adjusting the depth of cut is simple and with the modification mentioned below the machine rolls and tracks very well, very easy to guide with minimal throw back from debris. And wear of the edging blade appears to be very minimal especially considering the number of rocks and asphalt I have encountered.
As was mentioned by another person who reviewed this product, the design of the edger is good with one minor flaw: the guide which protrudes down into the ground behind the spinning blade gets clogged easily and quickly with the result being terrible progress as you constantly have to stop and clear the jam. The fix is to take a grinder w/ a cutoff wheel and remove the bottom several inches of the guide. Result: 5 minutes of modification equals a 100 percent improvement in how this thing works, it's like a different machine.
Overall I can recommend this product, and I can highly recommend it if you are able to perform the modification.
+26points
26out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Expand-It 9 in. Universal Straight Shaft Edger Attachment for String Trimmer
from Pearland, Texas
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Think twice.... Poor Design of Guide and wheel.

PostedMay 12, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Poor quality. I was making my first pass and the wheel and metal guide bent to the point it wouldn't work. Cheap plastic housing also cracked.
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Expand-It 9 in. Universal Straight Shaft Edger Attachment for String Trimmer
from Mobile, AL

Works if you modifiy it a bit

PostedAugust 1, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I have used this all summer and it has some design issues. It makes you wonder if the Ryobi people ever test their products. The guide (tooth?) on the back of the trimmer quickly gets clogged then the wheel won't turn and it's pretty frustrating. I got so frustrated this weekend that I took a grinder with a cutoff wheel to it and cut the guide off.
What a difference! It's like a new machine. The wheel functions now instead of getting filled with grass and debris and the unit is MUCH easier to use. I wish I had done this sooner.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Expand-It 9 in. Universal Straight Shaft Edger Attachment for String Trimmer
from Michigan

Very weak and unusable

PostedApril 26, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
I tried to used this attachment and found the quality is not like other Expand It products. It is very hard to use and as other users said.....the metal holding the wimpy wheel just bends right over. Could not edge 2 feet. My neighbor saw my problems and bought over his cheap electric edger. It worked great. It had two wheels for stability and a very thick guide. It worked great but the downside is that you are stuck to a cord
Cons: Not Durable
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Expand-It 9 in. Universal Straight Shaft Edger Attachment for String Trimmer
from Cleveland, OH, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Durable and a good value, gets job done but

PostedJune 5, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
It's an attachment not a dedicated edger! Dedicated gas edgers are better but if u want to throw it on your weed wackier and edge the around the home and sometimes others homes for a few extra bucks its tough and quick.
The con: I find the direction the blade spins causes me to walk backwards rather than forwards the result is its far more efficient for me. I can walk very fast and dig hard dry soil no problem, walking forward with the blade spin direction is less desirable. Also the guide does get clumped with mud, unit works far better if soil is on the dry side, it has plenty of power is quick to install and durable mine is about 16 years old! I find Ryobi makes good tools, that are well engineered and durable, I have an old Ryobo weed wackier curved shaft 31cc
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Self-Propelled, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
Cons: work better walking backwards
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Expand-It 9 in. Universal Straight Shaft Edger Attachment for String Trimmer
from Social Circle, Ga
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not quite good enough

PostedApril 21, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
while it will edge, it needs a wheel to help keep it steady. Too difficult for lots of edging. would not recommend.
Pros: Easy to Store
Cons: Limited Features, Difficult to Use, No Instructions
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Expand-It 9 in. Universal Straight Shaft Edger Attachment for String Trimmer
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works pretty good. Works best with electric power head.

PostedJune 18, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I have had this unit for a couple of years and didn't really like it at first. With the electric 40V power head it seems to work way better. It is much easier to control. The gas power is too powerful and it is easy to nick the sidewalk.
Pros: Easy to Use
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Expand-It 9 in. Universal Straight Shaft Edger Attachment for String Trimmer
from Independence, MO, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This attachment works great!

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Works on the Ryobi40-Volt X Lithium-ion string trimmer. Once put together, works as well as a gas equal. Blades cut into the edge for professional look. Only thing that is less than full rating is that there are 3 pieces to put together before use and have to get them exact on for it to work. Had to take apart once and reassemble for it to work.
Pros: Durable, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Expand-It 9 in. Universal Straight Shaft Edger Attachment for String Trimmer
from Northeast Georgia
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Almost ready to take it back...

PostedApril 10, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I didn't even get 20 feet before I discovered the cheap metal used to mount the wheel and guide had bent. Very difficult to keep on track. Did my whole yard (2/3 acre corner lot), but wasn't happy fighting with it. The blade is almost shot already as well. I'll give it one more try, but I'll probably go back to my B&D Edge Hog.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Not Durable
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Expand-It 9 in. Universal Straight Shaft Edger Attachment for String Trimmer
from Trinity, FL
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Edges wonderfully

PostedApril 9, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The product works great with a minor adjustment. The guide is slightly too long but nothing a hacksaw and a few minutes can't fix. After that minor modification the product works amazing!
Pros: Cuts Well, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Easy to Store
Cons: guide too long
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Expand-It 9 in. Universal Straight Shaft Edger Attachment for String Trimmer
from Woodbridge, VA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Design Flaw

PostedApril 20, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The guide in the back clogs the machine. get rid of it. I did not want to cut it off so i returned it.
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Expand-It 9 in. Universal Straight Shaft Edger Attachment for String Trimmer

Does the job

PostedSeptember 22, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This handy little edger does what it suppose to do. I get so tired of people writing bad reviews when they dont know how to do the job to start with. If you are new to edging a yard then it will take some time to get use to. Once the initial groove is edged on your yard, this product seemlessly keeps it up and works like a charm. Buy this if you want to add it to your collection of weedeater tools and cut down on so many yard tools.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Expand-It 9 in. Universal Straight Shaft Edger Attachment for String Trimmer
from Long Island

Great in theory

PostedJuly 5, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased a Toro string trimmer which can accept attachments with the thought of using this edger. I purchased the two items together and went home excited to edge the sidewalk. Well, it didn't work quite as I expected. It is hard to push due to the small size of the wheel and the rear tab which rides in the channel just cut kept binding up. This had to be run at near open throttle to make any progress. Even then the blade could get jammed in place and stop rotating. Overall it didn't work for me. I returned it the very next day. Great idea though. If you really need an edger like this I would recommend replacing the guide wheel.
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 7 >>