728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Trimmers & Edgers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Expand-It 9 in. Universal Straight Shaft Edger Attachment for String Trimmer

Expand-It 9 in. Universal Straight Shaft Edger Attachment for String Trimmer

Use the Ryobi Expand-It Edger Attachment to transform your string trimmer into a powerful edger. Adjust the depth on the 9 in. serrated blade to help you create professional edges on different areas in your yard. Get the most out of your dual serrated edging blade by reversing it when dull to make use of fresh cutting edges and extending the life of the blade. This edger attachment can be used with Ryobi, Toro, Weed Eater, Troy Bilt, Murray, Poulan Pro Trimmers and other universal brand fit power heads and trimmers.
Overall rating:
3.705 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(146 reviews) 146
Open Ratings Snapshot
75%of customersrecommend this product103 of 137reviews
Rating Breakdown 146 reviews
3.7 out of 5
5
(63)
4
(34)
3
(15)
2
(11)
1
(23)
Features 
3.7 out of 5
3.7 out of 5
Quality 
3.7 out of 5
3.7 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.6 out of 5
3.6 out of 5
Value 
3.8 out of 5
3.8 out of 5
75%of customersrecommend this product103 of 137reviews
Customer questions and answers:
7 Questions | 13 Answers
Customer reviews for Expand-It 9 in. Universal Straight Shaft Edger Attachment for String Trimmer
Review 1 for Expand-It 9 in. Universal Straight Shaft Edger Attachment for String Trimmer
from Riverton, UT
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Lawn edges look the best they ever have.

PostedJune 2, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I used this attachment with my 40V Ryobi trimmer. The attachment worked flawlessly. I have never used any other tool to edge my lawn as I have never edged my law before. My lawn looks great!
I will say this about the 40V trimmer, it may have been a little under powered at times or it may have been my inexperience with edging. One thing is for sure, the regular capacity 40V battery was not enough for job. I got the front lawn done with nearly barely over 2 charges. I charged and used it dead, charged and used it dead, charged and finished the last 10 feet. It was only a slight inconvenience because I don't normally edge and the battery lasts plenty for other jobs.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Store
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Expand-It 9 in. Universal Straight Shaft Edger Attachment for String Trimmer
from Houston, TX
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great idea, quality needs to be improved

PostedJuly 21, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Let me start off by saying that this attachment worked well and made quicker work of edging (as opposed to a string trimmer) once the initial edge is there. The initial work of cleaning up at the concrete edge is fussy as the steel bit that aligns with the edge of the concrete gets clogged and stuck in the dirt easily. My biggest issue is with the quality. While the moving parts are all seemingly substantial, the wheel, alignment bar and such are poor quality...so much so that just leaving this on its side in the sun for 45 minutes while I mowed after edging cause the wheel to warp to where it wouldn't turn. Straight back to HD. If Ryobi can fix its quality issues, I would definitely give this one another shot...
Pros: Easy to Store
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Expand-It 9 in. Universal Straight Shaft Edger Attachment for String Trimmer
from Colorado
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great, saves time and effort

PostedJune 5, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I used this edger attachment with a Ryobi 2-stroke power head to edge over 750’ of lawn. I previously use a string attachment with a heavy 1.05 line to do the job. It took over 45 minutes, ate up lots of line and was labor intensive having to hold up the machine and manually align the cutting edge and depth. With this edger, the job was done in less than 15 minutes, took almost no effort and it cut a perfect edge (even around corners).
As with all equipment, read the instructions. If it’s the first time cutting a new edge, set the attachment to a shallower depth (maybe 1” or so) and don’t force the cut. If needed, come back a second time with a deeper depth setting. If your power head bogs down too much, adjust the depth setting and slow down. It’s all common sense - let the machine do the work.
I wish I had bought this attachment earlier because it would have saved me a lot of time and wasted energy over the years. It’s a great buy and I highly recommend it!
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Expand-It 9 in. Universal Straight Shaft Edger Attachment for String Trimmer

Disappointed

PostedAugust 25, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Product came without a critical piece of hardware that I had to replace in order to use.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Expand-It 9 in. Universal Straight Shaft Edger Attachment for String Trimmer
from CT
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

very powerful edger!

PostedAugust 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy to use, very powerful. Charging is relatively fast.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Powerful
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Expand-It 9 in. Universal Straight Shaft Edger Attachment for String Trimmer

Good overall product

PostedAugust 25, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Instructions not the best..........................
Pros: Powerful
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Expand-It 9 in. Universal Straight Shaft Edger Attachment for String Trimmer
from St Petersburg FL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not a real tool

PostedJune 20, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this for use with the Ryobi 40v RY40220 trimmer, both of which I would not consider as tools. I say that because although it looks nice, it is unable to do the job for which it is intended. Basic design flaws prevent this from being useful right out of the box (see other reviews suggesting modifications), materials are cheap and fragile, and way under designed for long term use. For example, the plastic shroud around the edger blade is not circular but has odd angles, and comes around the open side of the edger, which create pockets that trap dirt, grass & debris. This in turn adds resistance to the blade, which stalls the power head, causing you to stop and clean it out every few minutes. In the half hour I used this "tool" I spent half my time turning it upside down and digging out the grass & dirt with my fingers. The little plastic wheel is held on with a pressed on retainer cap like you would find on a child's toy wagon. The bracket that supports the wheel is so thin you can bend it with your fingers. There is no way this thing would last with regular usage. If you really need an edger, save your money and buy a better tool that works and doesn't waste your time. I returned this Ryobi set and replaced it with the Echo 58v trimmer & PAS edger attachment - those are real tools.
Pros: Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store
Cons: Difficult to Use, Not Durable, self defeating
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Expand-It 9 in. Universal Straight Shaft Edger Attachment for String Trimmer
from Colorado
Age Range:55 to 64
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Rybo Deger

PostedAugust 4, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is a great product. You buy one 4 cycle product (I bought the trimmer) and the edger was just one of several attachments. It is easy to change heads (attachments) and for most would be easy to use. I am old and somewhat disabled and was able to edge my lawn. Not as pretty as it would be if I could move easier, this is not the products fault. for what it is, this is a great product.
Pros: Cuts Well, All In One, Powerful, Great Engine, Easy to Store
Cons: No Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Expand-It 9 in. Universal Straight Shaft Edger Attachment for String Trimmer

Ok so far

PostedAugust 3, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I just got mine yesterday haven't really got the hang of it yet it cut pretty good easy to adjust easy too use not a bad for the price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Expand-It 9 in. Universal Straight Shaft Edger Attachment for String Trimmer
from New Jrsey
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Seems OK, not sure how long it will last

PostedJuly 28, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The edger attaches very easily to the business end. It is fairly easy to use once you get the hang of it.
I didn't notice it was missing a nut that holds the bottom housing together when it arrived. I put on a nut and washer, but with the nut tight enough to avoid vibration, you can't adjust the height. I think it will last about 3 years tops.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Expand-It 9 in. Universal Straight Shaft Edger Attachment for String Trimmer
from Brandon florida
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

dissapointmnet

PostedJuly 21, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Disappointing all around,, easy to assemble but works very poorly. I returned it. The tab that holds in in a straight line on the sidewalk edge is deeper than the blade,, digs in ,, made a mess . Back to 25 + year old edger from Monkey wards ,, it smokes like crazy but does a great job. Some attachments just don't work out.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Expand-It 9 in. Universal Straight Shaft Edger Attachment for String Trimmer
from Columbia, SC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Straight Shaft Edger

PostedMay 19, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
First use I was greatly satisfied with. Cut was straight and to the depth I had set.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Expand-It 9 in. Universal Straight Shaft Edger Attachment for String Trimmer

Not as easy hard for left handers

PostedJune 30, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
It's not as easy to work with, used it 4-5 times and got better with it each time but since I am not a technical guy and very new to yard work I just don't have the right words to explain myself any better right now but there is some design flaw somewhere and the wheel does not sit properly on the ground for anyone to roll it easily when edging and the flap on the back behind the wheel is also quite annoying and throws you off a lot as you try to roll it and walk with it. I have to keep it lifted above the ground level to do my edging, no real support videos to help you understand how to use this efficiently and how to work around different challenges however works well with RYOBI weed eater, I have the electric weed eater which is absolutely amazing
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Expand-It 9 in. Universal Straight Shaft Edger Attachment for String Trimmer

Works great with one minor modification

PostedMay 8, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this edger attachment several weeks ago and have used it for a total of a couple hours doing all of the gardens and walkway/driveway edges. Initially I wasn't holding my breath that it would be sufficiently robust to tackle all of the edging that our property needed but it has proven to be more than capable of surviving some serious digging. Two thumbs down to me for being such a skeptic.
Assembly was very straightforward. There are only two or three steps and the unit is assembled and mounted. Adjusting the depth of cut is simple and with the modification mentioned below the machine rolls and tracks very well, very easy to guide with minimal throw back from debris. And wear of the edging blade appears to be very minimal especially considering the number of rocks and asphalt I have encountered.
As was mentioned by another person who reviewed this product, the design of the edger is good with one minor flaw: the guide which protrudes down into the ground behind the spinning blade gets clogged easily and quickly with the result being terrible progress as you constantly have to stop and clear the jam. The fix is to take a grinder w/ a cutoff wheel and remove the bottom several inches of the guide. Result: 5 minutes of modification equals a 100 percent improvement in how this thing works, it's like a different machine.
Overall I can recommend this product, and I can highly recommend it if you are able to perform the modification.
+26points
26out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Expand-It 9 in. Universal Straight Shaft Edger Attachment for String Trimmer
from rochester ny
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Expand-It 9 in. Universal Straight Shaft Edger

PostedJuly 22, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This unit is easy to put together. Does a good jog edging. Worth the money.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Powerful
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Expand-It 9 in. Universal Straight Shaft Edger Attachment for String Trimmer

worked great.

PostedApril 28, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Purchased this thinking it looked a little cheap, but it worked great edging my driveway and sidewalk that was unmaintained for years. I believe it should work for many seasons to come.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Expand-It 9 in. Universal Straight Shaft Edger Attachment for String Trimmer
from Cincinnati Ohio
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Everything I was looking for....

PostedJuly 8, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Perfect for moderate home use and easy to work. Started right away. Hardest thing was getting out of the packaging. Love the snap in attachments...
Pros: All In One, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Expand-It 9 in. Universal Straight Shaft Edger Attachment for String Trimmer
from Roanoke, Tx
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

EDGER ATTACHMENT

PostedJuly 7, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I ordered the universal edger attachment for my weed eater. I am not an experienced yard person ... It attached with ease and was pretty easy to use as well.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Expand-It 9 in. Universal Straight Shaft Edger Attachment for String Trimmer

Ryobi Edger

PostedJuly 8, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Awesome exactly what I was looking for. Thank You Home Depot.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Expand-It 9 in. Universal Straight Shaft Edger Attachment for String Trimmer
from Tacoma, WA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not Compatible

PostedJune 30, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have struggled with this one as to the rating….the attachment didn’t work well with the troy-built power head! It was a little hard to use also being left handed, which is true on a lot of occasions. I would say, keep the receipt and give it a try! I prefer a corded unit for the cut-ins and a line trimmer to maintain the edging after that.
Pros: Durable
Cons: Limited Features, Difficult to Use, height adjustment
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 8 >>