728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Universal Bird Feeder Pole

Universal Bird Feeder Pole

The Top Flight Universal Bird Feeder Pole can be used to secure birdfeeders in the ground or for hanging bird feeders, and includes an extension arm for hanging-only feeders. It includes extension arm and adaptor for both hanging-only feeders and wood feeders.
Overall rating:
4.05 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(20 reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
80%of customersrecommend this product16 of 20reviews
Rating Breakdown 20 reviews
4.1 out of 5
5
(9)
4
(7)
3
(1)
2
(2)
1
(1)
Quality 
3.6 out of 5
3.6 out of 5
Value 
3.9 out of 5
3.9 out of 5
80%of customersrecommend this product16 of 20reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer reviews for Universal Bird Feeder Pole
Review 1 for Universal Bird Feeder Pole
from Atlanta, GA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good buy

PostedMay 15, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have Perky-Pet Deluxe Chalet Bird Feeder mounted on top, sitting out of squirrel jump range. It wobbles a little but otherwise pretty stable. Keep in mind that this is made of steel (which is why it's fairly inexpensive), painted on the outside, but only a matter of time before steel rusts - the bottom touching the ground and the tips of the sections. Ground sleeve included so you don't scrape the paint during install.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Universal Bird Feeder Pole
from Kalamazoo, MI, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Sturdy

PostedJanuary 2, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Good Product, I liked the how tall this elevates the feeders. We have had problems with Deer knocking the feeders over in the past.
Pros: Durable, Stylish
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Universal Bird Feeder Pole
from sc
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great cheap bird pole

PostedNovember 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this pole to add height to another similar bird house pole; and it worked beautifully. It is easy to assemble and very sturdy.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality, Durable, Easy to Clean, Strong, Sharp
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Universal Bird Feeder Pole

Blue Bird House Pole (aka Bird Feeder Pole)

PostedApril 30, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I bought the kit to place a blue-bird house my wife had bought in the yard. Pole holder went easily into ground. I used a bit of plumbers tape to tighten up the joint between the pole segments. Screwed the feeder/house holder into the bottom of the bird house. No problem. Then I noticed that there is no pin or screw to lock down the holder onto the pole - it just sits on top! I thought this won't work but the bird house hasn't fallen through several storms. We had a blue bird family move in the next day.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Universal Bird Feeder Pole

Great pole for the price

PostedJanuary 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I like the option of a hanging or mounted feeder. Very easy to install.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Universal Bird Feeder Pole
from Utah
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Holds plenty of seed and is easy to fill.

PostedOctober 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I also bought a squirrel baffle, which fits perfectly over the hanging mechanism, and keeps the seed dry.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Universal Bird Feeder Pole
from North Attleboro MA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Universal Bird Feeder Pole

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Good product for the price. I just wish it had something to secure the bird feeder to the hook. A squirrel knocked off the first bird feeder I bought. I bought a second one but secured it with some wire. Overall good product.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great
Cons: no securing device to secure bird feeder
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Universal Bird Feeder Pole
from Bloomington, IN
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great

PostedMarch 27, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Sturdy and easy to assemble. It is the correct level for viewing and yet still easy to reach to fill the feeder.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Universal Bird Feeder Pole
from Swampscott MA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Average

PostedFebruary 10, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The idea is very good but the pole is too short, the top "hanger" bracket to hang a feeder is not secure for winds and the bottom bracket to anchor the pole is way too small
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: Not Durable, pole way too short, bottom bracket way too small, top bracket to hang feeder not secure
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Universal Bird Feeder Pole

My three-year-old loves it

PostedFebruary 11, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
It's withstood some strong winds, squirrels climbing on it every day and at the same time given plenty of joy to my three-year-old boy and the rest of my family
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Universal Bird Feeder Pole
from norhern VA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

works as advertised

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Only reason that I didn't give it 5/5 is that I think for the price it should include a large single piece squirel baffle. I realize this would effect product packaging (as it comes in a nice rectangle box), but it would make the product more complete.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Lots of Features, High Quality, Nice Design
Cons: more features
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Universal Bird Feeder Pole
from Green Bay, WI, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A quality product for the price.

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
It was very easy to assemble. Stands up to the weather, wind and easily supports a full feeder.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Universal Bird Feeder Pole
from Ladera Ranch,Ca.

Feeder Pole

PostedOctober 14, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This pole came in real handy. I live in an apartment and I could not put in any mounting hardware to the outside of our unit. This product enabled me to use my hummingbird feeder without any upsetting anyone and it looks good to.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Universal Bird Feeder Pole
from upstate NY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does the job!

PostedSeptember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The productworks as promise, is sturdy and a good value.
Pros: Easy to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Universal Bird Feeder Pole
from Sarasota, FL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Not very good for the average feeder!

PostedMarch 31, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Not sturdy or tall enough. Does not stay firmly in ground with collar provided
Pros: cheap
Cons: Not Durable, Not Sturdy
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Universal Bird Feeder Pole
from Leesburg, VA

This pole is lightweight and broke the second time I used it.

PostedFebruary 8, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was very disappointed with this product. The pole is made out of lightweight metal and bent and then broke when I put a full birdfeeder on it. I would not recommend it for anything except perhaps a decorative feeder that does not contain birdseed. Very disappointing.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Universal Bird Feeder Pole

a good idea, poorly executed

PostedJanuary 22, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
While this product is relatively inexpensive, it is rickety - the sections do not fit together securely. I plan to return it.
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Universal Bird Feeder Pole
from Evergreen, CO 80439, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to install and put up

PostedJuly 16, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Good design, materials and easy to install. Simple and easy.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Universal Bird Feeder Pole
from Pittsburgh, PA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

So far so good!

PostedDecember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Installed this in the front yard to give our cat something to daydream about. My only wish is that it actually came with a few extra pieces/lengths in order to make it taller. We have deer in the area and this is at perfect height for them to get at, so far they haven't. Other than that, I am really happy with it. I put some plumber's tape on the pieces before tapping them into the next section.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Universal Bird Feeder Pole
from Dallas, TX
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Like it so far

PostedMay 16, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I've only had this for a few days now, so I can't comment on the durability of the product long term.
For the price, it's really great. I had a bird feeder hanging from the tree, which was causing the squirrels to jump onto the feeder and destroy it. So far, the birds seem to like it. I have the pickiest wild birds who will sit on my fence and stare at the kitchen window or come to the front of the house and sit in the window and chirp at me because they either a) don't have enough food, or b) don't like the feeder. No exaggeration there - I know because the second I put their approved brand of feed in there and make sure the feeder is stocked they come, eat, and leave. I haven't had any problems (yet) with squirrels shimmying up the pole and shaking the feeder (4 bird feeders later, I might add - now that the Board of Bird Directors has approved). Took all of about 10 minutes to dig, mount, and assemble fully into the ground.
The hook is very small, so expect your feeder to probably fall off in the wind. I solved that problem by taking some thick wire and wrapping it around the hook and the feeder to keep it in place. It's not pretty, but the picky princes / princesses don't seem to mind. Good thing is it's tall enough to be up off the ground, but not tall enough to raise scrutiny by my neighbors when they see 5,000 birds descending upon my backyard each day.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.