728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Paint Sprayers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Paint Crew Airless Paint Sprayer

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Home Depot.

Paint Crew Airless Paint Sprayer

The Wagner Paint Crew Airless Paint Sprayer sprays latex and oil-based paints, stains, sealers and waterproof with no thinning required. Featuring a 2,800 psi maximum spray pressure, this powerful sprayer provides an 8 in. spray pattern for even coverage. The sprayer's full-length 4-finger trigger helps reduce hand fatigue, while its in-handle paint filter helps reduce tip clogs and improves the paint finish.
Overall rating:
3.908 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(98 reviews) 97
Open Ratings Snapshot
83%of customersrecommend this product81 of 98reviews
Rating Breakdown 98 reviews
3.9 out of 5.0
5
(41)
4
(32)
3
(9)
2
(7)
1
(9)
Quality 
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6 out of 5
Value 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
83%of customersrecommend this product81 of 98reviews
Customer reviews for Paint Crew Airless Paint Sprayer
Review 41 for Paint Crew Airless Paint Sprayer
from Rapid City, SD

Wagner 1/2 HP Spray Tech Paint Crew Sprayer

PostedJune 26, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Wow! This is a great product. We painted two long sides of our house in a little over two hours. We covered new cement siding with one good coat of paint using the Wagner Paint Crew we bought online from Home Depot. We are very impressed. We highly recommend this work-horse paint sprayer.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 42 for Paint Crew Airless Paint Sprayer
from Miami, Fl.

A Must have!

PostedApril 7, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
If you're a weekend warrior looking to paint your house like I was, this sprayer is the one. Just like you, I read reviews and researched the heck before I bought it. It performed great. The gun is easy to handle and you get the hang of it very quickly. Cleaning is a process but then again, when you paint, cleaning is always a process. Word of advice, read the manual carefully. There are hints that can prove to be very helpful especially to clean the tip while painting. I painted my house in a day. If it were a brush and roller it would have taken me 1 week. Simply AWESOME!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 43 for Paint Crew Airless Paint Sprayer
from Simpsonville, SC

Excellent Product - Great Timesaver

PostedMarch 3, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We thoroughly enjoyed using this paint sprayer and had absolutely no problems with it. We did follow the directions completely, straining the paint and adding the Floetrol to it. It was a great timesaver and well worth the money for a big project.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 44 for Paint Crew Airless Paint Sprayer
from Alpharetta, GA

Good, but a hassle

PostedFebruary 22, 2008
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I wanted to paint kitchen cabinets and have a smooth finish. The unit that I bought had the XT-07 sprayer (cast metal) and it broke when I tried to remove the paint filter. You must remove the paint filter and clean it after each use. I returned it and got another unit with the XT-07 sprayer. After using it I could not loosen the nut to remove the filter. Wagner sent me a replacement unit that is their "Paint Crew" model. That works great. Apparently some packages were put together using the XT-07. I would not buy one with that sprayer. As far as painting, did a great job. Very fast. Only a few paint globs. Cleaning is a project though.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 45 for Paint Crew Airless Paint Sprayer
from pa

bad bad bad

PostedDecember 15, 2007
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
i bought the Wagner paint crew about 6 months ago used it once to paint a ceiling worked fine for about a hour then it started jamming up i screened the paint multiple times then it just trickled out the end i called Wagner they told me i needed a new part that part cost $30 so i decided to just return it and get a another same thing happened after about 20 mins of use and we where under a deadline to get the job done so i returned it again and decided to just face up and buy a XR7 Airless Paint Sprayer thats amazing i recommend it to everyone don't buy a Wagner paint crew its more hassle then its worth
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 46 for Paint Crew Airless Paint Sprayer
from BHC, AZ

Great sprayer! Maybe not indoors!

PostedSeptember 21, 2007
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I used this once to spray a back bedroom. I covered up everything that might get paint on it. Even shut the door and covered that. After I was done and was very light headed, I opened the door and to my suprise the house smelt like a chemical bomb just went off. The paint fumes were so strong that we had to stay at a friends house. But it did a good job. I would recomend for outside or if new construction then inside would be okay to. Never leaked though, like the other reviewer mentioned.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 47 for Paint Crew Airless Paint Sprayer
from KS

Wagner Paint Crew

PostedAugust 12, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This sprayer is a very good piece of equipment to have if you're a homeowner. Add a Roller arm attachment and you will gladly take on any project. Good quality and fairly easy to use and clean-up. Nice Product!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 48 for Paint Crew Airless Paint Sprayer
from Clare, MI

Simple Paint Sprayer

PostedAugust 8, 2007
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I purchased the Wagner Xtra Paint Crew last summer during a special promotion. The sprayer was easy to set up and didn't waste a lot of paint. It sprays evenly and with little overspray. We used a piece of cardboard while spraying around windows and door frames. Be sure to clean the product out immediately after using it before the paint sets up in the hoses. It will take a little extra effort but is well worth it if you want your product to last.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 49 for Paint Crew Airless Paint Sprayer

Don't waste your money

PostedMay 16, 2007
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Only worked 10 minutes before the tip started to leak. Bought three different wagners besides this one and each one leaked. Also bought a spraytech, which is wagner and it leaked also.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 50 for Paint Crew Airless Paint Sprayer
from Huntsville, AL

PostedMarch 26, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I spent about 3 weeks deciding which sprayer to buy. I narrwowed the choices to the Graco Magnum DX ($298) and the Wagner Paint Crew ($198) I read the reviews and spent time talking to Home Depot employees. In the end, it was the price that won me over. I found the Paint crew easy to set up and easy to use. I would agree, with other users, that a swivel attachment is needed because of the stiffness of the hose, but I believe this would be the case with any sprayer hose. The clean up was easy and I found that it took no more time that if I had used a brush and roller. This inspite of the fact that the instructions make it look like it would take an hour to clean. I had to spray the underside of a second floor deck. I estimate that I saved about 3 to 5 hours by using the spayer over using a roller and brush. The only think that I found negitive was the fact that I forgot to turn the power off before switching from spray back to prime during the cleaning process. Overall, a very good product.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 51 for Paint Crew Airless Paint Sprayer
from Temecula, CA

Awesome Sprayer

PostedMarch 8, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought this sprayer this morning and shot my 12' by 40' patio cover in no time flat. This unit really makes painting a breeze. I agree with another rater that a swivel between the gun and the hose would make things a little easier but it still beat the heck out of using a brush. I only wish I had purchased this a whole lot sooner. As for clean up, I found it pretty darn easy. Any paint job clean up involves a little work but it only took me about 10-15 minutes to flush, wipe, and oil this sprayer. I can't wait to use the roller attachment. If you're considering buying one of these - do it. You won't be sorry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 52 for Paint Crew Airless Paint Sprayer
from Texas

The best house warming present

PostedJanuary 22, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My parents bought this for me as a house warming present and at first I thought they were crazy, It has been a life saver, I have used it one the house the fence and the barns. Cleans up without to much of a fuss
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 53 for Paint Crew Airless Paint Sprayer
from Dallas, Tx

Pint Crew OK

PostedOctober 6, 2006
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Used on several indoor projects and got a nice finish. Easy to operate but difficult to clean. Must oil valves after cleanup or you'll have a heck of a job unsticking everything for the next use. Also, unit has no power adjustment. Power can be overwhelming for some jobs. Cannot find a dealer that knows anything about a power roller attachment. I'd like to paint the exterior of my rent houses but the spray is too strong. I would paint the entire neighborhood. If there is a roller attachment, I'll buy one.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 54 for Paint Crew Airless Paint Sprayer
from northern N.H.

user alert

PostedSeptember 23, 2006
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This professional aircraft painter chose to paint the residense with this unit and found the following problems : gun to hose connection lacks a SWIVEL fitting-after two hours of fighting to maintain correct position- had to stop as wrist began to protest. hose is extremely stiff and will fight you trying to aim the gun. Obtain a swivel fitting to solve this major problem- costs are $20.00 to $40.00 depending on source. Keep the unit near you at all times- in the event of an emergency shut it off !! or have a second person babysit the unit . Up on a manlift at 20 feet with a just loosened hose fitting and paint squirting everywhere you will not descend fast enough to shut the pump off. wicked mess and lose of considerable paint. and a noted shortfall- the reservoir / unit assy. needs to be elevated to permit the paint to sit over the inlet screen- used a brick to prop the bottom enabling the reservoir to " run dry". typical of paint sprayer systems- a concentrated effort must be applied to the purge /cleanup of components. fail this and you will be very unhappy. finally the unit performed as advertised-attend to the above info and you may give it a higher rating.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 55 for Paint Crew Airless Paint Sprayer
from Louisiana

PostedAugust 20, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have to say this is a great product. Once you get the hang of the sprayer it was great. The roller attachment and the sprayer covered a very large area in alot of less time. The clean up was also easy.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 56 for Paint Crew Airless Paint Sprayer
from California

First Paint Sprayer Buy

PostedAugust 15, 2006
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The XTRA Paint Crew was a first time effort for me and it worked real well. Compact size, manageable weight with a nice carry handle. The spray gun was comfortable and functioned very well. Clean up is a bit tedious but hey, with painting, clean up and preparation are the biggest parts of the job and I believe the use of the Paint Crew would reduce manhours overall.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 57 for Paint Crew Airless Paint Sprayer
from Oklahoma

A real Rookie

PostedAugust 10, 2006
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I hate to Paint, and have always hated to Paint.
BUT!!!!!!!! The Paint Crew has made it so much easier that I kind of enjoyed my last project that I started just this morning. I built a new 12' X 16" storage building and started painting with rollers and brushes. This didn't turn me on. Next step was to find a paint rig at the right price, that would really work for the home owner. And I found it. It does take a while on the clean-up but it is so worth it. My first Spray Job was a complete success and done in couple hours compared to a couple days. Thanks Paint Crew. " Not recommended for jobs using less than a gallon of paint."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 58 for Paint Crew Airless Paint Sprayer
from Huntsville,Texas

Wagner Paint Crew

PostedJune 3, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have owned one for 2 years and have painted walls,ceilings and a larger barn.This is one sprayer that will save you time,paint and a headache from painting all day.You must take your time in the clean up and do it right.Oil the o-rings to keep them from drying out.Treat it right and it will last for a long time.I have my house ,my son and brother -in-law house I will be painting in the next few weeks.I find it's cheaper to buy than rent.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 59 for Paint Crew Airless Paint Sprayer
from Starkville, MS

PostedMay 28, 2006
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The instructions that come with it are not the best, but the sprayer itself works well. Cleanup takes some time, so only use on big projects.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 60 for Paint Crew Airless Paint Sprayer
from New Orleans, LA

Wagner Paint Crew

PostedMay 28, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Progress on repairing my home after Hurricane Katrina went much more quickly when I used the Wagner Paint Crew. I was able to tackle the entire interior of my house in just a few days by myself, without injuring my arthretic shoulders. The machine went together with ease, and it performed beautifully. I got smooth coverage, with minimal drips, provided I kept the sprayer moving at an even pace. Even the ceilings were easy to do with this machine. I'm very pleased that I made this purchase.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
<< 1 2 3 4 >>