728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Paint Sprayers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Paint Crew Airless Paint Sprayer

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Home Depot.

Paint Crew Airless Paint Sprayer

The Wagner Paint Crew Airless Paint Sprayer sprays latex and oil-based paints, stains, sealers and waterproof with no thinning required. Featuring a 2,800 psi maximum spray pressure, this powerful sprayer provides an 8 in. spray pattern for even coverage. The sprayer's full-length 4-finger trigger helps reduce hand fatigue, while its in-handle paint filter helps reduce tip clogs and improves the paint finish.
Overall rating:
3.897 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(97 reviews) 96
Open Ratings Snapshot
82%of customersrecommend this product80 of 97reviews
Rating Breakdown 97 reviews
3.9 out of 5.0
5
(40)
4
(32)
3
(9)
2
(7)
1
(9)
Quality 
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6 out of 5
Value 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
82%of customersrecommend this product80 of 97reviews
Customer reviews for Paint Crew Airless Paint Sprayer
Review 1 for Paint Crew Airless Paint Sprayer
from Stamford, CT

Great for the right job

PostedJune 20, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
If you're not the kind of person who is comfortable with machinery you won't like this sprayer. Considering the amount of time it takes to properly clean this thing after each use, it doesn't make any sense to use on on small jobs. You also waste a bit of paint that remains in the lines/reservoir when cleaning. However, for painting the outside of my house which has rough cedar, it was very useful. It throws a lot of paint so you have to move very quickly and lots of prepping and masking is required to avoid overspray. Very satisfying for the the right jobs, frustrating overkill for the wrong ones.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Paint Crew Airless Paint Sprayer
from Oregon

We loved this product

PostedMay 16, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We bought this to paint our new house...it worked great. We sprayed popcorn ceilings, interior walls, and we're looking forward to re-sealing our deck. There was very little overspray, coverage was great, and clean-up was very easy. When our alternative to getting the job was renting a sprayer, we felt we had made the right purchase. We would definintely recommend this product to our friends!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Paint Crew Airless Paint Sprayer
from California

What a Waste

PostedApril 2, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
In a word this is junk. Bought to finish a small room, 15' x 6', that is a laundry room. There are some very rough surfaces (stucco) that a roller did not cover well, spray it. In the time I spent masking the room, putting together the unit and then cleaning after it leaked at the at the spray tip, and then cleaning the sprayer itself, I could have rolled the two coats of paint i needed. Also wasted a half gallon of paint. I have ourchased at lot of tools over the years and this is the first one I will have returned for poor performance.
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Paint Crew Airless Paint Sprayer
from norton,ks

low cost and professional

PostedNovember 16, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The wagner paint crew is great for covering walls and so easy to clean I used It over and over again the first job i did with this wagner was a commercial job 12' walls the coverage was great and the the wagner paint crew did the job great i would recocmend this wagner airless sprayer the any home owner, do it your selfer or any contracter in the field it gets my A+ Review a % Star Product.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Paint Crew Airless Paint Sprayer
from Silver Spring, MD

Great, great, great

PostedOctober 22, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was looking at a large painting job on the outside of my house. I looked at many of the less expensive airless sprayers, including this one but was hesitant to buy it based on the number of negative reviews. I finally decided that Wagner couldn't stay in business if the units it was selling were that bad, so I bought one. Setup was easy, I followed directions to prime the unit and then started spraying. The spray gun shot a 12 inch tall pattern that covered nicely in two sweeps. I was amazed by the consistent finish applied as well as the coverage this unit produced. I had absolutely no problem with the unit. Clean up is somewhat tedious, but that is the case with any type of spray equipment. Make sure you spend the time and effort to clean the unit and the spray gun very thoroughly, most problems with spray systems can be traced to incomplete cleaning of the unit after use. This was the best $200.00 I have spent in a long, long time. If you are facing a big painting job, do yourself a favor and consider getting one of these sprayers.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Paint Crew Airless Paint Sprayer
from McPherson

Easy to use but.....

PostedSeptember 11, 2010
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Set up is easy and clean up is easy. The hose started to leak from the swivel point after a couple of hours. And then after 5 hours the other end started to leak. Hose is not a standard type so you can't go the hardware store to replace the ends as with a standard air hose fitting or similar. As far as how well it spray, I thought it did a good job. Because of the hose situation, not sure if I would recommend it it anyone.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Paint Crew Airless Paint Sprayer
from Philadelphia, PA

Broke after 3 hours of use

PostedSeptember 11, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The seal on the nozzle tip broke after about 3 hours of using it. Went back to Home Depot to get a new one, but they don't sell them...nor does anyone else. Turned my half day project into 2 days.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Paint Crew Airless Paint Sprayer
from Eureka, CA

Paints Great / Clean Up Process Thumbs Down

PostedSeptember 7, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I used this product and say it worked great. (I only used the hand sprayer option and not the roller) No issues really, just the over spray being messy at times, but that's expected. Used 4 gallons of paint with sprayer and had no clogging issues, even when I took a 40min break. All in all, the sprayer worked great and have no complaints with the unit. Note: make sure when you are doing a project that you keep the main unit far as possible from where you are working and making sure it's not positioned downwind when working outdoors. You will get paint spots all over the unit from the over spray.
Buttt, when I had to clean the unit I realized this was going to be a pain. First you have to wash off as much left over paint as possible and at the same time being careful not to get water into the compressor housing or risk damaging the unit. Then You have to run water through the unit several times till you see little or no paint coming out the sprayer. Once finished you will want to run paint thinner through the system to help clean out any leftover paint and to help prevent rusting from inside the unit. Even after doing all of this, I still found bits of paint, but not that much. After this I disconnected the spray gun and cleaned that separately using paint thinner and a tooth brush. Yes the unit works great, but the clean up process isn't worth it in my opinion.
So I went out and purchased a Magnum X5 Airless Paint Sprayer for a $100 more. Clean up process for this sprayer simply involves connecting a water hose to the unit and running water through it. Yea you have to clean the sprayer by hand, but you will have that issue with any sprayer. This is worth it due to the time and frustration you save during the clean up process. I will say tho that this sprayer does not come with a paint roller like the Wagner. A roller for the Magnum will set you back $80. :-( Plus replacement rollers run you around $10. Hope this review helped.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Paint Crew Airless Paint Sprayer
from Dacula, GA

Impossible to use indoors

PostedSeptember 3, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this for the ability to use the roller for painting the walls in my house. WHAT A MESS. The hose is so stiff that you cannot keep it off of what you just painted. The hose also causes uneven pressure on the roller because it is always trying to straighten out. After fighting with it for 3 hours, I gave up and took it back. Now I have to sand the walls and buy another gallon of paint. Don't waste you time if you plan to use it indoors.
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Paint Crew Airless Paint Sprayer
from Washington, PA

I hope all products are as good as this...

PostedAugust 30, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I just purchased this sprayer to paint my house based on others' recommendations.
I am spraying the premium Behr paint+primer through this unit without thinning. I tried the special latex paint 'extender' offered at the store hoping it would extend the drying time, and avoid clogging the spray head. I supposed it worked, but I then sprayed about 5 gallons without using the exender with no problems. This sprayer works exactly as expected, with no problems priming or leaking.
The tank is made of a very smooth plastic that the latex paint will not stick to. I suggest that when cleaning do not use a plastic scouring pad as it will raise small scratches that will cause paint to stick. After rinsing out as much paint as possible, I used a pressure washer to remove any paint 'film' that was stuck to the container.
The only 'non friendly' aspect of the sprayer is that the hose is stiff, and the spray gun does not have a swivel connection. Before starting up the unit, make sure that the gun is tightened on the hose in the direction you want to spray, otherwise you will be fighting the hose. This is not a Wagner problem, as the hose has to be rated for 2800psi, and is going to be stiff. Also the system will run out of prime with about 8 oz of paint left in the hopper.
Do yourself a favor and keep the sprayer as clean as possible, run as much clean water as you can to keep the pump clean, and also oil the pump and sprayer as recommended before putting the system away for any extended length of time.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Paint Crew Airless Paint Sprayer
from springdale AR

paint crew review

PostedAugust 29, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Easy to use , right out of the box. Easy learning curve on the spray coverage.Be ready to paint fast. The feed for the paint could be better and it was a pain to clean up. Over all it was a good machine and I'm happy with the results with the machine. 4 out of 5 stars.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Paint Crew Airless Paint Sprayer
from Lake Forest, CA

Best recommendation ever!

PostedJuly 26, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I just bought this paint sprayer in July 2010 on recommendation from one of the guys at my local Home Depot and it was the best recommendation ever! The Wagner worked exceptionally well surpassing my expectations. I confidently recommend this particular spray painter to everyone. It was very easy to assemble, use and clean. The two areas that concerned me the most were the performance and the clean up and both were great. The spray was very consistent and even giving a professional finish that I’m very satisfied with. The clean up was much easier than I anticipated. Flushing the system and taking apart the sprayer was quick and uncomplicated taking all the stress and hassle out of cleaning away. If you’re going to buy a spray painter, buy this one!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Paint Crew Airless Paint Sprayer
from Colorado

awesom... mostly

PostedJuly 7, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Just bought a house that had a lot of crazy paint colors along with sponge painting & wallpaper - not to mention pink carpet. So after rippin out carpet we bought this spray/roller combo. We used an oil based primer in the sprayer & the boys (men) fought over using it. It was great - really easy to use. Definately some overspray - but no floors we had to worry about. Was very difficult to clean oil based out of it. The roller however is NOT easy to use.Heavy & akward. Took less time to do a room 3 times as big with regular rollers since we had 4 people rolling. But easy clean up with latex paint.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Paint Crew Airless Paint Sprayer
from Northern Virginia

Xtra Paint Crew

PostedJuly 6, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I purchased this paint sprayer to use on the interior of my garage. I was able to spray the ceiling and 4 walls in an hour. The sprayer worked great. I did a primer and two finish coats of paint. I did not encounter any problems and found the sprayer easy to use. The instructions were clear and concise. I didn't rate it 5 stars only because cleaning the sprayer is an involved procedure. The first time it took me 3 hours to do a thorough cleaning. After that I got it down to 2 hours. All in all the time to clean it wasn't that bad considering the ease of applying the paint in comparison to using a roller. Overall I would rate the product at 4.5 stars.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Paint Crew Airless Paint Sprayer
from Houston, TX

Good product for the price

PostedApril 5, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this to paint the exterior of 2 story house. It works well and is easy to use. I was able to cover a large area in a short time. You will want to keep a brush handy for the ocasional drip. You will get some overspray so I don't recomend using it near roofing or trim. The only problem is that it takes about 30 minutes to clean it after you use it. Use a plastic pot scrubber pad to help clean it up. Make sure you clean it well after each use. The nozzle once got clogged and needed to be cleaned to remove the dried paint. I've only used latex paint in it. Oil based paint seems like it would be quite difficult to clean. The mist and overspray of the sprayer and oil based paint seems like a bad combination. Stick with water based. I would recomend this product. Be sure to buy an extra filter or two.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Paint Crew Airless Paint Sprayer
from Bakersfield, CA

Easy to Use

PostedApril 5, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have used this sprayer for exterior painting and stain only, and was amazed at the speed in which the job could be completed. There are various add-ons which make any job possible - the underside of the decking was 40 feet up in the air and there were extension wands that made this possible using only a 24-ft ladder! I find it very easy to clean, and did not have any trouble with overspray.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Paint Crew Airless Paint Sprayer
from Washington

Really nice tool.

PostedFebruary 17, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is a very nice spray rig. I reviewed many before purchase and the reviews on here are very accurate; lengthy cleaning process, not for indoor use and awesome.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Paint Crew Airless Paint Sprayer
from Coupeville, WA

Excilent for do it yourself jobs.

PostedDecember 26, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this product to paint my house last summer. I liked the way the compressor kept up with the demand. The paint was in a covered container, preventing it from creating a crust on top of the paint. Clean up was fairly simple. Just fill the reservor with clean water, turn on the pump, and spray untill the water runs clear. I was so impressed with it that I baught one as a Christmas gift for someone on my list.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Paint Crew Airless Paint Sprayer
from Apopka, FL

Mixed Emotions

PostedDecember 1, 2009
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I purchased this unit to make my life easier as I painted multiple rooms throughout the new house I bought. The positive is that it surprisingly uses very little paint, which saves a great deal of money. The negative is that there is overspray, which caused me much aggravation to fix. I even purchased one of those large devices on a stick which you hold into the corner between the ceiling and the wall, to protect the ceiling from getting overspray... but there was still overspray shooting off the sides of it. I had to go back and use spray paint from a can to cover my popcorn ceiling white to hide the overspray from this unit. I would only recommend this product to someone who wants to paint the outside of their home. It's great for something like that... but inside? Heck no. Rollers will be much less frustrating, believe me!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Paint Crew Airless Paint Sprayer
from MS coast

lasted a while

PostedNovember 3, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I got this unit 3 years ago it did everything I wanted it to, but finally it died, It wouldn't build up pressure anymore using a thick primer. I always cleaned it with mineral spirits and water, I guess it just wore out but I used it for every thing in those three years from painting my new house and barn, to painting concrete block pillings. Now I'm going to but the new Wagner Paint Crew Plus Model# 515012 and see how it fairs, if it holds up as this unit did I will be very pleased. Just remember to break down the sprayer assembly when cleaning the unit, I always just soak everything in mineral spirits then run the spirits through the hose and prime possition before I run everything through the sprayer, like I said it lasted a while and I got my moneys worth , now I'll up grade a little, great for the home owner.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>