728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Ductstat Plug-In Thermostat Temperature Sensitive Switch

Ductstat Plug-In Thermostat Temperature Sensitive Switch

The Ductstat Plug-In Thermostat Temperature Sensitive Switch is designed to turn on and off when it detects a change in temperature from the ambient. The temperature range is between 40 - 110 degrees Fahrenheit. This thermostat features 3 adjustable settings. It is designed to mount the duct downstream from an Inductor fan. This thermostat also helps control various devices including alarms, heat lamps, dampers, fans and 110-volt lights.
Overall rating:
3.958 / 5
4
 / 
5
(71 reviews) 71
Open Ratings Snapshot
76%of customersrecommend this product51 of 67reviews
Rating Breakdown 71 reviews
4.0 out of 5.0
5
(41)
4
(9)
3
(7)
2
(5)
1
(9)
Quality 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
Value 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
76%of customersrecommend this product51 of 67reviews
Customer reviews for Ductstat Plug-In Thermostat Temperature Sensitive Switch
Review 21 for Ductstat Plug-In Thermostat Temperature Sensitive Switch
from New Jersey

Ductstat Works As Expected

PostedJune 15, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Hello everyone. I wanted to review this product since I read reviews to get some insight on purchases I am going to make. You really need to take care with installing these ductstats. If you do they will work just as they should. Use the template, drill the correct size holes, and be sure you mount it perfectly over the 1/2 inch hole you drill. What I mean by this is to match up the hole on the ductstat with the hole on the duct work that you drilled. When you put the template up don't drill the holes right away. Tape the template, grab the ductstat and set it on there to see if it will mount like you want it to. If you do not have round duct work then it is a no brainer, but round duct work just take your time and it will work perfectly. When setting the ductstats to come on when the air/heat come on don't necessarily just go by the directions. If it's not coming on when you want it just move the knob when the air or heat comes on until it does. DO NOT MOVE THE KNOB QUICKLY! Just move it very little until it comes on. If it doesn't come on quick enough just wait until the air comes back on and turn it a little more. You need to mess with it a little. If it doesn't shut off right at the time you want it to then wait until the air goes off and back the knob off very little and wait. Let the ductstat turn off. If you don't over do it you will get it right and it will not take that long to do. Mine comes on about a minute or so in and turn off about 5- 10 minutes after the air goes off. This is a good thing. There is still a lot of cool air in the duct work so its not bad for these to run a while after the air shuts off. This will go for heat too. It also saves them from shutting off if the air comes on again before they shut down your fans. This may not be for everyone, but these are very easy to install. If you need the electrical outlets put in to plug the stats into then you may need to get an elctrcian in for that. I use these ductstats with the Suncourt fans and it does the job. Good Luck and take your time!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Ductstat Plug-In Thermostat Temperature Sensitive Switch
from massachusetts
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works very well

PostedNovember 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Works very well at keeping the temperature right where I need it. Easy to use, doesn't take up much room.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Ductstat Plug-In Thermostat Temperature Sensitive Switch
from MILWAUKEE
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good reliable product

PostedMay 29, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This is the second of these I have bought to control duct fans boosting air flow to the end and second floor of my house. Works great!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Ductstat Plug-In Thermostat Temperature Sensitive Switch

Very Happy!!

PostedMay 29, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Just what I was looking for! It's working great in my greenhouse!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Ductstat Plug-In Thermostat Temperature Sensitive Switch
from McKeesport, PA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product

PostedDecember 27, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this product to help the air flow to the furthest room in my heating system. It has definately helped the flow to that room. It is a little louder than I would like, but I am definately happy with the performance of the product.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Ductstat Plug-In Thermostat Temperature Sensitive Switch
from Billings, MT, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked for my application

PostedMarch 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I use this to turn the blower motor on my wood stove off when the fire dies down. After setting the adjustable thermostat to the correct temp, it has worked just as I figured it would.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Ductstat Plug-In Thermostat Temperature Sensitive Switch
from Las Vegas, NV, USA

Just what I needed

PostedSeptember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I use the device to control a swamp cooler. Works great.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Ductstat Plug-In Thermostat Temperature Sensitive Switch
from NY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very useful

PostedJuly 31, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This was the only switch of its kind we could find. It keeps our house cool by turning our attic fan on and off and is not too expensive. Great product! You should keep this in stock in the store.
Pros: Performs Well
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Ductstat Plug-In Thermostat Temperature Sensitive Switch
from St. Louis
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Installed easily

PostedMarch 13, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I used this to add a booster fan onto my gas dryer. Pretty easy to set up and works good. Setting the sensor takes a few minuets and you must follow the directions closely but other than that all went well...
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Ductstat Plug-In Thermostat Temperature Sensitive Switch
from MD

appears to do what it was designed to do.

PostedJanuary 29, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
it does what it's supposed to do. However, I'm not crazy about having to drill a hole in my duct, being vented to the plenum space. It would be MUCH better for the unit to have it's thermostat extend into the duct, instead of requiring air from the duct to blow into the plenum space.
Once the fan kicks on, the fan actually pulls air from the plenum space instead of pulling 100% from the duct itself. Not an efficient design, nor a necessarily healthy design (plenum spaces tend to be full of dust, mouse feces, etc.)
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Ductstat Plug-In Thermostat Temperature Sensitive Switch
from Arizona, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not quite sure yet

PostedApril 23, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Does it turn on and off "yes". Does it turn on and off when you want it to "no". I'm using it to turn on two fans to cool two different rooms. It is mounted to the main air duct in the attic. It will click on about 20 minutes after the air conditioning has clicked on and finally turn off about an hour after the air conditioning stops. I have had it for a week and am still fine tuning it. Does not seem sensitive enough to detect temperature changes.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install
Cons: not sensitive enough
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Ductstat Plug-In Thermostat Temperature Sensitive Switch
from Charles Town, WV, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

SO what did you expect from HD?

PostedJune 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I use this to control the exhaust fan it my workshop. It was easy to install and it works great!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Nice Design
Cons: none
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Ductstat Plug-In Thermostat Temperature Sensitive Switch
from Utah, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does what it is supposed to do.

PostedMay 28, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This compact well built unit provides the options and ease of use that get the job done right.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Lots of Features
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Ductstat Plug-In Thermostat Temperature Sensitive Switch
from Poway, CA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Bad Fit/Form/Function

PostedJanuary 2, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I returned this purchase and installed a manual switch because I couldn't figure out how to mount a flat surface to a curved 4" pipe surface.
Cons: Difficult to Install, inadequate instructions
-3points
1out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Ductstat Plug-In Thermostat Temperature Sensitive Switch
from Greece, NY 14612
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Not as advertised

PostedJune 12, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Hooked unit up to 2 induct fans. First it took me a day to try to adjust to where it would turn on and off when the furnace blower was on. Once I got it close to turning on and off ...it turns on about a minute after the furnace blower and off about 3 minutes after blower is off...the next few days my furnace wasn't running much so it didn't run. When my furnace started again I had to re adjust it again as it wasn't turning on....I was hoping not to have to run the induct fans from my furnace. long run, but I guess that is my only choice now...waste of money
-6points
0out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Ductstat Plug-In Thermostat Temperature Sensitive Switch
from MD

Works great!

PostedJanuary 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This temperature switch works very well indeed. In my case I had to instal it upstream rather than the suggested downstream from the fan it is controlling, but it works well. The switch is infinitely controllable so you can set it to come on and off closely to follow the main hvac blower. Excellent indeed. I would use this again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Ductstat Plug-In Thermostat Temperature Sensitive Switch
from Vermont

Nearly Worthless device

PostedFebruary 23, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this temperature control device to control the temperature and it is nearly useless. The temperature that this device turn on and off varies by as much at 10 degrees F. What kind of use is that? There is no dial marking so you have no way to see what the temp is set to, you have very minimal control at all. Buy another controller, I have ordered another one that says it will control the temp to + or minus 2 degrees unlike this piece of junk.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Ductstat Plug-In Thermostat Temperature Sensitive Switch
from Sherrill, NY, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Work Good

PostedFebruary 14, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I installed this product with the inline duct fan to turn it off and on. Simple to install but get sheet metal screw to put it onto the duct. Took a day to get it dialed it but working good at this point.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Ductstat Plug-In Thermostat Temperature Sensitive Switch
from Cincinnati, OH, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This product is better then expected.

PostedFebruary 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great product, great price.had to upgrade to a industrial duct fan, and the thermostat works better then expected.
Pros: good price
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Ductstat Plug-In Thermostat Temperature Sensitive Switch

Just get a plug-in thermostat

PostedDecember 11, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Overall, I can see this for one use: attic vent fans. That was not the use I needed and for $3 more I could get a robust thermostatic plug-in controller with timers and more flexible and accurate range sensing. So I returned it and got the better product, also at Home Depot. Unfortunately I was out for shipping, but that's fortunately all.
Pros: Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: limited applications
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
<< 1 2 3 4 >>