728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Foam or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 16 oz. Big Gap Filler Insulating Foam Sealant

16 oz. Big Gap Filler Insulating Foam Sealant

GREAT STUFF Big Gap Filler Insulating Foam Sealant offers the same benefits as GREAT STUFF Gaps and Cracks but fills gaps larger than 1 in. So it's great for creating larger weather-tight seals to stop drafts and keep critters out. Plus, like all GREAT STUFF products, it's airtight, paintable, stainable and sand-able. It's polyurethane-based and perfect for all sorts of materials like wood, drywall, metal, masonry, glass and most plastics.
Overall rating:
3.784 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(148 reviews) 148
Open Ratings Snapshot
77%of customersrecommend this product107 of 139reviews
Rating Breakdown 148 reviews
3.8 out of 5
5
(60)
4
(44)
3
(16)
2
(8)
1
(20)
Quality 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
Value 
3.7 out of 5
3.7 out of 5
77%of customersrecommend this product107 of 139reviews
Customer questions and answers:
21 Questions | 93 Answers
Customer reviews for 16 oz. Big Gap Filler Insulating Foam Sealant
Review 1 for 16 oz. Big Gap Filler Insulating Foam Sealant
from Manhattan
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

How to re-use without throwing out after first use

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
When I tried to re-use the can after one week, the built in straw broke off. I felt bad throwing out the can since it was still full, so I kept it for more than a week. Meanwhile i realized that the STRAW from DAP Tex foam sealant (that I also bought from Hdepot) could fit in the hole where the built-in straw was. SO I cleaned the hole and inserted the straw from DAP Tex and when I pushed the base aside to trigger the outflow of the foam, out came the foam !! But make sure to shake the can for a full minute ! SO DONT THROW OUT AFTER FIRST USE, get the STRAW FROM DAP TEX and you can fully use all the contents as I did!
Note, it may be a little hard pushing the base of the straw-hole which triggers the outflow of the foam but if you wear gloves to minimize the pain, you can use up the entire can as i did !
Pros: Great Value
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 16 oz. Big Gap Filler Insulating Foam Sealant
from Massachusetts
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works Great!!

PostedAugust 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this product to fill a crack outside between my fireplace and siding where bees decided to make a nest. This morning the bees were unable to get in, so hopefully they will go away. My only recommendation is to wear gloves while using this. I got a lot of it on my hands, and it became an unwashable sticky paste that I had to use nailpolish remover to get off. It got rid of the stickiness, but I still have caked on insulation on my fingers this morning that will eventually come off.
Also, make sure you clean out the plastic application tube. After it dried out, I was able to use a shishkabob stick and toothpicks to push it out.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Work With, Seals Well, Great Value
Cons: difficult to clean off
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 16 oz. Big Gap Filler Insulating Foam Sealant
from CA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Expands so well it will push out stucco and dry wall

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Works well and will fill large gaps but there are a few problems if you are filling a wall cavity hence the one star reduction. I believe this product was designed to fill holes in basements and attics, gaps around pipes and crevices in framing which I have used it for with excellent results. I have also used it to fill uninsulated cavities in walls and that is where you need to be extra careful as, given the right conditions, it will push drywall, even stucco out and leave a bulge in the wall surface. The can instructions does not give an expansion ratio. This may be because the product will expand differently under various conditions (weather and compression). In a cavity where there is only one opening for the foam to freely expand, as the product cures, it keeps expanding for at least 24 hours when contained in a cavity, it will keep pushing in all directions and that is what you have to be very careful about. The product skims over in less than an hour but needs at least a full day maybe two to stop expanding in a restricted area especially if you spray in more layers as you fill the wall cavity. There are commercial products out there that spray insulation companies use that can fill a wall with minimal pressure that can save you from a major wall repair.
Pros: Performs Well
Cons: messy
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 16 oz. Big Gap Filler Insulating Foam Sealant
from Elba, NY
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Quick and easy to use

PostedDecember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought a house that had several holes. This product was great at filling the holes and keeping out animals. I had a feral cat that kept coming into a house.
Pros: Easy to Use, Great Value
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 16 oz. Big Gap Filler Insulating Foam Sealant
from Sacramento, CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Conveniet insolating solution

PostedJanuary 18, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I had to replace a Jacuzzi control panel, but when I set the new panel in the old hole, it fell right through. I used the insulating foam to fill in the hole and set the panel in place. The foam filled all the gaps, didn't leak water into the cabinet, and allowed me to create a base that was not previously available. After the foam expanded, I cut the excess off and caulked the panel to ensure a waterproof seal. This stuff is very useful for several applications. And, if you carefully clean the spout and can off, you will be able to use it again if you have any left over.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Seals Well, Easy to Clean, Economical, Reliable
Cons: a little messy to touch
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 16 oz. Big Gap Filler Insulating Foam Sealant
from Dallas, tx
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Yearly

You do not have to use it all at once

PostedJanuary 11, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
All these products are great, great values. Fabulous for drafts. If you do not use the whole can, you can save it for later, IF, you clean the straw and nozzle immediately when you are done with paint thinner and a wooden kebob stick. I have done this many times and have been able to use a single can for multiple times.
Pros: Seals Well, Economical
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 16 oz. Big Gap Filler Insulating Foam Sealant
from Canal Winchester OH
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

great stuff

PostedJanuary 13, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
This stuff is great! Fills cracks like no other ! Love the yellow color ! Can't wait to get more
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Quiet, Good Size & Weight, Straight, Seals Well, Lots of Features, Reliable
Cons: Vibrates
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 16 oz. Big Gap Filler Insulating Foam Sealant
from Priest River, ID, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Weekly

Does fantastic job!

PostedJanuary 2, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The key is: read the directions, & follow them! It is sticky, but uncured product will clean off using acetone. Cured product must wear off. Use your painting clothes, gloves, long sleeves, etc. Shaking can well helps to get out more quantity. Don't store cans for long periods, use fresh cans for best results. Squeeze nozzle gently, practice helps, don't overfill gap, half will expand to fill. Over filling means more trimming, & waste. No pets or kids in work areas, drips on floor will stick to shoes, clothes, hands, etc. I recently used about 15 cans to "airtight" my shop, with 11ft ceilings, pole bldg. Now we can heat it up to T shirt working conditions in no time. Well worth the money & effort!! Just be safe, & have a warm workspace, it expands more warm, & cures quicker too. BE SAFE!!
+36points
38out of 40found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 16 oz. Big Gap Filler Insulating Foam Sealant
from Scituate, Rhode Island
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Great Stuff Cheap

PostedJanuary 6, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Works really good, it does what is said it would do, great insulation and expansion.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 16 oz. Big Gap Filler Insulating Foam Sealant
from Washington, DC, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Purchase frequency:Yearly

It Works!

PostedJanuary 2, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
It works great. Easy to use. Very economical. Did the job.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Work With, Seals Well
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 16 oz. Big Gap Filler Insulating Foam Sealant

Cleaning foam insulation

PostedDecember 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I've used the foam insulation several times. I used 100% acetone to clean the tube and my hands. The foam melts away.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 16 oz. Big Gap Filler Insulating Foam Sealant
from New Canaan CT
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Handy for filling cracks and holes

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This foam insulation fills cracks and holes easily, cutting down drafts, rodent pathways, and noise. Wear gloves, for you cannot get it off your hands.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Seals Well, Great Value, Economical
Cons: difficult to clean up
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 16 oz. Big Gap Filler Insulating Foam Sealant
from Mukilteo, Wa
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Purchase frequency:Weekly

Great Filler!

PostedDecember 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We bought an older home and there were lots of open cracks where the plumbing was. I bought this filler and it works great and very easy to use.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Work With, Quiet, Seals Well, Great Value, High Quality, Economical, Reliable, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 16 oz. Big Gap Filler Insulating Foam Sealant
from Illinois

Great Stuff

PostedJanuary 9, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This truly is great stuff. I used it to seal the areas under my doors where the concrete and foundation meet in the crawl space. I could not have gotten insulation into those places because they were too small. I was able to squirt this into those spaces with the little tube they give you. It expanded and filled the gaps perfectly. You have to use it all in one day though. Anything left over will not come out of the can the next day. It is for a one-time use.
+16points
18out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 16 oz. Big Gap Filler Insulating Foam Sealant
from lawrence, ma

Wow!

PostedSeptember 20, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is Great Stuff!!
Seriously, its worth the money. Buy a case and get to work insulating window and door frames, outlets, etc. They could have also named it "Draft be Gone" but what do I know. No more chilly air around the windows and door frames of my 115 year old house. Money in the pocket. Truth.
+15points
16out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 16 oz. Big Gap Filler Insulating Foam Sealant
from LaOtto, Indiana
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Great Product!!!

PostedNovember 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Great for the project I was working on. Replaced the siding on my barn and had a large gap to fill behind the new siding. This product did the job with ease.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Work With, Seals Well
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 16 oz. Big Gap Filler Insulating Foam Sealant
from Florida

Big spaces, nothing less!

PostedOctober 27, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
My first building project was made from the plans for a
children's playhouse. For an imperfect project this will
fill in the spaces behind the trim and last for years.
But, care must be taken to keep it off your clothing and
hands. It does not wash off. It is advisable to finish the
entire can in one use as it hardens. And, it really explodes
into a huge piece of foam that is hard to cut back in size,
it needs to be a big space to fill.
All that in mind, it is a miracle worker for amateur builders!!
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 16 oz. Big Gap Filler Insulating Foam Sealant
from pa

works for me

PostedMay 22, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Had to replace the floor in my boat,the old floatation foam was water logged.great stuff worked great for replacing the floatation and doesnt seem to absorb water as much as the old stuff did. works great and saved me some money
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 16 oz. Big Gap Filler Insulating Foam Sealant
from Long Island
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

WORKED GREAT

PostedNovember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
it worked exactly as described. would recommend to anyone.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Work With, High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 16 oz. Big Gap Filler Insulating Foam Sealant
from Tomah, WI
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Monthly

This product is reliable

PostedFebruary 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I've used many spray foam insulation products and this is one of the most reliable. Coverage area is consistent from can to can unlike some of the other spray foam products available.
I would recommend this product!
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, High Quality, Reliable
Cons: doesn't fucntion when confined by plastic
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 7 >>