728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Foam or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 16 oz. Big Gap Filler Insulating Foam Sealant

16 oz. Big Gap Filler Insulating Foam Sealant

GREAT STUFF Big Gap Filler Insulating Foam Sealant offers the same benefits as GREAT STUFF Gaps and Cracks but fills gaps larger than 1 in. So it's great for creating larger weather-tight seals to stop drafts and keep critters out. Plus, like all GREAT STUFF products, it's airtight, paintable, stainable and sand-able. It's polyurethane-based and perfect for all sorts of materials like wood, drywall, metal, masonry, glass and most plastics.
Overall rating:
3.805 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(159 reviews) 159
Open Ratings Snapshot
77%of customersrecommend this product116 of 150reviews
Rating Breakdown 159 reviews
3.8 out of 5
5
(66)
4
(46)
3
(17)
2
(10)
1
(20)
Quality 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
Value 
3.7 out of 5
3.7 out of 5
77%of customersrecommend this product116 of 150reviews
Customer questions and answers:
22 Questions | 94 Answers
Customer reviews for 16 oz. Big Gap Filler Insulating Foam Sealant
Review 1 for 16 oz. Big Gap Filler Insulating Foam Sealant
from Manhattan
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

How to re-use without throwing out after first use

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
When I tried to re-use the can after one week, the built in straw broke off. I felt bad throwing out the can since it was still full, so I kept it for more than a week. Meanwhile i realized that the STRAW from DAP Tex foam sealant (that I also bought from Hdepot) could fit in the hole where the built-in straw was. SO I cleaned the hole and inserted the straw from DAP Tex and when I pushed the base aside to trigger the outflow of the foam, out came the foam !! But make sure to shake the can for a full minute ! SO DONT THROW OUT AFTER FIRST USE, get the STRAW FROM DAP TEX and you can fully use all the contents as I did!
Note, it may be a little hard pushing the base of the straw-hole which triggers the outflow of the foam but if you wear gloves to minimize the pain, you can use up the entire can as i did !
Pros: Great Value
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 16 oz. Big Gap Filler Insulating Foam Sealant
from Massachusetts
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works Great!!

PostedAugust 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this product to fill a crack outside between my fireplace and siding where bees decided to make a nest. This morning the bees were unable to get in, so hopefully they will go away. My only recommendation is to wear gloves while using this. I got a lot of it on my hands, and it became an unwashable sticky paste that I had to use nailpolish remover to get off. It got rid of the stickiness, but I still have caked on insulation on my fingers this morning that will eventually come off.
Also, make sure you clean out the plastic application tube. After it dried out, I was able to use a shishkabob stick and toothpicks to push it out.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Work With, Seals Well, Great Value
Cons: difficult to clean off
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 16 oz. Big Gap Filler Insulating Foam Sealant
from Sacramento, CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Conveniet insolating solution

PostedJanuary 18, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I had to replace a Jacuzzi control panel, but when I set the new panel in the old hole, it fell right through. I used the insulating foam to fill in the hole and set the panel in place. The foam filled all the gaps, didn't leak water into the cabinet, and allowed me to create a base that was not previously available. After the foam expanded, I cut the excess off and caulked the panel to ensure a waterproof seal. This stuff is very useful for several applications. And, if you carefully clean the spout and can off, you will be able to use it again if you have any left over.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Seals Well, Easy to Clean, Economical, Reliable
Cons: a little messy to touch
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 16 oz. Big Gap Filler Insulating Foam Sealant
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A good product for filling gaps where air gets in

PostedFebruary 17, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This insulating foam works well, forming a tight, rigid seal. But don't get any on you, because it's very difficult to get off your skin. It would be nice if there was a way to save any unused portion for another time. The way it's designed, it only comes with one dispensing tube and the insulation hardens in that after it's been used. But I have had some success cutting off the hardened end and using the stub of what's left.
Pros: Performs Well, Seals Well
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 16 oz. Big Gap Filler Insulating Foam Sealant
from CA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Expands so well it will push out stucco and dry wall

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Works well and will fill large gaps but there are a few problems if you are filling a wall cavity hence the one star reduction. I believe this product was designed to fill holes in basements and attics, gaps around pipes and crevices in framing which I have used it for with excellent results. I have also used it to fill uninsulated cavities in walls and that is where you need to be extra careful as, given the right conditions, it will push drywall, even stucco out and leave a bulge in the wall surface. The can instructions does not give an expansion ratio. This may be because the product will expand differently under various conditions (weather and compression). In a cavity where there is only one opening for the foam to freely expand, as the product cures, it keeps expanding for at least 24 hours when contained in a cavity, it will keep pushing in all directions and that is what you have to be very careful about. The product skims over in less than an hour but needs at least a full day maybe two to stop expanding in a restricted area especially if you spray in more layers as you fill the wall cavity. There are commercial products out there that spray insulation companies use that can fill a wall with minimal pressure that can save you from a major wall repair.
Pros: Performs Well
Cons: messy
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 16 oz. Big Gap Filler Insulating Foam Sealant
from Boca Raton, FL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Tile purchase for ground floor

PostedFebruary 25, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We purchased what appeared to be a good value on ceramic tile. After laying out two samples given to us by the Home Depot sales rep, we noticed both pieces had chips on each corner and a lot of red bled through. We had the tile delivered and it is in our garage. We have been interviewing tile installers and one noted that the quality is poor. It is solid red under a coating of the white color and coating of clear glaze. The chips occurred in the two samples just sitting on the floor. If the tile chips, the solid red appears vividly.
We are probably going to return the tile and find some that has a solid white core. Also something that doesn't chip as easily.
We have pictures upon request. The website couldn't upload 3 pictures.
Pros: Stylish
Cons: Maintenance, appears very brittle, red shows on sides., cracks easily
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 16 oz. Big Gap Filler Insulating Foam Sealant
from Elba, NY
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Quick and easy to use

PostedDecember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought a house that had several holes. This product was great at filling the holes and keeping out animals. I had a feral cat that kept coming into a house.
Pros: Easy to Use, Great Value
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 16 oz. Big Gap Filler Insulating Foam Sealant
from St. Louis, Mo.
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

keeping the cold out

PostedFebruary 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Bought this for work , I work in an old building where the back door is now just part of the back wall nailed closed with a space at the bottom letting in cold air. This sealed the space from the cold and let in rodents. It made a big improvement stopping the cold draft across the floor.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Work With, Seals Well, Great Value
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 16 oz. Big Gap Filler Insulating Foam Sealant
from Parsippany.N.J.
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Fills the Big Ones.

PostedFebruary 26, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
used this to fill big gaps between floor joists and water lines. worked out great.
use disposable latex gloves to keep off hands. if you do get some on you,
use goof off on a paper towel or rag comes right off
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Seals Well
Cons: clean up
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 16 oz. Big Gap Filler Insulating Foam Sealant
from Maryland
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product!

PostedFebruary 26, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Great product. Easy to use. Stopped air from coming in cracks.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Seals Well, Great Value, High Quality, Economical
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 16 oz. Big Gap Filler Insulating Foam Sealant
from Cincinnati, OH, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

good purchase

PostedFebruary 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Does what it is supposed too. Fills gaps really well when you have a wide opening.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Seals Well, High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 16 oz. Big Gap Filler Insulating Foam Sealant
from Pa
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

great for tiny corners

PostedFebruary 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
great ffor tiny spots while insulating an attic floor!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Work With, Light Weight
Cons: expensive
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 16 oz. Big Gap Filler Insulating Foam Sealant
from Texas, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Works everytime; a bit messy, but worth it.

PostedFebruary 19, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I use this product a lot and continue to keep purchasing it as needed.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Work With, Seals Well, Reliable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 16 oz. Big Gap Filler Insulating Foam Sealant
from San Juan Puerto Rico
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Great Purchase

PostedFebruary 17, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Great product simple to use and very good price will recommend to my coworkers
Pros: High Quality, Economical
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 16 oz. Big Gap Filler Insulating Foam Sealant
from Alameda County, California
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Limited success for the Do-It-Yourselfer

PostedFebruary 10, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Attempted to use this to fill holes in studs on a remodel. After the first use the nozzle plugs up with the hardened foam sealant. I managed to clean out the nozzle but now the spray can will not dispense the foam sealant.
Pros: Good Size & Weight, Seals Well, Economical, Light Weight
Cons: Difficult to Use, Inconsistent, Difficult to Install, Maintenance
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 16 oz. Big Gap Filler Insulating Foam Sealant
from Priest River, ID, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Weekly

Does fantastic job!

PostedJanuary 2, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The key is: read the directions, & follow them! It is sticky, but uncured product will clean off using acetone. Cured product must wear off. Use your painting clothes, gloves, long sleeves, etc. Shaking can well helps to get out more quantity. Don't store cans for long periods, use fresh cans for best results. Squeeze nozzle gently, practice helps, don't overfill gap, half will expand to fill. Over filling means more trimming, & waste. No pets or kids in work areas, drips on floor will stick to shoes, clothes, hands, etc. I recently used about 15 cans to "airtight" my shop, with 11ft ceilings, pole bldg. Now we can heat it up to T shirt working conditions in no time. Well worth the money & effort!! Just be safe, & have a warm workspace, it expands more warm, & cures quicker too. BE SAFE!!
+36points
38out of 40found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 16 oz. Big Gap Filler Insulating Foam Sealant
from seattle,wa

good for what it is intended for

PostedJanuary 31, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
This gap filler insulation foam is pretty good for its intended purpose. The only catch is, I can't let the product sit for any length time after opening. The nozzle gets gummed up too easily and it will be difficult to get anymore out of the can even if it is half full.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Good Size & Weight, Seals Well, Light Weight
Cons: Inconsistent, Maintenance
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 16 oz. Big Gap Filler Insulating Foam Sealant
from Dallas, tx
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Yearly

You do not have to use it all at once

PostedJanuary 11, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
All these products are great, great values. Fabulous for drafts. If you do not use the whole can, you can save it for later, IF, you clean the straw and nozzle immediately when you are done with paint thinner and a wooden kebob stick. I have done this many times and have been able to use a single can for multiple times.
Pros: Seals Well, Economical
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 16 oz. Big Gap Filler Insulating Foam Sealant
from Canal Winchester OH
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

great stuff

PostedJanuary 13, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
This stuff is great! Fills cracks like no other ! Love the yellow color ! Can't wait to get more
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Quiet, Good Size & Weight, Straight, Seals Well, Lots of Features, Reliable
Cons: Vibrates
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 16 oz. Big Gap Filler Insulating Foam Sealant
from Scituate, Rhode Island
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Great Stuff Cheap

PostedJanuary 6, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Works really good, it does what is said it would do, great insulation and expansion.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 7 >>