728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 16 oz. Big Gap Filler Insulating Foam Sealant

16 oz. Big Gap Filler Insulating Foam Sealant

GREAT STUFF Big Gap Filler Insulating Foam Sealant offers the same benefits as GREAT STUFF Gaps and Cracks but fills gaps larger than 1 in. So it's great for creating larger weather-tight seals to stop drafts and keep critters out. Plus, like all GREAT STUFF products, it's airtight, paintable, stainable and sand-able. It's polyurethane-based and perfect for all sorts of materials like wood, drywall, metal, masonry, glass and most plastics.
Overall rating:
3.864 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(177 reviews) 177
Open Ratings Snapshot
80%of customersrecommend this product135 of 168reviews
Rating Breakdown 177 reviews
3.9 out of 5
5
(76)
4
(51)
3
(20)
2
(10)
1
(20)
Quality 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Value 
3.7 out of 5
3.7 out of 5
80%of customersrecommend this product135 of 168reviews
Customer questions and answers:
27 Questions | 109 Answers
Customer reviews for 16 oz. Big Gap Filler Insulating Foam Sealant
Review 1 for 16 oz. Big Gap Filler Insulating Foam Sealant
from Manhattan
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

How to re-use without throwing out after first use

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
When I tried to re-use the can after one week, the built in straw broke off. I felt bad throwing out the can since it was still full, so I kept it for more than a week. Meanwhile i realized that the STRAW from DAP Tex foam sealant (that I also bought from Hdepot) could fit in the hole where the built-in straw was. SO I cleaned the hole and inserted the straw from DAP Tex and when I pushed the base aside to trigger the outflow of the foam, out came the foam !! But make sure to shake the can for a full minute ! SO DONT THROW OUT AFTER FIRST USE, get the STRAW FROM DAP TEX and you can fully use all the contents as I did!
Note, it may be a little hard pushing the base of the straw-hole which triggers the outflow of the foam but if you wear gloves to minimize the pain, you can use up the entire can as i did !
Pros: Great Value
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 16 oz. Big Gap Filler Insulating Foam Sealant
from Massachusetts
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works Great!!

PostedAugust 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this product to fill a crack outside between my fireplace and siding where bees decided to make a nest. This morning the bees were unable to get in, so hopefully they will go away. My only recommendation is to wear gloves while using this. I got a lot of it on my hands, and it became an unwashable sticky paste that I had to use nailpolish remover to get off. It got rid of the stickiness, but I still have caked on insulation on my fingers this morning that will eventually come off.
Also, make sure you clean out the plastic application tube. After it dried out, I was able to use a shishkabob stick and toothpicks to push it out.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Work With, Seals Well, Great Value
Cons: difficult to clean off
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 16 oz. Big Gap Filler Insulating Foam Sealant
from Atlanta, Ga
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Excellent product

PostedMarch 15, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I used this stuff to add extra support for my shower floor repair.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Seals Well, Economical
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 16 oz. Big Gap Filler Insulating Foam Sealant
from Left Coast
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

It really is "Great Stuff"

PostedMay 20, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Worked like a champ. sealed off the T@G cathedral ceiling from the attic. We were losing so much air into the attic around the chimney. The gaps were huge and this stuff worked better then expected.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Seals Well, High Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 16 oz. Big Gap Filler Insulating Foam Sealant
from lincoln ri
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

It did the job!

PostedJune 30, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I used this product to eliminate gaps under a shower stall floor in a basement bathroom. It worked really well. The floor felt much more solid.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Work With, Seals Well
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 16 oz. Big Gap Filler Insulating Foam Sealant
from Dorchester,Ma
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

was perfect for my use

PostedAugust 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
easy instructions easy use wear gloves test in small area expands quite a bit
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 16 oz. Big Gap Filler Insulating Foam Sealant

In addition to my previous review

PostedAugust 4, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The product manufacturer sent me added information below:
GREAT STUFF (TM) Insulating Foam Sealant will seal itself shut if left sitting after use. Inserting a pipe cleaner sprayed with oil lubricant into the applicator straw may prolong the life of the product up to 30 days, however, it's better to plan ahead, identify and list all possible applications before using the can.
GREAT STUFF™ has a shelf life of 12-18 months. The product does need to be used by the date code on the bottom of your can.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 16 oz. Big Gap Filler Insulating Foam Sealant

Works Great

PostedAugust 9, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The insulation around my gas line entering my house deteriorated and I noticed bees were going in and out so I used this stuff to fill the gap. After use, I left the applicator straw on and when I want to use it, I just separate the straw from the 45 degree applicator piece then take my 3/16" tip long flat head and push the dried foam out the straw. Then I use it again...
Pros: Seals Well, Great Value
Cons: Maintenance
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 16 oz. Big Gap Filler Insulating Foam Sealant
from CA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Expands so well it will push out stucco and dry wall

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Works well and will fill large gaps but there are a few problems if you are filling a wall cavity hence the one star reduction. I believe this product was designed to fill holes in basements and attics, gaps around pipes and crevices in framing which I have used it for with excellent results. I have also used it to fill uninsulated cavities in walls and that is where you need to be extra careful as, given the right conditions, it will push drywall, even stucco out and leave a bulge in the wall surface. The can instructions does not give an expansion ratio. This may be because the product will expand differently under various conditions (weather and compression). In a cavity where there is only one opening for the foam to freely expand, as the product cures, it keeps expanding for at least 24 hours when contained in a cavity, it will keep pushing in all directions and that is what you have to be very careful about. The product skims over in less than an hour but needs at least a full day maybe two to stop expanding in a restricted area especially if you spray in more layers as you fill the wall cavity. There are commercial products out there that spray insulation companies use that can fill a wall with minimal pressure that can save you from a major wall repair.
Pros: Performs Well
Cons: messy
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 16 oz. Big Gap Filler Insulating Foam Sealant
from Priest River, ID, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Weekly

Does fantastic job!

PostedJanuary 2, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The key is: read the directions, & follow them! It is sticky, but uncured product will clean off using acetone. Cured product must wear off. Use your painting clothes, gloves, long sleeves, etc. Shaking can well helps to get out more quantity. Don't store cans for long periods, use fresh cans for best results. Squeeze nozzle gently, practice helps, don't overfill gap, half will expand to fill. Over filling means more trimming, & waste. No pets or kids in work areas, drips on floor will stick to shoes, clothes, hands, etc. I recently used about 15 cans to "airtight" my shop, with 11ft ceilings, pole bldg. Now we can heat it up to T shirt working conditions in no time. Well worth the money & effort!! Just be safe, & have a warm workspace, it expands more warm, & cures quicker too. BE SAFE!!
+38points
40out of 42found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 16 oz. Big Gap Filler Insulating Foam Sealant

One use

PostedJune 17, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Without trying about ten cans of different solvents in my garage, pipe cleaners, wires,etc the straw never comes clean. Brake fluid was about the best but my times worth than the can. Good product, bad applicator. One hint to users is go to the hardware store, buy the grey old style sink water supply lines, cut them down and they'll fit the end of the nozzle. Remember the minature cans they came out with? 60% didn't even work. There wasn't even enough aerosol. Ace pulled them off the shelves in no time.Product works but what average person will use a whole can? I hate throwing out near a full can. For a short time they gave two applicators but that didn't last long.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 16 oz. Big Gap Filler Insulating Foam Sealant
from Taylorsvill
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Great foam spray and true to ad it fills beyond one inch , apply in one setting only

PostedJuly 28, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
1 start & stop - "tube" gets hard& end, #2 apply=0
Cons: Inconsistent, no second application after first use.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 16 oz. Big Gap Filler Insulating Foam Sealant
from Sacramento, CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Conveniet insolating solution

PostedJanuary 18, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I had to replace a Jacuzzi control panel, but when I set the new panel in the old hole, it fell right through. I used the insulating foam to fill in the hole and set the panel in place. The foam filled all the gaps, didn't leak water into the cabinet, and allowed me to create a base that was not previously available. After the foam expanded, I cut the excess off and caulked the panel to ensure a waterproof seal. This stuff is very useful for several applications. And, if you carefully clean the spout and can off, you will be able to use it again if you have any left over.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Seals Well, Easy to Clean, Economical, Reliable
Cons: a little messy to touch
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 16 oz. Big Gap Filler Insulating Foam Sealant

Great purchase

PostedJuly 28, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Perfect product. It helped me seal a difficult draft.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Seals Well, Reliable
Cons: Dirty
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 16 oz. Big Gap Filler Insulating Foam Sealant
from Colorado Springs

Great product

PostedMay 12, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Expand awesomely once sprayed. Covers huge gaps with minimal application.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Work With, Seals Well, Economical, Reliable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 16 oz. Big Gap Filler Insulating Foam Sealant

Messy, hard to control, but does the job

PostedApril 15, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
The spray is imprecise and the expansion somewhat unpredictable. Clean up isn't as easy as I'd have liked either since dried his is rather spongy, so cutting off excess is abut of a chore. That said, it does still do the job.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 16 oz. Big Gap Filler Insulating Foam Sealant

Decent product

PostedJune 24, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Used this to fill cracks in mortar that were allowing ants and termites in. It's just something to slow them down a bit but does what it says it does. I'll be looking for a similar product to insulate an exterior wall after I repair the termite damage but want something to mix borax in with so if they come back they die.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 16 oz. Big Gap Filler Insulating Foam Sealant
from Toccoa, Ga
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Good stuff

PostedJune 29, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Does as it is supposed to, much better than the red can.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Seals Well
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 16 oz. Big Gap Filler Insulating Foam Sealant
from lawrence, ma

Wow!

PostedSeptember 20, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is Great Stuff!!
Seriously, its worth the money. Buy a case and get to work insulating window and door frames, outlets, etc. They could have also named it "Draft be Gone" but what do I know. No more chilly air around the windows and door frames of my 115 year old house. Money in the pocket. Truth.
+16points
17out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 16 oz. Big Gap Filler Insulating Foam Sealant
from Illinois

Great Stuff

PostedJanuary 9, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This truly is great stuff. I used it to seal the areas under my doors where the concrete and foundation meet in the crawl space. I could not have gotten insulation into those places because they were too small. I was able to squirt this into those spaces with the little tube they give you. It expanded and filled the gaps perfectly. You have to use it all in one day though. Anything left over will not come out of the can the next day. It is for a one-time use.
+16points
18out of 20found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 8 >>