728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Foam or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Big Gap Filler Insulating Foam Sealant 16 oz.

Big Gap Filler Insulating Foam Sealant 16 oz.

GREAT STUFF Big Gap Filler Insulating Foam Sealant offers the same benefits as GREAT STUFF Gaps & Cracks but fills gaps larger than 1 inch. So it's great for creating larger weather-tight seals to stop drafts and keep critters out. Plus, like all GREAT STUFF products, it's airtight, paintable, stainable and sand-able. It's polyurethane-based and perfect for all sorts of materials like wood, drywall, metal, masonry, glass and most plastics.
Overall rating:
3.682 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(126 reviews) 126
Open Ratings Snapshot
74%of customersrecommend this product86 of 117reviews
Rating Breakdown 126 reviews
3.7 out of 5.0
5
(47)
4
(38)
3
(14)
2
(8)
1
(19)
Quality 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Value 
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6 out of 5
74%of customersrecommend this product86 of 117reviews
Customer questions and answers:
18 Questions | 83 Answers
Customer reviews for Big Gap Filler Insulating Foam Sealant 16 oz.
Review 1 for Big Gap Filler Insulating Foam Sealant 16 oz.
from Manhattan
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

How to re-use without throwing out after first use

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
When I tried to re-use the can after one week, the built in straw broke off. I felt bad throwing out the can since it was still full, so I kept it for more than a week. Meanwhile i realized that the STRAW from DAP Tex foam sealant (that I also bought from Hdepot) could fit in the hole where the built-in straw was. SO I cleaned the hole and inserted the straw from DAP Tex and when I pushed the base aside to trigger the outflow of the foam, out came the foam !! But make sure to shake the can for a full minute ! SO DONT THROW OUT AFTER FIRST USE, get the STRAW FROM DAP TEX and you can fully use all the contents as I did!
Note, it may be a little hard pushing the base of the straw-hole which triggers the outflow of the foam but if you wear gloves to minimize the pain, you can use up the entire can as i did !
Pros: Great Value
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Big Gap Filler Insulating Foam Sealant 16 oz.
from Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

works good

PostedApril 29, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Dries fast, does the job. My advice is to wear gloves when using, it takes days to get off your hands.
Pros: Performs Well, Seals Well, Great Value, High Quality
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Big Gap Filler Insulating Foam Sealant 16 oz.
from Connecticut
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Single use only

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Wear rubber/plastic gloves; sticky foam will be difficult to wash off, especially when dry. Foam is very effective for quickly sealing gaps less than 2 inches across. Larger gaps may be attempted but unknown depth may waste the product. Expect expansion beyond initial application. Sharp tools can be used to trim excess after drying. Plan what gaps you need to fill before starting. The twist-on injection tube will dry up clogged and any remaining foam content will not be retrievable without a replacement twist-on injection tube.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install
Cons: should be supplied with two twist-o injection tube
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Big Gap Filler Insulating Foam Sealant 16 oz.
from new york
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

"Great stuff" is great stuff!

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I little bit goes a long way. After using over 40 cans in 4 days, there are some smsrt tricks to this stuff.
Biggest tip!!!!... if you spill this stuff or it falls on a carpet or hard floor like concrete or finished stone, let it dry and then pop it off. It will leave very little if any marking at all. If it falls on finished wood, remove it immediately and wipe it off with a damp cloth and all should be good.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Seals Well, Great Value, Easy to Clean, Economical, Reliable, Light Weight
Cons: must have steady hands for consistant beading
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Big Gap Filler Insulating Foam Sealant 16 oz.
from alhambra, CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Purchase frequency:Yearly

big gap filler insulating foam-

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Product is designed to fill large openings. I found thst it took 3 days for the product to totally solidify. The thickest portion was still liquid and not totally cured. Overall the product id perform as it should with limitations. It fills 1 inch openings effectively.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Seals Well, Economical, Light Weight
Cons: Inconsistent
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Big Gap Filler Insulating Foam Sealant 16 oz.
from Chicago
Age Range:45 to 54
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Yearly

FOAM REVIEW

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
If you don't care about looks of the finished product this works fine. Bought foam with a professional spray head that can control application and it works a lot better. You get what you pay for.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Inconsistent
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Big Gap Filler Insulating Foam Sealant 16 oz.
from Priest River, ID, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Weekly

Does fantastic job!

PostedJanuary 2, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The key is: read the directions, & follow them! It is sticky, but uncured product will clean off using acetone. Cured product must wear off. Use your painting clothes, gloves, long sleeves, etc. Shaking can well helps to get out more quantity. Don't store cans for long periods, use fresh cans for best results. Squeeze nozzle gently, practice helps, don't overfill gap, half will expand to fill. Over filling means more trimming, & waste. No pets or kids in work areas, drips on floor will stick to shoes, clothes, hands, etc. I recently used about 15 cans to "airtight" my shop, with 11ft ceilings, pole bldg. Now we can heat it up to T shirt working conditions in no time. Well worth the money & effort!! Just be safe, & have a warm workspace, it expands more warm, & cures quicker too. BE SAFE!!
+34points
35out of 36found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Big Gap Filler Insulating Foam Sealant 16 oz.
from FINLEYVILLE PA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

FOAM INSULATING

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
GREAT PRODUCT EASY TO USE DOES THE JOB FILLES THE HOLES
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Work With, Seals Well, Economical
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Big Gap Filler Insulating Foam Sealant 16 oz.
from Portland, OR
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Lived up to the writing on the can

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I was diverted away from the pro version of this product due to the 300% price increase, but was happy with this stuff. I used it to fill the weight cavities when I replaced my windows and it performed very well. TIP: Thread a deck screw into the application straw immediately after use to seal the the straw and you can get a handful of days out of one can.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Work With, Seals Well
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Big Gap Filler Insulating Foam Sealant 16 oz.
from Roseville MI
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Great purchase

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Used Big Gap around new garage door to seal any drafts. Worked great
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Seals Well, Great Value, Economical
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Big Gap Filler Insulating Foam Sealant 16 oz.

Fast and easy

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Fast and easy take off the top screw on the straw and your ready to fill any large gap
Pros: Easy to Use, Seals Well, Reliable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Big Gap Filler Insulating Foam Sealant 16 oz.
from houston
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

It did a great job filling in some big spaces

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I really liked that it was neat and easy to trim later.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Seals Well, Easy to Clean
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Big Gap Filler Insulating Foam Sealant 16 oz.
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Weekly

Economical, easy to use, effective, and can be reused several times with a few easy steps

PostedMay 26, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The fuel oil bills were sending me to the poor farm so I started chasing down air leaks about 17 months ago with help from the state of NH. The house is about 3500 sq ft with a good part of it dating to the 1830's with a field stone foundation. After the big jobs were done by the insulation crew I started on a mission to seal a drafty foundation, leakage thru floors and around doors, windows, pipes and more with Great Stuff. Altho this winter was extremely harsh my oil bills from the previous winter dropped by a third.
One complaint is that the Big Gap couldnt properly fill some of the huge foundation cavities I found after removing some ancient mortar that was cracked and falling off in chunks. I wound up foaming the cavity walls with a light coat of the Gaps and Cracks and adding a lot of small stones, concrete scraps, etc while the foam was still wet. I repeated that several times until the cavity was fully sealed . Big Gap and Gaps and Cracks was used elsewhere on smaller openings. The first thing I noticed was no more water seepage after even moderate rains and I can now cover the walls from sills to floor with 6 mil plastic and 2" foam board and have a new area to use in all months.....a great man cave!
Being a frugal Yankee I refused to accept the single use warning and came up with a simple solution. Get a suitable plastic container that will hold the straw and trigger after you carefully pull them apart. I used the cover from a butter dish that was headed for the trash after it was partially melted. Cover the items with acetone and place a cover on top. Fresh foam will dissolve in about 10 minutes and cured foam up to a few hours. Use a piece of #14 bare copper wire to push and/or pull the residue skin/scale out of the tube and trigger. Pour a bit of acetone in the top of the can and wiggle the wire around until the foam is dissolved down to the valve, empty and flush with fresh acetone. Do all this with sufficient ventilation.
.
I reuse the same can 3-4 or more times now until the can is fully empty.
A few cans were returned to the store that either leaked or were completely dead at first use.
Great stuff has also sealed rust rotted floorboards and firewall holes in a 78 F-250 I use to plow the property in winter and other chores at other times. This is strictly a "yard truck" and I now stay comfortable and free of exhaust fumes.
Cons: a big fan needed in closed areas
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Big Gap Filler Insulating Foam Sealant 16 oz.
from Tomah, WI
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Monthly

This product is reliable

PostedFebruary 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've used many spray foam insulation products and this is one of the most reliable. Coverage area is consistent from can to can unlike some of the other spray foam products available.
I would recommend this product!
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, High Quality, Reliable
Cons: doesn't fucntion when confined by plastic
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Big Gap Filler Insulating Foam Sealant 16 oz.
from Fairfax, VA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Filling the gap

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This product worked well to fill large gap of pipe passing through a wall. Helped secure pipe from moving.
Pros: Easy to Use, Seals Well
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Big Gap Filler Insulating Foam Sealant 16 oz.

Not good

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
You should have to use the entire can so you have toss the rest. That is a waste, need smaller containers
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Big Gap Filler Insulating Foam Sealant 16 oz.
from Illinois

Great Stuff

PostedJanuary 9, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This truly is great stuff. I used it to seal the areas under my doors where the concrete and foundation meet in the crawl space. I could not have gotten insulation into those places because they were too small. I was able to squirt this into those spaces with the little tube they give you. It expanded and filled the gaps perfectly. You have to use it all in one day though. Anything left over will not come out of the can the next day. It is for a one-time use.
+16points
18out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Big Gap Filler Insulating Foam Sealant 16 oz.
from lawrence, ma

Wow!

PostedSeptember 20, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is Great Stuff!!
Seriously, its worth the money. Buy a case and get to work insulating window and door frames, outlets, etc. They could have also named it "Draft be Gone" but what do I know. No more chilly air around the windows and door frames of my 115 year old house. Money in the pocket. Truth.
+15points
16out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Big Gap Filler Insulating Foam Sealant 16 oz.
from Florida

Big spaces, nothing less!

PostedOctober 27, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
My first building project was made from the plans for a
children's playhouse. For an imperfect project this will
fill in the spaces behind the trim and last for years.
But, care must be taken to keep it off your clothing and
hands. It does not wash off. It is advisable to finish the
entire can in one use as it hardens. And, it really explodes
into a huge piece of foam that is hard to cut back in size,
it needs to be a big space to fill.
All that in mind, it is a miracle worker for amateur builders!!
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Big Gap Filler Insulating Foam Sealant 16 oz.
from pa

works for me

PostedMay 22, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Had to replace the floor in my boat,the old floatation foam was water logged.great stuff worked great for replacing the floatation and doesnt seem to absorb water as much as the old stuff did. works great and saved me some money
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>