728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 1/2 HP Cast Iron Shallow Well Jet Pump

1/2 HP Cast Iron Shallow Well Jet Pump

The WAYNE 1/2 HP Cast Iron Shallow Well Jet Pump features a high-efficiency square-flange motor that is thermally protected to help prevent overheating. The volute is constructed of durable cast iron, with a corrosion resistant, reinforced thermoplastic impeller and diffuser. The pump includes a dedicated priming port for convenient volute filling.
Overall rating:
4.2 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(20 reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
89%of customersrecommend this product17 of 19reviews
Rating Breakdown 20 reviews
4.2 out of 5.0
5
(10)
4
(8)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(2)
Ease of installation 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
89%of customersrecommend this product17 of 19reviews
Customer reviews for 1/2 HP Cast Iron Shallow Well Jet Pump
Review 1 for 1/2 HP Cast Iron Shallow Well Jet Pump
from Ft. Myers, FL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

really nice pump, strange mount

PostedSeptember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Had to order the pump online since the stores don't stock them. No problem with installation and it is a little more quite running than the other pumps I've had at this location. The only thing I don't like about the pump is the way it is attached to the mounting plate. It has a single piece of iron, flat strap material, vertical between the pump body and the mount plate, about midway of the pump length. When the pump starts or stops, the impeller end pops up or down 1" to 1 1/2", so does the connected PVC piping. I stopped mine with a wood block under the pump body. Just seems a strange way to mount a pump. It has done the job for four months now and seems to be going strong.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
Cons: strange mounting plate
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1/2 HP Cast Iron Shallow Well Jet Pump
from California(drought impacted)
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Outstanding....quality and value with quiet operation.Pumps more water pressure than city lines.

PostedJuly 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Wayne is known for quality and reliability, Install (to replace worn-out pump)was quick and easy and had well up and operating within an hour.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1/2 HP Cast Iron Shallow Well Jet Pump
from Seattle, WA

Great inexpensive pump!

PostedMay 12, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Perfect pump for the shallow well owner. I had a 3/4 hp Berkeley shallow well pump that was 3 times as expensive and conked out after one year of moderate spring/summer use. Rather than pay the $450 it was going to take to repair the old pump, I found this one for only $150 and decided it was worth taking a chance. And I'm glad I did. It was easily interchangable with the Berkeley after attaching a simple electrical plug and has been working beautifully for the past month. I was also pleasantly surprised that this pump had a pressure switch built on (I don't think that feature was noted in the product description) as I was expecting to have to take the one off my old pump and add it to this one. I feel I made a great decision with this pump.
+43points
43out of 43found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1/2 HP Cast Iron Shallow Well Jet Pump
from Michigan, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I liked the ease of installation and the cast iron pump

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the same model as the old pump, so I figured it must be good if they still made the same model after a long period of time. Being the same model it was very easy to remove the old and install the new.
Pros: Easy to Install
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1/2 HP Cast Iron Shallow Well Jet Pump
from Stewartstown, NH
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Pump works well and delivery was very good

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Pump replaced another pump and was easy to install
Pros: Easy to Install
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1/2 HP Cast Iron Shallow Well Jet Pump
from Rockport, IN
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good value pump.

PostedJune 20, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Direct replacement for existing shallow well pump unit. Delivery was sooner than expected.
Pros: Easy to Install, No Leaks
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1/2 HP Cast Iron Shallow Well Jet Pump
from Atlanta, GA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Pretty good for its price

PostedOctober 30, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I needed a relatively cheap pump but not a complete trash. This is a surprisingly sturdy device for its price. It is easy to hook to the pipes and do the priming. The work is very quiet. Note that it has to be in a dry location or it will rust.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+5points
8out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1/2 HP Cast Iron Shallow Well Jet Pump

Why doesn't HD have this in their stores?

PostedJune 11, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I'm very pleased with this pump. Very well, pumps close to 50 lbs. pressure. Is prewired for 120v. I was planning to rewire it for 220 but now I don't see a need. You have to mail order this brand. HD seems to only stock Flotec, which seems inferior for about the same price. HD deliverd it in about 3 working days and shipping was free. FIrst time mail ordering from HD.
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1/2 HP Cast Iron Shallow Well Jet Pump
from Central, TX

Wayne 1/2 hp shallow well jet pump

PostedAugust 29, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Good price and Good product. A little louder than my previous shallow well jet pump. Overall I would recommend this pump to a friend or family member. We are in the Texas 100 degree summer heat and the pump is doing just fine for a family of three in a 2bd 2ba mobile home on 1 acre.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1/2 HP Cast Iron Shallow Well Jet Pump
from Escondido, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

meets the objective

PostedMarch 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is a shallow well pump and it is drawing from about 27 feet which is 2 feet more than that recommended for a shallow well operation; (my elevation is around 1000 ft). I am getting 40 psi on the out side with the pump located about 15 feet from the well head. It works perfectly for my application which is irrigation.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1/2 HP Cast Iron Shallow Well Jet Pump
from Norfolk, VA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great pump,good price

PostedApril 29, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Looks to be well made, runs quietly. Inlet and discharge openings fit my installation with no reducers required. Pumps a steady 40 psi. Motor rated at 5.5 amps but draws much more current than that when starting. Mine is connected to a dedicated 20 amp breaker. No issues at all so far.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1/2 HP Cast Iron Shallow Well Jet Pump
from Mason Ohio
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

No problem pumping the 50lb press. Quiet would buy again

PostedApril 29, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The pump is efficient quiet easy to prime only had to prime
One time pumped up to 50 lb an shut off came back on at about 35 lbs really well built had to add check valve and
Press gauge
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks, operates great
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1/2 HP Cast Iron Shallow Well Jet Pump
from Santa Rosa, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy setup and very quiet

PostedJune 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Electric cord connection to pressure switch needs no extra parts, for a change. Easy and solid connection in minutes with the right size cord. Motor surprisingly quiet. Universal mount base should fit any location. Does need the check valve on the incoming line.
Pros: Easy to Install
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1/2 HP Cast Iron Shallow Well Jet Pump
from Brookline, MA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great product, ready to be intalled, exactly what I needed

PostedMarch 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
shipping was on time, very satisfied with my order
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1/2 HP Cast Iron Shallow Well Jet Pump
from Pinconning, MI 48650, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

shipped promply, arrived as pictures very well made pump.

PostedOctober 16, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
liked that the pressure switch was included didn't have to figure out what one to buy and how to attach to shallow water pump. Pleased with its performance good water flow.would recommend that you order this one on line and not the one in your store..
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 1/2 HP Cast Iron Shallow Well Jet Pump

solid 1/2 hp pump

PostedDecember 11, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
good price on a good pump . shopped for others but this was the best deal
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 1/2 HP Cast Iron Shallow Well Jet Pump

Do not believe what Wayne pumps reps recommend.

PostedNovember 7, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I called the company that makes this pump, and other models as well, and ask them to tell me which model, if any, would suit my needs. I spoke to one of their technical people explaining the application in detail. He assured me that is model Wayne pump was exactly the one that was perfect for the specific application. The result is total failure. The pump is way too big and powerful for the application so that it over pressures the system and shuts down then restarts every half second or so. The pressure switch cannot be adjusted so that the pump is worthless in this application. In my opinion, either the Wayne Pump Company technical rep lied to me just to sell a pump he well knew would not work, or he way totally incompetent . I will never, never buy another Wayne pump.
Cons: No Instructions, failed to do the job
-8points
1out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 1/2 HP Cast Iron Shallow Well Jet Pump

This is a great pump for the money.

PostedJuly 31, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I searched extensively and you won't beat the HD price on this item. They should offer it in their stores too because it really is the best quality in this price range.
Pros: Reliable
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 1/2 HP Cast Iron Shallow Well Jet Pump

pump works great.

PostedSeptember 20, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The pump was not confgured as in the online advertisement, and required me to add to and reconfigure the plumbing from my old pump; but once I finished the installation, the pump works well.
+1point
6out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 1/2 HP Cast Iron Shallow Well Jet Pump

Very disappointed!

PostedNovember 7, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Very disappointed! I bought this pump to replace an old ½ hp Craftsman that just broke (I was unable to find a new Craftsman). Pump does not have check-valve. Pump performs poorly. Pump is noisy. Pump struggles to reach pre-set pressure cut-off. Pump provides very little line pressure when running. Pump makes lights blink when it shuts off.
-4points
0out of 4found this review helpful.