728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 1/2 HP Cast Iron Shallow Well Jet Pump

1/2 HP Cast Iron Shallow Well Jet Pump

The WAYNE 1/2 HP Cast Iron Shallow Well Jet Pump features a high-efficiency square-flange motor that is thermally protected to help prevent overheating. The volute is constructed of durable cast iron, with a corrosion resistant, reinforced thermoplastic impeller and diffuser. The pump includes a dedicated priming port for convenient volute filling.
Overall rating:
4.214 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(14 reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
85%of customersrecommend this product11 of 13reviews
Rating Breakdown 14 reviews
4.2 out of 5.0
5
(9)
4
(3)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(2)
Ease of installation 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
Quality 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
Value 
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6 out of 5
85%of customersrecommend this product11 of 13reviews
Customer reviews for 1/2 HP Cast Iron Shallow Well Jet Pump
Review 1 for 1/2 HP Cast Iron Shallow Well Jet Pump
Dick
from Michigan, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I liked the ease of installation and the cast iron pump

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the same model as the old pump, so I figured it must be good if they still made the same model after a long period of time. Being the same model it was very easy to remove the old and install the new.
Pros: Easy to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1/2 HP Cast Iron Shallow Well Jet Pump
Jeff
from Seattle, WA

Great inexpensive pump!

PostedMay 12, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Perfect pump for the shallow well owner. I had a 3/4 hp Berkeley shallow well pump that was 3 times as expensive and conked out after one year of moderate spring/summer use. Rather than pay the $450 it was going to take to repair the old pump, I found this one for only $150 and decided it was worth taking a chance. And I'm glad I did. It was easily interchangable with the Berkeley after attaching a simple electrical plug and has been working beautifully for the past month. I was also pleasantly surprised that this pump had a pressure switch built on (I don't think that feature was noted in the product description) as I was expecting to have to take the one off my old pump and add it to this one. I feel I made a great decision with this pump.
+38points
38out of 38found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1/2 HP Cast Iron Shallow Well Jet Pump
Anton
from Atlanta, GA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Pretty good for its price

PostedOctober 30, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I needed a relatively cheap pump but not a complete trash. This is a surprisingly sturdy device for its price. It is easy to hook to the pipes and do the priming. The work is very quiet. Note that it has to be in a dry location or it will rust.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+3points
6out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1/2 HP Cast Iron Shallow Well Jet Pump
Spicewood

Why doesn't HD have this in their stores?

PostedJune 11, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I'm very pleased with this pump. Very well, pumps close to 50 lbs. pressure. Is prewired for 120v. I was planning to rewire it for 220 but now I don't see a need. You have to mail order this brand. HD seems to only stock Flotec, which seems inferior for about the same price. HD deliverd it in about 3 working days and shipping was free. FIrst time mail ordering from HD.
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1/2 HP Cast Iron Shallow Well Jet Pump
Ronnald
from Escondido, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

meets the objective

PostedMarch 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is a shallow well pump and it is drawing from about 27 feet which is 2 feet more than that recommended for a shallow well operation; (my elevation is around 1000 ft). I am getting 40 psi on the out side with the pump located about 15 feet from the well head. It works perfectly for my application which is irrigation.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1/2 HP Cast Iron Shallow Well Jet Pump
greywaterRus
from Santa Rosa, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy setup and very quiet

PostedJune 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Electric cord connection to pressure switch needs no extra parts, for a change. Easy and solid connection in minutes with the right size cord. Motor surprisingly quiet. Universal mount base should fit any location. Does need the check valve on the incoming line.
Pros: Easy to Install
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1/2 HP Cast Iron Shallow Well Jet Pump
cjackson23
from Central, TX

Wayne 1/2 hp shallow well jet pump

PostedAugust 29, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Good price and Good product. A little louder than my previous shallow well jet pump. Overall I would recommend this pump to a friend or family member. We are in the Texas 100 degree summer heat and the pump is doing just fine for a family of three in a 2bd 2ba mobile home on 1 acre.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1/2 HP Cast Iron Shallow Well Jet Pump
augie

solid 1/2 hp pump

PostedDecember 11, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
good price on a good pump . shopped for others but this was the best deal
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1/2 HP Cast Iron Shallow Well Jet Pump
Michael

Do not believe what Wayne pumps reps recommend.

PostedNovember 7, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I called the company that makes this pump, and other models as well, and ask them to tell me which model, if any, would suit my needs. I spoke to one of their technical people explaining the application in detail. He assured me that is model Wayne pump was exactly the one that was perfect for the specific application. The result is total failure. The pump is way too big and powerful for the application so that it over pressures the system and shuts down then restarts every half second or so. The pressure switch cannot be adjusted so that the pump is worthless in this application. In my opinion, either the Wayne Pump Company technical rep lied to me just to sell a pump he well knew would not work, or he way totally incompetent . I will never, never buy another Wayne pump.
Cons: No Instructions, failed to do the job
-4points
0out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1/2 HP Cast Iron Shallow Well Jet Pump
jeliva
from Brookline, MA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great product, ready to be intalled, exactly what I needed

PostedMarch 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
shipping was on time, very satisfied with my order
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1/2 HP Cast Iron Shallow Well Jet Pump
Unhappy

Very disappointed!

PostedNovember 7, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Very disappointed! I bought this pump to replace an old ½ hp Craftsman that just broke (I was unable to find a new Craftsman). Pump does not have check-valve. Pump performs poorly. Pump is noisy. Pump struggles to reach pre-set pressure cut-off. Pump provides very little line pressure when running. Pump makes lights blink when it shuts off.
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1/2 HP Cast Iron Shallow Well Jet Pump
chippewawomen
from Pinconning, MI 48650, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

shipped promply, arrived as pictures very well made pump.

PostedOctober 16, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
liked that the pressure switch was included didn't have to figure out what one to buy and how to attach to shallow water pump. Pleased with its performance good water flow.would recommend that you order this one on line and not the one in your store..
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1/2 HP Cast Iron Shallow Well Jet Pump
billbike

pump works great.

PostedSeptember 20, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The pump was not confgured as in the online advertisement, and required me to add to and reconfigure the plumbing from my old pump; but once I finished the installation, the pump works well.
+2points
6out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1/2 HP Cast Iron Shallow Well Jet Pump
Dansk

This is a great pump for the money.

PostedJuly 31, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I searched extensively and you won't beat the HD price on this item. They should offer it in their stores too because it really is the best quality in this price range.
Pros: Reliable
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.